Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Clarence Gardens 3 stars

4 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough, YO127HF, United Kingdom

#79 of 90 B&Bs and Inns in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 922 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Amazing deserves 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was beautiful with an amazing sea veiw. Very clean and decor in the room was lovely and very modern! The lady who welcomed us was so lovely and very chatty which made us feel so much more welcome! Definitely will be going back! X

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.6
    Not as nice as made to look on photos and descriptions, wouldnt not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in service, the parking, the room facilities, the cleanliness. The breakfast, the heavy bedroom doors and hard to turn keys.

    The location of the hotel was close to the restaurant we planned to spend the evening

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    I wasa in budget room but wow, really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasa in budget room but wow, really good. Bathroom big and modern. Bunk bed very comfortable , all usual furniture and kettle etc. Really quiet as well, facing rear. Staff very helpful and wifi excellent. I used lounge bar table to work at so I had room to spread out my stuff etc. Short walk to restaurants, shops etc. Overall thoroughly recommend this and will be staying here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    We absolutely loved our mini break in Scarborough at Clarence Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not get a sea view room, probably because I had a family room so it was on a lower level. My Daughters are 22 & 13 so would have loved the sea vista. We explored most of the day so it did not really matter to much.

    I definately recommend staying at Clarence Gardens, Scarborough, we received a very warm welcome It is beautiful and modern in a great location The rooms are perfect with very comfortable beds. We had a family room but there was still ample room The overall location was amazing! We loved The Hotel and will definitely visit again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small for a family room, the bathroom door wouldn’t open far enough to walk through the door without going through sideways.

    Friendly staff & nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Excellent enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mothing I did not like Everything was satisfactory

    The hotel was lovely and clean and staff were attentive and friendly the breakfast was good and the lounge where you had a drink was really cosy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    clean and friendly but a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was a little tired but was told that refurbishment was on the cards. was a bit small but functional. could have done with more pillows and mattress was probably on it's last legs

    staff were friendly and helpful. room was clean they were happy for us to leave the dog in the room and we were only charged a tenner a night for him. lovely views over the coast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Amazing stay
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed that we had could be more comfy. It was ok but needs abit of tlc. But apart from that can’t complain.

    We had a lovely stay, as a family we were happy with the room. The kids loved the bunk beds they were very clean and comfortable. Walking outside to the sea and the view was bliss. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay as a family

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and will definitely be back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not putting a family of elephants in the room above for a 6am wake up call ;-) But that can't be helped! Dining room felt a little tired

    Bed very comfy lovely sea views very clean room Breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds squeeked every time you moved and there was little head room also night light didn’t work.

    Staff were welcoming and friendly. Room was the budget room so was small but it had a tv and kettle and it’s own was facilities. It’s fine for a night or two but next time we will probably pay more for a room with a view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, good service good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bed not too comfy

    Friendly team and a good breakfast. The situation is ideal for views and cricket. Helped us with parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly refurbished room just missing a few things in bathroom, needs a shelf in shower to put your toiletries on and a hook on the back of the toilet door would be handy to hang your dressing gown on when in shower.

    Location, views and staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to the open air theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking spaces left even though advertised as available Breakfast not included for £144 seems a bit extortionate Not double bed as advertised actually 3/4 bed

    Close to the open air theatre Great views Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it , very clean hotel , friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed it , very clean hotel , friendly staff and cosy little bar made to feel very welcome and will defo be going back I’d personally recommend to book the sea view defiantly worth the money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Pleasant hotel/staff...not really interested at my car been on their property and damaged
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertised Car Park for guests only - not so ! In fact this carpark seemed to be for any driver to abandon, park up or even damage your vehicle like mine was! Hit and run i believe is the offence - only to be told sorry our carpark is not monitored.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Room had no hot water shower was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no hot water shower was cold. Pictures on website very deceptive. Hotel had a very strange smell. Poor breakfast sat downstairs in a basement, including stone cold coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work in our 3rd floor room. Shower intermittently stopped working. No free parking available.

    Clean rooms, great sea view, good breakfast, nice bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    beds were ok rooms were ok shower to small water a trickle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked this as it said parking available we got there with no where to park and staff were very unfriendly/unhelpfull drinking in bar cudnt give a ,,,,, we had to park down a road with very little lighting and deserted where my husbands vent covers were stolen during the night at a big cost to replace fuming dosnt cover it wont be back £100 a night and you dont even get breakfast £7.95 for it x 3 is £24 extra we got a breakfast in town for £3.95

    beds were ok rooms were ok shower to small water a trickle needs better staff the manager wasnt helpfull either

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Excellent bed very comfy good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding around the building which we weren’t told which did spoil the view a little in the bathroom the door handle and towel rail were falling off and never saw a member of staff on departure to tell them

    Excellent bed very comfy good nights sleep

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t sure what to expect booking the backpackers room but it was surprisingly perfect for me and 8yr old son 2 night stay in Scarborough. The bathroom/room was immaculately clean! Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    The squatters or whatever they were, need to be dealt with, or guests in this hotel and surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rowdy neighbours in abandoned property at the rear which spoiled our stay. No wi-fi even though there was supposed to be but as we were only there one night it wasn't a problem.

    Comfy bed, toiletries supplied. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely cosy and clean room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding outside the front, but that's just being picky.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely cosy and clean room and great views and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Cramped and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding at the front of the building. Booked a budget twin room didn't realise that it meant bunk beds in a tiny room. This was not explained when we booked. Would not have booked this room had we known

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    I great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast been served before I finished my cereal

    The breakfast you had a choice of different breakfast, you could help yourself to drinks and cereals and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    A budget hotel with excellent cleanliness and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient but the exterior of is covered by Scaffold which doesn't inspire confidence upon arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full english was cold & wouldnt recommend it especially for the price

    Nice & clean Lovely helpful & friendly staff Would not recommend beakfast asked for ground floor but because of renovations ended up on 3rd floor (Lift went to 2nd floor then steps)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Shot hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had scaffold outside, so the sea view was covered , no warning. Room was budget with £80 a night price tag,with no breakfast. small room , bed was 2 single pushed together at different levels and felt damp. Shower stopped when soaped up had to wait 5 minutes for water to continue, and was only 2 nd floor. sink was cracked, shower LEAKED. Games room was a dumping ground for doors, stools, insulation rolls,paint.. Only saw 1 receptionist when we arrived , and same girl the following night. Would not advise a visit !!!

    I didn't like anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    2.9
    Terrible!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated with wallpaper peeling off the wall, our door didn’t close properly but the worse thing was the breakfast omg it was disgusting, we went down to breakfast room but they had a private party so we were told to grab any continental we wanted and carry it up to the lounge...waited 20 mins for someone to come and take our order, toast was bought without a knife and by the time we got one toast was cold, tea was bought without cups do we had to go back to our room to get some and when breakfast came it was DISGUSTING!!!!!! We couldn’t eat it, my scrambled eggs were solid and grey, I told the waitress but she wasn’t bothered, my friends full English was barely warm and dripping in grease...worse breakfast I’ve ever had, couldn’t wait to leave...save your money and go elsewhere you have been warned!!!

    Nothing!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wind whistling through the window, room 31, kept us awake through the night.

    Welcoming and friendly check-in. Great location for the Open Air Theatre. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location perfect for events at the open air theatre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in the room price although appreciate that not everyone wants one.

    Great location perfect for events at the open air theatre and cricket ground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in a good location, handy for the Open Air Theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some modernisation.

    Staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Parking on the next street was good, is on a first come first served basis but very handy to have dedicated spaces. Room very comfortable and clean. Common areas were very clean but could do with some modernisation. Would definitely stay again when in Scarborough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was in a lovely loctaion great view and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a lovely loctaion great view and very welcoming very clean and friendly comfy bed and a lovely clean big room deffo will be going back xx

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Would Recomend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but all you needed.if your sitting in your room all day you may as well stay at home.

    Room was clean but dated. Breakfast was good. Good value for money in a good location. Stayed here twice owners accomadating other staff really nice and polite. No doubt will be going back again at sometime. Only thing that let the stay down was the weather which no one can do anything about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Couldn’t wait to come home!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room far too small No information from receptionist on arrival Facilities in room poor Appearance of room Would’ve been a Nice view if the windows were clean enough to see through Far too expensive for what we got £164 for one night in what was supposed to be a family room but couldn’t swing a cat!!

    Clean bedding & towels & good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel room did not look like any of the website pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room did not look like any of the website pictures. We ended up in a tiny room in the attic which was defiantly not what I expected for the price I paid. The mattress and pillows were very uncomfortable. You also have to vacate at 10.30am which is not the norm!! Good location and breakfast was ok but unfortunately I would not recommend or say it’s value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    The room was comfortable and reasonably priced. Just a shame about the scaffolding around the buildi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was scaffolding around the building which we were not aware of until we arrived.This effected the view from our room window which was spoilt by this.

    The location was good and reasonable price for room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Clarence Gardens marketing leads to expectation of sea view and reasonable size room. Doesnt happen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a backroom attic, looking down on New Queen Street (lots of folk on the dole at back of hotel compared to spectacular sea view for some rooms)

    The staff of Clarence Hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows don't open and the curtains are very thin so when the sun comes up at 4am in summer the room is very bright. No good if you have kids. Price did not include breakfast.

    The view looking over the sea was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windy location.Problems with plumbing. Toilet bowl loose and flushing difficult.Electric shower heater inside shower. Carpet in shower.

    Spacious room friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The private parking was a great bonus, as the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water ran out whilst we were having a shower in the morning - one way to wake us up!

    The private parking was a great bonus, as the local on-street parking gets very busy. We had a Bike with us and the staff were more than happy for us to lock it up in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were incredibly small and offered no wow factor, parking wasn't free as described. View was ruined by scaffolding still up at the b&b even though the website said it would be down by our arrival date. Breakfast was nothing special and was also a let down.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid of £70 for the one night. The room could have been a lot bigger and more spacious..

    The views were absolutely stunning!! The bed was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room DID NOT match the pictures. On arrival the lobby STUNK. Luckily the room did not smell. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. Room was very very tiny. Glad it was only for one night.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely B&B in a great location, perfect for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with a bit of updating. Also between us and the next room, you could hear their TV very clearly.

    The bed was comfortable and the room had all the basic facilties needed for a weekend stay. The B&B had a lovely lounge bar and separate pool table room. The full English breakfast was excellent. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    in a good location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don't like being charged £10 per night per dog and overall standard extra cleaning charge would be better ,as I've 2 dogs the extra £40 when you're single and on a low income is too much

    the fact that this hotel is within walking distance of the beach and the town ,having seen some of the recent reviews was a bit wary of coming but found it OK like others have said the curtains should be thicker and as my room had a shower room in made it ensuite which was good even the shower was better than for most as I had Hot water,didn't eat or drink in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice people but way too expensive for a terrible night's sleep and a cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was barely big enough for the double bed. The light next to the bed didn't work. The springs in the mattress were broken making it uncomfortable to sleep on. The room was draughty and cold and the curtains let in a lot of light from the street lamp outside the window. Couldn't get any hot water out of the shower. Not what I expect when I get charged over £100 for one night.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The sea view was great and the hotel was in a good location. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left a bag in the hotel mistakingly and for some unknown reason this has not been located. This was deffinatly left here, leaving me with a very sour taste in my mouth regarding the whole trip unfortunately. Staff were very helpful in trying to locate, just disappointing.

    Bed lovely and comfortable. Clean bedroom, small but pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Reccomended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good location, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms basic but for the price excellent! Stay made even better by being upgraded to a sea view room free of charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was absolutely tiny. It’s a good job we didn’t have a cat with us as we would not have been able to swing it!!

    The staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    A relaxing, pleasant break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description of the room, and the fact that there was no lift facility to the room that we were first given ( My partner is disabled); however, the manager found us a better room.

    The manager was polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Won’t go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £100 for a room with door handles and towel rail hanging off. Says free Wi-fi but not if on top floor. Smelt of drains when walking in on the evening. Mirror in the darkest corner of the room. Nothing like the pictures on website

    The one good thing was location and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Bed uncomfortable big dip in the middle tv switched it self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable big dip in the middle tv switched it self on twice in the night and the shower took to long to heat up had to unplug the kettle to use my hair dryer the mirror was on the other side of the room I wouldn't recommend staying here the room was situated on the top floor no view .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st day there was no hot water at the evening but this was resolved by the next morning.

    The location was ideal. They have a small car park area across from hotel. Room was clean and had recently been decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Clarence gardens hotel may 12th/13th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and depressing, bathroom was dated. Duvet was a sleeping bad unzipped with a cover over it and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The view out the window (rm 35) was the local drunks but was good entertainment watching them get carted off in the police van. When booking the hotel it appeared that breakfast and parking where included and free yet breakfast was just under £16 for 2 and wasn't great my toast had green mould on it! Parking was £2 for 2 days neither here nor there for £2 but was advertised free on website. I should of double checked before booking so mistake on my part there.

    Beautiful bar on ground floor looking out over the sea. Good priced drinks with amazing views. In my opinion best bit of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    This hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was great. I came with my boyfriend and we was based right where we needed to be. 10 min walk to the town where the pubs and clubs were and a 10 min walk to the beach front. Staff was helpful, the room was very basic but was clean! We only stayed 2 nights and we got fresh towels and the bed made and the coffee and tea topped up for us. We got a family room just so we had more space. We didn't eat there or check the bar out, but I would 100 per cent book us into here again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we could of asked for, lovely staff, comfortable and clean. Wonderful views of north bay! Love it and would definitely go back and stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    It does what it says on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is what it is and fine for the price. We were there two days walking and didn't need to be sitting in a fancy foyer or dining in a swanky restaurant. Good tea and kettle, shower, towels, big tv if you need it. Decent priced breakfast although we didn't dine there. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Friendly reception and bar too if that way inclined. Just don't expect monogrammed dressing gowns and you won't be disappointed. They are generally too small for me anyway.

    location. clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Right on sea front..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has steps to the building and I use crutches and a wheelchair but just to say managed.staff assisted with doors .

    Very clean room.staff polite .friendly and helpful .moved us to a downstairs room as I required one .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location - The bed is one of the best I have slept in for a while in the hotel - bathroom very small but useable wi fi was hit and miss could do with having password in your room Parking a cross at the back off the hotel a bonus in but not many places but we were lucky

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    The view from the room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facilities were very poor and we ended up having to park in a derelict hotel down the road. People were either taking up two spaces or blocking you in ( which we found out. Thanks a lot Jaguar driver!!!!! ) You were meant to leave your reg with the hotel but they hadn’t. The window frames were all rotting away and one sash window had been stuffed with paper to stop it from closing. Thankfully we have a 12 yr old and it was very warm . The bunk bed mattress was very uncomfortable as you could feel the springs.

    The view from the room was lovely. The female staff member at breakfast was very friendly, but sadly overworked as the management had just put 2 staff on for a very busy bank holiday weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water was a bit hit and miss.

    Just did room only. Room was newly decorated and quite warm - a lot of hotels seem to try and save on heat in May. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    extraordinary , soft, warm with an awesome view over the North Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea view was just outstanding, i came to clear my mind and meditate a bit, i found this place a perfect choice to do it. The staff is exeptionally kind and helpful. My room was just like for a princess even the blanket was in my favourite pale rosegold colour, the bed was very comfortable, all clean, great service, i couldnt expect more, remarkable relax and will be more than happy to stay again , well, definitely it will be the choice of mine in Scarborough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Quick break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only there for two nights. I didn't make use of the facilities or breakfast menu so it would be unfair to comment further.

    Clarence Gardens, a typical looking Scarborough hotel, standing at the top of meandering pathways which come up from the sea front. With fantastic views (from certain rooms) of the entire North bay area. I got a fantastic room only deal for two nights and ok luxury rooms are out there, however when you think of how much you pay and how little time you spend in a hotel room, my room was very very good value. Tea, coffee was supplied in the room, there was a Tv and also en suite facilities. The staff were friendly and explained everything I needed to know. Communication from the outset was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Short family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far to warm to sleep even with windows and curtains open no chair to sir on apart from one small tub chair ? Bunk beds very squeaky

    The hotel was situated opposite the beautiful sea views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Not go back don’t know if book error or hotel won’t use again disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked ground floor as not in good health got 3rd floor breakfast cold still paid full when didn’t eat it they offer to heat it up .But shouldn’t be cold first people to eat

    Bed comfy booked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing let our stay down - Breakfast time was very disappointing. Advertised as being 8-10am. We were advised when we arrived that the hot breakfast would be available in ‘a few minutes’. 20 minutes later and still nothing - disappointing. So let’s say the price was expensive for a couple of weetabix.

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. With the exception of the carpet (which needed vacuuming), the room was very clean. Evening facilities were great - the bar area is well kept and has a great view over the bay. Even has a pool table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff great customer service...bit over priced for basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too basic for what we payed.I have stayed in high end hotels and payed the same.A little too pricey for basic rooms...i think the rooms could do with decorating and the same style thats in the bar area applied to the rooms.Breakfast was ok.One sausage and one bacon each for what we have payed i wouldnt say its value for money. Overall an ok stay.would return if it wasent so pricey for what it was.

    The bar area appeared to be nice and cosey and nicely decorated.The warmth was nice and the cleanliness was outstanding.The staff were so helpful...kind and polite.Great customer service the staff are very welcoming.Free wifi for all and the view from the bar area is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff, very clean and tidy. Not the Ritz but hey it was good value for money, great views across the bay and close to Castle/ Beach/ town centre 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel to stay in would highly recommend
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy, room very clean and breakfast was lovely. Lady on reception was lovely, very helpful and nothing was a problem. Would definately stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a very unpleasant smell, which you noticed when you first walked in the room.

    Staff were helpful and welcoming. Bed was also very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticism to make, met our needs for a short break away.

    Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. An excellent hotel with great views of the bay. Very comfortable and lovely bar area with reasonable pricing. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    It was a place to stay for the night but not an enjoyable experience and poor value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included. Couldn't open a window so room was hot and stuffy. Generally shabby and gloomy feel to the place and slight smell of cigarette smoke . Room furnishings seemed to be from second hand shops, a bit battered and did not match. Building obviously in need of repair and decoration inside and out. Room not well soundproofed so disturbed by people upstairs walking about.

    Room comfortable. Sea View.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    not up to scratch ! small pokey and unclean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extra for a sea view room , the windows were so dirty you can nearly see anything, the comfy double bed was actually two singles pushed together and really uncomfortable. The room was no better than a box room with less than 3inches to move round the bed to get in and out of the room , the cups were coffee stained the heating was on way too high and there was nobody on reception to speak to on three occasions when I went downstairs and nobody there when we checked out either! Extremely disappointed and waste of money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff and nice bat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t up to expected room very small had to walk round sideways at the bottom of the bed no toiletories , light broken at side of bed , curtains to flimsy , sink water didn’t stop in ! The pictures of the room on the website does not reflect what they are like

    Friendly staff and nice bat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold, extremely cramped, extremely small wardrobe, nowhere to put clothing , nowhere to sit and relax and enjoy the view ... felt like a prison cell!!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: