Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Connaught 5 stars

Carlos Place, Westminster Borough, London, W1K 2AL, United Kingdom

#22 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful place but very very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i know this is a top hotel but the prices are a little OTT being honest. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and have never paid £7.50 for a small cup of coffee plus 12.5% service charge. If i wanted it in my room it was £7.50 for the cup, £5.00 for it to be delivered to my room plus the 12.5% service charge. When you consider I paid £600 PN and no breakfast - really !!! The shower was poor and have had better standards of showers in a holiday inn express (which are excellent value by the way) I spent £1500 in 2 days so I don't consider myself a skin flint.

    staff were excellent especially George in the Connaught bar. The bed was fabulous and the room very quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    You pay your money but you get the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful. Bed large but didn't dominate the room. The bathroom was wonderful. Even the toilet seat was heated! I had inadvertently booked a single room but was offered a double immediately without fuss. The area, being Mayfair, is lovely just to walk around with nice local pubs and coffee shops. Hyde Park 5 minutes away, Oxford St 10 mins and the West End 20 mins. The river - 20 mins again. Yes go on walk! Forget the tube or taxis!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    I HAD A SINGE ROOM SMALL BUT NO EASY CHAIR. THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the size of the portions and hot coffee

    the continental breakfast was dreadful,half a cup of almost cold coffee, the two rolls were so hard I could not even cut them. Danish Pastries were very small ? I ordered toast but had to ask for it again, then I had to ask for more butter I would have expected a glass of fruit juice ? I also had lunch which was very disappointing, size of the portions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    meh.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was ok. Not great, not bad. The room was very small and having to fiddle with the lamps and master switches...just annoying. The printing under the switches had worn off so was unintelligible. I accidentally switched off the AC along with everything else essentially freezing us. The room overstuffed with useless furniture. My pet peeve is hotels that only offer one suitcase stand, yet we are two guests with two suitcases and nowhere to put our things. If you're only there overnight likely you're not going to unpack into the wardrobes.

    The staff were very pleasant. Nice touch on the Dyson hairdryer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Absloutly loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was too small, lucky enough that i was travelling alone with one bag it will not for two big suit cases.

    Their hospitality they did not charge me for breakfast because they could not provide me with my room because of my early arrival. So its not their fault that I have arrived early to provide me woth a room but they were generous that they had my room ready at 9:30am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is my go to from now on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, even for single occupancy, was too small.

    The toilet heated floor was superb. The staff were super friendly. Consierge, room service and housekeeping were quick and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Water poured into my room from room above
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea came without hot water and already brewed too weak for my taste. Whole meal toast was very ordinary quality bread. Not worth the money at all

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very classical, fabulous venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very classical, fabulous venue. Loved the spacious bathroom and the equipment in the room. The quarter where the Connaught is located is beyond perfect. very central but calm. All the staffs were so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    the staff are super helpful and friendly the room is clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if i knew there was renovations going on to the main setting area i wouldn't stayed there.

    the staff are super helpful and friendly the room is clean and equipped with every thing you need.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Oozes class and style, great spot in Mayfair, rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Oozes class and style, great spot in Mayfair, rooms are great and could have stayed in shower all day long. If you are feeling decadent - then don't consider anywhere else.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    4 stars but not 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was chaotic at the check in. They did honour our request for a quiet room but we later found that the maid/room service store was across from our room so very noisy in the morning and late nights! Service at the tea room was good at the start but waned between shifts.

    Location and cleanliness/decoration were great. Service at the start was great at breakfast and tea. They sent a cake up for my wife's birthday which was a nice touch. We saw a celebrity when we arrived so that's a good start

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Top of London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pure definition of luxury, discretion, sophistication and elegance. The rooms are perfect and the amenities are amazing. Right in the middle of Mayfaire, The Connaught has the best location for a shopping trip.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    A luxury and elegant British hotel at its best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs in the breakfast restaurant were a bit squeezy. Designed for little people.

    A luxury and elegant British hotel at its best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The Room, Staff, bars and Restaurant were all Superb but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really any outside space

    The Room, Staff, bars and Restaurant were all Superb but pricey!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good Staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Best of the best
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Magical.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a serious premier hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices

    All great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Great location lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at 3pm find it little late but they managed to give us a room at 2:30

    Helpful staff ,great location, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about the Connaught...

    From the moment we checked in to check out Excellent as always.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms and service at hallway at early morning.

    Location, restaurants and the new rooms are great !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant New Years Eve. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything, it was perfect. The Martini Bar was exceptional. The rooms so quiet you didn't hear any noise in the corridors or street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    The perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in this hotel was perfect,beautiful relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Without question the absolute best hotel in London.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Phenomenally courteous service. Outstanding room. Accommodated all special requests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room facilities to make tea or coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Just amazing 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just amazing 😉

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    The restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower only had an overhead or a hand held that cd not be used as a wall mounted/

    The restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Tv in bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in bath

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Can't go wrong at Connaught
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room; lighting was very poor in the room so I asked for an extra room lamp which they provided immediately.

    Aman spa. That is all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Seems like everything is possible for the concierge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seems like everything is possible for the concierge! Breakfast and bar are top notch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.1
    The room was dark dimal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark dimal

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The connaught reallly is an exceptional hotel that understands real luxury

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location; best service; definitely worth going back

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.7
    After a Hong Kong -London flight a guest may not appreciate being bothered lwith plumbing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faulty plumbing required change of rooms

    Nicely redecorated top floors

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel and perfect staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steem room smelled sweaty and was too hot for me.

    The attention and care of the staff. The feeling of the space. The quality and quiet of the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    A little piece of heaven in Mayfair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    I enjoyed staying in the Connaugt hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Singles in the Connaught bar have to wait longer than couples of groups to be seated.

    The staff was very friendfull and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    staff behaviours excellent - attentive but not overbearing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing was a disappointment, things could not have been better for us

    staff behaviours excellent - attentive but not overbearing. The quality of food excellent, the fixtures and fittings excellent, the ambiance excellent

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.6
    That we wanted to extend our stay with 2 days and had to pay...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    That we wanted to extend our stay with 2 days and had to pay double the price per night, so we decided to change the hotel, which was too bad as we really loved the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    10
    Extremely personal attention to every guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost impossible to have a bad experience here

    Extremely personal attention to every guest. To paraphrase a famous quotation about London, "When a man is tired of "The Connaught" then he is tired of life.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Good location, but room overlooked scaffolding/building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bemused by an additional 'discretionary service charge' of £26 added to bill (did not notice this until after I had checked out). So, I advise checking the bill carefully before checkout.

    Good location, but room overlooked scaffolding/building site. Attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    A very traditional grand hotel but with subtle modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very traditional grand hotel but with subtle modern touches. Lovely relaxing spa and pool area in the basement, which is much needed after a day of shopping on nearby Old Bond Street. Breakfast was excellent with large portions, expertly prepared. Cocktails in the Connaught bar is definitely a must followed by exceptional meal in the Helen Darroze restaurant. Would also highly recommend Espelette which is the more relaxed restaurant but food quality was outstanding and again, good portion sizes.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main French restaurant was closed

    The location. The hotels history. The bar. We felt like we had stepped back in time. No hustle or bustle of London just a back street gem.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.6
    Courtesy, helpfulness and professionalism from all the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Courtesy, helpfulness and professionalism from all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. The Helen Darroze restaurant must be in the top three in London.!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    lobster club!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    lobster club!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay presents for my parents you were wonderful to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful stay presents for my parents you were wonderful to them complementary glass of champagne and cakes for them excellent service xx

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Excellent service and attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Excellent service and attention

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    9.6
    staffs are great, everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room is quite small, comparing to the prize.

    staffs are great, everything is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    Loved it, it was truĺy amazing the ambience, the rooms had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved it, it was truĺy amazing the ambience, the rooms had up to date features like the "ToTo" toilets. Love it

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful Staff. Cosy luxury.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    10
    Just fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just fantastic

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Impeccable, old-world, Jeeves-like service with modern...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Impeccable, old-world, Jeeves-like service with modern sensibilities, truly exceptional in every regard. An unqualfied rave.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    10
    The best service and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best service and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Brilliant friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant friendly staff Really cosy well staffed traditional bar

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Exquisite restaurant and barv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exquisite restaurant and barv

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    8.3
    The grandly staff ever ready to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over priced for the type of hotel

    The grandly staff ever ready to help

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    8.8
    See above answers!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found the price of the room as well the prices in the restaurant a little bit too expensive!

    See above answers!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.6
    service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing it was perfect

    service massage room

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Size of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of the room. A bit small

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Bed and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    business center staff

    Bed and staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The Connaught is heaven on earth.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The Connaught is heaven on earth. And, no, I do not work there!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff where great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    £1560 for two nights is excessive

    The staff where great Great breakfast Fantastic bar

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    The comfort of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower inside the bathtub which causes a lot of water on the bathroom floor

    The comfort of the room Efficient service

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    Genuinely friendly, helpful, very professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Genuinely friendly, helpful, very professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.1
    Location and declaration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and declaration but size if room very poor

    Location and declaration

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    Almost I've been touched by this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Size of the lobby and the dining area

    Almost I've been touched by this hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    6.7
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No gym or leisure facilities available. The reason we booked this was to use these facilities.

    Food

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    9.2
    The Linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower in the bath. It did not work properly

    The Linen

There are also 72 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: