Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crags Hotel 3 stars

101 Main St, Callander, FK17 8BQ, United Kingdom

#23 of 24 hotels in Callander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Superb Short Break in very comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable stay in a superb location … The Hotel was excellent with the staff all very friendly and welcoming … Also, the breakfast is very good indeed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old hotel in good location in the middle of Callander.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old hotel in good location in the middle of Callander. Rooms have been renovated and are lovely (shower is amazing!) Family run hotel and staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a problem , but nothing to worry about .

    This is a fabulous little hotel over a pub in the middle of Callander high street , parking is on street, but ok. The rooms have been upgraded to a very high standard. The bathroom was beautiful, walk in shower, really nice. Lovely room. Food excellent , there was an offer on 2 steaks , bottle of wine , all the trimmings £40 great value. Breakfast really nice, well served . Overall excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Well presented B&B, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, a large double was above the bar, if you’re a light sleeper and need an early night this may be a troublesome noise.

    Location right in the town, stroll to bars. Room beautiful, finishing touches(fresh flowers at breakfast) shower gels etc were really thoughtful. Breakfast freshly cooked and quality ingredients Great start to our tour of Scotland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great, cant say better than that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to be a bit picky the shower cubicle was slightly cramped otherwise everything was great...

    The last time The Craggs was a work in progress, but boy has the work progressed, yes it has... thoroughly enjoyed the experience as last time only this time the restaurant was fully functional supplying a good choice cooked to perfection along with a good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was excellent, breakfast was wonderful. Staff very friendly and interested in what you were saying. Parking good if room on ground floor at the rear of the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The Hidden Gem in Callander 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe room was immaculate, bed very comfortable and I loved the decor! The bar is very warm and welcoming, food was fantastic with great portion sizes with plenty to choose from. The staff made a fuss over my little niece Ariana & the fact it was my dads birthday. Highly recommend this hotel to couples, friends & family. I will definitely be back thank you to Lauren & Fiona for making our stay a memory one!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Helpful staff, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    The staff are incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It's a great location in the middle of Callander with extra parking very close by in case the hotel car park is full. The food choice for breakfast was very good and the pre-order system is a great idea to reduce time waiting for food in the morning. Very good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Callander’s wee gem !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was lovely, very comfortable and well finished. Staff were lovely, especially Fiona , she is star ! The food was delicious. Cannot praise our stay enough , will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great accommodation right in the middle of Callendar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newly renovated to a very high standard. Rooms were fabulous. Right on the High Street and plenty parking. Friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast was fabulous too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay and going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly hotel made you feel very welcome . Dinner was excellent so was room and the bar was very friendly . Have booked a second trip in August .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Right in the centre of Callander, ideal for our overnight stay. very nice would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom fittings could be more efficient

    Room was better than we expected very nice in fact, very quiet and comfortable, first class evening meal with attentive and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, amazing staff and so accommodating.
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here the night before my wedding as my venue was just along the street and occupied the night before. I needed a room big enough for 10 people to be in at once. Though I only need 1 bed, I struggled to find somewhere in Callander that would have the space and allow everybody in on the morning to get ready. Lauren was absolutely amazing. She emailed me extra pictures of the family room, showing me all of the different lighting and space available. The room was beautiful, spacious and the facilities were great. On the morning of my wedding the hotel organised for us to have a special table at breakfast, complete with a bottle of prosecco and a card. We also paid a small fee to check out late before heading the wedding at 12.30 which was a life saver. I appreciate everything they did for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel to spend our special week. xxxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to leave

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating it made our special holiday perfect. We were welcomed by everyone even the locals were so inviting. This is a hotel we will make sure we return to very soon.Thank you Lauren, Fiona and Snowy xxxx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation in the centre of Callander.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Excellent accommodation in the centre of Callander. We were attending a wedding at the Roman Camp and wanted a room to get ready for the day and to stay overnight. The Crags was everything we needed, immaculate, light & airy and only a short walk from the Roman Camp. Our hostess Lauren was so lovely and cooked us an amazing breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Over my staff was very good. Place was clean, bed was comfy and the food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like how the bathroom door in the room was made to look like a book case and also like how friendly the staff was and the fried breakfast was good. 😋

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Freshly renovated and in such great condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a little hot and couldn't work out how to turn the heating down. Just opened the window and we were fine!

    Freshly renovated and in such great condition. The manager was really friendly and enthusiastic, which was lovely and gave a good vibe to the place. The rooms are well decorated and make good use of the small space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Refreshing, fun and we will return.. you have been warned x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only teensy thing is we thought the prosseco was a wee bit over priced... we did have 3 bottles so obviously didn't put us off too much!

    Very welcoming friendly staff. Superb breakfast, fresh cooked, piping hot and not greasy,Quality ingredients. Comfy beds, good linen, bluetooth mirror in the bathroom a total treat..my fav thing, i love a gadget! Free Snacks at 5pm were VERY welcome as we didn't want to eat a meal then. Locals very friendly too. Even the staff look like they actually love working there. Definitely go back too, ground floor rooms billiant for those with mobility issues! Well done!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Had lovely time at this hotel, wee bar man was lovely. All other staff lovely and owner couldn do us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bar. Not enough comfy seating. Entrance at Hotel could lead right into lounge/ bar area instead if separating small bar to left and small reception room to right

    Room was lovely, breakfast amazing and we ate out for Dinner. Hotel had little bar area, but not enough seats to sit all of our party comfortably together. There is little reception side room (seems to be wasted space as not used as reception area) adjacent to Bar which could be opened up to make larger lounge bar area.Owner has refurbished Hotel and did state that she was going to try and make bar Biggar, if this was done it could be ****. Overall lovely Hotel and lovely staff. Will be returnung

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Wee gem in Callander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They was nothing I did not like about the porperty, all good

    Everything was there, experience was brilliant, clean, spotless, staff were brilliant, friendly,open, gave us useful information on area, food was spot on. We be coming back in future, with my dog as they are allowed for £10 extra ( small to medium size only)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant and way above expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from I could only stay one night, I would go out of my way to stay again!

    A hidden gem!! Ignore the rating from the previous owners, the new, young owners (from Jun ‘17) are advanced in a complete renovation of the hotel. A very warm, friendly welcome awaits. The elegant bedroom decor is beautifully executed and immaculately clean, and the rooms are spacious, very quiet and very comfortably warm (December stay). The breakfast was one of the best I’ve had anywhere, including 5* star hotels.... fresh, local produce perfectly cooked and lots of it. Highly recommended and in a great, central location in Callander.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Extra helpful staff, great with fullfilling diet requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra helpful staff, great with fullfilling diet requests. Very helpful with bike storage. great location for mountain biking locally. Characterful old building with nicely refurbished rooms. Great to have baths after tough outdoor activity days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful newly fitted bathroom had no shower curtain & sink had a small leak .

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable room, and everything we required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, and everything we required. Staff were very accommodating, and extremely helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again, even though the restaurant was closed due to on going alterations, for which we wish them the best of luck.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. i've never enjoyed staying at a hotel as much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leaving.....but we'll definetly return

    Absolutely everything about The Crags is excellent. The room was amazing, the staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. It was like visiting a 5 star hotel at your local pub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    I absolutely loved my stay at the Crags an will definitely return in the future for an overnight sta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't too keen on the cooked breakfast, the bacon was overcooked and tough and my fried egg wasn't cooked properly.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, accomodation was lovely. I would most certainly go back .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is a bit outdated and falling apart however I understand the hotel is being refurbished and it definitely didn’t put me off returning

    Lauren had brilliant customer service!! Will 100% return and have already recommended! Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, recently refurbished bedrooms and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed that restaurant was closed for meals. Breakfast wasn't great on 2nd morning, edible but nothing more than that. Fried and scrambled eggs were both burnt!

    Lovely place, recently refurbished bedrooms and restaurant. Owner very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Not very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suitable lounge bar/ residents lounge. Breakfast was terrible 1st morning milk was sour, 2nd morning bread was mouldy & had to wait for 45mins although it was pre ordered. No chef so no meals on offer!!

    Bedroom was adequate but small. Toilet fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    friendly and accommodating accommodation, full of character in a wonderful location.
    • Group
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like many hotels, the vegetarian option is to have less of what is on offer for the full breakfast. I think that this could be improved by simply keeping a packet of vegetarian sausages in the freezer. We will be back so they are bound to be eaten! Also a cask ale would be nice although I know that this is rare north of Glasgow.

    The Crags has new owners who are in the act of renovating but this did not affect our stay. Excellent location, a building that ouses character and friendly staff. It is also very much a local pub with a fine selection of whiskies. It is also just a couple of doors from King's Bookshop which is an absolute gem overflowing with old books many of which have been re-bound on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The bedroom had just been tastfully refurbished the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had just been tastfully refurbished the bed was vert comfy. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful will definately be going back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Crags hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Young couple just taken over this hotel in the last 10 weeks, looks fab what they have done so far. Clean and very well decorated. Lauren and Gary very welcoming and nothing at all was an issue. We will back and thanks again Kenny & Sharon room 3, 22-23/9/17

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Bonny Calander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    couldn't fault the staff, breakfast outstanding, new owners have made great progress in revamping the Crags so far, still a bit to do will visit again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    The rrom was very disapointing but the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very ancient. With many awful pictures on the wall. The bathroom was very ancient, the floor too. We didn't feel good in the room.

    Beds were good, the staff and the breakfast were OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Well worth the stay - value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A young couple have just taken ownership of the hotel. They hope to reestablish the restaurant. Hotel is old but comfortable and clean. The owners are committed to improving the facilities. The service was great, all you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    New owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dated But this is going to change

    The staff very friendly Great location Will be back io see how the new owners get on Good luck Gary & Lauren

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in Callander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had been advertised as serving dinner, but only breakfast was available during our visit. Room was a little bit dusty, but still comfortable.

    Proprietors were nice and welcoming. Our room was in the back of the hotel and was very quiet. Hotel is on Main Street which made it good for walking around town. Breakfast was good and hearty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dusty and a bit tired Too much furniture Bed linen clean, but pillows stained and really horrible, didnt notice until the morning or would have asked for new ones. No remote for tv. Did not use restaurant, no menus in information pack. Lots of noise from bar. Stained carpets

    Excellent breakfast Comfortable bed Generous shower/ensuite TV and kettle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just wasn't clean, linen was very old Carpets stained. Pillows extremely thin and pillowslip screwed up never seen an iron. Spares in wardrobe had no pillowslips on them. Towels day one we're thin and frayed. Dead flies on window sill when we arrived still there when we left 2 days later. No evening restaurant as advertised. Breakfast day one was a baked hard piece of black pudding and one slice of cardboard bacon with an egg and a quarter of a raw tomato, with waft of cigarette smoke coming seemingly from the kitchen. Could carry on like this but enough is enough. Crags just unloved and uncared for, wish we had never booked - it spoilt our holiday.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    Don't be taken in by photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crisp sheets and bedding would be an improvement . holes in bedspread. Kettle on floor not safe. Beakers brown inside. Thought OK for one night unfortunately we were over the bar with loud talking which got louder and louder added to by doors banging and arguing and shouting into early hours .couldn't wait to leave didn't stay for breakfast.

    Callander the Riverside and shops an excelent place . disappointed with the accomadation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on one day very poor. We both ordered poached eggs with potato scones. We received one under cooked egg each and two greasy scones. When another member of staff was in on the two other mornings breakfast was fine.

    Bar staff and locals very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, value and comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gripes :)

    Staff friendly, nice local bar on premises, extremely comfortable beds, and very good 'Scottish' breakfast. Ticked all the boxes and soon to be under new management we hear.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    4.6
    Not like the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was shabby, it needs a refurb. There didn't appear to be any heating in the room or bathroom, There was no bedside lamp on one side. Overhead lamp was for both sides. The room was dark when the shutters were shut, even with the lights on. Furnishings were cheap and shabby and falling apart. Tea and coffee making was poor. No socket for the kettle, except near the floor. The cups weren't clean. Accommodation very basic - not cosy and romantic four-poster bedroom we had anticipated. The breakfast room was cold, doors at both ends left open. Staff and customers were walking through it all the time. Towels were stacked on a table at one end. There was no vegetarian option. The coffee was weak and had bits floating in it.

    Location was central. Parking available. Shower was hot (electric).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    Hotel has a nice character to it, staff were friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four poster bed creaked terribly with slightest movement making it impossible to sleep. Really need to replace the bed.

    Hotel has a nice character to it, staff were friendly, breakfast was great and enjoyed a drink in the bar below.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic friendly pub and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old and obviously dated, but for us this wasn't a negative as we like old and quirky places. I imagine some people would not like it as it's not modern, but we loved it.

    The Crags Hotel was perfect for us as we were looking for a one night getaway in a nice old pub. Everyone at the Crags was very chatty and welcoming and we'd definitely stay there again. Thr breakfast was very good and just the right size to set us up for the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.3
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room, was unclean,old decor, too many pictures on walls full of dust, curtains hanging off the windows, and cold, not worth 120pounds

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, lovely location, a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very eclectic in its decor. This didn't bother us, but some might find it a little off-putting.

    Funky, very authentic Scottish guest house. Very nice staff, and generous full Scottish breakfast. A good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and interesting antique pub hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned. Picture above bed would be shocking for some.

    Antique decor, restored interior, friendly and helpful staff. Location was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Hope Liz is on duty as she's the star of the show !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be updated. White paint , plain duvets to lighten the rooms up.

    The hotel was overall ok. Young man behind the bar was really nice as was the blonde girl who served us breakfast on Saturday morning. The star of the hotel was LIZ ... went out of her way to be helpful and made a superb breakfast !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed callander but would not come back to this hotel def need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast advertised cold meat and cheese but did not have it not keen on cooked breakfast one day room not cleaned not impressed but we did get an apology

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    3.8
    Didn't stay in room stayed at friends instead
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire exit in children's part of room with no lock opened down to a dirt steep staircase so kids could have walked out in night other four in kids part had a bolt on it which kids could open and led in to a small room with tools in it ! Was meant to be a family room pillows had lots if hair on etc

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.1
    Comfy overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, right on road and room above bar, but acceptable considering a Friday night.

    Good location for overnight stop. Good Italian across the road.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they served food at new year, however good places to eat nearby.

    Staff and locals were warm and friendly, the location could not have been better. Although the crags only served breakfast, which was excellent, there are plenty of places to eat. We booked new year party in the lade inn, which was great. Taxi to and from crags only five pounds. Overall excellent, room was basic but flat tv worked, beds comfy and shower good. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Beds were so comfy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with the booking that was for our anniversary so instead of a double room with four poster we ended up in a twin room so that was a bit disappointing but as we arrived late in the evening we had no choice but to stay !

    Beds were so comfy . Breakfast was lovely . Staff very friendly and knowledgable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Cosy room at the top on the building.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bedside bulbs had gone and the batteries in the remote were flat so couldn't turn on the tv. Breakfast was a little small too.

    Cosy room at the top on the building. Friendly welcoming staff. Great pub.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Quirky but Cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance way from car park is a bit dingy , and car park very tight. But would definitely stay again!

    Found staff friendly and helpful. Room was lovely just as advertised and would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    3.3
    dirty with lying staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaner and staff not lying to us

    Breakfast was a joke the toilet was full of puke when we arrived 4 poster bed done nothing but creek plus we were in a car crash and the staff said we could return home early and recive a refund for one nights stay and later went back on there word and we lost out on either a nights stay away or £80 refund so all in all was really disappointed with the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    great rooms greater staff very dog friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast lovly but abit small.

    The staff were amazing and friendly.the room was exceptional and very dog friendly.its my new best hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't clean and wasn't serviced before we arrived. There were ants in the shower, bed had already been slept in.

    Location & breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    10
    Sunshine and Poetry
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Callander is a gorgeous touristy town in the Trossachs, famous as “Tannochbrae” in the original Dr Finlay’s Casebook TV series. We found The Crags Hotel excellent in all respects and ideally situated for us as poets attending the Callander Poetry Weekend 2016 at King’s Bookshop just a few doors down Main Street. Plenty of sunshine. A most enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    5.4
    Could be improved on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe use of the vacumm etc a bit more would help the overall appearance. Torn lino in bathroom not good.

    One of the best freshly made breakfast tasted in a while and served and expect made by a very cheery chappie. Linen clean, and bathroom suite ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.1
    Pub style bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meet and greet as we arrived was very short and curt by lady who was talking on the phone as we stood waiting for a few mins until the man who also served breakfast came out. Presume he was the owner but no introductions were done.

    Breakfast was very tasty. The ornaments, local memorabilia and books in the dinning room were a pleasure to look at. Good position on the high street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    3.3
    WISH I HAD READ THE REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISOR FROM YEARS AGO TO MY EXPERIENCE LAST WEEK !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty / dusty / smelly rooms and no call back from the manager to discuss. After him refusing to give me a refund.

    I liked the location on the main street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    4.2
    DISAPPOINTING STAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM WAS BADLY LIT WITH DATED OLD DECORATION; CARPETS NEEDED GOOD CLEAN; BATHROOM LIGHTING AND VENTILATION POOR WITH CRACKED SINK,DAMAGED TOILET ROLL HOLDER,SLOPING SHELF OVER SINK, UNHYGIENIC SHOWER. NO BEDROOM/BATHROOM SERVICE/CLEANING ON SUNDAY - LED TO £10 REBATE ON PRICE GENERALLY NOT AWARE THAT THIS WAS A PUB FOR BACKPACKERS RATHER THAN A HOTEL SHORT STAY LOCATION.

    BREAKFAST ;

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    3.8
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is very shabby and needs a complete update. Being called a hotel we didn't realise it was also a noisy Pub. our room was dark. heater with no legs on proped against the wall. Wash basin had large crack. and you couldn't see in mirror with light on. Very disappointing.

    Breakfast was good and also location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.8
    Functional but needs some updating
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was run down and needs updating. Rooms were tired and entrance dingy and not welcoming. Parking could be better.

    Breakfast was good and owner pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Location ,staff and beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor lighting in bathroom, dated decor and when asked for poached egg at breakfast, literally got one egg on a huge plate, thought they could have managed 2!

    Location ,staff and beds were comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we had to wait for the key's room because they had lost it. The room was dirty, uncomfotable, cold and with humidity. Even in the barhroom there were poop stains...The dinning room was also dirty, with a dog nearby, even the dishes were sticked to the table and breakfast was horrible. I absolutely don't recommend this acommodation to anybody

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Quirky and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid if you have allergies to dogs.

    Breakfast was fresh and delicious having used local produce. Friendly staff. Quirky decor. We had to check in early to get ready for a wedding and was accommodated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    good for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked out on Sunday. Couldn't stay for breakfast because it started at 9:00. Too late for us!

    The location is good,easy to find . The room is small but quiet.we have had a good night sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Authentic Victoriana but with 21st century comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor individual, authentic Victoriana with lots of pictures & stuffed creatures a tad dark & foreboding.. Distribution of powerpoints challenging for phone charging & kettle boiling.

    Welcome good although we arrived after 10pm owing to horrendous holdup on M6. Breakfast good well cooked & hot. Good choices for family of 5, age range 10 - 70! Plenty of hot water for showers & beds comfy. Very quiet room even though bar downstairs v busy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    Staff really friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals served which were advertised at time of booking. The room I booked was not the room I was given

    Staff really friendly. Comfortable place for the money. Location really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Had a lovely time in Callander and would stay at Crags hotel again and thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cosy and the breakfast was lovely, a nice friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    really nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice bar an food

    really nice place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, rooms & food all amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Crags Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: