Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Antrim County hotel reviews
  4. Bushmills hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Causeway Hotel

Reviews of Causeway Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

40 Causeway Road, Bushmills, BT57 8SU, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Bushmills

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1397 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.6
    Location and entrance to the giants causeway visitor center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls - we could hear our neighbours clearly through the walls and they were up alllllll night partying

    Location and entrance to the giants causeway visitor center

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    6.7
    The hotel is in the perfect location and that's all you're really paying for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that we weren't told about construction going on next to our room before checking in. It was very disturbing, especially when we returned to the room for a siesta from an early morning excursion. The room didn't retain heat very well. We found it chilly most times. The cleanliness of the room was lacking. We found tooth floss picks on the floor and other rubbish around. The tea set and spoons was sticky as well.

    The breakfast was good and fast and there were plenty of options

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    5.8
    It's a scam for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We don't like the staff at the arrival: impersonal.Any explication.They are there only to receive the paiement. The sea view is a scam. The price: to expansive the staff when we go out: 😭

    The staff attention during the diner and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    9.2
    a good value stay in a nice clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on two particularly windy nights and at times the noise from the roof made you think it was going to come away.

    It was nice to have a terrace to walk onto(for smokers) although a wee table and chairs would have been a bonus.A number of different options at breakfast other than a fry was very nice to see.Also staying at the hotel meant we had free entry to the visitors centre(£11.50 each).There is a path around the property with good views of the surrounding cliffs

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    none

    Location was extremely convenient to the Giant Causeway & other attractions at Bushmills. Rooms were well appointed, large & clean. Food in the restaurant was very delicious.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    exceeded my expectations , well worth a stopover here after a day of sightseeing and travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great property run by the national trust . Comfortable and spacious rooms. stunning location , great value for money . old world style . great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist wasn't particularly friendly on our arrival, especially given we were cold and wet having just been caught in a downpour at the causeway. Plus the drinks in the bar were very expensive - £18 for two double spirits and mixers - which put us off using these facilities.

    Beautiful hotel, very spacious and comfortable bedroom with great views and excellent facilities. Good value for money, including a full Irish breakfast, which was delicious. Brilliant location and free access to the Giant's Causeway for hotel guests, which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Not just for Giants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect Location. Friendly Staff. Great Food and Service. Comfortable and Clean Rooms. Good value for money. Spectacular Landscape. Best in the World!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Last minute stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing 😊

    The room was spotless, the breakfast was lovely as were the staff. Very helpful and friendly. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Excellent location,service and views from room 28.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location,service and views from room 28. Excellent service- they packed us a delicious breakfast to go for a real early departure. Comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    7.5
    Relaxed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would always be nice to have free range and organic meat on offer.

    My room was comfortable and quiet, staff friendly and unobtrusive,location beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    8.3
    It was an overall great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How open the terrace felt, it didn't affect our stay but I would have the curtains closed all day if I had stayed longer.

    Bed was extremely comfortable and the food was delicious both for Dinner and breakfast. The staff were so friendly and they were obviously doing a number of jobs and juggled them really well.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Female wine waiter has no idea how to serve. Only black spot to a lovely hotel.

    Great staff, spacious room, quality meals, reasonably priced. Complimentary entery to Giants Causeway appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Comfortable hotel convenient to the Giants Causeway and Bushmills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a charming old hotel that has been modernized fairly recently but still has its Victorian character. Our en-suite rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, breakfast was great and we had a very good evening meal. Big bonus is that the £11 entrance fee per person to the Giant's Causeway is included in the price of the room - we paid £90 for one night, so a worthwhile saving.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Very pleased. I already recommended to my family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Walking distance to the Giants Causeway visitor center. Stay comes with a free entrance to the visitor center. Breakfast and dinner was excellent

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.9
    Loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi-Fi is terrible. Not anywhere near the 'crucial requirement' to load a social media feed, let alone to try and do business on. Had reserved a room with terrace, didn't get it but was given 2 complimentary drinks during dinner. The walls are thin. We had to seek out a plug for our tub, it was found in a timely manner. During breakfast there was a large bug found in my grapes and when brought to their attention I was told they were very sorry and the reason for that is because grapes grow on bushes... I feel that they should have washed them off before setting them out on the continental buffet table. My stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated.

    Loved the location! Serving staff was friendly. Irish coffee with Bushmills was delicious. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    10
    Newly decorated bedroom, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have done with an open fire in the bar area

    Newly decorated bedroom, very comfortable. Food was all good. Public areas of hotel very pleasant. Wonderful view from our bedroom

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    6.7
    Causeway Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception and manager at arrival time has no clue of what customer service is all about.

    Beautiful location, the property is gorgeous, however our bathroom has mildew and spider web.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    Relaxing winter break in a lovely hotel situated in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was warm, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous, with generous portions and the staff were extremely friendly, professional and polite.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.3
    walking and blowing the cobwebs away excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the music system in the relaxing area needs to be replaced it was dreadful

    we had to be moved as our room was freezing. Staff were very quick to sort out another room which was perfect. Meals taken at the hotel were of a good standard not gourmet but tasty and ample. Location is absolutely fantastic

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    A great place to stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more seating in the bar area would be good as there is no alternative if this is full

    Really clean comfortable room, the food was excellent and the staff really friendly

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was great, carpet in bedroom was lush and luxurious. Bar / lounge area was wonderfully comfortable and welcoming. Staff were lovely!!! Thank you! Got free entry for two to giants causeway included with our stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    Hotel was very comfortable friendly 😊the food was excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had asked for late check-out, but wasn't available, iron didn't work.

    Hotel was very comfortable friendly 😊the food was excellent very accommodating with anything we asked for. Very happy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    Very nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Amazing value for money and you get free entrance to Giant's Causeway. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    Our stay at The Causeway was simply perfect. Very smooth check-in and the room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms here were lovely and spacious, and you can't get a better location for visiting Giant's Causeway! My boyfriend and I walked to the Causeway before the Visitor's Centre opened, and we were the only one's there! Better yet, it's only about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    6.7
    National Trust hotel - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in the bathroom was broken - allowing a massive draft into the room.

    The location beside the Causeway is amazing. You can to the causeway early in the morning before the crowds arrive.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    9.6
    Great hotel, wonderful views, perfect for visiting the Causeway, lovely food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location was perfect, great views and close to the Causeway. Breakfast and dinner were tasty, the bar was cosy and the staff were friendly and helpful. Having the cost of the room include the Giants Causeway entrance fee and breakfast was a real bonus.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.9
    Cosy beds and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At £25 an hour for late check-outs was extortionate and £10 per tray room service. Absolutely no need for those prices! Also the shower was cold water.

    Cosy beds and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    Absolutely amazing huge thanks to Alex and Robyn as they made our night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV in the bar but that's the point of a quiet getaway to get away

    The staff were more than helpful, and frieldly from Alex in the bar to the night porter Robyn. Easily one of the most relaxing hotel visits in the last 18 months. Food was amazing and a great selection. I cannot fault the hotel. And an added bonus is free entry to the causeway

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Too short a stay in lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather

    Room 28 is the best room in the hotel. Loved the spacious room and comfortable bed with its fabulous views over the Atlantic. The food is delicious and the staff are wonderful The dining room is run with military precision! Excellent service, can't praise it highly enough

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.8
    It is right beside the giants causeway so would be ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My fiancé wanted to watch the football but we had to travel to another bar to watch it as there was no sport shown in the hotel bar.

    It is right beside the giants causeway so would be ideal for someone travelling there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Best Hotel staff anyone could ask for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge was a lovely girl who tried her hardest to make our stay the best one, we asked how much it would be for a late checkout as we wanted to bask in the ambiance a little longer and she gave us a later checkout at no cost. Our room was a triple with a terrace, as a young couple we wanted to make use of all the amenities - the bar, where the staff again made our evening that little bit more pleasant. As our breakfast was included we expected cereal and toast, but we were given an amazing full English breakfast. The hotel is in a prime location with spectacular views, would highly recommend to anyone and everyone considering staying here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a bigger choice of draft beers, and they should consider double glazing, but we had a excellent break. Will be recommending the hotel to all our friends.

    It was lovely to spend a great few days in a great old fashioned hotel. Will be back very shortly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.3
    Causeway tine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant food was ‘ok’ the first night but the second night was better I had steak the second night... much better than the pork.

    The hotel is an older historic building that we enjoyed staying in. The room was comfortable... not luxurious, however quite fine for us. The staff were lovely. Really enjoyed our time there. Super close to the causeway and most things around the area were easy to access. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    The style and comfort of the hotel was perfect rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location food was excellent and staff were brilliant most definitely go back

    The style and comfort of the hotel was perfect rooms spacious and beds so comfortable

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though the breakfast was of an excellent standard I believe that more emphasis should be placed on the usage of local ingredients and if local ingredients are used then attention should be drawn to that fact. For example, if Bushmills whiskey is used in the whiskey cream for the porridge then that should be mentioned. We regularly stay in Hastings hotels and great emphasis is placed on how they use local ingredients where possible and information is supplied about each of the local ingredients used eg Irwins bread ,Clandeboye yoghurt. This, I feel. would appeal to tourists especially those from abroad.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful bedroom. Breakfast was of a high standard . Perfect location. Free entrance into the visitors' centre was an added bonus though we are already National Trust members.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.6
    Really relaxing and staff was great 👍🤠🍷🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that I notice which is really picky the fan in the bathroom of room 19 was very dirty . But other wise it was great thanks we had a really relaxing time from Australia 🤠🍷🇦🇺🇦🇺🇦🇺

    The staff the room the food were great the Giant Causeway walk was great and staying at the hotel you could take your time and see everything. The cost of hotel was fair cose the Giant Causeway was included thank a mil 🇦🇺🇦🇺💕🤠🍷

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.8
    Loved the character of this hotel. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit cramped. "Sea View" looked over car park with sea beyond. Coach that parked could see into room. What good is a view if you have to close the curtains :)

    Lovely character hotel with warm hospitable feel. Very comfortable. Food was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Amazingly good food in the bar and in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My ONLY criticism which is minor was the wine selection was limited and not very exciting.

    Amazingly good food in the bar and in the restaurant. I did not expect such high quality given the very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant menu should specify what dishes contain nuts. Whilst im not allergic, I was disappointed to learn the Brownie contained nuts as I dont like them. I had to signal a staff member to find this out. However I wasnt told what specific nut was in the brownie so I felt as though the staff member may have just been saying that to avoid an allergy situation. Could have been dealt with better.

    Christmas decorations were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.3
    Nice place to stay @ Giant's Causeway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could be updated a bit.

    This is a historic hotel and the rooms were fine. You're right next to the Causeway so that's great. You're going there more for the Causeway and need to travel to get to anything else in the area. Staff is super friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Staff were friendly, helpful and very willing to give advice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly, helpful and very willing to give advice and directions to anything . Staying in the hotel gave free access to the causeway for 5ge entire time we stayed .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To have had breakfast time later on new years day. Maybe some entertainment in new years eve. Piper was above touch.

    Room was excellent Food was very good Staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Relaxing ..chill out time !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No major negatives for us but stairs could be problem for some .

    The staff were outstanding and couldn’t do enough to meet individual needs. The hotel has a quaint and welcoming atmosphere and our room was fantastic in size /comfort and had a balcony which overlooked spectral scenery . Food was superb breakfast /evening meals ..and all reasonably priced .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Excellent location and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheets in our room were unclean but the staff were extremely helpful and brought up a new set immediately.

    Location was great and the place was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The food served in the restaurant was excellent and the bar was top class. The rooms appeared to have been recently updated and looked amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    Absolutely beautiful, perfect romantic getaway!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little cold, during the night when in bed it’s fine but moving around the room out of bed it was a little chilly. However as Australians we aren’t familiar with the heating systems so it could very well have been able to be adjusted.

    The hotel was exactly what I pictured for a romantic getaway. The room was beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. I loved the amount of pillows so no need to request more (which I always have to do everywhere else we’ve stayed) Traveling from Australia during Christmas time we felt right at home in the comfortable cosy spaces of the causeway hotel and I would recommend it to anyone at anytime. We loved the close proximity to the local attractions as well as free entry into the causeway which was a bonus we were not aware of and added value to the whole experience!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect.

    The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas. one of the best atmospheres i have had in a hotel the staff were so lovely, in particular the lady who served us dinner and breakfast, she really made the hotel feel like a home from home.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, Giant Causeway entrance (visitors centre)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room temperature regulation did not seem to work.

    Great breakfast, Giant Causeway entrance (visitors centre) included. Large parking included, overall modern room. The heaters actually worked (not a rule in the Ireland).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel for visiting Giants Causeway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is needing some updates! They were working on some rooms while we were there!

    Great location! Loved the cozy dining areas for dinner! Very comfy and good food too! The room was large and comfortable, but wished they had larger beds! Staff was very friendly and helpful! The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas! Admission to Giants Causeway was included in the reservation! 😊 Got up early and had the place to ourselves! Also short distance to Bushmills distillery!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    Location - fantastic access to Giant’s Causeway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Like returning to the 1970s - dinner poor quality; asking for an espresso with my breakfast subject of an HM Bateman cartoon!

    Location - fantastic access to Giant’s Causeway

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.3
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs to be repaired a little, in the bathroom on the ceiling was a fungus. Probably because of the wet climate.

    Excellent location with beautiful ocean views. Quiet place. Just near Giant's causeway. Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its extremely windy along the coast and there was some weird banging noise outside our room all night. Like slates hitting on the roof or furniture moving. Don’t know what was causing it but it meant v little sleep. Shame as overall the hotel is lovely.

    Lovely hotel. Great staff. Very helpful. Christmas feel to the place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.9
    The very pleasant staff made our stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no lift and the hotel overall didn't seem to cater for persons with disabilities.

    Very helpful, friendly staff . The food was excellent, especially the breakfast. Found the bath very difficult to get in and out of and would be totally unsuitable for a less mobile person.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel perfect location and every one of the staff that I met were so warm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thing I did not like was that we only had 2 nights at the hotel.

    My partner and I had 2 nights at the hotel. The first night I was late to the hotel because of work but my partner had spoken with the staff about arranging a late dinner for me. (10.00pm) They had made a fresh batch of irish stew and a huge platter of sandwiches for me to pick from. I felt like a king. As for the breakfast WOW.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Amazing. I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were so pleasant, friendly and helpful with taxis. Staff (Lauren) going above and beyond to help get my parcel sent to me after I left it behind. Such a comfortable stay. The rooms were fab. Greeted with mini cakes for my birthday and free wine at dinner. Such a great stay I will be back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little awkward to move around size and layout-wise. Room a little cold, found heating tricky to work.

    Staff were friendly and down to earth. Breakfast was excellent. Décor was nice and Christmassy. Lovely location. Room comfy and well-equipped. Nice to get pass for Giant's Causeway included in stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.2
    Winter overnight on Causeway coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was lovely, very big, very clean, great bathroom but the radiator was a little too small for real cosy warmth on a November night...

    The staff were great, very helpful, efficient and friendly. Food very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    really enjoyed the traditional hotel and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms a little dated and were clean but not spotless.

    Hotel is beautiful, location second to none. Staff very friendly and helpful. Scones in hotel bar in afternoon fantastic. Hot breakfast served to table excellent Traditional decor in main hotel, dining room and bar amazing Cant wait to return

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable value for money, food good but more could be done for extra comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark in dining room Draughty in dining room Lighted fire in lounge would have been inviting Sea view from room 12 limited, more side view for proper description.

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, beautiful view and lovely accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything.

    We loved everything about this hotel. Beautiful historical interior and our room. Great dinner in the restaurant and the free breakfast was delicious. Our view out our window was of the Causeway, which was so pretty. We walked out the door and hiked the causeway. Bonus is that with the very reasonable cost of the room, we also had free parking, free hot breakfast and free entry to the causeway which is right next to the property, so you walk.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Amazing location and fantastic value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was instant. Other than that - everything was superb.

    Beautiful room, very clean and amazing location. Great breakfast and staff were lovely. Also got free entry to Giants Causeway. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    We were pleasantly surprised by the close proximity yo the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rainy so the views weren't as spectacular as they could have been from the hotel but you get what you get and it was still wonderful

    We were pleasantly surprised by the close proximity yo the Causeway entrance and there was a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.2
    Location fabulous for giants causeway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we chose had a view of a another wall from the window- but it didn’t matter as we were out all day!

    Location fabulous for giants causeway. See views from the front of the hotel. A £5 taxi ride to center of Bushmill’s for restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.8
    We had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiter responsible for the wine did not behave very nicely. We had got a wine which was definitely not worth drinking and we therefore told them that we would not going to drink it, and told that it was up to them to decide if they still wanted us to pay for it - either partly or fully. Rather than taking this as an advice that the wine not a wine to serve at such a good place, he seemed to be upset even despite we paid the full price for the wine. Later when I ordered a beer at the bar and he was the one serving it then look at me and said (probably because not drinking the wine): "You seem to be a bit picky tonight", which I felt was very inappropriate to tell a client. However, others at the hotel, like Francis, were very helpful, so this inproper behaviour from one person definitely did by no means destroy a feeling of a good experience staying at Causeway Hotel.

    The location of the hotel is just great, And we got the best room in the whole hotel, which we did not expect taking into consideration what we had paid. The room was however, cold when we arrived, but Francis, the one responsible for the rooms was extremely service-minded and helpful, and us a separate transportable heater. Later Francis helped tracing my Lonely Planet book, which I had left somewhere when going back to the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Such a gorgeous building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only stairs for taking up luggage but the staff were fantastic and delivered our bags to our room. Parking is outdoor so you’re pretty much guaranteed of getting wet and cold getting out of your car. But that comes with the location being on The Causeway Coast. So that’s ok just to get to see the scenery

    Such a gorgeous building. Lovely room. So warm and comfy. Great dining experience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great except the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was not great unfortunately. Also took about 4 hours to get towels, they forgot to leave any in the room.

    The location to the Giants Causeway was amazing. The bed was very comfortable and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.0
    Lovely hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Informed staff as we departed of the rowdy people who came in at 12.45am and made a lot of noise as they talked aloud in the corridor and in their rooms afterwards. No apology or even any interest shown

    Lovely hotel and location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    This was our third visit and will definitely come back. Love the location and the staff very friendl
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar lacked atmosphere and was very quiet for a Saturday night. Two of us were drinking cointreau but bar only had enough for two drinks.

    Lovely hot breakfast. Good selection.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay off season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very large room overlooking the sea. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed a relaxing stay. The hotel is extremely convenient for walks along the coast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Bed was extremely comfortable, hotel lovely and warm, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an old hotel which could do with some updating. Bathroom grout and seals in need of a good scrub. Our bathroom was quite small and toilet extremely close to the wall. Also most rooms have a beautiful view of the sea, ours was at the back of the hotel so we could see the kitchens! Not sure if any other rooms don't have a view but I'm sure they are charged at the same rate! I did see into another room and it was much bigger and had an amazing view! Maybe consider charging less for room 5 or just don't use it at all!

    Bed was extremely comfortable, hotel lovely and warm, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the evening dinning room was very bright. Softer lighting would improve the atmosphere.

    It is beside the giants causeway and was very interesting.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    One of my favourite stays in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stunning rooms and amazing scenery. Just perfect. Shame we were only staying for a night on our tour of Ireland as it was so relaxing and great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.2
    There s no better place near the Giant Causeway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn't like of this hotel was the food: very little choice and all food very fat and greasy. Also they stopped serving dinner at 20.30 ...the first night we almost missed it which would have been very bad considering there are no other restaurants in the area (wiht either good reviews or open in autumn). The only other thing we didn't like was the fan in the bathroom was so noisy that we had to have a bath ....in the dark !

    Location is perfect for coastal walks and access to the Giant Causeway. We had a family room which was very large and comfortable and value for money. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The decor is maybe a little dated but the room had everything we needed for our stay. The room was very quiet and it had a nice little balcony from where we couldsee the coast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Really good visit, excellent location. Food was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was on low on arrival and it took a while to get the room to a warm temperature

    Myself and Kate really enjoyed our trip to this hotel. The location is excellent and the free entry to the causeway was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.8
    The barman was very good as were the reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dining experience was poor. Service slow food not the best. The hotel seemed overpriced. It appears to be living on past reputation

    The barman was very good as were the reception staff. Picturesque location.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Causeway Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery