Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cornish Arms 3 stars

Pendoggett, Port Isaac, PL30 3HH, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Port Isaac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    The location was close to Port Isaac and reasonably priced...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was close to Port Isaac and reasonably priced for this area. The car parking was easy and plentiful. We enjoyed a lovely meal in their pub and staff were kind and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely restaurant and host was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the side of the road, tractors passing until gone 12 then early work traffic. Both me and my husband were exhausted the next day.

    Lovely restaurant and host was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Great place for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard and could feel the springs. Due to the location, be prepared for noisy road at night.

    Good food, great atmosphere, friendly staff, fabulous and clean room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 3 miles from Pt Isaac, I paid 25 pound for a taxi from Rock ferry to drop luggage and drop me to Pt Isaac, but there is a bus stop right in front of Pub!

    Very comfortable bed, lots of extras, dinner and breakfast good, quaint pub experience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely people, lovely place, FABULOUS Sticky Toffee Pudding!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's not really much to say. The only downfall of this place was the bed was quite hard. It was still ok for a one night stay.

    Loved this place. Quaint little pub. Nice clean rooms. Great Breakfast. Pub was awesome for the night time meal. Do yourself a favour and have the Sticky Toffee Pudding - OH EMM GEE!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find but innkeeper was responsive to our panicked email (our phone and GPS died before we found it). Worth the search.

    Very good dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    We were very comfortable & would definately recommend The Cornish Arms & would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism was that the water didn't run hot so my shower was lukewarm but OK.

    I liked the quaintness of this old coaching Inn. It had character. It was convenient to Port Isaac & other places of interest such as Tintagel Castle. We were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    A very welcoming inn, full of character, with a staff to match. A definite choice in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn’t work, but it was a minor problem for a 1 night stay.

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The landlord was chatty, knowledgeable and helpful, giving us extra information to help us with car parking in nearby Port Isaac. The restaurant staff were really friendly, even though they were very busy, plus the food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Altogether a very pleasurable experience which I would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be the size of the tv screen, which could have been larger.

    The whole food experience was very good both quality and quantity. The full English breakfast was individually prepared and excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    I highly recommend this lovely old inn. Everything was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit more passing traffic (trucks and tractors) than I had expected

    Everything was lovely, clean and comfortable. I was expecting such an old building to be in need of some repair but the rooms were great. The little extra touches such as toiletries bags and nice biscuits made a difference. The bar has a huge collection of gin and there was live trad music on the Friday night. The beer garden was great to hang out in with really nice food. no shortage of parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in very nice pub with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with en-suite shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only had one evening meal; both our choices were disappointing. Other people seemed satisfied.

    As above - the attitude of the staff. Brilliant breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant pub grub , had wonderful stay at the Cornish arms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Brilliant pub grub , had wonderful stay at the Cornish arms, lovely host Geoff & his excellent team, only disappointment was I didn't try the the gins !!, :-D, definitely next time,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    An ideal spot to explore this part of the Cornish Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An ideal spot to explore this part of the Cornish Coast Close to Port Isaac but without the hassle and bustle Nice beer garden and the locals make you very welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Stay here and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with en-suite shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adjacent road is busy and noisy

    Everything was great, friendly bar and beer garden, great food and atmosphere. location great for Port Isaac. I would recomend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful character hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful character hotel. Our room ( for 3 ) was great and very comfortable with everything that one could wish for provided. Dinner and breakfast were very good. A great start to our Cornwall trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Geoff and Karen were brilliant, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Very down to earth and helpful. It was wonderful to stay in a "local" pub and feel part of the community just minutes after arriving. Offers to help us get to our event were fantastic and went above an beyond.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely comfy room with robes and toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much walking area, but Tintagel and Port Isaac are close.

    Lovely comfy room with robes and toiletries. Friendly and helpful staff, they were wonderful. Good breakfast. Liked the pub as well, great selection of beers and drinks. Lovely stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation close to Port Issac
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delay in cancelling credit card authorisation, but all good now.

    Big bedroom, the host was very helpful with Port Isaac parking information and directions. The restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and landlord.The room had everything we could have wished for,including robes
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy the first night,but we didn't notice the traffic on subsequent nights.

    Delicious gluten free dessert!chocolate rum and raisin with rum and creme fraiche sauce mmm!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay very much and the bar staff were welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a choice of a continental breakfast i.e. Croissants and the choice of hot chocolate instead of tea or coffee as a hot drink - I did ask but was told there is only tea or coffee. A guest came in after us and asked for hot chocolate as well so just had fruit juice.

    The restaurant staff were excellent and there was a good choice on the menu and good choice of drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Unexpected Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not actually IN Port Isaac, where we wanted to be. Had to take the bus to town. 4 miles. Was on a busy narrow lane that would have been dangerous to walk.

    Quaint, yet comfortable. Thoughtful proprietors, provided useful information, fresh milk in the room, and comfortable robes. We had one of seven rooms above the pub, which served delicious fish and chips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Lovely atmosphere, accomodation and staff. Would highly recommond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Check in and out very easy. Room was very clean and comfortable. Toiletries great. Easy parking off road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    very enjoyable during the St Endellion Easter Festival. great location for the festival venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfasts were good full English, with cereal and yogurt but fruit would have been a nice addition.

    Geoff and Karen made us extremely welcome. Lovely Cornish Pub with open fires. great choice of beers and good bar service. good fish and chips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Above expectations, would stay again if back in england
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The family room was plenty of room, the extras, bathrobe, slippers, bath packs. Hot chocalate and biscuits for us or kids. They have a great staff, night or morning and the breakfasf was just what you needed to start another activte day. Thanks for a good night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would not change a thing it was excellent

    We enjoyed everything about this place. The Landlord and his wife were friendly as were the rest of the staff. Would like to say a special thanks to Vicky who is a star barmaid. Good food and good choices for breakfast and other meals. Locals were also fun and friendly. Will be visiting again when we have a chance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    A warm and cosy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with en-suite shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly welcome. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Good value meals and selection of beers and ciders. Will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Cornish Arms was excellent value for money, and I would certainly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold even tho a new double-glazed window had only just been fitted.

    Bed was very comfy. View was of fields and sheep. Meals were excellent value. Hosts were most welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great midweek stay, and looking forward to a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Geoff and Karen are fully aware that rooms could do with a little improvement, and indeed are working their way through a programme of refurbishment. That's not to say that there was too much wrong with the rooms at present, ours was spotlessly clean and had all that was needed for a very pleasant stay - with some added extras that made the room that much more comfortable

    Breakfast was top notch, as was the friendliness of Geoff, Karen and the team. Also great was the banter and atmosphere in the bar, the locals made you feel very welcome and if you wanted, included you in the conversation and banter going on!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Cornish Arms Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is is nothing we can think of that we didn't like except there could be some entertainment.

    The pub is old and has history, the rooms are a good size with everything you need, nice comfortable beds, a little dated in areas, a few things needs updating but I'm sure the new owners know all this and are already on it. Give it a little time and all will be good. The bar is nice and cosy, the staff are great and the owners can't do enough for you, very helpful even offered to pick us up if we got stuck. Food was very nice, could do with a few more choices on the menu but other than that no problems, breakfast was great. Room service was great, tea, coffee, chocolate, and biscuits replenished every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Ideal base to explore North Cornwall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Made to feel very welcome and room was comfortable although a little tired. Good food and selections of beers and spirits in bar. Very good breakfast.A good base to explore the north Cornwall coast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Ideal location just 5mins from Port Isaac itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really welcoming host..Great food,nothing too much trouble. Lovely comfortable room,,fresh milk every night brought up to room. Nice little touches slippers,robes,toiletries ,,you don't get this in some hotels let alone a pub in a small village. Well frequented by the locals so you know your onto a good thing. Will be going back....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    A really enjoyable couple of days break for the whole family thank you to all at The Cornish Arms
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room carpet could have benefited with a shampoo.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent Full Cornish breakfast and the evening meal was very good you must try the Nachos starter but make sure you have left plenty of room for your main course. Our dog was made very welcome and was presented with a Bonio each evening by the landlord. The bar stocks 32 different gins and has locally brewed beers on draught my favourite was Sharps Sea Fury. The pub is very well located for all the local places of interest for example Port Issac, Rock, Tintagel, Padstow, Boscastle to name but a few.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking process was awful, thanks to booking.com. We booked a twin bedded room. When we got there they said we had booked a single room. After much messing about (after a 51/2 hour drive) and £40 extra we were given a twin bedded room. I will not use booking.com again, and obviously not recommend it to my friends.

    The breakfast was ok. The pub was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a kingsize room but had a kingsize bed in a double room, on big enough to get a bedside table either side if the bed.We paid for 2 nights and stayed 1 night.Left disappointed.

    Good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Rustic coaching inn pleasant food supplied with robes snd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unseasoonal weather rooms chilly no heating on however robes kept us cosy

    Rustic coaching inn pleasant food supplied with robes snd slippers cosy bar and lounge large bedroom and ensuite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Extremely accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy from the through road but not that bad.

    Big room and comfortable beds. Very accommodating hosts, managed our allergies and needs very professionally and went above and beyond. Felt like friends were hosting us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, 3 comfortable single beds, fresh milk for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, 3 comfortable single beds, fresh milk for tea, good toiletries and other extras, good shower, right next to bus stop for bus that connects to the south west coastal path, good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 nightmare noise all night they said we were over the cellar and could not switch the chillers of no sleep all night we left next day still charged us full amount disgrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Delightful, close to Port Isaac which we wanted to see, and many small coastal towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the roads are very narrow and you have to be very when driving.

    the atmosphere was very quaint and old world Pub was delightful, with local people dropping by. We met some lovely people at this wonderful establishment. Live music and helpful staff. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants a taste of the real people of Cornwall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Lucky we only stayed for 1 night and we could put up with the above. Would I stay there again ? No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had cobwebs with a spider, Bathroom smelled of Sewage, lumpy Beds, Stained carpets, No power point in bathroom....

    Staff were easy to communicate with, check in prompt and Courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Cornish Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs carrying suitcases. Small thing...Smell of the perfumed sticks in our room. A bit over powering.

    Character of the hotel and friendly helpful staff. Surrounding Countryside. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit uncomfortable. And we had a power socket with a loose contact requiring some fiddling to make it work.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Good breakfast and dinner. Ample parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    A Gin-tastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast had a slightly cooking oil taste and the sausages weren't the best.

    Very comfy bed and lots of personal extras. Good shower. Great range of bottled beers and gin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent experience, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Nice countryside location, good sized room and bathroom. Offered a table should I have wished to dine there that evening which was very considerate. Plenty of parking, overall a good experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly pub and great location near Port Isaac.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor looks a little tired, but the new owner, who has only recently taken over the Cornish Arms, recognises this and is planning an upgrade.

    All the staff were very friendly and efficient. No problem parking, as there is a large car park outside. Accessible location avoiding the congestion in Port Isaac, which is a couple miles away. Large car park and a bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complaint, rather a suggestion. Some fruit at breakfast would be great.

    The breakfast was wonderful, both in quantity and quality. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, fantastic location all the beaches nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing was a bit odd (very noisy) and as the accommodation is situated on a busy country road it was surprisingly noisy in our room when the window was open, which it had to be on our first night as it was so hot, but nothing that would stop me thoroughly recommending this property - I would certainly re-book.

    Very friendly and welcoming. Comfortable accommodation and great that it was possible to take my dog with is. Extensive gin menu! Easily accessible and good parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended country inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like - in fact, we're thinking of returning to use it as a base for our next leg of coastal path walking (it's on the Wadebridge to Polzeath bus route and the bus stops right outside the door). If I were being picky, I could have done with more choices on the breakfast menu (e.g.porridge). Unusually, I did have the cooked breakfast and, luckily, it wasn't too big.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and was very quiet, despite fronting the main street and the fact that there was a celebration going on in the bar until midnight - we heard nothing! The food was what one would expect in a small pub, well-cooked and presented, with the usual pub choices. Part of the bar area doubled up as a very comfortable guest lounge, complete with books and board games. We particularly enjoyed sipping one of the gins from the extensive menu of Cornish gins! There is a pretty garden, although the weather wasn't good enough for us to use it. Reading other reviews, we would like to say that Wi-Fi was available in our room. Also, although there was a limited choice of breakfast items, the English breakfast was well cooked and the coffee was hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent base to take in Cornwall at your leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little spruce up in places but it's a new Owner and due to the busy season haven't managed to do the bits they wanted. The road was noisy as there is no double glazing but that's due to the age of the property.

    The beds and bedding were lovely - lovely to sink into. The breakfast was excellent. The staff extremely helpful - couldn't do enough for you. The food at the pub was excellent too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Overall a clean and comfortable stay which was ideal for our trip to local beaches .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the side of the property and window on a busy road so was a bit noisy and as accommodation is over a pub there was live music which went onto 11pm but we were expecting that so not a Problem but mayvnot be suitable with young children trying to sleep !

    Very comfy beds and clean rooms with nice selection of tea/coffee and biscuits . The staff were very friendly and helpful will come back again for our next trip to Polzeath. A good location for visiting local beaches and attractions . Lovely cooked breakfast in morning and evening meal of wanted .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Experiencing true historical England
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms may get noisy if lots of traffic as close to road - but being an old coach inn - you should expect this.

    Manager/owner? - was lovely and very helpful. Nice large room. Very comfortable. Great old building - old coach inn apparently.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Not bad, room for improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner looked stressed, like he was trying too hard. Not sure about the multi sockets for plugs in my room. Minor point, taps in the bath needed attention. Only needed the washer on both taps securing. Had a rib eye steak. Owner seemed to think it odd that I asked for a steak knife and told me there were some outside of the restaurant area for us to pick up ourselves. All very minor. Steak wasn't great. Overall, nothing should put people off staying here. If you look up the location it will tell you it's in Port Isaac. It's 3 miles away.

    Room was large. TV basic. Recently been taken over. Owner tries hard to please. Pleasant to talk to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Port Isaac
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room for myself and my 2 children (Triple room) it came up as £105,but I was charged £125 at the Cornish Arms!Very dissatisfied as I wasn't expecting to pay more.

    Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is situated directly on the road and with the window needing to be open for fresh air, any car passing made a tremendous noise

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding holiday but paying twice isn't so nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some confusion about payment. the money came out of my account at the end of March but I had to pay again when I left. I notice it hasn't come out of my account again and I hope it is sorted. This is Booking.Com's fault and not that of the hotel. Every booking through Booking.Com on this trip had problems. I suggest dealing directly with the landlord.

    The outstanding staff made me feel very welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    The room was filthy, and not sorted when complained. Understaffed and poor management!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of dust and had a mouldy bathroom, the cobwebs we're everywhere and the windows were filthy, head board was not fitted and made from metal so made a loud bang every time I moved while I was try to sleep. When I confronted the manager in a police manner her became hostile and shouted everyone els is happy and he told me he is going to get his wife because he will loose his temper!

    The room space was very good, and had a lovely view of the pretty garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Cornish Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the main road which got quite busy from 7am.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Conveniently located for the North Cornwall coast. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Sam, Andrew and Ollie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People letting the fire door in the accommodation bang repeatedly when they checked out at 5am on the Sunday!

    The room, bar and beer garden were all lovely, but the thing that shines out is the hospitality. There was nothing too great or small for Jeff and his team.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Would deffo recommend..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked table for 7.30 pm...ate at 8.30..finished pudd at 10pm. They were busy so understandable but as a diabetic it took too long for me.

    Everything was excellent...quality of accomodation..food quality..staff very friendly..would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Full service place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff ware very friendly and helpful all the time and every situation. Place was perfect country pub and show us best part of English countryside and hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Think i wrote enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything perfect.

    Warm welcome, everyone very polite and friendly with a smile. Accommodation, evening meal, breakfast all excellent. Could not have found a better location for Royal Cornwall Show Wadebridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place, lovely time, nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky here but Would have liked a bit more of a variety for breakfast, not just variations of the fry up.

    Made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great atmosphere especially when the locals are in for the open mic night. At first was disappointed that it was not as close to Port Isaacs as we thought, certainly not walking distance for us, but actually it was the perfect location to visit other towns and be able to come back to a nice peaceful environment. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Most Delightful Place In Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NOTHING!! Total satisfaction!

    The staff were eager to please us and at times went beyond what I expected.The outside and inside atmosphere was just what I went there for. Couldn't believe how generous, yes outright huge the breakfast was each morning, which was included. The choices were many and the portions generous. The room was spacious and very comfortable and accommodating as the staff. When we left we left feeling we had made real friends and would absolutely book there again- in fact next year. Wonderful stay and wonderful people. We will be sharing our experience with others. We highly reccomend Cornish Arms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Friendly and welcoming :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it. :)

    Everyone was very friendly and welcoming from the moment we walked through the door :) the 'little extra's' that you get in the room were fab and the food was amazing. The room was perfect for our family of 4 and the kids loved the space and separate beds rather than the usual bunks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Best stay this trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts and staff were wonderful! Food excellent! This is an old building (1600's) but the hosts give you the amenities and attention you expect in a modern hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Not good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    For £105 the room was way over priced . It was a Friday night and the bar down stairs was a free mic night , the noise was horrendous and did not stop till 11.30 P.M .We also found all doors up stairs had to be slammed to close , again the noise was terrible . On asking for a steak knife for a rump steak i was asked why , only to be told i would not need one . Wont be going back .

    The area outside was nice , presentable and clean .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Best accommodation I have found in Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was perfect!

    The customer service was second to none, made to feel totally at home and all of the staff could not do enough to ensure our stay was fantastic. Honestly don't think I would stay anywhere else in Port Isaac again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff who could not do enough for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need a car to get anywhere

    Very friendly staff who could not do enough for you, the bar area was typical of a traditional country inn, with good ale, beers etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.8
    Good location, and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very cold, and the fuse on the shower kept tripping. The property was in the process of being sold - so the timing of our visit rather unfortunate.

    Good location, and parking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    5.8
    Lovely country Inn and overall good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced.The rooms needs a big freshen up for the price. Wanted to stay in Port Isaac. This is 3 miles away from the main township so we were disappointed in the location.

    Welcoming hostess, very down to earth and friendly. Historic real pub.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    A fun and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner, Felicity was very friendly and we really enjoyed how she and the locals interacted with us and other guests. The shower had nice hot water and strong water pressure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.1
    OK for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their website was extremely well done because the inside of the pub just didn't live up to the website. I'm glad we had a value deal as otherwise I think the rooms are overpriced for what you get.

    The evening meal was very good. Freshly cooked. The bar staff were friendly. Room was basic but comfortable. We had a good value deal as we stayed midweek in December.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Owner attentive in all aspects and good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with En-Suite Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner attentive in all aspects and good choice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.7
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Welcoming and cozy. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful hosts, highly recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were very spacious, comfortable, robes, slippers, large towels, all toiletries and full English breakfast were provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75