Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cross Keys Hotel 3 stars

North Road, Llanymynech, Llanymynech, SY22 6EA, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Llanymynech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 B&B reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was excellent recommend it to anyone

    The owner was excellent he carried bags to room and I was offered aa complimentary drink of my choice on arrival

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing indeed.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is cheating. Value for the money is 0. It is not an hotel yet. Only a few rooms available. Not clean. No food. Equipment is broken.

    Nothing indeed. They should not have advertised this hotel at all. They are not even ready.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely great stay would definitely recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing if we had to find something was the bathroom door to the ensuite didn’t shut but it didn’t bother us

    Even though the room was up on the third floor it was well worth the breathless walk to get there. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, couldn’t fault a minute of our stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Good stay, with amenable staff, suited us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wobbly floor, tiles in the shower were a bit grubby. But as I understand it is due for a re-vamp.

    Very friendly staff, free drink behind the bar. Lovely old building above a pub, but very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable clean and very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on a negative all great .

    Team extremely helpful and polite couldn’t do enough for us, made to feel very welcome. Value for money in a great location. Enjoyed our trip immensely , would definetly go again .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for the money and comfy atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are renovated, but still look quite dated. Very old windows, poorly isolated.

    Friendly and helpful staff, big room, very comfy bed, tasty breakfast, lots of storage space in the room, clean towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.8
    A pleasant weekend away to explore Llanymech Rocks, Llanrhaedr Waterfall and watch football.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Situated on a busy crossroads, the traffic noise was a bit overwhelming at times. The car park is quite tiny compared to The Dolphin 50 yards across the road, but I always managed to find a space.

    The atmosphere in the Cross Keys bar on FA Cup Final evening was great, one of the best nights i've experienced away fom home.Plenty to do and see in the vicinity of Llanymech.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    With better preparation and some TLC this could be a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel/pub has recently been taken over and the accommodation was in need of quite a lot of repair and updating. The management didn't seem prepared for guests although there were at least six other people staying as we discovered the following morning. It was understaffed and not good value for money I am sorry to say.

    The girl behind the bar was friendly and as helpful as she could be although she was on her own and not given the correct password for booking.com to confirm the reservation. The room was fairly clean if dated but up a lot of stairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value and friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked dated but owners was in middle of redecorating

    Great location, the locals and staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Good selection of beers and ales and had a nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    A quick overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old pub and while it is being refurbished some parts are a little run down.

    Staff were friendly and attentive, the room was clean and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    We had an enjoyable evening here after a tiring day and left refreshed in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is a bit limited if you have a big van or similar but there is a free car park near by.

    The Staff here are very welcoming, friendly and helpful as are the local people who visit the pub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    very friendly,attentive bar staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in need of some attention. eg broken bedside light not seen to when reported.. But good price so overall I'm pleased.

    very friendly,attentive bar staff. Warm wood fire and comfy sofa in small (residents') dining-lounge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    an enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was a little poor kept losing signal

    warm welcome, helpful staff, very good food well priced, décor requires some attention, old and quirky building, does what it says on the box, will stay again and again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Get what u pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get the breakfast to which were please about as it was all burnt and the kitchen looked disgusting!

    Good price for what u get. No frills but nice and clean and tidy enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    it was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very dated,needs massive TCL to bring it up to scratch..one shower didn't work, radiator hanging precariously of wall..

    Breakfast,staff, bar and games room all good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we loved...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worst bed we have ever slept in. The mattress was uneven and uncomfortable, it must be very old. The shower was dirty and the tv was discoloured and old.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we loved the fact it was dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Very satisfied and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't like traffic noise ask for a room at the back. Decor dated but no complaints at the price

    Very tasty breakfast with great coffee. 4 or 5 options for supper in house or within 50 yards including an award winning curry house.staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    An evening in Welsh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    See my general comments.

    If you want a basic stopover point with a good breakfast this is fine despite some initial worries. The hotel is on main road but the enhanced glazing works well and the road is quiet overnight. My room was clean and spacious although the chair, probably a third bed, was too heavy to move under a reading light. Purists would recoil from the debris on the window sill and also from the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom. The shower, skirting boards and window sill needed a thorough clean and the hole in the floor around the toilet should be filled in. I had a choice of two very comfortable beds. I noticed the comprehensive evening meal menu but when I went to place an order was told that on Tuesday there is a different menu. “Could I see it, please?” “Yes, but you have to go into the bar and read the blackboard.” After muscling my way through the crowd I found the blackboard but couldn’t find anything suitable. Why not have the Tuesday menu in the dining room? Access to my room was made easier by the fire escape to the car park being left open – a strange arrangement and it’s probably not ideal to walk up and down a wet metal staircase in the dark. Breakfast was great so at £40.00 all in it was probably about right. I would recommend a thorough clean so that everything is as clean as the carpets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    The friendliness of the staff I’m a little hard to please...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff I’m a little hard to please regarding breakfast I needed to have it early in order to get away fair play the breakfast was excellent and the service brilliant and bang on time so it’s ten out of ten from me well done cross keys hotel I will def return next year

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    Building decrepit, staff too busy to be helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkin wasn't till 4p.m., but as it's a pub maybe that's reasonable. The building showed its age very much, smelling of generations of mustiness. My room had a sash window with the cord missing, so I could only keep it open by wedging a towel in it. Some steps of the (metal) fire escape sloped. The bed had a horizontal bit down the middle where it was possible to sleep, but either side of that it sloped and you rolled off. The staff were in a great hurry, too busy with bar customers to be really welcoming. When I asked for vinegar for my chips, they gave me cider vinegar - they had no malt vinegar! When I asked the waitress what was on my fancy burger she said "Oh, everything" and I couldn't get her to tell me what it actually was. ( I think it was pork medallions, which would be a problem for some people.) When I asked if I got to choose the drink that came included with my dinner, I was told "No, it just comes". (Mind you, it was only £5.95 for burger, chips and drink.) Although they never fell below a tolerable standard of politeness, it was more like being received into barracks, shown my quarters, and given my instructions, than being welcomed into a hotel.

    My ensuite bathroom had clearly been installed recently, and was much better than the rest of the building. The waitress at breakfast was much more pleasant than the staff the previous evening. The chef (the owner, I assume) clearly took pride in his cooking, and in doing a good plain meal at a very low price. There was a very warm and welcoming real fire in a grate in the restaurant. I got the impression there might be a good atmosphere for the regulars in the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.6
    very disappointed would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed mattress needed replacing locks on doors not very secure any one could access by fire escape light switches broken blind did not cover window in bathroom

    good breakfast polite staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    Ter
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down beds uncomfortable toilet door would not close paper hanging off walls floor uneven part of shower fell off and unfriendly owner

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    just barely tolerable, but located on our way to Snowdonia
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were inattentive and rushed us through to our rooms The towels and bed linen provided had been used thousands of times and some had stains on them The cleanliness and decor of the whole place was strikingly bad When we asked for breakfast, the lady had to call the manager and offered us to go somewhere else, which was also closed. My friends also asked for breakfast separately later on and they received the same treatment - a call to the manager (as if they didn't knew) and then an offer to find another spot to have breakfast on.

    The location was ideal on our way to Snowdonia from London

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Shame it was in such a state of disrepair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel was sad with threadbare carpets, sockets hanging off the walls, wallpaper peeling off the walls and the shower was black with mold. The could be a fabulous place with a hefty lnvestment.

    The quantity and quality of the food was amazing and the staff was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, needed new mattress or full bed. Bedroom furniture very basic and could do with updating.

    Staff were lovely and the breakfast very nice. Tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Attending a Wedding. Only place available for 2 night stay. Price indicates standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were at very top of building. 3 flights of quite steep stairs. One of party in his 80's. Also road in front of Hotel was closed each evening (road works) and had to take a long detour to get there.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Fortunately the bathroom was just next door to bedrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Really, really bad. Couldn't sleep because mattress was so awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were indescribably bad, never had worse. Black scum came up through the drain in the shower and flooded the shower. There was litter under the bed (old biscuit wrappers) and the dark brown lampshade made the room so dark that we couldn't clearly see the old curtain falling out from where it had been stuffed up the chimney. Could not close the door on the toilet in the hallway (communal) which provided an unexpected (and unwelcome) thrill!

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    It served our purpose for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower showed signs of mould The mattresses were adequate but not best quality parking was a difficult to get into - a bit tight The situation was good, but on a main A road through with heavy traffic early morning only secondary double glazing

    There were evening meals available Staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money and woukld be glad to return when in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally the interior could have done with a lick of paint here and there but overall was clean.

    The owners were extremely welcoming and easy to chat with. Late night entry (after attending a party in the area) was not a problem and despite being on a main road the room was quiet enough to allow undisturbed sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    I stayed two nights, and was made to feel really welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very cheerful, welcoming and helpful , food was excellent quality with meat from local butchers - The steak and ale pie particularly recommended. I will be back for more!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.9
    Not worth £60 per night, has put us off going to independent hotels.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down and dingy, on the verge of being dirty. Worn staircarpet and broken glazing on stairwell. Room was up 31 steps. One tread on fire escape was uneven and another one was wobbly. Appeared to be only managed part-time, closed until 4pm. Road was noisy outside, fortunately closed for road works when we were there.

    Breakfast was OK and the girl who served us was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Recent Stay at the Cross Keys Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel very run down. bedrooms need a complete overhaul based on the one we stayed in

    Staff were excellent and a nice cosy bar with good beer and sky sports

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.8
    Resonable breakfast and not far off the Offa's Dyke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unchanged beds, dirty floors, the smell of cigarette smoke, searching for a toilet roll, etc. Not at all nice.

    Resonable breakfast and not far off the Offa's Dyke route if you were walking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    OK for a 1 night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best describe as tired. building on corner of busy crossroads. Room was clean but attention not paid to doors etc as dirty from handmarks

    We were walking Offa's Dyke so location good. Good breakfast. Bedding clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    The young girl who served us at breakfast was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We explained the toilet leaked water onto the floor when it was flushed. The landlady explained she thought 'he' had fixed it but did not send anyone to look at the issue or offer an alternative room. The furniture was also cheap and not put together well. When we opened the top drawer of th chest of drawers, we struggled to get it back in as the runner baton had broken.

    The young girl who served us at breakfast was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable solution for anyone willing to save money in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Those going to bed before midnight should avoid the rooms right above the pub because of the noise.

    Reasonable solution for anyone willing to save money in exchange for comfort. A bit of romanticism is a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Overnight stop on Offa's Dyke walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Took care to meet my requests for Decaffeinated coffee and fruit at breakfast and to acknowledge my request. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't go again or recommend to any one else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    ,Apart from 1 member of staff the rest was pretty awful. Very noisy, though food advertised until 8.30 pm it stopped at 8 and we had to look elsewhere to eat.

    not a lot

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Great evening meal, handy location, did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy in my room until after 11pm (music and people noise) but that is because it is a pub and it was Saturday night. Once the bar had closed it was really quiet. The shower worked well but could have done with a good scrub.

    The evening meal was great. The chicken, ham and leek pie with fresh veg was amazing and only £8. It was good that there was a separate dining area for B and B guests (the bar area was quite rowdy as it was Saturday night). The staff were really nice and friendly. The bed was really comfy. It was good to have a tv so I could watch a film in bed to distract me from the noise coming from downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Staff were lovely, very friendly and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating, very very outdated and tired, although there was everything we needed including a fan. Loved the annexe room for our 8 year old.

    Staff were lovely, very friendly and pleasant. Food was AMAZING!! Cheap but delicious and obviously all home cooked. Luxury biscuits in the room ☺

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Great over-night spot!
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic little find. The lady that we dealt with was uber helpful and friendly. The room came with all mod-cons that you would expect in a B&B. Food was good, huge portions. Great value for money. Pub downstairs which sold a good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.8
    Great breakfast for very budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in top floor family room. Double bed mattress was very uncomfortable, big ridge in middle and sloping sides, did not sleep very well and sore back in morning. Sheets spotless and smelt lovely but rest of room though clean very run down, windows almost falling out, felt a bit creepy. On the whole wished we had spent a little more money and saved my back but got what we paid for.

    Great English cooked breakfast, made to order. Friendly staff. Cheap. Certain charm in the old building. Stayed one night with partner and 2 teenagers as visiting family nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    A hotel in a lovely location; accommodation basic but comforable and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in need of refurbishment, accommodation basic and shared bathroom facilities are a little out of date in the modern world although did not cause any problems. In fairness the price per night reflected this and overall the hotel represents value for money.

    The menu was basic but food was very good, well cooked and there was plenty so nobody will ever go hungry there. Local artisan ales were on tap in the bar and when one was "off" it was replaced with a more expensive beer with no extra charge. Staff friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Great staff and amazing food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little run down and cleanliness of room could be improved but for short stay not an issue.

    Staff were all great and very friendly. Made us feel very welcome and well looked after. Food was amazing - very fresh and huge portions!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that my room key also opened the door to my friend's room and vice versa. If other guests' room keys were the same anyone could have had access my room at any time, even when I was asleep or out. Not good. When I was washing my face in the sink, filthy, black, stinking sludge started oozing out of the drain in the shower. That suggests to me that the drains were backed up. I could only get ice cold water to run out of the shower so I ended up going to my friends' room to use his shower. The place was generally tired and dirty. There was dust everywhere, cracked window panes and cigarette burns on the carpet. Also, there were a couple of fireplaces in the room, which had been blocked up with towels or bits of cloth which were filthy and hanging down for all to see. I stayed in more luxurious places when I lived as a student in an inner city 20 years ago!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    I'm not a huge fan of the chain hotels which although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the upper floors show their age and are in need of some refurbishment but if you can see past them it's worth staying.

    I'm not a huge fan of the chain hotels which although providing a consistant standard are rather souless. The Cross Keys couldn't be more different. After a friendly welcome we were shown to our rooms before our group regrouped in the bar for a couple of pints. Dinner was good and at a very reasonable price. After a good nights sleep the cooked breakfast set us up for the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Keys at Llanymynech - food incredible but check the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are "tired" and I don't think health and safety has reached this part of the world yet. My room didn't have double glazing and was facing the main road with traffic all night (it seemed). I have stayed there before in an en suite room that was much better. I would definitely be happy to go again but would check the room before booking.

    I was walking Offas Dyke and the Keys is right on top of it so excellent location for walkers. The food for residents is absolutely superb. I cant speak highly enough of the chef of the keys

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.0
    Excellent food poor accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more like a male bar with rooms to let than a hotel, which is a real shame as it is an old building with loads of potential.

    The food was excellent but portion size was too big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.2
    will mot go there again
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    You hd to go up fire escape to your floor with all luggage. The room was large but reeked of nicotine when I woke in the morning everything smelt like nicotine it was horrible.

    Friendly staff . Bigish room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    3.3
    Please avoid staying here. Seriously grubby and dated. Yuk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grubby, dirty, dated, worn bedding, curtains and towels (shredded with holes). We felt dirty leaving this place, and dirty stepping out of the shower into smelly, seriously worn towels. Booking.com - we seriously question our use of your site now, surely you offer some kind of endorsement of a venue being worthy of listing on your site? Stay there for yourselves, please! (or maybe not!). Avoid at all costs, such a shame, we were looking forward to supporting an independent B&B rather than a chain for a change. Yuk!

    Friendly, welcoming male, after this it went seriously downhill.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with refreshing, but hey so could the decor in my house!

    The hospitality was amazing, the food was great. if you think you have a big appetite... think again! Not only do you get great portions but it's all good home cooked food. Massive breakfast and they even did a pack up for us for lunch at what I can only call a nominal fee and again there was loads. 2 of us and enough lunch for 4! The bar has a good selection of beers, a couple of which are locally brewed. Locals were great, made us feel welcome. If you like a night down the local, this is for you. We will definitely go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    its not buckingham palace but we enjoyed ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very basic and need a good spruce up, tiles in bathroom a bit off putting when your in the shower they could do with replacing or a very good scrub and re grouting however we had a comfortable night sleep and for what we paid we were not expecting 5 star hotel. However we would go back and this is probably because of the good food and welcoming staff.

    The pub has a lovely feel to it a lovely log burner and the staff where very welcoming. The Chef well what can i say you cant beat his food it was lovely and plenty of it and priced at £8.00 a meal very reasonable. Nearby is a lovely walk and its situated between Welshpool and Owestry so not a bad little place to stay if you just want a quick stop over.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    friendly staff and breakfast was great
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the tv wasn't working and the bed was ok till my husband moved and it felt a bit like a water bed.

    Thought the room could do with up dating the tv wasn't working but we were out but would have liked it on in the morning. We stayed in the same room before when we stayed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Excelent food but in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in room number 1 and it is in desperate need of redecoration, which is a shame because with a good clean and some new paint and wallpaper it would be a very nice little room. On the other hand the bed linen was very clean and smelt very fresh and the shower worked a treat.

    The food was excellent the evening meals at £8 were fantastic value and beautifully cooked with excellent vegetables, just bring a big appetite as you will struggle to finish.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    3.3
    I will never go back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible food worst meal that i hever had dirty bedroom with a strong smell of cigarrete smoke lights in the bathroom did not work tv did not work breakfast as full english but just serving eggs bacon and beans no never again

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Food was excellent and staff extremely friendly and helpful
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is sited on a very busy road and traffic noise is constant. Nothing the hotel can do about this.

    Food was excellent and staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    Available at a reasonable price when we needed somewhere in...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo gave the appearance of it being a quiet, country hotel. It was a room above a pub on a busy, noisy main road. The decor was tired and needed a coat of paint. Access to and from the building outside pub opening hours was difficult as the door was bolted and the ground floor alarmed.

    Available at a reasonable price when we needed somewhere in a hurry to visit a critically ill family member. They were happy for us to use the fire exit if we needed to be with the family member during the night. There was a good amount of parking at the back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and warm hospitality. Simple and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra on the breakfast but this was the fault of the booking.com website

    Bar staff very kindly brought out a late-night plate of grub for the customers. Mark of warmth and hospitality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Good if you dont mind the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room ( room 1 ) was immediately above one of the hotel's bars. Loud/thumping music played until well after 11pm and at a lower volume for some time after that. The WiFi signal was weak.

    Bed was comfy and the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.0
    Reasonable room, terrible breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above an old pub -creaky floorboards, wonky old doors and windows seemed like the original ones from about 100 yrs ago. Reasonably clean but something wrong with the plumbing (toilet cistern not always re-filling after flushing). Breakfast awful - sausages were just practically raw and uncooked, beans tasted horrible, and so did the eggs and the mushrooms were warmed up from a tin. Strangest tasting coffee I ever had - something seriously wrong with it! Last day I stayed my stomach felt funny and ended up vomiting and I'm absolutely sure it was the breakfast that caused it. Avoid the cooked breakfast! Definitely needs a visit from the Food Standards Agency as a matter of urgency.

    Location ok and bed was reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.3
    Ok if nothing else about -pitstop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a pleasant place. Needs redevelopment. Threadbare carpet, wall paper peeling, door locks don't seem secure. Very steep stairs. Lots of road noise and vibration. Terrible small car park.

    Nice n warm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.8
    Very good and convenient overnight on ODP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place has a slightly run-down appearance from outside, and the internal decor and fittings sometimes show their age. But to us this was part of its charm, although it probably won't suit everyone!

    This hotel was a delight! Old-fashioned and needing a lick of paint, it has no pretensions and provides excellent service in a very comfortable and welcoming environment. Our room on 3rd floor was a decent size and comfortable. Evening food excellent and plentiful, followed by a very satisfying breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful, and food and accommodation are very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.4
    Good value for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor was quite shabby in places and the bed in our room(family) sagged one side so very uncomfortable

    An old building so no mod cons but clean and a good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was very dated.

    The breakfast was excellent apart from no white bread offered just got brown toast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Cheap and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little grubby and run down and I didn't find the bed very comfortable - soft and creaky. The shower was hot but pressure wasn't great.

    The staff were very friendly and it was a cheap and convenient stopover on our way to Snowdon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Adequate - met the need of a night's rest with a generous breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't wish to be harsh but the whole property (pub) could do with a bit of tlc - all the decor is a bit tired upstairs and down, but I was a little disappointed to find one of the curtains in my room was hanging off the rail - it could only be used with a bit of a tug - similarly the bathroom could do with a freshen up. However, for the money - the Cross Keys provided a comfortable nights rest and a very generous breakfast. I would stay again if passing nearby. Car park was a bit tight.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    3.3
    What a Dump
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    With work I stay in a hotel approximately 3 times a month, all over the UK, This hotel should be demolished, It would not take much as it is falling to bits. I had to place a chair in front of my bedroom door as the lock was from Toys r us. I opened the door with it locked by mistake, the bathroom was disgusting, Hairs all over the bathroom and mould on the walls and windows.

    The staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Friendly pub in wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything we did not like.

    Nice warm welcome and friendly atmosphere- and a real fire in the evening and at breakfast too ! Plenty of local people in the bar and a late night party in full swing when we came back from a local dance, obviously a well liked pub. Comfortable room and good bathroom AND off road parking. Lots to see and do in this scenic and unspoilt lanscape. Pub in village centre is clearly being brought back to life by energetic and enthusiastic young couple. An enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    4.6
    Refund required!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful - scrambbled eggs were not eggs!!Fresh tomatoes were not grilled. Mushrooms were out of a tin, slimey and salty, sausages were thin and rock hard. Toast was cold. Poached egg was like rubber. The whole place is tired and outdated and there was no hot water...not that we would have entered into the mildewed shower. Definitely not worth £70 per night...I would rate this as a 1 star b&b.

    Waitress was very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.3
    A very pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is lovely. All residents evening meals £8 and a good choice, portions are large you don't need a starter or pudding you will be too full! Breakfast good too. The staff are very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Lots of character, clean and tidy and a very warm welcome.
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the main road which was quite busy, quite a lot of road noise.

    Clean and tidy. Very friendly staff, food was very tasty and excellent value for money. Beds were comfortable and excellent WIFI.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    Adaquit. It was cheep and that's what I got!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor 3 flights of stairs. Window stuck open. Poor lighting. Bedding, towels etc very very old and dated. Unable to park in car park as it was full! Noisey busy road.

    Lovely old building . Good views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Room was comfortable and breakfast was nice plus there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't an ensuit room but the bathroom was right at the side of the bedroom

    Room was comfortable and breakfast was nice plus there was a bar down stairs

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Excellent value for money albeit a little 'tired'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the place was a little tired but easily overlooked by the value for money, staff and food.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and so much we struggled to finish it all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.0
    Great staff, poor rooms
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is very old and dated. Wallpapers peeling, damage to walls etc. the room we had was very small and extremely hot. Couldn't open the window due to heavy traffic noise.

    The staff were really friendly all throughout our stay. We dined at this Hotel and the meals were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: