Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Church Street Hotel 3 stars

29-33 Camberwell Church Street, Southwark, London, SE5 8TR, United Kingdom

#67 of 428 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Quirky, cheap, very clean and friendly. Great for business or fun.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room I had was small but that cant be helped.

    The place was very convenient for the Maudlsley hospital. Quirky hotel, friendly staff. The price was reasonable and very good value for money. Honesty bar a pleasant touch. The breakfast was excellent for an extra £5.00.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Clean room but really outdated hotel with no lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It´s really outdated and I dont like carpets. You walk on your dirty shoes on a carpet in your room! I did not like to bring all of my luggage up 5 floors on a really steep staircase, no lift.

    It has a friendly and welcoming athmosphere and they trust you to write down your roomnr. for drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Great stay. Wouldn't mind staying there again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi could have been better. Signal was shy and sometimes very slow.

    It's a nice small confortable hotel with great and friendly staff. It was very convenient located for our trip. There are some very good restaurants around. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Hated climbing the stairs, but thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the pillows, a little too small, though very comfortable. The door closed too quickly, I didn’t like it to slam shut as it would have disturbed other guests. Their was no handle to hold onto to control it.

    The bed initially looked firm, but had excellent sleep. Towels were very large and soft. The room felt like a bedroom not a hotel room. I was thankful that there was a functioning air conditioner, the days had been warm and muggy, the ac made sleeping very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Night in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs especially if you’re at the top.

    Comfortable bed, large bathroom, felt like a sleepover with friends in someone’s home. Relaxed and friendly but efficient and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Unique Mexican themed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room number 6 which only had a very small window looking out onto a dark narrow alley so the room was very dark. Staff said they got this comment regularly from people staying in that room. I would definitely return to the hotel, but request a room with a full size window and looking out on the street.

    Unique Mexican themed hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable quirky hotel, but I'll ask for a room away from main road next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Street noise was quite bad from the early hours.

    The bed was so comfy, great quality bedding. Plenty of hot water. Drinks and pastries available at the honesty bar if required plus the complimentary tea and coffee brands were organic and great quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dark.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely little touches such as free chocolates and complementary tea and coffee. Great night's sleep in a quiet room with very comfortable bed. Fantastic quirky decor. Great vibrant location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    All in all, a comfy night, in a clean quirkie hotel with a reasonable breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady on reception wasn't the most efficient at check in? Put initial doubts into my mind as to my choice of hotel for the night. She wasn't able to give the details for the parking arrangements very clearly or precisely at all. Talked to me as though I was a local, with local knowledge, not someone was visiting for the first time, who had driven 150+ miles, been stuck in London traffic for hours and the fact it was now very dark outside. All worked out in the end, but I was certainly was not happy or impressed with the check in process and how long it took!

    The hotel was good value for money, very clean room, all I needed for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic place and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite noisy at night being near the function room - loud enough to to hear what tunes were playing whilst trying to sleep. It wouldn't put us off staying again though, we'll just request a quieter room next time or stay out a bit longer !

    We loved the honesty bar, the deco, the artwork, just a fantastic place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    This place has a lovely style and character. I will be staying again on my next visit to London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on a Saturday night so there was a bit of disco-boom leaking up from the bar next door. That can't be helped!

    Fabulous hotel. Really friendly, helpful staff, the Mexican theme was colourful and fun. I loved the bathroom interior design. If I had a chisel I might have run away with a few tiles!!! Relaxing and tasty breakfast. The honesty cocktail bar was unique! And I didn't even make use of it! Next time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, super clean and such friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was extremely good value for money

    The staff make this hotel so good - I only stayed a night whilst dropping my daughter at university. All so kind and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble- thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay , will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow steep stairs , room a bit small .

    Very good value for price , friendly staff, coffee / tea facilities and honesty bar , also chocolate and hot sauce a lovely added treat . Plenty of towels and excellent shower .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely unusual hotel, with every little thing as good quality as possiblem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea facilities in the bedroom would have been a good addition

    The breakfast was all very good, quality ingredients and fresh. Homemade jams and organic ingredients.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable -- very highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real welcome -- all the staff I met genuinely care that guests have a great stay. Lots of great little extras -- and a delicious breakfast! No stinting here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasantly surprised by the beautiful decorations the colours the art everywhere in the hotel. There were books that you can read and the little bar was super you could make tea coffee even your own cocktail the trust the owners put in their guests by writing down what you had to drink really made it special it gave a Home feeling. Staff at reception exceptional friendly professional. I travel a lot and would recommend the hotel to both business and leisure travelers also with kids. Location superb and again the details in the decoration of the rooms and the entire hotel is truly amazing. Well done and will definitely be back when I’m in London.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    A great place to stay when your in a tight Budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time Ill make sure to have the bathroom "on Suite". Not a big fan of shared bathrooms. While the room was fine some of the shared areas could need some cleaning. For intance the handles at the stairs where genuinly sticky.

    The room was clean and the beds quite alright. The staff was friendly. Keeping the fair price in mind this was an excellent choice of a Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Well located on public transport links from Zone 2 into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel WiFi signal in room 30 but managed to pick up free WiFi from KFC across the road.

    Well located on public transport links from Zone 2 into the city. Lovely rooms with all kinds of little touches like the artwork and coasters and hot sauce and throws! Great communal area with complementary tea and coffee and access to honesty bar should it be required! Breakfast was brilliant! Simple but tasty range of food. Have already recommended this hotel to others.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quirky and had a lovely atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding. There were plenty of nice towels and complimentary chocolate bars, water and a pot of chilli sauce. They have the option of continental breakfast which was very good for and on,y an additional £5.00. The staff are really nice I will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no AC in the room, had to pay deposit which did not mention on the booking. When reserved the room İ particularly asked for a quiet room. The room was looking at the main road and we could not sleep until the morning as it was very noisy. Very far from centre of the city

    Close to bus stop and restaurants, clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and reasonably priced hotel in central Camberwell
    • Group
    • Deluxe En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors and stairs could do with some redecoration.

    Friendly atmosphere ,efficient staff, very clean and cool room and a good choice of food at breakfast. Ideal location for visiting family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Church Street Hotel is a funky, friendly and comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the top floor. It wasn't en-suite and there were a lot of stairs

    At an extra cost of £5 the excellent breakfast fare was an absolute bargain and I was glad that I took the option. I also liked the idea of an honesty bar with a book for guests to record whatever drinks they'd had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful quirky hotel, fantastic staff and customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcoming staff, absolutely loved the communal bar and complimentary tea and coffee! Also chocolate in the bedroom also complimentary! I left my cardigan in the room and they very quickly arranged to send it to me. Great stay, great service, wonderful atmosphere, would def stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    We wanted to stay somewhere personal and characterful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to stay somewhere personal and characterful. This was just so perfect, friendly staff, beautiful rooms with attention to all the little details that go such along way to make your stay special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The property and rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The neighborhood appears to have deteriorated a bit since our last stay. 2. It’s pretty far out from central London. 3. Our room was only serviced once during our three night stay and we were only given 1 oz each of shampoo and conditioner for 2 grown women for three nights even though we asked for more. 4. We booked an air conditioned room but had none. The weather was fine with the oscillating fan and the window open but being in a community neighborhood it was very loud until well past midnight and then again early in the AM.

    The property and rooms are clean...absolutely no problems in that area!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Fun location but too many stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room (Especial)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were nonchalant and the breakfast ok but service slow. It was more like a quirky up,market hostel than a hotel. Too many stairs and no lift for an older person. Having to go down to the Havana lounge for coffee and tea was a pain- why no kettle in rooms. Recommended for the young and free spirited, less for oldies.

    Excellent location. Comfy beds. The decor as others have indicated is great fun and our bathroom was a work of art. The chocolate in the room was yummy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is positioned on Camberwell Church Street and you...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blinds in the bedroom gave privacy but didn't block out much light. Parking is available in some church grounds a short walk away - it costs £10 - nothing they can do about it as there is no on-site parking but you do need to display a voucher to park which you have to pick up from the hotel - it would be better if they emailed you the voucher so you could print it off at home - or gave the church your registration number.

    The hotel is positioned on Camberwell Church Street and you enter straight into the foyer from the street. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. It is nicely decorated and an interesting building with 'nooks and crannies'. There is no lift but staff will help with luggage up stairs if you need it. My room was a small double so not much room to move around but perfectly adequate. The shower worked efficiently. The room faced the side of the building so quite quiet. The bed was clean and comfortable. Hot drinks, at no charge, can be taken at any time from the bar area on the first floor. There is also an honesty book for you to write down any alcoholic drinks or snacks you might take and they will add those to the bill. I asked for a wake-up call which came on time. The continental breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Mediterranean oasis in Camberwell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Mediterranean atmosphere and décor is so authentic that I expected to look out from the breakfast room and see an infinity pool rather than Camberwell Church Street. Ah well...,you can’t have everything.

    This is a lovely hotel which, unbelievably, creates a relaxed Mediterranean atmosphere in the unlikely setting of Camberwell! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the décor immaculate and the continental breakfast lovely. It is outstanding value for money, and the chocolate and hot sauce were a lovely touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly great staff. Handy to everything. Plenty of buses within short walk to go anywhere. Great Italian restaurant 4 minutes walk. Clean. Level one nice community room. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff helped me learn how to get to the hotel cheaply by using the bus!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was quite a drive from the sites I'd hoped to see, and the descriptor ("Southwark") did not prepare me for the traffic, time, and cost by Uber to travel there. I should have checked to see whether the hotel was served by a Tube line (it isn't). In addition, the stairs are quite steep and the rooms are quite close together; the person next door allowed his door to slam shut at 4:00am, waking me up. Further, I wish they had had a better array of gluten free breakfast items.

    The staff were helpful in helping me know how to get from the hotel to central London by bus -- a great savings. Additionally, the hotel featured excellent taste in its shampoo and soap - l'Occitane!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Quirky, clean, small rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It has very steep, narrow stairs, no lift and no air-con. If you are not fit enough to climb 3 flights of stairs, have large luggages or there is a heatwave, you should reconsider.

    Needed to stay somewhere quiet and close to transport. It was the perfect choice, I could easily commute, it was clean and the staff was more than helpful. The decor was exactly like in the pictures, very unique and beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the system for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room (Especial)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the system for drinks was good. The only real downside was the inevitable problem that the installation of bathrooms had reduced the room size, oh, and the TV controls seemed to be a type of game.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean comfortable local hotel with good bus links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have tea and coffee making in rooms rather than the communal area. However the communal area and honestly bar is a good sociable space

    The staff are excellent. The rooms comfortable and very clean. Don’t be put off by the staircase area which needs redecoratingthe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous little hotel - a real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a quirky little hotel with very friendly staff. I loved it. The décor is really nice, the bed was nice and comfy. The £5 breakfast was a real bonus with lovely fresh croissants, homemade jams, gluten free cereals and organic teas. I stayed for two nights whilst I was on a course in London and I would DEFINITELY stay here again :-D

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok but could have been better.

    Has a very Spanish/Mexican feel. Nicely decorated and very handy for the West End-bus drops you virtually outside-don't bother with the tube-its a long way to the Tube station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Quirky hotel with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky hotel with lots of character. Lovely room with comfy bed. The complimentary water and chocolate was a nice touch. We also liked the lounge area with honesty bar, but didn’t get to spend long enough in the hotel to make use of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Exceeded expectations and wonderful to be trusted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin plug did not work properly.

    Loved the quirky decor. The bed was super comfortable. On arrival the room was very cold but the heating worked instantaneously and efficiently. We loved the tiles in the bathroom. Absolutely loved the bar and being trusted to pay. Superb. And the croissants WERE fantastically good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Will return, but with a different room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 6a. Common areas are entirely out of character with the Cuban Mexican vibe, more like Auntie Doris's 2-up-2-down in Neasden.

    Ambient is cool, concept is terrific, common areas depressing, Room 6a to be avoided. Staff fabulous, breakfast great in cheerful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location for Kings Hospital. London.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy road. Lots of stairs

    Chose the location as only a slow pace 15 minute walk to Kings hospital, which was the purpose of our visit. Lots of places to eat in waking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Group
    • Deluxe En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better

    Great staff and very friendly. Loved the room and the coffee room was a great idea. Will always look for this hotel and will recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilation could be improved.

    The staff is very friendly and the room was clean. The hotel is on a busy street, but the room was on a side, so not that loud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for the wedding we were going to at Southwark registry office.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room (Especial)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The remote for the TV wouldn't turn it off needed to pull the plug out- minor irritation.

    The friendly helpfulness of the staff was exceptional. Loved the jam pots on the breakfast table!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    For price range it was good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous large room with bar and a loyalty book to record what was drunk Helpful staff DVDs available to watch in rooms Nice Turkish restaurant across the road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    A little gem of a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely surprise! A great central location, very clean, great staff and nice room. The continental breakfast was excellent value and very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome. Convenient location for our London visit. Excellent transport links nearby. Car parking if required (£10 per night) Excellent buffet breakfast. Interesting Mexican decor! Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Would not return or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website states continental & cooked breakfast which was rated 10/10 by a Times reviewer. The only cooked items were extremely hard-boiled eggs & DIY toast. Bed was uncomfortable, washbasin was cracked. Noisy from creaking floorboards above & outside the room.

    Cleanliness. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel A*
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a main road so a bit noisy but I guess that's just London for you !

    Very clean and had all you needed for a comfortable stay in London. Great facilities friendly helpful staff couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, great location, just need aircon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very stuffy and only had a small fan. When opened windows all could hear was the sound of generators

    The staff were brilliant, could not do enough for us! Even served breakfast early in time for me to leave to take part in the London marathon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Cute little hotel with personal touch and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for 5 £ was awesome!!! You should definitely get it! The personnel was super super friendly and we had a cute gift in our room. Definitely coming back when visiting London next time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    very pleased with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was that their card machine wasn't working when I came to pay and I had to sign an authorisation form so that they could take the money later. I was a bit reluctant to do this but didn't really have a choice. Obviously this wasn't the hotels fault

    Everything was perfect, the room and breakfast and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved and enjoyed our stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little more variety such as fruit and more choice of cereal, but for £5 it was good.

    Lovely cozy hotel, had loads of character loved the uniqueness of it, comfy warm and really friendly, loved the little special touches like chocolate and homemade chilli sauce in jars in your room, and choice of dvds for your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    It was a fun, friendly and personal hotel. I liked it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were teeny tiny, but pretty well laid out and equipped given their size.

    The hotel was charming with quirky little personal touches. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The breakfast was quite good and the honor bar/dvd library/lounge was a nice touch enabling guests to stretch out a bit and meet one another. It was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    great quirky friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in the centre of london, quirky and arty with really friendly staff. Rooms today and pleasant and all individually decorated. Honesty bar was a nice touch as well and breakfast was great. I've stayed here before and I will certainly stay again and recommend to other people when they are in london.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel. The Spanish Americana feel is a treat for the eyes! Continental buffet breakfast was amazing, the handmade and locally sourced bread, jams and pastries were delicious! Would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Quirky Mexican themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and a bit small and there was no vegan alternatives to breakfast

    Quirky, unique, lots of little extras (free hot sauce, chocolate, occitane toiletries and homemade jams) and lovely Mexican tiled bathroom and icon pictures

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly eccentric, with friendly staff and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room (Especial)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and double bed on the small side. No tea/coffee in room facilities.

    Pleasantly eccentric, with friendly staff and trust-the-guests self service bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Quirky hotel; a tiny bit on the expensive side for the space you get, but overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tiny bit expensive for quite a small space

    Friendly staff and a genuinely quirky hotel with a strange design that makes you feel like you're walking through a wheel of cheese.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel.. will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. Requested a quiet room and was on main road very noisy to sleep

    Very very friendly staff, Very clean,cute, great location, rooms had great character, great little features in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are clean, it is quirky and a bit of a warren
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a small window 6 feet up the wall which looked into a brick wall 2 foot away. It gave the room no natural light, and scary re a fire. I have stayed at the hotel numerous times and this was the oddest room

    The rooms are clean, it is quirky and a bit of a warren

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Somewhere to sleep close to the hospital
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor for price my daughter joined me, they charged me another £180 just for a double bed which I could have had on the original booking, service poor no breakfast not very clean, self service bar 🤔 expensive

    Location for hospital only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Highly impressed with comfort, staff, breakfast. Close to Kings College Hospital
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A baby crying in the room next door woke me up early!

    I am fussy but was really impressed: Super comfortable bed was really appreciated. I had a bath full of hot water when I arrived at nearly midnight. The breakfast was excellent quality with lovely fresh bread, great strong tea, proper fresh butter. I met 5 staff and all were wonderfully friendly and helpful. Gold star to the staff chap In the breakfast room. Thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    A decent B and B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not close by as indicated and was advised I had to pay £10. Didn't bother with the parking at the end.

    Liked the location. It was easy to get to the city via public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Warm and friendly. I would stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm, friendly place with cute details and great willingness to make one as comfortable as possible. The eclectic theme of the place and tasteful set-up made it a whole new experience. I didn’t want lo leave!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs but no lift. This is a very minor point for me but could be an issue for someone with mobility problems.

    Lovely hotel. Very clean and comfortable room. Lots of extra touches. DVD player and library. Great breakfast. Near lots of restaurants and shops. Very convenient for King's College Hospital and Denmark Hill station, easy walking distance. Helpful staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Location served our purpose nicer than travel lodge
    • Group
    • Superior King Room (Especial)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very soundproof . Although we expected it to be noisy outside due to location .it was quite noisy inside.

    Lounge/Bar area very nice. Rooms interesting. Quirky. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not having tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. Would prefer these in the room rather than in the bar area.

    Clean room. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    Overall very disappointed in hotel due to dishonesty and poor management I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being overcharged, the management said breakfast was not included but I paid for breakfast in the booking... Management knew they were over charging but would not resolve this issue or call me back to discuss the over charge.. would not use the hotel again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    The style and feel of the place - very quirky/boutique -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to walk to the guest lounge to get a cup of tea - facilities in the room would be nice Gluten free muesli was disgusting - give me gluten if that is the alternative!! Not the hotels fault but we were woken up by very noisy guests as 2.30am The room door was not a great fit so noise travelled in from the corridor easily. This was a shame, but not significant enough to prevent me visiting again as I liked everything else

    The style and feel of the place - very quirky/boutique - different to anything else you'll find in London. The guest lounge with tea, coffee and honesty bar is fabulous Staff were very friendly and helpful - great recommendation for local restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Really fantastic, will definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was up 4 flights of stairs so this wouldn’t be the best place for somebody with mobility problems

    The staff was excellent and the breakfast a real bargain for £5. There are hundreds of dvds to borrow for free which was a really nice touch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok but with hidden extras.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was continental an English would have been more appealing.As it was we ate elswhere.

    I would stay again and the only complaint is that they advertise parking but fail to tell you its a ten minute walk away and is an extra £10 per night .Naughty

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was absolutely amazing. The location was lovely and there is more than enough transportation to get you where you need to be. Lovely pubs, restaurants, shops around. I can’t thank the staff enough for such a beautiful stay. So beautiful and full of lovley quirks. Thank you. I will definitely stay again. Thank you xxxx Scarlett

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy. Was easy to hear other guests entering / exiting rooms in close proximity.

    Nice size room, comfy bed, shower had decent power. Clean. Friendly staff. Although there was no in-room tea / coffee making facility, there was a lovely communal area where you could help yourself to free teas/coffees all day. There was also drinks and snacks available at an extra cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    The theme was nice and the honesty bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could of been earlier or the option to take something with me seeing as I’d paid for it but had to leave early to go to work.

    The theme was nice and the honesty bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Served its purpose and will certainly tell others about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would liked to have known how steep and awkward the stairs are, would have asked for room on the lowest floor.

    Bed very comfortable, linen and towels lovely, toiletries excellent. Very varied and tasty continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Cheap, accessible and quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the members of staff was quite rude to another member of staff in front of us when we arrived and I found this quite unprofessional. It made the atmosphere quite tense. However, we did not come across anything like this again for the rest of our stay. Perhaps that person was having a bad day but would hope in future she wouldn't behave that way in front of guests.

    Everything we needed, lots of buses to city centre. Lots of amenities close to hotel. Amazing cheap falafel just next door and Theo's pizza is just across from the hotel also. We shared a bathroom with other rooms and found it to be always clean and tidy no matter what time of day we used it. Perfect for a quick stay and for a young couple. Would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Church Street Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: