Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Essex B&B and inn reviews
  4. Clacton-on-Sea B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of The Chudleigh

Reviews of The Chudleigh 4 stars

Agate Road, Clacton-on-Sea, CO15 1RA, United Kingdom

#1 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Clacton-on-Sea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    10
    A very comfortable happy place to stay the lovely owners and staff are exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave. You cannot improve on perfection. The Chudleigh has it all.

    The attention to detail everything you could possibly need. Extremely comfortable in every respect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Just what we like
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was as expected and of an excellent standard.

    The friendly, caring, understanding of the staff. Fantastic fresh cooked breakfast in abundance and well decorated comfortable rooms. There was nothing to dislike the standard is always the same every time we return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Relaxing short stay, wished we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments. The perfect place to stay.

    On arrival welcomed by the owner with a smile. The room was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. The little extras in the room like chocolate, large variety of hot drinks, water by the bed side, biscutes ect and lovely chairs to sit in all contributed to the high rating. Breakfast was beautifully served with a smile by Anna. Definitely would return here and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    Really nice people, everyone was friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice people, everyone was friendly and very helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, just right for my husband, toddler and me. The breakfast was amazing, we had a big menu to choose from. The food arrived quickly and was tasty. Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Stayed for three nights and it exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent standards of cleanliness, service, decoration, facilities, and comfort. The owners could give the TV's Hotel Inspector lessons in how to run a B&B. Great breakfast and proper well brewed strong coffee.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Very friendly x very very clean, from the super white...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very friendly x very very clean, from the super white bedding to the super white towels x lovely place x breakfast brilliant x beautifully served and presented, will certainly stay again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    10
    Great location, spotless clean and spacious room, owners are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, spotless clean and spacious room, owners are very helpful and friendly. Owners have run the business for many years and it is obvious to see in the extra care and personal touch they provide

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    We had a fabulous time in Clacton and our 3 night stay at The Chudleigh made it more enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried our hardest but couldnt think of anything lol

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Chudleigh and Peter & Carol go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as they can. The Chudleigh was everything you could ask for and nothing was too much trouble for them. The little added extras were a lovely touch with a lot of attention to detail put into it. Especially the Muffins oftered after breakfast with the option of being able to take one away for elevenses Many Thanks to all at The Chudleigh, one day we hope to stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the friendliness, close proximity to Clacton's places of interest and shops .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    generally satisfied at all aspects of being made welcome and given the feeling of homeliness

    Efficiency, attention to detail, friendly and comprehensive support items in room, freshly renewed each day, luxury breakfast of highest quality

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Although the B & B is situated close to the main town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was spot on

    Although the B & B is situated close to the main town center, we found it to be a peaceful location and didn't have any issues with noise when staying on a Saturday night. We received a very warm welcome from the moment we arrived, several hours earlier than I had advised the owners, but this did not faze them in anyway. Peter and Carol were extremely helpful in explaining the key system, the house rules, breakfast times and showing us the facilities/features in our room, including the blind and curtains. All of the rooms at the Chudleigh are beautifully decorated and was one of the reasons I chose to stay at the Chudleigh, We were given a free upgrade to a larger room which was presented to a very high standard. Carol also met my additional request to have a room with a bath, which was very much welcomed. The decor of our room (number 3) was beautiful. The little added extras in the rooms are a nice touch, especially the hair dryer! The towels are thick and 2 are of a bath sheet size and very good quality. It was nice to not have to take our own! The mattress was of medium firmness and for me, very comfortable. You have the option of keeping the duvet that's already on the bed or swapping it for blankets depending on your personal preference. Breakfast was fabulous and served at a pace that suited us which meant we didn't have to rush. I'm quite a slow eater! It was served by a friendly assistant, who was very attentive when taking our orders. It included many options such as yogurts, fruit, cereals, toast with various toppings, muffins, fruit juices, tea and coffee. On top of this you can have a full english breakfast! You can pick what you like from the options available on the menu. Perfect for my husband as he's a fussy eater! We couldn't have hoped for better hosts and stay at the Chudleigh and will definitely be returning. Thank you Carol & Peter

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Quaint and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the hotel could not be better.

    Very friendly owners and staff. Everything you might require was in the room, including a bar of chocolate. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recommend this hotel for any visitors to Clacton .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little dated and so may not be to everybodys taste but I found everything to be in good working order and exceptionally clean . The hotel in general is really well run , and the owners are clearly passionate about their business , as are all the staff .

    Excellent value and service . The breakfast was particularly good and really comfortable beds . There is convenient parking outside the front door and the hotel is perfectly located .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    It was an excellent weekend away and beautiful place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely but it cudve had been more satisfying with a mini fridge within the room for keeping drinks and confectionery fresh while stayimg in the room

    The property was a beautiful place to relax and enjoy staying in. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family The room was very comfortable, the commute to the pier and beach was lovely and the shops around the hotel was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Excellent b&b would recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely big white fluffy towels! Lovely power shower, comfy bed, dog friendly, delicious breakfast, fab location, great hosts and staff very friendly. Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Everything we expected and more , would definitely book to stay there again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The location was good not far from the sea front and shops, good size room , very clean , comfortable bed , good breakfast and very nice staff. The owner was very helpful and friendly, best place I’ve stayed in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was awesome, bedding and towels impeccable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was awesome, bedding and towels impeccable, walking distance to sea front. Beds very comfortable rooms clean and pleasantly decorated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    I was impressed with the cleanliness and the friendliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    I was impressed with the cleanliness and the friendliness of the the staff. I also really enjoyed the breakfast, very tasty and well served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    The above was meant to be here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish we felt at home a lovely handshake by Peter (owner) at the door friendly and welcoming then a spotless clean room with lovely decor and the things you might need to make your stay good, they go the extra mile and it works, other places in Clacton should take note we will definitely recommend the Chudleigh and be going back there, The food was a high standard and the menu the best i'v seen and even though Carol had a painful leg she was happy and smiling and helpful also Sarah a lovely helpful lady even though she was busy TOP MARKS FOR EVERYTHING!!!!!

    The above was meant to be here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Definitely worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room was perfect! It was extremely clean and comfortable with great little touches like bottles of water and some chocolate. The bed was particularly comfortable. We were unfortunately unable to stay for breakfast as we had to leave early in the morning but Peter and Carol made us up a packed breakfast and added a personal note. We will definitely be going back to sample the breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Second time we have stayed and has not changed in anyway, worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, room was brilliant, food was great and hosts can't help you enough.

    The hosts can't do enough for you. They go the extra mile with things like chocolate in your room, booking taxi's and they pay attention to details, such as after breakfast "would you like a fresh muffin to take with you on your day" and breakfast was lovely, fresh and plenty of it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    This Guest House is second to none...I repeat second to none!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing it was all excellent.

    The attention to detail was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. It really was a home from home. We have never stayed in such a wonderful Guest House as this one...thank you so much to everyone for making our stay so special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable B&B with nice touches
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, though I would echo other people's thoughts that a buffet for the cold stuff would work well instead of being given measured portions, only because I felt I wasted some of what I received!

    I had an extremely comfortable stay at The Chudleigh and would happily stay here again. The room was spotlessly clean with lovely towels and a comfy bed and a fan for the heat. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    It was a very pleasant comfortable stay with excellent breakfast choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Location, very close to sea front and restaurants,not noisy.The B&B was a friendly, very comfortable large room with good size ensuite. Would definitely recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly. They couldn’t do enough for us. The facilities were good and the refreshments in the room were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    ABSOLUTELY GREAT WOULD RETURN AGAIN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    THE ROOM AND EN SUITE WERE SPOTLESSLY CLEAN AND VERY ROOMY. ALSO LOTS OF NICE LITTLE TOUCHES WITH TOILETRIES ECT. THERE WAS EVEN A FAN WHICH WAS VERY WELCOME AS THE WEATHER THE BREAKFAST WAS SO BIG WE DID NOT NEED LUNCH. THE OWNERS AND THE STAFF WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE YOU FEEL WELCOME.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a refreshing change from the normal impersonal chain hotels. We were met at the door by Peter who shook our hands and welcomed us. He then proceeded to show us to our room and explain where everything was and how it worked. We were in Room 12 on the ground floor. There is a breakfast room, lounge room and 2 bedrooms on the ground floor. There is parking outside for 6 cars and the owners have an arrangement with the garage opposite for extra car parking spaces. The lounge room is quite old fashioned but perfectly adequate if you wish to sit somewhere quietly. I quite prefer old fashioned sometimes over the minimilism of some other hotels. Our bedroom contained a double and a single bed but there was adequate room to move about. There is a wardrobe (containing extra bedding) and a dressing table with mirror. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets and pillows were pristine, the sheets being of very high quality. Besides the bed is a choice of tea, coffee, cocoa with biscuits and an organic bar of chocolate.There are some nice little touches with a vanity kit, shoe shine and sewing kit provided for use. The bathroom was equally as pristine and the towels were of high quality. The shower was more than adequate with lashings of hot water. A choice of soaps and Ebony of London hair shampoos and conditioners. There was even a hand sanitiser available for use. The breakfast room is beautifully laid out and is light and airy. For breakfast there was a choice of full English (which was extremely good) or smoked salmon and eggs. A choice from within this range could also be ordered. There has been mention in other reviews of self service and I would agree with this for the non cooked parts of breakfast (i.e. Fruit juice, Yogurt and cereals). This would allow customers to help themselves to begin with and take the weight from the serving staff. But this is a very minor quibble and should not detract from the very fine breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the nicest and best welcoming B&B we have ever stayed in, the owners were so nice and the room we had was excellent with everything you need and more. Brilliant Breakfast with lovely extras.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. Very clean and much attention to detail. Great hosts.Very comfortable bed. Easy parking.Great breakfast.Near the sea too. An hour from Stansted made a perfect stopover. We will return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host's were lovely and staff very friendly. The room was very clean and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and all the washing facilities you could need and the bed was to die for huge and really comfy. The breakfast was excellent anything you could possibly want. I would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly owners. Great central location. Very comfortable room with all the little extras that some places forget to provide. Probably the best condition room I have stayed in from a décor perspective and I travel a lot. Good freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Lovely couple,spotless accommodation and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peter and his wife was amazing,they made us feel at home straight away.Nice touches in our room,were bottle of water each side of the bed,plenty of coffee and tea bags,biscuits and shampoo,conditioner etc. they seemed to have thought of everything.They were very proud to have had Ken Dodd stay there when he done a summer season quite a few years ago,telling us of his quick wit,as you would have seen him on stage.Would highly recommend a stay there,as them being there for 53yrs,has to tell you something,great work both of you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    A refreshing and relaxing one night break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway was a bit dingy on arrival, in contrast to the bedroom which was decorated and fitted out to a high standard.

    Lots of nice touches in the bedroom and bathroom plus an excellent breakfast. We liked the location near to the seafront, a Prezzo for dinner and 'The Moon and Starrfish' for drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    What a ‘gem’
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chudleigh is ‘excellant’ in every way. Super comfy bed. Spotless clean everywhere. Great thoughtful facilities in the room. They even offered fresh milk for the drinks tray. The choice at breakfast, and the quality was delightful. Very friendly and helpful owners/staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The owner was lovely, the room was beautiful and had all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!😘

    The owner was lovely, the room was beautiful and had all the little bits and a few extra... like chocolate!! Didnt want to get up it was so comfortable! Would stay again / recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Clacton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming friendly hosts, lovely, homely and clean rooms. Everything was perfect. This was our second stay here and we were welcomed like old friends. We stayed over Easter and on Easter Sunday, a chocolate egg was put under our tea cups at breakfast. A lovely touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    The bed was comfy and there was a fabulous range of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The bed was comfy and there was a fabulous range of accompaniments to the hot drinks tray. The breakfast was fab and service faultless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities. Great accommodation. Lovely food. Fantastic nights sleep. Brilliant owners.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The separate toilet was cold and really did not warm up even when we turned the towel rail on

    Lots of extras that were unexpected - like the chocolate in the room and the muffin at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Best in Clacton
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing experience large clean comfortable room the owners have gone the extra mile from qaulity bed qaulity towels lots of little touches bottled water by the bed biscuits even shoe cleaning kit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    A super place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome we received. The room was newly decorated and spotlessly clean. The extra touches in the room- water, chocolate and lots of choice of tea and coffee. The breakfast was excellent- perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Friendly, welcoming & brilliant breakfast! 100% recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was exceptional, the team really can't do enough for you.

    We work all over the country and I can say this is one of the best places we've had the pleasure of staying in. All the staff are brilliant and friendly and it's the best breakfasts we have come accross. We stay in all array of accommodation from B&B's to Guesthouses to Hotels and by far none of them have matched up to this! Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Home from home in this luxury B&B
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Like everything about this homely little B&B. The sheets on the beds are pristine, the beds themselves are really comfortable and the staff cannot do enough for you. Like staying with family - only better... 😁 😂 Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    A welcoming and accomodating place by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Such a lovely place very close to the beach. We were made to feel very welcome with our cocker spaniel. Great breakfast and room facilities. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Cosy friendly staff lovely and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind dnt want for anything

    The overall experience from checking in with a smile staff at breakfast time were very attentive to your needs and a nice little touch at the end of your breakfast was a choice of muffins lovely touch owners were very friendly and chatty would stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    First class Sevice and facilities in an Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, very little could be done to improve what is already there!

    Our room had a six foot bed, which was excellent. Lovely comfortable pillows and quilt too. Our hosts were lovely people who really did go that extra mile to ensure we were looked after. All other staff were friendly and helpful too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Perfect as always
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm welcome from Peter on new yeas day, Breakfast was amazing as always cant fault it beautiful coffee. Lovely warm room with excellent facilities inc good quality hairdryer big selection of tea coffee and biscuits in room bed was super comfortable slept very very well and was allowed to keep the room later then checkout which was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    GREAT BREAK AWAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came to see the new year in and fell asleep!

    The owners are really friendly/. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, my wife's needs for gluten free were catered for.. The rooms had hot drink making facilities to suit everybodies taste! The Wetherspoons just round the corner is good. The pier is a nice walk to the RNLI station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    All round excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not find a single problem or even a minor issue, attension to detail appear paramount.

    An excellent all round experience will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    very pleasnt stay.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything.

    Room very clean,well decorated,beds very comfortable.breakfast very good and plenty of choice,restarants nearby for evening meal,couple who own it very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Nice weekend in clacton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold needs better heating but was plenty of bedding to keep you warm

    How clean it was, how helpful and nice all the staff were was even allowed to keep my bike somewhere and breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Incredible B&B by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in my room was a little confusing to operate and didn’t heat the room super well, but it was enough to keep it from being freezing at night.

    The staff were friendly and attentive. Plenty of free amenities and the options for breakfast were varied and delicious. My room was a bit smaller than I’m used to, but it’s more than enough if you’re traveling by yourself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Lovely little B&B
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is a little run down these days, not the fault of the Chudleigh though!

    I loved this B&B and wasn't surprised to hear that Ken Dodd stayed here twenty years ago and loved it too. It has obviously kept up its own high standards over the years, with the friendly owners, fabulously comfy beds and very clean rooms. The hospitality tray was bursting with goodies, to eat and drink, fresh milk was available on request, and even a little teapot was provided. And to top it all they are doggy friendly. What more could you ask for?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Just gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved it all

    Was a lovely place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone. Just perfect. Clean and very comfortable. Gorgeous hosts. Hope to stay again. Every thing you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Perfect choice for couple or family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Nothing to fault. Would visit again tune and time again. Felt like staying with family.

    Really lovely welcoming couple who welcomed our dogs as much as us. Clean and tidy rooms which had everything you need including really comfortable beds. Free parking space including and lots of breakfast options on offer. Beach minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Will stay again when next in Clacton !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation and super friendly proprietors. Good location. Couldn’t stay for breakfast as I had to leave early, so they kindly made me a packed lunch !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found nothing to dislike.

    Lovely comfortable bed and pillows. Fabulous breakfast, amazing choice. Very friendly and helpful hosts who really care about their guests comfort. Not much view from our room at the back of the property but we preferred the quieter location and anyway we were out most of the time. Right in the centre of town close to shops, beach, restaurants. Our second time staying at this property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Made our few days away thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No down side

    Very comfortable, with real attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble and you were made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent guest house close to the sea front
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clacton town was very run down. We tried unsuccessfully to find a pub with food where we could take our dog. Unfortunately the bars were all very loud and 'trendy'. The promenade was nearby and reasonably clean and tidy. The nearby town of Frinton was very pretty.

    Fabulous breakfast. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    Fabulous breakfast, plenty of choice for all tastes. Lovely comfortable bed and pillows, nice ensuite facilities. The owners and their staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We traveled with elderly relatives who found the ground floor room very convenient for their needs. Have stayed before and will do so again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing few days will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Our stay was just great. The staff, Carol and Peter are wonderful. The breakfast is enough to take you though to tea time. I took my brother and sister-in-law and we all said the same. Will go back. There are extra touches which were surprising and just added to the overall experience. So if you want a wonderful place to stay then do not look any further. Just off the front.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Would recoment this place if you are going to stay in Clacton on the Seas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing Would have liked to stay longer but couldn't

    Hostess very friendly could not help you enough breakfast the best beds very good central to everything Ice on demand that what I wanted

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A short but perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed and furniture. Well appointed bathroom. Excellent selection of teas and coffee. Great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing and refreshing in a friendly caring environment.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners were very welcoming and friendly. It was a great hotel with delicious breakfast which was freshly cooked and with waitress service . As a solo traveller I felt very safe and well looked after.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, The Chudleigh was perfect. We can't wait to go back.

    Carol and Peter are so welcoming, we felt like guests in their home rather than their lovely B&B. Our little girl was made to feel extra special by the friendly staff and the unicorn picture one of the lovely ladies drew for her has pride of place in her bedroom. Our family room was spotless and so comfortable with a super kingsize bed and a single bed for our daughter, large fluffy towels in the bathroom and shower room, excellent choice of tea, coffee, biscuits and even a bar of chocolate! The breakfast was amazing. A huge choice all cooked to order, very accommodating for the smaller, fussier guests too. Location was great, a few minutes walk to the pier, arcades, bars and restaurants and beach. There's the added bonus of free parking too. We are so lucky to have found this gem and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at this Hotel, hassel free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners Peter @ Carol, made us feel very welcome, Peter mentioned that he had been running the Hotel for 51 years !, The property is a credit to them, Room 4 very spacious with Biscuits galore & even a small bar of Green & black chocolate. The Hot Chocolate & Cappuccino products were of very good quality. The Breakfast was of a very good standard, served by a friendly pleasant member of staff . Would recommend this Hotel, will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Had a great time, the owners couldn't have done enough for us. will definitely be booking up again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & welcoming staff. The room was very clean, decor lovely. breakfast was cooked to order. Lovely touches in the room, a good selection of teas, coffee & biscuits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the lounge could be more inviting...maybe have a better television in the lounge, I was staying with a very elderly aunt and it would have be nice to have sat in the lounge although saying that our room was lovely and had 2 armchairs and a small TV

    Everything was of a very high standard the quality of the tea/coffee was very good and the breakfast. And the bed linen and towels were 100% cotton. They even gave us bottled water for our rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Good stay but not pleased how car got scratched in carport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good for parking, lucky if you get a space, my friend left her car on the front carport and someone scratched her car, apparently it was not someone staying in the hotel, but that's a lot to believe , but there you go, now a paint job,

    Very clean rooms excellent bathroom, comfy beds, good breakfast,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    The owners were very nice, they gave us advice on places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very nice, they gave us advice on places to eat, and on local information. We had the best breakfast in all of our trip a real English one cooked to perfection so good in fact its become our yard stick we had excellent breakfast throughout our trip but none could compare with Peter's Chudleigh masterpiece. And would recommend our friends this is the place to stay. The bed was wonderful, big and soft and the furnishings were outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Our room was very clean and the décor very tasteful and ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like but some areas in the b and b looked a little tired but having said that we enjoyed our stay and if we come to Clacton again would go back to the Chudleigh

    Our room was very clean and the décor very tasteful and very nice touches in the room, lots of drinks and biscuits also water and chocolate each day. Breakfast was very good and cooked fresh and everything bought to the table by a very nice young lady. the proprietors were a lovely friendly couple. A convenient position but not as nice an area as we had expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Planning to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of any significance!

    The friendly staff gave us a warm welcome. Excellent location, just a stones throw from the pier and shops. Comfortable facilities in the room which was very clean and well equipped. Nice guest lounge and breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant start to my weekend in Clacton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Room was extremely clean, bed was very comfortable staff very friendly and helpful, full English breakfast superb and parking right in front of the hotel off the road. Total experience was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    A great location and passionate service make this gem miles ahead of the rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. No really, nothing.

    The thoughtfulness and friendliness of the hosts was beyond comparison. The quality of the breakfast was top notch. The service is provided by people who obviously care both about what they do and their customers. We look forward to returning for another stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    no sentence other than excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Bed very comfortable, breakfast lovely, bathroom had all toiletries in it, lovely settee in room and television. Carol and Peter were lovely hosts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent family rooms in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going home :(

    Our family were made to feel very welcome by the owners who showed us to the rooms and explained how things worked. We had two family rooms and a double which were all very comfortable and a good size. The kids looked forward each day to the breakfast which was excellent with a great choice and as much as we needed. All the staff were friendly and set out to make all of us feel welcome throughout the stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Everything was fine, we were very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been any better for us, the location was ideal, would recommend to any of our family and friends. As we live in Australia we may not be in this part of the Country again or we would definatly stay again.

    Everything was fine, we were very pleased. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 – 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: