Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Commercial 4 stars

13 Market Square, St Just, St Just, TR19 7HE, United Kingdom

#5 of 9 hotels in St Just

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only time limited public parking available nearby or car park up the road. Small 4'6" bed.

    Lovely breakfast, great touring location, quiet town, hake dinner brilliant, very friendly family run hotel, very close to Botallack Tin Mine for Poldark fans !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any air conditioning and so on a warm evening we had to keep the window open. The road was surprisingly noisy. On the Saturday there was a lot of noise coming from either the bar downstairs or from one of the other two pubs in the square. The coop next door also had two deliveries while we were there with massive lorries outside. This didn't really bother us as we had walked for miles and could probably have slept through anything. Light sleepers may have been more troubled by it.

    We were walking the SW Coast path and St Just is handily placed for this. The bus stop which took us to the path is also round the corner. Although there wasn't any on-site parking, which the website clearly stated, there was a free car park also round the corner. I had read previous reviews which said 'expect it to be a bar foremost, with rooms and a restaurant'; this is a fair description. The room was nice, very clean and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was good, large and again clean. We did notice a slight drains smell from the bathroom. The young waiting staff at breakfast were very attentive and were obviously being trained well. We had one evening meal which was simple and very good. Particularly enjoyed the Eton Mess. Breakfast was OK, a bit ordinary. A reasonable selection of cereal and fruit and a cooked option Very pretty outdoor courtyard garden to have a drink .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were slightly wooden. The rooms are small and possibly have far too much going on in them. This was advertised as being kid-worthy, however I do not believe this was an suitable place for children. The resturant waiting time for our evening order was an hour?

    Furnishings are of good quality. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel offers excellent value for money. The restaurant menu is very good as was the food, we ate twice there. Breakfast too is super with a varied choice. Staff across the hotel service were friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic stay. All very comfortable and a delightful setting. Not always easy to find 2 single bed accommodation. Our 'break a way' made all the better with Minak theatre booking - Show of Hands mainly folk and acoustic guitar. Beautiful weather with sightings of porpoises and their young and minke whales - how good was that. I do not know the owners mane but she was wonderful. Many Thanks. Sarah Slater

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are steep.

    Great staff. Great food. Location was in town’s square which was noisy on one night. Impressed with cleanliness of our room and the dining areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night. Should have gone for more

    The breakfast was fantastic and the bed was absolutely wonderful. You get a quiet sleep although there’s a bar down stairs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traditional Cornish breakfast, brilliant. The room and bathroom spotless. Staff very helpful and attentive. Great beer garden. Food good value and tasty. Try Catch of the day and chips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds could have been a little more comfortable for my Husband but I found them to be adequate.

    The staff were all incredibly helpful and polite. On arrival one of the staff offered to take our bags from our car to our room and even showed us around the hotel so that we knew where everything was. Even the cleaning staff were helpful at 6:30am when I couldn't sleep, making me a cup of tea in the dining room and answering my questions on local beauty spots. The food was just wonderful, the steak and ale pie was ordered two nights in a row! The service was that of a five star hotel and I shall certainly be staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem, as we're both disabled, we found stairs abit difficult as no hand rails but we managed and had a walk in shower,would come again

    It was spotlessly clean, excellent food, all staff friendly and helpful, had a big birthday party there and food and staff were brilliant,will come again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The staff are fabulous as well as the building,bar,garden and room was superb. The food was exemplary as we had steak in the restaurant and felt the best we had eaten to have the breakfast was absolutely first class and staff attention superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left at 4am and had arranged with the staff to leave our room keys in the room With this I was unable to lock the front door on departure

    Room was comfortable the food excellent and the staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the radiator not heating up in our room but the staff quickly sorted it by providing an electric heater.

    Staff always helpful. Excellent breakfasts with wide choice. Evening meal of catch of the day good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely room (4) with views over to the church, could see the sea from the bathroom. Very good generous breakfast and nice, busy bar. All of the staff were polite and helpful. Easy access to the coast path for lovely walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used to live in st just. But live in Plymouth. Our stay was because we had a bereavement in the family the hotel room was spotless and the staff very friendly we were able to check in early which was a bonus. Michelle and the staff are excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - except my colleague had a creaky floor in the room above his (front, first floor) that would merit some attention.

    Very nice clean, freshly decorated and quiet room... excellent supper (hake on a mushroom and chorizo risotto bed)... charming staff... great location. I can't recommend this hotel too highly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs were very steep but this is a function of the age of the property. The room could have been a little warmer but as we picked the weekend when the heating broke down we cannot blame the Hotel Management.

    The food was excellent. The room was very comfortable although the shower was a little weak. The additional facilities supplied in the room were very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location provided excellent access to the Tin coast and coastal walks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NYE for 2017 > 18, returned having enjoyed the experience the previous year and not disappointed. Lovely NYE menu. Room 2 overlooking the square is comfortable for the few nights we stayed, on the top floor so lots of stairs. Small wardrobe with 10 hangers. Very comfortable bed, quality bed linen and towels. Friendly bar a great place to bring in the new year - really good is the 4 pubs empty into the town square outside the hotel. Escaped back into the Commercial and bagged seats to drink with the locals. CERTAINLY WORTH THE MONEY

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor points only. Stairs to rooms rather steep. In room 2, limited wardrobe/storage space.

    Excellent choice for breakfast Bed very comfortable, room clean and en-suite-its really clean and presentable. Staff friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It is a small family run hotel which we have stayed at before. We have always enjoyed our stay and this last time was completely up to standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the cold room when we arrived, after walking whole day outside we were cold and it took a while to heat up the room.

    The Commercial surprised us with it's great custommer services, beautiful room and delicious food. We loved the breakfast and the breakfast conservatory space!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Commercial was everything we needed it to be ! The young staff were so welcoming, the food was exceptional and the room very clean & comfortable. Many Thanks !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sunday breakfast between 8-9 only - a little early maybe. Check-out by 10 was also a bit of a rush. Room was spacious, but none of the lamps worked, easily put right with 3 bulbs, but a nuisance. A note to the management, if you employ youngsters to deal with reception and waiting staff then a a bit of training around a good welcoming message would go a long way. We felt a bit of an inconvenience at times.

    Comfy bed with lovely crisp white sheets. Great fluffy towels and generally very clean and tidy. A real bonus that the window could be opened, for those of us who prefer fresh air to air-con. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A clean and comfortable hotel with lovely atmosphere. We (2 adults and a four-year-old) stayed for three nights during October half term and couldn't have wished for a better base to discover Cornwall. Friendly staff provided great service. Impressed by how professional they were despite being really young. The food was a real surprise - the chef is absolutely top class so don't even think of going anywhere else for dinner! Overall, The Commercial comes highly recommended by our family!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a surprising amount of noise from the street early Saturday morning as ongoing bins on wheels or carts of another nature moved to and from the Co-op across the street. Also, the breakfast slot offered was only one-hour in duration. This seems relatively less flexible than most hotels I have stayed for a comparable price.

    The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean. Breakfast was good and there was a vegetarian option.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very early breakfast. People are on holiday and do not necessarily want to get up showered amd dressed before 9am !

    The breakfast was lovely and very good choice. My only complaint is that it is far too short a window 8am - 9am. I personally cannot eat before around 10am or even 9.30 so although my husband had breakfast I did not.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    The beds were super comfortable and rooms were clean and well equipped. It was just an emergency stopover as flights from Landa End were put on hold but we're glad we've discovered it and would stay again if the same thing happened.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed before starting a 4 day bike ride. We arrived late in the evening and left after good and ample breakfast.... Very welcoming. Good breakfast and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome,rooms were spotless and modern,staff were excellent food was excellent and breakfast best i've had in years. Would i stay here again Yes!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with some plumbing issues and there was a fair bit of noise from the street and rooms on both sides.

    It was close to the sites we were hoping to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Meals were very good and pleasantly served. The hotel is well located for trips to historic tin mines, coastal walks and nearby towns.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were young and though efficient didn't seem very authentic in their welcome, or seem to be enjoying their jobs much. Maybe it was just us, or we hit a bad day, as the visitor book was full of comments about the happy helpful staff! And to be fair, I did ask one for directions and she was helpful. Breakfast was good but let down by cheap-looking jams and marmalade (though good Cornish butter), and staff attitude as above. Tea in room basic, no herbals.

    An effort had been made to update the room, it was clean, light and airy and the beds were comfortable. Shower was good too. It was all ok for a small town inn, but there are better places to stay at this price (try the Old Post House b & b, for instance, which has great attention to detail and is truly welcoming).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park associated with the place, but free car park just down the road. This was full when I arrived but managed to get a space after waiting around for about 10 minutes

    Very helpful staff that were able to get my room ready for a bit earlier as I needed to get to a wedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints.

    The hotel was in a good location for us & What we wanted to do. A pretty village with good pubs and plenty of options in the village for eats if you didn't want to eat in the hotel. Small selection of shops catering for groceries to art / gift shops. A lovely walk down to the sea would recommend that it was beautiful took about 15/20 min.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was on the front with lots of street noise. . supermarket directly outside our room had 5am deliveries.

    friendly people . lovely food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs up to rooms. Despite be assured no need to book crab for dinner at 3pm by 7.30pm they had sold out. Assured by the head chef!!!

    Spacious room & bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The diner in the restaurant: the meat on the hamburger was very, very dry and just not tasty.

    You get what you pay for: nothing special, but no complaints about the hotel itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. As usual be aware that there are stairs

    Loved the location in the centre of town and easy to visit nearby places. Parking, although not on site, was only minutes away in free public carpark. Restaurant meal and breakfast were both very good. Bed was comfortable, room compact but fine for the two of us. Shower was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from main street early in morning and well into the evening - wouldn't have a room at front of hotel again. Found only having one hour for breakfast, from 8-9 a bit too inflexible when you are on holiday, and you have children with you. Thought the variety of cooked breakfasts on offer was excellent, but if you don't like a cooked breakfast, the alternatives are limited.

    Liked the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. Rooms also very comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated. Lovely garden area and bright, airy conservatory.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Everything was great. We travelled by train to Penzance from where there is a good bus service to St Just. The hotel is situated in a good location on the town square. Food was good, but there are other pubs and restaurants close by. The bus station is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and there are buses to St Ives, Lands End and Penzance. Fairly easy walk from hotel to Cape Cornwall and Botallack mines. Levant and Geevor mines slightly further but still walkable. Also a bus service takes you close to these mines. Great pub (Queens Arms) at Botallack for refreshments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it is what it is, good value for money, comfortable but not the Ritz1

    Friendly staff, good food, near to Lands End Airport which as where we wanted to be. Can recommend for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny the bed was creaky and lopsided the decor was tired. The en suite was so small there wasn't anywhere to hang a towel and the sliding door didn't shut properly. It felt understaffed the same person seemed to be doing a lot of different roles.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with baked beans on breakfast. Decent price evening menu, but the lobster salad caused food poisoning.

    Easy (free) public car parking just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold room and no facility for heating. Very noisy water system . Evening meal was tasty but served cool, but we have mentioned this to the staff whilst there.

    Very comfortable beds. Staff accommodated for breakfast for us to leave early for our flight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    21st century prices for an average 20th century room. Like a lot of Cornwall, prices seemed to reflect inadequate room supply rather than real value for money. Breakfast staff a bit surly.

    Location welcome after a long day's walk on lonely cliffs. Good hot shower and comfortable bed. Some staff very friendly and helpful. Heating available to dry out wet clothes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so friendly. The owner was very welcoming. He went the extra mile to provide details of things to do locally, and spoke with such a passion for the local area. Very comfortable room, no complaints at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we had a room on the first floor right above the pub and next to the landing so it was quite noisy which was a bit annoying. Also, the breakfast is only served from 8-9. Happy with it being included but it could be served for a longer, and later, period.

    The location was great, and the staff were friendly. The bathroom was quite spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee could have been hotter for my tastes. must be a mini dvd player in the tv my dvd's wouldn't fit.Due to the work being done my view was poor (window misted up and scaffolding ).

    the room,food very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was surprisingly small - and I'm used to Citizen M style capsule rooms. Soundproofing between rooms not great, which wasn't ideal when the people next door got up at 6.30. Tried to get a drink at 9.55,to be told the bar was shut. We were directed to the pub across the square, but that rather defeats the point of staying in a hotel/pub rather than a B&B. You should be able to get a drink at 10 in the evening without having to go out.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattess was awful and needs changing could not sleep, room very tired..this is a pub hotel so can't expect too much but these few changes would make it a better experience.breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm when we arrived , but we could adjust the radiator to sort out.

    Good welcome from friendly staff. Room was very clean. Hotel right in the middle of the town. Good value stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room window was obscured glass so could not see outside, only went into one bedroom so we may have just been unlucky. I had a chicken curry that was very bland with what tasted like reheated rice (hard) although my wife had the lasagna and liked it.

    Friendly staff, rooms clean and newly painted, good breakfast choice, thumbs up for the Full Cornish. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the room was comfortable, our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, I had asked for a room with a walkin shower which they were happy to accommodate, the food was excellent, we will be going again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only draw back is having to park some way from the hotel, especially if it's raining, it's a free car park, but a tidy step from the hotel.

    This is our 4th stay,which speaks for itself why we like it, unfortunately the Weather let us down this time. Will have to bone Michell &. Paul about that. But nonetheless very enjoyable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Perfect place to stay - they have everything you could want under one roof. A nice local bar with a pool table, they serve nice food in the restaurant, breakfast was nice, the room was lovely and the staff were happy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad: no car park , missing DVD player in room ( advertising says that spouse to be included) poor wifi speed, room door stuck in middle way to open, all walking noise from hallway come to room and that's really annoying.

    Good things: nice location, happy staff, clean room. Good breakfast. Will use again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all fantastic

    Friendly staff, great location, excellent breakfast, superclean and lovely comfy bed, wish we could have stayed an extra night!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs leading up to our 4th floor bedroom were steep in parts but the ‘receptionist’ offered to carry our bags for us when we arrived.

    Conveniently located in St Just main square with all the local amenities close by. Friendly and helpful staff with an Owner willing to go the extra mile to ensure that the Hotels enviable reputation for good food, clean and comfortable rooms, and value for money wasn’t compromised. Our evening meal served in the pleasant conservatory was delicious and good value for money. Breakfast was also comprehensive and of top quality. .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No off road parking but a large public car park is close by.

    Excellent breakfast large portions well cooked, very polite and helpful staff .good location for sightseeing . Hotel centrally located in small village with shops nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the bed was excellent, and breakfast and evening meal were faultless, and the staff were very friendly. everything you want for a good break.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Short Break Special
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apart from the slight disappointment with the second day's breakfast which was good but not as excellent as the two other days, absolutely nothing.

    The family and staff were very friendly and helpful during our 3 night stay. Our request for lighter bedding was addressed immediately and even a large electric fan placed in our room to ensure our comfort. The vegetarian breakfast was very substantial and well cooked on 2 occasions, tho less so on the day in between. loved the buffet with fresh fruit salad. The hotel has deservedly won awards for its fresh flower arrangements which are to be found throughout the public areas, and on both the breakfast and dining tables. The evening meal was delicious, although a more extensive vegetarian menu would be appreciated, there are only 2 options on the menu. Definitely in the diary for a revisit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public car park was a bit of a trek but that is beyond the hotel's control.

    We were only going to stay one night and travel around but changed our minds and used the hotel as a base and stayed four. Beds we very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. 11 out of 10.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disturbed nights sleep from other noisy residents and the early morning traffic.

    Good free car park nearby. En suite good enjoyed the bath. Excellent dinner and breakfast in the lovely conservatory dining room. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did have problem with water in morning for wash,but staff were very diligent to sort guests out.

    Excellent food.very friendly staff.good selection of local beverages.a lot of selections for breakfast.would recommend the red thai monkfish curry.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room faced onto the market square which was a bit noisy from early morning.It didn't spoil our stay though.

    Staff were excellent. Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place. Friendly and comfortable, with lovely breakfasts. Staff are friendly and helpful. The decor is modern but retains a really classy and authentic feel. Brilliant location and excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An elevator, of course, would have been nice!!

    The room itself, although not large, was extremely attractive and comfortable and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was also fairly large. The staff was helpful and breakfast was excellent. Also, dinner in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a serious damp problem in our bedroom which developed overnight. We reported it, and the manageress sent a minion to say they were aware of the problem! They did give us a £30 reduction on a £184 bill! The room should not have been let!

    The staff were wonderful. Food excellent .Conservatory dining area lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single room, the bed was narrow, low and uncomfortable. I didn't mind that the room was small and it was a single bed, however the bed was more like a child's bed.

    The evening meal. location to coast path.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was more expensive than where we stayed the next night.

    Local advice and assistance in planning hike went beyond what you would expect. Helped to make the journey stress free as we had back up plans with taxi, bus services if it was needed. We were able to arrive late and leave early with a great breakfast to start the day, caught local bus to Levant mine to make this hike feasible in a weekend. Our room was clean, welcoming and had all we needed and expected for hotel accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of stairs to our top floor room, but that is only to be expected in a building of this age. Anyone with mobility problems would struggle.

    Friendly,helpful staff. Meals were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to change the HORRID bed mattress. it was like sleeping on a beach of pebbles.The quilt is a winter quilt and its summer,,, FAR TO THICK

    Apart from the bed all was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small - though not a major issue. My gripe was that the noise of the kitchen fan could be clearly heard until past 11.00 pm and again from shortly after 7.00 am Given that I had requested a quiet room, (being a light sleeper) ,I complained on arrival and accepted it when I was told it would go off at 10.30 even though that did not actually suite me. In fact I had to get up an ask again at 10.30 to be told the owner was taking staff home and it would be done on his return. That was after 11.00 pm I had the feeling I was being fobbed off and did not appreciate it. Thus avoid room 5 if you are anything like me and check which others may be affected if you are.

    The food was excellent and I would certainly recommend this place as an eatery.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in our room did not work. I asked for a replacement but told non available. I went to borrow the one in my daughters room but it smelt of burning so I was scared to use it.

    Very nice breakfast and pleasant staff to serve it. Rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was all good

    everything was very handy in its locatoin in the main square the staff and the owners were great we arrived just before they stopped serving food but were more than happy for us to check in and the chef waited on so we could have a meal the room was lovely and clean, we had a great break

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Commercial traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: