Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crab & Boar 4 stars

Wantage Road, Newbury, RG20 8UE, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Newbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Been a few times and felt this time the cleanliness for the hotel has slipped a little, we love this place, so hope the are planning a deep clean soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot it was unbearable! It smelt of mould, the bed dipped in the middle and there was mould on the sealing, dirty stained toilet seat, mould around the shower and unhelpful manager!! Would not recommend

    Pretty view and smart restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very polite, stuck up probably best explains it, especially the head waiter in the restaurant! Very disappointing in this day and age. Very expensive menu in the restaurant and if you want a reasonably priced menu you have to eat in the bar. When I asked if they had a cheaper menu the head waiter looked down his nose at me. The cheapest starter was soup at nearly £10! For someone travelling on business with a limited budget the options were very limited. Difficult to get a good nights sleep as the main road next to the hotel is about 1 meter from you room windows. Quite noisy. I waited an hour for a cooked breakfast and when I queried the delay at 30 mins I was told they only had one chef so nothing they could do. Be useful if they advised you of the wait before you order as you could go the continental route.

    Nice looking hotel with lovely rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that they were not proactive in returning my iPhone charger despite the fact that I reported I had left it behind on the day I checked out, and said I would pay the expenses to do so. I was told that they would speak to house keeping the following morning. I subsequently emailed twice, left a telephone message, and then finally spoke to yet another person when, after 5 days, there was no response to either first call, emails or phone message. I have given up on any expectation that this will now be returned to me. I should have given a poor rating for service on the back of this - but felt that the efforts to make the room right and the excellent service in the bar needed to be credited. Slow fill on bath and not as hot as I would usually have my bath, but a small issue.

    When I arrived I was taken to a ground floor room looking directly out onto the B road. It looked a nice enough room but even though they had put secondary glazing in the traffic coming past was noisy only a metre or so from the frontage. I was asked if I was happy and I said that I wasn't and would rather have at least a first floor room - especially as I was on my own. The room I was given in the end was excellent, overlooking the car park at first floor level. I had dinner in the bar and was very impressed with both service and the quality of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and needed a fan because the room was beside a busy road opening a window was not an option. A hefty service charge was added to the bill for food hindsight we shouldn’t of paid it.

    The environment was nice with a comfy bed. Food was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right on the road . Not the busiest of roads but enough traffic to disturb from quite early on a weekday morning . I suspect at weekends there would be less traffic . There were a number of windows/skylights which did not have proper screening so too much light came in as soon as it was dawn .

    Very welcoming and helpful staff . Wonderful food . Dinner was really excellent. Best dessert ever ( see pic). Great service. Nice,well equipped room , especially nice bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected with an old country pub/hotel.

    The location was good and staff were very efficient and friendly. We were a happy challenging bunch of people and they served us well:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food took a long while to be served due to lack of staff. we had a room with a hot tub which stopped working on two occasions. The staff dealt with this efficiently and also reduced the cost of our stay because of the inconvenience.

    The food and the staff were very good and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The friendliness of the staff. The food from the bar menu and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was there was too much chlorine in the hot tub!

    The Crab and Boar is an amazing hotel and Bar. The staff couldn’t do enough to help you! It was cosy, clean and beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having read all about the amazing hot tubs in each bathroom, not only did our room not have one, but it had a bathtub with a shower which was unusable as you couldn’t stand up in the bath to take a shower.

    Friendly staff and decent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The service, the food, the flexibility, the room- unbelievable!! Very very impressed and will be recommending and returning with friends and family. I've never been so catered for as someone with celiac disease! Thank you so much!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've been coming here for the last 8 years (initially The Crab at Chievely and later The Crab and Boar) for good food, great location and of course the hot tubs. The food is wonderful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff welcoming. Thank you for making yet another birthday special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to contact them to upgrade room prior to arrival via email/ phone calls and left messages but no one ever got back to me. Room was absolutely boiling, turned the heating off on several occasions but just kept coming back on so had the window wide open- but from our room we could hear all the traffic!

    Breakfast was lovely despite reading bad reviews on trip adviser. Super atmosphere, lovely food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in shower, but no sooner had I said this a plumber was called.

    Room was warm but we opened the window and turned radiator down. Lovely room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that you could put disposable slippers in the rooms with hot tubs just for the ease of getting out to it.

    The breakfast was beautiful with a good selection ranging from pastries through to a full English. Also you could not beat the hot tub!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room next door were still using hot tub until 3.30am talking and music which disturbed our night. Not really hotels fault but did say they would but notices in rooms for guests to be more considerate

    The hot tub was fab lovely and hot and clean ,dinner was delicious ,we came away feeling very relaxed after weekend away . we liked the general feeling of the informal atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small details took the edge off the beautiful room - cleanliness (cobwebs in the bathroom ceiling windows, slightly grubby around the base of the shower, waitress observed to wipe crumbs directly into the floor etc. Also I prefer to drink decent drinks out of good quality glassware. For the location and cost we stay at places that do it better. The food was lovely but starters overpriced.

    The proprietors were wonderful - warm and accommodating welcome and entirely friendly and personable throughout

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was after a quiet new years eve together as we never spend any quality time together and the crab and boar was thr perfect place. We had the option to have a 7 course dinner but as it was short notice we opted out although the menu looked amazing! The views from our room in the morning was amazing despite the weather. The room itself was comfortable and warm and had beautiful furniture! Hopefully see you again next year!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing we didn't like.

    The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The food was amazing, the bar was great and the rooms were beautifully decorated and presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a truly wonderful stay at the Crab & Boar. The rooms are cozy and comfortable and the service was excellent. The restaurant is renowned for good reason - the menu is fabulous ensuring one of the best dining experiences we’ve ever had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was horrendous - huge pot holes that could damage cars.

    The covered private hot tub was a great addition - especially enjoyed in the snow ! Food and wines very good and the staff excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a reservation for lunch which had to be changed for dinner because they had some trouble with their grill. Booked for dinner and only 5 things were left on the menu. No roast dinners left. Restaurant was really quiet with no atmosphere and charges around £35 for a main meal. I am very happy to spend money on food and would have been happy to spend this if there were a few more options and the restaurant had a certain buzz or atmosphere about it. Instead it seemed like a gastro pub charging extortionate prices. We then moved to the bar and the bar man informed us we could order food from the bar menu. Wish we had been told this before we sat for half an hour looking online at where else we could eat. When the food came it was delicious and our night started to get better!

    The hot tub

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of staff when you needed them, the underwhelming breakfast. The polyester duvet. The baggies that were bought out after our steaks had been finished. Just a bit disappointing really.

    The hot tub

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant dinner menu was a bit too elaborate, although adventurous and some really tasty dishes. Also there were no oysters and we went specifically there for that reason.

    The private outdoor hot tub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to noisy road, overpriced, Beer and Food prices EXTORTIONATE

    Lovely room, nice Hot Tub, However it is dramatically overpriced for comparable accommodation around the country.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish in the walkway between rooms, empty barrels, boxes etc... Green fire exit light in the bedroom, lit up the room all night. No blind on the sky lights giving a clear view into the bedroom from the window of the adjacent room above. Bathroom lock , flush and blind were broken.

    Comfortable bed, food nice, decor was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Constant noise in the bathroom at night when not using, I am a heavy sleeper but woke up a few times. No slippers for the hot tub, I forgot to bring my flip flops, had to walk out with socks and dry feet before going back in. Jets were not as strong but lovely and hot :).

    They catered to the fact I could not have gluten which was great. The room was designed so that it was extra comfy and relaxing. Extra towels and house gowns were nice. The mirror was definitely a perk, never seen one turn on and off like that. The shower was lovely but could have been a little stronger or has the option to make a bit stronger. Lovely people running the hotel, loved the setting. Very warm and just overall a very nice stay, food was good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor is very cold

    Outstanding small hotel and high-end restaurant near Newbury. Ample parking space outside of the hotel. Very good breakfast - perfectly fried and scrambled eggs. Nice dinner (albeit quite pricy).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a very poor state with zero maintenance. I filled out a review on their website but no response. I’m not very happy.

    Food was very good and staff polite and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel for my husbands 30th birthday, room lilley with a hot tub! Absolutely perfect great room very clean and obviously wonderful hot tub!! Thank you very much!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tub could have had lights and the lights in the bedroom were poor. Also the path from tub to back door could be covered and hooks placed by the tub for towels etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative comment is that the ceiling above the bath was quite low which made having a shower quite tricky. A few pot holes in the car park as well.

    Lovely venue in a beautiful spot. The food was absolutely delicious. Great four poster bed too. Would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival are room had been given away even thou we received confirmation , the room we was given was bulk standard and not clean slow service really bad experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff weren't as welcoming and was the only thing letting this place down

    Very dog friendly, the hot tub room was fabulous The bar staff was extremely welcoming and friendly, and the standard of food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion over dinner, we wanted to order off the bar menu but just got seated in restaurant and then weren’t allowed to eat the bar menu in there, waiter had to ask if it was ok

    Hot tub in room - say no more! Impressed with dog friendly facilities. Beautiful decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting on staff were miserable. Had to wait ages for breakfast to be delivered despite us being the only ones there

    Room was fresh comfortable and clean. Food was tasty but expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big car park, but lots of pot holes that won't be great for your suspension. Smell of fresh paint was a bit overwhelming at times but I am sure this is a temporary thing while the upgrades are being done.

    Room was newly redecorated and a decent size. Hot tub was great. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room was absolutely terrible The food is over priced and some of the staff have no idea what they’re doing!!!

    The place was just lovely Great location Good brekkie Nice pub area Lovely outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    layout of the food with the cold buffet on one side of the room and the toast and beverages on the other, in a small busy room, was not great and unfortunately tea and coffee was horrible and served in the smallest cups!.

    the style of the hotel was lovely, the bedroom was spacious and bed comfy. The food was good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roebuck room really noisy constant traffic noise and from room above. Asked to change room, but no other rooms available.Table seating in dining room, offered a window seat and then got hemmed in by a party of 8 women when there was plenty of other tables in the restaurant. Wish we had remained in the bar area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dark and so noisy. Badly insulated so we got all the noise from the corridor but the worst thing was the water pipes. Anytime someone in another room used their bathroom it sounded like a light aircraft was about to land in our room.

    The pub was lovely and the food excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely hard and I had a very bad night's sleep. Might as well have slept on the floor. There was also a very high pitched alarm that went off at 6.30 a.m. and went on for about 10 minutes. Woke us up - and after a poor night's sleep I was not happy!!!!

    The food in the restaurant was absolutely excellent. We had a fabulous evening meal and breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a little aloof... not rude or inattentive, just somehow disinterested. Didn't spoil the stay, just noted.

    Quiet location, excellent breakfast and hot tub. Lovely room for our wedding night, clean and comfortable and the hot tub is superb! Hugely relaxing after a very long and involved day! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very cramped small room right next to a road that kept us awake We could also hear loud noises from corridor and next door which was unnerving Service at restaurant , there was no service! - ask others around us aswell Can't return. Our bill included other groups drinks. Sat down at 8 for dinner - think starters came close to 9.

    cosy style of this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked nothing like the photos on the website and was sparsely furnished, shabby and very basic especially given the price. It was also directly over-looking a busy road so was very noisy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was described as superior double: it was cramped for space and only had one chair in the room.The loo fitting was cheap and the flush mechanism was intermittently falty as it was badly fitted It was very overpriced Even the car park was full of potholes

    The food was delicious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were first put in was not ready for my Small children and myself and put in a room next to the main rd very busy and noisy window was not safe. Then reluctantly moved with attitude to a not so great dirty room. Could not stand in the shower and a dog barked all night and continued after complaining then they tried to charge me more money for z bed after booking for two kids. Breakfast was not all that great. Boys had pancakes that were rock hard and mine was cold. Handy place maybe nice for a drink. But wasn't happy with our stay in sorry to say.

    The nice lady that put my zed bed up for my son. Nice products in bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had mould up the curtains and on the bottom of the divan bed and also in the ceiling in the bathroom the TV was thick with dust there was cobwebs everywhere and grouting needs doing there was no bin in the room only in bathroom..we also were cold through the night and didn't no how to control room temp. And the staff were really miserable and could barley smile.

    The hot tub was amazing that's all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional service charge for drinks purchased and drunk at the bar. Gastropub food at high prices was at best average.

    Hot Tub was clean, room comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for a meal in the evening with them, we were there for 3 hours and had a 3 course dinner. The only reason we were there for 3 hours was due to waiting for the food to arrive. We were forgotten about as a little table in the corner and tables that arrived 5/10 minutes later were given menus and taken orders from before us.

    The stay went brilliantly, we had a lovely room with later check out than most other places. Incredibly comfortable and spacious for the price. Bathroom was lovely too. We had breakfast in the morning which ranged from continental through to cooked food available on order, meaning it was a lot more fresh than if buffeted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with a disappointing small double in it. Self service Breakfast area was a bit cramped.

    Lovely big room. Staff friendly and helpful. Food & wine selection - very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisy throughout the night with doors closing but manageable. No glasses at breakfast for the juice. No offer of toast or any condiments with breakfast. Breakfast was very good but toast and ketchup would have nailed it!

    Staff were nice. Food was exceptional. Room was pleasant and the shower was really good. Tea and coffee provided in a good amount too. TV was modern and room was clean. Pet friendly - I didn't have my dog but worth remembering for future leisure weekends. Bar area was nice and clean. Obviously locals use the restaurant and I see that as a good sign. Very happy with the overall experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right by the road and on a hot day was very noisy. After a while it wasn't as noticeable in the jacuzzi but for sleeping was a bit disappointing. I know the place is right by the road so someone's going to get it, shame it was us. All in all a lovely break for us celebrating our anniversary.

    Gluten free choices at breakfast, and great variety. Jacuzzi was wonderful. Good staff and generally enjoyable experience. Came away feeling very relaxed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not great . Looked very tired apart from the bathroom this looked new however no drapes or blinds but frosted Windows. Lighting in the bedroom was terrible. Did not sleep well due to the mattress we felt and heard every Spring In the mattress. For £175.00 bed and breakfast we felt it was overpriced.

    Staff were very pleasant .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband nearly fell over when he was charged £53 for a bottle of prosecco & two sandwiches!

    Hot tubs were brilliant, patio area & rooms were lovely. Very nice place to retreat for a few days,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was dreadful, low water pressure giving just a trickle out of the shower. Suggest they invest in power showers.

    Beautiful location in the middle of the countryside, great for travelling with a dog, walks right on the door step. The ambience was very relaxing, public areas and the room nicely decorated and bed very comfortable. Staff very helpful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very upset as I booked this for my husband's birthday just because my husband love's seafood, and the menu was beautiful when we got there there was no seafood on, even though it said it on the website in the menus. When we asked he said he's very sorry but seafood just does not go down very well here, and they have Only just taken over. That's not the point we went to stay there because it was a seafood restaurant and they were advertising it on the website. We were very disappointed with the food and the feedback from the new people. And still to this day it is still saying the same food on the menu on the website and that's disgusting. The manager did say that we could come back on him if we leave a number in the morning. And when we asked for him it was his day off, and the lady that was behind the bar was not interested.

    It was amazing romantic place to go with the hot tub room and old looking furniture beautiful setting. Very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark. The bed was really soft and gave me a bad back. The room got really hot and there were no windows or a fan, we had to sleep with the back door open which was comfortable. The shower was tiny and I kept catching my arm on a sharp soap holder!

    The jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived back, having gone out for dinner in the evening, there had been a power cut, which lasted about 2 hours. Although we couldn't use the hot tub fully (we had no bubbles!), it didn't deter us to make full use of the room and tub, which was beautifully hot. We had an amazing time despite this and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The bed was very comfortable. The hot tub was Devine The food was exquisite The staff were friendly & helpful they even found us a fan for the room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't normally write reviews but feel like I have to after staying at the Crab and Boar. We were in the area for a wedding and this was the most expensive accommodation option and it looked great so I thought it was worth splashing out. it wasn't! First the staff were totally unhelpful and uninterested. Shrugging when you asked for anything, not being helpful, and being impossible to find. The manager (owner?) was nice enough, but everyone else looked like they didn't want to be there. They had a bar menu but only served it at meal times which isn't really a bar menu in my book. Anyway... the worst bit easily was out room. It was up in the rafters and unbelievably hot. We opened the windows but both face out onto a country road so every 15 mins or so a car would speed by and wake us up. Even with the windows open the room was unbearably hot. Bed also extremely uncomfortable. Didn't sleep at all. I spoke to the manager the next day, and he told me thanks for the feedback, so feel like I should let others in on this as well. They definitely should not let that room out in the summer. And it DEFINITELY should not cost £175

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise impacted enjoyment. No proper shower in room which was also tired. Worst of all ... tea and coffee tray contained a small packet of the cheapest custard creams money can buy. For £119 I expect better. Management should focus on the (often small) things they can change to improve customer experience to offset the things they can't like the road.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice restaurant with good food/wine. Staff friendly especially younger waiting staff. Lovely walks from the back of the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould in the shower and the weak flow of water from the shower -finish in bathroom not as good as bedroom

    The restaurant was good with friendly staff -the food very good and friendly atmosphere-very helpful staff-the bedroom was quite inviting with everything you needed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on a busy B road but secondary glazing blocked out most of the traffic noise. only provided two pillows on a double bed, four would have been appreciated. no local information folder in the room.

    Lovely looking hotel and pretty garden. nicely decorated room, big ensuite with large bath and a separate shower cubicle, double aspect windows with superb views over the countryside. comfy bed and pillows. Great food and wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The food in the restaurant was out of this world! We had the mackerel for start, fish and chips and smoked halibut for main and the cheeseboard for dessert. One of the best meals we've had!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a LOT of work, tile grout stuck in our feet when walking around, towel radiator not working and stained with tape around. The sink taps were filthy and shower head was so limescaled it barely worked. My wife had a bath and the smell that came out of the taps was awful. Not up to standard given the money that you pay.

    The room was gorgeous, food was ok bar the bacon in the Full English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The room was a reasonable size with a large en-suite. The breakfast was excellent, with good choices. The evening meal we had, although expensive was of a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, bathroom, pub, breakfast, invoice.

    The outside is very nice but inside the hotel is a bit old fashion. We had a room next to the road and asked for another one, because of the noise. Its was possible and received another, more expensive room (because of the jacuzzi). The room and bathroom looked old fashion. The food was average. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was rather poor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a hot tub room (this was our 2nd visit). Room's are ok, its starting to look a little tired and in need of redecoration, but this doesn't distract from a nice relaxing evening spent in the hot tub. Food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was next to the road but there was very little traffic overnight so it wasn't a problem for us.

    The bed was really comfy and I loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. Very generous teas and coffee in the room and nice toiletries. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road is a little loud at times

    Absolutely loved our stay at this gorgeous hotel. The view from our room was amazing, the hot tub was perfect and not overlooked at all. The room was clean and well decorated in keeping with the restaurant and bar. The lovely lady on the bar (who I assume was the manager) went above and beyond to make our stay special including proving room service. We have left feeling relaxed and spoilt! We will highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MUSIC all the time in the restaurant dinner and breakfast T bone steak £29 and the thinnest I have ever had and over cooked bathroom door would not close Road noise- avoid the front rooms onto the road despite double glazing .... my 5th and last visit ;won't go back as indifferent

    Good bed linen and decent breakfast Crab and boar starter was delicious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glazed French doors out to the courtyard were filthy. Bathroom cramped, the toilet roll holder was behind your head! Our friends had trouble with their hot tub and couldn't use it all the time we were there.

    Food excellent, but not cheap. Loved the hot tub and the little private courtyard. Liked the way they brought fresh milk to your door each morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff courteous but not particularly friendly, if you were a local you seemed to be treated rather better, the food was very average and very overpriced as were the drinks, over £12 for a beer and glass of wine is excessive, nothing too bad but certainly nothing to write home about, couldn't help but feel a bit disappointed.

    Nice ambiance, nice location

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crab & Boar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: