Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Castle Hotel 3 stars

The Green, Saltwood, Hythe, CT21 4AJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Hythe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was spacious clean and bright with a large bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious clean and bright with a large bathroom .The Pub is located in a nice part of Hythe and has a pleasant garden.We would book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Great setting in the quaint village of Saltwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room Leeds was very clean, good comfortable bed and linen. The actual structure of the pub needs some renovation and the out of hours access needs clearing of all the junk and clutter.

    Limited to cereal and juice before cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    extremely cold and drafty room
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Useless stupid super leaky single glazed windows meant that the room was very uncomfortably cold and drafty despite balmy weather. Install proper windows from any other country than UK, a house in a developing country has better windows! It is 2018 not 1818 for god sake!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Overal it was a pleasant stay and I would deffo stay again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't unlimited wifi and Breakfast was small

    Everything the location to wedding reception the nice little garden out front and the fact it was family run was a nice thing and a bit of history in the welcome pack of the Hotel was also interesting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall we had a nice stay. Friendly staff, but The Castle rooms could do with a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television in the room was tiny and what with the post from the 4 poster bed being in the way, it made it almost impossible to see. Windows were dusty and dirty.

    The breakfast was good, but no menus given. Staff were friendly. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok for one night but not for any more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very very tired. Decor isn’t great, for one night stop over it was ok but wouldn’t stay again. It’s an old building and you expect creaking noises etc however we were placed in a room next to the fire door which banged excessively every time it was opened and closed and this is the only way in and out to the hotel rooms.There isn’t any air con in rooms and the bathrooms are very dated with the shower being temperamental. The staff were good and food was ok. Their booking system is a bit flawed as I got a call asking for payment the next morning when I had already paid the night before as we were leaving very early. It’s a shame about the rooms as otherwise it’s a nice pub.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location in picture postcard village but in desperate need of a make over.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a traditional old village pub and as such room expectations are not too high. We have stayed there several times but have found that over the years the place has become a wee bit shabby. The same hole in the bathroom wall has been there for a number of years without any attempts being made to repair it. The plumbing and bathroom fittings are not just basic but terrible. The owner (and his staff) is very friendly, just wish he spent some money on the place. Typical pub menu, a bit overpriced, nothing special.

    Excellent location in centre of beautiful village of Hythe, short drive to Euro Tunnel. Nice pub and beer garden, dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for and this place is by no means expensive but even cheap should be clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an advertised twin room but received a double bed and a single that was so rickerty, we did not dare to use it so shared the double. The single bed also had hairs inside the bed and the sheets looked grubby. The whole room needed a thorough clean, the kettle and cups were both grubby so we did not use them and the TV did not work. The restaurant at breakfast was the same, it did not look as though it had had a thorough clean for quite some time, the curtains in the windows were disintegrating, the tables felt grubby and again the cups/teapots etc needed thorough cleaning or replacing. The parking facilities advertised was a piece of ground to the side of the pub, which is actually for the village to use also, so finding somewhere to park is very difficult.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was decent pub food. Nice village setting but quite difficult to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. No one emptied the bin in our room or replaced teabag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom had no curtains at the window. Paint peeling off window frames, sash would allow for window to be open partially. It was fully open or closed. No hooks for clothes. Had to ask for toilet paper as none was available.

    We enjoyed a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely friendly staff very helpful as TV Was not working it needed to be retuned staff did t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy plumbing. Works via Saniflow system. For Toilet Shower & Sink. 😕Plus on Web site they advertise 32inch. TV in room but only small 19inch.

    Nice quiet spot. Seating in the front of the hotel was well set out. Restaurant was cosy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Glad it was only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were terrible, we had to request an extra bed for my son as they only gave us a twin room. The extra bed that came was simply like sleeping on springs!!! The mattress was awful. The hotel was very dated and could do with a total revamp. It was also a little uncleanly. On the phone a pack up breakfast was offered as we were leaving early for the Eurotunnel. This consisted of warm sandwiches made the night before and crisps. Not an ideal breakfast. Won’t be staying again.

    Staff were friendly and the location was ideal for the Eurotunnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was poor. Missing items both in dinner and desert. Food was over cooked. Waitress did not look happy and did not engage.

    Room was a lovely size and comfortable. It was clean and well ventilated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay on our way home to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors in the corridors were a bit noisy when self closing.

    The staff were brilliant and the owner , I needed to print off my ferry ticket and he was so helpful. The food was good . The fact that our pet was allowed everywhere even dining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Ive been in a lot worse....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long way from town , rooms have seen better days, only one bedside locker, no handle on wardrobe, shower was hot then tepid. Bit overpriced we felt...

    Lovely breakfast, and friendly service. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff went above and beyond, very polite and extremely helpful, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit bland and the bathroom very basic, but would still happily revisit.

    Staff were fantastic, couldn’t have asked for more. A nice traditional pub in a lovely setting. Breakfast was 10/10, quality ingredients and well cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs upgrade and Windows need renewing and were dirty and our room overlooked bins and were people were smoking outside fire door

    The beds were comfy.the breakfast was quite good and staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal stay for function in Saltwood (or near hythe)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets a bit smokey from the kitchen when they're cooking. Tv control could do woth replacing.

    Gorgeous bed, lovely clean and soft bed linen and towels. Lovely full English. Kettle and hot drinks in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    A good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was temperamental running hot and then cold.. The flush on the toilet was near to breaking.. The heated towel rail didn't work and the cold tap needed a washer replacing.. Little things that need to be addressed

    Well centred and as always comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.9
    very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room it could had bigger beds could had been heating better, and the windows need some serious repair. Hot water was cold. location was hard to find.

    Breakfast was ok, that was about all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Excellent, we will be back.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was too warm for us at night we had to turn the rad off, but that was all, everything else was A OK. many thanks.

    staff very helpful, we had to travel to Kent to take my brother in law to hospital and stay a couple of nights, as we had to get up early on Saturday morning to be at the hospital by 9.00 we needed a clock and straight away somebody staying at the hotel lent us their clock and the staff made us a pack up to take with us as we didn't have time for breakfast, they were all very kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    - Staff were super friendly the time we did speak to them...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Despite booking online, when we arrived the staff had no idea we were meant to arrive. We got the impression we got a room only because they had one available. Not very organised. - Shower was lukewarm and low pressure - not great in freezing January! - Had to rewash mugs etc in the room as they were definitely not clean. - Someone (a member of staff) left a second copy of our room key outside our door in the corridor! This is serious as we had valuables in the room. Not very secure...!!!

    - Staff were super friendly the time we did speak to them (breakfast on Sunday morning).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Use to break up journey from Calais back to Derby and is a great country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got what we expected so nothing not liked - perhaps a second armchair next to log fire :)

    Nice large room, Double (4 Poster) plus single but more then enough room if 3 had been using the room, Friendly staff as always, great evening meal - proper pub food at reasonable price, excellent real ales - 3 to choose from. Third time we have stayed Ok, perhaps £5 dearer then some similar but is in a nice quiet village not far from motorway . Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff, food and rooms were brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't a fan of the fact the shower cuts off after a certain amount of time. There was not a notice to inform me of this. Also the room was Too hot, without any visible means to turn the heating down.

    The staff, food and rooms were brilliant! I would absolutely recommend this place and stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay at the Castle Hotel, the people were extremely welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That there was no hairdryer in the room. I am sure they would have lent me one if I had asked, but somehow, as it was very early, I couldn't be bothered. Not too big a deal, but just a small thing.

    I would not recommend is as a romantic getaway because the hotel itself is a little bit tired. But very comfy, the owners are wonderful, so is the location and the food. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building it old so thin walls and creaky loud doors. Hard to turn on shower.

    Great english breakfast, nice staff and easy to park. The rooms were charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, but property could do with being updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower

    Really lovely welcome and easy book in system, just asked our name and gave us the key! We asked if we could book a taxi to take us the the wedding venue, it was done before we came back downstairs. We said we may be late so the fire escape was left open for us on the side. Lovely comfortable bed, nice and warm. There were plenty of tea coffee biscuits etc and a kettle in the room. We went down for breakfast just before 8 and it was cooked to order. Very nice breakfast, all in with the £70 for the room. Bargain! The only downside was the hotel was a bit tired. The shower kept going hot then cold, we think it was the pressure as that kept changing. When we sat in the dining room, we noticed that the windows had been painted shut! probably to stop draughts, but it really could have done with a spring clean, or better than that a bit of diy improvement, Nevertheless we enjoyed it. The hotel was in a beautiful quiet little village with a green in the middle. My husband had a pint of Guinness and said it was the best he'd had for quite a while.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Easy, clean, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bar staff member seemed in desperate need to close the bar and told us we could 'just have one drink' and that he was closing 'as it was not busy'. This was not true as there were people in the bar than the previous evening and we were made to feel welcome snd not in the way of closing up

    Good breakfast Well equipped room Friendly staff - except one person

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Good room rate. Excellent food. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little chilly but found electric heater in the wardrobe so all good

    Really friendly staff and excellent food. Little parking so had to park on street but no problem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    It was tiring, not very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep depravation. Very noisy hotel patrons until 1:00am. No air conditioning, so it was blanket on, blanket off all night. When the fire door slammed shut, it was wake up time again all night. The only time it wasn't slamming shut was between 1:00am and 4:30am

    Meals were good, even though they had ran out of some of the items on the menu

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Great one night stay for Wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly. Breakfast was great. Pub was very nice. Stayed as we had a wedding at Lyme Castle so location was great. Situated in a pretty village. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Towels provided and shower gel, tea, coffee. Was a perfect stay for what we needed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Stayed with others in my family to attend a wedding nearby.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked and enjoyed it all - so question becomes non-applicable.

    Stayed with others in my family to attend a wedding nearby. The food was really good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our pre-wedding Friday night was brilliant. The bed so very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen looked warn and the matress was in need of replacement. The bathroom looked dated.

    Good freshly cooked English breakfast. Pretty pub in a pretty quiet village only a short drive from the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    The tea and coffe facilities were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the toilets and the water, especially when it was used in other rooms at one o'clock in the morning was very disturbing. We couldn't choose what we had as part of our cooked breakfast. Would have been nice to have been able to have a choice as to how the eggs were cooked and some baked beans would have been nice.

    The tea and coffe facilities were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient with friendly staff and tasty food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Macerating loo facilities. Decor needs attention - taped up airflow fan in main window and taped elements on macerating unit.

    Convenient to Chunnel link. Friendly staff. Small but acceptable room with rather noisey macerating toilet and bathroom facilities. Bed comfy. Reasonably priced steak evening meal and good full English breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.2
    Staff were very nice but hotel wasn't clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I hadn't had booked this hotel before seeing it and knowing I would still have had to pay I would never have stayed as it all needs a good clean and update I will not be returning or would not recommend it to my friends .

    The food was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely b&b. Great for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds as opposed to a double, especially when a 4 poster bed is advertised in the pictures.

    Friendly staff and great location. Booked us taxis to and from the wedding we attended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place but needs new bathrooms and better cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very old and dusty behind toilet. Room quite cramped and dust around wardrobe. Breakfast not available til 7.30am. small double bed, not king size.

    Friendly staff and nice village. Dog friendly. Nice pub with outside area. Very near Eurotunnel. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    A lovely quirky, quaint stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying in an old English country pub is a fun and quirky experience. The room was comfortable and everything was there including biscuits for the weary travelers. The shower went a little hot and cold depending on the time of day but hey, it was great value and we loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Village Location especially on Sunny Days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is tired and could do with an overall redecoration.

    Stayed many times and always feel it's VFM. Staff are great and the meals are to my taste and generous portions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Ideal overnight stop with dogs for Eurotunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room could do with sprucing up and a bit small, BUT, for the price charged, the breakfast quality, and the welcome we received, this was excellent value for money and we will definitely stay again next time. Thank you!

    All of the staff we met were absolutely excellent and made us feel very welcome e.g. Coming over and chatting to us in the bar etc. We also met the owner, and appreciated his spending time with us (and our dogs)! Room and bed linen very clean. Breakfast was excellent, hot and fresh. Quiet location, ideal for overnight stop before Eurotunnel (10 mins drive). Excellent local walks for our dogs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Whole accommodation in much need of renovation. Not very clean in places. Food overcooked (although steak was lovely). Profiteroles dry as though stale (or rapidly defrosted).

    Pretty village. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Good overnight stay, close to Dover ferry or Shuttle
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked back yard and was in need of a refurbish, that apart it was comfortable enough.

    Very pleasant staff, friendly welcome etc. Quiet location, pub has good restaurant and breakfast is plentiful and individually prepared.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Our first choice in Hythe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In some areas the Castle is a bit tired and dated but all this is more than outweighed by David and his team who can't do enough for you. We have been back repeatedly over the years.

    Comfy bed. Hospitality tray in room. Five star staff and food. Good bar selection of drinks. Nice garden with plenty seating for drinks/food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Not planning on staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like cigarettes, bed uncomfortable and sagging mattress, toilet noisy, shower drain not capable to drain fast enough. Floor carpet sticky, our door slammed shut, window ventilator broken and taped up. Our friends couldnt get internet in their room. Needs decorating. Full english was the bare necessities.

    Fairly quite location. Evening meal was very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very pleasant location. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The people are nice and always helpful. We did really enjoy the garden in the warm summer evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in a lovely village location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the very hot weather it would have been nice if the room had a fan. The décor could do with updating in the room.

    The location is great for work, nice village location. Food offers are very good value for money. Staff all pleasant and welcoming. Bed was comfy and room a good size.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    nice countryside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated decor but still perfectly serviceable.

    nice countryside location. Super friendly and helpful staff. good breakfast. within walking distance of hythe beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice pub in need of further investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are run down, the stairwell is smelly. View was over a skip.

    Dinner and breakfast were very good. Room facilities - tea-making stuff, hot water etc. were good. New carpet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with very friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the ample size of the bathroom the shower cubicle could have been a bit larger

    Very pleasant pub , friendly helpful staff . We actually changed the date of our stay . Booking.com would have charged us to do so but I contacted the hotel direct and they changed the date with no added charge .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room needed updating. but still good value for money and ok for one night.

    we stayed here to attend a wedding locally. The staff here are fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    Won't be staying again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Untidy, grubby, poorly maintained and worst of all smelly. Toilet discharge pipe leaked onto the industrial class bathroom floor.....which gave it the feel of a site portacabin. Narrow stair to room had a filthy threadbare carpet and landings smelt of stale vomit.

    The location was handy for the Eurotunnel. Very nice village and pleasant location....nice local pub and friendly staff...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    Ok for a night's stay, but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the guest areas (corridors and stairwells) was poor. The carpet outside my room gave off an awful smell and the door handles were coming off the doors due to screws being loose. The paint was flaking in areas. The room itself was ok but the mattress was so old it was like sleeping on a bouncy castle! Not good for the back. There was no bedside lamp and the warderobe was way too big for the room. The toilet did not flush properly in the bathroom. The whole place needs some redecorating and good, deep clean.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful and the cooked breakfast was great! The shower in the room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay, would I go again. Probably not unless improvements are made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was ok at best and the room wasn't overly clean, a lovely setting and building that could be superb with some small improvements

    Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's a little tired in places and the saniflow toilets are a bit noisy but despite that we had a really nice stay.

    The dinner was lovely and we enjoyed the breakfast. The four poster bed was really comfy and we both had a great nights sleep. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    When I arrived for a wedding I had to get there quickly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived for a wedding I had to get there quickly and one of the staff Emma was amazing and gave me a lift. Top service. All the team were brilliant and I had an incredible couple of nights in their bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Nice stay for a night, close to the ferries & good bar food & drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is a bit old and worn, but the house has character, a good pub & restaurant and a nice beer garden (the rotten old furniture outside, next to the entrance could have been disposed years ago!). Windows in the bath that can't be closed are difficult to understand (energy misuse!)

    Nice bar & restaurant, and a beautiful beer garden in the green. The location just out of town in the hills and next to the village green is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    3.3
    Old and dated could do with a revamp!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start, the windows were old and rattled all night, something seriously wrong with the plumbing terrible noise when you/ neighbors run the tap/toilet or shower bathroom was very basic and old no where to put toiletries had to put mine on the floor also smelt damp in the room hence the windows were left wide open when we got there and no free toiletries as advertised. The outside of the hotel looked like a scrapyard and a skip was full and various machines/mowers were left by the back door where we went in .The breakfast was very basic and was greasy probably the worst I have had!

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Plenty of character, olde world charm and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inconsistent breakfast - content varied. Car park shared with residents that gets very busy at times.

    Ten minutes walk, downhill, to RH&DR (steam railway). A nice fitness challenging uphill return. Beer. Steak night. David, Nettie and Rufus. A real village atmosphere - in the streets and in the pub. A bit like Hot Fuzz without the plot .... or is it? W/C and shower room suffered early sun, without sufficient blinds, one can expect to get tanned while attending to ones ablutions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Great village Inn serving excellent food which is very good VFM.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the age of the property the plumbing system in the bathroom was slightly noisy but that wasn't a show stopper.

    Excellent location, food at dinner was excellent and huge portions for the money you paid. Staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Excellent breakfast. Not far to travel to get onto the motorway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    OK for overnight stop before getting to tunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather shabby, very basic small room, breakfast OK but not very tasty.

    Comfy bed, congenial owner, good location for Channel Tunnel, price reasonable but reflected in basic facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very limited. Breakfast lukewarm. Very limited choice of cereals and preserves.

    Comfortable bed. Clean sheets. Quiet. Food in bar/restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    A good old fashioned stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good old fashioned pub, fantastic friendly staff, excellent menu choice and food. A perfect sized breakfast. Great Gin menu. Rooms were as seen on the website. We had Walmer with the 4 poster bed great size room. Clean and tidy. Garden was well kept with nice sturdy furniture. great place to stay in a lovely village setting. And not forgetting Rufus.... every pub needs a friendly dog to pat as you pass.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly - no hassle and a lovely fresh breakfast in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the plumbing was noisy and outdated ( I think it was a saniflow toilet). But it is an old property so to be expected.

    Very friendly - no hassle and a lovely fresh breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    Ideal for Channel Tunnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't turn down radiator so room was a bit too hot but was able to open the window.

    Very close to the M20 making it ideal for a stopover before going to the Tunnel. Nice traditional pub with rooms. Bar comfortable. Food excellent. Owner very helpful and welcoming. Staff were great, as was a local lady who was so friendly. Room was a bit small but had a comfy bed and a good shower. Lots of power points and mirrors for doing hair! Nice quiet village location. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    6.7
    Looks drab but really ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks drab on the outside as is the bar. Showers have electric pump out and the next rooms woke me up.

    Room comfortable. Breakfast nice. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Lovely village pub with good accommodation in fine setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En suite needs a refurb and windows have seen better days. Was a very cold day and on entering room it was freezing as who ever cleaned the room had left the en-suite window wide open!!

    Nice room Bed and TV etc good. Quiet and comfortable. First class restaurant - enjoyed a very good evening meal. Breakfast good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    Great for an overnight or few days breal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sold out Steak and Kidnry Pudding - was looking forward to it for days

    Great Breakfast Good Pub Grub in the evening Good Real Ale Short drive to Hythe for RHD railway an added benefit

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    Truly dog friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not just dog tolerant, but truly dog welcoming. Our six month old puppy loved the place. Lots of other dogs to associate with, and a lovely welcome from all of the people too. The evening menu was very good, with plenty of options.and very reasonably priced. The open fire in the bar was a lovely feature, and got our puppy's seal of approval. For dog walkers, there is a lovely country park just a ten minute stroll away, with plenty of off lead walking. We took our puppy there before we left, accompanied by the resident hotel dog, Rufus. Some reviews have mentioned that the decor is a little tired, but you know what...who cares if it is. Our room was lovely, and the welcome and totally relaxed atmosphere, coupled with reasonable prices and somewhere your dog will be truly welcome, more than makes up for any slight deficencies. We WILL go back again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould and damp in the bathroom as a result of extractor fan not working was unpleasant and unnecessary. Cleanliness in whole pub was very poor, stains on chairs and carpets in pub area and black mould on all the windows including the dining room. Little or no evidence of any real management as owner pops in and out all the time but clearly does not see there are any issues with his premise or standard of operations Duke box not compatible with location and type of pub and was used one night to create an inpromptu loud disco prompted by the staff! Such a shame as lovely building with great character and could be transformed at minimal cost but high attention to detail which I am confident people would pay more for as very handy for the channel.

    Bed was comfortable and room was warm. Wood burning stove excellent feature.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely location, staff welcoming. Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a birthday sad but you get what you pay for. It was value for money.

    Warm and clean, bed comfy, breakfast excellent. Friendly staff. Saltwood is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    convenient, clean and comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decor seemed a little tired, could do with a bit more investment, but nonetheless it was clean and comfortable

    Very convenient location for the Chanel Tunnel, great food and dog friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Ideal location for our stay to attend a wedding at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was a little problematic (we had two members of the family with walking sticks) until the car park had cleared later in the evening.

    Ideal location for our stay to attend a wedding at Westenhanger Castle.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Very good value if a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tired, also the bathroom. The toilet worked (noisily, macerator, can't be helped). The shower just about required a degree in the sciences to make work but the bathroom itself was nice and warm. Ladies would be a bit uncomfortable sitting on the toilet or having showered with no curtain (net or otherwise) across the frosted glass window over looking the village green, particularly at night with the light on!

    The staff, from the greeting to the leaving were first class, accommodating and friendly. Room was good if a little run down. This place doesn't cost the earth, so small inadequacies can be overlooked. Food and drink excellent and closeness to the ports a bonus. If everything was refurbished prices would have to rise so you can't have it both ways! Reasonable prices for this neck of the woods

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.8
    Cheeky overnight on south coast road trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big fan of mascerating loos. Understand that is because of age of building. Made bathroom a little aromatic.

    Breakfast was great. Nice Service, nicest sausage I've had in an included breaking for some considerable time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.2
    Allocated a room - the Saltwood room - with a noisy boiler. Felt unsafe, left 10pm. Charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unsuspectingly allocated a room - the Saltwood room - with a noisy boiler that apparently served the entire hotel upper floors. During the first evening, Tuesday night, around 9pm a man suddenly banged on the door and requested to enter our room to bang on the boiler as apparently a boiler fan had broken. This incident ruined our stay, as the man banged hard on the boiler for around 5 minutes and we wondered if the boiler was unsafe or subsequently unsafe because of the banging by the man. Didn't see any carbon monoxide patches in our room and the boiler room was within our room. My mother is elderly and the incident frightened her. We were charged for this experience.

    The staff food and drinks were ok to good. Visually the meals were average, the curry looked rather like a casserole, but tasted good.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: