Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Courtlands Hotel 3 stars

19/27 The Drive, Brighton & Hove, BN3 3JE, United Kingdom

#51 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds, clean, basic but suited our needs for 1nights accommodation was good to have a big room big enough for four. Very pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall decoration in all areas was very tired and very dated, some of the soft furnishings are from the 80s. Even in the 1980s this hotel wouldn’t have been tastefully decorated. The shower was just a trickle and hot water came through for only a few seconds at a time. We didn’t have the breakfast as it’s too expensive at £10 per person. I feel car parking should be free for guests. A kettle was provided however water was only available from the bathroom sink and didn’t taste like drinking water.

    Cleanliness was good, staff friendly and helpful, the lift was a must, car parking was just behind the building, bus stop into town just 5 minutes walk although it’s also a plesent walk into town either along the seafront or past all the shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned and dated. The bathroom was poorly maintained, the toilet seat badly fitted and the shower frankly pathetic.

    Location good. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a hole in the wall, was grubby, need a major overhaul as paint and wallpaper all coming off the walls. Furniture was ripped and looked awful. Also had a noise in our room that woke us up at 6:30am on a Sunday morning!! Our baby had a long day the day before and was sound asleep until this extremely loud noise started. We called down to reception who said they’d come up and investigate but nobody came. After 45 mins it finally stopped but our baby and us were all up and awake by this point! So disappointing as I paid £165 for one nights stay plus £10 for parking and we didn’t even get an apology!

    The room was very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work next door not a great view! Old building.

    Located a short walk from Hove railway station and a stroll to the Hove seafront. Friendly welcoming reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cooked breakfast was a little disappointing. I don't think that the bacon was of the best quality.

    Reception staff were very welcoming and chatty. Always very pleasant. It was good to have a bath available - many places only have showers, but the bath was appreciated (after completing a marathon!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny and the most over-priced room I've ever stayed in (£180 for one night), I'd booked the room in February for the Brighton marathon weekend as all other rooms in the area had been taken this weekend. The owners made the most of the shortage of rooms by put it up as non-refundable. The light in the room was dim making it impossible to read and when asked, the reception was unable to put in a stronger lamp bulb or to provide a desk lamp, The only view from the room was of a ledge which had some nesting pigeons, which kept coo-ing throughout the time.

    The staff appeared to try to fix the problem with the dim light in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I appreciate that it was Brighton marathon weekend but it was very basic for the price paid. Room was situated next to the lift and it was generally very noisy and i could hear everything going on outside the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was unfriendly & unapologetic about a booking error not made by us. All the hotels in & around Brighton charged more the weekend we stayed because of the marathon but what we paid, for this standard of hotel, made this stay extremely poor value. The room was generally ok but rather shabbily furnished, including a horridly stained settee that was like something out of Ramsey's Hotel Hell! The clingy shower curtain over the bath was rather unpleasant too. Our breakfast crockery was not much better & the Full English Breakfast rather greasy.

    The bedding & bathroom were clean & the sausage, bacon & egg were good quality if a little over cooked & the breakfast room waitress very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a really strong smelt of paint, and the window looked out on to a construction site, which was covered with pigeons and their faeces. I had to get my car washed as the car space alloted was under a tree, as a result my car was covered in bird poo!!! The price was excessive for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was miserable. No hot water and hand held shower head. Couldn’t stand under the water as it pointed at the wall

    Clean cheap room, plenty of space for 4

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outset a fairly decent hotel for the money you spend. Typical “old English” style with squeaky floors, cold drafty rooms, a tiny stream of hot water and smelly carpet floors. That would all be fine with me if not for waking up the next morning being covered all over in 30+ bedbug bites. Unfortunately I had a very early start/check out and the bites only started appearing and itching in the course of the morning preventing me of confronting the staff/management straight away. Have made my complaint over the phone but frustratingly was not able to get the manager on the phone even after several tries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is grim: toilet roll holder missing , shower unable to deliver water at any temp other than freezing or scalding .Curtain hanging off hook, absolutely filthy windows - could not actually see out because of the filth and grime . Breakfast was awful : sausages reheated and dessicated hard ( total joke), cold dry reheated food ,curled up cheap sliced bread three days old; worse than a 1970’s borstal

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room windows drafty & damp!

    Beds comfy although the windows drafty & had black all around from damp room was as my husband commented was like being in in a tin!! Having stayed a couple of times here before having had nicer rooms we took our Son along just completely disappointed may not go back because of this stay sadly! Guess we had the awful discounted rooms! Someone had to guess it was us!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was hopeless, parking was an additional £10, the toilet seat was broken. We went up in one lift, came down in another and were in a different hotel. The Albany and Courtland are neighbours, but it was not clear which one we were staying in!

    The room size exceeded expectation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy room, thin walls, TV broken (was fixed), badly fitting windows, curtains and one blanket dirty. Bathroom very poorly decorated. Pillows - awful. I was glad I had bought my own. Difficult to believe the room was of a 3* standard.

    Location, parking, fruit salad at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price i paid the room was small. Shower didnt have any power. Breakfast was very poor,nearly cold and looked as though it had been reheated

    The location was good so near the seafront

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room could have been better. General update needed throughout the hotel. Silly things like the bath tap was broken and kept falling off. Bedside lamps broken. Cooked breakfast was quality but not very hot unfortunately.

    Staff were lovely, room was warm, linen and towels great. Massive bath !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the decor a little dated and generally the interior looking tired.

    A great location for Hove and easy to get to central Brighton. Staff are good and communicate with a smile. The sea front is very close and there are some great restaurants near by. Easy to get a taxi or walk or bus to central Brighton.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel & room were dated. The shower mixer not easy to operate, bath basin had a loose tap. Some staff were not so friendly & tried the cooked breakfast once. It was not that hot, hash browns were underdone, sausages were very tough. I would not stay here again.

    A good location with a car park at £10 per day. Some staff were friendly. Mostly a clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we stayed in looked nothing like any of the rooms in the photos and it could be due to our booking being made last minute, but in terms of value for money, it was simply atrociously priced for what it's worth. Walls were really thin too, so we could hear other guests coming back from a night out and making a ruckus. Interior- wise, it was very outdated and while we appreciate that certain hotels do go for that certain 'boutique' charm, this wasn't achieved at all.

    Nothing that can be said really, apart from how we were able to make a last minute booking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we went down six steps to our room, it was very dark. Obviously the light was not functioning. Also there were two light fittings not working. On handing in the key we mentioned it to the receptionist. Room overlooked side with view of building work in progress!!!.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating, very old fashioned and not what I expected for the price. The bathrooms especially was not great. Beds were very hard and not particularly comfortable.

    Great to have parking on site. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Bed terrible. Big spider in the room. Holes in the wall. Basic toiletries. Room located beside a storage room so was woken up from 6 am repeatedly with banging. Wasn't told when I checked in check out time was 11am. I called that morning to see if I could get a late check out as it was a Monday and was told that it was £10 per hour extra- so about 20% of the cost of the room for the night. There was pigeon outside the window which further added to the noise. When I complained about the lack of sleep I had had they said they would only charge me £10 extra! Terrible customer service. Even when I came to check out manager no where to be seen and it wasn't mentioned. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It should be classified as a private room in a hostel not a hotel.

    It was a good price of €66 They printed my boarding card They had a kettle in room It was located near main road in hove where I wanted to be. That's 40 min walk from Brighton

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting. Windows dirty. Bathroom needed a scrub - black in the corners.

    Staff were helpful when things were pointed out. Great location. Car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little tired, but didn't affect our stay.

    The Staff were friendly, helpful and happy. The room was clean. The food was excellent. Our room was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Buyer beware. It was extremely expensive. Cancellations are non-refundable. The Hotel is very basic.

    To be honest there was nothing I liked about the hotel, or my stay there. I would advise people to steer well clear.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    £180 per night for a small dimly-lit single room, excluding breakfast, felt a rip-off really.

    The location is some way out of Brighton but the bus service is fabulous! A broken pull-cord for the bathroom light was immediately attended to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adding a parking charge on arrival was a bit cheeky and the shower had two settings...Volcanic hot or Glacial cold.

    Location was good, price was good and staff where helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor room facility, the room size was more like a closet and basic amenities, very poor TV and Internet service. This place plays on its location in Brighton and overall its not value for money and there are better hotels nearby even if you have to spend a bit more, I would not use this place again or recommend it to others.

    Parking is close by but £10.00 per night which is probably ok given the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television not working properly. No rails in the shower area for safety and shower head needed to be de fugged!. Catch on the bathroom window was broken so unable to secure the room totally, particularly at night!. Reported but nothing done!.

    The breakfast was very good - plenty of choice. Bed linen excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't go there but to say if room cleaned it was not done rite for the money but to be fair once had told the lady on site was moved

    To be honest I think it has gone down over four years the staff who was by her self was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of the room and bathroom means that from the bed, you are staring at a small 'corridor' between the bedroom and bathroom. No door to close this off. TV alarm was set for 06.30 which I didn't realise until it woke me up! Also, there was an annoying audio-commentary going on (for the partially sighted) which it too me ages to cancel in the TV settings. I suggest that housekeeping check these things between guests.

    Nice big bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The housekeeping was very slapdash. Room most days not made up until around 3pm,. One day the room was not made up at all. The bedding was not changed frequently until I complained. The bar and restaurant were crammed together and there was somebody using it as their office. So if you wanted a quiet drink to relax or read, you had to put up with somebody constantly on the phone and having contacts coming in.

    The area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was not really clearly marked where it is (I had to go inside and ask - not good when it is raining). Also the entrance to the car park is very narrow (I had few inches spare on each side of the car) - I don't recommend it if you don't know your car well ;) Room was a little bit dark. Decor is quite dated. But OK for short stay.

    Location was superb! Close to the beach and local restaurants. We didn't have to look far to find a great place to eat. Great bonus that hotel had its car park. There is an elevator what is good for people wit mobility issues.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and in need of refurbishment. Windows had old metal frames and did not close properly.

    The staff were helpful and the food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was cheap to begin with,of the less than one hundred pounds variety, that should have been replaced years ago. I wasn't staying at the hotel free of charge, and expected to be far more comfortable. overall the room was poor , ancient décor , carpets. will be back at brighton pride next year but wont be staying at THE COURTLANDS HOTEL, 3 star luxery, I very dubious of that

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It cost us £10 to park our car at the hotel. The wardrobe was broken. No fridge. Every time we upgrade at hotels we get extra items this was just a basic room

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower was pathetic no power, wife would not wash her hair as there was not enough power to rinse the shampoo out. English breakfast was dry. Paid for 2 nights Bed, Breakfast and Parking but came home after 1st night. We have used this Hotel a few times between 3 and 6 years ago but will not be going back

    The staff were friendly but the décor has not changed in the last 6 years

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons outside cooing at 5 in the morning and having to pay additional £10 per day for parking in hotel car park.

    The receptionists were cheerful and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy to see we had a bath in our en suite but the paint (enamel I guess) was worn and chipped which put us off having a bath. The corridors are looking a bit worn too, a paint job is needed to brighten the place up.

    The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff very helpful. They allowed us to leave our car in the car park for an extra hour at no extra charge which was most helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there for a dental operation and the staff were very kind and helpful. They allowed me to book in early with my suitcase and park my car in their private carpark. Disability access to my bedroom was very good with a lift and no stairs. Everything looked very clean and hygienic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed £200 for one night only because it was a late booking. Rather than being more expensive they should drop the prices. Disgusting view from our room and the dirtiest place I have ever stayed in. The hotel is very under managed, considering they charge so much /room there is hardly any maintenance being done. And oh £200 didn't include parking which was an additional £10, or breakfast which would be £10/person, that I did not even want to attempt to try looking at the cleanliness of the place and how cheaply they maintain it. Very disappointed. Although we had a lovely time in Brighton, but will never stay at this hotel again and neither do I recommend anyone to do so. Receptionist lady was lovely though!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the girls on the front desk wasn't very helpful. Once my husband had parked the car at the back of the hotel she left us standing there not asking if we wanted to check in. When I asked her if we could she said we where too early which was fair enough but she didn't offer us a place to sit and wait with our bags which I found quite rude. The hotel is old and in need of renovation, the windows where cracked and rusty and the bath was pretty gross.

    The hotel is in a great part of Hove, a minutes walk to the bus stop that takes you staring into Brighton. It has parking at the rear for £10 which it perfect because normally my husband and I spend a lot on parking when we visit Brighton.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs modernising as the overall décor is tired and dated but the staff are good and the hotel is clean and good value

    Good quality hotel for the price and ideally situated for my purposes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paper started peeling in one room light, lights didn't work in 2 of our rooms, one of the rooms never had a holder for the shower, heating didn't work in 2 of our rooms. Will never stay here again

    How close to the sea front you was

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Carpets throughout hotel filthy and sagging; dangerous to walk on; floors also sloped dreadfully Bed and tv not in line with each other so had to move bed to see tv Very small towels trying to charge £10 per day for parking!

    Ladies on reception were lovely; bet they were pleased to see someone as the place was deserted; not surprised as the place needs a good update throughout

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very dim; cooked breakfast awful. Parking charge a surprise

    The 2 girls, who were the only visible staff, were helpful and hard working at their multitasks

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe shower could be updated a little eg be able to adjust water temperature better and not get worried about getting bathroom floor wet water splashing out the shower curtain.but not an absolute must...

    Room nicely heated made sleep very comfy during the night, wifi access free which was bril.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, there was blood splattered on the wall of one of the bedrooms. Heating, not working in two of the three rooms booked. Rain Water dripping from ceiling of one of the bedrooms all night. An email was sent back in November with photos attached, but there has been no response.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very expensive. poor quality. food terrible. untidy. heating didn't work. lift was falling apart. no facilities. no staff. receptionist was also waitress and attended bar and rooms. no atmosphere. carpets rocked up and dangerous. charged us for parking!!!

    absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has seen better days and the décor and furnishings were all in quite poor condition. Our bedroom was very warm, but the ensuite bathroom was extremely cold and draughty on what was a very windy and cold night. The small wall fan heater in the bathroom didn't work. but I suspect would not have made much of a difference if it had. The room price was expensive for what we got.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and made us welcome.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to very friendly receptionist who went out her way to make you feel welcome . Unfortunately our heating wasn't working in our room . After reporting it we was moved within 10 mins to a different room . Will be visiting again for our stay in Brighton

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in need of cleaning/repair/renovation & Dirty. Hairs on sink. Wallpaper coming away from walls. carpets frayed. Booking incorrect as twin room was requested. Only one key available for 2 people in a room meaning where they went I had to go as well! Expensive parking @ hotel

    Location perfect for my trip. Reception and common facilities good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little scruffy and dated in places, however this had little to no impact on our stay. Also I found that I couldn't connect to the wifi, however my two friends didn't have an issue with this.

    Room was huge and very comfy, he lights didn't work in our first room so they instantly moved us into another room with a private entrance, the staff were fabulous and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brighton has come a long way since it was a sleepy seaside resort, with old fasioned run down hotels, sadly this one was missed in Brightons regeneration, and resembles one of those 1970's hotels that are only fit for DSS claimants. The facilities were basic, the food was inedible, and the walk to the rooms from reception involved walking 100 metres, up one flight of stairs, and down two, and passing through four sets of doors. I was asked to pay as soon as I arrived, for the reason, I suspect, that I would not pay after discovering how bad this hotel was. I have used Booking.com many times, and never had any complaint, but this time I am angry, and I would like to have a refund.

    I cannot find one positive, I have never complained about a hotel before, but this was truly awful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really expensive for what I paid. Room didn't include breakfast. Dated and tired looking decor. No air con. View from window overlooking a modern, high-rise building (this is in a town that is literally meters away from the sea) also the jacuzzi bath didn't work. I won't be staying there again.

    Very quiet, peaceful. Good luck location for travel links.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired furnishings,e.g. chipped work surfaces, fringing on lamp shade hanging off, marks on carpet, broken jets in old jacuzzi bath. One light in room didn't work, reported it on 1st morning - it wasn't fixed over next 4 days. Noisy room next door on 1 night & on complaint nothing other than verbal apology offered. Hairdryer in drawer overheated. Shower beside large window with just sheer panel over - stick on frosting on window would be better. Shower head threw spray that wide you only end up under 2 or 3 sprays of water. No air con on hottest recorded Sept week didn't help.

    Bed linen & towels very clean. Location. If you can get past very tired, faded style it was evident that the cleaners did a good job.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the decor is very dated. The carpet running through the hotel is old and ill fitting and can cause a trip hazard. The shower was not very powerful and dribbled water making it difficult to properly rinse. Living in a Victorian property I appreciated the sash Windows, however the ones in our room were rotten and rattled all night even though we tried to secure them with some tissue. It was a very muggy evening and we had to keep the windows closed as the room appears to be directly over a very loud boiler/ fan? And unfortunately there was no availability of a fan from reception. Unfortunately the lift was not working, though we were only on the second floor. We only paid £75 for the room on a last minute deal which was reasonable however I would have complained had I paid full price for this accommodation.

    The receptionist was very welcoming and offered assistance when we were looking for restaurant recommendations. The location to the seafront worked well for us; as we had parked in the Lanes parking and walked to and from the hotel which took us around 30 minutes on a leisurely stroll. The bed was comfortable with fresh cotton sheets. The reception is staffed 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very run down with building site right outside my window. Lighting in room made it very difficult to read. Bath surface was cracked. Room was far too warm with no way of cooling it down even with window open. Very expensive for the standards.

    Location was good and staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, asked for travel cot for 1 yr old baby and their wasn't one so eventually they put a mattress on the floor for her, although they told us they has upgraded room to executive double, was nice however wasn't what we was told we was getting.

    Clean hotel but we was over charged, made us pay £10 parking for a couple of hours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Black damp mould on shower tile grouting. Terrible condition of window frames, flaking paint showing badly rotting wood - beyond repair other than replacement windows

    Proximity to SCCC County Ground, but this is merely personal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom fairly ordinary, shower difficult to adjust Breakfast tables on Sunday a bit chaotic but food was fine Bit expensive

    Location perfect for County Cricket ground Staff friendly and helpful Would stay again for same purpose

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have enjoyed our stay more if there had been some water coming out of the shower.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Wi-Fi was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for 2 nights and the first night was dreadful - we had to move rooms for the second night which was then perfectly ok. The receptionist was very helpful and apologetic, the management have ignored the complaint form I was asked to complete and failed to make contact.

    The fact that parking was available at £10 per night at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was a perfect location. Nice walk into Brighton, roughly a mile ish. Very quiet location & parking was great too. A spotlessly clean & well presented hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very dated & knocked about Shower was awful There was dust behind radiator in bathroom

    Bed was very comfy Plenty of storage space It's got a bar

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A horrible room, not even remotely like the photo's on booking.com Room was tired and dated. Bathroom mouldy, the shower didn't work. The room had no charm whatsoever. Manager wasn't available but the receptionist put me in another room which was slightly better. At least it was clean and had a nicer feel to it. Absolutely no value for money.

    Friendly staff Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work very well. The walls and skirting boards were dirty and dusty. Floor tiles in bathroom cracked. Scaffolding outside window.

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated Bathroom basic Shower tiny For £195 I expect a lot better accomodation an extra 50 you can stay at the metropole, 150 and you can have the grand

    Friendly staff ok location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water out of the taps smelled of sewage. The room was clean but mattress was tired. The room looked out on dozens of pigeons in the abandoned building site that is part of this hotel. The buildings paint looked tired

    The location was good and the staff were really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, and the wall paper was coming off the walls, also one wall had a whole in it. Expect better for £185.

    The location and car parking is excellent, and fairly priced. Very clean and friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No proper headboards, bedside cabinets, lamps or plugs on bed side of the room. Windows rattled a lot. Sofa in the bedroom badly & noticeably stained.

    Loved the space in our twin room, the large bay windows and the bathroom was nice. Over-all it was a good stay. Hotel just needs a little T.L.C. and a brighter lite reception and bar area. Staff were very nice and welcoming. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast was served on such a small plate....it was terrible and the price £8.95p, I would have got more if I went down the local café and paid £3. Must do better on the cooked breakfast...1 small sausage and two bits of shrivelled up bacon do not set you up for the day. The young lady on reception did not explain very well about the car parking area and I nearly got a £100 ticket.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room very quiet...just how we like it. Nice position of the hotel for the walk to Hove Cricket ground.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs refurbishment Needs cleaning

    That I will never have to go there again

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: