Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Colwyn Hotel - near Pleasure Beach

569 New South Promenade, Blackpool, FY4 1NG, United Kingdom

#30 of 217 hotels in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    No hot water on Monday when we checked in had to use a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water on Monday when we checked in had to use a shower on the 3rd floor with the ceiling falling down. No control of the shower it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. In my room near the shower there was a floor board nail sticking up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Colwyn Hotel - 12-15th September 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for the sinks or showers in either room ~ had to boil the kettles to wash in the sinks ~ couldn't have showers.

    Quiet, sea views, comfortable beds, cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely everything, the warm welcome, the fantastic clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all everything was perfect.

    Absolutely everything, the warm welcome, the fantastic clean tidy and extremely well run hotel and the views were excellent. Thank you all at the Colwyn Hotel for our enjoyable stay and we’re looking forward to staying again in the future. All the best Paul

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no water coming out of the hot tap to the sink in the bathroom. The room was situated right next to the lift. the noise from the lift could be heard through the thin partition wall , this could be improved with sound insulation.. The milk on the table at breakfast on the 2nd day was sour and was changed at short notice then there was a long delay in replacing it.

    The bed was very comfortable , one of the best nights sleep i ever had in a hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT wow can't wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault our stay.

    Everything! Literally. Staff 5*, food was good. Room was spotless I'm still in shock of what we got for what we paid!! Clean towels and cups, Wi-Fi, car park and breakfast!!! tea and coffee even a hair dryer in the room. Can not complain. Lovely staff really made us welcome and made my little girl smile. Good location far enough to be quite but close enough to walk! Right by the water park and pleasure beach. Good night's sleep. We are looking to come back already. We stayed fri-sun.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is in a good location and the staff are great very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated the room was ok but the bathroom was tiny I had trouble using the facilities

    The hotel is in a good location and the staff are great very helpful the beds are ok and the breakfast is nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small double room not cleaned every day rubbish in bin left lamp/light above sink fan in shower room not working did report but did not fix dust behind bedside unit only left two towels asked for toilet roll

    near beach and nice walk into the north side of blackpool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Bedrooms nice and clean beds made which I did not expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom let it down ceiling hanging down shower door wouldn't shut one light working out of 3 in ceiling toilet holder hanging down and also there was a water leak in the bedroom for the children I reported it first day and it was still the same when we left sorry about this but I had to say it

    Bedrooms nice and clean beds made which I did not expect after first night breakfast was excellent plenty to eat and the service was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    my stay was first class sandra the onwer was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my shower could have been a bit bigger but thats my only fault

    i have no complaints overall the hotel was first class my bed was very comfy staff couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely break 3 nights. Once again breakfast perfectly cooked. Thanks to all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower.

    Great breakfast. Lovely staff.Nice atmosphere in this hotel. Beds comfy.Nice outlook from window.Asked for Seaview and it was nice. For the money nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Really enjoyed my stay

    Was very comfortable. Very friendly staff. Good sea view and pleasure beach. Didn't have any breakfast. But that's beause i'm not an early bird. Definitely 5 stars. Will stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Thanks Daniel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent stay here again with everything you need for the family get away at blackpool. Close to the pleasure beach but also a tram stop right outside for further afield with a 3 day pass for £12.50 pp and £7 for kids. Daniel was an absolute blast at breakfast every day so cheers Daniel you were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.5
    Bad, want my money back and wouldn’t recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast isn’t a full English breakfast at all and you certainly don’t get what it states on the menu. The hotel is falling apart and the rooms were awful. We were moved three times in less than 24hrs and no apology from anyone, car parking is awful. And the lift is a nightmare scared us to death. The entertainment next door is terrible.

    The tea and coffee were ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    staff were pleasant and friendly great with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lift gave you a bang when it stopped. the bathroom could have been bigger with being a family room.

    staff were pleasant and friendly great with kids. breakfast was good. good choice for adults and kids.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good and wish we had booked for couple more nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor problem bedside lamp didn’t work , so l couldn’t read at night

    It was perfect for myself and my grandson , they had buckets & spades available and beach across the road. The breakfast was great much more than I expected & the staff very friendly and obliging . Daniel was very good and interacted with the children

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Our stay at the Colwyn August 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lamp, shower was very slow fluctuating between hot and cold, no shower mat and the mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was great and staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Great welcome on arrival and quick and easy check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great welcome on arrival and quick and easy check in. Rooms were clean and tidy with everything you need for your stay. Breakfast was very nice with a wide selection and Daniel was brilliant every morning with service and his knowledge of Blackpool. Positioned very close to the Pleasure Beach was good and there's a tram stop right outside of the hotel for longer trips up the sea front (£12.50 adult/£7 child for 3 day pass).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    100% Recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I have to give that there was chewing gum underneath the bed.

    The staff were so generous and kind and would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Have to give mention to Sandra, Chuck and Daniel as they made us feel like we were at home. Would recommend 100%. Will be making a return in near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    ALMOST LIKE HOME BUT ALL THE FUN OF THE FAIR INCLUDED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING NOT TO LIKE

    THE FIRST BEING A WARM WELCOME. ROOMS COMFORTABLE,COME AND GO AS YOU PLEASE.ALWAYS A MEMBER OF VERY PLEASANT STAFF ON HAND.EXCELLENT BREAKFAST. A GREAT PLACE FOR REASONABLE CHARGE.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    The property was close to Pleasure Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A piece of advice to keep young staff as there was very senior/old staff working at the hotel which is not appropriate.

    The property was close to Pleasure Beach. The room size was adequate but the bathrooms were very small. Staff was very cooperative especially Mr. Daniel. Overall good value for money but needs improvements.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and we were left with a cleaning sponge in our bathroom sink

    Very hospitable and very clean and Very friendly staff and owners good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value hotel in Blackpool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Saturday and Sunday I did not get Milk/Tea/Coffee replenished in room. Bathroom not tidied. Not even sure if room was cleaned. Plus... very hot weather...window open at night. A lot of noise from front of hotel at 3 or 4 am On Friday and Saturday nights. Oh... something in the guide about nearest cash machine... nearest convenience store...nearby eating places would have been nice.

    Dining room staff were good. Breakfast good but why the tiny plates? Good value for money. Good location by sea front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    We had a spring that stuck out of our double bed which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a spring that stuck out of our double bed which was very uncomfortable.there was no soap or complementary shampoo or gel.we also on the 3rd floor with no view whatsoever.staff were pleasant especially the breakfast waiter Daniel who was great.wont be back though.and a full refund would be suffice but I know that would never happen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Pleasure Beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old fashioned but typical of most hotels and bed and breakfasts in Blackpool.

    Rooms were clean, staff are so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Tasty breakfast and vegetarian options. Only a short walk to the pleasure beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar wasn't very well stocked. Often had to go to the hotel next door and bring drinks back from there. I should point out that next door was the sister hotel.

    Bed was really comfy and the breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Would go back time and time again !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not believe pets are allowed, so my mother cannot enjoy the experience.

    Second visit in the last 3 month, because so good, located, nice staff, super breakfast easy parking. Very clean, with well appointed rooms and public areas, not the usual Blackpool shabby . Would certainly recommend to anyone, indeed i booking for next month already.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    very goodstay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Carpark needs a up date .to Small needs the side wall down so they can park in bay side on..for more space. many times cars were block in due to. Ano residents went for a day out . when many .cars want to go home end of there stay.

    You was made very welcome by all the management & staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Basic accommodation, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't clean & where it had been 'washed round' the dried dirt was left in the spot where the cloth finished. The TV & the dressing table area were dusty. The room was not ready at 2pm as stated (which was not a problem) but the reason given was it was being cleaned.

    Location was what I wanted. On-site free parking excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Family friendly and well priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No draught beers in the bar.

    The location was very close to the Pleasure Beach park and at the quieter end of Blackpool which was great. The breakfast and service was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    good standard.value for money.nice location can walk into town or 3 piers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing wrong with my stay.

    great staff work hard to make stay good one.parking which is handy.nice breakfast.stayed here three times now.must be good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Was a great location, nice clean rooms, good selection of TV...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the breakfast, was a bit disappointed seeing as I’d emailed a week before we arrived saying I was a vegan and my partner was a vegetarian, and would there be a good selection of food for us/could it be made available. But the first morning there I got half a tomato, one hash brown, and some undercooked baked beans?

    Was a great location, nice clean rooms, good selection of TV channel, good view from rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Ok is what it is won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just tired and no signs of improvement

    Hotel getting very run down and old, carpets on stairs furniture etc seen better days. shower didn't work, had to go down to another floor to use a shower , waited two days before they agreed to move me into another room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 small thing we stayed for 3 nights and never got our towels changed and didn't give spare toilet roll had to ask for more but only minor still an amazing place to stay.

    The staff were absolutely amazing so warm and friendly from the minute we arrived to the minute we left breakfast was brilliant the staff were so happy to help in anyway and to the new lad who started on Sunday was very pleasant and helpful good luck to him will definitely be bk to stay just wish I could have booked for next year but the hotels that good it's sold out a year in advance already 😥but we will definitely be bk in the future x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Daniel was very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power shower as shown in photos ,toilet was separate to bathroom at the other end of room and was quite tiny .not all staff were friendly and helpful

    Daniel was very friendly and welcoming.Room was clean with amazing see views and enough room.Majority of breakfast was great .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Better than I expected for the price given a nice welcome I'd go again anyone unsure don't be
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    The staff where good breakfast was very good one of the few in blackpool l would go back to in my opinion this is a very good value for money hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value amd best staff around blackpool :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault i could say is the beds are not very comftable, some memory foam toppers would make quite a differance

    Staff where so friendly and chatty They really make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay, great sleep and hard working staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No wifi in room, this was very important to me, had it in the lobby. Dated rooms but clean and comfy enough.

    Bed was so comfy 10/10. No noise at night. Breakfast was good and served ok, a nice welcome each morning. Car park was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great very enjoyable
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything about the hotel was great for the money you are paying

    The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and nice, breakfast was beautiful and the location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    The staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed on arrival By the fact that we had been allocated a family room which had bunk beds and a double bed as This just didn’t work for us. The room we were given had an awful smell to it and the view was that of the tops Of buildings. I wasn’t happy and was moved which was good. The room we ended up in did smell better and felt cleaner. The bed however was unbelievably uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on rocks. The curtain rail Fell Down when I opened the curtains. The windows are filthy and in desperate need of a clean inside and out. The room Is very basic and I’ve read people commenting on here you get what you pay for but in all Honesty, last week I spent two nights at a b&b in South Shields and paid the exact same amount as I paid here and the difference is unbelievable. It was like putting the Hilton up against fawlty towers. The lift is also something to behold, a useful thing to have but like the rest of the hotel is in dire need of some TLC. The cleaners appeared to come in our room while we were out after night one and literally must have just replaced the coffee I had used because there was bits all Over the floor, the bed wasn’t made and they left us with one small towel between two of us! The noise at night was pretty bad from Other guests banging doors and shouting in the corridors, this isn’t the hotels fault though to be fair. All in All I feel bad having to leave a negative review as the staff were genuinely lovely but the hotel is in desperate need of money and time Being spent on it. Great location though and fab view from rooms at the front.

    The staff were lovely and helpful. They showed genuine kindness and a real interest in your stay. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay I had. I will be staying again. I really enjoyed my stay. Highly recommended.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Croissants were lovely. Full English Breakfast Excellent. Daniel was a great host who served me at Breakfast. Very chatty and very helpful. Excellent facilities. Room was great. I would recommend esp if solo travelling. The hotel staff went out of their way and beyond to help. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent Customer Service. I stayed from Sunday 8th July 2018 till Tuesday 10th July 2018. Another Bonus it is not far from the Pleasure Beach Railway station. I came on the train for my stay. I will be staying again. Once again thanks for my wonderful short break to all the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was great and Daniel the waiter was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t very powerful

    The breakfast was great and Daniel the waiter was lovely! So helpful The room was decent had kettle tea/coffee etc. Very close to the nearest tram stop literally across the road Good view of the seafront from rooms Good accessibility in car park 24 hour bar!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV had a broken front making it extremely dangerous The bed base had a large pice of hardboard on top then the mattress on top of that. The mattress had partially collapsed & leaned on a 30% angle & wobbled about The room was at back of hotel with NO BREEZE so was extremely hot & stuffy The room faced a wall with no view

    Staff were very nice The breakfast was very good & very good staff at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff , clean comfortable room. Great location with tram stop opposite hotel to take you to all shops,bars and restaurants. Lounge area to enjoy a quiet drink,lovely breakfast room with sea views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean rooms , friendly staff , good breakfast room needs a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot as it was summer didn’t know till the end of stay that you could have asked for a fan

    Clean rooms , friendly staff , good breakfast room needs a bit updating but good value for price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Got a lovely room with a sea view, great value for money,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly too hard and a little uncomfortable for myself but that’s just my preference to have a softer bed

    Got a lovely room with a sea view, great value for money, staff lovely and the breakfast was really nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave 😕

    Everything! Tram stop literally across the street and a 10 minute walk from pleasure beach. Amazing breakfast and Daniel our waiter very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Really good value for money with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower ok but a little cold

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Room clean, breakfast excellent and great value for money. Lovely sea view and excellent location for trams and seafront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    No basin in the bathroom - was in the bedroom area instead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No basin in the bathroom - was in the bedroom area instead. In the other room we had the toilet was in a tiny room just off the main bedroom area and shower and basin the other side of the room! Not functional layouts!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast and spotless clean rooms they did us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast and spotless clean rooms they did us a brilliant deal to stay an extra night. The hotel has only recently been taken over by new management and they’re doing a great job as are the staff. We will definetly return in the future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money; ideal location for the Pleasure Beach and friendly staff. Daniel was great with our kids and gave us good tips on getting the best out of our day at the Pleasure Beach. If I go back to Blackpool I'll go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Blackpool and sunshine - what could go wrong
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi could have been a bit quicker

    The 2nd time I have stayed here and no disappointments. The staff were great - very helpful and happy. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Parking is right outside the front door and the hotel is well located. Breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was nice and the staff was friendlly the shower in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and the staff was friendlly the shower in the room is oki but no good for washing your hair :') checking it took abit of time as there was no one there to greet us we was waiting for about 20minutes before anyone appeared. But was a comfortable stay would highly recommend for a couple of days

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    tired hotel needing some TLC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no curtains at bathroom window which over looked a busy section on north promenade, meant showering was tricky layout of room made it uncomfortable to watch television

    location, en suite in my single room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, Daniel was outstanding with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, Daniel was outstanding with our breakfast, nothing too much trouble. Quiet location away from the bustle of the town centre. Lovely sea views. Enjoyed it very much and can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. The staff were great and the hotel was lovely

    We loved the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Will definitely be back. The location was great for us as we prefer that end of Blackpool, it was great value for the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Had a hiccup, otherwise would have been a really pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no water for the shower in our room. We stayed for 2 nights in total. When we experienced the problem on the first night, we waited until the next day to see if it worked, it didn't. Contacted reception and was told that they would get a plumber to fix it asap. We were given a key to a family room just to use the shower in the morning. When we returned later on that night, the problem was not fixed and the message was no passed on to the person on night shift. Left the hotel feeling a bit filthy the next day.

    Staff were friendly. Rooms are clean and tidy with a bit of a sea view. Bed was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed with my experience and would not recommend the hotel to friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room very dated - lack of facilities - No soap provided to wash hands - cleaning of room questionable - Lack of staff as they were doing multiple tasks - No entertainment. Was advised it was in the sister hotel. - Breakfast - bland - disorganised -

    Great location as it was central to all main attractions and one was able to stroll along the promenade. Proprietors gave a warm welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff were very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was on need of updating. The bedroom was small without a fan or air conditioning, this made it unbearable to sleep in.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    This was our third stay at this hotel as a family and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackout curtains would have been great in the room our parents stayed in

    This was our third stay at this hotel as a family and it is consistently good. Even with new owners, the service and stay was as good as ever. Location is great for families - tram stop across the road but far enough away from the nightlife to get a peaceful night. The staff are all fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it a lot, will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred sink in the bathroom but it was a budget room! We intend to stay again so will ask for this!

    Staff were excellent, very friendly! Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything staff were absolutely great And friendly and couldn’t do enough for you best 2 days away for a long time home from home vibe will miss this place can’t rate enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    It’s in a good quiet location on the edge of town ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in a good quiet location on the edge of town ideal for the pleasure beach all the attractions of Blackpool are in easy reach as there’s a tram stop right outside the lady on reception was lovely and the rooms where clean breakfast was very good and the hotel is very good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Great for people on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to experience Blackpool and the hotel did not disappoint! Quirky and unforgettable stay! Room very clean and there was even a lift to our floor. We had a family room so we had a good amount of room for our bags. The price for the room was extremely reasonable, so if you don’t want to spend a lot on accomodation, this will fit the bill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault on anything at this property.

    Location is excellent right next to pepsi max great views from hotel. Even got view for fireworks going off at pleasure beach from our room ☺ and staff very friendly breakfast amazing. Most of all was clean 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Lower cost hotel from a bygone era
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is rather dated and in need of a restoration. Floor boards were very noisy - anytime another guest moved in their room or in the hallway you could here them. Generally a noisy hotel. Could connect to wifi but internet wasn’t working.

    This is a low cost entry level hotel. Adequate for the price. But recommend earplugs for sleeping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.8
    Handy for the pleasure beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pass s for a family room, double bed with bunk beds, on arrival I was given a room with a double and single bed meaning that I needed to share a bed with one of my children. I questioned this as I had booked and paid for a family room, but I was told that the hotel ‘charge by the head’ and as there was one adult and 2 children, this was the room we would be offered. The room was very warm, I discovered this was because the radiator outside the room was on full with no apparent way to turn off. There were only 2 bath towels in the room and I had to ask for the hot water to be turned on for the room. I spoke with 4 different staff members during my stay, one, the Marketing Manager advised that she would offer 1 nights free stay via email, because of the huge inconvenience, and the fact that we as a family had had no sleep, at the time of writing I had not heard from the hotel. I am incredibly disappointed with the hotel and would not chose to return.

    Handy for the pleasure beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I would defo recommend you all to stay at this fab, clean and very friendly hotel!! ;) 👌 🖒
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Loved everything about the property!! ;)

    the staff was all lovely and very friendly, my room was big, clean but I just didn't get a sea view :( but apart from that I couldn't fault it n it was great value for money and the breakfast was fab!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for a shower when we wanted one. I had to have a freezing cold shower before bed. My fiance went down to let them know only to be told, " the hot water runs on the same system as the heating so it is only on between 6 and 9. Other guests would complain it's too hot if we turn it on now. The next day I had a hot shower but by the time my fiance got into the shower it was feezing cold. So, we decided to fill the sink with water from the kettle for a strip wash, only to find that the plug didn't fit in properly so he lost all his water. The toilet holder and the towel rail was hanging off the wall at one side. There was a Hoover left in the hall way one evening, someone could have tripped over it. When we arrived we got in the lift to find the door wouldn't open so we went back down and tried again but it still didn't open on the 2nd level. When reported we were told ,"oh the lift door won't open on level two you need to use the stairs." Could we not have been told this when handed the keys. The room walls between each room are paper thin. There's only so much Pepa pig you can listen to in one day. Also we could hear the person snoring from the next room and pass wind as he/she sat on the toilet. Which did make us laugh out loud. On check-in we were handed keys and told when breakfast was. There was no information, leaflets, Wi-Fi codes etc in the room. We didn't have breakfast as we were slightly put off. When we checked-out I handed the keys over and a lady said, "thank you very much." A did you enjoy your stay, was everything ok would have been a nice touch and probably enough for me not to write such a long review!!!

    We had a lovely view from our window. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Good stay but hotel poorly run
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in wasnt great had to wait for rooms to be cleaned and then wait again for towells also they rang us to move car when they told us to park their and cost us £10 on tram and an hr out our day just to do this very frustrating

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    We left 05.45 AM even though we had paid extra for breakfast. Impossible to get a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the fact it was hot weather and they had radiators blaring away as the heating system was broken and the temperature in the room was high.We didn't like the two single beds fastened together to create a double as the ridge in-between unfortunately protruded.We ordered a double but accepted the compromise of two singles as we "thought" this would be adequate as they could be zipped together.The mattress quality was poor and thin and you could feel the metal springs.We didn't appreciate there being no mattress protector as it's crucial for hygiene.The decor of the room was a little tired with peeling wallpaper but to be fair not a deal breaker. The shower room was small but just adequate with low pressure.There was a sink in the bedroom but no soap supplied.The floor boards were knackered and very noisy.Unsure of why all the good reviews.Sorry to leave non favorable feedback but it's representative of our own experience.

    The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If He room doors were very stiff and hard to open. The Tv was quite small and the front door building handle kept pulling off. The staff were sometimes in the hotel next door. Always very helpful though. The dressing chair could possible do with a steam clean.

    The place was very clean. The lounge furniture and carpets had no sign of ware. Right opposite the tram stop and very near to pleasure beach but, still quiet. I would definitely go again. It also had a lift. Perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Value for money. Unhelpful staff when problems occur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 2pm. Yet when we arrived at our room keys in hand our room was occupied by work men installing things. We were told it would be ready soon. By 7pm it still wasn’t ready. We had to repeatedly go down to enquire about our room. 5 hours after arriving we had to ask to be put in another room, which wasn’t as good as the one we had paid for. No apology, and it appeared to be making staff go out their way, to give us a room that we paid for as soon as we arrived, and that should have been ready 5 hours previous.

    Rooms were nice and value for money and it was a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It was clean, comfortable and well located adjacent to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast was lacking and the lift wasn't working properly.

    It was clean, comfortable and well located adjacent to Pleasure Beach and a tram stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was of a fire escape. The room in general was quite small but for two night stay I'm not complaining. Shower was quite cold. Plus the fact you can hear every noise from other guests in corridor.

    Really good location for pleasure beach. Staff were really friendly and room was clean. For a weekend away it's honestly perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    no sleep tired next day
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor double glazing could hear out side traffic noise thin walls could hear next room banging and having a shower at 2.30 am they had a private party on with the loud music playing until 12 midnight a poor night sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: