Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Castle Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

Main Street - Kirby Muxloe, Leicester, LE9 2AP, United Kingdom

#8 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Leicester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 801 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities very basic - coffee not to my taste and just about comfortable but nothing special did not appreciate not being able to Vape in the room

    ease of parking and the shower was OK , food was OK at the bar. staff were veryhelpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant closed on Sunday night at 9.15pm which was a bit annoying as I was not informed at check in and we missed dinner.

    The breakfast was very good, everything you could want all hot and fresh, well worth booking. Everything else was fine also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in one of the older rooms. Needs a bit of TLC. Window catch broken, batteries in tv remote needed replacing.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely, comfortable pillows. Nice pub for food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Staff - ignored at the bar trying to check in had to wait 10 mins to be seen then got sent down to another part of the hotel to check in and had to wait another 5 mins for someone to come. 2. room was basic - expected better, shower was tiny and the soap holder which had been stuck to the wall had fallen off and shower gel was everywhere.

    The location was great just off the Motorway. Bed was comfy too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty interior...paint peeling off the walls....bedside lamps not working.....stains on the ceiling in both bathroom & bedroom. Tatty old enamel bath.....TV with no signal.....VERY noisy from guests above.....ridiculously small and cramped.....dinghy dark brown decor.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated and was in need of updating with new mattress and needed two sets of towels to be provided

    The location was good and the parking was good and situated in a lovely village The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service in the restaurant the waitresses were very unaware that people were waiting to order food.The food when it came was not great and they ran out of most of what we ordered.

    Lovely room and nice and quite very clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole hotel extremely dated and run down. Deluxe room was 2 beds shoved together. Bath had somebody else hair shavings in it. Furniture in room broken.

    Good location, plenty of space in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building so plumbing and water pressure a bit weak. Bathroom and bedding were clean but some areas of the hotel and some furnishings (in room, not pub) marked in places, but it is a very busy pub/hotel so that could be why. Stairs to rooms, so check if booking with any mobility problems. Would love to see more decor in keeping with the beauty and history of the building, as it is a lovely old place. Personal gripe - flasks at breakfast (I dislike "steepie tea"), individual tea and coffee pots would make all the difference to the quality of the breakfast experience. Milk and juice jugs were the largest and heaviest I have ever seen at a hotel breakfast. Overall, a nice place, look forward to going back one day.

    Lovely old building, lots of history (but not at first obvious, staff will tell you more) Kirby Muxloe Castle c1480 (under care of English Heritage) visible from the garden, but gate to it from the garden was locked, but you can drive/walk round. Large beer garden with outdoor dining too and bowls of water for dogs (we had lovely weather), nice restaurant and pub with a good choice of meals and wines, some interesting meal choices and vegetarian options too, reasonable prices. Bar meals also available. Bed very comfy, all staff very friendly and helpful, nice ambience in the old pub which is divided into different seating, areas so makes it more intimate and cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small but as we were there for only one night it was adequate. On our next stay we could always ask for a larger room. Still cannot fault our stay.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful. Loads of hot water and luxury of warm towels. The steak was the best we have ever tasted. Altogether a very enjoyable stay, wish we could have stayed longer than one night. will definitely being going again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room I had wasn't very clean. It really needs to be renovated. It was a cold day and evening, but the heating system was not switched on.

    The restaurant/bar was very nice although I didn't eat dinner there. Breakfast, full English was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was not as clean as I would have expected to be and the TV was really small.

    The included breakfast was continental or at least that is what we thought and it only had toast, butter, cereals, milk, yogurt, jam, coffee and tea. No eggs, bacon, cheese or ham.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little dodgy with gaps between tiles and bath/wall but clean and working. I also stood at the bar for a good 10 minutes waiting to order food and drink, and then a guy was served before me. Even though it was just us 2 and he even told the bar man I was first, it was ignored and his order taken first. Just a little odd... Both embarrassed.

    Check in staff amazing. So informative. Really felt welcome. Great food, good prices, lovely old room, with very clean bed. Tea and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No adverse comments for this hotel.

    The chap Dan was fabulous, we arrived after hours for the reception but he was not in the least fazed by this. The room was fine, clean, comfortable and the shower was excellent. The parking was super. I would love to revisit this place earlier in the day and enjoy the beautiful gardens from the terrace. I found all the staff friendly and interested in ensuring their customers have a good experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rotting windows, mouldy bathroom, dull and dirty carpet and paintwork. Such a shame, with a little refresh this could be a nice location. Breakfast was poor value for money, continental which was supposed to have fresh fruit consisted of an apple! Booked a twin room but was given a tiny awful condition double, which fortunately they changed.

    The bed was actually quite comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear footsteps of people in the room above. Not good if they decide to start walking about early in the morning.

    Good stop over location on long journey. Bed comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Good large car park. Restaurant fine - more or less exactly as we had expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was very average, steak over cooked and tasteless. Staff responded very well and replaced without question but overall not very good quality meal. Building itself was clean but looking tired and needs some investment to bring up to spec.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors to rooms slamming very loudly, not too much of a problem as next door guests didn’t stay up too late.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. We travelled with our dog and they allowed us to eat our breakfast in the dog-friendly area of the restaurant rather than the designated breakfast area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny bedroom terrible service nothing like what it said given cheaper rooms the bathroom was dangerous and on a slope was supposed to be booked in again but cancelled. Although they admitted giving us a cheaper room they didn't discount to the 29 pound every one else paid.

    The location and grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in desperate need of updating...we were moved to a better room ? The double room is more like a single room, carpets threadbare, walls need a fresh coat of paint very '70's How can you charge that kind of money ?

    The bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Seeing the castle ruins from our bedroom window , breakfast was nice but charged for 1 extra sausage when neither of us had eggs which I think is penny pinching however I understand why

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, other than the restaurant and bar areas, really, really needs some TLC. My room (49) needs to be redecorated. The door locks are worn so the key seems 'sticky'. The pathway to the rear door needs re-paved and the hotel should by a Dyson for the corridors and stairs outside the bedrooms.

    The staff are tremendous. Caroline and Jade are lovely, incredibly helpful and charming. The youngsters in the bar and restaurant were all courteous, helpful and fun as well. The room is a great size and the bathroom is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small and dated room, the bed base was broken and the mattress had seen better days. The quality of the rooms didn't match the rest of the hotel which was excellent.

    Lovely staff, Bar areas, resturant and garden very nice, good choice of food - had two meals, cooked well and tasted lovely and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    room was perfect outlay of the inn very oldy worldy love these type not the clinical pub staff were very helpful would stay a again bit longer next time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I was placed in was a tiny double and barely had room to walk around the bed. Manager lady not very sympathetic when trying to move to a larger room. Was accused of being rude for trying to move to bigger room. Had to pay another £40 for larger size room. Then had to move again as placed in room next to roof with fans blasting out next to window. Finally ended up in another poor sized double for second night and this room didn't have working electrical sockets so couldn't boil a kettle. The problem was reported but no one came to take a look. Then ended up checking out early and had to find another hotel. Horrible experience with little apology from staff

    Good bar facilities and decent pub standard meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed 2 nights here a last minute booking our room was lovely and we had a good nights sleep both nights as location was very quiet. we ate in the pub both days and the food was very nice reasonably priced we also had breakfast full on the first day and continental on the 2nd both were good and service excellent. Bus service near by so we took the bus into town and left the car where it was £7.00 return for 2 adults is good value if you want a drink in the many bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress in the pub was unhelpful when we asked for a table, suggesting we should go to the pub down the road which we perhaps should have done as the steak was too fatty to eat. Apart from that the food was good and they did take the steak off the bill which was fair. The room itself was old and tired as is the decor in the accommodation part although the main pub area is nicely done.

    Comfortable bed in a quiet location, so a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff tidying away and hoovering around while still eating breakfast which was overpriced. Described as unlimited - the cooked element was not, it was served, and a little sparse. Stairs and corridors shabby.

    Comfy bed. Loads of space. Fantastic shower. Didn't have to check out until 12 meant we could make the most of the lovely castle walk to the rear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of staff and the ones they had were unhelpful. Overcharged for breakfast which was poor, we were told by the afternoon receptionist we wouldn't be charged for it so were incredulous in the morning to find we had been. You can hear what is going on in the hallway and in other rooms, lots of banging of doors too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plonked myself down on the bed expecting softness and it was very hard so bit of a shock. Room was tidy but decor tired. Window was cello taped shut to fill gap in ill fitted window! Bad night’s sleep as noisy; sounded like a boiler ticking over all night and music/tv noise in morning.

    Friendly staff, good food in restaurant, plenty of parking, well equipped room with great pillows, pleasant setting. Dog friendly. Booked last minute at good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room I was in was very noisy as I think the water tanks was in the room, it made a lot of noise every time someone showered or flushed the toilet. woke me up at 5.30am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Dust on cistern. Food not particulary nice in chef and brewer restaurant

    Bathroom had dust on toilet cistern. Not been cleaned for a while. Towels clean and crisp. Overall what u expect from an Inn.. the walls are very thin but neighbouring rooms weren’t excessively noisey. Very loud bangs when people shut their doors.. but not the places fault ... chef and brewer restaurant downstairs. Average meals. Nothing special. Expensive for what they are. Ok if you have Tesco vouchers which we didn’t ... nice decor. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and view through the windows wasn’t impressive - back yard of the restaurant, bins etc. Wooden windows didn’t stop the wind coming through. Bed was uncomfortable, springs in the mattress were making noise with every movement. Went to have lunch in a restaurant downstairs, it was empty however we had to wait 30+ minutes for the food to be served. Hotel is a bit furher away from city centre, but that wasn’t a problem for us.

    Lovely looking hotel in a nice and quiet location overlooking the castle ruins. The pub/restaurant is nice and cosy, food was really good. Many free parking spaces available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a bit tired, needs a paint job, bedrooms need sprucing up, stair wells tatty, hallway carpets tatty, bathrooms need redecorating and making more modern.

    The location, the staff, the food, the parking, the tranquility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was a bit small, the shower was too small, the break fast seemed to be getting scarce by 8.15 (dregs of coffee left etc) but the staff were very helpful when we asked for the things that were scarce

    the staff, the warmth of the room, the view of the castle, the parking lot, the continental breakfast, the easy access to our daughter who lives just off the A47.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was in a convenient place and was spotless. The staff were lovely. The restaurant was understaffed due to staff off sick but the ones working rallied! The food and service was exceptional! Very friendly staff. Room was lovely. Would fully recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was initially put in was horrible, but this was rectified, breakfast was a bit of a disaster, didn't have time to eat it due to no one taking our order for 15 mins, but he e had a booked taxi, we were the only people in there and there was 2 ladies just chatting, had to leave it when it arrived

    The man who checked us in was really helpful and changed my room for me

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No particular dislikes.

    Good breakfast, big choice, staff very helpful and friendly. Location was in the middle of a beautiful English village with nice views and fresh air all around. The Hotel also doubles as the village pub, so there was a friendly evening atmosphere during my stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and noisy, hot water was not very hot. On arrival the room was dark and cold as the radiator was switched off.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room allocated was on the small side so there was only room for one bedside table and light. The area of the car park underneath us was popular with smokers and people coming and going from an entrance/exit so if we had the window open (the room on the hot side,) we got cigarette smoke coming in. The sausages with the breakfast were too hard to cut. I was surprised someone thought it appropriate to serve them - it would have been better to apologise and say they were unavailable. The do it yourself toaster, burnt toast on one side and didn't brown it at all on the other. The inn is in need of a spruce up and cleaning seems to be an issue as the common parts were grubby and from bits on the bathroom floor, it was suspected that had not been touched. When we checked in we were told there was a group on but we shouldn't hear much. We did hear it added to which people left by the entrance below us and didn't keep the noise down. The band loaded up their equipment under the window with much shouting. So although the group finished playing promptly at 11 which is acceptable for a Friday night, it was long after that by the time it became quiet enough to sleep.

    The location of the Castle Inn near the Castle itself is picturesque with a nice beer garden overlooking it. Sadly too cold to sit outside. The room was warm, the bath big with plenty of hot water. Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was poor. Only the bottom of the radiators got hot. Therefore the room was cold . Furniture was outdated. Although the bath, toilet and sink was clean there was plenty of mould around. It was not Halloween so I thought the cobwebs on the ceiling should have been removed. Was not offered any discount as I had 3 rooms booked. I will not be staying there again.

    The bed was comfortable. Constant drone which sounded like an extractor fan . Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you head up stairs the decor and furniture is in need of a freshen up, room was very dark due to colours

    Bar area, staff and food all excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little noisy, and very much a party spot for the young near Christmas. I would have been happier with somewhere quieter and away from the air-conditioning/extractor fans for the kitchen.

    Its a lovely hotel in a nice place, with a great deal of history and character

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really just unfortunate that we had small minor problems with the rooms

    Great location with a great garden for the summer good food in great surroundings..If I stop again would specifically book a larger room ok for one night in the small room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really a problem, but the whole accommodation just needed some TLC !

    The location was convenient for visiting Leicester & De Montefort, Food was good. Double Rooms adequate for a short stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service was poor and food very average to be honest. Money was taken off the bill without any questions which makes me think this happens a lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and attentive. Wonderfully festive atmosphere in the hotel. Clean well appointed room and an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything was great from the fire in the bar on a cold weekend, the food, the room, the comfortable bed and the staff were all without exception lovely, friendly and efficient. Couldn’t recommend it more highly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in was very small and could use a freshen up - However this is a very old 17th century coach house so you have to expect a little wear. The furniture was a little bashed but it did not impact my stay at all.

    Slept like a baby and the staff are great - My favourite thing was the food - Amazing quality and ingredients with fantastic value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here now on a number of occasions travelling on my own. The rooms are adequate and clean and there is great parking and wifi and the TV is good. This trip I was able to secure a very good rate which was great as I am a student.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar prices

    the pub was absolutely beautiful inside and the staff were so pleasant. The food was normal for this kind of establishment. I would love to have a place like this on my doorstep. Our dog was made to feel welcome too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service, the bar was often unattended. The food, I had a frazzled £13 burger! Prices were OTT. The breakfast area still had food all over the floor from the night before! Room was worn and dated.

    The log fire

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terribly uncomfortable. Radiator and pipes sounded like a steam train in the room and came on at 3 am with no way to stop it and no staff through the night. Room was tiny considering the price.

    The restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy dogs !!!

    The Room was cold when we arrived due to heating not being turned on to 5:00 pm .However once on it was extremely cosy. Only down side was the guests next door had a very noisy dog which disturbed our Sunday morning snooze :) Staff dealt with this issue very well and was impressed with there professionalism. I would stay again with the caveat that I was not next to a room with a dog .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was in need of a freshen up. The stairs and landing were quite poor and needed a good lick of paint. Fittings broken off bedroom windows. Very hot in the room as the heat came from the pipework.

    The bar was nice with real fires and different areas. Lots of choice on the menu. Good for vegetarians. Breakfast had reasonable portions. Staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs rooms are due a refurbishment...which i was told will happen soon. Theyre ok, but not of the same high standard as the public areas.

    Superb, friendly staff. Recently refurbshed ground floor public areas are a very high standard, and real log fire. Lots of character and good food too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very poor, ordered a steak at £15.00 a head and it was COLD & tastless. Waitress did change it for us, but the second was not much better, still tasteless, full of fat and gristle, The only saving grace was we were not charged for the meal. Could not fault the waitress for her resolution to the problem

    Bed was very hard, along with the pillows. Noise from other guests was annoying, lack of consideration on their part for other gusts staying in other rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with to date decor.. a good splash of paint would make a lot of difference. Room was over warm

    Friendly staff all smiles and very helpful. Made it a nice environment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to control direction of shower head. obviously at some point a shower door, but replaced with a shower curtain.Pipes in bathroom clanked a lot until the pub closing time then all was fine .

    Breakfast was varied and very good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dog friendly rooms were dated and had a slight smell of damp, although they were very reasonably priced so you get what you pay for and all in all we were happy and the kids loved having the dog in our room, who is smelly! :-)

    Staff friendly, hotel and bar was dog friendly and just off motorway so perfect for breaking out journey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was welcomed, and afterwards recognised by the staff. Staff were friendly and helpful. I asked, they gave me their knowledge of the area. I felt I could have stayed a lot longer, happily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Castle Hotel is an excellent place to stay for business travelers with commitments / interests in the greater Leicester City area. Nice location in an attractive village, with an attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very bad, never seen a bedroom so thick with dust, mould on the bathroom wall, empty condom wrapper on the floor (not very welcoming) very out dated. Far to hot, TINY room size!

    Pub next to the hotel was outstanding , staff very welcoming, breakfast amazing,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit basic and the pillow was a bit hard.

    Excellent breakfast. The hotel has a bar and restaurant, with good food at a good price. Staff were all excellent. Quiet room and location, with only a distant hum of the M1.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration generally needs a bit of a lift. I probably would have stayed and had breakfast but it wasn't very encouraging. The staff were ok but no one really smiled or engaged me. My room was a little on the small side.

    Very convenient with good car parking and wifi near to where I needed to be. The bed was quite comfortable and I thought the room was reasonably priced and I was still able to book fairly close to my stay. Checkout was no problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the price said it included breakfast however the hotel said breakfast was not included and we therefore had to pay £8.00 each which had not been accounted for. This was not the fault of the hotel, but booking.com.

    Nice interior, busy and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt very small and lacked warmth. The bed was reasonably comfortable. I might stay here again in the future but it might not be my first choice. The cost was, however, reasonable and I didn't have any real problems with the stay. The room was clean.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was good for what I needed. The car parking was ok. As a lone female traveller, I felt safe although I have felt more at ease when I have stayed at other locations in Leicester previously. The wifi worked without any problems which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and very damp,and due to this the smell hit you as soon as you opened the door,noise from upstairs room was terrible,every floorboard creaked and to top it off we were next to the plant room,boiler and compressors going all night, impossible to sleep

    Good bar and restaurant area, great breakfast, pleasant staff,nice location with the ruins and moat adjacent to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough towels were put out for 2 people and there were no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom other than hand soap from a pump. Although the food was cooked the Steak was not cooked to requirement. Asked for a medium to rare and it came well done. At £18 per steak, I would have expected a bit more care to cook to preference.

    Food was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean but the walls were very marked up, a lick of paint and it would be top marks! Although no noise from outside I could clearly hear people in the other rooms.

    I ate at the hotel and the food was lovely; tasty, big portions and very good value for money. The staff were all really helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, all willing to have a chat. Nice atmosphere. Ideal location for us with family nearby and easy access to M1. We will be regular customers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little larger.

    Although the room was relatively compact we both slept really well, the room was clean and we felt safe. We were out quickly in the morning so were unable to sample breakfast but we had a good stay. The hotel was convenient to where we needed to be and was easy to find. We were able to book at an excellent rate so we were very happy with our short stay and would definitely book again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap and shower gel were in dispensers on the wall which personally I don't like so I had a little wander up the road to a well stocked convenient store. Please note that there can be an issue between booking.com and the hotel regarding types of rooms booked - I had booked a twin but this had not been made clear to the property and no twin was available. However, the hotel came up trumps and gave us an additional single room at no extra cost. Perhaps just give the hotel a ring following your booking to ensure you get the right room. My 17 year old son would not have fancied sharing a bed with his mum!

    Staff were super friendly and Hotel was conveniently placed for our trip, between Loughborough and Coventry. The restaurant attached was nice too, serving a variety of food that would suit all (including vegetarians). It had a lovely garden to sit out in, just beyond the castle. Plenty of parking available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small, it was very difficult to sleep as you could hear a lot of vibration from the plumbing. We ate in the restaurant and the service was very slow we waited 30 minutes for someone to take our order and they only took this because we called them over. Food was not great, fish pie was pretty tasteless.

    in a very nice location, staff very friendly, room very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic, rough around the edges and could have been cleaner Paid for breakfast with the room - breakfast didn't start until 8am which was too late. Reception said they couldn't do an earlier breakfast. When checking out reception couldn't find the password for the computer so I had a long wait...

    Bar and restaurant area

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: