Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Churchill Hotel 4 stars

65 Bootham, York, YO30 7DQ, United Kingdom

#19 of 46 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2065 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    We came for the races , I was a resident of York for many years and always wanted Tom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn’t like,, the only thing I’d suggest is in this heat of the summer of 2018 maybe a fan in the rooms or possibly aircon ? I found it a tad hot as there was no air - but that’s a very minor criticism .

    The decor was modern but in keeping with the property the room was smaller than I expected but had everything you could need and was very comfortable . The breakfasts were amazing beautiful toast and butter and excellent food all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotel but a bit pricey for a room with no window , only a skylight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No View from room only Skylight, felt a bit claustrophobic, Carpets in Hallways rather worn and dirty looking

    Stylish Hotel , lovely staff, short walk into York. very nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay very much despite some shortcomings at the Churchill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room comfortable but very small. Problem with a constant whistling noise was not sorted out satisfactorily. We were refunded our 2 days parking fee as a gesture when we complained.

    The Churchill was spotlessly clean but the room was very small and the water system was whistling all night. The staff were not entirely helpful about this and supplied us with earplugs for the second night. Parking was useful and a short walk into the town was great. Unfortunately we went out in the evening when football-mania meant a lot of drunks were on the streets - not your fault!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    We stayed for a two day break after our wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for a two day break after our wedding. The rooms were amazing, staff were friendly and couldnt do any more to help, we will definitely look at coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and great location . I would stay at the hotel if visiting York again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a £10 charge for parking .

    Great location , close to city centre and I was given good directions to find hotel . Staff were helpful and friendly . Interesting hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very dark and a bit claustraphobic. We had room by linen/bin area, which was noisy in the mornings.

    Not far into York. Room comfortable and staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    The style and theme of the property & the Churchill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly through my own doing but our room was downstairs in the new part so didn’t feel at atmospheric as I had hoped. However, we were right next to the bar!! 👍👍

    The style and theme of the property & the Churchill touches throughout. Great attention to detail. Within perfect distance of York centre - but away from the busy areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic experience - highly recommended hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is excellent, accommodations and grounds are lovely. Staff are super friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is fantastic. Overall great experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Warm and friendly and ideally placed for visiting central York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door didn't lock but not a major issue and didn't affect our stay.

    Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Location couldn't have been better. Very easy to get to and get out of York from when driving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and would certainly book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised to be charged for parking, although flagged up before our stay. Having said that, the almost centre of town location was excellent. Small double room was smallish, but fine for a few days stay.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Two nights at The Churchill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the reception and dining area was beautiful. I wished the bedrooms matched THAT decor, they were very nice and light but the opposite of the beautiful reception. We were located next to the train tracks but the windows did a great job of blocking out the noise :) The bed was extremely comfortable and the location of the hotel was almost central but simultaneously quiet which is the best of both worlds! Even though I don't smoke I found Churchill's Cigar Bunker adorable and the kitkats you get with your teabags were a perfect treat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location, with very polite, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't need the radiator or the towel rail on during such lovely weather.

    Loved the decor. There was plenty of hot water. And the KitKat's were a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, short walk to York, bars and restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff on Reception on arrival was not up to parr with all other staff on the front desk, bar and restaurant which wasnt a good first impression. After that however all good.

    Good location, short walk to York, bars and restaurants. History of hotel, cleanliness and great staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay, hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar closed earlier than we would have liked, but they were ok with us drinking our own wine so that wasn't a problem.

    Loved our stay, hotel was perfect. We were four adults staying in the "family" rom and we found it all very comfortable. The smoking shelter is excellent, only one of us actually smokes but all four of us sat out there with our own wine and could happily have stayed all night!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel - good location - short walk away from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was too small - but we are used to a king size so maybe I should have got twin beds .The room was very hot and there was no air conditioning- but the weekend we were there was extremely hot weather and they did provide a fan -we were also able to keep the window open - it wasn’t too noisy . We didn’t have breakfast as we were told it was £14 pp but on check out we saw a breakfast menus showing individual prices for cereal, coffee eggs etc so might be worth asking if you don’t want the full menu

    Nice character hotel - very clean .The location was good- 10-15 mins walk from the main town and a short walk down to the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Not as good as on previous visits.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £10 car parking charge I was not expecting small room with no air conditioning and only a tiny fan provided Surcharges at breakfast

    Helpful staff. Good food at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Booked the Prince of Wales bridal suite
    • Family with young children
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the rather warm bar.

    The hotel was a perfect setting for our wedding 'weekend'. We couldn't fault the bridal suite, it was THE perfect addition! It was spacious enough for me, my 3 bridesmaids plus make-up, hairdresser and photographer. The staff were helpful and attentive and entertained our little girl when she was asking for a Gin & Tonic. We will most definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is air con during a heatwave but the windows do open, can’t have it all , nothing bad though at all

    Comfee , clean, stylish modern meets classic, friendly staff, close to the town , parking onsite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Our first trip to York :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Very lovely hotel :)

    Adored this hotel, perfect distance from one of the many entrance points to walk the wall around York city centre! :) decor was stunning, our room was one of the smaller ones and perfect for what we needed after a day of exploring York :) Staff were really helpful when we arrived and pointed out some nice places to visit too, as this was our first trip to York!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed here awhile back and it was lovely then this time was even better the room was the Prince Albert suite and was lovely I had booked a small double but got this room allocated it was fab no complaints made are stay that extra special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay in york hotel in good location but room and food average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the breakfast was limited if you wanted cereal it was a1.00 more and if you wanted fruit yogurt and muesli it was 6.00 extra if you wanted it as well as your cooked breakfast .

    the hotel was very near the centre of york

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a very nice and large room and nice large bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We had a very nice and large room and nice large bed. High standard. Very good hotel five minutes walk from the York Minster. It was no problem to park our car and had an early check-in. So we had a lot of time to explore York. Nice garden at the hotel for a drink. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    It was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit smelly from the drains. It was a bit noisy from washing machines from early morning.

    Staff and service were excellent, location was excellent. Lovely building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is lovely, immaculately decorated. Beds are comfortable, bath was excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. All the public spaces (reception, restaurants, toilets) are just lovely. Yes even the toilets. The women’s toilet downstairs has a beautiful oil painting in it and real towels to dry your hands. It’s all in the details. The photos on the website are accurate. Close walk into the city walls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park small and awkward to get in and out of and additional £10 per night. Breakfast poor value for money. Room very small.

    Spotlessly clean. Customer service good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely relaxing stay which we will do again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location about 5 - 10 minutes from York Minster which is beautiful. Hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast is excellent a good choice and very good portions. Car parking and a lift. Very quiet. Will be going back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotting the hotel entrance from the road was very tricky. I didn't like the dark corridors though I appreciate that gun metal grey fits with the theme. Being charged for parking.

    The location was fantastic. Very convenient. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant stay in York but won’t be returning to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not superior in anyway. Breakfast was poor and restaurant staff were not very happy at all. Over priced rooms and breakfast!

    It was a clean hotel, great location short walk into town. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Wedding Anniversary Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking when staying overnight i feel the price should be included in your stay. Although it was £10 which is cheaper than parking in the city.

    We stayed here for our 6th wedding anniversary. Fantastic Hotel, on arrival the parking was easy to find and it was not far from the main city centre. On entering the hotel we were early and the room wasnt ready but we were greeted by a lovely reception and told we could still park up and enter into the city or go to the bar we were given a free map and the receptionist high lighted on the map some places of interest. After we came back we were booked in and shown to our room which was beautiful with a bath in the bedroom with a 4 poster bed and a separate shower room with a single wardrobe and a large tv. There was tea and coffee and a kettle and biscuits. There was also a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. We had view of the main street and the front grounds. We had a three course meal which included a bottle of wine and a coffee this was bought for us as a gift voucher from a family member. The meal was amazing and the service was excellent. The 2nd course was served late but the head waiter did come and apologise for the wait three times this didnt bother me as i like to leave a space between the courses. Breakfast was included and the next morning we had a full English although there was a range of choices. The breakfast again was superb and service excellent. The check out was by 11am and we could of left the car in the park until 1pm if we wanted to. I would recommend Churchill Hotel of York my experience here was a lovely and relaxing one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing. Expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise from cars outside the window and other loud guests. No A/C and a hot water pipe in the room meant we had to have the window open at night which is also a security risk. Noise also from A/C units outside the window. Bed was uncomfortable as well.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    I would be happy to stay here again because of the staff, and the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were quite dark, my room was in the cellar with a small window overlooking a bank of grass. The walk to the room was unpleasant as it was through poorly lit corridors (although I think they are trying to create a theme) the carpet leading to the downstairs rooms had seen better days. The room was furnished to create a bunker / wartime theme, but I felt the furnishing was quite cheap for such a historic listed building, and wasn't really in keeping with the building.

    The location was excellent, the Hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were very attentive and polite. The bed was comfy, and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, good hotel, very friendly staff. Did more than we asked for. Good service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a small room, that was okay, but we needed some place to sit quiet. But the lounge was used for parties. So A small extra lounge should be nice.

    We have been her in 2015. The service and the food ! has improved. We are very satisfied about this hotel. The breakfast is very good now and the dinner too. Excellent service from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved York and wished we could have stayed longer. The Churchill Hotel was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t try the restaurant. The room was extremely comfortable. Staff were very responsive. Loved being in a quiet area but within walking distance of the city Centre and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice located that's about it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged £10.00 per night for parking our car in there car park When you are looking at booking this hotel there is no mention of any parking charges . Once you've booked the hotel and can't get your money back it is then mentioned be careful.

    Very good location to York city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and dark with the train passing outside the window which kept us awake if the window was open. Shower room was also tiny. Expected something more like the pictures online. Especially as it was a birthday celebration.

    Location was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Hotel and staff out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff would bend over backwards to help you always smiling nothing was to big for them ask them anything and they had the answers. The hotel what can I say lovely hotel like the way they mixed the old with the new and the location was on top of everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great venue and excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another fantastic stay in a fabulous location. Food is of the highest standard, the staff very friendly and helpful. Ian did a great job of sorting out my booking changes. Will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy by people walking past and corridor door banging but not enough to bother too much

    Excellent facilities, near to city centre, car parking available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for average quality. Frustrating add-on charges.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, winding corridors. Extremely small bedroom. Squeaky bed. Poor extraction in bathroom. Leaking shower door. Unexpected £10 charge to park. Unexpected £1 surcharge (already paid £13.95!) for cereal at breakfast!

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but staff need to be aware of whos booked and who's not! do something about noise 109/111
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise with people passing rooms 109/111, early morn and late nights, was woken a few times, also guy in the breakfast room who had basically asked why we were seated there on the mon morning! Eh because wev booked!

    Lovely hotel but staff in the breakfast area should know who's booked and not whos booked, were made feel quite bad on the Monday when we went for breakfast to be asked why we were sitting in the breakfast room? Apart from that really lovely reception staff, nice room altho a bit small

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, due to an very loud working kitchen ventilator. Strat at 6:00 am and ends at 11 pm!!! Very un satisfied about that!!!

    Very nice old style hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed our stay in a lovely character building, great staff and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tray with kettle,tea and coffee was well stocked but placed in a cupboard which was dark so could have done with a little light inside

    The room we had was lovely, lovely comfy beds and great bathroom. Location is really good as it in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. Staff were all lovely, very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive compared to what's available in the city

    The room was modern, well equipped and really comfy. I was made very welcome and the service was first rate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Found all staff very helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find way into carpark. drove past thinking it was padestrian entrance.

    Found all staff very helpfull and friendly. Superior room was spacious, comfy and quirky which is what i was looking for. Would have no hesitation in booking again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    A good stay but expensive for the room provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite small. Didn't feel it was worth the asking price. By the time we had paid for breakfasts and parking £208 per night.

    Staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The Churchill is in an excellent location for a visit to York but we will not use Booking.com again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After looking at the pictures of the hotel on Booking.com our room was not as expected, the room was clean and we'll equipped but the room did not have a window of only had a sky light. The room was accessed along a dark dingy corridor and was not in the main part of the hotel. We did not feel that it was value for money considering that we had to pay £10 per night for car parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    York is lovely but I wouldn’t return to the Churchill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was quite small (we weren’t given the one shown in the pictures - a double and two singles squeezed in to a small room) with barely enough space for clothes and bags for one person let alone four! The bathroom was nice but the room was quite dusty. Only one window opened and it looked over a central well area so it was hit and noisy with the fans from the kitchen which started around 4.30am and ran until 10.30pm! Didn’t have breakfast because it would have cost £136 for a family of four for two days!!!

    Good location just outside the city walls but an easy walk to the centre and all of the museums. York itself is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in excellent location. Easy to walk into the city from the hotel. Quiet room. Comfy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again. Didn't have breakfast here as there is a good choice of cafes in the city. The restaurant looked good although we didn't eat there. Were only in York for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.0
    It’s a lovely Hotel in a prime position. Such a shame about the lack of privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We noticed people passing our windows and thought nothing of it and then we noticed a small group of staff sat on steps right outside our room having a fag break!! I had to close the curtains in broad daylight in order to get ready to go out.

    Our room was nice. It had plenty of space as it was the family room and just myself and my husband were staying.( The room was on offer).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Imagine this would be a lovely place to have some food but VERY disappointed with our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you're a Hobbit or a Borrower please consider booking a large room at this hotel as the room we had was too small for 2 normal sized adult humans. We felt like we'd been shoved in the broom cupboard. We'd just spent the 2 previous nights at a Premier Inn for the same price as one night here and were very comfortable but were looking forward to what we thought would be a touch of luxury on the last night of our mini break. The building smelt of damp as we were taken through a labyrinth of corridors to get to our room. Room was very small. TV was not fully visible when in bed and bathroom was like a caravan bathroom. My partner had to open the shower door to put his leg somewhere so he could use the toilet. It was a humid day/ night so we opened the window but then had to close it promptly due to the close proximity of a very busy and noisy trainline which made the room even more uncomfortable. We did not sleep well and as a consequence were too tired to do much sightseeing before deciding to start our drive home. It doesn't mention when you book that there was a charge to park at the hotel - £10 a night which I think is a complete rip off! We payed in advance for the room so it was too late to cancel by time we were told this on arrival. With nowhere else convenient to park we felt this was an unfair charge which we had no choice but to pay making our stay even poorer value for money.

    Great convenient location for exploring York.Nice friendly welcome. Lovely smelling toiletries in the room. Bed was comfy but small for 2 adults. Menu looked nice but we decided to eat somewhere else

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller than expected but more than suitable for our needs...

    Lovely looking building great style inside was very quiet at night and fantastic location to work straight into York cente...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, friendly staff and tasteful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very limited, no air con (we had to ask reception for fans as it was so hot), the Room was much smaller than the photos suggested and finally, the room wasn't cleaned very well (there was a random food rapper left in bedroom by the kettle and not all cups were cleaned/replaced in the kettle area). We enjoyed our stay overall but did feel disappointed by these little things given the price.

    Great location, friendly staff and tasteful decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner. Charged about £15 extra per night for breakfast for having my partner stay. Parking is charged at £10 per night - excessive in my opinion.

    Table service breakfast was lovely. Vegetarian breakfast was great. Location was fab - just down the road from York Minster and the Shambles. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Charm and comfort in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a great location with easy access to York city centre plus the added bonus of parking on site. The hotel is charming and beautiful decorated and the hotel staff are courteous, caring and very hospitable which all made it a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked the reception for a plug adapter to charge my phone (I'm from outside the UK), but they didn't have one. However, our bedroom had USB charging docks so that solved the problem.

    Beautiful hotel with the utmost friendly staff! Walking distance towards York center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    great stop on our way to scotland
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that it finihsed so fast

    hello, everyone i truly it's the best location for ana hotel. right there in the centre... the place looks great and the food is top. hope you will base your decision on my review.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    We’ll be back ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con in the room which was ok for May as the window provided enough air but this could be too warm in summer

    The location was unbeatable & the car park allowed flexibility to extend our stay for a few more hours without worrying about trying to find a new car parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, warm and welcoming with great facilities and proximity to York City centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to say about my stay here

    By far the staff at this hotel are it's greatest asset, they were extremely helpful and friendly ! The room I stayed in although small was clean, comfortable and well appointed, would recommend and stay here again of I was in York as its so close to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Great place if you don't want a good sleep or shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for 4 poster room Bed was like a soft hammock and the shower ran out of water when someone else was using water somewhere else, had no pressure was dripping out Chef needs to be banned from the salt shaker I couldn't eat my green vegetable side and the pie only just and I usually add salt to my food We had to fold up a blanket to prop up the middle and it was still feet and heads higher than the middle. Charged me 10 pounds a night to park my car only 1 space left so they made me park in the corner under a tree. I had to wash the car to drive it out because it was absolutely repainted by birds all over the door handles and windscreen great marksmanship by the birds.

    Nice place, wonderful staff, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Lovelg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was we had a ground floor view of the car park so it didn't feel too private - but the room itself was very pleasant

    Really helpful staff! Really comfy beds and clean rooms, and a fantastic location for a 5-10 minute walk through the park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A peaceful, comfortable stay in an unpretentious well appointed mid-range hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's one of those hotels that has obviously tried to create extra rooms, hence our first room was very small and no window. Not happy to pay the money for that situation, but this was rectified. Nowhere to put luggage.

    Staff extremely helpful and considerate. Location. Walking distance to everything needed. Staff were happy to change our room after one night after we discovered it was internal, with no window only a skylight(claustrophobic). Standard of room excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly small and only a velux window for air, extremely hot. The air con unit had a mind of its own. We paid £440 for a 2 night stay, though the room rates at the time of stay were half that?? The double bed was in fact 2 singles not even zipped together 👎

    The building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked out to where all the bins were emptied and all laundry bins left to be filled so was very loud in the mornings.

    Check in was fast and the receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was brilliant and rooms spacious enough for family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been harder but that is my personal preference.

    Location was brilliant and rooms spacious enough for family of 4. Liked the little gesture in regards to the grand national too. Cant really fault the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and staff, loved the themed decor. Will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was compact but comfortable except it was too hot. The window is restricted and there is an extractor but it needs a fan or ac when it’s warm.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. When the child in our party was unwell in the bar there was no fuss they just moved us and cleaned the mess.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were allocated to a room we shouldn’t have been into (problem with the toilet), but got moved to a different, bigger room at no extra cost, which was very nice

    Position, parking on site for a fee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    I would definitely stay again but i would insist on another floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in room 109 on the first floor the door to the hallway was banging from 0720 on the first morning . The boiler was somewhere very close to our room or it was in the room you could hear it all night it did keep us awake.

    Location was great. staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay - could not fault anything except the hardness of the mattress. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in the Blenheim room was very hard and uncomfortable to sleep on, if the mattress was changed to a softer one then it would have been better.

    The cooked breakfast! And Churchill’s bunker outside!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Not impressed what so ever and won't be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible and extremely small for, barely any room to move and the price for the room was extortionate in comparison. I'd have had a better room at a holiday inn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking is abit naughty... Its a hotel with on site parking.. Shouldn't be a charge as expensive enough to stay.

    Amazing character.. Decor. Attention to detail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Short walk into York City where there are many attractions to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More competitive prices on light meals.

    The bed was extremely comfortable (memory foam mattress). The reception staff were very friendly and informative booking us a taxi from a very reliable firm. Very well maintained throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay. Would visit again, but ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, dark decor in room, so difficult for applying makeup drinking water would have been nice also a softer pillow, otherwise all good .

    Nice unusual dark decor , beautiful dinning room, food excellent and reasonable price, staff excellent, well positioned for attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather

    The room was beautiful; the bar area was cosy. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the menus looked good and will definitely eat there next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    During our stay it rained most of the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chair in the bedroom had a small brown stain and the cushions on the bed were unclean.

    During our stay it rained most of the time...we didn’t bring an umbrella. Staff went above an beyond one even searched his own car for an umbrella for us! Very friendly and accommodating 🙂.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay where a return for a longer visit is planned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a very warm welcome on our early arrival, and were encouraged to leave our luggage so we could venture into York ahead of our room being ready. Upon return we noted how our luggage had been moved into our room; it's little touches like that give the biggest impression. Friendly service, comfort and a great location from which to take a short walk into York. Ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Churchill Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: