Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Carpenters Arms 4 stars

Three Elm Lane, Tonbridge, TN11 0AD, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Tonbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked as a stopover to visit Great Dexter but will be booking again whenever we use the Tunnel to visit Europe. Room was spacious and comfortable, food was very good and reasonably priced, pretty village location with lots of external seating. All the staff were great - friendly, efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's all very well providing "different" breakfasts, but not to have any regular cereals or any marmalade is not ok in my opinion. The bedroom was very warm.

    Nicely decorated, clean room. Large shower. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in and out, we had to queue with others ordering food and drinks at the bar. It ended up taking us 20 minutes to check out :(

    The shower was amazing! The photos online really don’t do it justice, our room was modern, funky and the bed was super comfy. Perfect location for us for a local wedding too, we really lucked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Checking in was not obvious and its not ideal walking through a busy pub with your luggage. TV was a bit old, no HD channels and picture was not great, and no HDMI input for playing movies etc from your own device.

    The superior room was well appointed and roomy, food in the restaurant was very good. The noise from the pub was only noticeable until around 10pm, and even then it was not bad at all. Bed was very comfy and I slept well every night of my three night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in the room. Bar staff seemed overwhelmed dealing with hotel reception as well as the bar work, strangely enough more so at breakfast than in the evening. Seemed a bit expensive to me, especially since breakfast was not included, which added another £10 to my overnight stay.

    As I grew up in the area, I've known The Carpenters Arms for a very long time but this was the first time I've had occasion to stay. The room and its bathroom were huge, the bed was very comfy, the food was as good as ever. The location was rural and peaceful. Would certainly stay here again if I needed accommodation in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Contrary to earlier reports, I found the bar staff very friendly and helpful. With glorious weather, we sat outside on the patio to eat a very tasty meal and a glass of wine. Everything, and I mean everything, was perfect for the 3 of us. The proprietor couldn't have been more obliging. Give it a go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no fridge in the rooms, no airco (surprisingly it was very hot in England during our stay)

    friendly and helpful staff, very central location for trips, good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have my booking.com booking when I showed up. Which really made me feel SOOOO welcomed. And was told that I was 'fortunate' as there was room for me. My lucky day indeed. I then had a change of plans and needed to check out 1 day early. Instead of accommodating that request to make up for the initial screw up at check in, management kindly told me I could amend the booking for a fee equivalent to 2 nights stay! What a wonderful establishment. I would certainly NEVER return. I would have been better off in ANY other establishment within a 30 mile radius for that 1 night. Shame I didn't just turn on my heels and walk out at that point when they couldn't find my reservation at check in. But then again, suspect they would have charged me for the phantom booking anyway!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable stay, in an excellent location for visiting the local area, with a warm, friendly atmosphere. Rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The rooms were large and very comfortable. The food was excellent. The staff were especially friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault the whole experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We happily gave a 10 so being picky but the curtains don't keep the light out and as summer draws nearer if you like it dark to sleep it's an issue. However, the bed is so comfy maybe you won't notice and soon be in a deep zzzzzzzzzzzz

    The room, hotel and staff were all worthy of 10 out of 10 and special thanks to Lauren and the Landlord for being understanding when we booked room 6 for the wrong night that they changed for which were especially grateful. Now we have discovered this gem in the Kent countryside we will certainly be back. On this occasion we didn't sample the food as we were attending a wedding reception in the evening and a breakfast brunch with friends the following day but it looked very good indeed. Thank you for a great night K & T

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner's complete lack of regard for guests by refurbishing around them - workmen fitting a kitchen in apartment overhead, rooms around mine being decorated so continual noise from 8am to 5pm. Upon my request to move to a quieter room (I was staying for 2 nights), was sent to 2 different rooms - one had plaster coming down from the ceiling, another was being decorated. The girls at the bar were lovely, but clearly had no direction or support from the owner as to what was happening and which rooms might be affected. Upon check out, the owner gave me a brief apology, but turned nasty when I suggested he should take something off the bill, and refused. His excuse in answer to my question as to why he would care so little for guests by booking rooms during the work was that most guests stay out all day! Regarding the room - windows open to people smoking/sitting outside, with no blinds/nets so you have to close the curtains to change. Light in room far too bright, but bedside lamps too dim. Pub (which is quite nice) is clearly a priority over guests' comfort.

    Comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The staff were very friendly but professional. Nothing was a problem for them. The food was first class, always hot and well presented. The room was not overly big but adequate. Bedroom and bathroom was always well cleaned. Loved the atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Out of town location, nice and quiet, and the owner and staff were very welcoming, attentive and courteous. Excellent freshly-prepared food (and beers) at reasonable prices. (The home-made granola at breakfast was especially nice.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and i enjoyed our stay room wa lovely breakfast was excellent. Only bad coments are room to hot and when opening window found a ladder leaning against the wall which didnt make it feel safe to leave open as being burgled once when on holiday so had to suffer heat. Also the bed could do with a topper as there are some buttons stocking through the shets at both ends of the mattress. We did not say anything because its a wonderful place and hasn't changed our thoughts as we will be coming back. Look forward to our return...

    Good food Staff are amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm

    Beautiful room and bathroom, really comfy bed, good quality linen. Every member of staff we met was friendly, helpful and good at their job. Dinner was delicious and breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got very hot during the night.

    Staff were helpful and friendly and were very accommodating when we needed an early check in. The room was lovely and breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 easily visible from fire escape/rear entrance but was easily rectified by closing the curtains. However, access door did slam and it is never great being located near an exit/entrance such as this. Not many comings and goings but something to look at as this pub/bar/restaurant is a little gem!

    Great bed, a twin turned into a very secure very large double. Great shower. Very clean. Great choice of breakfast and very well executed. Dinner menu choice was good and again very tasty and presented very well. Our meal was in the bar area however it did not feel like a boozy pub as there was a heavier lean on diners than drinkers but all added to convivial atmosphere. Well done!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attached pub had a slight problem with fruit flies on the plants and picture frames. Duvet in the room was too warm for us, and the shower gel provided had been refilled with water.

    The room gave a great first impression, and felt luxurious. Staff were quick and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive considering what was supplied and not particularly good.

    The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, access after hours was easy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was horrific. We stayed in room number 3, which is right by the back door. We stayed from a Friday to a Tuesday and after an 8 hour drive on the Friday, we had the worst night's sleep in any hotel we've ever stayed in. We were kept awake (including our small baby) until gone 1am due to the screaming and laughing in the pub downstairs and the staff slamming the doors on our floor, then woken up again at 5:30am by people slamming the back door. The room was also stifling, even with all heating turned off and in December. Our baby was sweating and dehydrated, plus woken up by all the noise. Recommendation: put some foam on the back door to make it quieter and install air conditioning or a fan at the very least.

    Staff in restaurant were very helpful and accommodating. Food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much, only a slight criticism that maybe little pots of milk for tea making facilities were possibly out of date as left a milky scum but only had one anyway as don't drink much tea, prefer black coffee!!

    Was in a very good location although at the edge of town but made that more of relaxing place to stay, obviously a local place with customers who in general were very friendly. Yes very enjoyable!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We stayed here last Christmas, similar price, breakfast included. This time, breakfast was not included. We were very disappointed that there was no internet, despite it being advertised. Clean and comfortable accommodation but next time I will search the Internet for a better deal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being really picky. Stayed in room 6 and it could have done with a chest of drawers to unpack for 2 nights. Also a soap dish by the basin. That's it. All otherwise great.

    Liked the super helpful staff. Locations excellent. Chef was very good indeed. Service quick and every meal we had was delicious. Breakfasts lovely, great open fire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fabulous place to stay. Great pub with excellent restaurant and superb bedrooms. Bedrooms all newly refurbished by the look of them. Very comfortable bed, and great power shower. Breakfast choice was excellent, and all freshly cooked to order. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from upper floor, t.v. and people walking around making floor creak loudly which kept us awake, seems floor/ceiling would benefit from extra insulation

    Beautiful room, excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny thing was the room was a bit too warm. When I opened the window it was raining and noise of rain pouring down gutters was hard to sleep through.

    Room was spacious, bathroom very nice, modern and clean. Bed comfortable. Food good in restaurant downstairs and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the external staircase outside the pub that leads to the rooms, there is no lighting, so when its dark its a bit of a issue

    great staff, great food, great accommodation have recommended this to friends

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was far too hot (and the radiator wasn't on) so had to sleep with windows open. Bath took ages to fill. Breakfast not included in room rate.

    Location was good & room was very clean with bottles of water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike

    The reviews clearly describe the place. It was easy to find and within travelling distance of my activities. Food was well presented and of good quality. Somewhere you would want to visit again and again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Some of the rooms are on the small side. Everything works, like the bathroom basin & shower, kettle, TV, etc. but there's minimal storage and shelving to put things away. Cramped or quaint and cozy? Your call really. It was an excellent stay overall, but 2 things were annoying neither of which The Carpenters can do much about. First, other guests allow the back door to slam as they come and go. Not great at 1AM when you're asleep. Second, they have food deliveries around the back most mornings. The van drivers leave their stereos blasting during their drop off. It's like a mobile disco shows up for 15 to 20 minutes anywhere between 7:00AM and 9:00AM. A quiet lie in is not an option.

    All the staff were super friendly and polite. It was easy to add extras like meals and drinks to our room account and pay for it at checkout. Location for us is great due to proximity of family and Gatwick Airport. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast selections, which you do pay extra for, are fantastic. We've stayed at The Carpenters before and will again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things need fixing. Seems as if they made a huge effort to modernise then neglected to keep things clean and working. Two bedside tables. One lamp. When asked to have another lamp they told us they didn't have one (stores in the area - so go buy one?) . Shower soap holder broke off and not replaced. Things like that. Bland room. No pictures or colour.

    Breakfast choice. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed distracted/disinterested/vague. Overcharged me 16 pounds for a breakfast for two that I never ordered. Have e-mailed for refund but have heard nothing. Location inconvenient without a car; road narrow, no shoulder for walking.

    Dinner was good. Room had nice view. Bed comfortable. Had a bath tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfy bed, water and delicious cookies in the room. I stayed overnight for a wedding in the area - the staff couldn't have been more friendly. Would love to have spent more time here. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us the menu was modern and a bit burgery for our taste. the meal we had was average but the breakfast was excellent

    Very pleasant country hostelry. Deputy manager friendly and looked after us well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a one night stay to attend a family party nearby and it fitted our requirements perfectly.

    Well equipped comfortable room. Only had breakfast which was freshly cooked to order and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit loud as music playing from the bar downstairs from about 7am

    The beds were so comfortable! The photos on booking.com don't do this place enough justice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not have uniform therefore you did not know who to approach. Bed was very hard.

    We were free to come and go as we pleased very relaxed atmosphere Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was a little noisy as it's obviously a cut through for traffic and the breakfast, for which you pay extra, was unimaginative.

    The bed was very comfy and the room had recently been refurbished.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a heavy duvet on the bed in July and no light throw. I had to ask for a top sheet to make up a cool bed. Room 2 has the guest accessible rear staircase outside the window so a little short on privacy. There was a great pub atmosphere on the Friday night we stayed so you can expect noise should you wish to go to bed early and have windows open. A fan would be a great addition.

    The food was fabulous. Very comfy bed and pillows. Large car park and outside seating area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit remote, not sure how i would have found it had my friend not picked me from the station and breakfast wasn't included.

    Staff were really friendly and very helpful, food was tasty and clean loved breakfast, pleasantly surprised with living quarters felt like being in another building, could here the late bar/ restaurant guests but it wasn't unpleasant and it soon cleared about by midnight. Loved my stay, would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in room 9, from 11pm - 2am there was a loud humming noise, like someone was using an industrial carpet cleaner, I didn't sleep well!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ordered a salad main meal in the evening, it arrived in a large bowl, and the lettuce, tomatoes were soggy, to suggest it was already made and sat in the fridge for a while, I didn't even eat 1/3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pump in the adjoining room would have certainly woken us up if we weren't already on the move as we had an early start.

    Staff very friendly. Alex gave us a great welcome on arrival. Choice of wine, drinks and food extensive. Room comfortable and well presented. Breakfast menu excellent not just your average full English available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise as room was too hot and had to sleep with window open. You could not regulate bathroom towel rail, which made bathroom very hot.

    Food was very good, location was good for us, as we are National Trust members and a number of there properties are close. Room was very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairs and corridor very dirty. Needs replacing.

    Large comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, clean rooms, quality food, friendly staff, easy parking, beautiful countryside nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am pleased to say I couldn't have wished for more.

    This was a particulary good establishment with the staff being friendly helpful and extremely efficient. The room was furnished with an extra wide bed which was astonishingly comfortable and cosy. Bathroom en suite was well furbished and had an excellent shower. Tea, coffee and bottled water was supplied as were shampoos, soap and shower gel. Since we were attending a Birthday meal elsewhere we ate only a sandwich soon after arrival; this was fresh and tasty and very much enjoyed. The food being served to other visitors/guests looked appetising and smelled invitingly. Late in the evening returning from the Birthday event we were able to sample the alcoholic beverages. The Harvey's beer was very good and the wine, my companion said, was very pleasant. Because of a need to journey early we did not stop for breakfast in the morning but given the efficiency of the staff and the overall cleanliness of The Carpenters Arms I can only imagine that we missed a treat. The visit was certainly value for money. The location is very nice with plenty of parking but would probably be difficult for non drivers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check in process wasn't great. While we did arrive at the pub on a busy Sunday evening, the staff weren't exactly attentive. We got re-directed to the bar, which was fine, but the same staff member then turned up at the bar, took care of another customers bill (fine they were there first) and then took care of another 4 customers before even speaking to us... in that avoid eye contact kind of way. It had been a long trip and it could have been done better. Like give us the guest cards to fill in while we were waiting and been a little bit more friendly. Fortunately, that staff member wasn't working the rest of our stay and everyone else was lovely.

    The showers were nice and hot with lots of water pressure. The rooms were very nice... clean, crisp and modern. Even through there's a busy pub downstairs, the rooms are quiet and there is no loitering outside after the pub closes. It's a very peaceful area. The pastries at breakfast are worth the 20 minute wait (which is convenient stated on the menu). Mark at the bar was as charming as he was helpful and the owner Jamie is a lovely guy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fault, I think but I didn't realise breakfast wasn't included and it was rather expensive.

    Excellent service and menu. Breakfast menu particularly impressive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Breakfast is not included and for the price it should be.

    Nice spacious room and excellent sized full ensuite bathroom. Surprisingly not noisy, even though the pub was extremely busy every evening. Very pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub advertised in bedroom on 'Booking.com' website, and we asked for room with bathtub on 'Booking.com' booking form, but request was ignored. No comfortable chairs in room, nor any guest lounge. There was meant to be wi-fi available, but neither we, nor other guests, could access this, despite mentioning this at breakfast on the Sunday morning. Only one side of bed had bedisde lamp (room 7). No tissues provided. Unfriendly person on duty for breakfast on the Sunday morning.

    Good clean room. Comfortable bed. Reasonable value (but breakfast is extra). Good breakfast selection, but not included in room rate. Pleasant country location on outskirts of Tonbridge. Staff were generally helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room no.8 was very noisy. About 6.30am the extractor fan from the kitchen started, unfortunately the exhaust pipework is on outside wall of room no.8, right behind the bed head! Deep rumbling noise constantly heard, no chance of any more sleep. Also someone chopping logs directly under our bedroom window. So very little peace in this area of the countryside!!! Suggest ask for a different room.

    Very nice room and bathroom, lovely setting, overlooking garden . Breakfast very good although had to pay extra as not included in the room rate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both knocked our heads on the sloping wall! Side lamp didn't work and the reception rea was non existent. It was the bar!

    The location was good, in the countryside. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was disappointing. Chicken & bacon Caesar salad had inedible rubbery croutons. Had croissants and pastries for breakfast which were soft and soggy instead of crisp and flaky.

    Room was nice but noise from road woke us early as only single glazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first morning the Earl Grey tea for my wife at breakfast was awful, the second day we asked for the Twinings Earl Grey which was available in the rooms and this was served, on the third morning we requested this again but the different waiter was not prepared to supply this and we were given a cup of the same undrinkable stew as on the first day. This left us feeling very disappointed with our visit. The tap on the sink appeared to be new and looked good but needed to be properly fitted as it was loose and wobbly, a soap dish on the sink would prevent damage to the wooden surface and a light over the sink would assist shaving, perhaps a little more attention to detail would make this 100%.

    The room was very clean, the double bed was spacious and the evening meals were excellent. Some more hooks in the bathroom would be useful for hanging wash bags, A couple of hooks on the bedroom door would also be appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighbouring room was a little noisy but that bears no reflection on the property itself.

    Staff were friendly and amenable. Lovely setting and great food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The misinformation about the menu that I took the trouble to download before our trip was the first set-back. The 2017 'Valentine's Night Menu' was completely different when we arrived, plus it had gone up from £30.00 per person to £32.95 overnight! Amazing as I had only downloaded it the evening before! We decided to eat from the regular menu instead, but my steak, (although tasty), was cooked to destruction, despite my request for medium rare! The pig cheeks had no 'crackling' as described on the menu, and were really just a bland overcooked generic meat with no real redeeming qualities I'm afraid. Definitely one to 'lose' from the menu! The room was so hot, despite our turning off the radiator in our room and having the window open, that we were uncomfortable. The midnight noise from the garden area below our room could have been much better controlled, but as the window needed to be open we were the recipients of a lot of unwanted and ill-chosen dialogue. Sorry, but for a fairly up-market gastro-pub with quite high prices, we were really under-whelmed I'm afraid.

    Breakfast and room were both very good, apart from the dire coffee that came from a disgusting machine, (and tasted every bit like it). there was no alternative, but a nice cafatiere of hot, strong, fresh coffee would have been so much better!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft for us. I'm sure some people would think it was fine and cosy. Out of hours electronic entry system was a mission to get open.

    Clean and modern BUT, én suite bathroom looked nice, look up close and it was a little tired. I spoke to the owner the next morning and during the conversation he told me (without me mentioning tired tiles) that he had arranged tilers to come in and freshen up all of the bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting connected on internet was a nightmare as no-one seemed to know which server it was, or the password. Eventually got it working.

    Fabulous room, very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much - a shelf in the bathroom would be good as would a couple of hooks on the door. Otherwise pretty good

    Very comfy bed, room very clean, likewise bathroom. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI wasn't great

    Good food, great sized rooms and very friendly staff would definitely stay there again if i was in the area and would have no problem recommending to friends and family

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't imagine how this could be improved, we enjoyed our short stay & look forward to staying again.

    Friendly staff, great meals in the Restaurant, room very clean with large ensuit power shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our complete experience was excellent, from the comfort and cleanliness of the room to the helpfulness of the staff. A great breakfast that was good value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING , IT WAS JUST WHAT I NEEDED AFTER A LONG DRIVE DOWN.

    THE STAFF EXTREMELY HELPFUL, MEAL VERY GOOD ,ROOM COMFY CLEAN AND NICELY SET OUT A VERY PLEASANT STAY AFTER A LONG JOURNEY. EARL GREY TEA AND BISCUITS IN ROOM.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included in room rate, which made it seem quite an expensive stay compared to other local hotels and B&Bs.

    Pretty room with very comfortable bed. Good pub food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't great. Weak. Stayed in Room 2 at the back of the hotel which considering the car park was amazingly quiet. Only thing was a delivery van arrived at 6.30 am and although turned his engine off, I was awoken by the flashing of the hazard lights. The curtains were really good but let light in around the edges. Perhaps the hotel could ask delivery drivers not to put hazard lights on. Check out was quick but the guy couldn't raise a smile. He was efficient just very serious.

    Very well furnished, contemporary and comfortable. Great bed linen, power shower and good towels. Room decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was really great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We can't think of anything to find fault with so far.

    The Carpenters Arms is one of the best small places we have stayed at. Rooms are clean and comfy. Food is very good for choice and standard. Staff are helpful and friendly. We would easily recommend anyone to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dedicated check in space for accommodation would be nice as it was a bit awkward with bags and a child in a busy bar.

    Fabulous room, spacious and light, modernly restored maintaining its stunning period features. Vibrant beer garden and bar serving really good food. It was hard to fault.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet hadn't been cleaned properly, rooms (especially bathrooms) are very tired and in need of TLC. Staff noisy outside 1st thing in the morning making preparations for the day I guess but with no respect of the guests still in bed! Just not worth £95 p/n room only.

    comfortable bed, location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the sink kept draining away with the plug pushed in & there was nowhere to put the soap when wet!

    The bed was very comfy & breakfast very tasty, although st £95 for the room, maybe breakfast should have been included!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt very corporate could have had much more personality. Whilst the food that I had was very good you have to pay for individual items at breakfast so can be quite expensive. I ordered an Irish whiskey ( not at breakfast I hasten to add!) which was advertised as coming with chef's homemade petit fours, I asked where they were the waiter did not even know what they were and I was then told that chef has not made them for ages. I was not offered anything as a replacement. Disapointing as the food seemed very good and you do pay for the quality.

    Clean functionable room and en suite, the food in the pub was very good.Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the refrigerator unit on the adjacent kitchen wall below our room got a bit distracting when the bedroom window was open. Temperatures were low 30C's during our stay, so probably working hard!

    Well decorated, sizeable room. All very clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful staff. The food was good also!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    This is a really nice pub, with back garden & front patio too. Great tasty food.! And rooms are very clean tidy & spotless. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up by a guy cutting the hedge with a petrol engine cutter ten feet from our window I got a drink from the bar just gave room # my wife came down asked for a drink at the bar he asked to see the key fob first and asked her if she had payed for the room yes and embarrassed her I assume it was becouse she is a woman and Asian appearance it was clearly a case of racial discrimination how sad

    Bed and shower good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Carpenter Arms 2 days later cancelled our room as we were told that they were fully booked, this we feel is very bad and because we could find no where else to stay we had to come back home and go up the following day for an appointment.

    You accepted our booking and took payment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was exceptionally warm - yes, it was summer, but no air circulating through the room, even with the windows open.

    Lovely bathroom and stylish room. Delicious breakfast, although at extra cost.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Carpenters Arms traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: