Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Clarendon Hotel 3 stars

Marine Road West, Morecambe, LA4 4EP, United Kingdom

#17 of 29 hotels in Morecambe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 723 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely views of beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with updating but it was clean.

    Good because we could take our dog. Lovely views over beach from 3rd floor window. Had lift! ! Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    We're very happy to be going back to spend another night with them before travelling south again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were fine. We had a lovely room, very comfortable, plus sea view. The staff were great, most helpful and understanding we arrived after a long and frustrating days travel. The service was of the best. You're lucky to have such a staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.0
    Faded grandeur. Sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Info on arrival gave times for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Returned for lunch, having passed several eateries, to be informed, lunch not served Monday to Wednesday. These were the days we were staying. Room reserved was a double, but was large enough only for single. There was a double bed but space and furniture for one. A single chair. Not room to eat, had we used room service. Cleaners obviously felt it was single as only 1 small pack of biscuits left daily and only three tea bags

    Staff. Excellent, tho few. On arrival had to walk around searching for receptionist

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel accepts dogs and it is close to the beach. There is off-road parking. R
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, even though radiator was not on. The window was very difficult to open and we could not leave it open as we were concerned with the safety of the dogs.

    The breakfast was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had three small dogs with us there was no problem having the pets with us. The hotel is close to the beach to walk the dogs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Beds very comfy and the hotel lovely and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being elderly and having to get out of bed to switch off the light was not good.and a bath I could not get in.as my mobility is impaired.I need to have a room for the Disabled.

    Beds very comfy and the hotel lovely and warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    room 18 had a cramped bedroom, tiny shower and the room wall...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 18 had a cramped bedroom, tiny shower and the room wall was paper thin. I was disturbed all night by guests using the stairs or the next room occupant snoring/moving around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent seafront location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel the evening meal in the restaurant suffered from under-staffing as we waited a considerable time for our meal. Can't fault the hard work of the staff though and would like to stay again.

    Great location on the seafront with tremendous view over Morecambe Bay, character property, friendly. hard-working staff, poached haddock and poached egg on the breakfast menu, pub in basement with amazing Lancaster plane glasses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Joke hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All above comments apply

    First room shown stank of cigs. next room had two windows first one u could not see out as it was frosted glass second one window was opened about eight inches and was supported by a large house if you tried to move it window would have fallen back into the room it was disgusting and dangerous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, Friendly and Perfectly Located.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parts of the hotel are in need of re-decoration - but the facilities and service make up for that and it's an excellent base for visiting the area.

    A comfortable and friendly hotel with a superb location, across the road from the beach and close to all amenities. It also has its own car park, which is free to guests. Excellent breakfasts are served in the very pleasant 'Waterfront' dining room. Morecambe is just beginning to undergo a renaissance after a long period in the doldrums. Parts of the town are now quite elegant and inviting and there is easy access to the Lake District. The nearby historic city of Lancaster is also well worth visiting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.3
    Very dated needs a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean and very dated. stained carpets, bathroom looked very tired, we had to clean the sink and shower before use. Room was very hot, had a old smell about it. Breakfast want good either cold poached eggs and toast. Tables were cleaned poorly, using a washing up sponge no spray, which I personally think is a very big hygiene issue. Fruit to choose from at breakfast looked very old black bananas, juice was warm so didn’t even bother trying the milk for cereal. Staff were very friendly though

    Sea front location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast small reviews said plenty of breakfast not the case child's breakfast went got a breakfast after checking out further down rd to fill is up for our journey smallest breakfast ever had

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay and will certainly book again
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would have been nice to be able to take our dog in the lounge Bar as well but we did enjoy The cellar bar

    Very nice clean comfortable hotel , friendly helpful staff good location enjoyed visiting the Davey Jones locker pub with our dog who was made to feel most welcome as were we

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except rooms and decor tired but realise the expense of maintaining such a building.

    Great staff, warm welcome. Ambience of the building. Made sure soy milk available for our daughter who is dairy free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to pizza shop and a very noisy public house with late night opening car park is used by public as short cut to pubs and pizza shop would benefit with gates to stop people going in near the cars one classic car had it's convertible roof damaged by someone?

    Breakfast good evening meal deal good staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Clarendon review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy from rear karaoke bar fri night .

    Nice location opposite the promenade. Helpful staff ,good value for money . Room clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the property was excellent, right on the seafront. Only stayed one night as we were travelling through. The room and bathroom were a nice size and the cooked breakfast was very tasty. It wasn’t a modern hotel but it had great character and the staff were very friendly. An Added plus was the availability of plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay and will certainly book again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was lovely but its a shame we couldn't also go in the lounge bar with our Dog but we did enjoy the cellar bar The Davey Jones Locker

    We brought our Dog milo and had a very nice stay although we couldn't go in the lounge bar we went to the cellar Bar and was made to feel most welcome by Staff and regular customers alike we had a lovely time and will certainly be back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent position and a comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a bit "tired" but hotel appeared clean and was comfortable.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The proximity to the seafront and promenade walk was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    My Stay At The Clarendon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little lumpy, which I only noticed when I went to sleep.

    Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The room was clean and the shower had plenty of however and was clean. The room had an excellent view of the sea front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel staff with a good feel about the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky table tops with no beer mats or napkins everything else was spot on Clean

    I love the old character of the place also the decor is spot on and newish

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Family overnight stay
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs some serious investment. It has a prime location but is sadly lacking. The room was very tired and outdated. Bar prices on the high side. Breakfast was ok, there were four of us so we asked for more toast which was fine but we didn’t get any more butter. The fried bread was awful, deep fried I think but just full of oil. Wouldn’t stay again. We were in Morecambe for a family funeral and the Clarendon was once a grand hotel but not anymore

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    If you don’t expect much you won’t be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was dark. We wanted a double bed and though we booked months in advance got twin beds. Bed lumpy. Pillow very uncomfortable. Rough towels. Limited choice of breakfast foods. Very over cooked kippers. Chinese dinner glutinous without flavour.

    Shower Clean Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Majestic old hotel by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was once majestic but is showing its age. Though our room was comfortable and the bathroom adequate, it was in need of renovation.

    Big room with a view of sea. Friendly and responsive staff really seemed to care that our needs were met. Restaurant had two vegan meal options and both were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Would stay at the hotel again however Morecambe is a run down area these days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is constructive criticism...tea tray could offer more of a selection.

    The hotel would once have been a grand hotel. It is now a little tired but was clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable hotel booked at short notice as booking.com had double booked our requested hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sticky tables in the breakfast room . The bathroom was tired and the bath badly marked which could have been improved if more care was taken to cleaning it

    The hotel was ok a traditional seaside hotel with friendly staff. Nice well cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    This was a very pleasant and welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm used to sleeping with more and firmer pillows and will ask for extra next time.

    The food was very good and well served. The bed was comfortable though I will ask for an extra pillow next time as they are soft. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly yet professional. They made you feel very welcome. All staff greeted you throughout the day and were always helpful and considerate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Stayed here once before and once again a lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here once before and once again a lovely stay! Welcoming staff and beautiful breakfast! Most enjoy the fact that this property is a traditional building and has kept many of its original features which adds to its character.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    rwally enjoyable. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property a little tired. Internet coverage in room was poor.

    Excellent friendly staff. Abdullah in the dining room is a star. Nice atmosphere, central location. Food was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    two sen /citz who were very well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some bed could do with up date

    staff very helpful rooms good size plenty choice for breakfast rest good choice would stay again and would recomend to friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    staff friendly and helpful hotel dirty and dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rubbish breakfast filthy room uncomfortable bed dribbling shower toilet took 3 hours to fill cracked bathroom sink tiny shower cubicle

    the gin staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    very nice hotel ,With really pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great hotel,good value for money.Very helpful and pleasant staff.We had someone who was in a wheelchair they did everthing possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible.Will come back.

    can,t think of anything negative to say.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Hotel and room were really nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and room were very good .I just suggest you invest in a new chef and yes I you're waiting staff in the restaurant at breakfast. It is customary to remove used plates etc after each course not at the end of the meal. . .

    Hotel and room were really nice ..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel could do with a major redecoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel could do with a major redecoration. We had to change rooms because of a leak from the ceiling and we received complimentary breakfasts (normally £10 each) for the inconvenience. However, the room we were given, though bigger, was above the bar which had live music until midnight, so we had to contend with that, plus the noise from customers and finally the staff emptying bottles into the bins. Breakfast was just average,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for two sleepless nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay the room temperature was high due to recent hot weather. There was no air conditioning so the only way to try to keep cool and get some sleep was to open the window. This helped with room temperature but as the room was at the front of the hotel there was very load road noise all night which prevented us from sleeping. The fitting of air conditioning would solve this problem. The beds could do with upgrading.

    Overall the stay was reasonably good car parking ok and free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing worth mentioning

    A wonderful traditional well maintained building, Very helpful chearful staff, made our stay a very enjoyable one, I'll be visiting there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Great cooked breakfast, sea view, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great cooked breakfast, sea view, friendly staff. Spacious room and an excellent tapas restaurant 20 minutes walk along the front. Would definitely recommend the Sangria from the Spanish bar next to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Manger, Jackie was brilliant it’s a shame her staff don’t...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My food, especially. My breakfast was part burnt but the waitress gave to me anyway instead of asking chef to replace it.... Again, staff should follow Jackie’s lead... Be customer focused irrespective of client ethnicity!

    Manger, Jackie was brilliant it’s a shame her staff don’t follow her example.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff, fair price, good access to beach, but otherwise not great.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi, we asked for access but were told it wasn't available. Beds were very uncomfortable. Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking a derelict building and a one way street. The room was so hot due to heatwave plus pipes radiating heat which ran through the room, as a result we had the window wide open to try to cool down. Noise levels from surrounding area were high, dogs barking, a pizza delivery place had constant noisy traffic, plus unfortunately on one night in the one way street below our room at around 9.30 to 11pm a bin lorry spent in excess of an hour with its engine running for no discernable reason.

    The staff were lovely, very helpful and pleasant. Dinner and breakfast were both good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    everything i would want for my money
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing BARGIN for money.

    due to demand in the area on this particular day. there was not many options and the clarendon was the best option lookswise from the options - however if I am honest it looked as though it was going to be dated and old from the pictures. However when I got there inside was a completely different outcome to what I anticipated - inside was clean and modified and the staff were really great and attentive. I lost my phone and booking in details and they were still able to accommodate. Thank you!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Good access to promenade and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furniture in rooms and communal areas, edges of carpet in bedroom dirty, bathroom door didn't shut, desk bottom drawer kept opening and therefore major trip hazard on route to bathroom during the night

    Staff very polite and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the centre.

    More than helpful and extremely friendly staff. It was a bit of a walk to the town centre/pubs but other than that our stay in this hotel was fantastic, would highly recommend if you do not mind the walk. Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Short break special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property could use some decorating and brightening up in places.

    Friendly staff, friendly atmosphere, good food, safe and easy parking and excellent views, depending on room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What no kippers for breakfast ? How can you come to Morecambe and the Chef has run out of kippers ? The bacon and scrambled eggs were good, though.

    Great location on the seafront with everything I wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    As this was a stop over on our way home we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet door was difficult to open, the shower cubicle could do with some scrubbing as it had mildew and the toilet sink had a crack in it

    The rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed if left in shower. Bed was comfortable and room was a good size. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpful. Although it said there was no lift there was infact a lift which was very handy as we were on 2nd floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Seafront location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and the window didn't open fully. We told staff and they prov ided a fan. Would definitely have liked a room at the front as the outlook was depressing. There was a lot of noise from what we assumed was a air-conditioning below the window. The window itself had partially obscured glass. The room felt very enclosed by this.

    Seafront location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasent stay. Hotel needs investment. Breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel manages to function well and I had a very pleasent stay, however the building could do with some maintenance and maybe a full refurb.

    The Clarendon, was very suitable to our needs. I travelled with a group of friends but I had booked a double room which was ensuite and it was a reasonable size. Tea and coffee making facilities was provided along with complimentary biscuits. The bed was comfy. There was a shower ( mixer tap variety) and a bath. Like so many others This Lancashire seaside resort has suffered many years of decline due to people traveling abroad on all inclusive holidays, however during our visit we was experiencing one of the best summers for a long time and the area was quite busy as a result. This has led to many hotels in the area becoming a bit dated and in need of investment, the Clarendon is no exception. The rooms have no air conditioning and could do with at least a wall mounted fan. The shower is not all that powerful due to being fed from a mixer tap set up. There rooms where clean but slightly more attention could be paid in this area. Some of the corridors are a bit narrow, which could make it difficult for any guest who are wheelchair user. There is a small lift to all floors. Some areas of the hotel need a bit more maintenance. All that the breakfast was great, a combination of continental and full English, all served in a nice dining room. There is also a bar but downstairs there is also a pub.Over all it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay there again. I

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    the breakfast was delicious, and delivered to our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing we didn't like was that the morecambe council have put a barrier along the sea front and the work is still going on, which spoils the view from ground level

    the breakfast was delicious, and delivered to our room. the view from the room was fantastic and we didnt even ask for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    They are doing a lot of work on the sea defences in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the front and as it was so hot we had the window open and there was constant noise from the road. I’ve seen another review suggesting to ask for a room not on the front.

    They are doing a lot of work on the sea defences in front of the hotel and hence it blocked the stunning view from the hotel. But for one night the hotel ticked all of the boxes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Myself and my 18yr old son booked the twin room, asked for...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a slightly bigger bathroom. To say the toilet roll was a new roll there wasn’t much on it, maybe use a better quality. I was apprehensive about using the tea making facilities because of the very small sloping shelf they were on. Curtains took some yanking to open and close. Not a fan of doorless wardrobes either.

    Myself and my 18yr old son booked the twin room, asked for sea view if possible and we got a side sea view overlooking the car park. Hotel is big and airy and has a lift to your floor. Room was quite hot as was outside, windows opened so that was good. It was quite a big room. Good mirror in the bathroom to put make up on. Great pizza place called Gizmos, opposite the car park, open very late. No noise from outside. Beds and pillows were very comfy, slept like a log. Full English Breakfast was perfect and staff were very polite and friendly. I would stay here again in a room at the front hopefully

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    An ok place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is crying out for investment. Rooms are dated and a bit shabby. WiFi not working all weekend.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, particularly the cooked food. Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    All of the staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was operated by old fashioned taps so getting the right temperature was a bit fiddly

    All of the staff were very friendly and helpful There was plenty of hot water As a lone traveller I felt comfortable sitting in the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had our evening meal in the restaurant was very good value for the money, the food was cooked well and all fresh ingredients. Breakfast next day was also very good and well cooked. Bar and restaurant very nice to relax in Staff at the hotel where all very obliging Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were cup rings on the desk, the towel rail was so loose it fell to pieces. Additionally, the shower curtain rings were too small for the hooks.

    The room was comfortable and the bed linen and the bathroom was clean. The staff were great, especially the young lady serving breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.5
    Had a great time with family and new friends we met at the Searchers concert at The Platform.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to attend to the rear door of Davy Jones Locker to stop it banging shut as this was an annoyance.

    Good food choice for breakfast and superb steak at dinner. I always feel at home there so that’s why we have been almost every year for more than 15 years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.5
    The Clarendon is OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's handy if you're going to a show at the Platform but otherwise it's at the wrong end of Morecambe. Everything around is run down.

    The Clarendon is OK. You get what you pay for. It's a grand old seaside hotel that has seen better days. It's a bit run down but it does the job. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is fine. If only they had the money to restore it a bit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Reasonable short stay venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately some work required on the property as it was looking a little tired.

    Car parking with the accommodation. Position of hotel on outskirts of promenade so walking back into town was pleasant. Breakfast included was good value overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Restful but disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a bit of a faded state. We booked a double room and a single room. The double had a sloping floor which caused 2 drawers in the chest of drawers to open fully - and this was on the way to the bathroom. We had to jam them shut with cases. The shower was quite weak and one of the bedside lights did not work. Our daughter had the single room and had to request a move as it was directly above a cellar bar which was very noisy. The new room had an uncomfortable bed and the tv control did not work.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the attached restaurant was lovely - again with very friendly staff. Would recommend eating there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Very tired and dirty hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor standard of cleanliness, hairs in bath, around sink and toilet and generally very poor. Broken biscuits left on tea tray, only booked one night otherwise I would've complained, not cheap either

    Staff were friendly, breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paintwork and some of the carpets

    The hotel is in need of a paint refresh and some of the carpets need updating but overall it is a smashing hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The view from our room was amazing and the bed was so comfortable. At breakfast again the service was efficient and friendly and the food which was cooked to order was beautiful. We had a lovely nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    We came to the hotel for a relaxing break and the hotel could not have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The work on the sea wall was noisy but that could not be the responsibility of the hotel and with the double glazing the effect was minimal

    All the staff were consistently pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing. I knew it was dated which isn’t so much of a problem but the cleanliness was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall is dated. The room we stayed in was very small and dark. The double bed was tiny and my fiancé’s legs hung off the end of the bed. It hadn’t been hoovered as there was a broken hair bobble on the floor and other bits. The bathroom wasn’t the cleanest with toilet cleaner all on toilet seat and on the bathroom door

    The breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing and very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    The room was clean and comfy. The location is good, a brisk walk along the prom to the centre of town and opposite the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't notice anything to complain about

    The bedroom was very spacious and the bed was particularly comfortable. Although the hotel is a little bit tired with regard to decoration I would definitely recommend it as the staff were extremely welcoming, efficient and helpful and the excellent location. Would definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Ganting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cracks in the ceiling the damp marks the uncomfortable bed. The cracks in the windowsill and in the mirror and the drawer that doesn't close in the desk

    Nothing except from the ghost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Available at short notice late at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the initial relief at finding somewhere to stay I realised the room (albeit very late at night) was very cold. I wouldn't have minded given the circumstances if there was some way to warm it, but there is no air con system at the hotel, and there were no heaters in the room. The radiators were all apparently done for the night. I resorted to putting the shower on hot to add some heat (it was 5 degrees outside). The staff were all nice but breakfast despite being busy was one waiter and one chef so I didn't order hot food after waiting 25 mins to be asked.

    Available at short notice late at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Walked in before check in and bedroom was ready,my lad said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walked in before check in and bedroom was ready,my lad said he was hungry and next minute one of the staff had a handful of food for him to choose from.all the staff spoke as if they knew us but without it being forced upon them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was just perfect for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that i didn't like about this hotel.

    It was just what I was looking for location wise. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Price of £180 for 2 nights was excessive, have paid less for nicer hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit dated, shower gel and shampoo for shower was positioned too low in the bath for you to reach, bed was not very comfy, nightly price for B & B.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent, bonus having good weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tea tray in room could be more generous only 2 tea bags for a couple no problem getting more, just a faff!

    everything, clean, plenty hot water, warm room, generous food helpings, all freshly cooked staff friendly, would go the extra mile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Suitable accomodation for a one night stay. It was OK for the purpose of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service on Saturday evening was very slow. We had a table booked for 7.45pm and didn't get our main course until 9.10 pm. There was loud music from the bar beneath our room until midnight. It also sounded like furniture was being moved around after midnight.

    Food in restaurant was very good. Location of hotel and parking was good. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    First night the bathroom light started flickering and then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night the bathroom light started flickering and then couldn’t turn it off, had to move rooms! Second night the TV in the new room didn’t work, staff did try and retune, but failed altogether. The public rooms had clearly been recently revamped but the rooms I saw and the back corridors were very tired and in need of deep cleaning and redecorating, also the carpet in my second room had a cigarette burn and further marks! The food in the restaurant on first night was enjoyable, and the service at breakfast the second morning was a haphazard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    perfect for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to walk through a group of smokers outside the door

    some of the rooms are showing signs of age and need refurbishing but the sea view rooms are great and certainly worth booking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Will stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really friendly staff. Comfy bed. Great breakfast. Can have in room for a tray charge. Great place to stay with pet. Late check in. Tell tail signs of old building but everything above made up for that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great facilities, clean and comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, great facilities, clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Plus waking up to a lovely sea view was a bonus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean, spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room where I stayed, the shower needs replacing and all plumbing needs sorting. Cold / warm water came out of taps randomly. Not being able to have a shower early in the morning because the only thing you get is cold water dripping out of the shower is very annoying

    Clean, spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: