Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Coachman Hotel 3 stars

4 Parkfoot Street, Kilsyth, G65 0SP, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Kilsyth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 353 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic value and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was double rather than queen. It is advertised as a double so that is to be expected but some double rooms have a queen bed so just a heads up if you are used to a queen bed. We stayed on a Friday night when there was a disco that went until 1am.

    Staff were great. Hotel was clean and had good quality towels and linen. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.5
    We were comfortable thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we sleep without duvet at home, we have required a top sheet and duvet pulled over our feet. (Aussies!) if sheet unavailable,we have slept beneath the cover.

    No traffic noise -for a change.! ( we are staying a night only at a place as we traverse the UK.)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Facilities, food and staff were all very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise - there was loud music underneath the room until 2.00 am, which we were not informed of prior to booking. It seems the locals have entertainment both Friday & Saturday night and not only was there loud music but patrons congregated outside the hotel entrance shouting and generally making a lot of noise.

    The staff were friendly and very competent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were warned on arrival that there could be noise till after midnight but no other notice of this. Would advise you check what is on if staying in a Friday or Saturday

    The room was large and the double bed very comfortable. The other bed was a put up bed but comfortable. The breakfast was good. We struck a very busy night with a wedding and another function so staff were stretched but did their best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from downstairs continued until 2 am . Live band playing until 1 am. Guests need to be made aware of this before they book. Bed a little uncomfortable.

    Room prepared early to allow us to attend music concert. Staff very friendly.the breakfast was well cooked and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Overall stay was excellent just the late noise that let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very loud music that didn’t finish till 1am and very noisey crowd outside after bar closed .Also very noisy toilet after being flushed gurgled for about 30 mins

    Size of rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Okay for food but stay down the road.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and tired, staff not really too interested. I was stood around for a while waiting for people to notice me. My room was next to the extraction units for the kitchen so had that noise all night.

    Breakfast and food was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Take ear plugs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could do with some noise proofing! I stayed 2 nights and was woken up the first night by someone in the bathroom in the other room, sounded like they had serious issues and should maybe consult a doctor. The second night, my neighbours were Mandy and Ross, I felt like we became great friends as I could hear every word and ahem noise! Again I was woken up with their shenanigans, but to be fair the whole hotel probably heard them. I was hoping to meet Mandy and Ross at breakfast so I could introduce myself as I feel I was part of their wonderful night. It would have been nice to have seen what they look like. So if you read this Mandy & Ross, send me a picture so I know who I spent the night with 🤣

    It is a handy location for my work. Restaurant was lovely and breakfast was good. Room was functional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Stayed in between Glasgow and Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, noisy main road out the front, never anyone on reception. Breakfast was average. Bar out the back was good and Patrons were friendly. Breakfast staff were lovely. Bed was ok for me but a bit hard for my partner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite hot in the room but in the middle of a heatwave everywhere is the same

    Great location for what we needed. Minor issues with the room resolved immediately by the lovely staff (TV not working) Noisy due to function room being in use til midnight but didn't bother us. Great hotel, great food, lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    It met our needs for the 1 night we were scheduled to stay, all was good except road noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was on the front of the hotel and hence suffered road noise and on a very warm night, needed the window open.

    food in restaurant was great. staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    A wee gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very compact.

    Very pleasantly surprised at this hotel - the room was comfortable and very clean. Dinner in on-site restaurant very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    It Done what it said on the Tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room was compact but it had everything I needed. The Breakfast was excellent and the staff where 1st Class. The room I was given was a little noisy but I was only there for 2 days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    We would stay here again, no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being told that our card payment had been declined when it hadn't been - that was worrying.

    Both dinner and breakfast were superb. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, especially at check in, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy bar, temp outside was 22 degrees yet radiator had been on so room was unbearable, sick on steps on my way in to hotel entrance from a drunken customer clearly. Room okay but price at £69 was too high

    Friendly staff, especially at check in, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Good basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the coffee with our breakfast was stewed.

    A comfortable bed after a long days walking. Good evening meal with very friendly staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Horrendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The din was horrific and we got no sleep until 3 am. The party guests were thrown out at 1 am and they then screamed football chants outside for two more hours.

    Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Avoid this hotel during the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to sleep because of unbearable late night(till 1AM) music from the restaurant/bar. Loud music sound and beats came from just right under the floor... Even the earplug was useless that night. It seems all locals enjoyed their weekend night-out at this hotel’s bar. Do avoid staying here at weekends if you need a good rest!!

    Good breakfast served by kind and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    tea and coffee facility in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was wallpaper falling off the walls. The bathroom was very small. Room was far too hot which meant opening the window, this let in the noise from the main road outside and all the sunlight early in the morning, due to a blackout blind attached directly to window, blackout curtains would be beneficial. In the morning paying residents breakfast ended at 9am but served until 12 for visitors, this meant our free breakfast courtesy of the room booking was invalid and made no sense. Very disappointed won't be staying again.

    tea and coffee facility in room. Good sized tv.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed but if your wanting a relaxing weekend very noisy place till early morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food well prepared

    Good breakfast but if you are there at weekend book your meals if eating at hotel food good special deal before 6.30pm. Most of staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely rooms, friendly staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as there was a function in room below. However much the same in most hotels on Saturday nights. Other guests very noisy but can't complain for value for money.

    As described and good modern room, very clean and comfortable Excellent food served In Restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    It was Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the function room was so loud fortunately we were at a family party and only arrived back in the hotel at midnight .Music from downstairs went off at 1 o’clock which was ok for us but we would not have stayed in hotel had we been trying to sleep earlier.

    Clean tidy room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.5
    Perfectly adequate for our stay
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a little early in the restaurant but it was still a little slow. Give them their due it was particularly busy and we were in no hurry

    Restaurant food was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Thouroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was very small and couldn’t turn around in the small shower. Was noisy but won’t let it put us off going back.

    Everybody had a job to do and they did it very efficiently. All staff were exceptionally nice and very friendly. Food was excellent.thouroughly enjoy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    I have stayed in this hotel before and did not have these issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was cold and there was no facility to adjust for comfort. Also when we arrived at 5.30pm I could not get a shower or bath as the water was cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Whoops
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed fell apart at 02.30 and i slept on the floor. The next morning I was asked what was I doing I think he won't to hear coming off the wardrobe but being 60 years of age the chance would be a fine thing. But going to the toilet was the reason I was then told in 9 years of him working there it has never happened before. I then showed my wife's bed which had been repaired we couldn't discuss this at the time beause we were going to a funeral when we got back.. The second manager was a lot better she offered to pay for dinner this was just the main meal. No starter, No drinks, No deserts. The customer service at this hotel is much to be desired it was the first time and it will be the last and take note this hotel is Where everybody has their 21st,Weddings, etc etc if your looking to go to sleep before 01.30 bring ear plugs. even though we are in Kilsyth as much as we can because we have family I was basically made to feel it was my fault by the first manager.There are better B&B's in the area which we have stayed at before in which we have had no problems what so ever .

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely food and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the rooms on the Saturday night with a disco down stairs. If you want to avoid the noise it’s best to get involved with the disco.

    Lovely food and great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The banging music from downstairs on the Friday and Saturday night wasn’t pleasant.

    The location was ideal. The room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.4
    Not to be repeated despite the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time we had tried this hotel. First time 18th party on till early hours beneath our room. Figured that was a one off- no such luck! Yet another party , noise level horrendous and no sleep for either of us. This was a stop off during a 1200 mile journey- sleep was essential. Will not try a third time!!!

    Staff- always cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    Completely destroyed my families Christmas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When travelling abroad with young children at Christmas, a lot of planning goes into the trip! Of the 4 property's that we visited in the UK we specifically chose this venue for Christmas because of the family room size and the fact that we could put up a tree for the kids presents on Christmas morning. The rooms were booked well in advance of our trip! When we arrived we were rudely told that we had confirmed a double room and 2 twin rooms, which was a blatant lie! this infuriated me and a heated argument took place. I then demanded to see my booking on their system, there it was in black and white my order for the family room and the 2 twin rooms! The receptionist just kept saying 'well there is someone in that room!' To add insult to injury - they tried to charge me the family room rate!!! They completely disregarded my order and did what suited them with no thought on how this would affect our holiday! We were then put in the smallest room in the inn (despite us booking the largest!) We booked 3 rooms for 6 days and were treated like absolute degenerates! My entire stay was soured by the fact that I was squeezed into a tiny room with lots of suitcases, there was absolutely no space at all! There was never anyone at the reception (even when we checked out) the area downstairs was used for wild parties which lasted till 2am in the morning (now this was not music that could be faintly heard - this was thumping music which we could hear the words of the songs to) there was no regard given to the tenants of the inn and when coming home in the evening, there was no parking for our vehicle, I sent the director of the inn a polite message to please contact me before we departed the property - which I to date have not had a response to! book this property at your own risk.... you might get what you ordered... but I wouldn't count on it!

    the breakfast was OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant overall and the staff were great Food excellent too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We had a very pleasant two night stay over Christmas Food was excellent and the helpings were generous. Very clean and comfortable and ALL of the staff were fantastic - warm, friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel. Great staff needs to be cleaner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room could have been cleaner. The bathroom especially as the toilet was dirty and the toilet seat had a chip in it, which I don’t think is hygienic. The floor in the bedroom was dusty and sticky too.

    The staff were very friendly. Even arranging an early breakfast as I was leaving pre 7am. Delicious breakfast with great coffee. Room nice and warm with coffee bed and modern decoration.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was a jacuzzi bath that did not work! the room took a long time to heat up. Found the shower very difficult to work out to hot or to cold never right. could be dangerous.

    Liked the space in the room and very large bathroom clean and warm The food in the restaurant was excellent would really recommend. The decor is a vast improvement from our last visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Enjoyable but cold .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being cold .

    Staff so helpful and friendly ,happy with everything was even advised there was a function on.As a retired hotelier and publican very impressed .Big problem was it was -1 outside and -3 inside bedroom and had requested etra heating and blankets as my wife has health problems but none done I did however go to reception where young man was helpful with small heater.But have had this problem before at the coachman which is sad as everything else was 1st class.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Plenty of parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room, room 11 had laminate flooring all round. A carpet would have been better. It felt a little cold

    Plenty of parking. Staff very nice. The hotel was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel was ok,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paper hanging off wall, no hairdryer in room! Music Booming at 12.30pm which you could clearly hear from our room!

    Lovely Breakfast with Great Hot Tea! Friendly Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.5
    Visiting family . Great location and lovely meal in the evening.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky I’d say I was a bit cold during the night. Perhaps a thicker duvet or extra blanket .?

    I have stayed here before and it was awful. Noisy and unfriendly. This time was much better. The hotel entrance has been revamped and looks great. The staff were great and helpful. I had a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is exceptional value, real shame about breakfast though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast started at 07:00 which suited me perfectly, as most hotels start breakfast too late for me due to my working start time, i was up and really looking forward to it, but dear oh dear, i went down at 07:05 and no-one was to be seen, i heard people talking but no-one in the restaurant, i raed the breakfast menu, had 2 glasses of orange juice, looked for a bell in case i had missed something, and still no-one appeared so at 07:15 i left the restaurant. Total dissapointment...;0(

    The hotel is extremely clean and the staff were very welcoming, i had an evening meal which was absolutely lovely, and too be honest i wasn't expecting such big portions, i had ordered a side of Hillbilly Chilli which would have been a meal on its own..!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable stay with lovely brekkie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was blinds in bedroom and bathroom. They had black mould on them likely from condensation. Didn’t cause a problem but overall didn’t make the hotel seem as clean as it could have.

    Breakfast was lovely and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Facilities were poor but the staff welcome and attention, helped you overlook it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small but comfortable. The bathroom very tight-small, and not at all user friendly. Nowhere to put anything down and absolutely no towel rails, which made a mockery of the many notices on laundry savings.

    The staff were excellent and the service second to non. The food was really good value for money and beautifully cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise!!!!! The music is really to loud until 2 in the morning. Drunk people being sick and fighting outside truly horrible place. Would never recommend to anyone

    The breakfast was great, and the lady in the dining room was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    comfortable and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the function room till half 2 the music was really loud and the traffic noise, could do with triple glazing.

    The breakfast was nice and they accommodated what you wanted. Was offered more cups of tea and slices of toast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was very small and the shower leaked and had little pressure. The music was too loud in the dining area at breakfast. When we asked for it to be turned down it was, but then turned up again! There was no hairdryer in the room, but was given the use of one when I asked.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good, breakfast excellent. Decor in restaurant good. Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Terrible, unnaceptable levels of noise:- music, screaming, shouting and swearing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were situated above the bar/restaurant and our room was above the function room and front entrance to the hotel. The noise levels from karaoke, 18th birthday functions and people hanging around the front door was terrible. People leaving were shouting, screaming and swearing until around 2.30am on the Saturday night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Apparently it is the only hotel in the 'district' that has a function room. The last straw of our stay when we could hear 'IRA' songs being sung.

    We chose the hotel to attend a wedding nearby. The staff were friendly and apologetic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    The staff was helpful, room adequate, location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Call ahead to see if any events are taking place on the night(s) you are staying. Made the horrific mistake of being the only guest not partaking in the wedding on the night of my stay. While the party "ended" at 0100...the guest did not. No sleep.

    The staff was helpful, room adequate, location good. Restaurant ok, not the best service or food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was incredibly small but bathroom was functional bedroom was also small and basic but had all facilities required

    Food was absolutely amazing the mussels and Scottish steak were the best food I've ever eaten - would thoroughly recommend them

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money; a real gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was quite full and awkward to get to from the front of the hotel via a very narrow drive. They appeared to be a bit short staffed in the morning with only one lady serving breakfast and looking after reception.

    Very generous with their coffee at breakfast. My "light" breakfast was actually quite filling. The room was very comfortable with a wooden floor, twin beds, an en suite bathroom and shower, desk with chair, TV and kettle. The restaurant had a friendly “family” atmosphere and the waitresses were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    the evening "set"meal available till 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic noise through lack of double glazing in room 2 and a claustrophobic toilet/shower room try to ask for a room possibly at the back of hotel to avoid the late night/early morning main road noise

    the evening "set"meal available till 6.30 pm is good value with a reasonable choice - friendly and welcoming staff - overall good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    It was ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from main road, there was a function on in the place and the front entrance was littered with bodies and food. There was also a child's function on in the morning so overall a busy place with not much peace. The shower lacked power.it was fine for one noght

    Good bar, breakfast and room spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location - very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there on Saturday night. Two events on with the disco & bar running until 1AM mean't it was late when we got to sleep.

    Good location - very central

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, friendly, lively hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be a problem with the hot water supply. I was told that the water goes off on a Friday afternoon and it takes a while for it to heat up again.

    All the amenities were satisfactory. Food in the dining room and bar suppers were very tasty, no problem there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Basic room, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom, but clean and comfortable enough. Good location for walking the John Muir Trail. Restaurant much better than expected, with huge servings. Staff friendly but front desk often unattended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.8
    Kept awake all night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this room as I was competing in a cycling event close by, It never described the rave disco until one in the morning and the people stood outside chatting until two in the morning. Completely ruined my weekend and if I was paying in cash then I would have refused to pay. I still would like my money back and I am not happy at all. What are you going to do as staff at the hotel promised me a manager would contact me. I'm still waiting for that call.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    Good eventually.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having found somewhere to sit I was told after a while that it was booked so I would have to sit elsewhere if I could find a seat. There was no reserved sign on the table, I wasn't asked when I checked in whether I wanted to eat there in the evening and thereby they could have saved a table for a resident.

    The food once a coachload of people left so that I could sit down.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Wilson & Celia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was right at the top of the stair next to the fire door, it was very noisy & I made a complaint when we checked out, also there was entertainment on & at 1.30 in the morning people were very noisy going out of the hotel,

    We have stayed in the Coachman a lot over the years when we go to visit family, the food in the hotel is always lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Good place, other than the party below us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room must have been above the function room where there was very loud music until 1 am, which kept us awake.

    Comfortable large room. Breakfast was very good and staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    4.6
    Avoid The Coachman in Kilsyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was under renovations, so the lobby was a little bit of a shambles. Additionally, we found out that our room was directly above the nightclub - - don't worry, the desk clerk said, it only goes to 1 AM! Pounding beat of the DJ music made it impossible to sleep. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was fine (and they accommodated our request for a quiet spot in the room) but otherwise not a great experience. Then, once the nightclub had closed, a fire alarm went off at 3 AM. We had to get up, get dressed and go to the lobby. No worries, the desk clerk said, it was just a guest smoking in their room (at 3 AM?).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    3.3
    Would not stay here again there are many hotels of a similar size that offer so much more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel part was awful, dark and smelled like a beer cellar. Member of staff that booked us in said thats £65.00 and actually stuck her hand out. No polite explanation of why we had to pay immediately it made you feel that you were going to leave without paying. The room was poor, felt claustrophobic and shower and toilet were so small. There was nowhere to even hang a towel. It smelt awful too. Breakfast was mediocre. It was more of a pub that had fitted as many bedrooms in as possible on the floor above. The staff reflected this and didn't make you feel welcome. A stark contrast to the small hotel we stayed in the following evening which although was basically the same set up was cosy, comfortable, welcoming, professional with a lovely sized bedroom and bathroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.8
    Restaurant excellent rooms too small and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and location very noisy and door at end of corridor where rooms are banged every time someone went through it

    This hotel is currently under refurb the rooms are very small and our was on main road and was very noisy it also has a function suite attached to hotel and is very noisy music can be heard in room and when people were coming out after party it was very noisy .the staff and restaurant attached is a bonus to this hotel and cannot be faulted excellent service and meals .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.8
    Not great. Doubt I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was above a night club so was really noisy. There were there no staff there to check us in on arrival, we had to go find someone. Not the hotels fault I know but the fire alarm went off at 4am! Again there were no staff around to tell us what was happening and we got no apologies from anyone the next day

    The bed was comfy enough I guess

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Friday Night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise from the street until about 2 a.m. which resulted in not a good nights sleep. Better windows might solve this problem.

    The hotel staff were very accommodating and professional. The bathroom was very large and comfortable. Overall would stay again, no hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Kilsyth Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wooden bed frames are a bit of a hazard for walking in to, the laminate flooring is lovely but a bit of a slip hazard too .

    The bed and pillows were really comfortable. Food was excellent. Nice friendly,helpful staff. looking forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been rather a squeeze for two people. The shower was very small. There was nowhere to put towels.

    The room was comfortable. The bed and bed linen were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Budget hotel above function room that plays music till 1am,no ear plugs, no hot water at 6am
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room above a function room that plays music till 1am so no sleep, staff had no ear plugs, soap dish kept falling off, no hot water at 6am

    Staff and free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    The coachman is perfect for staying at if you're working away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't work in my room The tv was faulty and would just stop working randomly - room 6 No hot water as there was construction work going on during my stay. This was corrected later in the day.

    The food & staff were excellent. The staff were very friendly and worked very hard both in the bar & restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money, great staff, clean and comfy and breakfast was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy overall, the only criticism I would make is that tea and coffee were served before the breakfast and we had no drinks left to have with our hot food A refill would have been nice

    We were late for breakfast but the receptionist arranged for us to have it anyway

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    4.2
    Think twice before booking at weekends...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would seriously advise potential guests to think twice before booking at weekends. The noise level from the disco/party/knees up going on downstairs was eye watering. Impossible to sleep through it. When I mentioned it at reception no words of sympathy. I was told: We'll, everyone knows we have events at the weekend...."

    Staff in the restaurant friendly and attentive,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were served coffee and tea right away for breakfast, but toast came out with our cooked breakfast. Would've preferred it with my coffee. Food good though and staff were very nice too.

    Lovely atmosphere in pub\ restaurant. Food excellent too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Couldn't ask for better friendly staff!!!
    • Family with young children

    Always liked the Coachman. As go there each time i'm visiting Kilsyth. Staff are super friendly .Love the restaurant. Lovely food. Value for money

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Overall very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for room with bath. Bit dated on the decor in need of a paint and would boost the rate

    The restaurant was fab, staff was always friendly went that extra step from most. Room was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.3
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were poor need new mattresses bathroom was shocking in size couldn't swing a cat a uncomfortable to use toilet as toilet holder sticking out wall and u had to be careful when sitting on getting up without hitting yourself. No additional toiletries just two soap dispensers on wall one in sink one in shower. Noise was a disgrace couldn't even sleep til after 3 am in morning due to bar and people waiting outside. Would never recommend an overnight stay. Also restaurant was within bar area had family meal arranged night before and service shocking our party was split then all served at different times, initially waited an hour and a bit for service. Food was ok but because it was late in evening they ran out of our required desserts. Then they had the cheek to ask if it was ok to add on 10% service charge. No way as it was terrible then we were asked as it was late to have two children out if restaurant and we hadn't even had or offered coffees. No it's not somewhere I would recommend for nice meal and overnight stay. Wasn't even anyone on reception. Quick bar meal maybe but nothing else. For a hotel it's full of young groups of people drinking in their bar. Stay clear

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    The Coachman
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower set fire alarm off at 11.20pm. No hot water in the bath or shower in the morning. Charge on booking.com diff to what reception attempted to charge. booking had breakfast reception said not! Found a needle in the Kettle, and there was no hairdryer in the room. room above a function room which had party going on until 1am then the joy of Youths singing in the carpark drunk until 3am.

    Breakfast was excellent and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Business in Kilsyth
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection, cable or wireless that seemed not to work at all.

    The food is excellent and it is really good value for money. Location is also really good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    4.2
    Awful place if you are looking for a restful night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel has a policy of playing very loud music until 1am on a weekend. Additionally the central heating bangs away on start up, so if you get 5 hours sleep then you are lucky.

    The Staff were friendly and approachable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Don't judge a book by the cover.....it's better when you get into it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom are a tight squeeze, and it looks a bit care worn in places. Initial impression could be a little off putting, but get through that and it's fine.

    The bar restaurant was a 'plus' since there didnt seem to be much else around although we were there only one night so didnt explore. Good pub food and very big portions!! The staff were lovely. Friday and Saturday disco might be a challenge for some, but we stayed for a few drinks and the locals were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: