Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cathedral Hotel 3 stars

7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury, SP1 2AJ, United Kingdom

#10 of 10 hotels in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1066 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Fine for one night but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had many problems - broken light, broken toilet roll holder, pink glitter all over the floor. Very noisy from bar below until around 2am. Staff were uninterested and got breakfast orders completely wrong (meat instead of vegetation!)

    Great location, easy check-in/check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Central stay in Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My UK travels were during a month long heat wave so areas without AC were a bit less than comfortable, but my room had a ceiling fan that as the evening rolled in kept my room comfortable for the night with the windows open. My twin bed room had a very cozy small shower but that's expected for the modest price of the accommodations.

    Central city location was excellent that's in the historic area of Salisbury. Town is a short drive to Stonehenge for more historical perspective. Bed was comfy and overall facility was pleasant. Self parking was just a couple of short blocks down the street. It's not a fancy place but a stay that I felt safe in and got a good rest during my UK travels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Really helpful staff, including making me a breakfast to go.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful staff, including making me a breakfast to go. Room was very hot in the heatwave, but appreciated that there was a ceiling fan and an electric fan ready in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is great, right in the middle of Salisbury...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to note the warnings about the bar/nightclub in the building on Fri/Sat nights. It truly is noisy until 2:30am! Bedrooms were not as clean as they could have been (stains on carpets, dust in corners and drapes). Breakfast was okay.

    The location is great, right in the middle of Salisbury close to the cathedral and shopping. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Where hotel ever rather sleep under a subway that bad really
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow toilet seat hanging off shower didn’t work bathroom stunk of smoke table had masking tape on it air-conditioning didn’t work the room we were promised Wasn’t The same in the picture I could go on but I won’t

    Hardly anything I have nothing good to say it was dreadful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Central position.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night.The weather was very hot and we had to sleep with the window open which didn't help with the noiseThere was an electric fan on the ceiling but it would only work if the light was switched on

    Central position.Friendly staff.Air conditioning in the bar was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice pub in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning and we were there dueung a heatwave but had a ceiling fan and breeze came tgrough open window.

    Location was really good - right in heart of town and there is a lift. Staff were helpful and no problem leaving our bags for a few hours after checkout. Rate included cooked and continental breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Value vs vintage trade-offs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet throughout is in need of cleaning(or better yet replacement) and the room was quite small. I guess that’s to be expected in a vintage property. Still a good value if you don’t require luxury.

    Great location, full English breakfast, price & lovely staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.9
    The worst hotel I have ever stayed at,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst hotel I have ever stayed at, served uncooked chicken, door handle fell off, delays of up to 45minutes for food, room quality poor and badly serviced. Cannot recommend at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.9
    Sadly nothing positive to say about this ‘hotel’
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a warning that there is a nightclub at weekends in the hotel. Not clear however is that this is the entire ground floor. We were welcomed by bouncers on the door rather than reception staff. We seemed to be an inconvenience when wanting to check in. Bedroom was simple to say the least. Very uncomfortable bed and very stuffy room. Slept very poorly for two nights. Terrible breakfast!! Twice went to reception and found no one there. Gave up trying !! Avoid this hotel and street which is noisy all night long. Unless you want to party then go for it.

    Sadly nothing positive to say about this ‘hotel’

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nightclub noise. Breakfast was also terrible.

    Nothing. There's a nightclub downstairs and no sound proofing. You simply won't get any sleep in this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have been able to have time for breakfast before my train! Nobody's fault. The stay was wonderful.

    The staff were wonderful and went above and beyond to help and make the stay even better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortable and noisy for older people
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in one room not working and couldn’t leave window open because of noise from outside and loud music downstairs, so couldn’t sleep because of humidity in room. When pulled ironing board out from side of cupboard cobwebs followed, so rooms not cleaned properly. Felt breakfast was not good value for money as majority of food did not taste fresh and not enough staff on to replenish items such as juices, jams etc.

    Shower was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disruptive and time consuming on a two day visit to Bath by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room we booked for 2 nights, 2 months prior had a blockage in the bathroom and could not be used at all. Plumber called. Night 1: One person moved to a double room upstairs with toilet and washbasin only. To be shared but no working shower either! Night 2: Moved again to two separate rooms. No attempt was made to adjust our $323.00/2 night tarrif

    The dining room and cooked breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures on the website are misleading. It's basically rooms above a pub/night club. It was mid week so not very noisy. However it is the first hotel that have provided complimentary ear plugs which you would need if staying over the weekend.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like your windows open at night, you’d better be a sound sleeper - of very hard of hearing. Tbf, with the windows closed, the noise of the revellers was minimal.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location in the city center, however, that is part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities/ equipment in the rooms all a bit worn! No arrangements taken for customer parking. The hotel could chose to work together with a nearby parking garage. The way it is now, means that you need to go back to your car and the garage repeatedly to ensure to pay for continuous parking, if you want to stay longer than just over 1 night. There must be a better solution for customers.

    Good location in the city center, however, that is part of the problem: no parking provided!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location to see Salisbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room needs redecorating, there were picture hooks with no pictures which made it feel really drab and it needs a coat of paint, ok if you're on business but not ideal if you're celebrating a special occasion. There was also an annoying hum that would have stopped me from sleeping had they not provided ear plugs in the room.

    The location is amazing, close to the station and ideally situated to see Salisbury, the twin room is a good size, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Also, the toiletries were eco-friendly which was a really nice surprise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Wanted a charming older typical hotel. But this was a little 'worn' feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the pub was very disappointing and expensive. We were warned about music but it was loud voices of the pAtrons that kept us awake until 2:30.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Great if you want to go clubbing as the same time as visiting....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is also a night club with extremely loud music until 02:00am....... Makes it very hard to sleep when your bed is shaking under the vibrations of music..... Also, my mother's bathroom was absolutely unsanitary......rusty shower with mold everywhere........

    The location of the hotel is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Standard really, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't open my window, and my room fan also didn't seem to work.

    location is great, staff are really friendly and attentive, could ideally use a few more members.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Simple, nice old-style hotel in the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice "old style" hotel in the center of town with good restaurant at the ground floor. Young team is running the hotel, they are very engaged and supportive. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent for a tourist visit to Salisbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in central location, which is a big plus. There is no parking by the hotel, but there is a parking garage near by. The staff is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    VERY disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't clean, even after I complained about the dirty floor. I also reported a window that wouldn't shut, and a light fixture that didn't work - neither were fixed during our stay. The toilet-roll holder repeatedly fell off the wall. The door frame and part off the door were plain wood, and there was no handle on the outside of the door. Not only will I not recommend your hotel to anyone, I will strongly recommend they avoid it.

    Friendly staff, reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for a room above a club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, too Hot, no way to properly open the window and then of course it’s right above the club in the same building...which really isn’t made clear enough when booking. And still quite expensive

    Nice helpful staff, central Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Should of closed fully until renovations were complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find the room with no room number on the door. It is above a livley bar. No tv remote or iron in the room but there was a tv and ironing board. They turned the water off in the morning...

    The location for what i needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Pretty spacious bedrooms, good location, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t really like the interconnecting bedrooms because the sharing bathroom was in one of the rooms so we had to go into the other bedroom to get to the bathroom. Also there was only one exit which was quite inconvenient.

    Pretty spacious bedrooms, good location, staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very dirty.

    The location was excellent, however the room was dirt, the desk had dried coffee all over it, the room was extremely dusty. Its not recommended if you want to take your partner away, its more suited for young people that just want a night out in salisbury. Overall i was very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Old, poorly maintained and minimal comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The hotel is renovating and the room they gave us was very unused. The was no lightbulb in the light and the bath was down the hall. Keys were needed to use the lift and the bathroom. People were nice but I would be vet stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff are lovely but my child was affected by the black mould.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had black mould and upon letting staff know, I was told yes we are renovating our bathrooms. I do not believe we should have been subject to black mould and had to pay for that pleasure. I could feel the springs in the beds (we had 3 double beds in different rooms and they were all the same). Bacon was almost raw when served.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, bad cleanliness and no front door key provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean when we got there. Dust on everything, lots of black short and long hairs in bathroom and taps needed a good clean and polish. The hotel do not give you front door key so instead you have to ring a bell to get in on return from your evening out. We waited nearly 20mins outside the cold to be let in, an absolute joke. Why not have a key fob system? We were then woken at 8am by builders in the room opposite us with power tools and the egg smell of filler or sealent, on a Sunday morning too.was not pleased. Breakfast was nice but only got 1 of everything. 1 hash Brown, 1 sausage, 1 rash of bacon. Seemed a bit tight especially for my partner who likes a man size portion. Continental helped fill us up with toast and croissants though. The staff were lovely though, this place has real potential just lacks in attention to detail and proper management.

    The staff were friendly on arrival. Room was a good size and bed comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    I was expecting allot more for my money I feel I will stick to well known brands of hotels from now
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, tattered and I found a bottle of personal lubricant under my bed which really concerns me as under the bed was so filthy not vacuumed for a long time and behind furniture as well. When I brought it to the attention of the manager he just shrugged his shoulders and said he would talk to his cleaning staff, no apology, no we will give you a refund of some of your stay, nothing.he did not even seem that surprised. I will never stay there again

    Second breakfast was nice and most of the junior staff were really helpful and friendly. The location in city was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    A wonderfully convenient short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been larger and we found the door key to our room a little difficult to close the door. This is not a complaint!

    Three of us ladies of a certain age had plenty of space in 1 room. Comfy beds, good selection of teas and lovely toiletries. Excellent breakfast and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Staff were nice and as helpful as they could be with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, found we had two adjoining rooms with a double bed in each for four of us, had to negotiate change of family suite. Bathroom in need of updating, shower screen leaked, shower head sprayed water over the floor. Various light bulbs missing, bed very hard, TV wouldn't tune in and had the first 16 channels missing. Layout of family suite meant we had to go through the kids room to access the bathroom.

    Staff were nice and as helpful as they could be with the problems. Breakfast was tasty and generous. Location for town centre was great. Others have reviewed regarding noise from downstairs but midweek and on third floor no noise to complain about. Parking at Culver St was fine, and free as soon after chemical attack in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Not the Ritz but excellent value for the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorway of our bedroom needed painting and I thought the evening menu was very limited. Also the bedroom had secondary glazing but the out side window didn’t close.

    It was clean, the staff friendly and we thought it was good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great central location to use as a base to explore the City Centre. The room was basic but comfortable enough. We were given a significant discount on the room tariff at reception when checking in apparently because of some mould problem in the bathroom. This however only turned out to be relatively minor issue in the shower recess so we thought the discount was a real bonus for us. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice breakfast nothing nice to add
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room had mould all around the bathroom, headboard was falling off the wall and room was filthy. We were offered another room straight away which was much better. In the evening the hotel was transferred into a nightclub with deafening music being played until the early hours of the evening. Not what you would expect from a hotel

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean and quite spacious room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast offer was poor in choice range and quality. Had to wait to check in Got wrong order at dinner in the pub

    Clean and quite spacious room and bathroom Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Cheap, but not a nice room/hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a nice room. Not cosy at all. No chair, no table. There was mold inside the shower even at the tiles. Could have been cleaner!

    Good location near the centre of the city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing: Single night stay in humid rum with mold in bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold in the bathroom, extremely moldy smell in the room, high humidity, felt cold, room seemed like it was not heated and ventilated for a long time, no option to open the window We could not even leave our small suitcases after checkout for a few hours

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok but not great food wise too and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had to wait till 2 pm to check in our rooms despite asking if we could check in earlier at 1 pm because of our two children being tired from travelling. The light of one of the rooms did not work. The bar/restaurant underneath the hotel rooms was transformed in a disco on a Saturday night, so it was very noisy and people/ guests were passing by our rooms late at night being noisy...not ideal for families!

    The location of the hotel. One of the waiter ( a young man was really nice and friendly).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    R stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtain areas within the room needed more attention to cleaning, such as the shower, in the pug hole there were hairs all in it, and large areas of dust on top of the tv and wardrobe.

    The food was spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    If you want to sleep, do NoT stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise in the room from the bar and people staying at the hotel, continuing the party in the rooms with no one to control them or ask them to be quiet. No phone in the rooms to call reception. No one in reception to call and control people from the rooms who were creating a lot of noise during the whole night (until 7 am). Even with ear plugs, impossible to sleep. We have been in thousands of hotels and never found people so disrespectful with others. It is not the hotel problem that people act like this but they should put measures to avoid this to happen. If you have kids, do not stay here!!

    Comfortable bed and good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Lifts made easy access for our parents ,easy drop off four...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position easy walk to Cathedral,accomadated diet concerns (got soya milk in for breakfast)

    Lifts made easy access for our parents ,easy drop off four luggage a nd local parking nea r by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    Run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not until we had paid the staff announced that the bar area turned into a night club until 02:30. There is a statement at the bottom of the page about it. Once in the room initially we thougjt it is ok but the pubic hair and mildew in the bathroom and bedroom put paid to that. My advice is run a mile. We paid more to stay here than at the Legacy Rose & Crown.

    There was no aspect of my stau i liked. I could not wait to get out to the point even though i had paid for Breakfast I eat elsewhere the smell of stale alcohol was stomach churning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.0
    Staff pleasant but room I had should have been scrapped 20 years ago
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I thought I had booked included of course a private INTERNAL to the room a toilet and shower etc. The lack of a toilet IN MY ROOM is NOT ACCEPTABLE and is the first I have had that in decades.

    Not much but staff did their best

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Worst hotel stay ever!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was absolutely filthy, the shower was plastered with mould and limescale, the bathroom floor was very dirty, the sink was very dirty and the surfaces were the glasses set were full of dust. The room was very dusty, l asked to have a different room and they said there were no more rooms available. The table l set I the bar was filled with tea stains that were not wiped.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very pleasant and helpfull with my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe the photos were deceiving and didn't reflect my experience on similar hotels in the area when I compare my experiences in Salisbury

    Staff was very pleasant and helpfull with my needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with the stay. Would recommend to friends and would stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I found the pillows uncomfortable but everything else was fune

    Room was really good value for money. Food was good. Very central for my visit as had to come from London to sort out a funeral.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent place to rest your head
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were pleasant and friendly. It was mainly somewhere to crash after a late night event in Salisbury - it was an ideal location as it was only a five minute walk. Lots of little extras in the room. I was gutted we couldn't have stayed a bit longer to make better use of the facilities instead of dying with a hangover. PS The draft beer was lovely too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    The room hadn't been cleaned properly, dust and hairs in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hadn't been cleaned properly, dust and hairs in tho bathroom. The shower was grubby, plug hole blocked so it wouldn't drain and leaked. Furniture looked tired and worn. Too noisy until the very early hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Not great! I paid more here than up the road and it wasnt anywhere near as nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was dirty, mildew growing by the looks of it. The carpets were dirty. There was no fridge in the room, which we looked for when we booked, instead we were given a safe, which we didnt want. The photos showed a luxury room with bed spread at bottom, big TV, nice facillites, we had none of these in the room. The cups in the bathroom were used and dirty, so we had to go out and buy bottles of water. The staff had left and locked the door to pub on Sunday at 10.30pm, we were stood with other guests waiting to be let out to go and get our dinner!

    Bed was not too bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are so many things wrong with this hotel that they totally outweigh the good. When we checked in we noticed earplugs in the bathroom as part of the provided toiletries. Seemed a bit odd until you realise on a Saturday night the bar turns into a club which goes on until 2:00am! We were on the 3rd floor and it still made it impossible to sleep. The room, at first appearance, seems nice enough. However, more than a cursory glance reveals a pretty disgusting, place. The shower had mold in it, the shower head looked like it had never been cleaned. The bedroom curtains were covered in thick dust at the top and the bottom had dry mold spores on them. The room service never did anything except make the bed and add tea & coffee to the pile. The bathroom was never cleaned, the floor never swept or vacuumed. I have seen responses from the hotel stating they are updating the rooms. We'll it's the quiet season and we didn't see any updating going on and I am pretty sure we were the only people staying at the hotel. Additionally, you can't run a nightclub like that in a hotel. If it had also been on the Sunday night we would have moved and lost our money if necessary; it was that bad!

    The location is good, pretty central to everything. Parking, though not on site, is easily accessible and relatively cheap. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is budget class and doesn't offer service. Miserable corridors & room badly in need of repair; door frame been repaired but not painted; radiator off wall & sitting on floor; shower leaked & grotty. When reported to Reception answer was "yes we're going to decorate soon & I can't wait" (glad she is going to be happy). As resident tried to order drink at closing time - answer was no can do. Breakfast day 1 was fine, day 2 totally different.

    Only the location, the sausages at breakfast and the beds were comfortable which was their saving grace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weekend turns the pub downstairs into a nightclub which makes this a poor location if you have an early morning the day after

    Great location and good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    Locatipn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby. Dismal small room. Shower did not work. Heavy condensation. Had to have sash window wide open, despite extreme cold to clear steam and damp. Black mold on ceiling. Breakfast. Only cereal was cornflakes or special K or coco pops. No muesli or fresh fruit salad. An apple and orange in a bowl with dried apricots that guest had to prepare themselves. Asked on first day if muesli or weetabix could be provided but following morning no change. In fact nothing was put out in advance. Toast was thin sliced bread. No proper bread. Cooked breakfast was cold and served on cold plate. Stayed for 2 nights but huge disappointment. However all staff were excellent tried to remedy a shabby and sub standard hotel. But not a place to stay if you want even Basic comforts. Would be helpful if told before booking that this is a poor standard hotel. Furniture in room is dilapidated and should be replaced. Lighting so dim difficulty in reading A massive disappointment as had planned to return with 14 guests for 3 nights stay. P

    Locatipn

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The connecting door between the two rooms (we had booked 'a suite' - two connected rooms sharing an en suite) was not op-enable from one of the rooms. While the full breakfast looked and tasted superb, the poached eggs on toast came (2 of them) on one slice of dry toast - no butter......WEIRD!!! The temperature in the restaurant was also set too high.

    We were welcomed very warmly and check in was straightforward. The bedrooms were a little tired but clean except for some stains on the carpet. We were warned that there may be late night noise but slept soundly and didn't need the supplied earplugs! The full English breakfast was superb!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Accomadation was fine, nothing spectacular,hotel bar is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If staying on fri or sat night,Unfortunately if u r on second floor , you can hear all the music from down below, I'm guessing the third floor would b a better bet, tbh that was only downside but would prob stay again but go higher up.

    Accomadation was fine, nothing spectacular,hotel bar is great, food is good, bed wasn't the greatest sleep I've ever had.staff were excellent overall it was a good stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location - disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff weren't overly friendly The bar is a late bar with a DJ on the weekend - however when non residents were told to leave before 2pm, we were told to go to our bedrooms by the bouncers - very constricting, as you aren't allowed stay up. There is no residence bar however the staff were able to stay later (as we were sent to bed) with drinks and food from a local takeaway. The location is good. The lift wasn't working and we were on the 3rd floor. One of the rooms didn't have an ensuite - there was an external bathroom down there hall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Not a great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for an extra duvet at booking. At check-in they said it is in the room...it wasn't. Asked the staff, they said there should be an extra blanket in the wardrobe...there wasn't. The room didn't appear to be cleaned properly. Loud music at night from the bar downstairs - use the earplugs provided! Below average breakfast.

    Good location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Great central location, friendly staff good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast included and didn’t have to pay any extra Good location Friendly staff Although parking was a small walk away didn’t have to pay after 3pm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel but a cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos made the property look a lot nicer than it was. The bathroom was of a poor standard with excess limescale and damp patches.

    Free toiletries in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location but too many issues for me to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets on first floor for the public bar use had no paper or soap and dryers did not work plus they were smelly. The hotel menu said they served liqour coffee but when ordered was told they didnt do them. Also their curry and drink Tuesday was not a curry but some kind of Thai dish. Staff behind the bar didnt seem to know what they were doing.

    Location of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed it despite the hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is nowhere near 3*** accommodation. eg all the dressing tables are held together with duct tape. Fair to say this was a late booking, however, although fairly clean the room allocated was very small and cold and the en-suite light was broken: after considerable delay [had had to go down again and ask for staff] another room was offered but it had no main light. The third attempt was OK but very cold until the heating took out the chill which was several hours if not until the middle of the night. The first two rooms were not fit for purpose. We were promised an apologetic drink/ meal which never materialised.

    Position was excellent but no parking [we came by train]. Food was OK and downstairs staff pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value and fine central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were warned about the lower level nightclub. The music wasn't too bad but the noise in the courtyard from revellers was poor. As hotel didn't seem that busy we could perhaps have been roomed higher up the building.

    Excellent value and fine central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    Non-smoking? Then why did the room smell of smoke?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled badly of smoke. The shower was held together with string and a carrier bag.

    Good sized room and the hotel's in an excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value, friendly staff and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit tired but still good value.

    Had a problem with noisy neighbours from what turned out to be the property next door. I spoke to member of staff whose name was Richard and he couldn't have been more helpful and when he realised the source was next door and out of his control he immediately moved me and my family to another room. Perfect display of Customer Service and without quibble, much appreciated by me and my family. Thank you Richard. All staff really friendly, beds comfy, breakfast freshly cooked, excellent value and very tasty. Excellent city centre position.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Nice comfortable pub accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn't working, so carrying luggage up the three flights of stairs wasn't fun.

    Close to everything in town. Very comfortable rooms. Pretty good for an old pub. The food and service was excellent. Parking was a bit down the road, but doable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Unsuitable for the disabled or older generation, it's a night club not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broken, pillows flat, sheets not fitting correctly, light bulbs blown, beds worn out,showers unclean and required the mould removed, shower rusted , furniture old and worn. Not informed of the problems with lift considering my partner is disabled. Very loud at night as it becomes a nightclub, it's one or the other.

    In town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The position of the property was very convenient for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was ok ish. It was quite tired. The bathroom was damp, had serious black mold on ceiling and walls and was a real turn off.

    The position of the property was very convenient for us. The dining/ bar area was all fine. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park. Decor shabby (nothing like the pictures). On the third floor, and the lift didn't work. Small uncomfortable bed. Noisy at night, as it has a nightclub.

    Good central location. Breakfast included in price and nice. Good free wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall, not bad for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a disco-pub on the ground floor, with doors in the back that leads to what seems like a beer garden. Thing is, the noise from both the pub and the tables outside can be most definitely heard while you're in your bed and trying to sleep (to be fair, they know, and earplugs are available in the room - but it may not be ideal for everybody). It may be different in different rooms. Bathroom note #1: the old-style separate hot/cold water taps in the washbasin are a thing of the past and should go. Really. Bathroom note #2: the shower was all right, though water took its own time to go down the drain, which means I had to stand in a couple of inches of water while showering.

    Breakfast was good (mushrooms and sausage especially). Also, the croissants were very.. butter-y, but in a good way. Also, the complimentary biscuits in the room were better than average.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel very accessible and the breakfast included in the price was great. Would highly recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    4.2
    Don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty, soap scum and mould on the showers, toothpaste stains on the bathroom vanity. The beds were not made which we thought was very odd, it looked like they had been slept in and then thrown back together. The beds were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was okay but we had croissants and the were completely dough in the middle. Overall very unimpressive and not at all worth the price. Avoid and go somewhere else.

    The location was good and the parking that was close by was free over night (not on site).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    2.9
    AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was falling to pieces the toilet seat kept coming off, the shower tray was not emptying and only one of us could take a shower or risk flooding the bathroom . Our Breakfast was a complete farce we ordered a full English and asked for some of the items to be left off they got this wrong, the Tea was cold from the start. A couple on the next table arrived about 15 minutes after us and their food arrived before ours . I have now read other reviews by people who have stayed there a lot saying the same as me, and the owners have said that they would sort these problems out but they don't seem to care its water off a ducks back. We were glad to get out of there we feel that our experience has really spoiled our opinion of Salisbury and that we would really have think hard about going back there. I believe that Booking.com should not be recommending this Hotel as a place to stay for some people until they get their act together and sort this place out but I wouldn't hold my breath.

    Absolutely nothing we will never be going back to this Hotel! again and would never in a million years recommend it to anybody. they would be better off sleeping on the street. It really is by a long way the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Cathedral Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: