Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Coquetvale Hotel 3 stars

Station Road, Rothbury, NE65 7QH, United Kingdom

#10 of 15 hotels in Rothbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 586 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent food staff and manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The manager went out of his way for us,as we were arriving very late he had sandwiches made up for us both and my husband made the best of it and ordered a bottle of red wine while I had a very nice cup of tea. Have already booked my son and his family in for December

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay. Great location, nice room and a comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been better. I could not set the temperature it was either red hot or lukewarm and only a trickle. The shower head on the bath was no better as it didn't stay on and kept reverting to the bath taps

    The superior room was excellent and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    A good stay overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulties getting hot water in the shower, therefore unable to use. Hot water coming from cold water tap in sink. We informed staff before we left.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful. Dog was well catered for. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    A competent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room next to 'bolier room', whose noise was in the background throughout. Despite proximity to boiler, hot water took a very long time to arrive at the tap (ran cold for a long tiime)

    Convenient location. Good breakfast. Large room. Friendly staff. All in all a competent, if not outstanding, hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice character hotel on edge of Rothbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, but stairs are good exercise.

    A nice character hotel, especially the dining room. Staff were very friendly. Highly recommend the black pudding burger for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Super hotel, super food. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Northumberland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room did not have much power, but we managed. I am sure that this will be rectified.

    Spacious and well appointed room. Dining menu had lots of choice and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Very accommodating Relaxed staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in our room was a bit inconsistent with temperature but didn’t spoil the stay.

    Location is lovely, Staff had a very relaxed attitude to times and made you very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service here was second to none, with staff taking a "nothing is too much trouble" approach. A village power cut meant that dinner was cancelled, but the manager went to a lot of trouble to firstly find out where else was serving food in the locale, and then to provide cold food when it became clear that the power outage was going to take longer than expected. An excellent stay - highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay due to friendly and accommodating staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold to begin with and we had to ask for the heating to be ut on . The room was beautiful but the bed was uncomfortable due to a matress that had seen better days . However I must say that we very mich appreciated being able to check in early to get ready for a wedding !

    The staff were very friendly and helpful !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A pleasant, relaxed and happy place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Coquetvale Hotel was cosy and comfortable, the staff friendly and really helpful, the facilities were good and the food was excellent. It was perfectly located for our trip to the wonderful Cragside National Trust property and gardens, and for breaking our journey from Cambridgeshire to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location,good food and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all requirements met .

    Good Northumbrian breakfast,nice clean room ,very comfortable ,quiet and nice walkable distance into town,nice warm welcome .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed a relaxed stay. Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture could have been of better quality. Eg breakfast room

    Nice staff and very relaxed atmosphere. Decoration was in keeping with the style of property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    A good location for visiting Cragside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very convenient for the National Trust property at Cragside which we had come to visit as it was only about 5 minutes drive away. Staff were friendly and restaurant service was very speedy. Bedroom was very well equipped and decorated in a modern style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in need of slight decoration...but nothing major

    It was a lovely stay...no complaints....bed comfy...the staff we're fantastic....i would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Good quality matching furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent cooked breakfast but maybe offer a few ham slices / cheese slices /croissants etc on buffet table

    Good quality matching furniture Excellent food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed local town not too far from bamburgh roads were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 toilet didn’t flush, no toilet roll left by cleaner. Breakfast was sparse no pastries supplement for big breakfast, no phone in room no reception desk need to go to bar on first floor, rooms on second floor

    Good location room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, bit rough around the edges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was blocked, couldnt have shower for more than a couple of minutes before the tray overflowed. Slightly overpriced for quality of room

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice but a little pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several items shown on the breakfast menu were not available. A dirty fork given to the waiter was not replaced till a second asking! Many stairs to get to the bedrooms so beware if you're not fit.

    Lovely, comfortable, well equipped room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good - would heartedly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. We were on 3rd floor.

    Clean and room good size and ensuite very good but some paintwork in need of another coat of paint (in bathroom). Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms,and good breakfast. The lighting in the rooms could have been a brighter, as the bedside light was not good enough to read by. Otherwise a good hotel . We would use it again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The room was large and very well furnished with good quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was excellent. The buffet on first morning no fruit till after cooked arrived and no croissants. Second morning was better.

    The room was large and very well furnished with good quality fittings. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable stay in a beautiful old building with very friendly, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The decor was tasteful with muted colours. The bed was very comfortable and the restaurant food very tasty. Full English breakfast recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    1 night in Rothbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A lovely 1 night stay in a cosy hotel in the Northumberland countryside. Carefree walk along the river after a satisfying 2 course meal in a nice hotel restaurant with cheerful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast so just one bit of bacon one bit of sausage then the usually stuff . I won’t have likes a bit more meat but the quality was very good

    The staff where great so helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The friendly staff, the excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quirky room with sloping beams on the top floor - the only room available, will book a larger room next time!

    The friendly staff, the excellent food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Would recommend and we would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in on Friday evening, we were not informed that because of a wedding being held the next day, that breakfast would finish early 8-9, (in-room info said 8-10). We arrived to have breakfast at 8.45 to be told that the kitchen had closed. Apologies were given and we did receive a cooked breakfast, which was very nice. In future, in case staff forget to inform customers on arrival, that notes be pushed under the door, or notices predominantly posted, informing/reminding of the change.

    Excellent hotel, clean, plush and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming stay in a beautiful area of NE
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal and drinks. The choices available were rather expensive and not as good value as we'd hoped. Nevertheless our choices were very tasty.

    The management and staff were so very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The hotel was clean and the room very comfortable. We were accompanied by our dogs and again they were made welcome and we liked that we were able to eat in the bar area so they could be with us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely property and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor evening meal. Asked for well done steaks but came medium and tough. Eton mess was a meringue case with some cream and a few raspberries. Our complaint was recognised and meal and wine was not charged for

    Lovely property and great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    staff helpful and friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a poor room above the kitchen,very noisy and extractor fan ran on late into night and noise started early in morning no view and we were in very pretty area hotel not even vaguely full so we suspect having a dog downgraded our stay even though we paid extra to bring the dog we got a bad room

    staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely traditional building with large comfortable rooms and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor issue was the lack of air conditioning which usually wouldn't be an issue however recent hot weather coupled with high humidity meant it would have been useful to cool the room down.

    Terrific traditional building with large rooms and wide corridors. Excellent breakfast however I can't comment on other facilities as we didn't sample them during our short visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Fairly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have evening meals there because of limited type of menu - pizza and pasta not for us when on holiday. At breakfast there could be better monitoring of the buffet table e.g. orange juice, bread, butter not automatically checked and topped up and no croissant/pastries despite being on the menu.

    Very good large bed. Cooked breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    We were really looking forward to staying there and felt let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs, we were in the attic and there is no lift. Very noisy party in at dinner. So loud we could not hear the waitress asking us what we wanted. Ended up going up to our room for the evening. Asked to pay within three minutes of arriving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast tables not prepared for breakfast properly: no jams, sugar etc On table. Uncovered fruit juices ( dead fly in Cranberry juice). No prunes even though on menu. Bacon very dry in cooked breakfast. The two toasters in use should be replaced very slow. Also not enough bread put out. Otherwise breakfast was ok with regular coffee top ups. Bathroom was very dated with no shower.

    Helpful staff taking luggage to room and warm welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    o.k for a stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame on the guest who complained about the piano playing in the bar at 10.00 p.m Noisy extractor fan from the kitchen so had to keep the windows shut making the room a bit hot.

    Large comfortable rooms. Dining area spacious. Piano in the bar area which had comfy seating areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    It was lovely, i particularly loved the staff, and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that nobody seems concerned that the hotel is sinking towards the river, it might take a thousand years before total collapse, but we should be aware of the possibility.

    The fact that the hotel is sinking in to the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were only there for one night and had to get up early on Sunday morning, before breakfast officially opened. They couldn't have been more helpful and staff came in early to accommodate us. Evening meal was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The breakfast was beautiful, using al local foods. Rooms were clean, cosy and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    This is a fantastic hotel with great rooms, attentive staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The low price may cause some to overlook this hotel as it is somewhat confusing and does not reflect how good this hotel is.

    This is a fantastic hotel with great rooms, attentive staff and excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay and are infact planning another, staff were excellent, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom needed updating but the hotel is gradually being refurbished so not a problem and very clean

    Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, nice dining area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9 was shabby needed decorating. The bath surround was broken in places . Very noisy fan on and off all night. Other room on top floor was lovely.

    Friendly and made to feel welcome. The views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Looked promising, won't be going back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat didn't fit, falls shut. Shower tiny even for underweight me, bed cheap and uncomfortable. top floor 5 flights of stairs, dirty carpets and curtains, in attic so bumping head on rafters. Would be ok for £50 not £109. Staff disgruntled I didn't pay up front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Lovely fresh, welcoming and great value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Coquetvale was very good value for money. It is located at the edge of Rothbury and handy for Cragside. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. When we arrived we had a drink on the terrace in the sunshine, lovely. The property looks like it's been recently refurbished and was fresh and clean. The food was also very good and reasonably priced. I'm Coeliac and was catered for with no problem. We would definitely go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely old hotel in a good location, clean and pleasant room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot, despite the small fan provided. We had to keep the window open all the time and the noise from an extractor fan below our room meant that we didn't sleep well.

    Lovely old hotel in a good location, clean and pleasant room, comfortable beds, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent centre from which to explore Northumberland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit limited and it would help if parking bays could be lined-out in the parking area so that it can be used more efficiently than is the case at present

    Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one, breakfast was excellent, beds were comfortable and a lot of thought had obviously been given to the decoration of the dining room and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    We achieved everything we intended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to lug our luggage up two floors as no lift. Our room had a very thin studwork wall separating the room next door and we were disturbed by the occupents, not their fault. We could hear ‘every’ sound from their bathroom !! . Also the noise from the bar/dining area below.. The bathroom could do with somewhere to put our things also somewhere to hang the towels.

    The large room and bed was very comfortable. Also the history of the building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff couldn't have been more helpful, room was lovely and big, water was hot, food was great, terrace in the sun was beautiful what more could you want. If you like a nice soft bed that was what we had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A group of 15 of us stayed here as a wedding party and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A group of 15 of us stayed here as a wedding party and we could not fault the hospitality we received, for a big party with different needs nothing was a problem and all service was with a smile! We would 100% recommend to anybody who asked!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was a bit of a disappointment. Waited 1.5 hours for an average meal. Would definitely stay here again but probably eat somewhere else!

    Lovely place, beautiful location. Spotlessly clean, newly refurbished. Great breakfast. Most importantly, the most friendly, helpful staff imaginable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    Would never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room with low beams not protected resulting in hitting our heads. Evening meal was terrible the strawberry gateau was stale. We complained about the meal & was told she would tell the chef!!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the stair climb to the loft room. However the room was lovely and a kind man took our case up for us. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly, independent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I confess I didn't recognise the hotel from the photographs when I came to do this review (we only stayed one night whilst touring), it is a little more 'tired' than the photos may make you expect but don't be put off it's a great place to stay and presentable in all the places that matter

    This is a very friendly old hotel. We arrived late but the reception/bar was still open and we immediately felt welcome in this spacious property. The room was quiet and comfortable and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and parking available off street, which is always a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great stay and well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Draught Guinness in the bar but hey

    from start to finish our stay was spot on.. They even went the extra mile to help me enjoy my birthday whilst there. Would book again anytime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't a walk in shower or one attached to the wall, however there was one to use on the bath. I hasten to add that this is just my personal choice and not a criticism.

    Everything from the staff, furniture and fittings were gorgeous. Loved the meal we had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased with the the hotel over all. Would stop there again. On another floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we were at top of building 60 steps . Could be difficult for some. Bathroom needs bigger shelf and heating.

    Bed lovely and comfortable. Really pleased with room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable few days, with excellent weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of water wasted in the shower waiting for the hot water to come through. An electric shower would be more efficient both in terms of saving money and water. The bed, although comfortable, creaked a lot.

    The location of the hotel was ideal for visiting Cragside and the Northumberland coast. Food at breakfast and dinner was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    We loved Northumberland but we were disappointed by some aspects of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt the property let itself down in a number of ways. It does not have kerb appeal - garden areas are untidy. There is no reception desk - reception is upstairs at the bar, There is no lift. While the cooked breakfast was good - the continental breakfast was not. Several things on the continental breakfast menu were not available - not a good way to begin the day. The hotel seemed to be being run on a shoestring. The staff were all very pleasant but we felt that they needed more .training.

    The hotel is in a convenient location for visiting many of the attractions of Northumberland. The bedroom was large and comfortable with good views. The food in the restaurant was good - obviously a good chef!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    If I happen to be travelling through here again, I will go out of my way to stay with these guys
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single issue was that the room was so freshly renovated, it smelt very strongly of paint still - but we just opened the window overnight and it was better.

    This hotel was absolutely spectacular - truly went above and beyond. The gentleman that was managing the evening of Wednesday 10th May, and the following morning, provided outstanding customer service. Our room was spacious, beds comfy and all renovated but still retaining the character of an old hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building plumbing - never as reliable as new but not a huge issue.

    Staff were great. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was big and comfy. Room was quiet. Rooms were even nicer than the online photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable three nights away in beautiful Northumberland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to take the stairs to the second floor. Had to ask for the heating to be put on - but it was done straight away.

    Large , bright room with comfy bed. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice quiet relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed at the Coquetdale about 4 years ago and it has been renovated since a our last visit. It is done out very nicely and is ideal for a quiet relaxing break with a good breakfast in the mornings, It is just a short stroll into Rothbury main street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely and peaceful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was freezing as radiator wasn't turned on before I got there. Also the heating was turned off through the night so I woke up into freezing bedroom in the morning. Same in bathroom, so cold there. Took ages to fill in the bathtub due to super weak water pressure, once filled the water was almost cold due to the long waiting, I couldn't really relax. Thin walls, I could hear folks at the other room talking and snoring later in the night.

    Lovely and peaceful location. Nice staff - especially the young boy who served me at the bar area. Nice clean room, very spacious, both bedroom and bathroom looked great. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value hotel with generous food portions set in a beautiful valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance hall and stairs carpet would benefit from a deep clean and paintwork on stairs needed to be freshened up.

    The friendliness of the staff. Top marks for Levi! We had a really large comfortable room and the food was good. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    enjoyed the walk around after supper, room was just right after our busy day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were meeting family early nearby and breakfast was supposed to start at 8. We were there but the staff were not. Breakfast was alright though and we were not too late to meet the family

    Comfortable room. bathroom and room were clean. Visited Cragside during the day so it was interesting to find out Armstrong built this hotel too when it was built for the railway,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and the most picturesque town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms off to the side get a view of a housing estate. But that can’t be helped really and the customer service definitely made up for it.

    Breakfast was lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful. When we arrived the previous guests had pulled down the curtains in our room. The owners went out of their way -16 miles- to find a new curtain pole and install it so there was curtains in the room for us by year time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but not what you expect from the website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and in need of updating and repair. The bed was hard and we were kept awake by noisy pipes and the heating on the hottest day of the year. Didn’t rate the cooked breakfast and not much room for parking. Be prepared to walk several flights of stairs especially if your on the top floor there is no lift in the property.

    The staff were welcoming and pleasant and the evening meal was enjoyable. The location was ideal and all the locals were friendly. Lovely terrace to enjoy the views and a very grand building that’s had a fair bit of modernising in some areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel and staff and Rothbury is amazing such beautiful buildings .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very old and quirky which we love but noise can be a problem there is nothing the owners can do it’s down to inconsiderate guests slamming doors but this is a pet hate of mine . We would love to visit again . Thank you so much.

    We loved our attic room with the birds nesting in the eaves . We had a comfy bed two comfy chairs a large bathroom with toiletries and lots of drinks and biccies . The staff were friendly and helpful my hubby enjoyed chatting with the bar man each evening . We had a lovely four days .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A first class hotle with comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift and we were in the Alnwick room which was on the top floor

    This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at, the rooms were large and comfortable and the price was very reasonable. We have paid much more at other hotels that are no where as good as this establishment. The staff were friendly and the location excellent to explore the local area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    10/10 for the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful - they really went out of their way to ensure our stay was excellent. Really good breakfast included too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Really great hotel, with excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grab rails on the wall in the over-bath shower, rather than low down on the bath

    Warm welcome, help with luggage. Conversational staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely relaxing break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Use a odor free paint as the smell was extremely strong, normally the smell of paint does not bother me at all but this was quite over powering. Young girl serving breakfast would benefit from a training course on serving tables, she seemed very shy and lacked the ability to converse with us. We pointed out a couple of errors at breakfast which I have to say were promptly rectified, however no apology or table side service was offered. Upon clearing the table she didn't even ask if we had all finished or had enjoyed she simply approached the table and removed the plates. Nothing major but something we all noticed she lacked.

    Room had been recently refurbished to a high standard which was really nice. Hotel male staff member who checked us in was very friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    The food was very good and the staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. A towel rail in the bathroom would be handy but, apart from that, our stay was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    A lovely friendly place to stay. Central for visiting Northumberland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, there was no wall mounted shower, although I have to admit I didn't make a Special Request for one. There was a hand held shower. The bath was uncomfortable, as it had once been a spa bath.

    The friendliness of the staff Good food Lovely situation Comfortable room and nice environment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Classy contempory hotel housed in a historic beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great hotel in an ideal location, short walk into village lovely aspect and quiet through the night, superb breakfast and staff looking forward to staying again thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    A relaxing stay and the food was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and a beautiful old building just a short walk into town. We would stay there if we visit Rothbury again. Very clean and excellent value too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Probably will stay there again but won’t go for the superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know I was bad weather but the room was very cold we had to get a electric heater and that didn’t really make a difference.

    The location and how clean, modern the hotel was.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: