Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Chequers Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

High Street, Maresfield, TN22 2EH, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Maresfield

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 786 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good accommodation, good location, good value. Just staff need to be upgraded!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff looked scruffy...torn jeans on one staff member. Not very amenable.

    Comfy bed, pleasant room. Good breakfast. Easy car parking. Fan provided for hot weather as no aircon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.5
    This hotel had a nice outside area looking across at the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small & hot. No aircon, only a fan. But there was unusually hot weather when we were there

    We loved the setting, nice outdoor area, nice dining room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    The heat wave we are experiencing made the overnight stays quite uncomfortable. The use of a fan blo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing wrong with hotel, just location wise not really what we had planned. Our own fault , should have searched more thoroughly

    Friendly staff, quick to deal with a small problem regarding fan in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant - would definitely stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in the room was tiny, but that was okay, as we didn't watch it!

    Bed was comfortable; we had an evening meal at the hotel, which was excellent; the staff (particularly the assistant manager) were friendly and accommodating and the rhubarb and custard cider was out of this world!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.1
    A very comfortable stay at a friendly hotel. An old historical inn in a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed a freshen up/good deep clean

    Comfortable bed and nicely decorated, if a little tired in the bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful though occasionally not always present/easily found. Food was fine and staff did their best to accommodate specific dietary needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedframe at the bottom was broken. The room was hot - but unusual weather conditions - but was also noisy from the road and kitchen below. The tea/milk was not replenished or the cups washed after our first night - so disappointing when we returned, tired and thirsty and late after our day out.

    The Manager was helpful and attentive. He worked very hard - wearing several hats! - indeed he appeared to be permanently on duty in what appeared to be an understaffed hotel. Couldn't fault him. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.3
    Really nice comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and bath installation in room 12 seems to be an afterthought after the most recent refurbishment ! It was "tucked" right into eaves.

    Excellent room and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good stay for what we paid. Had to cut our stay short due to unforeseen circumstances, but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 coathangers & flickery light in bathroom, but I’m sure it would have been delt with if I had reported it.

    Lovely big room with comfy sofa & food was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.0
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was unbelievably loud music thumping in the pub area - I asked to change rooms, but none was available that was any quite. I asked for the music to be turned down; it wasn't. The music continued until midnight. In the morning I came down to find myself locked in the bar - it took some time for someone to come and unlock the gates. The chef hadn't turned up, many of the advertised breakfast selections were not available. And it was not cheap!Never again.

    Room was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints and have stayed here on a number of occasions.

    The food was fine and plentiful, the room was comfortable and the staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    Ok, good value but would look elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of attention to detail, such as bedside lamps didn't match, no replacement coffee or milk when room was made up. Unfortunately we didn't realise till we woke up the following day! Room 11 very hot, small fan was noisy.

    Lovely quaint bui

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent stay over for Sheffield Park & Bluebell Railway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room in stables on ground floor , could hear everything on floor above

    Staff pleasant & welcoming. Food ok though waited some time for food to come out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, characterful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower only had one control meaning it was difficult to use. Although we asked, we didn't receive any soap during our 2 day stay..

    Wonderful bedroom with original features and a very comfortable, large bed. A lovely view over the church and a good restaurant to have dinner in the evening. Breakfast was good with an extremely varied menu. Plenty of room for parking which is safe and behind the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.1
    A nice place to stay - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room spacious, clean and comfortable but unfortunately we were woken every time the front (fire) door was closed as it seemed to slam shut. You also get a lot of noise from guests walking around their room on the floor above.

    Lovely location and spacious room. Stayed on ground floor in the Coach House annex.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely weekend in Sussex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had wonderful weather but due to a faulty window in the bedroom we couldn't just have it slightly ajar, so room did get rather hot.

    The location was excellent so near many interesting places to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a very friendly and comfortable venue with good food and drink at reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything....

    Very good value for money, especially the food and drink. We had a superior room which I think is always worth the little bit extra to get extra room and comfort. We'd read reports that the staff were not friendly or communicative, but we couldn't find that further from the truth. They were exceptionally helpful, caring and friendly. Thank you to them all.... The outside area and garden was brilliant, especially in the really hot sun we had. New, even nicer, garden furniture arrived during our stay.... So it got even better! Well positioned for visiting the beautiful countryside and places like the National Trust Properties..... Sheffield Park is a must.... But so are the other places. Really handy shop and newsagent is a stone's throw away.... We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    10/10 for price we paid would definitely stay here again if ever in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a fan in room as got very hot at night even with both windows open

    We loved everything from the breakfast cooked freshly for you in morning to the perfectly cooked Filet steak on first night, room was on coach House lovely old room with sloping ceilings and wooden beams lots character, very comfy bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Husband got a badly DLI arm from the towel rail, but otherwise satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at breakfast . No milk no hot water for tea. Went looking for staff, called out eventually had coffee. Enjoyed the bar snack, particularly the sharing platter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Overall good. Definatly value for money. Breakfast quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You cannot open window. Maybe a sheet in cupboard would be a good idea as it does get very hot in room & im a chilly person.

    Have stayed before but forgotten how hot the rooms are & the duvet on bed lovely but too hot however not warn enough to sleep with no covers. Therefor my partner & I were throwing cover on & off all night which makes it seem like there is another person in the middle of the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Really lovely. In a stay of 7 days in various hotels this was my favourite. Efficient and friendly staff, good food and great rooms. Will definitely be back next time I am in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent staff but poor attention to detail from leaders left me disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seemed to lack attention to detail, it was quite clean but not really clean. The rooms were quite well equipped but obvious things were missing, lamps, towel rails, glasses. There was no fresh fruit salad at breakfast, you were not brought tea or coffee and some of the cutlery was dirty. All easy fixes with some good leadership.

    The staff were excellent really helpful, friendly and accommodating. The location is lovely and the building itself is beautiful but I think it needs more care.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Relaxing and beautiful place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tub was surprisingly narrow (or we just have big feet?) and turning felt like a balancing act, not ideal for someone elderly but perfectly all right otherwise!

    Extremely helpful staff, fantastic bed and delicious food!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay , excellent value for money , really pleasant members of staff, lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In uckfield just 3 miles away there are plenty of restaurants to choose from, whether it be Indian or Italian. Also there is a great little Keebab shop just as you approach the high street coming in from mares field.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Expectations exceeded, no disappointments and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was perfect for me and very welcoming. Attractive decor, clean and well appointed. Lovely soft bedlinen, very supportive bed, choice of lighting and I could watch the television from the bath. Excellent choice and quality of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    dissapointing as was recommended to us,but will not be recommending to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above

    we were not over impressed,breakfast was ok but not anything special,and snack we had was (scallops) was served luke warm.Room was poor for storage.We were also awoken in the middle of the night by other customers making a lot of noise.No staff seemed to be on hand to deal with this,which means we can only assume they were known to them,or staff were involved

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing and will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a superior room in the main hotel on the worst bed we had ever slept in. It was like sleeping on a board with no give whatsoever. The room was grubby and it was disappointing to have no shower. The bath and sink were dirty and over the three nights we stayed they were never cleaned properly. The toilet had a noisy pump system which went on for ages after flushing and prevented any water coming through the hot tap. There were dirty marks on the back of the bathroom door which looked like they had been there for ages and the windowsill had dead insects on it. They never gave us enough towels and we always had to ask for more. The carpet in the bedroom was badly marked and had clearly not been vacuumed and again the same bits remained on the carpet throughout our three day stay. Service at breakfast was very poor and they never took our food order correctly or had sufficient items on the self serve section with no one around to ask for things. This place has the potential to do well but needs more efficient staff with much higher standards and better training and requires much needed investment in the tired rooms in the main hotel with the provision of much better quality comfortable beds.

    Convenient to visit family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant and comfortable stay in a great location and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While they were helpful to us, we sensed there was tension among the staff so we feel there are some issues to be resolved.

    Lovely comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Country pub with rooms suitable for families and dog lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to fully open bedroom window due to health and safety. No soap in the bathroom

    Wasn't busy, even though a bank holiday weekend. No loud music

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice old style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice big room with bath. Double bed was large and very comfortable. Although the room faced the road there was little traffic noise audible. Hot water very hot and all radiators worked (it was a very cold April) Car park with plenty of spaces. Food fine. Nothing to fault.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.0
    Sorrry, the staff were lovely, ( three ladies we did meet) but we won't be coming back I'm afraid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bedroom (room 9) was not that clean, lots of dirt beneath the radiator, window difficult to open and stay open. A gushing noise coming from the cold radiator which was continuous and so therefore we hardly slept! Awful smell coming from the washbasin when emptied, really needs a good disinfect. Elderly people booking should be aware that room 9 is on the second floor and their is no lift, and we found it difficult,climbing 2 flights of stairs. Breakfast in the morning, vegetarian sausages black and burnt!

    The meal in the bar in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.1
    Bed was lovely bathroom good
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where the kettle was on the table in the room there was lots of splash marks on the paint work on the door and up the wall...l had to send my food back it was fish chips the fish looked time it had been cooked at least 3 times I've fish was so thin .

    Bed was lovely bathroom good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old coaching inn.....despite minor niggles would happily revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More attention needs to be paid to breakfast ..... Yogurts on display were past their sell by date, and hot water for tea had run out. Breakfast mushrooms a tad overdone and hard.

    Lovely room oozing history. Attentive and very friendly staff. Our waitress happily went to fetch my wife some table salt as she doesn't like big lumps out of a grinder. Plenty of main menu choices, and even a bargain price menu for those watching the pennies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, great sleep & breakfast. No change of reservation details noted down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix up with check-in. I called to explain that my relative would not make the extra room as a close family friend of hers had her funeral booked the same day), no last minute cancellations but that was ok. So I called the hotel, a couple of days prior to check-in to say my friend would be taking the smaller room instead of my relative and gave his name. The message was not attached to any reservation notes at the hotel so my friend, who arrived first, was given our superior double instead of the single I had booked for my relative/friend.

    Lovely paneled room. Nice view from room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small shower and I’m not big! Broken bathroom light. I had an up stairs room. On my own with a baby was a bit of a struggle with luggage!

    Bed was very comfortable. Would of like a dressing table with mirror together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Quaint hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were covered in damp in several places. When I asked the Manager about this he seemed to think that I should expect that with a 300 year old building but to be honest while I appreciate that there are problems with things like this it was very unplesant at times. We found the window difficult to open at first and we didn't want to force it but the Manager helped us with that. We would definitely recommend the hotel but recommend that Room 1 gets some sort of damp proofing urgently.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a lovely quaint feel to it. The shower was very powerful and great. The breakfast was well stocked and the cooked meals were delicious. The location was amazing and we found the local residents to be very helpful and approachable. It was excellent value for money at £70/night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    6.3
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food! Sharing Nachos was cold. The mushrooms at breakfast were not fresh, didn't eat them, I wouldn't have served them to anyone.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    we had an enjoyable time with excellant food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need the shower curtain to go around in a circle as i found when i washed my hair a lot of water ended up on the floor apart from that it was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    6.7
    OK but lacks final touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mirror in room, only 1 bedside lamp, no towel rail or hooks in bathroom.

    Good sized room, comfortable beds. Good breakfast & evening meals a reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing gem in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed 3 nights and our bedroom wasn't hoovered whilst we were there.

    It's location was amazing and the staff were so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    2.9
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    When we left. Where do I start! Everywhere was dusty and dirty, did not dare to eat from the kitchen at breakfast after noticing how dirty things were in the dining room, i.e. Milk container, floor in between the till area and self serve area, window sills, staricases and much more. Treated like we were an intrusion, put in an attic room that was dirty, poor and old decor, we had to climb two flights of stairs with our bags, no help offered. We were told there was an evening meal but that wasn't true! Blocked toilets full of loo paper! Disgusting, everything was disgusting, we work in the hospitality industry, even £40.00 would be too much but you have the darn cheek to charge £99.00 for this appalling place you have the cheek to advertise as a hotel! I have left my review on Trip advisor and Facebook.!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.8
    I'd return but would'nt eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was unremarkable. The breakfast was very average and the tea / coffee making facilities did not offer freshly boiled water (which really affects the taste of the tea)... The shower in Rm 18 ran scaldingly hot and as the cubicle was so small there was no room to avoid it . The staff were all very young , inexperienced or poorly trained in customer relations, but neither were they rude or unpleasant ( a training issue I think ).

    The bed was comfortable, the building lovely; especially the dining room. A large car park. There was a pleasant outside drinking area with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.9
    Curates egg, really good in parts .... stay in the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t stay in ground floor rooms in the courtyard building.....if rooms above are occupied you hear every movement!!

    Nice old pub, good car park, comfy clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    A gorgeous little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower, the room doors didn't feel secure.

    Gorgeous old property, spacious room warm and cosy lovely friendly staff, lovely quiet location just felt like home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel in a lovely location, a little tired in places, the staff were very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was above the kitchen area and even with no heating on it was very hot making it uncomfortable. Could have done with a fan as the only window couldn't be opened enough to make a difference. I can see that other guests have made a comment about this issue previously, but nothing seems to have been done to rectify this yet.

    The bed was huge and the size of the room was larger than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.1
    The Chequers is an ideal area to go to other locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was not value for money, especially the evening meals, menu of food ordered was not what was recieved, changes had been made and was not informed.

    The area was very pleasant, and convenient to go to other locations near

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    The Mattress in room 1 has seen better days and there were...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Mattress in room 1 has seen better days and there were some nasty brown marks on the carpet just outside the bathroom, Breakfast on day one was lovey but it was a little cold on day 2. There also seemed to be a steady flow of friends of staff hanging around outside with their children which seemed a bit odd. Whilst the lady service breakfast on day 2 was polite, her questions were a little abrupt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.6
    It's located in a tiny village, its peaceful, has plenty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's located in a tiny village, its peaceful, has plenty of parking and WiFi so I could work in the evening. The food is good and reasonably priced. As I have mobility issues, I request to stay in the coach house on the ground floor (2 rooms this level) which is located in the car park area away from the main pub/restaurant. As the building is very old with wood floors, if you have problem sleeping, you may find that sleeping here could keep you awake if the rooms above are occupied, as you hear the floors creaking and even the toilet being flushed. Luckily it does not affect me. If you need a ground floor room, I would highly recommend you contacting the Chequers to secure before your visit. Being a very old establishment, there are things that need to be looked at in the way of decorating and some areas could be better cleaned, but all in all, it's very good value for money, I stayed overnight in March mid week for £37 which included a great breakfast. The staff are lovely and I will definitely stay with them again when business takes me that way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.3
    Good overall. Room was a comfortable double.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The salad was looking very sad And limp. No switch for the lights by the bed and lights very dim

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Large car park. Room was warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.8
    Questionable price for what you get
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No blind in bathroom, not very private. Had to crawl on floor to get to shower so outside did not see my naked body. Had to go downstairs to bar restroom to take a number 2 as no blind on window. Round of plughole hair on side of bath. Took a pre deposit from my card and did not complete the transaction so was out of pocket for 3 weeks until I contacted my bank to have it removed.

    It was quaint

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.5
    Very cosy comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was our second visit here and our first visit was in the main building where rooms are bigger , this time we stayed in the coach house which is much smaller but very cosy - could do with a good spring clean not that the facilities are dirty but beams and wardrobe cupboard need a duster over them, probably getting ready for re decorating if I’m honest .

    Very cosy place with lots of character .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect. Ec
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sun was a bit bright!

    Hotel comfortable and easy to find. Great evening dinners and breakfasts. Loved the beer and wine, great service and affable staff. Very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    8.0
    The staff were very friendly and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed that there was only a small piece of soap in the shower room. No shower gel or shampoo provided.

    Wide choice of breakfast dishes and evening meals. Friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely rooms, high quality and spotless. Oh yes, young lady Mon night was rude to my daughter.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely NO soap in bathroom. To expect people to carry their own bar of soap with them is ridiculous. I believe due to bad weather there had been no delivery, Tesco is 5 mins away by car, absolutely no way should establishment as prestigious as yours have NO SOAP!

    The young lady at breakfast was lovely and friendly with everyone, very helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.1
    Ideal hotel for what we needed when attending a family event nearby.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom tile grout in the shower could do with a scrub. Lighting quite dim in the room and the restaurant .

    Ideally situated for our needs. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Staff efficient and friendly. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Business Stay at The Chequers Inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good !!

    Pictures do not do justice to the accommodation. My room was superb, being spacious, clean and comfortable, with fresh decor. There is plenty of free on site parking and the pub atmosphere was just right. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly. My evening meal was probably the best value for money meal I have had. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice. A really good hotel choice to make, within easy reach of London.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great old character hotel shame about the beer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beer is Green King so never going to be even half way good they also had Doom Bar which is also piss poor The heating is a nightmare way too hot even when turned off??????

    Breakfast is very good Staff were very good The food is OK ish

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.5
    bed was very comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    window frames need a repaint and the bathroom door is really odd - it only opens half way, and then to get to the sink in my room I had to sort of slide into the bathroom and close the door to get around the bath to the sink. Awful design ! Not the fault of current staff who were as helpful as they could be. Didn't like the fact to sign onto internet you have to answer a bunch of questions including providing an email.. Overall I enjoyed my stay though

    bed was very comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very comfortable, the food great and value for money exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misunderstood the all day menu which didn't start again (after lunch) until 18.00hrs. Perhaps this could have been clearer on the menu. Little disappointed the fireplace, this time, wasn't lit up.

    We've been to this hotel before and really enjoyed our stay. This time we visited Ashdown forest on the way so we could go to Pooh Bridge and play Pooh Sticks!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    6.3
    Not very impressed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was noisy, I think it was the kitchen fans, the room was too hot even with the radiator turned off, there were biscuits provided but only every other day, there was a signing in ticket on the floor in the corner all week never cleaned up, the bed was not really “made” it didn’t have the bottom sheet straightened.

    Big bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great food and room, but too hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too hot! Despite turning off the radiators and opening the window the 6 inches it would, the room was still very hot, which meant I didn't sleep until about 4am. A real shame as other wise a Fab pub/hotel.

    A lovely Georgian pub in beautiful Sussex, the food was great, a huge comfortable bed and a really powerful shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and certainly good value. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little things like bin in bathroom had not been emptied; plenty of shampoo bottles but no shower gel; bedside light not working.

    Lovely location; really comfy bed; had a good feeling about the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creeky floorboards in room above - but what do you expect in a listed building?!

    I was expecting a dingy village pub full of locals but it was really really nicely decorated and you could tell there were a lot of out of town visitors as well as locals. The food was exceptional and my partner even had seconds after a sharing platter and fish pie, he went back for seconds. Really welcoming nice place and the lady working was rushed off her feet at times but was still so polite and helpful. Hotel breakfast in my opinion is always average/bad no matter where you go but this was the best I have EVER had! Fresh and replenished contintenal breakfast, as well as cooked breakfast which was so clean and tasty. All included in the price which is such good value. Also the bed is amazingly comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff, shame about the stay!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the noise almost constant throughout the night, the bathroom was dirty and the room was very stuffy.

    The service was exceptionally good and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    4.6
    Cheap, and you definitely get what you pay for here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window doesn’t fit properly. It is as though it’s open when it’s as closed as it can be. The shower floods the bathroom. The cabinet under the TV is gross. The service from the staff was cursory and poor, from start to finish. Breakfast was not good.

    It’s pretty cheap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    Could have been so much better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This trip was a little disappointing for me. The last time I stayed here I had the most fantastic room with a lovely big bathroom. This time, for the same price, I had a top floor room which was much smaller, had a tiny bathroom, a blind that didn't work and a TV that was so small I couldn't see it when sitting on the bed as the bedstead got in the way. I did ask if I could change room but there wasn't another room available. Having said all of that, the room was still nicer than a Travelodge but just so disappointing after the last stay. Also, I originally booked through booking.com for one night but then my work schedule changed and I needed to extend to two. I called the hotel direct to add on the extra night as I wanted to ensure the two bookings were linked and I got to stay in the same room! It all seemed fine but, when I got there, my second night wasn't booked. Luckily the room was still available. I also had a problem with the service this time. Again, last time it was excellent. This time the girls seemed decidedly unenthused. On the second night I went downstairs to get a drink at 10:50 and was told I couldn't have one because the til was closed. This made me very angry. However, the good side of this review was the breakfast. It was superb. Outstanding. And the girl serving on the second morning was lovely. I would go back to this hotel as I'd like to believe that this was just an unfortunate post-Xmas lethargy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No locks on rooms

    Great place , the room we had was in coach house not main so was expecting bit more from photos , no locks on rooms . Very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    The room was large and the king size bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was large and the king size bed was very comfortable. The room was nice and warm. The breakfast was great and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money, nice stay, atmosphere more than made up for tired deco upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deco looking a little tired upstairs, especially the bathroom (but have stayed in places with much worse for more money).

    Excellent value for money Nice bar and facilities downstairs Good friendly atmosphere Staff helpful Lovely old building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    2.5
    very bad experience!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn't made up at all even though checked in late around 10 at night. Was given other later after abit wait, not a good impression to start with specially when you get somewhere after a long drive....! Next day at check out......more drama as i was told to make payment again because of some system error. ended up having argument..... Was treated with lot of attitude and disrespect, to me it looked like providing customer services don't apply on this business as they were not bothered at all specially the 'blonde one'

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing in view of reason being there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were offered three rooms which either were not cleaned, had workman’s tools in and another with a lunch box in. Even one of the two rooms we eventually had did not have any heating on. The other room did not have a remote control working so we could not use a tv. Breakfast was poor in relation to service although the food was fine

    Powerful shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.3
    Bit of a disappointment
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked Christmas Dinner online separately through their website, and paid a deposit this booking was lost and we weren't able to have this. Instead we were told we could order off the main menu, the food was good, but we were disappointed as we were really excited and looking forward to having a Christmas dinner but then couldn't. We weren't even offered anything to compensate for their failing. The room although very nice, just a bit of attention to detail is needed, like black grout on the tiles and a dirty toilet bowl which could be remedied with a bit of bleach. Mould round the window frames. Also the room was very warm. Breakfast was luke warm, no toast was offered at all, despite butter and a plate being on the table, the room was really cold too. Think we had our expectations a bit high,

    The building is lovely with lots of history, the location is good with lovely views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Havent been there for years, it s changed so much for the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Havent been there for years, it s changed so much for the better, staff lovely and friendly, room really nice too. will be going back soon I'm sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dark car park with no lighting to assist, having to walk through people eating to get to the stairs was awkward.

    Nice size room, big bed, nicely decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    6.7
    Loved the building , pity about the no show breakfast which was included when we booked
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old chair that was broken in the room . Very tired desk (not antique , I do understand antique furniture ) it was tatty. No breakfast , the kitchen was out . So disappointed , I had to leave for work without breakfast !!! The staff looked like rabbits in the headlights , they said it was a power cut all other lights etc were on .

    The building . The staff . The size of the room . The fish finger sandwich

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly hotel and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room itself required a little TLC - mouldy/cracked tiles in bathroom and spotlight over bath was not working. Few cobwebs highlighted by spotlights in room by door. Breakfast was not great. Beans/mushrooms/bacon were luke warm. Tea served in metal jug was very weak. We did mention this to the young gentleman on Reception and he was very understanding. Stairs were a bit of an effort too.

    Bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was lovely and quiet. Food was great and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: