Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Clarence Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Clarence Road, Portsmouth, PO5 2LQ, United Kingdom

#9 of 22 hotels in Portsmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautifully decorated property - the rooms were lovely and comfortable and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning. The breakfast was great with so much choice and tasted great and also the Castro pub attached to the hotel served fantastic food ! Thoroughly recommend !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Clarence Hotel and its staff go the extra distance to delight customers. The hotel is spotlessly clean, food at breakfast is plentiful and staff are happy to help in any way they can.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside patio area was along side our bedroom, so can be a little noisy when guests were outside. The furniture drawers were very shallow so not much room for clothes etc. Parking can be difficult at weekends but there is always room if you are prepared to walk a few yards.

    Nicely decorated, comfortable beds, showering facilities were superb. Breakfasts were good quality and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that parking near the hotel could not be guaranteed. As it was, it wasn’t a problem for us. The literature about the hotel should make it clear that a permit will be issued free of charge, as it was unclear whether we should park in the permit only zone.

    Everything was great. The room, the sunken bath, the staff, the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were charming and made us breakfast a little before the official time as we had an early ferry to catch. The breakfast was plentiful and the coffee good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like

    Nothing we didn’t like, this was by far one of the best hotels we stayed in. free parking, staff were so friendly and the Spa bath was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room by the front door so there was some noise from people coming in and out of the building but this wasn't too much of an issue since there aren't too many rooms in the hotel. However if you are a light sleeper maybe ask for another room.

    Beautifully decorated rooms, lovely staff, tasty breakfast and an incredibly comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Florence Arms - it is joined with the Hotel group and a two minute walk away It is over priced, under staffed and the food was totally bland ! There is no atmosphere in here

    The staff were very helpful and polite, the bed was very comfortable You get a parking permit which is very Helpful as parking limited but this gives you flexibility to park in different areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No onsite evening meal, but plenty of local restaurants. We can recommend the Agora Greek/Turkish restaurant about 5 minutes walk away.

    Close to the seafront, modern, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have any problems so this is not really relevant to us.

    The breakfast was excellent, second only to the staff who we could not fault,the only minus point is parking which I imagine can be a bit difficult at times although we were not affected by this ourselves. The location of the hotel clearly makes this very difficult, however this would not stop us staying there again.we did not have

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast was a bit on the small side, I had another one once I got into town. The door to the room kept sticking and although it’s only a minor thing it made me self conscious about going out to smoke due to my next pint. The soundproofing is terrible. I slept great the first night but in my second night I could hear every footstep of the people above me and even their television on until the small hours. I barely slept at all the second night because of this and it ruined what was up until then a fantastic experience.

    The sunken bathtub was amazing. I’m 6’1 and this was the first tub I could stretch out in comfortably. The staff were lovely and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking right by the hotel was very limited. We were lucky enough to get 1 of 2 off-street bays, failing which we would have had to park some distance away in neighbouring streets.

    Large bathroom with big spa tub, complete with waterproof TV!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an excellent little hotel. I was staying before going to the ferry the next morning, and it was quiet so I had a good night’s sleep but still only a 10 minute taxi ride to the ferry port. The room was clean and stylishly decorated, so in all I was very pleased with my stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no car park but is a small down side but the hotel provides a permit for the car.

    Felt like a very expensive hotel but exclusive. Beautiful smelling bathroom accessories including conditioner. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was first class. I felt safe and comfortable staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of parking available and a bit of a walk for the early brekky but otherwise all good.

    Very helpful staff and the room was very comfortable, good value for our needs to make the cross channel ferry in the morning. We had a great pub dinner and breakfast was pretty good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing was bothering me but this not that important. They do not have smart Tv's.

    Really high standards of costumer service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt. Room was not cleaned on second day even though we managed to get out in the snow by 11am. Room was very small. No chairs or sofa to sit on. No boutique touches - bottled water, flowers, local chocolates/biscuits etc. No shoe shine, sewing kit, pen and paper, body lotion. Only one hand towel, no flannels. Only enough toiletries for one person.

    Cooked breakfast was excellent. Room was very clean. Location very good. Parking permit much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely, bed very comfortable. Bathroom was amazing with little samples of my favourite L’Occitane products ! Very good location, just two minute walk from seafront. Breakfast was beautifully served as as I’m in hospitality myself my standards are high! We had a lovely girl Marta that welcomed us and couldn’t be more helpful to others and us. Would definitely recommend and return ourselves

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    so clean and bedroom very spacious and the built in floor bath wow totally amazing .. good location.

    overall so immaculate. perfect food amazing staff and fabulous big beautiful home cooked breakfast .amazing value for money will see tell people about this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to do whatever they could to enhance our stay, and always with willingness. They really were the stars of the whole show.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small niggle, but the shower was an overhead type (fixed) and some jets were randomly directional.

    The staff were great, very attentive and helpful - couldn't have helped more, friendly too! Top quality breakfast cooked individually, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very efficient and friendly. Our room was amazing and very clean, the whole place had a lovely relaxed ambiance. I have used the Mercier Collection numerous times and will defiantly continue to do so!! Excellent cannot fault it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in a room by the front door so was not at romantic as what was hoping and asked for a higher floor which we was told was already booked

    Loved the bathroom in the room. We had breakfast brought to the room which was lovely. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, always happy to help and point us in the right direction! The food in the Florence arms was amazing and only a short walk away from the Clarence. The hotel is situated perfectly. Everything is easy to walk to or a taxi ride at most. The rooms were clean and tidy, and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath took forever to fill but it was big and wonderful with a tv at the end.

    Staff were extremely helpful nd left a lovely card and chocolates for hubby 50th birthday!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beautifully presented, comfortable and food was lovely. The breakfast has lots of choices and the restaurant also had good quality food too! Staff were all really pleasant and helpful. Would absolutely stay again and highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear other guests thundering around upstairs (although we realise this isn’t the fault of the hotel at all)

    Great room, lovely staff. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, rooms at a great standard, we had a deluxe room with a sunken bath and It was lovely! Staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would book a slightly larger room next time although nothing wrong with our room we just prefer a little more space

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Informative regarding surrounding area. Lovely breakfast and easy booking for dinner. Would certainly recommend as clean and very comfortable and definitely book again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all very good

    lovely hotel the staff were wonderful very polite & attentive the room was very clean, spacious & comfortable the shower was hot my only comment was the need for a shower cap as the shower was fixed height and if you don't want your hair wet it is very hard to stand under the shower to wash breakfast was delicious plentiful and varied choice an excellent stay would use it again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late due to ferry delay and so were after 11pm. We could have used a drink and snack and there was nothing available due to the 10pm closure of bar and room service. It would be good if she could have offered us something so we could have taken it to the room.

    Gorgeous stylish room and fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly more parking would be nice but seriously looking hard to even pick that as a fault.

    Rooms are incredible, staff are helpful for every small detail.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be an issue either no spaces outside or a game of tetris if you decide to park inside and are blocked in or blocking someone in.

    Wonderful breakfast daily, staff are always available, very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular to write about here.

    The ambience was very nice, comfy bed, albeit the design of the shower (Room 4) made it tricky to get the water temperature right without having the folding door open and thus water down the outside - only a slight irritation but nothing major. The major plus point for The Mercer Group is Marta on Reception.......and at Breakfast......nothing was too much trouble, extremely approachable and efficient, well done.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small. No where near enough room in the toilet/shower room, the hand basin looked very nice but totally impractical. Bed was very nice but just not enough room around the bed.

    The greeting from the girl on duty through out our stay was excellent. Breakfast was very good. We ate in the pub and enjoyed ourselves but felt it a bit over priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small & heater not adequate. Warm air heating in room not adequate for winter months. We had to ask for extra heating & were give an electric radiator which made it warmer. Not a great deal of clothes storage space. Room was very clean, but we didn't like the use of air freshener in the room.

    Breakfasts in the hotel were excellent. Staff were all very helpful & friendly. The Florence Arms Gastro-Pub was very good. Friendly helpful staff & lovely food. Location of Hotel great for visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard etc. We didn't have to use the car as just hopped on a bus which took 10mins. Bus service excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn't great but that's not the hotels fault! Apart from that, there is not a single thing I can fault about the hotel.

    I cannot fault the hotel - it is possibly one of the best I've ever stayed in. The level of cleanliness in the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff was absolutely five star! We can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in the bedroom making growling noises and sort of worked, fire alarm went off at 7:30 am due to staff not turning on extractor in kitchen, duvet had a funky oudor to it and breakfast was below average, tomatoes had the chemical burnt taste to them. Not good.

    Boutique Hotel, small, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never expected a sunken bathtub in the bedroom without curtain. Also it took 40 mins to fill the bath so it was not a good start to the day. Only room for 2 cars so had to park on street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two parking spaces for eight rooms could be an issue in season. We had to street park, even when a space was available. Our room, room three was compact for the money.

    Clean cosey room, gastric pub was good value and very good food well worth a visit. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all wonderful

    Every thing about our stay was wonderful. Exceptional staff, friendly and helpful. Beautiful room and the most amazing cooked breakfast I’ve ever had! Could not recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room very cold on arrival. It was small and quite dark. The bathroom was very small and did not have adequate shelving on which to put our toiletries. The location, although quiet, was about half an hour's walk from the centre of Portsmouth.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was very good with a great choice of quality ingredients.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff advised to leave the aircon on even when we leave the room as the building gets cold at night but unfortunately the unit is very noisy and we had to switch it off making a very cold start to the morning

    The beds are very comfortable and the room is spotless. We stayed in one of the rooms with a bath in the bedroom it's a lovely little touch with a aquascreen to enjoy a movie in a lovely got bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very modern with overhead and side openings. It was a bit hit and miss trying to select the correct nozzles without being blasted by initial cold water.

    The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed was extra comfy, just what we needed to get a fab nights sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent, room very comfortable and clean. Great location would definitely visit again and would recommend to friends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception based at front. Not having entrance door locked on arrival.quilt cover was ripped on turning back to get into bed showing dirty quilt underneath.asked staff to change it!

    Cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The room that we stayed in was fantastic, extremely clean, welll serviced and modern. The room was also very spacious with an impressive bathroom, bathtub and aqua tv. The room also had fablous room service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing very relaxing .

    We liked the location ,the staff were excellent went out of their way to help .ie with taxis .room and bathroom top rate ,breakfast a brilliant selection ,as good as top hotel .,we also enjoyed going to the Florence Arms for lunch it is part of the same group .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been better.

    The breakfast was excellent-freshly cooked to order.The room was comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful.We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was.nothimg not to like

    The hotel and staff were excellent helpful polite and cheerful especially Maria the food at the fine dining experience was second to none

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding hotel and staff was very friendly. The room was amazing and bed was so comfortable didnt want to leave. They have a small bar and lounge with very reasonable prices cant wait 2 stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent. Especially the receptionist Lola (Not sure I have her correct name) She went out of her way to make sure we could eat as we arrived late. The breakfast and service was wonderful. It was a gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is a little pricey for one night so not able to be regular visitor which would be lovely.

    Lovely place, great location, breakfast was gorgeous, welcome was lovely and the bar was a gorgeous touch!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin wall between bathrooms (Loft Room #7) meant we could hear extractor fan early morning

    Lovely boutique hotel Very comfortable king-sized bed Excellent breakfast in our room Very polite and attentive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely choice for breakfast. On our second morning the waitress remembered that we had asked for extra hot water with the coffee the morning before. So bought some without us asking. Easy bus ride to the main attractions. Good evening meals at the Bistro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking. The hotel do offer parking permits for the street at no additional cost.

    Quiet location - easy to sleep in the comfortable surroundings of a plush room. The staff were very attentive and the breakfast set me up for the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small point, we stayed in room 6 and whilst the huge bathtub was wonderful it would benefit from a hand held shower attachment to wash your hair. I had to get my head under the tap to try and rinse it. It wasn't a huge problem but would have made life a bit easier.

    An absolute gem of a find! Stylish rooms, really friendly staff and beautiful good quality breakfast. So much attention to detail, from the way each room is individually styled, to the high quality L'occitane toiletries provided. There were a group of us staying and all were amazed at this fabulous hotel and the value for money it represented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bath in the room was great but we really needed a bath mat because it was so long we kept slipping.

    It was very clean quiet comfortable. Food was lovely staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome, clean and warm room, loads of hot water and a comfy bed. The breakfast was superb, a great short stay. It might be small but this should not put you off.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marta and Abigail were excellent so friendly and welcoming and made us feel more like friends than hotel guests - nothing was too much trouble. Marta advised us about local eating options and we had dinner in the Florence Arms close to the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel and their other sister properties as excellent places to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On street parking is a bit of a problem if you get there at the wrong part of the day. It might mean you need to move the car later in the day if you are parked some distance away

    A very comfortable hotel in the Mercer chain although the room we had was quite small. the staff were excellent and the quality breakfast was a great start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of a shower or at least shower head in the bath to enable us to wash our hair was a bit of a pain. The parking arrangements are a bit ad hoc although we were very lucky and got a spot on the road outside. Someone running a bath at 0445 hours!

    The staff were absolutely brilliant, helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous breakfast selection, especially fresh fruit and range of cooked options. The Kitchen, fine dining restaurant owned by Mercier Group, offered a lovely Birthday Celebration meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it’s a city parking is on the street which you have to be aware off. The selection of breakfast is small and you get more options in room service.

    Location is great staff are excellent really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con/Heating unit didn’t work freezing cold up till 2 am ,portable heater brought up at by security.The management looked into the problem they emailed saying that they would keep an eye on it,offered upgrade next time book feel that my integrity was questioned ,my whole day was ruined with my son I personally expected better then upgrade I declined the offer .

    Great customer service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard- not a great nights sleep Unlucky in the gastro pub as we were next to a large group who were very noisy- couldn't have a conversation as we couldn't hear eachother

    Lovely hotel and good location, lucky with parking as we were early. Great breakfast,plenty of fresh fruit, excellent 'full English ' Ate at Florence Arms n the evening Reception staff were very helpful and charming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cushions on the bed - why?

    Friendly staff. No restaurant but associated pub (The Florence Arms) nearby doing excellent food. Big comfortable room with nice en-suite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin Walls which meant it wasn't private or quiet. Parking was very limited and we were lucky to find a place in the street, othewise we would have not found a parking space anywhere near the Small Hotel.

    Staff and decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to access or egress the shower, very narrow door. Bathroom mirror light and shaver socket didn't work.

    Good size room and bathroom. Breakfast v good. Very close to beach and Portsmouth amenities. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise the proper bar,the Florence arms was 100 metres down the road.i thought it was within the hotel.pictures a little deceiving on the internet.also no coffee machine in the hotel.

    Pleasant staff especially at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift is a problem and he lack if nearby parking meant I had to park 300 yards from the hotel

    The staff were really helpful in aiding us to get our cases up the stairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Bath Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poached egg was slightly overcooked and I would prefer cloth napkins to paper. The bed was too firm.

    The breakfast was presented well and the fresh fruit selection was lovely. Good quality produce was used for the cooked breakfast and it was cooked nicely. Lovely, cosy room. Loved the aqua television. Friendly staff and very welcoming. Very clean and I liked the interior decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff at the hotel's associated gastro-pub (The Florence) need to be more welcoming and to smile! We were ignored on entry and had the feeling of being invisible! However, the waiting staff were excellent and were very professional. Lovely meal too.

    Wonderful large bedroom, very friendly staff at the hotel and quiet location and environment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price - thought it was a lot for the area and the room. Whilst the room was very nice the lack of view (carpark one window and back of house the other) was disappointing - and it was very close to reception/stairs so could be noisy at times.

    Staff lovely. Rooms well decorated. Breakfast excellent. Would stay again if the rate reflected what you got though. Their restaurant in the same chain which is only 5 mins walk (The Florence Arms) was very good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cups provided for tea in the bedroom were very small - would have preferred mug size

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: