Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Castle B&B

37 Saint Andrews Street, Cambridge, CB2 3AR, United Kingdom

#51 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Cambridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 477 B&B reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    Ok, not worth staying here unless you’re on a night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s above a nightclub, we were on the top floor and the music was still playing at 3am. You will feel the bass the whole time the club is open (fun if you like that kind of thing!) The photography makes out like this is a quaint inn above a pub, it is in fact a hostel above a night club.

    Good price for the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.5
    Would have had a better nights sleep in a shop window with the tramps.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to hard & the pillow well I may as well not of had one it was that thin. AND VERY VERY NOISY OUTSIDE INTO THE EARLY HOURS If your lucky to stay in room 3 don’t except any sleep😡😡

    Leaving

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My two children slept through it but I'd recommend bringing earplugs. The bar below must be popular and is open late. Without earplugs, one might have trouble drifting off to sleep each time someone said goodbye on the street below or laughed heartily with his mates.

    We loved the charm of this re-done B&B. Its location is amazing - right around the corner from so many things. You really feel like you are in the thick of things without the huge price tag for a room. The washrooms seemed to be newly remodeled and very tastefully done. The room was clean and bright and we had a great view of the street below. I had earplugs so had no trouble sleeping even though I could still hear that the bar was open in the rooms below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Location was excellent for access to town centre and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy outside. Noise does not botha me but may botha others

    Location was excellent for access to town centre and Adenbrook Price was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Remarkably unpleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were unable to provide breakfast due to their kitchen being out of order. My room was located above the street and it was so noisy both nights that I barely slept more than a few hours. I was kept awake on the last night from 12-3am due to excessive noise from the Castle Bar itself. I was aware from their description of events during the weekend and later stages of the week but this was over a Monday night.

    The only positive aspects of my stay were the cheerful staff and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    The location was ideal but had very loud rock music in the bar which could be heard 'til 3 am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't mind but the hotel is incredibly noisy due to very loud rock music until 3 am coming from the bar. Ours was a Friday/Saturday night stay, maybe in the week is quieter.

    The location is excellent for a two day visit to Cambridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Breakfast despite advertising itself as a B and B but the main thing was that the room was so loud being right next to a main road. Overpriced for a bad night's sleep. No staff around at the desk in the morning to deal with anything.

    The staff were welcoming when we checked in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was great, very near the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was very loud and the curtains were not very good at blocking out the light so it was hard to sleep in.

    The location was great, very near the center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    easy access to centre very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were lovely and comfy but would have been nice to have a chair in the room other than that it was great

    It's right in the centre very clean and beds were lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, chill vibes and comfy rooms! would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information about breakfast and the luggage space were not clearly explained which made things confusing for planning ahead in advance, however, was grateful to find out that they were provided for on arrival as the staff managed our things perfectly fine when asked.

    Great atmosphere and extremely comfortable, they provided a safe place for our luggage as well as refreshments in our room with clean towels, this made our experience super easy and extra special. Being close to the city centre was perfect, however need to be mindful of noise and drunk people because of this during the summer season and weekends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Really good location near pubs clubs and corn exchange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't great. Broken and chipped furniture. Shared bath room covered in piss during the night. Expected it to be noisy as it was on a busy road but all the noise came from inside the place as they got a delivery around 5:30. Constant banging of doors woke us up.

    Really good location near pubs clubs and corn exchange. Easy to get to the train station and shopping from here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice staff, good location:center reachable in minutes,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was on different floor, the whole layout of the place is like a labyrinth so not advisable to have one too many drinks :D Bit noisy in the morning.

    Very nice staff, good location:center reachable in minutes, plenty of cafés nearby as well as shopping center. Room was small but just enouhg, beds were comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Rather shabby room in a rather shabby pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs a makeover and AC fitted

    Rather shabby room in a rather shabby pub. No AC so the windows had to be open, however that meant the noise of the drunken chavs outside was heard until the wee hours.Its a pub, I get that, but its rough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    A particular bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect. It is located downtown so it is easy to reach all the destinations. Moreover, the shared bathroom was cleaned. The room was quite big with led tv. I liked the fact that a code was needed in order to access the room-zone. The staff was available and kind with all my requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and clean, basic rooms for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few small additions would make the stay more comfortable (for instance, bedside lights). The shared bathrooms were new and clean but lack of ensuite bathrooms or sinks in rooms makes it a bit basic for more than a one night stay, perhaps.

    Great location, with brilliantly helpful and friendly staff. Rooms very newly redecorated and clean, though quite basic, with shared bathrooms. Linen, tea/coffee making facilities and TV in room were all new and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Two floor rooms share one bathroom and there is no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one toilet/sink/bath shared by multiple rooms.

    Two floor rooms share one bathroom and there is no sink/table etc. in room. No one works there before 11 am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly pleasant stay in a room that did exactly what we needed it to. No complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the room overlooking the street it was noisy with the window open, but it's hard to complain about that when it's a room that's located so well for getting into the middle of the action!

    The location was spot-on in terms of being able to get around the centre easily. Although the bathroom was shared, it was spacious and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I would gladly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. If you don’t want a pub below you then this is not the place for you. This didn’t bother us, so in general everything was great, facilities and service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean room. Staff pleasant. But a maze to find where to get in and out of building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a ticket which said I was entitled to a free breakfast up to £5. The brunch was supposed to start at 11 am. The facility wasn't open. I spoke to a cleaner who advised me to go to The Wetherspoons next door. I had to fill the kettle up in the bathroom. No drinking water available. I would have left beforehand if I had known

    That the place was near to the venue where I was going to a concert.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    not for early nighters. but it's near the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    take note if you intend to rest early. it's probably better for people who are looking for the night life in cambridge. if you rest early, pop in earplugs beforehand.

    it's really near the colleges that we intended to visit. no worries for nearby dining. it's easier to walk or drive around in cambridge. the room is clean and well prepped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Kind staff, excellent position (very close to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room n. 7; it could be useful to add an hairdryer and a couple of little lamps close to the bed.

    Kind staff, excellent position (very close to the city centre).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.0
    It's a great situation in the city centre and fine for a short stay.
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just disappointing not to have a wash hand basin in the room. We knew bathrooms and toilets were shared.

    We didn't have breakfast included in our deal. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the bathrooms seemed to have been quite newly fitted out and were nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Definitely would not visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly noisy, we knew they played music in the bar below but this was not made clear. People wandering into the accommodation who claimed to be staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect and as close as described to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, wouldn’t recommend staying more than one night due to constant disturbances (even on a Wednesday)

    Location was perfect and as close as described to all amenities, secure side door for access after closing time, room was clean with towels and beverage facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The location of the B&B is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drain in the shower cubicle in one of the toilets was somewhat clogged so the water could only drain away slowly. The music from the pub downstairs could still clearly be heard at midnight. So get yourself earplugs or visit as many colleges as you could in the daytime to exhaust yourself for a better sleep. However, the overall experience at the B&B was still satisfactory. Friendly staff made the experience merrier.

    The location of the B&B is perfect. If you are taking Megabus / Stagecoach buses from Oxford (Gloucester Green bus station) to Cambridge (Parkside, Bay 16), the arrival bus stop is only 6 min to the B&B. So you don't have to take another bus or haul your luggage through a long way. It's also very conveniently situated in the city centre with local amenities (supermarkets, open-air day markets, shopping malls, independent gift shops, clothes shops) and, most importantly, beautiful colleges nearby within walking distance. It's also 3 min walk to the nearest bus stations. The buses to Cambridge railway station would only take 10 min (if there is no traffic jam and too many people going on and off the bus). The staff were very helpful and friendly. They helped us haul our heavy luggage up to the 2nd floor through maze-like corridors which could only be accessed by pressing security codes. In this sense, we felt we were interestingly and safely guarded in a Castle, as the name suggests. The owner / manager loves music and has artistic flair by incorporating famous singers and bands onto London tube map, which I find very creative. The manager was also very kind and friendly in reminding us not to exceed the weight limit of our luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice, central place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although it was mentioned that it might be loud, this was really loud during weekend days.

    Very central place with a nice bar, super friendly owner / staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.3
    You couldn't pay me to stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud noise from bar downstairs and street Dirty Dingy Dark

    Don't stay here! Really, don't! It is so loud that you won't be able to sleep. It is also rather dingy, dark and desperately in need of a renovation. I would never stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The room looked clean and it was not noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property look unfriendly and abandoned upon arrival. Staff was not very friendly, there was noone when we wanted to check out. Shared bathroom on different floor. Close to city center but no parking available - only in a nearby parking garage for 45 pounds for a day!

    The room looked clean and it was not noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Hen Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can be noisy as it is above a bar with music. However, this is much less of a problem if you’re heading out for the night. It is my opinion that this hotel would not be suitable for those wishing to have an early night!

    We stayed here as a group of 10 for a hen weekend. The location was perfect -very central- & the facilities were much better than expected having read previous reviews. The hotel was spacious, clean & the shared bathrooms did not pose a problem. The cost of the hotel was also very reasonable and I would use this hotel again for a group stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Quite expensive for what was a very basic room with limited bathroom facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though we knew shared bathrooms, there were just 2 (with the toilets in same room) for far too many rooms so lengthy wait in morning. No wardrobe or even a hook to hang clothes. No bedside lamp to read by. Though over a pub, the windows are just single glazed so a lot of noise from street.

    The beds were comfortable and it was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Not a B&B more like a Hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were as advertised in pictures, broken furniture. Very noisy from the bars outside, disturbed sleep, neon sign was shining into bedroom all night which also disturbed sleep. The shared bathroom was very far away. The breakfast was advised that is was from 11:00am and it was extra, booking online didn't make this clear.

    Location near the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.0
    Liked the room, clever neat appointments, and the location, but not happy no breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast.

    The room was excellent. However, this venue is NOT a B&B. There was no breakfast offered (£5 off a brunch next door starting at 11.00am it not breakfast - and was only a promotional offer). This was not clear from the website.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Central location but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music to 3am in Saturday nights, then rowdy clearing out time, followed by bin lorries at 6am.

    Great location in the heart of Cambridge, nice staff at the bar, easy to come and go, tea and coffee in the room, comfy bed, and the shared facilities were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location to historic center. Bring earplugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to room 4 needs a pull handle. Just pulling on the lock is very hard to open the door. A bathmat to avoid slipping would be good. Check the batteries in the remote.

    The location to central Cambridge is excellent. The weekday person who kept our room was great. Coffee and milk replaced every day and bathroom kept up. The weekend bar scene downstairs and in the street is very loud and doesn't stop until the wee hours. The weekend person didn't always replace the coffee pks (once) or the waste bag in the trash can(once) or keep a towel in the WC (once). But, the location is very good. Bring earplugs for sleep on Friday and Saturday night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Noisy despite earplugs being provided. Secondary glazing a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Disco music until 3am. Pubs turning out until 4am then removing metal barriers until 5am then the street cleaners until 6am

    It was clean and fresh towels provided daily

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    The housekeeper did a very good job every single day. The location of the b&b is Perfec very close tó the centre. The building is amazing we liked our room on the top floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Basic comfort level, convenient for city centre but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the website mentioned that there would be parties late into the evening, this didn't describe how noisy it would be - the volume of the music and especially the noise from the street was so loud that we may as well have been in the downstairs bar (bar is next door to Wetherspoons so partying revellers could be heard until about 4am). Then woken up by street cleaners/recycling collection at 6am - this place is only for those that either sleep very soundly or don't need to sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Ok if you just need somewhwere to stay after going to a gig
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise form bar below and from the street - you have to be a heavy sleeper to get through it! Having no toilet and shower in the room should have reduced the price

    The locations was central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Way over-priced for what is essentially one step up from a hostel - a last resort if nothing else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked on a B&B basis. Was told that breakfast would be served at 11am! So, I returned at 11am (after popping out) and the bar area was closed... no sign of breakfast. Had to buy my own elsewhere.... Also at about 2am a group of youths congregated outside and decided to shout and kick stuff along the road. This was joined by a chorus of drunken homeless people who started swearing... from their doorways along the street immediately outside. This went on for about 30 minutes.. NOT a good night's sleep.

    Pretty central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely big room with a view, and tasteful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could have been better would be if the rooms had en-suites. But having said that, the shared bathrooms were really clean and smart, and there was no queues to use them.

    Great location, lovely big room with a view, and tasteful modern decor. Probably not for you if you want a quiet early night as the rooms are above a small bar - But this worked out perfectly for us as we just stayed drinking and dancing to good music until close, and then rolled upstairs to bed...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Very central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no breakfast available even though it is called a "Bed and Breakfast" Heating consistently failed to work. No warm water on two nights. Water pressure in shower extremely low. General cleanliness left room for improvement. TV not working. Very noisy room.

    Very central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Don't go.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff weren't welcoming, the room I had was bare, no hairdryer, breakfast wasn't included for a 'b&b'.

    The location was very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, convenient location,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bathroom in room. Maybe a little noisy in the evening if you're a light sleeper.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, convenient location, good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall great but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some comment complained about noise from the downstairs bar. I heard hardly anything from there (I was staying during two weeknights). There was however quite some noise from the streets outside. Someone sensitive to noise while sleeping might want to bring earplugs.

    The location was great and the staff was friendly. Access to the rooms where easy through a separate entrance than a the downstairs bar (after being given the key).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Was good if you are just after a bed to stay in at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work, shower turning off every 20 seconds and no breakfast being provided... despite being called a bed and breakfasts

    Was good if you are just after a bed to stay in at night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    Room had space but not enough hangers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not properly cleaned. Basin was a mess for the time I was there from someone cleaning their teeth. The same marks were there for days when I asked for the bathroom to be properly cleaned.☹️

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    it is not a B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They call it B&B (Bed and Breakfast) but they do not provide breakfast. They provide a room with shared wc / shower with other rooms. Accommodations are above a bar, makes it more like an inn or tavern. Not quite the B&B one would expect to see in modern days.

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.4
    It was overall pleasant but a bit pricey considering the cons
    • Group
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle was full of bits and was a bit grim really. The hotel was difficult to locate (it was abound a restaurant/bar) And the window was broken.

    The staff was really friendly and helped with my queries. The beds were comfortable and the layout was well explained.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Would come back on the basis of not planning on sleeping much until 4-5am for Saturday night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise that at night the downstairs turned into a club with DJ playing until 3am (Saturday night). Street remained noisy until 4am and then cleaners hoovering until 5am.

    Central location. Coded access to accommodation out of hours. Value for money. Staff happy to hold on to our luggage after check out. Free entry to club downstairs (normally £12).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    It’s more of a hostel ..if you are ok with that then fine ..not for me thanks !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think the description is very fair ..we didn’t realise there would be a DJ playing music till 3am ..we actually didn’t stay and went to a different hotel obviously then paying twice for accommodation

    The bar downstairs is great ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.6
    Room was OK, location is very central (but loud).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is on top of a pub, the Castle Bar, which is apparently *the* late night pub in the area. My single-glazed windows were towards the very noisy street (people chatting outside pub, leaving, arguing...). Kept me awake until the early morning hours. The shared bathroom is a bathroom + toilet. Toilet seat is loose, urine (inevitably) sprinkled on the floor, and one of the toilet rolls had what appears to be excrement on the side. Not a nice place to have your morning shower. Shower was set to stop automatically every 10 seconds.

    Room was OK, location is very central (but loud). Nice pub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    This is a B&B directly above a very noise late night Bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a B&B directly above a very noise late night Bar which is open until 3AM so it is impossible to sleep before 3AM. As a result the place is very over-priced especially when there are only two bathrooms shared between all the rooms and you have to go downstairs to reach the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    One of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at. Never again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely bare. No side tables or bedside lamps. No sockets for plugs. No Bed was narrow and uncomfortable with only one foam pillow each. (They provided two extra pillows on request). Bathroom (shower but no bath) was down a corridor and shared with three other rooms. Room was extremely noisy next to bright neon sign and busy High street.

    Nothing apart from location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Good place for low-budget travellers who want a room to themselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name is misleading - B&B could be assumed to mean Bed & Breakfast, but this place does not serve breakfast. Also, there need to be additional lights in the room. Currently there are two ceiling lights, but additional lights should be placed next to the beds to allow bedtime reading. Also, room is not sound-insulated at all. It is extremely noisy there at night due to a large number of bars being located below and nearby.

    Clean room with comfortable bed. Overall good location. Nice bar downstairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was a bit rank as were we’re sharing with men that left their hairs on the toilet every time. Also the curtains in the room didn’t fully cover the window.

    Bed was really comfy and room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.9
    DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is literally directly above a club. Do not stay here! It was impossible to sleep. Nowhere on the listing does it say this, but the noise from below and the street is unavoidable, also due to the windows not closing properly. The bathrooms are far from the rooms, and only 2 toilets in the same rooms as the showers for all guests. The rooms were small, barely furnished, the linen wasn't fresh and there was no sense of privacy at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.9
    Worst nights 'sleep' ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disinterested staff when we first got there, clearly she wanted to be somewhere else. I asked what time breakfast was served (the name of the establishment is The Castle B&B after all) to be told there is no breakfast included and to go next door to Wetherspoons in the morning! The shared bathroom was down a set of stairs and along a corridor, but be careful not to trip over the 'fire exit' sign that had fallen off the wall. Bathroom was clean, but I'm not sure if that was because it was still fairly new or it had just been cleaned - only time will tell on that one. The twin room that I shared with my daughter was pretty horrible, I pulled back the duvet to find hairs that did not belong to either one of us. I don't think the sheets had been changed. The curtains were totally unfit for purpose. But the 'best' bit of the whole sorry experience has to be the noise. I had the worst, most disturbed, night of my life (and I've had two children) the night club music thudded until 2:30am, then there was screaming up and down the street and then the sirens came to top it off. Needless to say I was incredibly tired the next day as I drove back to Kent. AVOID. AT. ALL. COST. Read the other reviews, I wish I had. Don't be seduced by the price, it's just not worth it.

    It was close to the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.8
    Not good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cold the heating was not working. Tv was not that good. No water in room to drink. No staff on sight when leaving.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    2.9
    Very poor in every respect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located on a very busy centre town street, very noisy indeed (all through the night), poor bathroom, bedroom without anywhere to hang anything, bathroom not near bedrooms. Extremely poor value for money

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    Awful nights sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could easily hear all the noise from the street outside such as delivery vans and students which made it impossible to sleep.

    Walkable from the station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    This room is absurdly noisy and should not be offered to paying guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly noisy, positioned directly above the bar which played very loud dance music until 3am, making it impossible to sleep. It was also on a very busy street and at 4am a huge delivery lorry drew up directly outside the window and sat with engine running for half an hour. I had an 8am start so in total I only got about 3 hours sleep.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    2.5
    Loud no sleep poor value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I start. Unable to park near accommodation so 150m with kit. Dress code meant not served after 10pm. Very Very noisy heard every word of nightclub set. Again at closing time, no double glazing to reduce noise. No early breakfast available. All in all very unhappy at how 'guests' could not relax and have a drink in their own hotel bar!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Value for money given its central location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shared bathroom is a bit of inconvenience. A bit noisy at times in the midnight out on the street.

    Very good location at central Cambridge. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise. I didn't sleep till after 3.30am.

    You need to make sure that people are aware that the accommodation is on top of a night-club. The complimentary ear-plugs do not work. Sharing a bathroom is also an issue. Had to wait ages to get a shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. Impossible to sleep as there was a nightclub downstairs. Very unhappy Would have complained and asked for refund but there was no one there in the morning. We left early as it was so uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Cheep, cheerful and more like a European pension. Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom is fine - but the water saving shower is annoying switching on and off frequently.

    Friendly staff who were happy to keep our suitcases in storage while we explored the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    😏
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not do breakfast ?!!!!! No private bathroom. Outside sign illuminates into room as curtains are thin and do not fit properly

    it was clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    It was good enough for two nights!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, but we only needed it to sleep in so it was fine. Only stairs and we had big suitcases with us so that wasn't that much fun.. But the crew helped us! Really sweet.

    We had to share the bathroom but it was really clean, nicely done!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.3
    Terrible place to stay. Avoid at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    NEVER book this accommodation. We were basically laughed at on arrival for booking the room by staff - it's that bad. It turns out that the room is right on top of a dance floor, and the club stays open until 3am. The staff member said that this fact is mentioned somewhere in the listing, but I didn't see it and I expect it isn't. I had a total of 1 hour sleep because of how bad the soundproofing is and the location of the room, and we left as soon as we could in the morning. And the price was ridiculously high for the quality we got.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.5
    Never again, rubbed off.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfortable, may not have been changed ?! and tea and cofee facility

    there was no wardrobe or drawers to put anything in, the towels have clear stain of poo or blod on it, picture available, the wireing in hallway was extra hazardeous, picture is taken, obviously no toilete or wash facilities in the room, few beggers argued under my window all night until 3.30 , no one went to ask them to go, I am appualed and they were very expensive for what they offered they did not deserve it, I am a member of International tour operators and this kind of hospitality is not on. I demand that booking .com to fully refund me for this, I did not sleep and my stay was ruiened could not upload pictures, please email me back so that I do send them with my phone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it here but for people who go home before 3am do not stay here over the weekend

    The location was brilliant and the beds where so comfortable. Staff where really nice and even though it is a shared bathroom it's good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Pricey and not for those who want to sleep before 3am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more of a hostel than a B&B. Breakfast isn't included, and that's not made clear when booking, though you are right next to a Wetherspoons so you can eat much cheaper there. We were aware it was a music venue but didn't expect "late" to be 3am (naive on our part), and then after the music has stopped you then have another hour of noise from people and taxis outside, then the pub next door gets deliveries throughout the night too so definitely not for light sleepers. The bathroom is shared which is fine, but the shower is on a push button like you're in a swimming pool. Shame, as size and design of bathroom was nice enough. £95 for somewhere you can't sleep until gone 3am, and have to be out of by 11am, without breakfast included is extortionate.

    The bed was comfy and the room although very simple was nicely designed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Only go if you don't have any other option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is rather small. The decor is old and crumbling. The lock and door fittings are were rather worn and didn't look very secure. The room did not have air-conditioning, which although we did know from the booking.com listing, was very necessary in the summer heat. There was a power cut on day 3 (not the hotels fault) but we couldn't handle staying any longer so we left.

    The location is good, right in the center of town. The fact breakfast is included is a nice bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where okay but not very attentive. Felt awkward talking to them

    Don't go if you want breakfast there. They don't start serving breakfast till 11am 😂 However there is a weatherspoons next door which does. Rooms were comfortable and practical

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    The rooms were directly above the bar which played extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were directly above the bar which played extremely loud music until 3am which made sleep impossible. The rooms were also very bare, consisting of only a bed and a tv. There wasn't even a hook to hang your jacket!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: