Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Airman Hotel 3 stars

16 Hitchin Road, Shefford, SG17 5JF, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Shefford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress was sinking in the middle. furniture and fittings were old and battered. the beds were clean, but somehow looked as though they had not been ironed or made and tucked in neatly. view from the window was a huge metal container. big blue linen bags were dumped in the corridor and outside the door of the side entrance to the rooms - which was quite funny because there was a big sign on the wall telling someone (the staff I presume) not to leave laundry in the corridors!! Overall I got what I paid for and the accommodation was as could be expected. At least the staff were friendly and pleasant. Not sure what to think about the event marquee which sits in the garden!

    Friendly face on reception and behind the bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    ok for price bit there is.much better near by
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is dated and.needs investment. carpets and towels a little thread bare. Get a better chef the food is greasy and badly cooked. There really is no excuse for this. cooking from fresh rather than reheating would help!

    for what you pay for the location it is more than fair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gemma at reception was really helpful and very attentive and dealt with any question we asked, she was very informative and very happy to help. Breakfast was great ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty overall. There was an interdental brush from a previous guest on the floor in the bathroom and the bath was dirty. Towles were all mis matched with a combination of nice fluffy ones to ones which were rough, marked and fraying. The mugs were dirty - again a previous guest must have turned them back over after using, but this was not checked by "cleaner". The bedding on the top of the bed was clean and fresh, but the valance sheets were disgusting - stained, bobbling and unironed which instantly made the room look very scruffy. We had to move the bed under the window as dropped phone down the side, the carpet was filthy - sweets and crisps along the length of the bed and very dusty. Absolute bare minimum went in to tidying room and was very careless as so many things missed which would have taken seconds to rectify. It also needs a thorough fresh coat of paint - it was clear a painting/picture on the wall had been changed for a much smaller one as the old paint could be seen which was a totally different colour, they must have painted around the last one before changing it. In the bathroom paint was flaking too. and there were cups in the bath. We had stayed there 4 years ago and it was lovely which is why we chose to stay here again - this time was horrible and I would not consider staying again. Seriously gone downhill, very disappointing.

    The receptionist was very friendly upon arrival. It is a nice quiet location and as the night we stayed was very hot we had windows opened all night and were not disturbed by any noise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    The food and the service were very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very very soft. Although lovely the rooms could do with a major refit. Especially the bathroom.

    The food and the service were very good . Friendly staff. Plenty of clean towels. It served our purpose and we would use it again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    It was close to the area where I wanted to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot weather, there was no fan to help, there was widows to open but that was not much help as it was noisy as main roads around.

    It was close to the area where I wanted to.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Was an ok hotel to meet family nearby, but wouldn't choose it for a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building in need of repair. Bath very chipped and doors didn't shut. Room door had been kicked in so we couldn't lock it. Carpets could do with a very deep clean! General paint work tidy up needed.

    In a good location for us to meet family locally. Breakfast cooked fresh. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Easy location to henlow greyhound stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms require some attention, all though they were basic which wasn’t a problem they really require so me TLC. Bath and tile area looked old and grubby.

    Easy location to henlow greyhound stadium.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on a main Road and noisy, but I was just very happy to have an excellent place to stay.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fans. Rooms too hot during summer months. Bad security. Should have 24/7 reception. Too expensive for an out dated hotel which has so much potential if decor modernised and staff adequately trained.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    We will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we have stayed there and we weren't disappointed. We invited a friend to join us for dinner and the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Not much
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are in a poor state of decoration, the bathroom is dated and in need of more than tlc. The hot water lasted only 4 minutes so the wife had to shower in cold water. The reception from staff was anything but welcoming, our room was in the outer extension, there is a clear trip hazard at the entrance to this block that is unmarked. Doors are not auto locking either in or our of the room. At Breakfastwe asked for some more toast, on asking a second time the manager did bring more toast for us, at the same time taking away our plates before we finished eating.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Only there for 36 hours so no opportunity to voice concerns and see if they were acted on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet didn't flush properly. Extractor fan in bathroom didn't work. Cold tap dripped continually. No shades on bedside lights and one bulb not working. These problems did not appear to be recent. Evening meal was of poor standard, steak overcooked and bread turned up at edges. Wasn't prepared for being located on a very busy roundabout, very noisy all night.

    The mattress was clean and comfy. The tea/coffee facilities were good and replenished. Staff were friendly and eager to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointed worse place I have stayed in for a long time. Needs complete overhaul in rooms
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was smelly, disgusting, dirty, exposed open pipes, filthy, filthy loo brush, dust on surfaces, door and skirting boards and horrible dirty old flooring, toilet seat did not fit, dirt around sink and bath. Had to ask for another kettle as this was also unacceptable to use with white floating pieces. Obviously never been checked. The window in the room was dangerous (especially if children used the room). It was broken and could opened wide, no window handle, and window frame was in a total state of disrepair and flaking. The paint work in the room was a joke.Large patches of different colours where beds had been moved and the exposed walls not painted. Booked for two nights as attending funeral - stayed one night and returned home next day. Grumpy gentleman at reception. Would not recommend anything about this place. Did not eat at the establishment as concerned with state of kitchens if rooms like this. So could not comment on food.

    My daughter was able to sleep on the mattress and the sheets appeared clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Was probably good 30 years ago.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot waterater playing up, needs a good overhaul and the chef can't cook gammon as not many people like it very well done and dried out

    Staff very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    Terrible. Won’t be staying again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water lasted around 3 minutes in the shower. Not a hope in hell of getting two people showered with hot water.

    Renewed the towels everyday which is pretty much standard for every other hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    What was once an upmarket motel is now sad and in need of TLC. However, it is a budget stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given on arrival was under the slope of the roof which made it necessary to be a contortionist to use the shower over the bath. The kettle was not just furred up with limescale, but strange colours.

    After complaining about the issues below, we were changed to a room with a four poster bed and full height bathroom. There was a view over wild ground with water, reeds and bird life (ignoring the portakabin below the window).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Working away
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airman suited our needs and requirements room was clean and comfortable the shower was nice and hot and good parking. They also offer food on site until 9.30pm I can't comment on this as we chose to eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms appear to have very little in the way of insulation I could hear almost everything my neighbors were saying. So had to sleep with ear plugs in.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    friendly and good value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need a new painter for your rooms!

    the staff were very friendly.The location was very good for our purpose with excellent parking.We had a meal in the bar in the evening that was very nice and well priced and drinks at the bar not too expensive.The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel with a vast choice.Only problem with the room was the central heating was turned off when we arrived and it was a bit chilly.Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Adequate, without being ideal, for our need at the time. Reluctant to use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furnishings are very tired and old fashioned - badly in need of updating. Feel that the basic cost of the double room, which was £57 per night, should have included breakfast (which is £7.50 extra per person per day). We stayed 3 nights so this would have been £72 per night with breakfast added at the current rate, which we declined, & which it definitely is not worth.

    My wife & I were visiting a sick relative close by so the location for us was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.1
    Happy with our overall stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy and would stay there again.

    Great location for us as we were visiting relatives, good parking, room comfortable but could do with a blind on the skylight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the tea and coffee were self service so the tea was stewed. Need to offer a fresh pot at the table. The decor was a bit tired.

    Room was good size, very warm - temperature outside below freezing- had a bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Well suited for the short stay and attending a wedding nearby, we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property and fittings/ furnishings somewhat tired in appearance. Could do with being refurbished. Car Park surface needs tarmacing and resurfacing in places. Better complimentary toiletries and tea/ coffee making provisions needed.

    Fine for a short stay, good sized rooms, clean bed linen and towels. Staff very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Only ate breakfast, which was very good and good value for money. Conveniently located and easy to find.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Basic, friendly hotel, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor with a velux window and a view of scrub. Wifi was unobtainable in the bedroom.

    The staff are always helpful and friendly. It's a basic, good value hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Not the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful bed. Terrible decorating. Frayed chair. Had to ask for lightbulbs for the bedside lights. There weren't enough tables laid for breakfast. It was like we weren't expexcted. Who on earth painted our bedroom walls - paint on the fittings , floor skirting board etc. No teaspoons on the tea/coffee tray.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked grubby and had a mismatch of furniture. The corridors smelt of cannabis The bathrooms looked dirty The staff were awful, an older female dealt with us and she clearly was not happy, no instructions or warm welcome, we actually felt very uncomfortable round her.

    I couldn’t say there was anything I liked about the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Another good stay at the Airman hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls could be a bit thicker! Other guests unaware how thin the walls were. Other than that a good hotel that meets our needs with excellent staff. Thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it. Hope to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings a little tired but spotlessly clean.

    We stayed overnight and I invited relatives to join us at the hotel for dinner. There were six of us and the standard of the meals was excellent. Service too was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    The staff made us feel like we were at our home
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Steve, Gemma and Ray went out of their way to be helpful and meet our needs . I needed to print off some packing forms to send boxes home then scan them back to the company it was no problem to do it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    3.3
    I would not recommend the Airman Hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress was dire! very uncomfortable. an old building of character, but the interior is in need of complete refurbishment.

    the staff were pleasant and the car park a good size. good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor and some of the fittings are a little tired.

    Breakfast was very good, the beds were clean and comfortable. Good roadside location but still quiet enough at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.0
    On arrival the reception was unattended, there was a sign...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the reception was unattended, there was a sign saying go into the bar for a member of staff, to be honest i wasn't sure if anyone was working behind the bar as i was waiting for 8 minutes before a member of staff appeared behind the bar to assist ! Probably the most uncomfortable bed i have ever lay on, if you like the feeling of springs in your back room 38 is for you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    3.8
    Nothing I'm afraid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely uncomfortable beds, paper thin walls and mouldy bathroom. Not at all pleasant. We didn't sleep at all which ruined our next days plans.

    Nothing I'm afraid

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    After attending a funeral, could have done without the hassle.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frosty outside, took two complaints and two hours to get heating in the room, before we could go to bed. But warm in the morning.

    eventually adequate for one night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, all fine if we ignore the grotty bathroom facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was good so I guess you get what you pay for however, the bathroom facilities were somewhat tired and grotty, fine for a tradesman stopping over but thats it.

    A very good traditional breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very tired and in need of a refurbishment. The beds are really uncomfortable and the bathroom had mold growing and the taps didn't work.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Velow average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 9am. Bed - not the best...could feel springs in mattress. Pillows thin and marked wwith yellow stains and need refreshed Bathroon decor old and tired. Room very basic

    The receptionist was excellent. Extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Was perfect for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottom sheet wasn’t tucked in

    There was a very nice young man who seemed to work in all areas. He was very polite and helpful, and a good worker. All the staff including the cleaners were lovely. It makes such a difference.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Not bad for a reasonbly priced one night stay, but wouldn't bother again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one on reception and no bell to call anyone. Room was pretty shabby [but clean] and headboard incredibly uncomfortable. Light in room was very dim but that might bother me with my bad eyes more than some. The worst thing was the noise at night, not from the roundabout outside, that didn't bother us. The noise was from the very creaky floorboards outside on the landing and very inconsiderate guests lumping around and talking loudly at all hours. No sleep had! Need more staff, there was only one guy working on the Saturday night to run the bar and and serve the food! This place needs an urgent refurb, and some more staff.

    Room was clean with a decent bathroom [full sized bath!] Bed was comfy. Food was not bad, maybe a little overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Good value if you are not fussy about room quality or service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very "tired" looking, new curtains, lampshades and carpets needed, paint and varnish throughout, etc. Larger TV would be useful. Access to bar from reception not possible at 9.45 pm, which I thought was odd, also no staff on reception when checking out.

    The hotel looked good from outside and is easy to get to, park, etc. Breakfast was O.K. but cheap ingredients used.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Had a nice stay, visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a nice stay, visiting family. As we didn't have a car the location was a bit far from the village, on a busy road. Great location if driving. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect stop over for Champney's Spa and Clifton Indian fine dining!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the advert outside saying food served all day to discover that we arrived 17:10 on Sunday and they stop serving food @ 17:00.

    The room was of good size, the bed was comfy though the quilt a little 'hot' (I got the two bath towels as cover instead)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Really tired surroundings but a good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was closed early upon arrival - "not worth us keeping it open"......poor really after a long journey. All table surfaces in the bar felt sticky. Toilet not flushing properly. Room decorated really badly. Needs a professional refurb.

    Really well cooked breakfast. Reception lady helpful in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay, standard reflected in price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms clean but basic. Bathroom really in need of refurbishment very mouldy tile grouting and bathroom suite old and suffering wear and tear. Could do with a light over the dressing table for doing hair and make-up.

    Staff extremely polite and helpful. Nice atmosphere in well stocked bar area. Menu choices good and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    I will not be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Codition of the premesis was poor. Condition and cleanliness of the room was poor. Lack of information in the room, no contact details, etc.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a name like 'The Airman' and being close to the brilliant Shuttleworth aeroplane collection, I would have expected some indication of an aeronautical theme!!

    Quite close to the Shuttleworth Collection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    In a comfy, quite haze
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a bit of remodeling. The walls are thin but the clientele, seem to be quite, or at least where on my visit. The fact that its, right on a roundabout on the A road... it's get a bit noisy with the cars, gathering speed, off the roundabout.. the windows seemed to be a bit worn. Was cold in the rooms, owners may not have turned the heating on, this early in the season.

    This is a nice family run, cozy hotel, bar and restaurant.. along the 507 motorway. Rooms are large and equipped well.. with OK furniture and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Value for money which could be improved with a small effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was difficult to enter on one side as it was under the sloping roof. Bathroom could have been cleaner. There was only wi-fi in the bar.

    The bed was clean and comfortable. There was a bath in the bathroom but not really usable shower as it was not possible to stand up at the tap end of the bath due to sloping roof. Nice white towels. Ample parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Suited a purpose for this one off visit to Milton Keynes but wont be staying there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel itself is looking dated and tired. Mattresses could do with replacing as they are dished and mattress springs can be felt. Had an initial problem when checking out as bill was charged to wrong card despite changing the card details on Booking .com site 24 hours before arrival. I discussed card changes with Receptionist upon checking in and this was all clear. However, the bill was made out and charged to incorrect card before I got to check out. After pointing out the error of their ways I was then asked by a senior member of staff to share the 3% bank refund charge despite this being their mistake....Mmmm!? I wont be staying there again or recommending this to people I like.

    Bar and Restaurant area is fairing better than hotel rooms. Breakfast & service by waiting staff was good and friendly. Location to the Millbrook Proving ground is an acceptable distance. Hotel rooms were clean However, I will not be recommending this Hotel to colleagues as a place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay here again. very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    kept awake every night. people making lots of noise and smoking in their rooms. lack of staff and no one to speak to about concerns overnight. unable to move us as seemingly booked up. room full of dust and not clean. curtains hanging of rails and view overlooking old outbuildings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing and unplesant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service and attitude of the staff was appalling. We got double charged for the room despite confirmation from Booking.com that the rooms had already been paid for and we were called "stupid" by the staff for not understanding why they were charging us again. They advised no payment had been received for the room so despite confirmation of this they would not let us into the rooms until we paid again. This has taken considerable time to sort out however the staff at Booking .com ave been nothing but friendly and helpful in resolving the issue which was actually between tthehotel and them and the hotel should have been contacting them directly and not asked us to pay again .

    The staff were extremely rude and very unhelpful , rooms drab , facilities very outdated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Bit overpriced at £55 a night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had no shower, just a shower thing connected to the bath taps. Bath plug was missing and shower head holder was broken so it wasn't possible to have either a shower or a bath.

    A but basic but clean. Biscuits and tea good but no coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel, great value for money, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the room even with no heater on and all windows open.

    The staff were excellent, very efficient and helpful. The room we stayed in was very spacious, beautiful 4 poster bed, sofa, big TV. More than expected 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel but could do with a freshen up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head would not fit support bracket on wall - had to shower with one hand holding shower head. Traffic noisy especially in the morning - unavoidable

    Staff helpful and pleasant. Food good and good value too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.3
    Nothing to like ,I did feel sorry for the staff they did try...
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean ,pillows stained mattress stained , it's in desperate need of a makeover , I hadn't any option but to stay

    Nothing to like ,I did feel sorry for the staff they did try very hard to make the best of a bad job

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Your room is that way with outside access." The security code was not needed as the door was 'permanently' open. The notices were for the staff not to leave laundry around. They had NOT read it but we did AND THE THREE BAGS OF USED LAUNDRY STAYED NEAR THE ENTRANCE DOOR from one day to the next and were not put into the laundry shed awaiting collection as instructed by the 'Notice to Staff'. We did not fell secure as the room locks were old and mechanical. The decor was amateur. The painting was poor and spread in the wrong places and there is an urgent need for a professional makeover. Plaster was coming off the wall near our room. Outside there was a dumped mattress and a pile of old building materials. The exterior looked good but the interior failed to live up to the 'promise'. To paraphrase what Churchill once said of Clement Attlee - "The hotel [He] is a very modest hotel [man] with much to be modest about." We will NOT be returning anytime soon!

    Not a lot. The numerous Monet prints in the corridor and room were pleasing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    2.5
    I was so disappointed with the accommodation I was maid to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    I was so disappointed with the accommodation I was maid to pay and straight away...before entering the room, I entered the room and walked out and paid for 2 nights at a premier Inn - please refund my £110.00 -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could do with some tlc and updating.

    The friendly staff and excellent food. The location of the Airman, as it is situated about a mile from Shefford so there is little noise during the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Airman staff are friendly & helpfull as long as there is no other events, or you will be banished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should have been informed before checking in that a wedding was taking place following day & you were not allowed access to both bars which was pretty bad because they were hired out.

    Staff are friendly, Steve really nice guy & very helpfull. In all a very nice place to stay as long as there are no events or weddings otherwise you get banished & cant get access to either of the 2 bars.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great staff and food, just a little TIC and the place will fly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside needed some TIC, the garden st the back where the marquee was is lovely and quite but needs some rambling roses or something similar to brighten the area. The road side garden fence needs TIC. Light fitting missing from front of house. Bath in our room was higher than normal making it difficult to get in and out, especially if we were an older couple.

    It was in easy distance to where we wanted to go on the Sunday. Very helpful staff and large portions with all meals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Family visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean but basic. Good amount of tea/ coffee /milk for the morning. Bar man was also reception staff. Room ready and staff friendly. Hot water for shower. Large bed, but a little hard for my liking, good clean bed linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value, good location hotel with friendly, helpful staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. It's a little bit "tired" but that's reflected in the price. There was no air con and we stayed during a heatwave and the road can be a bit noisy.

    A hotel with a bath! Yay! too many hotels have refurbished and think that customers don't want these any more and we do! Lovely staff, excellent fresh, well cooked food - especially breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    The stay was fine apart from the lack of availability of the restaurant to hotel residents
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't advised until the very last moment that the restaurant was not available to hotel residents on the night I stayed due the fact that a wedding party was being hosted. Unfortunately I had enjoyed the bar facilities before being told of the lack of availability of the restaurant, making it impossible to drive to any food outlet in Shefford, 1 1/2 miles away - too far to walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Relaxed hotel stay. Staff friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Atmosphere relaxed, food excellent, room facilities great, cleanliness of hotel and rooms good. Bedrooms had loads of space, had a relaxing nights sleep in a deep cushioned bed and pillows. Old pub appeal, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfortable but room basic. Could do with renovation - would not have to be fancy. Heating too hot in all areas. Bedroom heating set to maximum on warm summer day. Turn heating down and spend money on renovations. Could not lock bedroom door from hallway!

    Convenient location. Nice bar area. Staff welcoming and helpful. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    A very useful hotel to know about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly "tired" with some chipping to the enamel surface of the bath and rather dated décor, but at the price being asked this really is a small quibble.

    Delightful staff on reception and serving breakfast in the morning. The room was clean and adequately equipped; the bed was comfortable; and the breakfast was excellent. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the bathroom floor there were a few orange sticky spots.

    Bed very comfy TV worked well Clean room Nice view of the fields from the room and you can hear the birds in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.8
    Looks very nice from the outside but the inside does not reflect the inside at all . Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the extractor fan did not work in the bathroom , no hairdryer , we ate in the restaurant the food was bland , my chips were burnt ( I also heard the only other couple complain about the food especially the chips being burnt) my husbands pie was so hard he could not cut into it . No telephone in room .

    we stayed on the top floor , the view was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Unfortunately, The Airman, seemed like 'work in progress', not ready for overnight guests yet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would describe 'The Airman' as 'work in progress'; my accommodation was on the ground floor, reached by going outside the hotel. There was clear evidence of building and renovation work, a large metal container was situated outside and opposite my room; still some plaster dust and rubble present. The entrance lobby was in need of decoration, it was 'unfinished'. The room itself was all right, one double bed and one single; there was one window blind, giving it a stark appearance. There was a tea tray laid, with one builder's size mug and tea and coffee. The Free Wifi availability, which I had been told would be available, was not; although I could gain access in the public areas in the hotel. The bathroom was roomy, traditional and in good repair, if a little 'dated'. I was shocked to notice the state of the one chair seat, it had a very large and unpleasant looking stain; it made me feel ashamed, and saddened; I didn't wish to stay any longer in the room. I did take the chair round to the Reception Staff, and was told they would mention this to the Housekeeper.

    The Reception and Bar Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.6
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture very low quality. Chair was dreadful with paint on it. Tv was the smallest we have ever encountered. On second day, the bed wasn't made but just covered over. Couldn't empty the bath because couldn't get the plug out. Chains not attached on bath or washbasin. No hairdryer in room and had to ask chef for one. Reception not manned. Go to the bar. Little staff coverage. Breakfast just small boxes of individual cereal then cooked breakfast. No fruit or yoghurt or alternatives. Coffee out of a machine, not a cafetière. Had to go to bar to place order. Staff did not come to us. We weren't asked if we wanted toast.

    Location was easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Pleasurable stay at Airman Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light curtains, woken too early with sunrise

    Breakfast was very good. Tasty scrambled eggs. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was comfy but would have liked heavier or blackout curtains to block out early morning light.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable budget hotel with better than average breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps hairdryer in room - but staff quickly found one when asked.

    This is a budget hotel that offers goid value for money. Excellent breakfast - far better than most chain hotels. Room ready for an update but very clean. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.3
    Won't be returning
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom door wouldn't lock, so kept swinging open. Couldn't have a shower as the bathroom tapered down, So unable to stand also no shower stay or curtains. Children under 10 unable to stay.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    The room was huge and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather hot in the room when I arrived but after I opened the windows it quickly cooled down.

    The room was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely; the cooked food was to order and there was plenty of cereals and juice. The staff were very friendly and glad that I had enjoyed my stay. I will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75