Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Coach House Hotel 3 stars

Lochay Road, Killin, FK21 8TN, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Killin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 492 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Divine!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning circa 1872? Property, with the most amazing views from our bedroom windows,overlooking the river. Loved the tartan carpet and the warmth of both the host and the room. Our room had a gorgeous large ensuite with great shower pressure. Very clean. Quiet area, on the edge of town, with the castle and interesting cemetery within walking distance. Lovely breakfast,cooked to order which set us up for the day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    A great break at the Coach House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complaint but the house is very hot , I think it would be nicer a few degrees cooler !

    Great location and really friendly staff , breakfast was superb . We arrived on motor bikes and we were very wet , our host took all our wet gear and got it dried for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Great people, property and liked the on-site Pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everthing was great!

    The onsite Pub is very convenient and featured a Scottish singer/guitarist, Ted Chrisopher on Saturday night. The Pub was a very intimate setting to experience the talent of this fine performer. Breakfast was very good and the hotel is beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent service, very comfortable, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To nit pick I would have to say it there were tight stairs to get to our room that were a little tricky with suitcases etc. But that's properly picking.

    Me and my mum were both really happy with our stay here. We had a warm welcome and great interactions with the staff who were really friendly and helpful. The room was really comfortable and cosy and the shower was a particularly good feature and welcome after a day of long driving. Great evening meal in the bar at a reasonable price. And breakfast in the morning was prepared to our taste/requirements and included in our room fee. The surroundings are beautiful and the advice over breakfast to check out the ruined castle and the falls near by was welcome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept waiting due to an apparently faulty doorbell on arrival. Basic courtesy tray in room which we were put off using because the kettle still had coffee spatters from previous occupants. Sticky tables and warm beer at the bar. Could have been a really good visit so frustrating that we feel we wasted our time and money

    Situated in a beautiful part of the country. Spacious room with en suite but paid a premium for it. Nice views from room. Young hosts much better than older couple. Younger man showed good local knowledge

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing comfortable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the whole rooms were clean but a good dust was needed round windows and television table - and I only mention this as survey asks us to comment on what we didn’t like.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and all food was excellent (we ate here each evening). Lochay room was very comfortable and bed super sized and perfect mattress.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Great place with great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    exiting the carpark was sort of a deathtrap. You turn a blind corner onto the street so you have no clue if there is traffic. Place a mirror there for us tourists that already have a hard enough time with driving on the left side of the road. Breakfast could be a little better (it varied a bit depending on who was cooking).

    Great kind host and a beautiful building. We had a really good a shower in the room. There is a pooltable as well in the bar, which is a plus. I liked the loungeroom a lot and sat there early in the morning reading a book until everybody else was awake. Very cosy place with a good view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After doing a 26.2 mile hike for charity we asked for a can of juice to come up to our room...1 flight up and were told don't do room service so it would cost £10! Disappointing.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Our stay was unfortunately short but we really felt relaxed and enjoyed every minute. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing. Everything I look for in a hotel (and that includes the staff) couldn't have been better. The scenery and position of the hotel were just right.

    Yes, the croissants were flaky and the bed very comfy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay very much, in fact it couldn't have been better. We would recommend The Coach House Hotel to anyone. Thanks again for an excellent 3 days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice location and views and room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice hotel just a pitty about the lady owner attitude towards customers and felt not very welcoming but food was good that’s about it!! Next time will stay at Killin hotel as far better service!!!

    Nice location and views and room was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Quite location by the river and at the end of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are not soundproof and you can hear everything in the room. We could not sleep half a night due to loud and inconsiderate other guests with children who were runing up and down the stairs and laughing very loud till 2 in the morning, and the management didn't quite them as it should.

    Quite location by the river and at the end of the village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Relax in Killin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    Location is good, hosts are great, really friendly and helpful and best of all is the food, absolutely delicious, whoever the chef is,, 10/10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely with four poster bed and spa bath. Breakfast was excellent. It was good that there was live music in the bar. Will certainly be back to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Killin time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was adequate and served piping hot, but some more imaginative dishes would be good to tempt the taste buds.

    The en suite spa bath was great, though take your own bath products as none provided - just the usual shampoo, conditioner and for some reason shower gel in a bathroom with no shower. The breakfast was adequate we rated the sausages 7 out of 10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    A quiet warm welcome as we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was rather gloomy and the food served was disappointing. Small portions and poor presentation. We would have preferred to pay a little more and have genuine home cooking.

    A quiet warm welcome as we arrived. A very friendly young couple who served breakfast. The view from the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice bedroom with a sink which was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t any hand towel in the shared bathroom so had to bring one in every time you went to the toilet. Also no body wash which seemed strange.

    Nice bedroom with a sink which was convenient. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxed overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, clean and comfortable. There was a bar we could relax in and the meal we had was delicious and there was plenty of it and good value for money. The breakfast was good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Had a very comfortable night here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a very comfortable night here. Shower was excellent. Part of a beautiful little village with a river running over rocks and underneath a stone bridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Definitely not worth the good reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses on the twin beds were either very old or very poor quality, or both. The springs could play more tunes than a piano and we both had a terrible night's sleep. This wasn't helped by the fact we couldn't open the window even a tiny bit and the room got very stuffy (we had turned the radiator off early in the evening). There was no shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom - hotel you say? The hall always stank of fried food. The pub was drab and old fashioned. There is nothing on the menu which is vaguely fresh, everything is obviously cooked in advance and frozen or bought frozen. Portion sizes are super stingy. We ordered a 'generous portion' of scampi which was anything but and costed double what it should. £8.50 for a local beer and a small wine is really pushing it. The owner was civil enough to us but when a couple came in he (and two boozy locals at the bar) were frankly embarrassing. Owner stood shouting for them to come to the bar and pointed like you would for a dog to come - would it have killed him to walk the two meters with a menu and gently explain that it wasn't table service!? The Scottish breakfast was really poor. A cheap pork-fragranced sausage, half the plate taken up by beans, one slice of under-cooked salty bacon, cheap black pudding and a hash brown (not a Scottish element) which was overcooked and tasted only of oil. The egg instead tasted of nothing. The large tea pot had only one teabag for 2 people and made for a terrible cup of tea! This place is ran on a shoe-string budget and it shows.

    It must be tough running a B&B (or hotel as this couple like to call it). But you have to at least get the basics right. If customers can tell that owners are not putting heart n' soul into something then it will also be reflected in the reviews. I just felt that the owners here were going through the motions and there was zero enthusiasm for guests. For us there were only a few positives: When we arrived the entrance area was warm and welcoming with nice decor. Our room itself was the cheaper non en-suite twin, but it was adequate in size, there was a handy sink, tv and the decor was reasonably fresh. It was clean too. Heating was on which was good as it was a very wet day. The shared bathroom had a shower with good pressure and nice hot water. Ample towels, although I prefer a bath sheet. The dining room is actually a really lovely room with nice table linen etc. Its bright with some lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never been in the Army, however I was in the Girl Guides and went camping, I must say the girl guides were much lenient. Nothing matched the website advert or the room brochure. There is no restaurant as stated, just a bar that serves meals, they were supposed to serve up to 8pm, no you had to get your last order in at 7pm. We were a family of four staying for 14 nights, probably the longest they have had stay, as a lot of guest that were there stayed for one or two nights. We had a 16 yr old with us which is why we had to be out of the bar by 8pm. They admitted they had no licence and the Scottish laws are different. Neadless to say we went to The Killin Hotel and they served us food even past 8pm. And made us feel welcomed. The brochure states the bar is open until 11pm Mon-Thur (last orders were rung at 9:50pm) and Fri & Sat 12:30pm which finished at 12pm. I did not feel welcome anytime I entered the bar the faces that were pulled were as clear as day. I would not recommend this place to anyone, not even couples with no children. I value my friendship better than that. Definitely won't be stopping at this hotel again. But the best thing about trapping about for food is you find the nicest and welcoming places, will try them instead. (Killin Hotel, Munro Inn, Capercaillie and Larches gold) As we were staying for 14 days I noticed our toilet by the 8th night had stains running down the rim and smelled like a public toilet. Ours were ensuite. This is are only holiday for this year we are not going to get away again and possibly not for a while, I'm not going to get that time back. I would also like to point out my sons don't drink much alcohol, my 19 yr old only had one half, but prefers tea, and my youngest only likes tea or coke.

    Being out of the hotel as early and as much as possible and doing the activities in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very good experience overall. Parking facilities very convenient. I would recommend for the cleanliness, comfort and food on offer, as well as the possibility for late check-in which when driving around is required. Location is second to none and close to the main routes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall disappointing. This was a "memory lane" visit and sadly did not live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was located on top floor up a narrow, steep stairway. Bathroom was very small and did not like shower over bath as getting in and out was too difficult for us older people.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Anniversary trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, the room was fab with views that are amazing. They had a duo singing on the night which were also great. It was our 1st anniversary and one that wont b forgotton in a hurry. Overall stay was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    This is a very comfortable hotel, with very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay, and our only request would be that a little more flexibility could be offered within the breakfast menu - eggs are fried or fried!

    This is a very comfortable hotel, with very clean and comfortable rooms. We had 2 rooms on the top floor with excellent views. They each had sitting areas, and there was also a residents' lounge on the ground floor. The breakfast room was very attractive and the quality of the food served was good. Although the hotel is not as cheap as some others, we felt it was worth the price, and would stay here again. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.5
    lovely location in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the top (first) floor - so I carried (lugged) our bags up when checking in. Welcome could have been just a little more friendly. Had some support when checking out.

    The breakfast was excellent - with the best coffee in the whole of Scotland. Room had a view to die for and was spacious and clean. Service at breakfast was excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The Coach House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing you couldn’t like if you are looking for a quiet peaceful place to stay.

    Lovely place to stay, staff very friendly & accommodating. Great room, lovely home cooked food. Very glad we stayed in this lovely village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Our room was lovely with 2 armchairs looking out onto the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to get to our room.

    Our room was lovely with 2 armchairs looking out onto the river. The staff were very friendly and the pub dinner was excellent and not expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Most gorgeous place I think I have ever stayed...wish we could of stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing......perfect

    Beautiful building, gorgeous rooms, amazing staff, great food.......perfect location...my absolute favourite on our tour of Scotland

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    The property was very comfortable and the staff welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The midges - but that's Scotland rather than specific to this property :-) Genuinely no complaints.

    The property was very comfortable and the staff welcoming. The location is fantastic - it's a very pretty village. Rooms were comfortable and the walls are so thick that even though there is a pub attached that had live music the night we stayed, I was not disturbed by noise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, reasonably priced and nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    3rd floor room had very narrow and steep stairs. But a helpful staff member carried up our bags!

    Good breakfast, varied dinner menu in the attached pub, food well prepared and flavorful. Nicely decorated in a way that preserved the character of the building with more contemporary updates. Nicely furnished dining room and lounge. Friendly, helpful, family staff. Beautiful location in a charming small town. Off-road parking and walking-friendly neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A great stay, I would definitely recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to use a shared bathroom which wouldn't always be my first choice, however on the night we stayed we had the bathroom to ourselves which was nice. Overall though, the price and comfortable room made up for this.

    The beds were really comfortable and the breakfast was great. Such great value for money, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Place was OK but was a fairly rude welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't the warmest welcome, rushed to the room and owner started walking off after only vaguely pointing at which room was mine. Decided to eat at the hotel down the road which was lovely

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice old Scottish guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock music playing until midnight on Saturday night. Thicker curtains or blinds needed to block the 4am sunlight.

    Outdoor area across the road. Breakfast was good. They were happy to make poached eggs instead of fried. Douglas tartan carpet in the entrance area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodation for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The real ale wasn't in the best condition but the bar was friendly and the staff were very helpful.

    The hotel lies about 3/4 of a mile north of the village centre - so quiet at night but in good reach of all the amenities. The hotel bar has a separate entrance to the accommodation and is open to the public.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend this hotel and have told my friends about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer!!!

    From check in to leaving the staff were extremely pleasant and efficient.The room with feature bed exceeded our expectations,very spacious with wonderful views,spotlessly clean and with a very good shower and comfortable bed.The breakfast was cooked to perfection and more than enough to keep us going all day.The location was good,just a few minutes walk into the centre of Killin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the Dochart Room which was excellent, the only one thing I did not like is that there was no shower but room beutiful loved my stay

    the whole experience was great from start to finish - staff very helpful at all times

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only room that was available had a shared toilet/shower which was adequate but there was only hand wash provided... no other toiletries. A tiny bar of soap at the sink in the room. Fortunately I had some shower cream with me but my partner forgot to bring it back to the room and somebody else took it. They probably had the same dilemma!

    Good location. Handy for walks and live music if you want it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. A tad expensive but the location is great, I’d recommend it and I’d go again.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast and the rooms were clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining area in the bar could be more brightly lit. Darker curtains in the bedroom would keep the light out during the night!

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, particularly the scrambled eggs, the best in a very long time! The food served in the bar was home-cooked and of good quality, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice pub/restaurant downstairs - at very correct...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting for the bathroom availability in the morning - but this is a risk we knew by having shared bathroom

    Very nice pub/restaurant downstairs - at very correct prices The staff (especially the guy from the pub and breakfast) was very welcoming and was joking with us - very pleasant Room was "kitsch" but comfortable Hot showers Scottish breakfast :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Lovely location, fantastic room and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the WiFi in our room was a little patchy, but this didn't really impact on our stay. There was nothing else I could fault with the hotel, room or staff.

    Beautiful hotel and the owners were lovely when they greeted us. We were shown to our room which was just as photogrphed, clean and nicely presented. Unfortunately we didn't have dinner or use the bar, but it all looked fantastic and had a lovely atmosphere when we walked through. Breakfast was generous and served in a beautiful dining room. Gorgeous location and would absolutely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Very conveniently placed for walking around Killin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was solid well cooked pub grub, but distinctly lacking in greens except for peas.

    Very conveniently placed for walking around Killin. Nice view from window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfection especially as oot was my birthday that was reason for staying second year running
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except I couldn’t stay longer

    The staff are really really nice & very helpful & very friendly all the facilities in hotel are 5 star I think & meals excellent for value & tastiness but best of all is the full Scottish breakfast it has to be the best breakfast I’ve ever had it is more like 10 star it’s lovely location & brilliant views alround

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location in centre of Killin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel smells like a deep fryer. There was a strange smell in our bathroom which I think came from oil being poured down the drains. The bathroom was a bit dirty. The decor in the room was very bland and uninviting. The curtains are white and don’t block out any light. The bed was sunken on one side as quite hard. The breakfast could be improved.

    Good location in centre of Killin. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The house had a great atmosphere with original features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was happy with everything

    The house had a great atmosphere with original features. The staff were friendly and attentive. Evening meals in the bar were freshly cooked, tasty, and served really hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice cozy hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't provide any bath amenities, which is something you would normally expect from a hotel.

    Nice cozy little hotel. We had a room with a shared bathroom and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful little place, clean and comfy beds, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little place, clean and comfy beds, great breakfast and friendly welcome, we stayed here as a group on the robroy way, beautiful inside and lovely lounge to relax would definately return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visited the Lounge bar attached to the hotel for dinner one night. I would describe it as more of a nice public bar than lounge. It does have the usual pub bar meals available, which were a good portion size.

    Lovely big double room. Good heating. Comfy bed. Excellent breakfast. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Great small hotel, super friendly management, but not obtrusive. Super value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous value for money. I travel a lot on business and it would be easy to make minor criticisms, this is not a five star spa, but overall, this is a terrific, freindly, warm, clean, great hotel in a fantastic location. The manager chatted in the bar and drew us an accurate and useful map for the next day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    A warm and welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had been out in the mountains for the day and had planned to camp but the weather was so miserable and we were soaked by the end of the day's walking. A last minute booking online and The Coach House was perfect. Warm and dry (and they dried all our wet walking gear out overnight ready for walking the following day!). Excellent supper in the bar, and a great breakfast the following morning. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every moment of our new years break would do it again and killin was fab on New year's eve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fab and staff were realy nice and very friendly rooms were very clean hot showers, tv, coffee,tea would highly recommend to friends and family .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room would have benefitted from having a desk big enough to work at. Also the spotlight outside that is used to light up the building wasn't switched off until midnight and was bright enough to get through the curtains. They should switch the light off earlier or install thicker curtains.

    Excellent location with views of Ben Lawers and a short walk to Loch Tay or the centre of Killin. Cosy bar with live music and decent food. Good breakfast and comfy room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Gorgeous property set in a picturesque village, perfect for a quiet getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved a bath in the bathroom!

    Friendly , welcoming hosts , v clean , large yet very warm , cosy room with an exceptionally roomy ,comfortable bed . We had the room with feature bed which was very spacious . Food was good too :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    The room was warm clean and comfortable the only gripe we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The room was warm clean and comfortable the only gripe we had was we couldn't get a signal for the television, but perhaps that was the weather

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Everybody made sure our stay was the best it could be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food was amazing the breakfast was worth getting up for, had it own bar. Very friendly and cleaner than clean. Always getting asked if everything was ok and if there was anything we needed. One of the best family run hotels we have ever been in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having an en suite due to us booking late. But we managed.

    The hotel's position, friendly staff, the food and drink, the cleanliness of room and bathroom The ambience. What was there not to like

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant in a very cozy and cute town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint I have is the WiFi was spotty which for us was an issue as our phone only worked overseas on WiFi. Other general information is in Killin we found there are very few restaurants and those do not serve late so eat earlier in the evening!

    Room was very nice and comfy. We had the shared bathroom, the staff keeps it very clean. We had a messy person we had to share the bathroom with which unfortunately was the luck of the draw so if we went in shortly after they did it was messy but by the next use the bathroom was spotless so overall if you are looking to save a little money the shared bathroom was very little trouble at all. The pub attached to the hotel was nice and gave us something to do in the evening. Overall very pleasant stay and the town of Killin is very cute town and was one of our favorites during our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's been a while since I stayed somewhere with a communal shower room. I didn't think they still existed. The standard of it was quite poor with a smallish shower and slightly shabby decor. The room itself was a decent size but was lit by a cold Led light and bedside lights that were scarcely bright enough to read by. The mattress was soft and the pillows the cheap spongy type so felt like everything was a bit tired and needing upgraded as the price was akin to better. Curtains too were thin and no lining so let a lot of street lighting in and should have been the full length of the windows. I stay in a lot of hotels but this needed an interior designer. Sorry to be harsh but I could go on. The walls were thin and a lot of noise from the bar outside. Windows needed painted.

    Lovely old building. Breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Great little place with excellent views and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little dim, light can be brighter.

    Breakfast was definitely good with lots of options. Room was decently sized and offered excellent views. Probably the most powerful shower in Britain, felt like a waterfall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful Place in Scotland Highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Game room was well stocked with games for the rainy day. Enjoyed the bar and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Had a delicious breakfast in the beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Great when we were outside. Very disappointing accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of our room wasn't the best, and the absolute minimum was provided, e.g. 1 tea bag, one lot of toiletries even though there were 2 of us. Shower was a bit temperamental, i.e. If someone else was showering nothing came out. Not too keen on plastic sausages too.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Certainly value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certainly value for money. We were given an upgrade due to technical problems so that was nice. Very friendly family run hotel with a dutch-speaker for added bonus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful curtains in bedroom but let light through.

    Hotel close to small golf course. Nice Pub in hotel serving food. Lovely firm king bed with view over river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A nice base for a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar felt a bit in need of a refurb. It wasn't bad but it didn't quite match the rest of the house. Bar meals were nothing special, though the menu made them sound more interesting than what appeared. Ample off street parking.

    Comfortable room with a pleasant welcome and friendly staff. Good breakfast. On the edge of town but an easy walk in and good access to the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only silly small thing was soft pillows I prefer firm ones.

    Comfy relaxes atmosphere nice friendly couple and good value and advice given with the real ales and time taken to show interest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Coach House Hotel is a lovely place to stay in Killin, the staff were so friendly, my husband, Dad, brother and I had dinner in the cosy bar which was delicious, drinks were fairly priced and the live music was great! Our room looked out on to the mountainside, it was very peaceful and quiet. Having been to Killin a few times I would definitely choose to stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the best room of the hotel and we didn't have q shower. Just a hydro bath. I could wash my hair. And you can ese all the noises from others rooms and the hall.

    Big room. And nice. The bathroom as well big. The bed is comfy The breakfast it was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is reasonably priced but is unimaginative.

    The staff are excellent and the ambiance is good. There was live music playing and we had a great night. Killin is a lovely village and well placed for walking trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed, it was lumpy and the springs creaked. Room felt very old fashioned and unloved. Not given much of a welcome when we arrived.

    Dining room looked nice and breakfast was cooked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful area, uncomfortable beds and staff not particularly friendly in manner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't think when we arrived the gentleman that showed us to our room was friendly considering we were paying customers & just had along drive to get there. We had expected twin room but the room we were given was a single room with two uncomfortable beds put top to toe rather than alongside one another. Suitable for youngsters but not for a mature people .

    The area and the breakfast was good and I thought the room the breakfast was served in was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    The attached bar/restaurant was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The attached bar/restaurant was disappointing. The food was poor and bar was not a pleasant area to spend the evening in. Grubby, tired decor. We went elsewhere for food/drink which is a shame as it's nice to eat and drink locally.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok but needs a bit of tweaking
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 chair in bedroom Hooks / shelves in bathroom Quite a heavy duvet with no Choice of bedding warmth, so no variation to adapt to heat changes The light from the outside sign was annoying as it kept us awake Curtains were too thin/ short so we were woken by the dawn Means of controlling the heat in the room that seemed to have pipes under the floor making room too hot Shower door glued down making it initially hard to reach tap to adjust shower so hence the heat of shower

    Comfortable bed Friendly staff Not too far from Killin village centre Side view of river Reasonable parking Lots of books Food available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar meals were affordable but a bit on the plain side so don't eat there if you want something special.

    We had the Lomond bedroom on the top floor which was comfortable and quirky, being in the roof space. Lots of storage and seating. Small bathroom with large bath which was great after a day hillwalking. Good welcome from the owners.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic weekend break at this homely comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    Lovely cosy comfy hotel, spotless and beautiful bed linen etc. The family that run the establishment are so attentive and friendly. I would also like to stress that the food was fantastic and so was the evening entertainment in the bar. We most certainly would go back there in a flash.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room with Feature Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much parking.

    My partner and I spent two weeks traveling around the UK, and this was the best hotel we stayed in. The room was enormous, with a gorgeous view of the mountains and river. The bed was so incredibly comfortable that I didn't want to leave. The hotel is attached to a pub which has live music on the weekends, but it was plenty quiet enough for us to sleep. They have a common room full of books to borrow, which I loved. We received a delicious breakfast in the morning (they even had gluten free toast!), along with advice to check out the ruins of a castle just across the street. Killin is a beautiful town and we loved visiting the falls, the castle, and the standing stones. Getting to stay at the Coach House was the cherry on top!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: