Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crown Inn

Lynn Road Gayton, Gayton, PE32 1PA, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Gayton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly place, but tired decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the accommodation is very tired and out-dated and it wasn't 100% clean. Dusty with lots of cobwebs, hairs in the bath, dirty grout in the tiles. Needs a face-lift.

    All of the staff at The Crown Inn were extremely friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The pub is very old and has all the charming quirks you would expect from a place of its age. We slept well and we were very comfortable in bed. Breakfast was great. We had a lovely overnight stay and enjoyed the company in the pub.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Not only polite, helpful & very friendly staff, but all the locals were very amiable too.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been grateful if grapefruit juice was available at breakfast. Equally since it is a speciality in that 'neck of the woods' would have loved it if there had been samphire on the menu. Whilst understanding the fire regulations are the reason for this - would have much preferred if every door slam didn't (bang!) shut. I think the bathroom door was the only one that didn't. Got rather annoyed with the constant banging from the front door, as people came into the pub. Could there not be some sort of slow release/closing system on them? A minor suggestion - could the shared bathroom have some paper hand towels in there, as one doesn't necessarily remember to take one's allocated hand towel to the bathroom when popping to the loo.

    Hi didn't have croissants, so can't answer that. Our bed was very firm, which I liked, but my husband would have preferred slightly softer. We brought our dogs with us & they thoroughly enjoyed their stay. This is my 2nd stay there, & my husband got to see why I like it so much. It is very reasonably priced, good food (the cod in the lovely light batter is delicious), good company & we would all like to come and stay again some time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location & suited our requirements for an affordable place place with good beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property has recently changed hands and they state in many of the responses to review criticisms that the food is prepared to order, however, for evening meals it does seem like they are microwaved/heated to order - meals arrived very, very quickly after ordering and flavour was much more like that of commercially produced food. I grow suspicious when there is "no garlic bread available or any kind" and it is part of the meal ordered - and when asked is there any bread and is there any garlic (as it is easy to make) the reply is that there just isn't any garlic bread (which was listed with a number of meals)... it's most likely that it could be "preprepared" or in a packet. We were prepared to offer a couple of chances to as anyone can have an off night, but on another occasion the burger with blue cheese and a side of onion rings came without the cheese and no rings, then returned still with no blue cheese and one onion ring on the top... and finally a side of onion rings, but never any cheese... As there are so many excellent pub restaurants close by that we decided to eat away each night, but that hadn't been the plan. The linen was clean although a little worn. Generally the place was cleaned well and the bathroom spotless with good towels and bath mat.... but under the bed was not vacuumed (lots of bits of litter under the bed including a water bottle cap and my friend's room had stones and grit from boots when she arrived)... Hopefully it will upgrade as the new owners settle in and it was certainly comfortable enough for our purposes and made a good base for hiking.

    Mattress was really comfortable and the staff always tried to be helpful. Great location for the Peddar's Way hike and a fabulous beer garden. Suited our needs - which was for an affordable place offering a decent sized room and where we could get a good night's sleep between hikes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff were helpful, the evening meal and breakfast were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom furniture and decor was quite dated. The bathroom wall was quite thin, and the neighboring guests could be heard when using their bathroom. As a Green King owned establishment, the draft beer choice was limited to GK beers.

    The staff were helpful, the evening meal and breakfast were both good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.0
    Good job it didn’t,t rain as there was no chair in the bedroom & only the bar to rest upon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostelry changed hands in Feb/March. Catering staff dismissed so food was Greene King in a plastic bag type! We ate four/five star in Kings Lynn & in the country about ten miles north both excellent & same price as the Crown. Others staying who had been before said never again!

    Staff were very welcoming & helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Dog friendly place but outdated.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole property need renovations and improvements. Outside toilet was really outdated.

    Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Downstairs pub closes at 11pm. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice bar area with real ale.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room required a bit of personality. Strange corridor to bathroom that could have been better utilised. Slightly overpriced.

    Nice bar area with real ale.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Expensive for what it was and the rooms need a really really good clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both rooms were dirty. Behind and around the radiators were black. The bathroom had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and they stank. A decent long length mirror in both rooms attached to the wall is recommended. Breakfast was nice enough. Not told about breakfast times on arrival though and not offered cereals, more tea/coffee and toast. Toast was like cardboard so obviously used the cheapest bread possible.

    Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    I personally would not offer these rooms to paying guests .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pub itself was fair to good. The food was fair to good, if not a tad expensive for what it was. The bedroom was tired and probably the worse problem was the door into was very low and i am 6 foot - this resulted me in hitting it a few times over the three days i was there. The bathroom was not that great and the shower was only just acceptable. The entrance through to the sleeping accommodation, when pub business was closed, was very poor. To be honest it was OK for the price i paid but i don't think i would go back again if i visited the locality again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Perfect short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being tall.But I got used to ducking the low beams after the first bump!

    Breakfast was just perfect, this was the quintessential English inn, good beer, good food & friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Warm Norfolk welcome in a characterful old inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The locals and staff were welcoming and chatty without exception. Thoroughly enjoyed meeting them and spending Saturday evening in their company. Rooms were a double en-suite and a single with bathroom opposite as advertised. Adequate, clean and warm. Breakfast was cooked to order and set us up for the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    An okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot, we opened our windo but all the pub customers were smoking under our room window and our room filled with smoke and hsving our one year old in the room this wasn't great.

    The room was big enough to fit my wife, me my year old son and our dog snuggly. The breakfast was great and staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather unwelcoming apart from a young girl working on the bar. When we came down for breakfast, we weren't even greeted with 'Good Morning', just 'You sit there'. When we had spoken to the landlord the night before he was evidently disinterested in us. The food in the restaurant was very poor with dessert being served in a plastic dish! The waitress serving us had two tables including ours and managed to get both courses orders wrong, despite writing it down! It was not worth what we paid.

    There were biscuits to have with tea. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The Crown Inn was a wonderful Inn to stay overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low doorways.

    The Crown Inn was a wonderful Inn to stay overnight. It was perfect: staff, food, furniture, beding, everything. I highly recommend staying there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    I’ve stayed here before & always found it comfortable if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on the evening of my stay the pub had a rock band, which was extremely load. I had had a very long day & wished just to have something to eat & get some sleep. That was not possible as the band played until about 11:30. I have no objections to pub entertainment, however if I had known there was a band I would not have booked!

    I’ve stayed here before & always found it comfortable if a little dated, but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Not as enjoyed as one hoped.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they close the kitchen on a Saturday evening then it would be nice to be notified. Also we were asked what time we would like breakfast. Normally its between times but they wanted me to give them a precise time. On a Sunday morning, i do not know what time i will wake up. I mentioned 9am but we were wide awake at 7am and went down for 8am and told there was not anyone in. After Saturday evening and no food, even though the barmaid took food orders and when she was told the kitchen was shut she had to give them there money back. i guessed there was no breakfast either. If i knew they having a DJ playing and the kitchen was shut i would have booked somewhere else.

    Parking and its Greene King

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    If you want glitz book the Ritz..I prefer a friendly Pub!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Tradition English Pub, Good selection of Ales, Friendly Staff & Customers, Nice Warming Fire, Varied Food Menu, Nothing Fancy honest Period Decor. Large Comfy Bed & Beamed Room yet Modern Clean BathroomRoom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Staff generally pleasant, good for customers with dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited long time to check in as staff busy serving a funeral party. Room was clean, but had too much in it for size and was very dated with old furniture, needs a face lift Tea/coffee tray propped on a chair, nowhere to hang wet towels, heating erratic, either too hot or off.

    Breakfast good, bar meals good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Perfectly fine for what I wanted. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being an old building it had no double glazing. Woken early by the traffic passing outside.

    Clean & tidy. Friendly staff. Cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money stay. Good food, staff & rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money, just make sure you get a room with en-suite as not all rooms are.

    Great place to stay & eat. This place was once a coaching stop so there is lots of old world charm. Roaring fires, low beams sloping doors & ceilings. Food was well served & plenty of it. Good choice of drinks in the bar & very friendly staff & locals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Good parking, breakfast from 7am, food good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating and hot water were intermittent and although an additional heater was supplied the room wasn't really warm enough. Wi Fi only works in some areas, my room wasn't one of them ! It will have new owners from next year so any comments may not apply then.

    Good parking, breakfast from 7am, food good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Just an overnight business stop over but always been a pleasure.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Changing hands soon and rumoured that lots of changes are going to be made inc to the single rooms where 1 room will be taken out and converted to make en suites for the 2 other rooms and therefore increasing prices. This may well be my last visit here. Pity, staff are great and have been there a long time.

    Breakfast is excellent, fresh and cooked to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    I had the single room with shared bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the single room with shared bathroom. As soon as I booked in I was advised it was a shared bathroom. It was basic but spotlessly clean. All the staff very friendly, especially the lady who does breakfast, thank you for my wake up call. Food is very good, with a good range of beers. It suited my needs for a one night stay. Will stay here again, when back in that neck of the woods.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, shame about the burger
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My son ordered a Burger and took the order but 15mins later the kitchen said no burger buns available so would stick it in 2 slices of bread !! The cheese wasn't melted on the burger and the burger had a back twang that was unpleasant. Shame as the rest of stay was 1st class

    Lovely setting, good beer, lovely restaurant area, nice friendly staff, great place to stay for a weekend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice country pub hotel. Would stay again anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not en-suite but it’s not exactly miles to go across a corridor

    Great breakfast cooked to order not served from a warmer buffet tray. You can taste the difference!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee out of the machine was served quickly but was disappointing, even the black coffee had a frothy top so that it could not be differentiated from the white.

    Good food but the same piece of beef appeared for three days on the carvery. The room was comfortable, but beware of the low beams (plenty of warnings given).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to be away before breakfast was served so they very kindly left us a breakfast tray,juice cereals and lovely bread with jam or marmalade,very much appreciated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hit my head several times on low beams.Beds were hard. Toilet door wouldn't shut & there was mold on the wall. Breakfast was very greasy.

    Old world charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Nicely located traditional country pub accommodation, with no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely cold as the heating wasn't turned on ! We weren't offered more tea, coffee or toast at breakfast.

    Nice proper country pub, with accomodation above. Nice food served in bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    The Crown is very good value for money and would heartily recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a challenge for me due to limited mobility but didn't prevent my enjoyment

    Excellent breakfast and all round good pub grub.Staff are very helpful and friendly.Lovely little beer garden. Pet fr iendly and a good location for exploring Norfolk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was good ,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Twin room was to small , beds were ok , kettle for tea/coffee making had to be boiled on floor as kettle lead was short and no high level socket to plug it into , no comfort for relaxing only beds and one hard dining room chair , no full height wardrobe in room also stairs up to rooms were steep and narrow a struggle with a holdall in one hand also access to stairs was thro kitchen area .... we had one meal which was a carvery , very poor value roast potatoes were rock hard and veg supplied in small dish was tasteless , 2 carvery meals , one ice cream sweet and 2 drinks £29.00 !!!! we ate better in the local Wetherspoons restaraunts in either King Lynn or Fakenham .................... 2 meals and 2 drinks less than £15 .

    Breakfast was good ,,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The bed was comfortable enough but I would have preferred a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single bed.

    The bed was comfortable enough but I would have preferred a bigger bed, it was a single bed. The full English breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    friendly staff and good location for visiting castle acre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds and the bright security light in the room that inhibits a good sleep

    friendly staff and good location for visiting castle acre the coast and sandringham

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    I was travelling from Stansted airport & with my flight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I was travelling from Stansted airport & with my flight delayed by 1 hour , I arrived at the crown about 11.30 pm .The staff were very accommodating throughout. Very Satisfied indeed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed but several problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom needs a new toilet roll holder as the present one allows the paper to fall over the floor. Over the carvery, there is a huge sign which says "Don't take more than you can eat. Waste helps no one!" While I might agree with the sentiment, it's definitely not a welcoming sign. Aside from our party of five, there were only four other diners in the quite large dining room, which wasn't surprising as the beef turned out to be tough, the pork was fatty and pink, the boiled potatoes were hard and almost cold, and the roast potatoes were not any softer. I'd left my laptop covered in my room when I'd gone down to join my guests, but when I returned it was half uncovered. At breakfast next morning, the grumpy waitress didn't invite me to help myself to cereal and seemed to expect me to know where it was even though I'd never been there before. When preparing to leave, I wrapped my laptop in a bag and put it in another bag so that no part of it was visible, but I had to return to my room for the car keys and left that bag along with two others in the restaurant at the suggestion of a staff member to save carrying them upstairs again. I was only gone for a minute at the most, but when I returned the laptop had been removed from its inner bag. I won't be going back.

    The room was quaint with a pleasant view, and I loved the old beamed hallway with its cabinet full of books. The bed was very comfortable. There was plenty of onsite parking available. The shared bathroom was unexpectedly large, and there were some toiletries available. The desserts in the restaurant were wonderful--our party sampled five of them and they were all gorgeous; I had the sticky toffee pudding which I frequently fancy but rarely enjoy: this one was by far the best ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Cosy, nice location, friendly staff, good brekkie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few spiders webs on the ceiling and later in the night some giant spiders too!!! One of the pub staff accidentally set the burglar alarm off at 11.30 at night, but he was very apologetic when I eventually went to see if it was going to be turned off or if we needed to evacuate.

    It was a quick check-in and checkout. The room was cosy and comfortable with a small double bed and lots of comfy pillows. It was directly across the corridor from the shared bathroom which was convenient. The breakfast was served at the time I'd requested and the server was very attentive and changed my order to vegetarian cooked breakfast when asked. Overall, I'd say it's really good value for money considering the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we entered a very clean and pleasant country pub, the staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Our room was comfortable and perfectly adequate for our stay. We chose to eat at the pub restaurant and our food could not be faulted. Compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    The staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms look a little tired and could do with a spruce up. The sheets were clean but there were old stains which haven't washed out and the sheet had a big hole which had been mended badly and could have done with replacing.

    The staff were really friendly. It was very clean with fluffy towels. The inn has charm and is very quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Very good choice if staying with your four legged friend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little old fashioned but clean and very comfortable. Bathroom also kept very clean and tidy although I never did get the shower to work. My room was above the pub door which was ok till very late and noisy guest unsuccessfully, attempted to get in at 2am.

    The staff were excellent, so friendly and very helpful made us feel very welcome. Lovely breakfast room. Room was very comfortable and as a single female traveller with my dog I felt very at ease.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast with Marian looking after us beautifully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too small for us as my husband is 6ft 5ins. Room a little cramped but at least everything we needed was there,

    Lovely breakfast with Marian looking after us beautifully.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    No fuss and bother.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You've got to love the staff in a place when the second night you're staying, the glass for your wine is being got down off the shelf even before you've asked for it. The food is good, sturdy fare, and comes in plentiful portions. It's local beef and well worth trying a number of options off the menu. The building is lovely, with odd steps up and low ceilings and wonky walls that add to the charm. While the rooms are above the bar, I don't recall any particularly noisy patrons and have not had a bad night's sleep here. The decor is a little dated, but is is clean, the linen beautifully soft and the towels fluffy - the priorities are right. Breakfast is offered, and served with no fuss. I like this place, it does what it does well, doesn't pretend to be more than what it is, does it all with no unnecessary fuss and is genuinely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    2.9
    Clicky area where if you are not local you are not welcome. Pubic hair in shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pubic hair was found in the shower, the room was freezing with no option to turn heating on! Our room had an annoying water pump behind the wall by the shower that literally woke you up at least 5 times a night. The locals and staff were awful! VERY clicky and did not take any interest in you, presumably because you aren't from their area, was as though my partner and 1 year old son were outsiders!! No high chairs and barely enough room for a travel cot. Not kid friendly at all!! We ended up eating at another place up the road. No interest from staff in even sorting problems out.

    The coffee, breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Overall, a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I haven`t found anything.

    Overall very good value for money at £ 40 including breakfast. Lovely comfortable bed & room. I`ve stayed at the Crown 4 times now & will keep returning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    A propper village inn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for access to King's Lynn, friendly staff and very good food and drink. Plenty of car parking. Only downside was that I was late booking and the only room available was not en-suite, though the bathroom was directly opposite my room, so no big deal. Other than that it was all very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again 💖
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived the two ladies in the bar totally ignored me despite the fact that I was the only person standing there. Thank fully the other two ladies that we met later and in the morning were really lovely and helpful.

    It was a well situated,quaint, and comfortable. We find it difficult to find anywhere to stay as we have 4 dogs but the staff were welcoming and the dogs were happy. It's close to surrounding beaches and other attractions. The food was nice. We loved it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    2.5
    I could not use my phone there was no reception no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated every thing about it

    I could not use my phone there was no reception no internet no free internet as advertised deceiving information worse place to put people in

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.5
    Overall a good nights stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unclear when booked that the double room which had a three person occupancy symbol next to booking option - when only two persons staying in room, not three - didn't include extra single bed for the same price. Luckily there was a single room free for the night we stayed & were only charged £10 extra for that.

    Included full English breakfast. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Great value for one night stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to share a bathroom, with another room,ok if young,however are time of life,needed little more comfort.Double bed comfy and room clean

    The staff were fantastic,nothing to much bother.arrived ,wife and I had drink in bar,then took little dog to room,pop down for lovely carvery .warm and welcome atmosphere!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Spot on
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred en suite, but to be fair wasn't available at time of booking

    Decent sized portions of good quality food and a reasonable choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Great value for a couple of nights in Norfolk
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi connection was intermittent and as the village has virtually no mobile signal it was a little irritating. The room was a bit cool, but this is to be expected in a historic grade 2 listed building with its original windows and other features.

    We arrived far later than planned and the staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent and served very quickly after being cooked to order. The pub had a friendly feel although we weren't really there long enough to appreciate it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    4.6
    Food good, staff fair, cleanliness poor.
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the three rooms we used had been hoovered. In my room I found dog treats on the carpet in various places, the back of toilet behind the seat was Dusty and yellow with stale urine. If your over 5' 2" the beams are a hazard. Not a fault, but a hazard if your tall like my husband and sons. All three left with lumps and bumps after two days!

    I would recommend the food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.0
    Lovely country pub with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much! In general I loke a private en-suite bathroom, but having the (very clean) shared bathroom was fine at the price.

    Nice atmosphere in this old village pub. Good selection of beers on hand pull. Choice of bar food including excellent fish and chips amongst other options, or a restaurant which I didn't try. I guess that would be better for weekend evenings and Sunday lunches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    The f.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The f.urniture in the room was very kind matched. The kettle etc was on a chair, very unsafe and shabby. The bed was back achingly terrible. Breakfast poorly presented.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Always enjoy staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was miss communication between check in staff and the lady cooking breakfast. We asked for breakfast at 9am which was agreed to be fine. However in the morning at 8.55am the breakfast cook came and chased us in our room to say breakfast finished at 9am and we needed to hurry along if we wanted any. Not a major, but just meant we were rushed through for breakfast and seemed to be an inconvenience.

    Always enjoy staying here. Great atmosphere in the pub, good food and nice bar staff. Rooms are clean, tidy and traditional i.e. low beams etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Great staff, room, pub, love it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb value. Could not have asked for better at this price point. The bed was comfier than my own at home which was great, I had a fantastic night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    The location was beautiful, however the accommodation and service fell short of our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom furniture was quite tatty and the areas not particularly well cleaned. At 6:30am in the morning I was awoken by dogs running down the corridor. Breakfast service was lacking. We were only offered a cook breakfast and a slice of toast. No cereal was offered or bread with our breakfast or a second tea. We had to request tomato sauce and were only allowed one sachet.

    The barmaid was really helpful showing us to our room. The location was very quaint and easily accessible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.7
    Nobody at the helm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems totally disorganised especially for an evening meal. We went to eat early about 7, and ordered 1 fish platter and 1 carvery. Once platter was brought to the table went to pick carvery and was offered meat , potatoes and yorkshire. When asked where was the veg I was told "we've been busy and theres none left" I was offered peas if I wanted them!!!!Seasonal veg was offered on the menu as part of each meal so that left the choice of meals limited to say the least. The young waiter, on his first night, was very apologetic and was doing his best to placate everyone. The lady we think was in charge seems totally oblivious to the chaos that goes on around her, and needs to improve things if she wants repeat business. It seems they are more than happy with their local trade, and visitors staying in the four letting rooms are a bit of an inconvenience.

    Bed was very clean and comfortable with nice fresh towels each day. Nice breakfast and pleasant lady serving in the mornings. Lovely old building in a nice village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.6
    Full on friendly, full on breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local taxi would have come from Kings Lynn costing approx £30 one way, which meant we had to drive back & forth to the wedding

    Staff & facilities were lovely, very friendly. Excellent breakfast. Absolutely ok to come back late after closing hours (we were at a wedding near by). Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the confirmation it said check out was 10:30 however a lady knocked on our door at 9:58 asking when we were leaving as check out was 10am. Luckily we were packed.

    Beds were comfortable. Staff very polite and friendly. Breakfast was nice. Garden was lovely just a shame about the weather. Nice quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    The Crown at Gayton: go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An ensuite bathroom, but given that It was heavily booked with wedding guests, I was lucky to find a room.

    A beautiful, characterful, busy pub full of happy people on both sides of the bar.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Great Village Pub B&B
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could criticise.

    Great Village pub, friendly helpful staff. Good food, both evening meal and breakfast. I wish we had time to have stayed another couple of nights!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find any problems

    The price of accommodation with breakfast included was excellent. The location was in the right area for the next part of our journey to the Norfolk broads. Sunday carvery was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    An excellent country inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything!

    The room was very comfortable, the food was excellent ( breakfast and evening meal) the beer was very good with wide choice and the staff very friendly. It was very comfortable sitting in the lounge for a drink after dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Enjoyable weekend stay at the Crown Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea, coffee facilities. Would be better on a table rather than a side chair. Room needs redecorating soon.

    The helpfulness of the staff and especially the taxi service given by Jess. Comfortable stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom had a macerator toilet and boy did it pong when flushed. Also did not shower as pong was coming up through plug hole. Toiletries were a pump hand soap half empty and half a bottle of shower gel.so many house flys in restaurant, quite off putting, I know doors and windows were open but they were still there at breakfast.nowhere to put our toilet stuff in bathroom.

    The wine and food. Beds were clean and comfortable. N

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Good food and a comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, though a box of tissues and a towel rail in the room would have been good as it was a room with a shared bathroom

    Pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    VALUE FOR MONEY AT NICE INN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a hot night and the inn being old had low ceiling making the room quite warm. Needed window open wide during night but then some traffic noise. We perhaps should have asked if a fan was available.

    Good food available for evening meal at reasonable price. comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Accomodation was about what I expected, based on price comparison to alternatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    low ceilings, small room, shared bathroom.

    Friendly staff, nice evening meals. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Dogfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogfriendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy road and lot of traffic noise

    Good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    we would definatley use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    liked everything

    very good breakfast. country location very helpful staff clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely food. Older worlds quiet essential English pub.food lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    The food and service were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friday night appears to be live music night......not good if you want an early night!!

    The food and service were very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had larger room

    Beds comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    It made our birthday celebrations even moore special thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all it was a very comfy and warm and friendly place to stay lovely food too good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: