Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The City Rooms

Hotel Street, Leicester, LE1 5AW, United Kingdom

#9 of 23 hotels in Leicester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    great location and lovely staff but for £100 a night definitely overpriced
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is looking tired, carpets on stairs etc. were marked and paint work in hallways dirty. Sash window in bathroom wouldn't stay open

    Beds comfy and large room, nice staff who were very helpful for late check in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice bed
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was dusty and the room was a bit of a climb from the ground floor.

    The bed was very comfy and the room was quiet. The bathroom was extra spacious. We were provided tea and coffee but there was only one teabag and one bottled water for a double room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Well-positioned, helpful, friendly staff but a long haul to the bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long climb to the top of the building for our rooms (although we were offered one room on the second floor, but this would have split our party and we declined the offer). It would be much better if there were a lift installed! The shower is in a very high-sided bath, which is hard for short people to climb into - a separate shower cubicle would be a better option.

    Very helpful staff, a quirky, beautiful old building (once the Assembly Rooms), great location in the centre of Leicester.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It shouldn’t be advertised as a boutique hotel as we only had an out of hours number as a contact. There was no other staff available. We felt like we were intruding. Unfortunately we won’t be booking again.

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    A respectable well run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was hectic to find.

    We couldn't access the car park, but the hotel manager was fantastic and helped us find the property. Amazing staff and lovely facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Looks nice but let down by details.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located right in the centre of Leicester, no parking, hard to find. Heating didn't work so reliant on an electric heater.

    Only 4 rooms in hotel. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.4
    diaappointed because of no heating in bedroom or bathroom. Heater provided was not enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in room had to be provided with a small heater. Bathroom was too cold to take a shower. Rattling Windows . Car alarm woke us up at 5.45

    Nice decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Adequate, just
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no food whatsoever. My fault for not reading the details properly before I stayed I understand it is a listed building, however, if I had known there was no lift I would have thought twice. Not really suitable for a female travelling alone as you have to go out of the premises to eat.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stayed at the City Rooms on 7th Feb as had a business meeting in Leicester. Beautiful room & building right in the city centre. The room was very big & nicely decorated. The bath was amazing & the snacks left in the room were very much appreciated after a long drive. The bed was nice, big & comfy with fab pillows! Very good value for money. Big thanks to both of the girls on the night & morning shift (sorry I didn't make a note of your names). I got lost as the road I needed in the centre was closed and the girl on the late shift kindly phoned me when I wasn't there by my expected arrival time and gave me directions. Thanks so much as I'd still be driving around in circles now! Also thank you to the girl on the morning shift for letting me leave my car while I went to my meeting and giving me directions to walk to my meeting. Both of the staff were so friendly. If I ever stay in Leicester again I will definitely look to book back in. Thanks again :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Very warm welcome from staff who are very proud of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome from staff who are very proud of this jewel. The hotel decor is a little tired but this is more than made up with the quirky features - enormous rooms & very friendly staff. We were given a quick tour of the Ballroom which is currently being redecorated from a very enthusiastic receptionist which was a nice treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Space and comfort in historic building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rooms are up several steep flights of stairs with no lift. Staff helped with bags but might not be suitable for all people. No breakfast facilities which didn’t bother me.

    Huge amount of space for the price - more like an apartment than a hotel room. Quality and comfortable fittings - huge bath and wonderful bed. Thoughtful snacks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Mid week break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs! Wi-fi code didn’t work. Difficult taps to use in bathroom

    Central location with parking. Lovely spacious room with tea coffee and snacks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    4.2
    Could have been better. This property has tremendous potential but has not been fully realised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, concerns around security and safety - unpredictable locks on the doors, old style room key fob with details of the pin code to gain access to the property after 2000 hours as there is 24 hour concierge.

    Centrally located property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Lovely unique rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realise that it wasn't staffed 24/7, as a lone female traveller, i did feel a little vulnerable when i took a bag down to my vehicle late in the evening. It probably wouldn't be a problem for most.

    The room and en-suite were very spacious, bed was very comfortable, having snacks and water available in the room was also a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Good but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no toilet paper! Though the lady was lovely who came to greet us it was difficult to gain access no one around to ask about things. The room was large but it felt a little cold and the lights were so dim couldn’t see to put on makeup.

    The position was great, room was large and bed comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Will never stay again but the cleaning staff were lovely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had THE worst nights sleep here and will never return. A combination of being right next to a clock tower that chimes every half hour plus huge amounts of noise (from about 1am-5am) from who knows what (could be businesses using the bins in the car park outside or maybe it was bin collection day) plus a really noisy family also staying at the same time. If you're a light sleeper I do not recommend (or maybe just room 4). Plus it was a nightmare to find with the current road closures around Leicester city centre.

    the bedroom & bathroom were huge and the bed was really comfy. I'd pass on the reflective bedside cabinets though as with the small light on it can be blinding, one of those design features that is not practical! The cleaners I met in the morning were so nice & friendly I didn't have to heart to tell them what a rubbish night I had because of the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfy beds, large bathrooms and ideally located for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper was peeling in places, water left in the fridge was already opened and one of the snacks left was out of date (didn't check the others).

    Comfy beds, large bathrooms and ideally located for the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff very helpful went above and beyond to help.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clock tower was a little annoying but nothing that ear plugs wouldn't solve

    Staff very helpful went above and beyond to help. Very comfortable bed. Very spacious accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Central location, comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss. Lack of hot water. Fixtures and fittings a little tired. Taps had a lot of limescale, curtains were coming away from the rail.

    Good size room and a huge bath. Great location. Comfortable bed. Bottled water supplied. Fruit and nut bars supplied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    exellent room and good central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating

    The room was perfect and the facilities were good the wifi code didn't work but I didn't have time to use it so it didn't matter to much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower curtain was hanging off and blue in colour in a brown and cream bathroom. The shower was cold water only.. ran it for 10 mins trying everything..!!

    The rooms were big and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is very small and couldn't fit us in however the lady on reception did offer to move a car for us after arrival

    Beautiful room, extremely spacious and the lady who checked us in was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.1
    very original a place, well located , with charing staff and boutique style, a lot can be improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy when events take place in hotel. poor safety equipments. lobby needs immediate refurbishment. Bathrooms are modern, but lots of impractical details. poor lighting . the nearby Townhall bell rings every 15 minutes : unbearable at night... could it be switched off between midnight and 6 am ??? No breakfast service. check in is attended only till 8 Pm on normal days.

    Staff charming and very friendly. large size rooms, location in city historic center near King's archeologic findings, hotel building, boutique style. plentiy of restaurants and bards around the place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Lack of usual hotel facilities, such as reception staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of usual hotel facilities, such as reception staff, restaurant or bar on site. Felt a little lonely & deserted. The staff were however very accommodating, spacious room & good facilities in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    Central calm and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually the rooms are not decorated that sensitively to an historic building. Fine if you like leather beds and laminate flooring. Economy has trumped sensitivity to the setting. I wasn't worried at all about rubbish left by revellers in the doorway overnight but others might be.

    Good room great location all necessary comfort and I am happy not to have staff on site and not to be offered breakfast. The building is genuinely interesting and this is the heart of Victorian Leicester. This is one of the best place to stay in Leicester for its interestingness, its good value, and its central location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    City rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty, behind tv. Wires hanging not all plug sockets worked which was annoying. Invest in a lift. No breakfast facilities.

    The bed was comfy the room was huge

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    A warm welcome on a damp night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. Lots of stairs. The lady did offer to help which was excellent.

    Lovely lady who let me in as I arrived after 8 pm. The staff had run me beforehand to ask how my journey was progressing and given me instructions as to how to find the car park etc. Huge room and comfortable. Water, biscuits, tea and coffee, breakfast bars, orange juice. Marvellous shower. Close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Fab location. Tired but spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator didn't work in the. Bathroom...but they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine which was a nice gesture. Generally in need of investment.

    A bit faded and in need of refurbishment but nevertheless it was a fantastic location and the staff were most pleasant. Large room and bathroom, lots of space.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    A bit quirky but it did the job
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving about 8.45pm in January I didn't realise that this was not a hotel and did not have a manned reception or dining facility.

    Good location, large, clean, warm and well equipped room. Handy for decent local restaurants and quite a nice part of town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.5
    "Wonderful boutique accommodation right in the centre of Leicester, charming, and value for money"
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a lone female guest, I would have felt 'safer' with a concierge being on duty evening/over-night

    The room was a delightful mix of 'character' and 'contemporary' - perfect for me. Wonderful 'suite' feel. Incredible central location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice room large and nice bathroom - brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - 4 am bin Lorrys - market setting up church clock chiming every hour - needed double glazing

    Nice room large and nice bathroom - brilliant location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    a little hidden gem slightly untidy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a little dated and net curtains really needed a clean. would have been nice to have a bar with a meal option but not critical due to the fantastic location to other places

    location and limited free parking together with the price and really helpful staff made this a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.4
    Booking.com has to imporve a lot, so does The City Rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room hadn't been properly cleaned: the soap was very clearly left over and there was no new one. The bottled shampoo and shower gel seemed untouched. Previous guest's litter still in the bin. No breakfast option at all Also they do not accept Amex which is the card I used on Booking.com to guarantee the room so very disappointed both with the Hotel but primarily with Booking.com. Bad experience

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.5
    The new member of staff that came to help me was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were very poor quality The telephone in the room didn't work -I had to use my mobile to contact reception. The fridge had a pool of water in the bottom. The window wouldn't stay open ,it was a warm evening and it would have been nice to have had some fresh air.

    The new member of staff that came to help me was very friendly and helpful. It was comfortable but not boutique as advertised

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.5
    Lovely old hotel right in the centre of Leicester
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon ( although receptionist explained why not as the building is listed and they are not allowed to have it installed). TV was not working and only realised after 8pm and no staff after this time to assist. Bit pricey considering no breakfast included or even available if you wanted to pay extra!

    Large and nicely furnished rooms/ friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Very Good ;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Good ;) i

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Central Hotel with 4 huge rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24 hour reception.

    Central location, Huge bathroom with corner bath, staff fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    The bed was amazing best night sleep ive had in a while
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had no hot water for a bath

    The bed was amazing best night sleep ive had in a while

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Had everything I needed for a nights stay plus complimentary water&snack
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning noise could be heard

    It was directly in the city centre with free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent room. Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink was slow.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff, location, room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff. Very spacious bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.5
    No heating. No hot water. No staff until 9am.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating. No hot water. No staff until 9am.

    Apologetic and refunded the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    NOT FOR US
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RATHER RUN DOWN

    NOT ALOT

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    excellent gem in the centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    large, roomy bedroom and bathroom, quiet considering the central position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    was nice touch,bed so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Great wee place ,loved it, central for all your needs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Tv signal extremely poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv signal extremely poor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Bath was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Bath was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice listed building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice listed building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great location with great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t do breakfast

    Great location with great staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in a superb location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Huge room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    We had a relaxing comfortable stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was no remote control for the television

    The bad was comfortable the bath was big and the room was spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    I couldn't find a hairdryer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find a hairdryer

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.7
    location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress was very poor; shower difficult to operate; sink "tap" inclined to leak;

    location; size of room; quality of the building;

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.5
    bed was a bit hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was a bit hard

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a little cleaner and no heating in the bathroom

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.8
    Not a lot .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - cereal bars in fridge - yuck.! DrNagging my luggage up lots of stairs.I should have read about the facilities more closely.

    Not a lot ....

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.8
    The room was great and the en-suite was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the nearby clock tower chiming every half hour.

    The room was great and the en-suite was huge.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Recommend to any!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant facilities, location and everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    It was in a very good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift and the stairs are many and steep. i have asked several time for a company invoice

    It was in a very good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    4.2
    TV not working, phone not working,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV not working, phone not working,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm. Had to have windows open which meant being disturbed by the bells from the clock tower every 15 minutes

    Great bed. Nice big room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.9
    great location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom were a decent size. We appreciated the orange juice and breakfast bars.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    goog experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    na

    location and character

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    A visit to see the king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine for us but it was a climb up several flights of stairs

    Excellent city location large room huge bathroom and bath

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Midweek bargain luxury stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome and a huge room. Free cold drinks were a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff, great rooms and parking in central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is limited and you need to be happy climbing stairs. Clock tower is close by and chimes every 15 minutes from 5am

    Friendly, helpful staff, great rooms and parking in central location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    The whole room was suite was stunning, the bathroom was HUGE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The car park is not sign posted at all, we drove around Leicester for an hour trying to find a suitable place to park in the end we gave up and called the hotel and the staff directed us, but I think some sign post should be put up somewhere.

    The whole room was suite was stunning, the bathroom was HUGE and the bath was just amazing, although there is no option for a cooked breakfast the fact that you are provided with a small carton of fresh milk, cereal and two bottles of fresh orange was lovely, the building is stunning inside and out and I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.3
    Very nice comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a bit hot and airless. There was a fan in the room which I used. Extremely noisy outside due to location, near taxi rank and clock tower which chimed every 15 mins all night. The fan helped drown out the noise.

    Very nice comfortable room. Huge bathroom. Lovely bed. No facilities as such as its usually used as a wedding venue. There are only 4 rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.1
    Ideally situated in the city centre, especially if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No signage to car park, and had to download directions to it. Our room was right at the top and the staircase was very narrow and steep. Not really suitable for elderly or slightly infirm people.

    Ideally situated in the city centre, especially if you're visiting Leicester Cathedral or other attractions.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Villa from 1790, loaded with charm and history, wonderfull...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit noisy party in the ballroom, but finished early

    Villa from 1790, loaded with charm and history, wonderfull place for those who love that. Nice, very spacious room and bathroom at low price. In the very center of Leicester.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    5.8
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No remote for TV so trying to change channel was hard work. I received a £100 fine for driving down the wrong bit of road (a bus lane aparently) trying to find the hotel parking. I was stopped by police on driving right out of carpark because aparently its one way. (Not according to my satnav). Miserable lady on leaving wouldnt let me leave my car in the parking area for 30mins whilst I found somewhere that did a cooked breakfast. This was because check-out means you and the car must be gone by 11am. They only supply a variety pack size of cornflakes for breakfast and no cooked menu.

    Large room. Comfy bed. Nice big bath. Lady on arrival was lovely.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: