Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cavendish Hotel 4 stars

Baslow, Baslow, DE45 1SP, United Kingdom

#5 of 10 hotels in Baslow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    An excellent stay except for the dinners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinners in the Gallery Restaurant were a disappointment. The food was beautifully cooked but the portions were meagre.

    It was an excellent stay apart from the dinner in the Gallery Restaurant. The Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.0
    The welcome after a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we were residents of the hotel, it was difficult to get our chosen dining time on the Saturday evening.

    The welcome after a long journey. Hotel was very comfortable especially bedrooms and sitting areas. Quality of food and service was excellent and better than expected .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced, breakfast a whopping £40 extra plus an enforced 5% service on everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of staff but not always available when you wanted them, othertines trying alittle too hard to engage in conversation Difficult to explain but having spent our previous night at the Lowry where the staff appeared to be seen and not heard but completely attentive this hotel did seem a bit too 'forced' and not naturally friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with amazing views and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dinner was superb, the room was excellent and the staff helped make our, very brief, stay one that we will remember for a long time. They even provided sunshine in September so we could enjoy a walk straight from the hotel across the fields to the Chatsworth estate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay and would definitely choose this hotel again to stay at next time I visit the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request a table of 4 at breakfast near the windows, all tables were only set for 2

    The staff were very helpful and looked after us really well...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.0
    Lovely hotel, great spot, pretty and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing - they kept running out of things on the cold buffet. On our first day the toast arrived after our cooked breakfast . Dinner in the restaurant was very expensive so we ate out every evening

    The views and the building were lovely. The receptionists were very helpful. Our room was very pretty and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable standard double room with fridge and generous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Comfortable standard double room with fridge and generous tea/coffee/milk/biscuits in room on arrival and beautiful view of Derbyshire countryside

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Our room was delightful, the food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the evenings a little quiet. We asked if there was a pack of playing cards but there was not. A chess board or other board game would have been fun.

    Our room was delightful, the food was delicious. One of the evenings we ate at the kitchen table which was a great experience. We would defiantly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    I think just to say "the whole experience was, in our opinion as good as it gets - thank you"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tough call - nothing that comes to mind.

    From arrival to departure excellent service. Both dinner and breakfast really first class. The staff we encountered were all very courteous - very professional without being obvious. Just a pity it was only one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was nor impressed by 5% service charge on final bill. Full English breakfast was mediocre and certainly not worth £23

    Wonderful room. Good location for walking to Chatsworth. Good food and beverage menu.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel breakfast was expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for coffee after dinner which we had in the bar/lounge area the waiter brought petit fours which we hadn't asked for but found we were charged for them on the bill. Could do with some where to hang outdoor clothes especially when wet. The breakfast was over priced. The pillows were too flat.

    The Staff were so friendly. The hotel was in a great location one day we walked to Chatsworth on a path through the park. The room had lovely views towards Chatsworth it was quiet and very comfotable We had dinner in the restaurant my husband ordered the Lamb, he said it was the the best lamb he had ever tasted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Our stay in Cavendish Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing but when housekeeping cleaned our room they left empty water bottles and didn’t take the old empty loo roll out of holder in bathroom !!

    Beautiful location , room , staff and food . Staff were really friendly and everything worked really well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable,relaxed,quiet. Lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to continue to stay there but are soon getting a Labrador and no facilities for dogs. Appreciate why no dogs rule but such a lovely area for walks seems a shame. Is there anyone in Baslow that the hotel knows of and could recommend ?

    Very comfortable hotel with great furniture and décor. Not at all pretentious just relaxed and welcoming. Gorgeous views and lovely walk to Chatsworth which is partly why we stay there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Truly perfect short stay, wish we had been able to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The welcome, the room, the food, the staff, the location, everything was perfect! Loved the fact that stunning walks are literally outside the door!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Everything we wished for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was the WiFi in the room a bit hit and miss.

    Couldn't fault anything Room excellent. View from room beautiful. Food fantastic. Staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small for the price we paid- it seemed over priced.

    Very friendly staff- very professional and accommodating. The dinner was excellent and the public parts of the hotel were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Whenever we feel like a peaceful, “get away from it all”...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is’nt anything not to like about this hotel. We love it.

    Whenever we feel like a peaceful, “get away from it all” weekend, we stay at the Cavendish. Lovely staff, lovely food, stunning environment. This weekend was my husband’s birthday so I thought I would surprise him. I reserved a superior room that was more like a junior suite with a four poster bed and a full view of the Chatsworth Estate. My husband was over the moon and said I could not have given him a better present. We had an exquisite dinner in the beautiful dining room where the staff could not have been more attentive. Full English breakfast prepared us for our thirty minute walk over to the “House” which is well worth a visit. We have been there before but now the renovations are almost finished, it is probably the best country pile in England.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Fair value for money and clean comfortable hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room so warm at night, food in the Garden Room was ordinary. Parking generally not easy despite their being a couple of car parks on the site but both were small.

    Great location, great views over the local area, could walk to Chatsworth House, good facilities and very clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Room well equipped generally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Wouldnt return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth £266.00 for the night, think breakfast should have been included in this. There was no facility to pre order breakfast to your room. The room service stated 24 hours but all that was available was sandwiches which when they came weren't worth money paid for and one didn't have on it what was on the menu. I feel like the stay was a complete waste of money, it was a birthday treat away and would have go a better service at a premier inn,

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Super quality of decor , fabrics, pictures, cutlery ,...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a super continental breakfast in hot weather , sadly no true continental breakfast, cold meats and cheeses etc missing , very limited baked goods, rolls and pastries, disappointing £9.95. Very poor bread for toasting. Really forced you towards a full cooked breakfast, nice quality well cooked and served through out, oh dear a further £10 £40 for a satisfactory but ordinary breakfast for two seemed excessive on top of the standard room rate.

    Super quality of decor , fabrics, pictures, cutlery , glassware , fittings. Faultless friendly staff,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Cavendish Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Great staff. Friendly and attentive without being over the top. Food in gallery restaurant was excellent. Enjoyable stay for husband's birthday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is lovely, very cozy and our room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main lounge is in dire need of modernisation. It is not only old fashioned, which would be fine, but it is old looking, which it’s a shame to the overall feel of the hotel.

    The hotel is lovely, very cozy and our room was great. Our room was quiet, with great views, very clean, nice bathroom and very comfy beds. The staff is nice, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely, very relaxing in beautiful surroundings. l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pillows. I suggest better quality and more luxurious ones. Having to pay extra for breakfast.

    The location, the serene outlook, the quality of the food, our very attractive room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Apart from the housekeeping faux pas in the bathroom the hotel was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paper tissue box had only one leaf in it so I had to make do with the pieces of loo roll.

    The superb view from the lovely spacious bedroom with its very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very attentive, friendly and professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the quality and presentation of the food were superb, dinner portions were at the “fine dining” level. Personally, we could have eaten a lot more. However, this is a very minor (and qualified) negative and it is very much outweighed by all else that the hotel provides.

    Very attentive, friendly and professional staff Lovely art works and furniture Great “rural” sense about the place Excellent food Really comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, well placed for visiting Chatsworth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs are difficult as I'm using a crutch at the moment. Slow service in the bar before dinner - literally no-one serving behind the bar when we arrived.

    Lovely room, very comfortable. Nice lounge, good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    The perfect escape from the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the bed (especially after long hikes), the view from the room and the breakfast. Poppy was extremely welcoming and friendly. We’ll be back for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thé bed is ok to slleep on but why siuch an heavy structure that is tasteless and moreover prevents you to watch tv..

    Buffet breakfast simple and generous as we like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, delicious food and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our daughters' room wasn't as clean as ours with some items left in a drawer from a previous guest. On each night we were asked if we had finished with the bar by 10.30 which was fine but we felt it was a little early maybe.

    We have stayed at the Cavendish before and always love our experience. The view from the hotel is glorious and we always enjoy the walk to Chatsworth. The hotel staff are very helpful and attentive and the individually decorated rooms enhances the personal touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Good, but could have, with catering care, been excellent.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have already said. This is our third or fourth stay here, and the food seems to have deteriorated.

    This is a very comfortable place, but the food is not up to the standard of the hotel. For instance, Caesar salad. Salad unimaginative, and lettuce not varied and too large. No dressing, no croutons, no anchovies, and pieces of chicken too large. Chips too large and not cooked in the middle. French fries are much more appetizing and look better. Very little imagination taken with presentation, in spite of having excellent ingredients. Service slow and sloppy, and staff pleasant, but unsupervised. Toast in a.m. too thick and often over/underdone. Fruit salad sweetened, but juice not flavoured. More care is taken with the food in the local public houses, than here, where it is twice/three times as expensive. Very little warmth and imagination being displayed, in what is otherwise a very well-equipped and comfortable place. Needs a good senior manager.I have already said

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic and the breakfast was to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one complaint that needs to be sorted out. We stayed in Room No.2 and first thing in the morning we woke to the sound of water pump switching on and off and making quite a racket. Put a variable speed drive pump in that is super quiet so your guests are not disturbed.

    Amazing setting, staff are excellent, service super, food great...will certainly be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Luxury and tranquil stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea is amazing and very comfortable beds. The staff were great, attentive and not over bearing like you find in some hotels. Great views of the country, amazing lunch menu!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In order to charge £235 per room excluding breakfast, which was a staggering £40/head, you would expect a room from which you wouldn’t be able to hear every cough and splutter of the person in the accompanying room. Five star prices require five star service, otherwise guests expectations are too high. Check in was ok, but the same receptionist who had checked us in earlier didn’t recognise us three hours later when we returned from dinner. It was 10.30 pm and I asked if we could take a drink in the bar. To which she asked if we were resident. It was 10.30 and she had shown us to our room a few hours earlier. The bar was resemblant of an elderly people’s day lounge and felt stuffy and old fashioned. The breakfast was disappointing. Served until 12 pm, we wandered down at 11am, to be told the dining room had closed, and we had to sit in the conservatory instead. No particular issue except the buffet wasn’t offered and neither of us knew it was available. My scrambled egg and smoked salmon was barely warm and offered one small piece of salmon. Toast took forever to arrive, tomato sauce arrived after my husband had finished his breakfast, the orange juice didn’t arrive at all and no further coffee was offered. On the whole a very disheartening experience for the whopping £40 charged. Whilst the room was comfortable and bathroom well appointed, this hotel isn’t worth what they charge and what they think it is worth. A connection to the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire doesn’t warrant an extra £50 on the ticket price. They really need to up their game if that’s the price tag they think it warrants. A receptionist who remembers faces if not names, walls thicker than paper and a breakfast which has the quality and service to reflect the price are minimum requirements for the hefty £285 / night charged. A disappointing anniversary for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    All the staff couldn’t do enough for us... all very pleasant and caring . Great place to stay for castleton and the mam tor next time we will visit Chatsworth time just ran out .our room was 18 beautiful room with two widows . A bit of a trek with suite cases but was perfect for us away from the hustle and bustle .i think our bar bill breakfast and Evening meals came to more than the hotel accommodation 🙈😂🤣 But it was well worth it to get away and forget about every day commitments .Will defiantly come back .loved everything about the place .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were friendly yet professional nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was fabulous a quiet and relaxing place to stay with beautiful scenery. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    even though we are well retired we enjoyed our Valentine's celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one cannot improve on such high standards.a lot to live up to!

    the whole experience was excellent. will look to go again in the autumn. we were made to feel most welcome and special. nothing was too much effort! the Cavendish extols the beauty of Derbyshire.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and safe and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    squeaky floorboards .so the guests up above were making it difficult to sleep as i was in a downstairs room . Food i thought was too expensive so i didnt dine so couldnt comment on the quality of the food. Bar area was comfy with nice homely fires and relaxing sofas and chairs.

    Bathrobes and towels were of exceptional quality and so clean and fluffy and of a generous size and quantity.Also the bathroom toiletries were simply luxurious and too very plentiful.Bath tub was roomy and a nice depth with adequate handrails and a bathmat to put in the bath if required for added safety.The shower was generous and powerful if required.The beds were of a nice height and very comfy ,the pillows were good quality as was the bedding ,crisp comfy and clean. Had to re arrange the bed to watch TV in bed ,also the remote wouldnt turn the TV on or off,so i had to get out of bed to turn TV off.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic, relaxing, pampered weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect for my husbands 40th

    The service was superb, the food was delicious both in the Gallery restaurant and the Garden room, and the bedroom was beautiful. It was my husband's 40th and a note with some chocolates were left in our room. Lovely touch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could do with new carpets. Seemed dusty in general. Bar needs a make over, very dull.

    Rooms comfortable, great breakfast, perfect location for Chatsworth House

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Excellent stay didn't want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All perfect

    The staff are outstanding, polite and nothing is too much trouble. The decor and location is excellent and the food in the restaurant was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Fab u lous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included . Also eating at the hotel was too expensive.

    Absolutely lovely. Friendly service. Would have been better if breakfast included.otherwise faultless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the hotel was overpriced for what it offered - probably by 25%. I accept Booking.com clients don’t get the biggest rooms but I explained I had tried to book on the hotel site direct and been routed back to booking.com - thereby missing out on the inclusive deal price. Nonetheless the room rate and the evening meal (although very good) were on the top end. They have to be careful. There’s a lot of competition out there and better deals are around. Especially on a Sunday-Monday deal.

    Great location, lovely staff and good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Our stay spoilt by overcharging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pamphlets on restaurant tables showing we had been charged over £120 more by booking with Booking.com rather than their own website within the same offer period. When we consulted staff we were given no comeback or offer of a reduction or breakfast included. Not good customer service. We book all round the world on booking.com and we wouldn't have known about The Cavendish had it not been for booking.coms website so the pricing should be sorted out by the hotel on this site.

    Room small but with lovely views over the estate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Really loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know there was a dress code for the main restaurant and was unable to dine in there as only had jeans with us.

    What a fab little hotel. Staff are lovely and friendly. It's very clean. The food was lovely and the location and setting was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel. Not cheap. Staff lovely. Let down by a few little items missing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of the hotel is quite high. I would therefore have expected the usual condiments in the bathroom - shower cap (yes, it can be very useful, not only for showering!), sewing kit etc etc. We have a disabled blue badge on our car but the hotel weren't willing to reserve a space by the front door. We were told spaces were on a first come first served basis - difficult when there are only 4 spaces beside the front door and the rest are down a slope from the main entrance. Some of the rooms in the Devonshire Wing don't have very good views - side on into other bedrooms. Only two rooms in the hotel can be made up with twin beds. All the other rooms are doubles only. Room 15 - one of the twin rooms, doesn't have a very good view.

    Staff were very helpful. There are porters to help with luggage. Restaurant staff are lovely. Breakfast buffet very extensive. Cooked is an expensive add on @ nearly £20ph Hotel is in a beautiful situation, with lovely views. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the fields at the back. Fresh milk in the fridge in the room is great. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Very charming hotel. Good breakfast, beautiful location. We would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly noisy loo flush, but it didn't spoil our stay

    Very comfortable room. Tastefully decorated, with a beautiful view of the countryside. The bathroom was modern, with a heated floor, and fluffy white towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    sheer indulgent relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I had a fantastic weekend

    The hotel excels in everything it does .The staff are attentive ,courteous and efficient . Nothing is too much trouble for them and every detail attended to. Despite the fact the hotel was busy on the Saturday you wouldn't have known as they went about their business with such apparent ease .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful, staff could not do enough for you, very professional yet friendly. Breakfast was delicious. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was apparently near the boiler.. which when it came on at 4.30am was very loud and we were unable to sleep for the rest of the night. Contacted the night manager twice and was told nothing could be done. Terrible nights sleep and spoilt our one quiet night away. Receptionist apologised but unfortunately am now £200+ down and a ruined weekend. Such a shame as room was really lovely. No breakfast included either so overall don't feel was value for money wouldn't stay again or reccomend.

    Hotel was lovely and room very spacious and light! Fab location and pubs and restaurants in walking distance were all lovely we had a great meal in the Devonshire arms pub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast order very rushed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast order very rushed. We were asked if we wanted tea, coffee, toast before we even sat down. Tea and toast arrived just as I was starting to eat some fresh fruit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay super meal spoiled by lack of attention to detail in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tap operating the filling of the bath and shower did not work correctly, I complained but a hotel of this standard should not let rooms with faults, the staff servicing the room must have known.

    Tasteful decoration,comfortable bed, pleasant friendly service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable break from Autumn gales!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and especially bathroom far too hot ! Choosing a light evening meal after a heavy lunch, we were disappointed that the chef’s excellence did not extend to staple dishes. Visiting from France we did not expect our baked Camembert to be served so undercooked (tepid at best - centre uncooked without benefiting from garlic and rosemary flavours.) Rest acceptable but unexceptional.

    Spacious room, excellent bed, abundant hot water, perfect views despite the weather

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Perfect all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms beautifully decorated and clean with all the extras. Great food. Lovely to be able to walk through the field and into the grounds of Chatsworth House. Staff delightful and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Real luxury on edge of Chatsworth estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden room restaurant feels a little cold and not as cosy as rest of hotel

    Wonderful views from rear bedrooms. Great personal service and attention from all the team.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant break and would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home made marmalade was far too runny, tea too strong for us southern softies!

    Bed was beautifully soft, great shower and products/toiletries were lovely. Really liked the added touch of a jug of fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee. Complimentary biscuits were delicious. This hotel seems to add the little extras that the big chains leave out. Can't wait to return again next year. Location is perfect for walkers, very peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Luxury, superb food, comfort away from home. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low level buzzing coming from ceiling near bathroom in bedroom 4, not horrendous but enough to annoy in the silence of the night. Otherwise a perfect stay

    The food in the restaurant was fabulous, the staff are superb just the right amount of attentiveness and very efficient. The cleanliness of the room and the view across to Chatsworth all add to the luxury of the stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Very please staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above If the lawn had been mown closer we could have putted had there been two balls

    The View When turning up At agreed time for dinner We were told a large group had arrived and we were to come back in 10 manutes. We felt insulted

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Love staying here. Looking forward to our next trip there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely position. Handy for pubs and restaurants in Baslow. the views across Chatsworth park are lovely. Staff and service great. We love it here and can't wait to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel - food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No suitable booking time for main restaurant. The garden restaurant had limited choice and my main course was POOR We and another couple complained about it ( deconstructed cassoulet with beans, duck and sausage all cooked separately and laid together. Duck was dry and tasteless. Sausage seemed too rare and pink so I left it) None of the diners there seemed happy.

    Good breakfast ( freshly squeezed orange juice/ delicious croissants/ good porridge/cafetiere coffee) Pleasant bedroom and spacious bathroom Wonderful views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    We went to see the Chatsworth exhibition and to leave problems behind - and we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was superb. The staff really friendly and efficient. The location was just where we wanted it to be - 20 mins walk through the estate to Chatsworth. Little touches in the room were appreciated - lovely biscuits, milk in a jug, quality bathroom products. We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was slow arriving and didn't quite live up to the excellent standards of everythng else. Definitely didn't detract from the overall experience though.

    Location, really friendly staff, comfortable beds. Great cookies in th rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    This is a good hotel to stay at even though it is a little pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe it would serve this hotel better to include breakfasts in the daily rate and not make this additional. Also, to charge guests for a morning paper is not satisfactory to those of us who travel a lot and think of this as complimentary.

    Good location in the Peak District near Chatsworth estate. Staff very helpful with printing off boarding passes and answering questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Could be a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard and very high up, even with library steps my wife struggled to climb into bed. Breakfast over priced, no beans or hash browns. Evening Meal in the Garden restaurant was good but if you wanted a steak. You were told it is not on the menu. My wife cannot have diary products and she was told what she could have from the menu. She was told the Ham eggs and chips were off because of the eggs. Since when did eggs come from a Cow

    staff very friendly. Tea and coffee very good. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location in the Peak District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift difficult for people with a bad knee.

    Pretty hotel in a great location with a great view and easy parking. Breakfast was excellent, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Stunning Chatsworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little stuffy and quite expensive. Although as it is owned by the Chatsworth estate probably should have expected premium price. If you can get any special deals go for it. But we paid full price with breakfast extra and a service charge on top.

    Excellent location, 20 minutes walk from Chatsworth on footpaths across the fields. RHS show Chatsworth very good topped off with a visit to the amazing Chatsworth house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel, perfect for Chatsworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was good but not exceptional; breakfast was functional but expensive - why is breakfast extra?? It should be included in the room rate, which is not cheap anyway. The room was very warm - those openable windows were appreciated big time!

    The staff were super, the room was certainly pleasant enough and everything worked. The shower was very effective and the view from the window was lovely - room 13. I was happy with the standard of comfort and cleanliness and was very pleased to be able to actually open the window - this is a source of immense irritation to me in hotels these days - look, I am perfectly capable of opening a hotel window without falling out of it - one of my hopes for Brexit is that we can open windows in hotels up and down the land with gay abandon. This is a perfect place to stay for visiting Chatsworth and while you are here, go and look at the fantastic bridge over the river down by the church in Baslow village.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Good but not quite a five star experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated bathroom floor that couldn't be controlled from within room. Broken hairdryer (was replaced when requested). Getting blankets took several requests and despite booking dinner at 8 pm they were busy and we had to wait. 40 mins (did though give us complimentary drink and said sorry a lot)It is a very good hotel but for the price it charges it needs to be virtually perfect in my view and it wasn't quite there at least on this visit. We would however return to give it another try.

    Great view nice room easy parking great location. Very helpful porter and staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    A near disaster which in the end was averted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should been able to provide a lot more on the spot information about Chatsworth House: options to get there, risk of queueing, basic map etc.

    creme brulee

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    A Pleasant and Relaxing Break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A quiet bedroom (No 16 Jessica) with a very comfortable four poster bed, good facilities and a lovely view towards Chatsworth House. The Garden Room menu offers a good selection at reasonable prices and the food is very tasty. The Gallery Room offers a more extensive menu. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful. All in all a delightful two night stay and we look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little too soft for us and it was quite warm that evening so had to have the window open, as the fan wasn't working.

    Friendly staff and small boutique hotel. The rooms are quite small but have everything you need. Food at dinner and breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Cooked breakfast was lovely and included in the cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, expensive, average food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable. No iron in room. Food average. Poorly stocked bar. For the money would have expected everything to be top notch.

    Great location, lovely building and room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Stunning hotel - frustrating compulsory surcharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one thing that spoilt an otherwise wonderful hotel was their policy of a compulsory 5% surcharge on the bill for room-only accommodation, applied at the point of payment (I chose to pay at check-in to save time on an early start next morning). The price advertised on Booking.com was therefore intentionally misleading: My room only was not the £149 advertised, but £156.45. If this was an optional "suggested" tip for staff, I could understand, but it's simply a fixed surcharge applied to every bill regardless of services used or the guest's opinion of them. This seemed a particularly strange policy as being charged more than the advertised rate (especially before I had even got to my room) took the edge off an otherwise fantastic stay at a beautiful hotel.

    Really lovely room with stunning views across the Chatsworth Estate

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, not restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. We ate one dinner there and the rest out at wonderful Derbyshire eateries.

    The rooms are exceptional. Heated bathroom floors, teas, coffees, hot chocolate mixes and cookies in the room. Electric outlets galore, great views of green fields, felt-covered doors to ensure quiet. We will be returning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Good over all break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full breakfast was disappointing The bacon was very dry like cardboard under the heat lamp to long I think And I missed the beans when we asked the staff if they served them they said the hotel is to posh for beans 😳😳

    The staff were very helpful & made us feel very welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    It was not clear from the booking form that no breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not clear from the booking form that no breakfast was included, which would be the norm. Full English breakfast was quoted at £18.90 pppn, but there was no mention of Continental breakfast which was another £9.90 pppn. which seems rather excessive.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: