Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cliftonville Hotel 3 stars

Seafront, 29 Runton Road,, Cromer, NR27 9AS, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Cromer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room with a cramped feel to it

    Excellent reception service and breakfast service. Good food at breakfast and lovely guest areas in the Grand Hotel style. Nice sea view from room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed with my single standard room it was small and although reasonably clean was very shabby without the chic..my single bed mattress was so old and uncomfortable I slept in the chair for the first night ..when I reported this to reception the next morning they did put a mattress topper on the old mattress which made it slightly better..The bathroom was dated and grubby and the handbasin was in the bedroom..on the morning before I left I went to have a shower and there was raw sewage and yucky stuff leaked up from the drains covering the shower floor

    Staff were all really nice friendly and helpfull.the food was excellent breakfast was very good Bistro restaurant could not be faulted with the food or service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I CAN HONESTLY SAY THERE WAS NOTHING I DID NOT LIKE.

    I CAN ONLY SAY THAT EVERYTHING AT THE CLIFTONVILLE HOTEL WAS BETTER THAN EXCELLENT. STAFF,ROOM,FOOD ALL FANTASTIC, CLOSE TO BEACH AND ONLY ABOUT ATEN MINUTE WALK INTO TOWN. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the weather, it was a relaxing, joyous, brief time at the Cliftonville.

    The finest food we've tasted in a long while. The service always speedy and courteous. Considering this is an Edwardian hotel it is in the best state of preservation that one could reasonably expect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast haddock took a very long time and and had to ask if they had forgotten it. It was dry and hard with a lukewarm egg when it finally arrived. Towel rail fell off the wall. It was such a tiny bathroom that the shower was very awkward to use. I weigh 120 lbs but it was difficult to shower. Bathroom was so tiny that the sink was in the bedroom. Admittedly a single bed room but it was really cramped. Drawer would not stay closed and I kept banging my foot. . Both nights TV signal was lost so no tv. Lift is ancient, extrememly slow, and there is a warning that emergency bell is unmanned after 11pm so best to use the stairs!

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However do not feel room was worth £306 for our 2 night stay , fairly small twin room and bathroom old and in need of replacement certainly nothing like the bathrooms advertised in photos. Also TV a waste of time picked up BBC 1 if you were lucky.

    Near to the beach and pier, beautiful sea view from room 19. Excellent breakfast couldn’t vault.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    mattress in room 9 was very hard and lumpy - not good for a room of that price which also needs a refurb.

    lovely location main parts of hotel comfy and interesting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I stayed in was in need of full refurbishment and not really up to modern standards. By contrast the public rooms were excellent.

    Very friendly and helpful staff; good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very rushed no toilet brush and shower needs a refurb urgent no where to put your shower things Breakfast service bad waiter brought cooked breakfast long before we had finished cereal ! Result no room on table ! Felt like staff wanted to get ride of us, Wouldent serve coffee prior to cooked breakfast ?? Reply I prefer to do it All in one hit ,, Bad breakfast ,,

    The staff very friendly very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like I was been watched by the staff at breakfast and cleaning staff for when I left my room .never experienced cleaning staff waiting to clean your room at 9am usually its 10am

    The cleanliness was very good and options at breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The large old sash windows were a bit drafty and noisy when the wind was blowing, but not sure how you could improve them, without destroying character or views in an Edwardian property. Not critical just observation. The weather was very wet and windy when we stayed.

    All staff very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and clean. Sea view. Easy parking. Liked the character of the older property with modern facilities. The food was wonderful. The breakfasts were first class. Nice location for the seafront and town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very hot and window could not be opened. No air con but a desk top fan was made available

    Food and attentiveness of staff was excellent. Very clean throughout the hotel. Bathroom although compact was very well designed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expecting something special given the very expensive rates but there is nothing premium about this hotel. Drinks VERY expensive. Food VERY expensive. No drinking water in the room. Half a toilet roll and no spare. Kids food frozen from supermarket. Meals cobbled together with no thought. Fruit juices cheap supermarket 'from concentrate' stuff. Food ranged from very bland to horrible, how can you get fried tomatoes or filtered coffee wrong? The chef could do with a new set of knives to chop things properly. Have to pay extra for breakfast if you want anything beyond a tasteless fry up. Never been disappointed with an English breakfast before or left food on my plate. Never known a "bed and breakfast" where you have to pay extra for breakfast choice either. All very disappointing. Staff struggled with 10% restaurant capacity in the evening, would hate to see it busy. You'll hear "let me chase that up for you" quite a lot. This place is trying to be something it is not. If you're going to charge these prices then service and food should be exceptional. Do yourself a favour and check out Burlington Berties, 5 miles down the road in Sheringham, if you want a pleasant stay in the area.

    Staff friendly and polite at all times. Room, toilets and rest of hotel all spotlessly clean throughout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like !

    Friendly helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable lounge/bar area, lovely decor in lobby, excellent food - both breakfast and from the bar/bistro menus. Clean comfortable and homely bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was rather draughty, admittedly it was extremely cold and windy outside, and the bed was not very comfortable

    Food was excellent and so was the service and courtesy of the staff. Dogs were made welcome which matters to owners. The hotel is very well located. And the public rooms were well heated and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was pleasant, and the bathroom adequate but dated. However, there was no fan in the bathroom, nor could the window be opened. As a result of this the room windows were running with condensation for much of the time we were there.

    We appreciated the quality and variety of the food on offer. The staff were consistently helpful, friendly and courteous. Our two dogs were also made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the shower wasn't great. I prefer not to have a fixed head shower. And the cubicle was, perhaps, a little small.

    The welcome was very friendly. Lovely room and the bed was particularly comfortable. The breakfast was well cooked. Couldn't fault the staff. All was great.😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The full English breakfast wasn't great--seemed to have been reheated in the microwave. Room was a little shabby with cracks in the plaster, worn bathroom, toilet didn't flush well. Renovations going on in the room next door on afternoon of arrival were a little noisy.

    Lovely but somewhat worn Edwardian-era hotel on the seafront. Very nice staff, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    fantastic amazing Edwardian building, wish I had gone here before very clean panoramic sea views, a lounge a bar, very friendly staff, tea and coffee in the room a hairdryer, shampoo shower gel,a tv ensuite very clean shower and bath,didn't want to leave, soon as I woke up I was looking at the sea and the pier, wish i had stayed another night, but will go again lovely breakfast great price, 10/10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room rather small and bed too soft.

    Excellent location, room OK if a little small, bed was too soft for me as I prefer a hard bed. Food and restaurant were good however, staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was rather firm and the pillows very hard which detracted a little from a peaceful night's sleep. The double bed was, in fact, two singles joined and this led to a bit of a ridge in the middle.

    We were upgraded to an executive room for no extra charge as it was available. That was much appreciated and was arranged for us without being asked. The room was, therefore, very pleasant with a view over the sea (I believe all rooms overlook the sea). Our evening meal was excellent and not overpriced and the staff were brilliant. The building itself is beautiful and typically Cromer. We felt superbly looked after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a single room but I hadn't expected it to be so small! Not good when you are slightly claustrophobic but it did not put me off wanting to return will just what options there are on better sized rooms!!

    Location was excellent and good to have free off road parking! The hotel despite its age was lovely and the bed was very comfortable with a pretty decent shower as well. All staff encountered were friendly and happy to help. The breakfast selection was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues: Bed a bit creaky. Ordered a croissant at breakfast but it didn’t arrive.

    Very friendly staff. Fantastic location. Good size room with a bath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in one of our parties room was a bit lumpy and the condition of one of the cushions on the bed was slightly soiled.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic noise with window open although it has to be said the coast road is not busy (might be in high season)

    Very close to the sea - room had sea view and was quite large - pet friendly - friendly and efficient staff - great parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was slow. They were understaffed. Poor people were running around like headless chickens. We ordered more toast that didn’t arrive. Bedroom windows were really grimy, which let down the overall impression.

    Lovely old building with old world charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot think of anything.The coolness of the room was soon attended to,and it was not a problem.

    The food was excellent at breakfast,the bar and the Bistro.We loved the sea view even though the sky was grey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms and I Clearly mentioned that I am coming with my family (two adult and two children for each rooms they arrange very terrible bed for the my children not comfort at all we did not sleep during the night because of broken window noise awake us continuously more over I booked with including breakfast and I paid fully on arrival, when I was checkout I requested to pay the children meals I was surprised they did not even notify me during the payment they said they did not aware that I am came with children ! Its not matter of money ! its a day time robbery ! I booked clearly informed me that what they advertised. and They simply said they did not received the children's confirmation from booking.com

    location of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meet and greet on arrival was a real chore for the 3 staff on the desk! Room was tiny (single room) Problem with window ( very dangerous) should be a sign up warning ⚠️ guests. Shower pressure poor Stained cushions on the bed ( NO THANKS ) No attention to detail . VERY overpriced. Family run business ( you would never know) To much emphasis on restaurants and not enough on your guests!!!

    The location was very good!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The service was extremely attentive. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The complimentary supplies were kept topped up and the view from my window, facing the sea, suited me completely. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will use them again if I return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small, showers rooms very very small, most people do not sleep in a single bed anymore so single room should not mean single bed. Some rooms would not get a double anyway!! Very expensive for the rooms.

    The staff, service cleanliness was second to none

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere, great breakfast, also excellent dinner in the bistro, everything clean and well kept, nice stylish interior, very good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was very small with not enough places to hang towels (would have been OK for one person). The shower was not great although the water flow was Ok.

    Very good location and superb view. The bistro was very good (especially the Thai curry with monkfish and crayfish tails). The cooked breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wallpaper in the bedrooms could have been more in keeping with the beautiful Edwardian elegance of the reception and dining rooms in the hotel.

    The food was excellent, beautifully cooked and with a variety of local produce to suit all tastes. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    This is not a complaint but I expect you would want to know anything the guests will know about, but perhaps the management would not do so as they do not sleep in the guest rooms. We were in Room 4 and there is a small cracked window, and also the cold tap in the en suite room takes a lot of turning on before anything substantial comes out, and even then there is not much pressure of water.

    After staying in guest houses, many of whom do not now do evening meals, we needed a place where we could have dinner in the same building. We expected a hotel to be too formal for us, but were pleasantly surprised and found all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. The view from our room was good, even though it was limited compared with other rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking was a bit hit and miss but it looked like a new car park was being built.

    We enjoyed the Bistro within the hotel and all the hotel staff were very pleasant and obliging .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single occupancy rooms are small with small bathrooms.

    The staff are amazingly friendly, caring and professional. They are so considerate towards the elderly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected more luxury for £160 a night. Pillows were hard . And we found it very strange and inconvenient to have the wash basin in the room and the toilet and shower room were at the other end of the room and very compact Paint peeling of bathroom ceiling.

    The location was great. Service was good easy check in and check out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom set up proved a challenge to two 81 year olds with the shower in a high bath and narrow access.

    The room was very pleasant with good panoramic views from the bay window. Comfortable chairs and bed. Good clothes storage accomodation. TV OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating and it had a very nasty smell. Also the mattress was very hard

    The staff were so lovely! The food was very nice. The reception and adjoining area's are were interesting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift did not go right up to 3rd floor but this was because it's an old hotel

    Right on the front, close to pier, excellent restaurant on site. Room was very comfortable with 4 poster bed & window seat looking out to the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    'En suite' was a bit disappointing in the single room I had

    Sea views really good and the Crème Brule was the best I have ever had. The staff were really friendly and professional. I would go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned, tired decor - could really do with modernising. It is not a cheap hotel, but the rooms give the impression that it ought to be cheaper.

    Location, breakfast, friendly staff and parking availability -right outside the front door!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with an upgrade but was still clean and functional, so not a major problem.

    The sea view from our room was brilliant. Staff are lovely and we had a really nice couple of days at the Cliftonville.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of urine in bedroom, damp/musty smell in general areas of hotel Poor en suite Small "family " room Rubbish decor

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thd room was extremely hot for some reason even with the sach window open.It didn't spoil our one night stay.Shower head needed descaling and ckeaning properly.Seei

    The hotel staff are very smartly dressed and pleasant. The room facilities we had in room 8 were excellent.The food was superb and breakfast presentation and qualityagain beautifully done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was well maintained and very clean. The bedroom was very spacious andcomfortable with a nice seating area looking out to the sea. Staff were very atentive and friendly. We ate in the reatuarant twice and the food was very good with lots of locally sourced sea food. We certainly will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a king sized bed, and a larger t/v.

    warm welcoming ambience,happy, helpful staff, & a good selection of fine food.with a choice of fine dining or bistro dining who could ask for more.the hotel was a pleasure just to look around at the fine edwardian/victorian decors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too satisfied to wish to think of anything.

    Attractive Edwardian building with many retained features of the era. The booking was for two single bedrooms for my son and myself. Invariably, single rooms in hotels are poor, with a poor outlook, but on this occasion we were agreeably surprised at the brightness, view and certainly comfort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cysten in the bathroom/toilet was faulty in that it took over 30 minutes to re-fill after use. This made a visit to the toilet more than a little embarrassing. Room 10.

    Bistro food was very good. Breakfast was also same.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit over-priced, cold breakfast choice could have been wider, a bit mean with the tea/coffee/milk in the room. No soap in room.

    Good location, single room small but comfortable with side sea view, bed comfortable, nice quiet hotel. Good bar snacks. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with king size bed. Lift too small and jumped when you got in.

    Loved all the traditional features. Stained glass windows. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for a 3 star hotel was outrageous . Felt the hotel should have offered a 'continental ' breakfast, without having to pay an additional charge .

    Atmosphere good , lovely view , friendly staff, food on the whole good . Loved the prunes and tomato juice! . Good take off point to visit surrounding countryside .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plates that the food came out on whether breakfast or dinner were dangerously hot. Our child burnt his hand twice and even my husband got a nasty scold from his own plate. The waiters had to bring the plates out with multiple cloths to prevent themselves from being burnt......no need for this. Plus doesn't do the food quality any favours especially the steaks.

    The staff were of 5 star standard. We booked with a mid level service exception and were completely blown away by the attentiveness and high quality service for our every need......whether it was to the kids or our dog! Absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfy, but as I have a bad back this is not an easy ask.

    Staff very freindly and helpful. Room very clean and enjoyded tea and coffee making facilities,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were hanging off track, valance sheet was too big for the bed and was a trip hazard for my elderly mum, the shower was grubby and the shower caddy was really rusty. I have stayed in much cleaner rooms at a fraction of the cost. If I was paying on value I would say £120 maximum and that's due to hotel, the restaurant, and the staff .......

    The staff were lovely and the foodwas delicious and the building was oldy worldly full of character

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No ventilation in the bathroom.

    The staff were very efficient and friendly. Excellent location and room had lovely sea view. Excellent food and choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to amend booking due to fractured arm Reception staff at hotel and bookings.com staff Were extremely helpful. During my stay all requests for my food to be cut up so I could eat With one hand were met with great helpfulness Despite the hotel being very busy. The staff were friendly and the hotel had a happy atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room not very good and the window very hard to open. The window could do with a blind as people could see In from car park at side. There wasn't many parking spaces either.

    The late meal was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The en-suite lavatory in my room was slow to flush and the water pressure was low. The room was a single room and I expected it to be small but it was very small. The lift was small and antiquated and didn't stop on all levels

    The pleasant and helpful staff at all levels. The adjacent car parking though it was a little awkward around the back. The sea-front location with views across the sea. The excellent breakfasts with buffet and waiter-service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understanding that it was a dog friendly environment, one night they were far too many dogs in the bar during cocktail hour and a dog incident broke out, completely yanking one poor man out of his seat, it was a bit unsettling. It would be nice to enjoy a relaxing evening without dogfights.

    The bar Staff remembered my name for the several days that I was there. Breakfast was amazing. Real ground coffee was strong.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower and toilet flush. On the 12th the staff were late for serving breakfast and the self-service table did not have milk, dishes or fruit juice. Also the windows, inside and out, needed cleaning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight negative was breakfast service. We were a largish group on a fairly tight schedule and breakfast service was a bit below the standard of the rest of the stay. But only a tiny bit!

    The hotel is quaint, as you would expect a place that advertises itself as Edwardian to be. The rooms were comfy,clean and airy with good views. The staff were great and there were millions of them! The owners were on hand and always willing to chat and advise on the local area etc. The food at the Cliftonville is stunning. There is a bistro style eatery as well as the restaurant and they were both busy all of the time that we were there; a recommendation in itself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beer it was dire, no idea how to keep and serve cask beer, perhaps staff not trained in this, its not the bar person fault

    service and breakfast cycle storage provided by the maintenance man

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy very young children still in the high end in-house Boltons Bistro restaurant at 9.30 pm (to which the unsympathetic staff response was that the restaurant was open to family's and it was the parents fault) and erratic service took a definite edge off what was actually a very good quality meal. The staff could have done a lot better. The hotel is expensive for what it is. Bad drain smell from ensuite sink plughole but no other cleanliness issues.

    The food (separate to the service and child noise) in Boltons Bistro was actually very good. Pleasant room with sea view. Location is good. Car parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful, the hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. the breakfast was amazing. We had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was wonderful, I would recommend you book a table as it was very busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were attending an event in Cromer the location of the hotel was brilliant. An early morning finish meant that we able to use the facilities which was brilliant. The staff were very accommodating which was appreciated. Will be coming back to enjoy the hotel facilities more and not be rushing off!! The room had a sea view - absolutely perfect!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were tired verging on tatty. In general staff weren't well trained or personable. I noticed a few cost cutting measures which seemed a little tasteless especially when considering the nightly price. I couldn't get wi-fi or a signal in the building. The establishment didn't seem particularly welcoming or comfortable or good value for money.

    The included breakfast was good; full English and buffet selection. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot really, the Hotel was looking a little tired...

    I loved the warm and helpful staff, the Chefs are excellent ...... the location is great ..... would stay again .....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very warm night and the duvet was far too hot. I removed it from the cover and thought that a light blanket in the wardrobe would have been helpful...

    Reception staff very helpful - gave me a key in case I was late back. Dining room staff were excellent - cheery and efficient. As I was only there one night, I saw no other staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower had parts missing (temperature control)

    Brilliant breakfast with loads of options. Good bar. Comfortable bed. Easy access to all parts of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long drive from Heathrow but if looking for something in this area we couldn't recommend highly enough

    Executive double room was utter delight in every way and staff were superb throughout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security - I didn't like the idea of reception leaving my key(with room number on it!) on the front desk just because I was out after 11pm. Cleanliness - it's an old hotel and it really shows. The carpets looked pretty grimey, as did the bathroom. A leak in the ceiling was also apparent. And the room was TINY! Restaurant staff were a little dismissive and mistakes were made with my very simple order. Temperature - you can't open the windows more than a crack and there is no air conditioning or fan in the room. We were sweltering. I expect much better for £160 a night!

    Front desk staff were lovely. The view from our room was incredible - lovely ocean views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on a main road and is single glazed. This is glossed over in all publicity descriptions and photos. It means that the place is noisy. The hotel is also rather dated, and the rooms small and basic. It is overpriced.

    Great staff, nice sea view, good old fashioned hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was misled and thought that if I had dinner I would get £10 discount. So not happy At 6.30 the young man showed me to the worst table in the dining room and told me that I could not move as all the other tables were reserved. A lie I am sure as few had arrived when I departed. The table was so close to the chair that it was impossible to sit. When I pointed this out he walked away and left me to pull the table out. I have bad knees and there are a lot of stairs

    Enjoyed breakfast especially the cream for the porridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: