Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mumbles Carlton Hotel 3 stars

Mumbles Road, The Mumbles, SA3 4EA, United Kingdom

#3 of 7 hotels in The Mumbles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Won’t go back. As nice as the staff were the hotel was more like a one star . Needs a lot of TLC .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 nights. 3 different rooms as the first room on the first night was abysmal. Tiny. Dirty.. we told the staff in the morning if they couldn’t move us we would leave.. 2nd night a fantastic room. 3rd night an ok room. We were given a discount but we would have rather paid full whack and been happy during our stay.

    Excellent staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although made clear from the outset it would have been nice to have had some sort of outlook from the room, or at least the price to reflect that.

    Superb breakfast. Buffet style and all fresh. Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been better, it needed a new, firmer mattress.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was comfortable with a fabulous sea view and breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could ignore the slightly dated room where the cleanliness lacked attention to details, i could even live with the low pressure in the shower but the beds were horrendous - quite possibly the worst I've ever slept in. So worn that you could feel the springs

    The staff were friendly and helpful The location was good, right across the road from the sea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly female staff, noisy road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic extras in room, small towels, paper bath mat, apart from breakfast seemed to be run on a very cheap budget. We were fortunate to get a parking space on road otherwise £5.00 per day.

    Excellent breakfast served by welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful and friendly and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was huge with a large sky light but as it was very hot there was no blind on it, which I think it needs one. Also had to stand on a chair to open it.

    Friendly staff and street parking or £3 a day in the car park opposite for all day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location for golfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was tiny and the room is small and tired.

    Great location on the front in the centre of Mumbles. Great location for golfers with 3 or 4 great courses within 10 minutes. Good breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.5
    Last stayed at the Carlton 20 years ago. Good then. Great now. The sea views are magnificent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many stairs to our room but well worth it for the views

    Great breakfast. Fantastic staff. Salt of the earth. Sea views over Swansea Bay - Pure Heaven

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and weather helped-it was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised parking but this costs £5 per day on adjacent public car park as you are not able to get in front of the hotel to park. Bar only accepts cash and not card payments. Quite steep stairs to first floor for those with dodgy knees !

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Position of hotel on the front gave lovely sea views. Breakfast very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced guesthouse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in bedroom, squishy mattress, no fan provided (not even in bathroom where window did not open), no tv remote, bath mat consisted of 2 paper sheets, bath towels like Brillo pads, cheap carpet. Depressing space to spend any time. Overpriced for what it is. Also relatively expensive parking between 9-7.

    Mumbles seafront location, electric shower that worked, reasonable breakfast (apart from lousy coffee)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Time spent outside was the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hideous. Tiny, you couldn't open the bathroom door properly as it hit the bed. Very dingy crammed between two buildings so very dark and window was frosted so can't see thru not that you'd want to. You need lights on permanently to see. Bed was very uncomfortable, mattress definitely needs changing. No headboard so other people's greasy head marks on wall..yuk. Bathroom was tiny with tiniest sink with shelf above so you couldn't wash your face unless you wedged your head under shelf, even then the floor got soaked. The pictures you see are not what you get. The whole place needs a makeover.

    The staff make this place especially the ladies at breakfast. Friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    We had excellent weather and the good location of the hotel made our stay very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small. The bedroom curtains needed to be thicker as the street light outside was very bright.

    The location was superb, as was the view from the bedroom window. The breakfast was mainly okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    a very pleasurable experience , will definitely be stopping here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely welcome by friendly staff, ,breakfast was lovely , very good range of food on offer , served up personally by the staff, brilliant location will definitely recommend and stay again,.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the shower seemed to have a mind of its own! It would go though a 20 second cycle of freezing water slowly building up to scalding hot water.

    Great location with a very decent breakfast in the morning. Lots of good restaurants and bars around the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Will rebook this year.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never got black pudding with my breakfast. The breakfast staff were ace.

    The staff and the owner were all very welcoming , even took great time with our pet dog Serious , all nice people, thanks Ma rgar etc fae Garth am lock. You spoilt ma dog.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Good base to tour the area. Overpriced for what was offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic toiletries on first day only. Outside of hotel and Communal rooms dark and dull. Everything very basic for price.

    Excellent location for visiting The Gower. Near to good restaurants. Bed comfortable, bathroom modern and clean, shower good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing view from hotel windows lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed room needs a good steam clean , bathroom round floor tiles need good steam clean.

    Excellent breakfast, very happy with the staff nothing too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant place in easy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast finishes at 9am during the week - if you are holidaying it's a bit too early.

    Generous buffet breakfast. Room comfortable and clean, equipped as described.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was dark and looks dingy. Needs a good upgrade, bedroom doors marked, furniture in rooms and hotel cheap and tacky. Hotel overpriced for the presentation of it

    Staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place if you are looking for a convenient clean good value place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron. TV limited options.

    Great location. Super clean spacious room. The king size room has a good view of the sea. Good size bathroom with bath and shower. Friendly staff and good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Really nice hotel, very friendly staff who couldn't help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in room 12 and our only small gripe was that it was a bit light early in the mornig, blackout velex blinds are really needed in that room guys.

    Really nice hotel, very friendly staff who couldn't help you enough. Tasty cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Poor cleanliness in the bathroom - the fluff and dust I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness in the bathroom - the fluff and dust I wiped off the towel rail remained on the floor for the rest of our stay. The bedroom curtains were too thin to cope with the street light outside the window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness of shower / bathroom.

    Breakfasts excellent, the outlook and location was to our requirements and must say the staff were great pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    A friendly relaxing venue close to other bars and restaurants
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a good B&B rather than what I would classify as a hotel. No evening meals are available but close to other restaurants. No hotel car park but a public one is close and can sometimes park on the street

    Friendly staff very dog friendly good cooked breakfast the dog had a sausage!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the room was not good. There were a lot of steps to negotiate to the room, no lift or offer of help with luggage, not ideal for pensioners!! The bed was uncomfortable, very hard.

    The breakfasts were good and the staff were very helpful in the dining area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant staff who were so helpful and friendly. Hotel right on the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift to upper floors but it is an old building. Also I know it is a dog friendly hotel but I didn't like dogs being allowed into the breakfast area. There is also no parking facility. If you're lucky you may get a space on the street or there is a pay and display opposite.

    Good breakfast and the staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff, choose a better room next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose a twin room without an ocean view to be at the back away from street noise, however the room (perhaps because of this) was very small, barely enough room to leave our suitcases on the floor. It was OK for one night but if we were staying for longer (or again) we would want to book one of the bigger rooms shown in various photos. The single bed mattress was awful, definitely needs replacing as you could feel all the springs. Parking is in the ‘pay and display’ carpark across the road (free from 7.00pm to 9.00am). As noted you need to be able to carry your bags up several flights of stairs.

    Good location in Mumbles convenient to the main attractions, and across the road from the sea. Staff were friendly and helpful and there was ample breakfast included. Room was refurbished, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff and food good, room with a sea view was great and pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we came with our dog the bar was the only place where we could sit and was very uncomfortable, due to high chairs and tables, no comfort at all

    The bed was lovely, view was superb. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Superb location excellent staff and an amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark room, the broken double bed and the cobwebs around the window frame

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was the best I have had in a long time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was a very pleasant stay, lovely staff and I would return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hook on back door of shower room for dressing gown. No shelf for toiletries. No holder for toilet paper. Limited butter and jelly marmalade with little choice of anything else.

    Very peaceful. Excellent bed and bedding: shower worked very well, good tea and coffee tray; good view of my car in the public carpark across the road. Excellent full English breakfast Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Very dissatisfied .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a so called de-luxe room it was of a poor standard.At £110 a night it is massively overpriced.

    There was nothing to like about this hotel.Very scruffy looking from the outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    location was good. Nice Restaurants closeby. Lovely Breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of stairs !!! hairdryer cable was fixed into the socket in the wall and when I turned it on it made a horrible noise and it went bright orange and started sparking out, so i had to report it to reception. . The wash basin was to small and the glass shelve above it stopped you from being able to splash you face and clean your teeth without banging your head/nose on the shelve. Had to fill kettle up using a drinking glass because couldn*t get it in sink and under tap. No toilet roll holder, No hooks on Bathroom door for dressing gown or clothes. No Headboard. Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom. Bed was uncomfortable.

    location was good. nice size room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and satisfactory for a short stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower overflowed. No flannel or shower cap provided. A proper brandy glass would have been preferable to a tumbler.

    Friendly staff. Room with sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    A lovely friendly welcoming hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just had a fabulous weekend stay in this hotel excellent location and the staff were fantastic from our fabulous breakfast to evening drink so friendly helpful and welcoming, will be returning very soon, many thanks to Mike behind the bar for his advice and friendship

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    ok for a very short stay would not stay for a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking difficult rear room depressing.

    Brteakfast fine Bed to low comfortable though For a room at the rear a bit depressing try a sea view. poor for parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Very much a boarding house rather than a hotel! Very poor rooms and beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were awful, lumpy and springs sticking up. Didn’t sleep at all first night but after complaining they put a duvet on top of the mattress to make it marginally better! I wouldn’t stay there again.

    Staff were very pleasant and breakfast adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I have stayed here a few times now.This time we had a room on the first floor above the entrance. Pleasantly surprised that there was no noise and I had a good nights sleep. The staff are friendly and cant do enough for you. A good breakfast served by excellent staff who looked after our dog Sam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place, fab location. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the room was a tad dusty especially above door. Didn't look like it had been dusted for quite sometime, however this would not stop me from staying again .

    Friendly staff. Breakfast beautiful. View from room amazing. Only niggle was the room was a little dusty but would not stop me from staying again. Perfect location. Would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    I’d return, very comfortable, good location and no fuss, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a dog friendly hotel so woken by dogs barking when let out to do their business

    Nice clean and cosy rooms, although maybe a brighter light in bathroom for when applying makeup

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location, Friendly staff, price is too much and more facilties required.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    So the room was very small and heating was not working. we thought it would be great as dog friendly but there was 2 dogs who kept barking in the room next door and i dont think this of been accepted as disturbs other guests. The breaskfast was very poor and the selection was very limited. In the room there was tea and coffee and milk. We both cannot take dairy and there was no alternative when i asked for some soy milk and advised to drink black coffee.

    Location is great for the beach as just opposite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Good staff. The room we were given was not the one we booked. The room was smaller. This didn't matter for 2 nights but if staying longer it might cause problems. Shame that the bar seemed to close early on the Saturday night. The staff were exceptionally helpful with parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect midweek break for relaxing and walking along the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of maintenance. Toilet flush was noisy, bathroom was cold as towel rail radiator was broken.

    Very friendly attentive staff. Delicious cooked breakfast. Room was clean and fresh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Won't be going back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once one had a bath water was stone cold in the bedroom . Not good when you have been out all day working Drinks in bar poor taste , not pulled off Very overpriced

    Only good thing was the breakfast spot on !!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Memorable breakfast, friendly staff and a great view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress very soft and the room was a bit basic and stuffy. But very clean and we didn't realise we could have opened the big window. So, our fault really. Would definitely go there again. Had to park some way from the hotel, but that wasn't a major problem.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    HAD A LOVELY TIME, DELIGHTFUL STAY.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DON'T THINK THERE WAS ANYTHING WE DIDN'T LIKE

    GREAT LOCATION, GAVE US A GOOD BASE TO STAY, GOOD COOKED BREAKFAST, OPTIONS OF CEREALS YOGHURT ETC AND COMFORTABLE BED WITH ENSUITE, ALSO ADDED BONUS WAS DOGS ALLOWED. THE HOTEL IS AN OLD BUILDING WITH LOTS OF CHARACTER WHICH WE LOVE, WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY AND THE STAFF WERE SO HELPFUL.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No milk in our bedroom on arrival, but was quickly remedied when we said. Electric towel rail in shower room did not work and shower room was rather small.

    Staff were friendly. The view from our bedroom was excellent and location was very good. Also breakfast was good with a lot of variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pet friendly, very clean, nice breakfast and staff are lovely
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say. Would like one of the slightly bigger rooms on our next visit

    We took our dog Bertie with us. The way they treat pet at the hotel is brilliant. The staff are great. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Drab surroundings detracted from an otherwise good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place was drab and dowdy. It's not the place for a real treat. Floorboards in our bedroom creaked all over the place.

    The cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Annual visit to this dog-friendly hotel ideally located in...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Annual visit to this dog-friendly hotel ideally located in the centre of Mumbles and with easy access to all the Gower beaches. Staff are always warm and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, convenient position for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be difficult and expensive if you have to use the car park opposite hotel.

    Friendly staff, convenient position for our needs. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Would happily stay here again but would want a larger room.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very narrow and a good job we didn't bring the cat as there was no room at all to swing it!!!! Limited space to put anything and a bit claustrophobic. Good job it was only a one night stay.

    Quiet, spotlessly clean and warm room. Good and clean shower room. Very good breakfast served by very nice and friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    A January break to do some walking and to treat ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the biggest room with the biggest bed and enjoyed it. It is very close to the promenade and the sea (when the tide comes in). Beer barrels reserving a parking space in front of the hotel was a nice touch! The Mermaid restaurant close by is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff made us feel very welcome , the receptionist and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came back at 22.45 after having a meal out and was disappointed to find the bar shut

    The staff made us feel very welcome , the receptionist and the bar staff were fab

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was clean and comfortable and suited my needs for the purpose of the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking and only option was to park in a public car park which cost £5 a day for 2 days making my stay an extra £10. It would be good if the hotel offered a refund or part refund towards the cost

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly and breakfast really well cooked with a good choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.8
    Bed was comfortable shower cubicle was so small I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable shower cubicle was so small I couldn't wash myself properly breakfast was undercooked overall ivshouod have booked the Patrick hotel for the extra £20. Very tired hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.5
    One night stay on this occasion, but looking forward to returning in the warmer weather for a longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small room overlooking the back. It was fine for one night, but too cramped for a leisurely stay and we would otherwise have selected a larger room overlooking the sea.

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Great location, with cafe and restaurant facilities nearby. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    I was staying for 9 nights and I was originally in quite a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I was staying for 9 nights and I was originally in quite a small room, however the hotel was quiet so I received an upgrade to the main suite to ensure my long stay was as comfortable as possible!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.8
    The location was excellent on the sea front in the Mumbles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms and unfriendly staff. There was a scruffy looking man loitering in the lounge and at the door that never spoke to us when we passed him. We later saw him de-activating the fire alarm panel so we presume he worked there!

    The location was excellent on the sea front in the Mumbles

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Good night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Good breakfast staff very helpful didn’t like 1st room dark strange layout went to reception and staff were fantastic moved to sea view room at no extra charge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Was perfect for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off road parking would be preferable.

    All the staff were so friendly and extremely helpful. The beds were very comfortable with lovely bedding. Plenty of food for breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    We were looking got a place to stay on the water, it was just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathroom were small but there is not much that can be done about that. No complaints, it was great for the price.

    The staff were warm and generous. Centrally located. Great place for the location and price. The breakfast included in the room price was much better than most. Very happy to have stayed there for the weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay staff were lovely room was clean and tidy just could have done with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and too many stairs not for us but if we'd had our daughter with us that would have been an issue

    Very comfy bed and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Unhealthy food, fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The healthy options for the breakfast was simple, only serial and fruit. The bread was of terrible cardboard type, and possibilities for massive loads of bacon and sausage, and fried eggs. The breakfast was served in a buffet hot and cold.

    great view, great location for running along the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Adequate but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt a little musty and I was woken up a few times but the loud whirring of next door's extractor fan. The decor wasn't very cosy and the carpet etc needs updating.

    The staff were very friendly and considerate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    location is excellent for mumbles and beached and walks,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds not overly comfortable, bathroom smelt of damp and little bit tatty.

    location is excellent for mumbles and beached and walks, restaurants. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    3.8
    A great disappointment - only the view was good. Not worth £80/night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was tiny and does not appear in any of their photographs. The sink was the smallest in production. The bathroom area was not cleaned each day. There was no chair to sit on. The breakfast was basic to be polite. It shuts at 08.45 M-F not 9.45am as advertised. The reception staff were extraordinarily unhelpful and to the point of being rude when deficiencies were brought to their attention. This is not an hotel. The advertised restaurant does not exist. The bar is gloomy and under used, an opens at whim. Very basic accommodation.

    There is very little to like about this place. It does NOT justify the description of being an hotel, and who gave it three stars? {Probably the owners.The room I got was not the one advertised when booking with your service. The area is great just a pity to have to return to this "guest house with occasional bar" and to wake up there the following day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very nice but I think it would have been nice to have had perhaps a couple of biscuits provided with the teabags and maybe a bottle of water, but I had a very nice stay.

    I had a very pleasant stay at the Carlton Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little tired and the room could have benefitted from net curtains, or the like, as it was like living in a goldfish bowl, with passer-byes being able to see directly into the room [room 7]. A major concern was that there was no heating - on enquiring at reception, it was explained that the heating was on a timer, but the timer never kicked in for either of the two nights stay. Similarly the towel heater was on a timer, although that did kick in on one of the nights.

    Spacious room, great views over the bay, excellent breakfast and the staff were exceptionally friendly. Hot and powerful shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we needed, and more massive room with huge bathroom, shower, large bath tub, lots of storage, comfortable seating and bed, lots of complimentary tea and coffee great sea views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Right on seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior hall areas looked a little old and worn. No dedicated parking but we never had problem parking in road or pay car park opposite

    Right on seafront. Our third floor room was spacious with good views . Staff were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.6
    This 'hotel' lacks a restaurant and parking - more a basic b&b but not priced as such!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking - should be made clearer on line. Street parking usually full- have to pay £5 a day for public car park across the road which also gets full. Not informed our room was up 3-4 flights of very steep stairs which were a struggle as we are 75yrs old. Room had an odd, unpleasant smell, bed not comfortable. Traffic noise intrusive. TV up close to ceiling - could only really be watched lying on the bed but no chairs anyway! Bathroom much too small, poorly fitted out, nor even a toilet roll holder,nowhere to put things. Towels smallest possible, paper bath mat. No restaurant - only a breakfast room. No food available at all. As with lack of parking this should be made clear. Did not want to go out in the pouring rain to get a meal in the evening and would not have booked here had we known. Did not appreciate getting back early eve, about 7.30pm, to find front door locked and the ground floor/ bars/reception in virtual darkness!

    Breakfast very good but stopped serving too early. Staff excellent, friendly, and helpful - they are the best thing about this establishment. Seemed to cover several jobs eg serving breakfast, cleaning and reception. The breakfast room is bright and welcoming but this hotel is generally past its best and more a b&b but was clean which was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Double Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely helpful staff. Good breakfast. The parking was fine, in a municipal car park opposite. I went there because it was within walking distance of a very elderly (104) uncle living near Oystermouth Castle.,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    I would definitely go there again. It doesn't take long to get to the Gower beaches from here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise, but I chose to have an ocean view which had the main road also.

    Friendly service and very helpful! Full traditional English breakfast with friendly staff in tge dining area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Great food, great staff, good location for pubs, resteraunts and walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink in our room was very small, with a low shelf over it. It was almost impossible to use, either to have a quick face wash or to clean teeth. The extractor fan in the shower room was very noisy.

    The staff were excellent. They could not do enough for us, particularly at breakfast, very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious. A couple of easy chairs would have been nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Staff super friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (No Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was not comfortable, old and worn out! Room was dirty! Dust behind TV falling on the desk! Carpet dirty... Need a very deep cleaning!

    Staff super friendly and polite. Good breakfast... you couldn't help yourself though!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: