Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Colesbourne Inn 3 stars

Colesbourne, Colesbourne, GL53 9NP, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Colesbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice pub with excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not being taken to the room on arrival we had to find our own way.

    the staff of the Inn were very friendly and helpful and the room and facilities first class the food was adequate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Quiet comfortable lovely old pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet country pub in the middle of nowhere. There was a petrol station nearby. However it was an easy drive both ways to larger towns. Breakfast were lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Great country pub with classy accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great country pub with surprisingly classy accommodation. Spacious room and great atmosphere in the hotel. Highly recommended so those who like a classic English countryside get away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    We were greeted with a warm welcome, room was well presented...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were greeted with a warm welcome, room was well presented and nice to see some art work on the wall to give homely touches, we had a lovely evening meal and breakfast during our stay, the service during dining was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    lovely relaxing time. would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower attachment not useful. As with other reviewers the manager not really user friendly. His wife and staff lovely.

    We liked the comfy beds and pillows, large bathroom with bath. Very clean. Beautiful cooked breakfast. A GIN menu - fab. Excellent food - except for chocolate fondant which was a sponge. Nice quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    :) !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place, right in the middle of the Costwolds with plenty of worth-visiting spots around ! Room was spacious and confortable, very good breakfast as well. Thanks for welcoming us a bit later than expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    We liked the breakfast choices and the large bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we did not like was the footsteps noise from the room above, we were in a old building so the wooden ceiling creaked a lot. We liked the room very cosy but the noise was a bit annoying.

    We liked the breakfast choices and the large bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Perfect inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park away from accommodation as the parking near our room was full. But not really a problem.

    Lovely room with everything we needed for a very comfortable stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Good spot for wine and food on route to Cotswolds or Cheltenham
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room overlooked a busy road so there's traffic noise - hard to take if you live in the back end of nowhere like we do!

    The evening meal was delicious and the staff were efficient and friendly. Everything was very comfortable and there was even a cafetiere in the room if you wanted to make a proper coffee. Lovely king size bed and nice hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a relaxing few days, with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit cramped with a very small sink.

    There was a good choice at breakfast which was freshly cooked . The food in the restaurant in the evening was also very good, served promptly by friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, lovely staff and a restful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were up one flight of stairs and there was also a small flight of stairs from the bedroom to the bathroom which we found difficult

    Great hotel and wonderful staff. the location suited us because it was near to the centre but in a quiet wooded area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing 5 days of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not being able to hear the cars passing by or people walking around above my room. I recommend ear plugs!

    Lots of great things to say about this stay! Easy to find, beautiful area, room was spacious, clean and full of things you need. Replaced Tea, coffee and cups every day. Had herbal tea and normal tea, normal and decaf. Had a cafetiere too which i didn't expect. For women, the hairdryer was a Treseme one which is decent and isn't a "small blower that takes an hour to dry your hair" type one you get in most hotels. the food at the hotel was amazing and i was so surprised by the portions for breakfast! you really get your moneys worth. You'd need a car to get around places and highly recommend the Cotswold zoo and gardens which is only half an hour away. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.8
    The most appalling and abusive "welcome" imaginable. Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even Basil Fawlty on a bad day couldn't dream up a welcome like we received. On arrival, just after midnight, the Inn was locked and in complete darkness. Eventually the telephone was answered and when the owner was informed we had booked, I received an absolute torrent of abuse. She then announced that she would come down, but we would have to wait for half an hour outside in the cold. When eventually we were admitted, another tantrum followed, berating us for having had the temerity to book online at short notice (three hours' earlier). Events then took a more sinister turn when the husband came down, demanding to know what was going on, and clearly looking for a fight. The owner then proceeded to literally beg him to calm down and leave the room. The room itself was across the car park in a converted outhouse, and as we unpacked the car, the noise of the the owners screaming and shouting at each other echoed for nearly an hour. Un-bloody-believable.

    The room could have been faintly characterful, had it been dusted within the last month or two, and were it not for the constant roar of traffic which makes sleep impossible,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and the staff are more than helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good for us

    Great location for us, the place was well looked after and clean, food was great and the overall experience surpassed our expectations, great little find and well worth a visit, nothing nearby but the Inn itself caters for food and beverages, so we had no issues as we were visiting local attractions and needed our car to get around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    The food is just fabulous, we had both dinner and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to the 'lobby' to chill around 11pm and it was closed. Because the lobby is completely separate from the rooms we weren't even able to get inside so we had to chill in our rooms all together. we were a bit disappointed about that cause we weren't even planning on drinking then, just chill.

    The food is just fabulous, we had both dinner and breakfast there and we were so happy with both. Also the gins menu is great, so many delicious options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our bedroom was very comfortable the shower door leaked .

    Revisiting the hotel after a period of 30 years it was still full of character. The position of the hotel was ideal for us attending a diamond wedding celebration. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Very good breakfasts!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful relaxing and welcoming hotel to stay for celebrating your birthday & anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check out time was a little early,but as a family run hotel this was to make sure all the rooms were ready for the next guests

    There was a warm welcome from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble to the staff. There was an excellent ambience in the hotel and brilliant gluten free menu. This makes all the difference when you are on a special diet through no choice of your own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Quality stay near to Cotswolds with good food & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If staying several days the menu is a bit 'samely' including the specials board. Quite remote if you want to walk or get to shops.

    Friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast and evening meals. Good location for Cotswolds. Good tea/coffee making and biscuits. Liked the idea of providing semi-skimmed milk in the rooms as well. Plenty of free parking. Good beer (Wadworths). Ask for rooms 1, 2 or 3 if elderly or infirm as they are on the ground floor and near to bar/restaurant etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The purpose built room was comfortable,large, well appointed and quiet. The bathroom was big and modern. The heating worked well even though it was summer. Excellent tea, instant coffee, cafetière coffee and hot chocolate selection in the room was accompanied by delicious biscuits. Everywhere was spotless. The Inn serves delicious and well priced food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was hardly any hot water and we were woken up by neighbours walking around and shutting doors. Some sound proofing needed.

    Room was light and airy and very spacious and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Lovely night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very nice. The bed was comfy. Despite the heatwave it was not too warm either. Loved the toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was great, loved the Eggs Royale and my husband said the Full English was delicious. Staff were really friendly. Do try the Cotswold gin!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    We'd love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay in this lovely, typical English guest house. Nice room, good bed, clean bathroom, friendly staff and a very good breakfast. Good restaurant too. We'd love to go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent rooms and a nice Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but seemed like the eggs had been warmed up from cold. We were not given accurate information about dinner - we booked a table for 7.30pm and were not told that the kitchen closed then, so when we turned up a few minutes late we were informed that they were no longer serving and had to go elsewhere. Bearing in mind the mistake was theirs, I don’t think it was well-handled by the staff. Otherwise everyone was very pleasant.

    Excellent rooms and a nice Inn.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole experience was very pleasurable. The food was excellent and the room was perfect would stay again and will definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed which we booked Double flush toilet Rusty shower shelf Old, dirty shower Very little water in shower Shabby room

    The receptionist and the very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5, shower door wasn't great. We were in a disabled room, the shower needs to be bigger especially if you are disabled and water was coming out of the door. It needs to be sorted in case any one slips. A part from that the room was lovely. Great facilities.

    The place was lovely, great staff and food was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Ideal accommodation for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find anything to dislike. We were only there for 1 night though.

    Accommodation, it was perfect, clean comfortable. Loved the white fluffy towels. The tea/coffee facilities were spot on too. Breakfast selection was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful building, rooms well equipped and extremely clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was perfect!

    Beautiful building, rooms well equipped and extremely clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and breakfast was fantastic, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Not the best landlord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked B&B through booking. Com. The landlord said that we couldn't have breakfast because booking. Com had made a mistake and he wanted to charge us another £26. Long story short he rang booking. Com and told us it was his mistake and we could have breakfast. The landlord was very rude to us all through our stay and we couldn't wait to leave. I think he took his tiredness out on us because I overheard him telling everyone he was short staffed working 15hours a day with no days off. I would not stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Overall we thought this a nice hotel, could be better but would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too firm for comfort, no easy chairs to relax in either in the room or in the hotel, rather noisy road .

    Character of the property, modern and very clean facilities, no parking problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Lovely location, amazing room, delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like

    The breakfast was delicious Room was comfortable, clean and beautifully presented Enjoyed the roll top bath a lot ! Plenty of parking Beautiful location Friendly staff and easy to check in and out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed stay and felt safe, important when on your own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly, food superb, will visit again. Inn is on out outskirts of a small village with Cheltenham, Gloucester and Cirencester within easy reach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    One night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The landlord seemed very unhappy.

    The rest of the staff were fantastic and the food was excellent but the Landlord never smiled at anybody for some unknown reason.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great stay and we are looking forward to visit these premises again in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n.a.

    Hospitality was great in this family run hotel. Rooms very comfortable and food was excellent. We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights en enjoyed it very much. From Holland: Compliments to the owner and staff.....! Thomas, Gerrie, Rob and Ellen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A lovely break in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for sightseeing in the Cotswolds. Lovely Deluxe room situated in a Converted cottage that was once the Village Post office with en suite shower.The Food was excellent at a nice price and the staff were very friendly helpful. Lots of nice walks in the area along with a lot of history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly Cotswolds base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing to bear in mind for light sleepers - the Inn is on the A-road between Cheltenham and Cirencester, and whilst this is not exactly a busy road, we're in the Cotswolds, I did wake a few times when cars were going past, so perhaps the windows could restrict noise a bit better. But that's a comparatively minor issue overall, the bed was comfortable (if it was too soft my back would have been in trouble, but had I no issues) and the room was attractive.

    As a place to stay for a bank holiday weekend exploring the Cotswolds, The Colesbourne Inn offered us everything we wanted - a clean, comfortable room to spend the night in, with pub attached for breakfast, dinner and a couple of drinks. Service was great, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the pub offered great food, including a very tasty Sunday roast. Colesbourne itself is tiny but is absolutely fine as a base for going further afield. We drove and I'd recommend having access to a car, but there are signposted walks from the inn and there is also a local bus service (no idea how frequent though!). The room was comfortable and attractive and overall we enjoyed a very pleasant stay, we're very pleased that we found this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Quaint English pub hotel in the Coltswolds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything we didn’t like.8

    Room was clean light and comfortable w/coffee tea milk and cookies. Bed was king size and very comfortable w/nice TV. Trevor and Liz were the best hosts and helped us w/every question. Pub and dining room were old and quaint and breakfast was perfect with a chef who could make anything you order. Dinner was also great! Also Colesbourne Hotel is just a hop-skip Way from Cirencester one way and Cheltenham t’other - you can take the bus and spend the day! Colesbourne Hotel was a wonderful surprise and we would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great stay food excellent very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and en-suite roomy, comfy bed, in a little cottage across the car park. Food excellent, staff excellent and also the landlord and landlady nice and friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. Fabulous location. Beautiful grounds to sit and realax. Clean accommodation. Friendly staff. Superb food We wanted a peaceful relaxing weekend and that’s what we got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming, comfortable - just a few little tweaks would have made the stay perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in our bathroom was constantly trickling - we reported it and the staff said they were aware and they were waiting for the plumber. Also, the fan in the bathroom was not working. The Friday evening we arrived, it seemed a bit frantic in the restaurant, and our initial order had to be checked by another member of staff. This did not help us to relax after what had, for us, been a stressful journey to get there. Also, the white wine needed to be properly chilled (on the 2nd night, we ordered the wine over an hour before we sat down and requested it would be fully chilled - which it was).

    The food was lovely, although the puddings are HUGE - nobody could finish it! The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, although, be warned, if you are staying on the ground floor, you will hear creaking when people are walking around in the room above you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay in the cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly. The Inn is an absolutely beautiful building in a most pleasant location. It's in the middle of nature if you want to go for a bicycle ride or a walk. Yet also conveniently located next to a main road so that you can easily explore the region by car. The whole atmosphere created is very relaxing. The included breakfast is top. It includes a full English breakfast and as much toast as you want. And you have a choice of yoghurt and cornflakes and all kinds of jam. Top notch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was quiet despite facing on to a main A road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No low wattage lighting in the bathroom at night.

    The room was quiet despite facing on to a main A road. The area was delightful, off the tourist routes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Amazing stay with brilliant food and drinks! Beautiful walks surrounding the pub which kept us busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    Superb breakfast with wonderful views, lovely walks surrounding the pub and if that’s not enough everything else was a stones through away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    A welcome change !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very well dressed and cosy. The bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and staff were very polite and helpful. The Inn is well situated between the two main towns and easily accessible .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a wedding nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen did close quite early on Friday night so tough if getting their late after work

    Beautiful countryside. Great room with good size bathroom and possible to park the car right outside the room for easy access if you forget your phone charger in there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff was really nice and the pub/restaurant was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thé bedroom was directly on to the main street so it was quite noisy and the view was not great

    Staff was really nice and the pub/restaurant was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about whatsoever

    Friendly staff with lots of ale choice, freshly cooked food and breakfast was of top quality produce. Lovely nights sleep in a well equipped room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Superb food was very tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly staff especially lovely young man named Shaun who made sure our stay was perfect. Also it was immaculate everywhere the cleaning staff work very hard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A great Cotswold location for enjoying the surrounding country and what the nearby towns offer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think I must have booked the final room as it was suitable for a disabled person so the bathroom was quite large with not everything where I would normally expect - eg. no shaving light Of course it's actually positive that such accommodation and facilities are available which isn't always the case. The shower cubicle could do with refurbishing as it was hard to open and shut the door properly.

    Location was convenient as I met with people from both Cheltenham and Cirencester. Nicely appointed and comfy room. Friendly and efficient hosts in Trevor and Liz together with their staff. The food was great both in the evening at the bar and breakfast. Bottled water provided in room is always the sign of a good establishment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, efficient hosts & staff, beautiful location and delicious food - perfect combination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our three night stay at the Colesbourne Inn was extremely enjoyable and relaxing. All of the staff are very professional and yet friendly and warm. They set high standards for their hospitality, food quality, taste and presentation & service and they reached those standards. The breakfast and evening meals were delicious, plentiful and served promptly. We will not have to look anywhere when staying in the Cotswolds next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money - well worth a look. Exceeded all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The breakfast and evening meal were excellent and the atmosphere of the place made for a really enjoyable stay.

    A great experience. Clean rooms, separate from the Inn so little noise. Great beer and excellent food and a wonderful menu available in the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, fantastic food and drink!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! One minor observation that the cafetière in our room hadn’t been washed properly.

    The staff were so lovely and friendly, they were happy to print maps for us to follow when we went walking which was really helpful! Also the G&Ts were the fanciest I’ve ever had by a mile, juniper berries and all in such a lovely glass! The food was so good, we’d booked both nights in thinking we’d only take one but didn’t even think about going anywhere else. Highly recommend the roast, impressive Yorkshires. Lovely fireplaces and atmosphere to sit with a drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was not to the usual high standard, no thought on presentation of the starter, the steak was warm at best, when asked how my meal was I replied not great, to which the reply was "ok Ill get your bill " felt like everyone wanted to get finished, I love eating dinner whilst breakfast crockery is loudly being laid out for the morning. The breakfast started 8am ! an hour after I left for work, so the waitress the previous evening asked me if I wanted breakfast pack left outside my room for the morning. Even asked what I wanted in it ... No pack was left outside my room. I t felt like a change of management has occurred since my last visit and my previous 8 -10 visits. Shame . will not be returning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    One of the best country Inns I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best country Inns I have ever stayed in. Rooms spacious and clean, staff could have been more helpful and the restaurant service a food quality was excellent particularly the breakfasts. We are planning to go back again for New Years

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Second visit and just as nice. Parking really good and close to many areas of the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not management fault but room above noisy when occupants walking back and forth. Also bottom of curtains in room a bit damp causing a slight smell. Nothing too bad but may need a bit of attention.

    Great gluten free options. Really helpful staff. Good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable overnight stay in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, however, if you are tall you need to be careful of beams in some of the Rooms.

    The whole experience of staying here was excellent - the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was outstanding at Dinner and breakfast. We will certainly be returning. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great short break in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bananas on the breakfast table!

    Very welcoming hosts and their staff. Great food and good choice of beer and wine. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Quite room in the old cottage (room 10).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A totally inappropriate sign complete with foul language behind bar which was not in keeping in this tasteful, old fashioned establishment.

    Everything was exceptionally good, accommodation, meals, ambiance, comfort. Lovely, easy accessible rooms with nice furniture. Requested and received room with disability facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable & will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a squeaky floor board in the room above ours which was quite annoying and the extractor wasn't working in the bathroom, but both of this the landlord stated was in hand and due to be fixed. Other than that everything else was great. The only slight thing for me was the bar could of done with some more comfortable seating area's to relax in of an evening. If the garden is able to be used.

    The food was great, the staff were really welcoming and friendly, the overall experience was a positive one, there were a couple of slight bug bares, but would highly recommend staying here to anyone and we'll definitely be revisiting again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    charming, good location and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pub is a bit pricey for the location.

    Lovely inn. comfortable, very kind staff and a good pub just inside. Breakfast is good also. central location is Costwolds to go all around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Most enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds. Vg food. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms 3&4 so next door to our friends with our own private front door - ideal for our 3 night break together!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a minor thing was that we felt the starters weren't great - tapenade was very very salty and was to come with crostini but was served with focaccia instead which was very salty too. The asparagus in parma ham, although tasty, was overpriced. The rest of the meal was delicious and service excellent.

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Excellent facilities and breakfast amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We found the Colesbourne Inn to be a delightful place to stay, and a delicious place to dine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very delicious. The room was comfortable and quiet, and roomy. We appreciated the kindness and the attentiveness of the staff. Excellent accommodations!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent spot for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When busy cooking was a bit hit and miss. Cold scallops and overcooked hake for example.

    Very good wide bed. Excellent parking space. Easy to find. Good selection of wines and interesting menu. Staff friendly and attentive. The

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, - we’d certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some morning road noise. Surprising that there is no secondary double glazing or even thicker curtains.

    Evening meal and breakfast excellent and not too expensive. Room very comfortable. Free parking very close to room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    This place was great for a one night stay over before a family 'do'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bath water was luke warm. The hot tap in the basin was only a dribble. We didn't like walking to our room across uneven ground in the dark. We were only grateful that it wasn't raining! (Room No 10)

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. Tea/coffee in room were very good + the complimentary bottle of water was appreciated. Breakfast and dinner were both very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, but I would not recommend to have a dinner there. Menu is overpriced and food is not tasty.

    Excellent rooms! Clean and very cosy. Free parking. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.0
    Relly enjoyed the stay and cannot wait to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very high standard and worth paying a bit more for however the price could have been more favourable for the middle of winter, midweek in a rural location .

    Comfortable bed , with good quality bathroom and bedroom fittings. The annex rooms have a hall to remove outdoor boots and you can park, subject to space being available, immediate beside your car. A very comfortable hotel recently refurbished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Very Enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was rather expensive for a inn , but the Breakfast was very good value which was included in the price of our stay.

    The bed was lovely and comfy , the room was very spacious and we had a lovely stay .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 2 nights and the room was not serviced after 1 st night The bath water did not get hot Shower water was ok

    Good food lovely ambience Fire in every room in the pub

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 1 could hear all the creaking of floor boards, conversations and movement upstairs.

    lovely staff, good bed, good pub/restaurant and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Ideal. Will be back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Although obviously an old inn, on a main road, the location is perfect for working in either Cirencester or Cheltenham, or as a touring base. The traffic is not heavy, and goes unnoticed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast, dinner was excellent, staffs are very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like drive when dark no light.

    Breakfast, dinner was excellent, staffs are very friendly and warmful make we comfy. Bed was good size and lovely warm comfy. Beautiful view country. We would like to come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!!! Cozy, warm, delicious, homely, cotswoldy!! Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism is that the bed and pillows were a little hard so I struggled to sleep well, but i still loved it.

    We stayed at Colesbourne Inn for 2 nights and 3 days from the 12th Feb 2018. We absolutely LOVED it! Firstly, the fooooooood!!! We arrived at the pub in the cold and we're greeted by two big roaring fires in the cozy pub. We checked into our our room and loved how cozy and warm the room was. After a day or walking in the cold and exploring, we decided to eat dinner at the pub. Absolutely amazing food, Both mornings I had the full english breakfast and it was probably one of the best I've ever had and my Fiancée had eggs benedict and then smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. SOOO much food, and highest quality. We were supposed to go out for dinner at another restaurant for our second night, but we got dressed and went to the pub for a beer and ended up cancelling our plans and staying there again for our second dinner. We loved it that much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome folder in our room had a dinner menu in it allowing us to make our selections which we did,but in the restaurant the menu given to us was not the same and my choice was not on,there was something similar but £3.00 more expensive!I brought this to the attention of staff and was told it was a new winter menu so obviously an oversight that the menus had not been changed in the rooms. Disappointed I made another choice,overall the menu choices and even the special boards could be better to much fish,no local lamb dishes except burgers! and no chicken choices.And the prices for some choices seemed expensive

    On arrival first impressions were good,warm welcome,nice atmosphere and the room itself was warm(our visit was in Feb)cosy and clean. After a journey in winter all one wants is a hot drink,the 1st 2 milks added to the cups were off and indeed all the milks were.At dinner we informed our host and on returning to the room later,new milks had been provided.The matter had been dealt with promptly and to our satisfaction,no complaints there.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: