Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Churchill Arms

Paxford, Chipping Campden, GL55 6XH, United Kingdom

#5 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Chipping Campden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    The food was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isn’t the best but there are plenty of streets nearby that you can park on.

    The food was fantastic! My husband had the Sirloin steak and said it was the best he had ever had. The staff were very attentive and the rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, close to many beautiful villages in one of the best parts of the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small and the shower pressure is not the strongest but hey, this is the English tradition 😎

    Waking up to the view of the chapel and fields is a memorable experience. The staff were very courteous and helpful at all times. The meal we had there was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to our liking

    Very good country style location. Easy access to major towns and right on public footpaths. We had a great walk to Ebrington and Hidcote. The staff were particularly helpful and went out of their way to help with luggage and anything we required. The evening meal was excellent, a very good chef. It is a very popular dining destination and its reputation is well deserved

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed many aspects, but would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen help slamming doors at the end of the night, no heat turned on although it was chilly at night, tiny room with limited hanging area, bathroom floor not cleaned as well as it might have been each day.

    Great hot water, good food although the continental breakfast was the same every day. Nice staff. Lovely location, and very comfortable bed. Great to have a refrigerator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young barman at the Churchill Arms was incredibly, helpful and attentive. The food was lovely and although small, the room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Very good for a country stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little temperamental

    Everything else was lovely. The view was absolutely stunning, couldn't beat the location. The breakfast (although paid for) was very good. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was poor. The units were fine but the combination of irregular ceiling, low jutting roof and steps from wash basin to toilet was dangerous. Breakfast included apparently means you have to pay for a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Fairhurst-Groethe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the toilet didn’t work well at all. Poor water pressure. Came out steaming hot. Definitely something that needs to be fixed.

    Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and polite. Rooms were clean and tidy. Bed was so comfortable! Breakfast was yummy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet entering the bathroom was starting to pill up and could become a trip hazard soon. Also, if you are not good on stairs you might not like this place, all rooms are upstairs.

    Comfortable and spacious rooms. Lovely views out of the window of the country side and the staff were very friendly. Nice touches of local fresh milk and water in the refrigerator and the best little biscuits I have had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey for dining, too pricey for a cooked breakfast (£10.50 per person); toiletries were too mean, toilet didn’t flush properly, not worth the value of one nights b&b; no car parking; I think this place only focus on dining not accommodation - really disappointed

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The whole visit was memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more hanging space and shelving in the bathroom would be welcome.

    This is a well run establishment. The room small but with a very comfortable bed. It was also clean. The food is outstanding. The staff attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    great pub, amazing food, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only drawback is there is no car park so need to park on the village road & therefore space is at a premium. however we found a place to park every night.

    food was amazing. staff were very friendly & helpful. a great pub. location was ideal for exploring the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Great pub, great breakfast, great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and dog-friendly room with nice view over fields. Staff very helpful and cheery. Quite excellent breakfast. We’ll stay again and next time have dinner there - it looked good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was at extra cost. Low water pressure meant shower was little more than a dribble.

    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Evening meals excellent. Clean towels daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Great food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and lacked wardrobe hanging space for clothes. Only had feather pillows and quilt, without an alternative for allergies.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, and the food was of a high standard. The service was of a high standard, and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This looks like a village pub that you could spend a happy evening in. It isn't. It's actually an overpriced restaurant with no place for guests to sit and relax. To meet up with some friends we had to drive to the next village. The booking claimed that breakfast was included. This was only partly true. If you wanted the normal UK B&B cooked breakfast you have to pay another £10 each. I think this is deceitful and unacceptable. The room was very small though I guess the owners can't easily do.much about this. (Low scores given to all categories to highlight how these bad aspects.)

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well furnished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our room was right above an extractor fan or refridgeration unit which ran non-stop and periodically went into overdrive, this kept me awake for most of the night. We were also right above the rubbish bins which smelled foul. The extractor fan in the bathroom had to be turned off by a switch on the ceiling so we had to stand on the toilet to switch it off. The buffet breakfast consisted of 3 types of cereal, bread for toasting, some jams and marmalade and a bowl of yogurt and some pureed fruits, all were left uncovered apart from the cereals and were attracting flies.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was very good quality. The room was nicely decorated, if a little bright. The complimentary toiletries were very nice and also of good quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location, huge comfy bed, bath as well as shower,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and cramped. This was our second visit and this time the restaurant was super crowded with a long wait and chaotic with staff under a lot of pressure. Although breakfast was listed as included in the room rate, cooked items cost extra - I don’t remember this from last time

    Lovely location, huge comfy bed, bath as well as shower, good food, nice outside area, friendly, beautiful views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Small charming inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is continental and you have to pay extra for full English breakfast. But we appreciate that the jam was homemade.

    Very charming rooms with excellent bed linen and towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incorrect WiFi password and breakfast times in the bedroom information book. Noise from road outside during the night, pub air conditioning by the window and thin walls between bedrooms and stairs. Dirty stair carpet and pub seemed a bit grubby so didn’t eat there in the evening. Very small cramped bedroom and bathroom with no storage. Non-thermostatic shower giving freezing cold and very hot water at random. Leaking shower glass allowing water onto floor and down through gap in flooring under loo. No safe pub car park. Included breakfast was only continental which was contrary to the expection from the pub website. Not in Chipping Campden as advertised by booking.com.

    Sheep and church view from the bedroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed, lovely touches like an excellent fresh...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right outside the pink room was a noisy box on the wall, that was either a dehumidifier or air conditioning associated with the beer cellar (I asked). It was on all the time, either a low humming or at various points quite a lot of noise. It really spoilt the peace and quiet!

    Very comfortable bed, lovely touches like an excellent fresh coffee machine and fresh milk. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely pub great food lovely staff lovely room just not quiet enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the exposed floor boards in the bedroom make it feel like your still in the bar. And once bar is finally shut you can hear clear up as well as the set up in morning with music on so no lie ins. Unless your a late to bed early riser this is not the hotel for you. Food yes but not sleep.

    The great staff and lovely green out the back to relax on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Bed comfy, breakfast was good, pleasant surroundings, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room didn’t work. Shower poor and no soap in bathroom. The room was very small, staff tried to charge us for breakfast when it was included in tariff. No car park. Over priced for what it was.

    Bed comfy, breakfast was good, pleasant surroundings, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly and helpful staff but room's bathroom needs some maintenance work done.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan did not work. Shower too low for me to wash my hair and I am not the tallest. Toilet roll holder was broken. Toilet took a very long time to fill after flushing. Pillows also very flat.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Quaint pub with rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so hot, no fan or air con. Location was 2 miles from Chipping Camden when I thought I was in the centre of town! Not clear when booked. Albeit it was a lovely little gastro pub with rooms, if you like the quaint English pub theme. Need a car to get to and around the area.

    Lovely clean linen, excellent food, quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at the Churchill Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no car park but as it is in a quiet village we managed to park on the road outside.

    Lovely pub/bistro with rooms above in a quaint Cotswold village. Excellent Food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place in a quaint old village :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic place and wonderful people. Food also excellent. Tucked away in the countryside with beautiful scenery all around. Would definitely recommend staying on your visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    We were absolutely gutted to have to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really small negative mark regarding the bed. Could probably do with a new one in the room we stayed, with some firmer pillows. Easily remedied.

    Staff outstanding, friendly and helpful. Food was way beyond our expectations and the breakfast included within the room rate is arguably the best we’ve ever had. Good choice between cooked and cereals, while also accommodating to orders that may not be on the menu!! Sunday lunch just as good, in fact every meal we had was a joy. Chipping Campden is a lovely, livelier town a very short ride (or long walk) away. Good location to visit many towns or villages within a 20 minute drive or nearer - Broadway, Bourton On The Water (tourist heavy), Upper & Lower Slaughter. An excellent base for a short stay in the Cotswolds. We plan to visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, welcoming, comfortable – and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little small in size – there was nowhere really to put our cases. We could have done with a couple more teabags and couldn't work out how to work the coffee machine (no instructions and the pods seemed too large). We could have asked, but felt the staff were probably busy and it seemed a bit trivial. Otherwise, all was perfect.

    Lovely, attentive staff who managed to combine friendliness and professionalism. Excellent and imaginative food. Wonderfully comfortable, generously sized bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here! The location is great - right across from a beautiful field with a walking path. The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds. The star is the restaurant though. The service was incredible - Peter took every effort to make sure everything was perfect. The space is warm and inviting with a wood burning stove and great decorations. The food was exceptional. We went with the beef Wellington but wanted to order everything on the menu. We highly recommend staying here. Can’t wait to come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Room is nicely decorated, full of charm and attention to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear a lot of noise from the bar coming through floorboards. Now this didn't bother us at all as we were in the bar most of evening anyway and it's not a rowdy pub. But if you wanted an early night it might be a bit of a problem. Also the small travel hairdryer is rubbish! Anomoly as all the others details in the room are spot on!

    Room is nicely decorated, full of charm and attention to small details like fresh milk in fridge, nice products supplied. Food in the bar was YUM. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin bedroom walls. I could hear the neighbour snoring all night. No sink stopper.

    welcoming staff, comfortable bed and a good evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay in this friendly pub in it’s beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night in our room but we know the building is old and had no sound proofing

    The friendliness of the owner Nick and all his support staff. Loved the food and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing friendly family atmosphere - good service and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't want to criticise as we had such a lovely weekend but the only thing would be that the water for showers was not very hot - though we do appreciate this can be a problem in old buildings.

    Amazing food! Both in the evening and breakfasts. The staff were really nice and friendly including the owner. This place is a real find!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed stay. Need to return to sample the wonderful pub food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame that the pub was closed the night we stayed. I was aware of this but surprised that with The Churchill Arms having such a good reputation with chef that it is not open every day.

    The bed was so comfortable. I have an issue with my back and therefore most people think I need a firm bed but as have a curved spine it needs to mould. Coffee machine was excellent addition and décor of room excellent. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Could be amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size quite small and although we had a great view across countryside, we had a bin area directly below our window which was not good. Also no wardrobe in room just 2 coat hangers on hooks on wall. We booked a superior double with window seat and chair in corner and I don't think we got that. They offer a cooked breakfast which was lovely but no cereals which I have never come across before. We did ask for cereal but were told they did not have any only to walk past the waitress tucking into cornflakes when we checked out half an hour later.

    Beautifully decorated room. Very comfy bed with quality bedding. Lovely location. We enjoyed our food which we had with a great bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon. The waiter gave exceptional service and is a credit to them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bar was very loud in room - not only could you hear the voices but also follow the conversations. Not for you if you are planning to spend some time in room watching tv. No hot water for bath in the evening. No cereal, fruit etc. or usual continental options for breakfast - not offered toast and no orange juice available. Very disappointing for money.

    Nice room with comfy bed. Coffee machine in room. Superb evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Classic country charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paxford is a tiny hamlet of Chipping Camden. The Inn is opposite open fields and a picturesque chapel. Our room was upstairs over the small pub, with a fine view, beautifully finished room and full bath, huge towels. Next time we come to visit Cotswolds and Shakespeare country we'll make this our primary location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of rubbish bins near garden entrance.

    Friendly and efficient staff, excellent food, dinner was exceptional every mouthful to be savoured. Breakfast had a fresh twist - no marmalade but beautiful strawberry jam! Lovely bacon and fresh eggs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    wonderful food served by friendly and helpful staff - we had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was a little noisy being just above the bar. The bathroom in our room (blue room) is also rather old fashioned

    the evening meal and breakfast were both superb and could not be faulted

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous staff, fabulous food, fabulous ambiance. Just what you want from a good English pub/restaurant and more! Totally refreshing to have a true bit of England at its best. The fish soufflé is to die for. The chef understands what good food means! The staff are young, and awesome! It's back to basics at its best and we loved every minute of it. Please don't change a thing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice country pub with rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room over pub and restaurant was very noisy. A table below was having a celebration, drank too much, was loud and didn't leave until after closing hours.

    Lovely, friendly place - staff and customers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Mixed feelings about a gastropub with 2 rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on narrow road only - ok if you arrive early, though would be difficult if you arrived when many pub/restaurant visitors. Breakfast doesn't start early enough if needing to leave before 8. Room noisy as above restaurant - ok if you're in the restaurant till closed! We decided to eat in restaurant - it was a theme night. We wanted to have a drink and eat at the time we believed possible and booked. We were not allowed to sit at any of the tables laid for dinner and other than a small window bench and 2 or 3 bar stools (already taken) this meant standing for nearly an hour - it was crowded and extremely noisy as large groups greeted and tried to converse - and no one seemed able to explain what the delay was. It seemed rather cliquey - possibly because many diners were regulars - not welcoming for strangers. Tables shoehorned into too small a space as additional covers were accepted and tables brought in from outside.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating (easpecially the young man who checked us in and served breakfast). Breakfast prepared especially before normal opening time. Special themed evening meal taken - prepared to make changes for dietary requirements. Good quality food. Small room - but ok for one night. Bed huge and very comfy. Good toiletries. Peaceful village location - lovely country surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Quaint village stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom above the pub was loud on a Saturday night and the noise continued past midnight. The bed mattress was a bit too bouncy.

    Staff was exceptionally friendly and the food was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Perfectly picturesque escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the perfect 'escape' set in a picture book location. Staff very friendly and helpful, and the food excellent. Owner, and chef, Nick, a real star!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful place and well looked after, Stunning room. Forget to mention the small leak on toilet as it soaked the toilet roll. Not a problem just meant to tell them and forgot. Defiantly going back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous find in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room in a quaint country pub in Paxford- short drive from Chipping Campden. Well equipped room - coffee machine, kettle, free bottled water, high quality linen and towels and lovely toiletries. High quality furnishings. Room included breakfast which was excellent, and cooked to order. Amazing value for money. Definitely eat in the restaurant - food is superb and staff are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't very strong

    King sized bed was extremely comfortable very welcome after a red eye flight from California. Most delicious breakfast and staff were all fantastic. Beautiful property in a lovely little village. Just everything we hoped for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.1
    Good village inn 2 miles out of Chipping Campden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having The Churchill Arms listed by booking.com as under Chipping Campden when it is in Paxford 2 miles away was confusing and could have been a real problem had we come without a car.

    Very good food. Friendly and helpful young staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Ver y pleasant & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from upstairs in the room was a bit irritating. Some sound proofing will help.

    The staff was very courteous & helpful. When we arrived, the staffer on duty helped us with the bags upstairs to the room. The room was comfy with a breathtaking view of the church and the countryside with sheep grazing. Food at the pub was excellent & served in good style. The bar was also well stocked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    A really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't think that they could improve on anything, to be honest.

    The food was top quality. All the staff were friendly and attentive and made us feel very welcome. The atmosphere was relaxed and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing overnight stay at the week end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the staff when we enquire about the lack of hot water. The fact that the pub is closed Sunday night and Monday all day.

    Good breakfast and quiet location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place, food and people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that was a real problem. If I was being really picky; had a problem parking on arrival but moved the cars closer later on and the bedrooms are over the bar, but you must expect a little background noise for goodness sake, its a country pub and unless you are going to bed at 6pm...

    Cant fault this place. Had a lovely afternoon out, went back to the Churchill to check in. Nothing was too much trouble. Peter was very obliging and welcoming on our arrival, during breakfast and bidding farewell on our departure. The dining experience was fantastic. All four of us were more than satisfied with the quality of the food, the service and happy to pay a bill that reflected this. Amazing rooms, very comfy beds and good facilities. Never met Nick but he was very busy given the place was packed during our visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Great pub with fabulous food and drink, as good as it gets at the price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for a pub with rooms and fantastic food with a great selection of wines and beers then this is it. You will not better the food at this price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Beatifully furnished rooms and excellent food in an old pub in a small village in the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A window in one bedroom didn't close properly, but it shut well enough for the room to stay warm. Breakfast starting at 9am was a bit late for visitors wishing to spend the day walking, but the landlord agreed to start at 8.30 for us.

    The room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished to compliment the exposed beams. The toiletries were very nice and we appreciated them being in large bottles. The food in the restaurant/bar was excellent and we appreciated the wood-burning stove in the hearth.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooked breakfast was good but would have liked to see cereal or fresh fruit on the menu. I did ask if they had cereal and they obliged but with only one choice available.

    Warm & toasty room - a really comfy bed and the Sunday lunch was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    We would return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could have been better in the room and the noise of the bar downstairs was quite loud.

    We loved the comfort of the bed and the breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.1
    Cozy but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy when pub is open. Room was way too small for 2 people, no cleaning in between days. Yet I would not be saying this if the rate were not as high. Also, you can't get anywhere on foot.

    Breakfast: amazing and abundant. The two guys who served us were very efficient and friendly. One also made a remarkable espresso. Good toiletries and nespresso machine in the room added a touch of elegance and comfort.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps comfy chairs around the wood burner.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was very tasty if a little pricey but worth it. Lovely old pub with a wood burning stove. Would go back again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic Bed and Breakfast located in The Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything for us was perfect and I honestly could not criticise anything at all.

    Fantastic food, excellent service, friendly andcattentive staff. Accommodation for bed and breakfast was first class, and breakfast was superb. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay in the Cotswolds
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could of done with more bathroom toiletries i.e., soap, shower cap, bubble bath.

    Very friendly staff, the room was lovely and the food in the pub was excellent. Very clean and the beds very comfortable. Beautiful hamlet, I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Staff were super attentive and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super attentive and friendly....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay and really enjoyed dinner. Staff was excellent. Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have fruit in a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast and comfortable bed
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure

    Breakfast and comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Worthwhile to stay when visiting The Cotswold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly, the food excellent.Only remark the room was a bit small. But we had e God time

    Friendlyness of the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location. Excellent choice of beers. Fantastic food, evening meal and breakfast. Excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable, accommodations were great and the dinning room provided excellent meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were young, friendly and very helpful. They made you feel welcomed from the moment you stepped in the door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and peaceful, friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact room and bathroom

    Excellent and friendly staff Wonderful food... Very clean Fridge in room with proper milk...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Cotswolds stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room.was very small

    Staff were lovely, continental breakfast was good and the bed and pillows were very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room with fabulous view of countryside, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with fabulous view of countryside, very comfortable. Staff were very friendly, excellent customer service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff lovely, bed and room amazing. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    FOOD WAS FAB NOT TOO COMPLICATED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FOOD WAS FAB NOT TOO COMPLICATED

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Country pub, quiet and historical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite hot but only a minor problem

    Quiet location, very scenic. Staff were lovely and the restaurant superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in a lovely bedroom
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was bright yellow and the shower was intermittent.

    The room was super comfy with a huge bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay with a fabulous restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff and the restaurant is amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75