Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clifton Hotel

Queens Parade, Scarborough, YO12 7HX, United Kingdom

#26 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2361 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked into the room at 16.45 only to find that the room had not been made up or cleaned from the previous guests. The beds had been slept in & the bin was full. After phoning reception they did move us to another room.

    The price of the room was really good & the location ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for one night. Booked last minute as was working in Scarborough and decided to make the most and have a night on the town. Welcoming reception staff. Didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment but room was nice and spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Will def stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.9
    Cheap n cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit dated n creaky but not unexpected in a hotel this age, No towel rail in bathroom and shower screen not a good fit resulting in a river on bathroom floor!

    Good sized comfy bed. Windows that open (not all hotels do). Reasonably priced. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.5
    Average but pricey for one nite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauce with breakfast.fresh coffee a smile from staff on arrival..just seemex like we were just another booking

    Nice breakfast but no sauce available.bitter coffe from a vending machine and same with the fruit juice..not fresh

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Excellent weather for October in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more coffee and milk sachets in the room.

    The room was comfortable and the views excellent. Particularly liked the sofa. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Excellent find and so reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great find!! Perfect for a mini break, the hotel is a bit dated but think that’s why I loved it, the staff were so friendly, amazing value for money! Perfect location, I’ve told my friends and family about this place, breakfast was great too. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Not bad good value for money what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a wheelchair users I have walking difficulties cannot walk very far with out having to stop .The lift was a big problem you could not get in and out of the lift needed someone to open the doors could not get in the lift sat in the chair had to push it in and out. Waiting for the lift the lift would go up and down past you with just one person in being on the second floor it would go up with a person in and if someone got in on the same floor it would go past you going down you could not get the lift till no one else wanted it the lift went past me five times with just one or two persons in never stopped to pick any body else up??? (Needs reprogramming )

    The hotel was clean and tidy rooms were up to expectations for the price we payed bed was two single beds pushed together and when we lay together you can guess what happened 😃

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.5
    The sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stupid person decided to smoke in their room setting off the fire alarm at 1am. This person should have been named and shamed in front of everyone and made to apologise

    The sea view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.1
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floors Uncomfortable bed with flat pillows Small bathroom

    Most of the staff seemed friendly and talkative Great location Nice food Dog friendly Off road parking at a reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    3.3
    Staff was rude and wouldn’t provide a spare blanket because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and wouldn’t provide a spare blanket because of assuming , totally unacceptable by takeing a extra payment without it been authorised by my self .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel just needs updating and a good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould on the curtains and the window, dirt on bathroom floor and round bath and carpets needed a good hoovering, the walls are very thin and can here everything. There was mould round bath too

    The location was ideal the 24hour reception is very good and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a good price plus dog friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable with springs sticking up so we laid on top of the quilt to help.and breakfast was a bit of a let down.the lift needs updating soon or you may loose alot a business,lots of other people staying there said the same.

    Location and helpful staff and a classic building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.0
    Lovely relaxing stay, lovely breakfast and superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heavy net curtains at the window blocking the seaview. Rooms were very dated but clean so not a deal breaker.

    The hotel is in need of updating. Covering the beautiful seaview with heavy nets in the windows is in my view defeating the object of a seaview, making a feature of the lovely bay windows overlooking the sea with a seating area would be lovely. The staff were lovely and polite. Special acknowledgement to Julie who went that extra mile to make our stay perfect and I got the most beautiful seaview, thank you. I will most definitely stay again for the seaview alone. Thank you to all the staff and spacial thank you to Julie (on reception)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing - perfect location but the hotel could, and should, be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bedroom was tiny; mattress hard and uncomfortable; bathroom was tiny - wash-basin far too close to the wc on one side and the shower cubicle on the other; no hot water in the shower. Dining room furniture looks antiquated; carpets in all public areas looking "tired"; lift to upper floors very old and potentially dangerous. Exterior walls show signs of dis-repair and need painting.

    The small display commemorating the 1st World War poet Wilfred Owen

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Location was amazing and food was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to state when booking that if you want a parking spave in the small car park you need to ring and book one. The Bed was too short and hard for myself and my partner who are both at least 6 foot tall

    Location was amazing and food was lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    Was disappointed with hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the hotel looked very tired. Also the reception area and up the stairs looked as if they had not been hoovered for days. The landings had a smell of toilet air freshner which was not very nice. the bedrooms looked like they had not been hoovered as dust had gathered around the skirting boards. Our room on the night we stayed was offered for £39.00. We paid £100. If i had paid £39.00, i would not have expected anything more.

    The breakfast was very nice and hot

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Needs major investment to bring it back to life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness has to be addressed. Our room windows were filthy inside and out, the room carpet was covered in bits and dust around the bed legs. Brown stains around cracked ceilings from leaks. £6.00 parking fee on site.

    Down stairs lounge area was inviting and cosy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    I’d visit again, happily!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle was very dirty inside and out.

    Breakfast was lovely, room clean enough, bathroom clean enough. All staff we came across were lovely. Again breakfast was great, really hot, good bacon!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    When can we come back??? 😃 the photo is the view from our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little dated but it was clean and tidy. Room was excellent and the sea view was amazing and we will definitely be coming back. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and we arrived late at night. Can’t wait to book again definitely worth the money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    In an ideal situation. 10 mins walk into town with good shops. Excellent beaches and park walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift sometimes not accessable but due to clients not following instructions.

    Nice room with sea views. Excellent maid service in bedroom. Happy hour noon till 6 pm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv very small and Windows rattled . Did not spoil the holiday.

    General atmosphere, location ,friendly staff and meeting fellow residents in the bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Unsurpassed for location, great walks on North Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, dinner finishing so early. It was clear to me that the hotel was geared to coach trips etc. A real pity - as it has massive potential, with the great building and location, to be a real treasure.

    I liked some of the staff, who were very helpful. Others were less so. Breakfast was a good old fashioned English. I can't say anything about dinner as the kitchen closed so early, (I had dinner around the corner at Jeremy's, and elsewhere in town as their kitchens stayed open later than 1930...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Commanding position but a rather tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in the room (i.e. not just in the lobby) would have been nice. Lift takes 45 seconds to crawl up to the top. Only 1 lift. The hotel has been posh in the past, but is now looking rather worn. The evening meal looked expensive (so I didn't take one.) There are endless other hotels up the same street which are better value for money. (I moved!)

    Breakfast was fine. Room was clean. Wifi (in the lobby) was fast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay staff were brilliant couldnt do enough for u glenn thw bar man kept everyone entertained found the hotel to be cold especially in room 3 a radiator was given to me which warmed the room the food i found to be good the yorkie puds were not home made but frozen and were difficult to cut and eat fruit salad no cream or evaporated milk which would have been nice the chef when he bought out the food was wearing latex gloves not ideal if u have a latex allergy like myself thankyou to the lady in the dining room who put on music at my request this hotel is quite a walk to the front and town would i stay again yes but may stay nearer to town next time.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    A lovely location and good breakfast. Not the best access for prams/wheelchairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is small and not the safest for little fingers. To be expected I guess in those old buildings but would have been impossible with a twin buggy.

    The service at reception was brilliant. They were able to check us in early and explain the parking options and we were even moved to a sea view room without having to ask which was lovely for the children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    dismal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was dirty , needs a good clean in the corners, the shower cream dispenser was empty. there was lots of marks on the bedroom walls .

    comfy bed, clean linen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable hotel but a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too warm even with radiators off, the mattresses too hard and the rooms in general a little tired and in need of upgrades. Didn't like having to leave the car park when you check out without the option to stay parked longer if space permitted being as you have to be out by 10.30 but can't check in till 3pm. The breakfast was adequate but staff were reluctant to 're fill the hot food items when running low.

    The hotel was clean and tidy, warm and welcoming.perfect location , nice lounge/bar area with friendly bar staff and a good range of drinks at good prices too. All staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    CURATE'S EGG
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom lacked a chest of drawers. Dinner was self service. Vegetables were overcooked. Coffee not available until bar opened at 12.00. Hotel would appear to require a complete refurbishment inside and out

    Room very comfortable and staff very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    everything was 'good' (if a bit tired ( too heavy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the 'like' box includes comments, nothing really to dislike , it is what it is being an old property.

    everything was 'good' (if a bit tired ( too heavy curtains for the fittings, )) and we appreciated the Sea View, although we only stayed the one night. Felt okay with leaving the car on the road overnight and appreciated having the time on Sunday morning to leave it there while a walk down to the beach and explore the parks. Only niggle which is not the Hoteliers fault is upstairs guest - up and about rather a lot, early in the morning (perhaps a heavy footed family ?)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room but was put in a very small room with a three quarter size bed. With one pillow. The hotel needs to be refurbished as the rooms are grotty. I complained but the staff didn't seem to care but was offered a refund.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    My holiday was like home from home. Absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing as far as I am concerned. You really couldn't ask for any changes as there was no faults with my stay. I am looking forward to going back. And that for me is a great acheivement to find a lovely place.

    This is a very pleasant hotel. Beautiful meals and breakfast. Good value for money. A great atmosphere. Very friendly staff and guests. The staff go out of there way to help you with anything. Being disabled never altered their attitude toward me. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.0
    I was appalled at the attitude of your barman who was on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was appalled at the attitude of your barman who was on duty on 29/9/18. I was asking about WIFI password and he just told me he did not know, so do without? I also wanted drinks booked to our room and he said NO, cash only here. I understand you have policies, and that was not the problem, his attitude was the problem. He snatched my drink off me and poured it away, i paid £3.20 and it was a full glass......he was obnoxious and controlling, extremeley unprofessional and intimidating. For this reason, we will NEVER return to your hotel, and I will be warning family and friends to steer clear.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.0
    The hotel location is brilliant with views of the sea and castle.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were very hard not comfortable and generally as with many of our lovely seaside hotels the decor is a bit dated and tired. Unable to get WiFi in our room.

    The room (although on the 4th floor) was very warm and clean with a sunny big bathroom. The hotel itself is a lovely old building with sea views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    First visit
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but it was repetitive ,there was only a croissant for continental breakfast no cheese or meats ,fruit salad was tinned and the first course was salad with maybe slice of melon .

    The Sea view and position of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    3.3
    If you are offered room 117, do not accept it or check it first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating, furniture old and broken. No mention of £6 per day parking charge. No dual flush on toilet, radiator did not work in bathroom but did in bedroom. Pillows had blood on them. Asked reception about radiator and was told it would be fixed but was not. Next time we asked we were told it was not a radiator but a towel rail. However it was a radiator. Bathroom had tiles missing and was dirty round basin. Carpet was dirty. Room 117

    Position of hotel on headland. Easy walking to sea and Oasis Cafe for good breakfasts, cheaper than hotel. Lovely walk along great promenade into Scarborough for many cafes for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    Ounce out of the Hotel the stay was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Room was so small the bed had to be diaganally to fit it in The electric Kettle was at the opposite side to the sink and facilities[ Health / Safety issue ] On the first evening we paid for a meal which was very poor like a canteen very sloppy. There after we went out for the evening meal which were all very enjoyable as well as being cheaper and more sociable. Having to pay in your own Car Park.

    Not a lot with the exception of the breakfast which was very good in fact its the only thing about the hotel we enjoyed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.1
    Would stay nearer centre next time
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the add one e.g. Car park breakfast evening meal etc, doubled the price too far away from town centre to eat out , no entertainment, no drawers in room just a wardrobe

    Convenient to crematorium,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.9
    Rather disappointing as this was our wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, hard, room too small, kept bumping leg on corner of bed because the bed was at an angle. Could not get shower to work in the morning.

    Excellent breakfast and charming lady at service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel satisfactory but in a poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another Britannia Group hotel, an old hotel built in the (1900) era, still trying to hold onto grandeur but not succeeding. This is an old lady past its prime being held together with wire and a band aid.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    I loved the location and the staff were great looked after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little old fashioned which may not suit most people but that's the reason i booked it.

    I loved the location and the staff were great looked after us really well, receptionist and night porter were excellent, great sense of humour and breakfast staff were great too. Didn't have evening meal in hotel. we will be stopping again next year and we're looking forward to. Really nice walk into Scarbados and the views are brilliant from the sea view rooms. Thanks for make 6 old men very happy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N:a

    The service we received was top class. There was 14 of us and we were all very happy with the service we received.?All the staff were very polite and friendly. They honestly couldn’t do enough for us. The breakfast was excellent and had lots to choose from. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.0
    I enjoyed my 2night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a small dog with me (bedlington terrier) I was not allowed to leave her in my room while I used the restaurant for meals apart from that I was happy with what I got for the price paid.i would visit againi

    English breakfast was lovely (hot) .leisure area for relaxation was very comfortable,looking out to sea,very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasent brake with our Dog this was our third stay at this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed and pillows a bit on the hard side,

    sea veiw, the lift essential, a pleasent room, modern TV, plenty of room, ensuite, tea coffee, being able to eat with pet outside of the restaurant and not having to leave him in the car through brakefast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Great resort, grim hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired, worn and not very clean. Furniture was marked with both stains and things that would have cleaned off. A filthy cloth was left on a chair. The Receptionist on arrival was rude and disinterested

    The view was spectacular

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not shut the curtains as the last few hooks had come off the heading tape before we arrived and with the high walls could not reach to put them back on

    Location was excellent to walk on the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    2.5
    Filthy, stained, lumpy mattress, dirty, mouldy shower and shower room, not at all relaxing - yuck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked to stay at the Clifton through booking.com and received our confirmation by email. Six days later we arrived after a very long car journey from West Wales, with my 86-year-old mother, just in time for tea, to be told that there was no room for us and we had been 'outbooked' to a hotel we had stayed in before and had vowed never to stay in again. There was no manager available to explain to us and the receptionist simply told us that the manager had phoned us the day before - 5 days after we had received our booking confirmation, and something we are sure is untrue as there we were at home at the time she was supposed to have phoned and there were no missed calls either to our home phone or on our mobile phone call register. We were sent, without any real apology, to the 'Grand Hotel', where there was nowhere to park and a very long queue at Reception. A member of staff working his way down the queue informed us that they had no vacancies and knew nothing about us. We were invited to wait in the (empty) cocktail bar, but my husband had to move the car to an expensive car park while we waited to see what on earth would happen. My mother and I phoned our elderly relatives, whom we were due to visit during our stay (in their 90s), to see if they had any suggestions if the Grand could not find us rooms. It was a tense and stressful time, no access to anything to eat or drink as we waited unknowingly. Eventually the Grand found us two rooms, apologising for the wait - apparently before 'outbooking' the Clifton should have contacted one of the managers at the Grand, but the staff at the Grand had phoned all their managers and not one of them knew anything about us. Eventually they had found us in the system. But if there was a mistake with the original booking, why had the manager from the Clifton waited 5 - 6 days before trying to do anything about it? And how could we be given no choice?

    The meals at our substitute hotel (see below). And the waitresses, when available, were pleasant - at our substitute hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice an relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it, from checking in, excellent lady on reception, the room was nice, the bartender on the night was talkative and funny an the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    ok if you can cope with the steep hills.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bar. The barman was everywhere except in the bar most of the time. Though he was pleasant when he was there.

    the room was clean and the bed very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased I chose the hotel and that they were flexible in meeting my needs in room allocation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi in the bedroom missing.

    Very accommodating in allocation of rooms: catered for my Wilfred Owen interest at short notice. Friendly, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Chill out at the Clifton hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing is the tea bags Yorkshire tea would be fab , take it from a tea expert 😊☕️ I always bring my own I travel nowhere without t bags. But seriously we are guaranteed to chill out and always return home refreshed thank you carol Anne & colin

    We never fail to get a booking at the Clifton we love coming there ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Very enjoyable spoilt by such a poor standard of the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not worth £80 and not worthy of such a nice hotel standing in such a good position. The room, especially the bathroom, was extremely shabby and cold. Neither of us could face having a shower on the Sunday morning due to the lack of heat. Check out the side bath panel in room 117 to see what we mean about shabbiness. The reception staff were a little off hand and curt, some more than others but, unlike the bar staff, none were friendly.

    The gentleman working behind the bar on the afternoon of the 16th September was very friendly and most helpful. The reception and lounge area are very attractive and comfortable. The staircase and landings are well decorated and the outside of the building looks imposing and well looked after.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    No welcome - in fact we felt as if they were doing us a favour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudest, least welcoming receptionist (female). We had booked the last room. Said it was just tough for us if it was not as accessible as requested. Messages we sent via Booking had not been answered otherwise we would have gone to another hotel before being committed. They blamed Booking. I think they weren't bothered. Cash only bar in a hotel (into who's pocket?). Very unusual! Won't be going back there

    Nice location. Nice guests

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.5
    good breakfast,large room,the location and views are great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a lovely size,we paid for a seaview but windows were filthy so it looked like a mist was around,but just the windows needed a good clean.generally the cleaning was good we just found window ledges tv and fieplace were dusty with brick dust,so obviously work had been carried out at some point and room was not cleaned properly afterwards.for the price we paid,(nearly two hundred pounds for two nights),we only had one teabag and one coffee each left,very frugal!parking too we had to pay for scratch off card to park at side of road.£6.00 for 2 nights,or in hotel car park £6.00 a night.would I stay there again,not for that price.

    good breakfast,large room,the location and views are great,decor in the room was nice and fresh,and tastefully decorated,we had a family room to ourselves had a cream sofa in that would pull out to make another bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    its basic - you are paying for the view but there's nothing special about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was literally nowhere to park and nothing on the adjacent streets. due to it being overlooking the seaside and there was an event on and the car park is tiny. the staff were ok but not overly friendly. we asked for a double and were given a twin which we pushed together but kept falling down the middle. the room was clean but the hotel was noisy as we were on the ground floor. it was basic and not enough tea/coffee/milk. not impressed

    the location was fine for us and it was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    dated and not for business visitors
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the outdatedness and price of room far to high.

    Very dated hotel. Double room stated. Couldn't swing a cat in it. Space so restricted and bed was really a large single. Was clean but not value for money. Booked three rooms and all comments were the same. there is no a l carte restaurant, just basic pub food. Ancient lift but did work. really a hotel for retired people, not good for business people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.3
    Wifi only available in public lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only available in public lounge. Property seemed very dated and not in especially good order. We felt it was considerably overpriced for what it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay at the Clifton and make the same mistake as we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very dirty the carpets looked like they had never been vac'd table surfaces dirty and sticky not wiped. No shower gel in shower dispenser. The rooms did not look anything like the online adds. We were told the lift would be ok for mothers powered wheelchair it was no were near big enough. We left one day early because we were very disappointed with the hotel.

    The food in the restaurant and the view out of the window was very good. The staff did the best they could do with the poor environment and equipment they had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    A very good value for money hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside I would say was the lack of room Wi-Fi, which I would have expected a hotel of this standard to have.

    The price for our stay was very reasonable. The staff were were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were knowledgeable about the local and wider area. The room was tidy, very clean and had plenty of storage and room to relax in. The sea view was an unexpected bonus. The room cleaning service was excellent during our stay, The food was good as well with a very relaxed atmosphere in the dining room. The bar area was large and a large selection of beverages offered. Snacks are also offered in the bar area until a reasonable time in the night as well. We will be visiting this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Clifton Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive - the accommodation & food offer did not justify the prices charged! We stayed one night, the toilet in the room was blocked when we arrived and none of the windows in the room would open (all painted shut). We requested a room change but were advised this was not possible. The breakfast offer was very very poor.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wi fi.stayed there a few times evening meals not as they use to be,poor variety. Outdated TV,Small for room size,remote didn’t work properly

    Location brilliant ,friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stay at Clifton
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. No WiFi signal in the room at all. Free parking would have been welcome

    The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. My dog was welcome everywhere except the dining area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great meals and pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the spotlights on the hotel frontage shone directly into our room

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great meals and pet friendly. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Basic hotel room. Just a bit too Hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and i couldn't sleep due tot the heat. If it had a fan provided or air conditioning then maybe it would have helped. I had to wet a towel to keep cool.

    Basic room was clean and tidy. Room was very hot and I had to wet a towel to keep me cool. Bed was tiny for a double bed. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    3.8
    Bad customer service, horrible smelly room with small windows, not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room for two adults and a children.Dirty bathroom and bad smell, the duvet was dirty and with big recent stains, we asked them to change it and to change to a room in the sea side of the hotel as we have told them when booking. They took ride of the duvet but did not give us another. They have free rooms but did not changed us. No wifi in the rooms, tv not working...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.5
    Enjoyable weekend break
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated on the North Bay facing the sea. The hotel in general was clean building could do with a little updating. The cleaniners, waiters & waitresses & bar staff (glen) have excellent customer service skills. Reception staff / front of house staff need training on customer service skills. The rooms were clean some on the smaller size but if only going for a night or two you be fine, bathroom a little small i you were on the larger size like me. I met the shower when sat on the loo. The dining room is buffet style, breakfast great no fault, tea/ eve could be better on the plus side children only have to ask what they want and it will be made for them & ice cream available on request. The hotel parking. I didn't read the small print to book your car on the car park. If your lucky to be able to park on the car park it will cost you @ £6 a day, if no spaces available you will need to park on the side road, this is also £6.00 per day the scratch card state it is ok for 2 days but i only paid the once and they give you a card (like the disability card) to put in from 9.00 am for 2 hours. Overall had a lovely week, weather good and Whitby isn't that far away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Never got chance to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..

    Nothing didn’t get chance to like anything never got the chance to stay booked online through booking.com drove through n the car park asked a man if there was any spaces left as he replied are u a guest here and me and my partner replied yes he said well I don’t no how there isn’t any rooms left park ya car behind mine and follow me he asked if my name was my name I replied yes he said you’ve just booked online haven’t u I don’t know why booking.com is saying there’s rooms available when we’re fully booked it’s because booking.com get 10% of the payment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no card facility to pay for drinks at the bar. Not being aware of any cashpoints nearby, each drink on card that we got at the bar, we had to take the receipt one by one to reception.

    The fruit selection in breakfast, and the quickness to resolve any problems (our shower on/off was locked so the lady in reception gave us access to a very nearby room to shower)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    I booked this accommodation for friends,we have stayed at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ladies said that the room was very small and the bathroom so tiny that they had to come into the bedroom to get dry.the standard of housekeeping was very poor.

    I booked this accommodation for friends,we have stayed at The Cliffeton for the passed five years it is very handy for the cricket ground.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    It was lovely, friendly and stood out from the rest of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovely, friendly and stood out from the rest of the hotels along side the cliff, it stood beautifully on its own could see it from the beach and it just looked lovely the inside had an old but welcoming rustic feel, our room were perfect for the one night, we needed a fan so rang for one quite late was told their was none left after sayin me and my sister were pregnant and very warm he went to another hotel to get us one, wich we thought was a lovely thing to do, secure and safe parking would definitely stay again already thinking of booking for next year as Scarborough is absolutely beautiful! Was like being abroad we loved it ! The 2 days we were Their was just not enough the kids had an amazing time and the beach was so lovely and safe, looking out the window from our room was like lookin abroad the view of the sea were amazing thankyou for a lovely stay hope to see you soon ! X

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice clean hotel in lovely position. Have stayed before & will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was clean but a little uncomfortable. Even though we were on the fourth floor & not directly overlooked a curtain or blind at the bathroom window would have been nice instead of a bare window.

    Location & view from bedroom window was lovely. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Love Scarborough so all in all a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a complete make over We had a sea view but the windows needed a good clean

    The breakfast was very good Found the staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked and paid for a sea view room standing up to sea the view Sloping floors really annoying Stayed previously in an excellent room at same cost Linen bags all over 4th floor corridors Inadequate lift

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Very poor, with no respect for the guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn`t get the advertised parking space when we arrived. The room smelled of damp. The bathroom was smelly. We were told at check out when we were leaving that we`d been mistakenly put in the wrong room. At breakfast, because of the room mix up we were accosted mid "self service" and asked in front of all the seated guests if we had "breakfast status" we had to go back to our room and fetch the itinerary to prove it before we could eat. We complained at the reception about this and the other things but were given no recompense, just "sorry". Well we won`t be staying in the Clifton Hotel any time soon.

    The breakfast was self service cooked and very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    My room was lovely best sea view
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the room for 2 ppl with breakfast for £119 too be told in the morning that there was only 1 breakfast booked 😡 do not understand why i would book a room for 2 ppl and only book 1 breakfast so had too pay another £8 which the breakfast was not that good at all

    My room was lovely best sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    In need of a make over!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spartan, like a youth hostel, with the oldest TV I have ever seen. Beds were not very comfy. The breakfast room looked dark and gloomy so we didn't stay for breakfast but instead had a lovely meal in a sea front cafe.

    When we lifted up the net curtains, there was a lovely view of the sea front. The room was quite spacious and the bath was a good size with plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: