Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cathedral Hotel 3 stars

62 Beacon Street, Lichfield, WS13 7AR, United Kingdom

#10 of 10 hotels in Lichfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1137 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was over the car park so there was a bit of noise for a short period of time. But nothing really to complain about. The room itself was also a little tired - a lick of paint and attention to the seal around the bath wouldn't go amiss!

    Wonderful value-for-money breakfast. The staff at the desk and at breakfast could not have been more friendly and cheerful. Everything was very clean and the breakfast room light and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with having a chest of draws and a fridge.

    Good size room, excellent bedding, such friendly staff, close to town without the noise in the night from traffic or revellers. Great breakfast, good selection of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase carpet dirty - room needed totally redecorating, there were marks on the carpet, ceiling and wallpaper peeling.

    The staff were really welcoming and helpful ordering taxi's etc. Helpful at breakfast and breakfast itself was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness

    the bed was comfy and slept well, hotel could have done with a good clean, carpets did not look as though they had been hoovered for weeks, breakfast was good, shower was not good took ages to heat up and flooded the bathroom twice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over hot rooms with rather dated fittings and only adequate parking for number of rooms.

    Can’t convenient for the cathedrals day town with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Lovely to have an independent family hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine with the room, booking in , the bar area. the only small thing in the room 312 was no curtains at the window. not that it kept me awake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the lights above the bed was intermittent but nothing unbearable. Could do with more milk as barely had enough for two brews for 1 person.

    Friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked or traditional and was pleasant enough. Room was very big and comfortable with a good sized wall mounted TV. Shower was nice and warm with a good water flow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the downside was we were on the third floor, and we are getting on in years, a lift would be very usefull.

    the room was alright the breakfast was very good the staff was very good and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism is the shower didn't work which would have been a problem if we had stayed more than one night. My partner is unable to get into a bath

    Staff very polite & helpful Peter a member of staff took our suitcase to the room which was a lovely gesture as I didn't fancy dragging it up to the second floor! Staff very knowledgeable of the area and the best places to eat . We had breakfast it was tasty good quality food overall a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains hanging off, hung in wrong place. No proper privacy due to curtains not fitting properly, so houses across the road from the Hotel could see straight in the room, I had to rehang them myself.A shame because rest of our stay was first class. Our room was 207. To remedy it is an easy fix an hours work. The rail needs bringing back from the window to be fixed on the wood where it should be.Noticed someone else complained about the same issue.

    Bed nice and comfy, room nice and big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on entering the room I thought it needed refurbishing décor very shabby and the bath room rather small. a hotel like this I did expect, better first impression was not good to me . we also was not able to have tea as the milk was used on the evening.

    bed very comfortable the location perfect morning breakfast was very good plenty to eat the food enjoyable . everyone was very helpful. the lady on reception was also helpful and she was able to sort a taxi for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow Stairs to second floor was a chore with baggage and bed was a little firmer than most.

    The hotel was easy to find with easy parking and good welcoming reception area. Room was comfortable and quiet. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an event on in the function which was so noisy the walls were vibrating. We had put the tv on full to drown out the noise. When we called reception at 11:20pm to complain they turned it down but it could be heard on the street and they shouldn't have rooms so close. It was unacceptable for a hotel stay and we should have been warned. If we had know we would have stayed elsewhere.

    Nice firm beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is shabby - a friend stayed in it ten years ago and when she knew I was staying there she was sad as she was unhappy with it ten years ago!!!

    The Staff all very helpful especially when the room I was allocated was over the two wedding venues hall and they moved me without any hassle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    USB sockets in rooms for charging mobiles would be a good idea.

    Good buffet breakfast on the weekend. 10 mins from town centre.left my hip flasks there and hotel staff posted them to me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior Room was very spacious and the bed was huge. Very comfortable and clean. Five minute walk to town centre and close to Cathedral and lovely park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that isn’t wrong but it’s just slightly needs tweaking is it so warm you have to sleep with the windows open , but it’s better than being cold 😊

    The beds are super comfy with staff extremely helpful the hotel is very clean and tidy and the food is lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had been a very warm day and the room was sweltering and stuffy. The window only opened a little and there was no air conditioning or other effective way to cool the room down, so it was quite an uncomfortable night.

    It was as good as could be hoped for at the budget price. It was clean and comfortable and the best thing about the stay was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, especially the guy on reception, although he seemed rather overworked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my first stay at this hotel which is able to successfully cater for single people up to larger groups for all sorts of occasions. The staff here are knowledgeable and helpful and also quite attentive. There is a good range of beverages and food here is also good, my enjoyable breakfast being proof of this. As the hotel name implies the Cathedral is not very far from here being only a 5 to 10 minute walk away. There are also a good choice of eateries and other shops nearby, again only a 5 to 10 minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower not very hot. Was advised the shower were being upgraded

    Excellent breakfasts good quality ingredients. Very helpful pleasant staff members

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like

    The Hotel is well located and we had a big well appointed room. There was no remote control when we arrived and when pointed out it was sorted. The staff were friendly, attentive but unobtrusive. We have nothing negative to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The food at The George was the best we had in Lichfield

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine.

    Easy walking distance to town centre. The hotel appears to be undergoing a lot of tlc, the restaurant, reception and bars light and airy. The bedroom had lots of space and a comfortable bed .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like it was furnished by MFI. TV channels didn't work. Had to wait for breakfast essentials.

    The breakfast was reasonable, coffee was very good. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a warm day, the room was close, window limited opening. There's no garden or outside area apart from the carpark.

    Staff helpful. Early breakfast. Car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers do take a while before they run warm / hot, but it really isn't a big issue, just maybe something which could be improved in the future

    The Hotel is great value for money and the staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 307 is lovely, but the blind for the skylight really needs fixing. We were woken up at 0530 by the light shining into the room.

    The location is excellent, only a couple of minutes walk from the cathedral and town centre and parking is good. The staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly. We had a problem with the room we were originally allocated and we were moved immediately without question. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm couldn't open window due to traffic. Shower not easy to work. But would use hotel again. We were a family trip and we were happy to have our 3 rooms next to each other.

    Good location friendly staff good carpark

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was described as a twin with one double and one single bed. There was however only one chair, so would not have been comfortable for more than one person. Decoration was tired - wall paper was peeling from walls around window, and worktops of dresser area were 'distressed', with ill fitting drawers. One bedside light was not working - not a problem for me as I could choose to use the bed where the light worked, but would have been problem for a couple. I'm sure if I had reported this it would have been resolved - the housekeeping team were also attentive. I was interested to see the range of facilities available for conferences/ larger events, but the room was not set up to show it to an advantage - it would have been nice to see what a wedding or conference set up would have looked like rather than a blank floor space.

    Breakfast was great - a wide choice of buffet and cooked options. Lovely breakfast room too - bright and airy, with welcoming and attentive staff . Reception and bar staff also welcoming and attentive on arrival and departure. Easy and accessible car parking. Close to city centre, so very convenient to visit shops, parks and of course the beautiful cathedral just down the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was slightly expensive.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming and I had a lovely room. The hotel has easy, free parking and is in an excellent location. The breakfast was excellent, hot tasty and plenty of it, so I was very happy. I wasn't hassled about check out time. Finally, straightforward free WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blind or net curtain at bedroom window, direct view into the room from car park and house opposite

    Breakfast was excellent, plenty of cold choices, hot food cooked to order, perfectly cooked and hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, plenty of choice and freshly cooked to order. Comfortable room and all the facilities required that you need for a stay. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds and descant size rooms. Breakfast is excellent, with a hot cooked breakfast made to order and there is also a continental buffet available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the room looks like it hasn't been decorated for a long time - carpets worn, walls stained, furniture tatty and TV from olden time. It did the job for a quick stay but wouldn't rush back.

    The hotel I conveniently located and breakfast was a good quality meal with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peeling wallpaper, lifted carpets, stains on walls, rickety bunk beds, bathroom tiles were very wonky, awful breakfast, weird mix of clientele

    The toilet paper

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soft Bed very friendly staff in all areas, third time we have stayed in the last 5 months. Very Large Breakfast and service with a smile. Close to cathedral and town centre. Beacon Park just a short walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little shabby in places and lacks atmosphere. Restaurant only serves breakfast (which is very good) - no evening meals. Does not have a lift. The bedroom looked out onto rubbish skips. It is just outside the town centre, up to a 10 minute walk.

    Cooked breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing to find the interior of the wardrobe was a bare plaster wall. Fortunately we were only staying one night so didn't need to hang many clothes. The room was comfortable enough but the finish on bed surround needed some improvement.

    The welcome at check- in was fine. Our room was ready early which was great as we had to meet friends at 3pm. The room was light and airy. Our bed was comfortable, good quality linen. The hotel provided a good selection of hot drinks in the room and a biscuit. Breakfast is buffet style with a fair selection , my partner enjoyed the sausages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception experience was a bit rushed and 'clinical' - Perhaps we arrived at a busy moment!

    The hotel is in the process of being updated so some parts look excellent and some parts awaiting further work- but everything was available, it was very comfortable, warm and clean. The breakfast was excellent too. Only 5 minutes walk to the cathedral and shops. The lady who oversaw breakfast was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was rather cramped and it would have been useful to have had a safe in the room.

    Very helpful staff. Good free car parking. Within easy walking distance of the cathedral and town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room became extremely hot during the night. Blankets kicked off.

    Bed really comfy and we loved the table settings so you shared a table and got chatting to fellow guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large cosy rooms. Staff courteous and friendly. Super breakfast made from quality products. Spacious car park. Only a quarter of a mile from the cathedral. Great price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was amazing always hot and replenished regularly. family room was plenty big enough. liked that it had bunk beds. easy to get access and staff were always friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tap in our room was loose and the mattress was hard and lumpy, my daughter had a really restless night because of it.

    The breakfast was fantastic, the room size and bathroom size was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was disappointing that our room only had white plastic blinds and not curtains meaning that the light just poured in in the morning.

    Late night bar facility was great and staff were always on hand and helpful. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked very tired needs re decorating room was a bit shabby furniture needs updating cobwebs around the room carpet worn

    Staff were very friendly room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are like paper so you can hear everything, which isn't great if you're a sensitive sleeper like me.

    The staff were lovely and location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was poor and there was no phone to call reception so had to keep going down stairs to ask if I had a question. Also I forgot tooth paste and the hotel didn’t have any for me to borrow (even though in the book it said they would) however the man at reception did take me to the shop to get some.

    Good location as I was going to a wedding in the cathedral and the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting. Brighter bulbs and light over bedroom mirror with plug socket near mirror would be useful.

    Good location, excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use the chair as a bedside table for the single bed!

    Clean comfortable room with adequate bathroom. Great breakfast. Lovely staff. Really excellent location so close to the city centre and the car park was a bonus. We had dinner at the sister hotel which I can highly recommend - great food, excellent service and 25% discount.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically it is a slightly shabby slightly run-down hotel. But for the price, it's what one should expect. In some respects it's better than you might expect for the cheap price.

    The staff were helpful and the breakfast was well cooked - to order - a nice touch. None of those sloppy scrambled eggs in large tins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of refurbishing. Young staff are very friendly but not very knowledgeable.

    The breakfast is excellent and staff well prepared to accept special orders.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was verging on uncomfortable as it was so firm, I had to use a duvet as a mattress topper to soften it a bit. ( I sleep on a firm mattress at home. ) The bathroom whilst adequate was compact & when the next upgrade is done a shower rather than bath with shower over would be a better use of the space.

    The breakfast which was included in the price was good value. All the linen was crisp and beautifully white. The communal areas all seemed to have been freshly decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is the creakiest I ave ever slept in! Reception told us that hotel is in the process of changing all he beds and mattresses - much needed!

    Lovely breakfast, freshly cooked to order and quality produce. Staff all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being reeecorated so a bit of a mess.At 2-30 & 5-30 in the night woken by smoke alarm going off possibly workers decorating I don't know. breakfast was poor was served bacon that was off so put off eating anything only toast.curtains in room needed to be blackout to stop daylight and street light shining in.

    Close to city and road links

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom:- it’s not safe for people. It’s no hand railing in the bath and shower. It’s dangerous. I feel difficult to get out of the bath with no support! I was nearly called 999.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male member of staff at breakfast time did not have a friendly manner . Whilst he was not rude , he came across as a bit abrupt and not very approachable . He was not very organised ... had to ask him to take our breakfast order after waiting for a while ; he did not bring toast until we had finished our cooked breakfast and only then because we reminded him ; he got breakfast order wrong but we decided not to bring this to his attention due to a lack of warmth from him ; he did not tell us to " help yourself " to cereal etc. after we had been sat at table ; he had a similar unfriendly attitude to lady member of staff helping out although to her credit she did not cause a scene in front of guests . Perhaps watch , listen and learn from female member of staff to improve his customer service ahead ?

    Lady member of staff at check in was excellent . She was also helpful at breakfast time when she was helping out .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you didn't do food other than breakfast

    Ideally situated for the town.Staff friendly and helpfull.Room was quite spacious and comfortable .Breakfast was very good wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in Bathroom a bit erratic with temperature would benefit from electric shower

    Breakfast very good cooked perfect coffee bit to strong for me but prefer decaf and instant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of generator mashing a constant noise, was offered a room change but to a smaller room... on arrival we had already been changed rooms as they accidentally programmed or key card you the original room, soneine else had clearly wanted to move and we had been moved as we arrived later than them... bathroom flooring not fitted well and if we hag the window open the bath panel came away

    Staff couldn't do enough, lively breakfast for both healthy eaters too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bar area and the rooms were a little tired and in need of decoration.

    Breakfast was amazing!! It was not included in the price but was only £5 extra if pre-paid. It was freshly cooked to order, and the quality far exceeded, other, much more expensive hotels. Staff were really friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Rooms probably need updating & I think this is in the process of being done .

    Staff were very helpful & friendly , young chaps working at the hotel Very helpful & friendly with the kids . Nice full English Breskfast - good service again by friendly staff . Good on site parking , walking distance to Lichfield which is very picturesque, good shopping , nice pubs & coffee bars Room was reasonable .. but not poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing I could say was that the shower was a bit sensitive, but really hotel was great for what we wanted.

    Breakfast great and location of this hotel superb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very nice. It was one of the best in the hotel but the price (for non- refundable) was very reasonable. The young staff member on reception was very helpful. He went out if his way to give us good service. Bed was comfy. Location pretty good. Good idea to give 25% off meal at sister hotel, The George. We had an excellent meal there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bedroom. Very small bathroom. Strong smell of bathroom cleaner pervaded both rooms. Lack of lift. Poor choices for breakfast, also very inexperienced serving staff.

    Conveniently near the Cathedral. Back bedroom was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - would have liked option of fried or poached egg at buffet rather than scrambled - minor in the scale of our fantastic visit to Lichfield.

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfortable but the base creaked when turning over in the night! - Hardly a negative point really.

    The room was spacious and the fittings excellent. Everything we needed was there. Staff were great. Excellent breakfast. Cathedral and city centre 10 mins walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower heat fluctuated too much and I was exposed to very hot water on a number of occasions.

    The location is excellent; a short walk to the Cathedral, Erasmus Darwin's House and the Samuel Johnson Museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spot/reading lights above the bed could not be switched on/off individually making it difficult for one person .to read if the other is trying to sleep. I think this should be addressed. The shower wasn't powerful, more of a trickle

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast choices. Quiet location but within easy walking distance of city centre. Free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs to room Poor positioning of shower relative to bath. Access as a result difficult to set shower.

    Excellent breakfast Good location Generous room with great views of cathedral Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a single woman travelling alone, the room could have benefitted from some net curtains as the room over looked a residential area. The car park was very busy with cars from the local area driving in and out, and revving up. I was awoken at 6am by the kitchen staff getting breakfast ready. They sounded like they were in my room. There was no hot water for a shower. I stayed the next night at a large hotel chain and paid the same price for a much more comfortable room where I felt a lot safer. Perhaps the hotel could reduce its charges and so it expectations about what to expect.

    Nice friendly reception and rectified the TV when I couldn't get this to work. The breakfast was simple but nicely cooked per individual order. Room was clean but basic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't adjust the heat on the radiator so the room was too warm to sleep proprley. The bed was very comfortable though but it was positioned so near to the radiator it made the access to the one side of the bed too narrow for comfort.

    Great Breakfast, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had larger cases would have had difficulty getting upstairs as there is no lift.

    Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast staff very attentive and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise I could have had a fried egg as I thought it was just what there was in the buffet breakfast. The room was quite hot. I'm sure both things would be resolved if I'd mentioned it.

    The beds were so comfy and it was actually quite nice having the family room as two rooms with a tv in each! Free parking and friendly, helpful staff made our stay even better. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything ace!!

    The rooms were much larger than average ans scrupulously clean (I've never known cleaner). Breakfast was great (even the coffee was good and strong, which is often not the case!) and the staff universally extremely polite and friendly. My only minor quibble is that the shower mechanism in my room was stuck in the morning - it seems because a previous builder-guest had been over-enthusiastic in turning it off. This fault was very swiftly and pleasantly righted and explained. I would only suggest that cleaners might in future make a quick check to avoid this happening. Apart from all these pluses, the price of our rooms was excellent, and the location ideal for enjoying the magnificence of the cathedral, and the handsome, welcoming town with its impressive collection of restaurants. If I can, I shall definitely be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is set out like a proper restaurant, where coffee or tea is served to you at the table and you ca order a cooked breakfast to your requirements.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: