Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crown Inn 4 stars

Frampton Mansell, Rodmarton, GL6 8JG, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Rodmarton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent despite our misgivings approaching the Inn along narrow minor roads
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as we were concerned our stay was excellent

    Bed comfortable but maybe a lamp either side of the bed which switched off independently of each other. Food excellent Greeting very friendly Liked being able to sit outside in the evening for a drink

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    More a pub with rooms than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find using postcode. Room next to staff bedroom who used fire exit and were noisy. Some staff training required with regards to hospitality. Breakfast service was very casual.

    Quiet surroundings and all essentials catered for. Check in was very friendly, breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The pub is charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pub is charming. The rooms, which are in an annex, are large, comfy, and quiet. Breakfast is great - as is dinner. The Inn is in a rural area. One church, several houses, and a bus stop. It's all very lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay - I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little that I didn't like. The room was warm but that was because we are in the middle of the hottest summer! The shower over the bath was basic. I asked for a rare steak and got one that was fairly well done. Being a true Englishman I didn't complain because it was still nice, just not what I asked for.

    The staff were very friendly. The property is gorgeous, and its location wonderful. It is very cosy and atmospheric inside and a large outdoor area for eating as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A countryside pub/hotel with traditional feel and topped off by great staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff a really nice room, the price was cheap and breakfast for two. We wanted a short break in the countryside with a nice meal and a few drinks. Got exactly what we wanted. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice venue, staff not particularly caring or attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite asking before I arrived (and when I arrived) that I was leaving at 5am, they forgot my bottle of water and fruit to be left for my take away breakfast. Drunk man at bar made me feel very uncomfortable and as I was a female travelling alone, I would have hoped the staff could have assisted, as they could see I was being harassed. I asked for assistance charging my phone as my charger had broken but no staff really tried to help in anyway at all.

    Pretty location, large comfortable room with bath. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The staff were so helpful and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so helpful and accommodating! I had to be out really early and before breakfast was served for an event, so they made me sandwiches to take with me. They also were really flexible with check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable overnight stay enhanced by good food and local ales!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Consult your road map before you get there as sat nav can get it wrong along the narrow lanes! (ours did)!

    Stayed one night but would like to visit again. Popular Cotswold village pub supplying excellent food and a good range of cask ales. Good freshly cooked breakfast and reasonably priced food in the bar area with outside dining as well. Accommodation is in a modern annexe at the rear of the pub with ample parking. We had a ground floor room which was spacious ,clean with comfortable bed. Bathroom was a good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have it all done perfectly, friendly staff too.

    The room was excellent, lovely and clean, typical country Inn, good food, good beer and wine, near to local towns. We will be going back. We only came back on Friday 1st June 2018

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The actual pub is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t very comfy, pillow a bit hard and the shower pressure was non-existent. The disappointment of the room was made up by the fantastic staff and this quintessential English pub!

    The actual pub is amazing. Wonderful staff serving nice evening meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and we will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine choice limited and quite expensive.

    Lovely location. Very clean, comfortable room. All staff were very helpful and courteous. Great atmosphere in the bar, full of locals with lovely dogs. Good food and local beer. We will certainly return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly, comfortable hotel. Great food and excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little hot on arrival so we turned the heating down and opened the window. Problem solved. It was a really hot and sunny weekend.

    We have stayed here many times before and always receive a warn welcome. The hotel is very comfortable. Food delicious. This time we traveled with our puppy who was good as gold. The room was large so her cage fit in without problem. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and excellent restaurant in a stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No need for improvement, everything was fine.

    Beautiful old building, very nice setting. Excellent staff. Beautiful restaurant and bar/garden, very good food. Rooms (large room and large bathroom) were in the adjacent building, not so characteristic as the main (old) building but far better than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The Crown Inn was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike with this location - unless you wanted noise, city hussle and bussle.

    The staff were fabulous, friendly and helpful. The location in a quiet hamlet was just what we wanted. An old fashion Inn in the middle of nearly nowhere offering an interesting dinner menu and a great breakfast. Loved it. The main thing to know is that the property is actually at Frampton Mansell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Accommodation and food was good. Very pleasant staff and in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inn was very busy on the Sunday and ,by the time we went for our booked meal at 7pm, several of our choices were not available

    The ambience of the Inn. Plenty of candles which made for a special atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    the crown is a picture postcard property with friendly welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very welcoming at reception, I was leaving too early in the morning to have breakfast but the property provided me with some top quality bacon sandwiches as a replacement

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Much better than one of the chain hotels. Very individual and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being on business it was a little inconvenient not being able to have breakfast before 8.00 am

    Very welcoming staff and great location. Nice old fashioned pub environment with good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only slight criticism would be the TV is too small!!!

    The staff were fantastic and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Nothing was to much trouble. We had to leave at 5.45am so wasn't able to make breakfast so they arranged for a bacon roll to be made up for us the night before to take with us. Will definitely stay again and would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Had a lovely break, and great weather which was such a bonus enjoying a drink in the beer garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms could do with updating, and pets are very welcome which is lovely but not for us

    Quite rural location, great for walking, good quality breakfast, with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A nice little find with spectacular scenery
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV very small in room, noise disturbance from another inconsiderate guest at 2 in the morning - not the property's fault though!

    Nice big comfortable room, cosy bed. Good food, nice fukk of character pub with good beer. Very dog friendly bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Bar areas very cozy with big roaring fires and old stone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar areas very cozy with big roaring fires and old stone mullion windows.cracking old pub with the accommodation separate but next to it,situated in a very pretty village.Friendly staff.Great draught ciders and great food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay - will definitely return and recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattress was a little soft but still comfortable

    All staff were very helpful and friendly - this made our stay even more enjoyable. Lovely setting and very good food (including breakfast). Room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a little break highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done bigger portions of food.had the lamb which was 18 quid,but seemed more like a starter. The wife had a burger which was a lot better portion wise.

    Nice an cosey. Very nice beer not too expensive either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxed and very good standard of service in a lovely setting. Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delivery truck just outside left engine running during early morning delivery.

    Full English breakfast was excellent, as was evening meal at the pub. Gluten free toast and sausages were served without request in advance. Room was light, neutral and spacious and being able to control the heating was appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one vegetarian option on the menu and that wasn't available on the night we stayed. All dishes meat or fish based.

    Lovely location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great food and lovley location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, king size bed was an added bonus with tea and coffee facility in room. Beautiful food, they have a fish chief. lovley location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Just what the doctor ordered. See you again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful visit. We had a great room which was well appointed, warm and welcoming. The food was excellent to. We had an evening meal and the portion sizes were ample. The pub itself is traditional and very cosy with the log fires in each room. A great selection of local ales make it the perfect stop off for the weary traveller. I recommend the Cotswold Premium Lager.... never tasted anything quite like it. Breakfast was fresh, hot and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Room size and furnishing were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower was too low. Speed of service for breakfast could have been improved. Temperature of some of the breakfast food items was variable.

    Room size and furnishing were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Cotswold inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff,Excellent selection of ales and wines,a great British inn superb bedrooms. Breakfast, and food of the highest quality, thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    great to find such luxury accomodation especially in country...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hot water pressure can be improved

    great to find such luxury accomodation especially in country side area. great services and lovely restaurant/bar available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Our second stay here and would gladly return to a favourite Cotswold pub,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit dated - individual switches for bedside lights would be good as would a better tv.

    Very pet friendly and sociable pub with lovely seating area at the front. Situated above the valley with good walks from the doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The pub is amazing and the staff are SUPER friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not such a big deal but I wasn’t fond of the lack of plugs in the room.

    The pub is amazing and the staff are SUPER friendly and accommodating! Bed was terribly uncomfortable the first night and they quickly added a topper while we were having a pint and slept like a baby the next night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Perfect weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need updating.

    The location was perfect for walking lovely villages near. The staff very efficient and friendly lovely atmosphere in the Bar//Restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very welcoming and flexible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked a bar of soap in room; wifi in guest rooms kept dropping out (unhelpful when phone signal poor)

    Staff were very welcoming and flexible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing and cosy weekend away with excellent food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub and attached b and b were in a lovely quiet village location, super cosy with open fires and good drinks selection, the food was exceptional, the bedroom was warm and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Great. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just such a lovely spot. Historic old pub with open fire, so cosy for a meal. Good food and service. Lovely young staff, with just the right degree of informality but also very efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. THe staff are very friendly, it has modern furniture in the spotles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have prepared better for access to the village. Sat nav took me along very very narrow road with as far as I could see no passing places! Luckily nobody coming in the oppostie direction. THere is one good wide road into the village which I used for all other toing and froing!

    Warm room, it was freezing outside. Friendly staff. Clean and modern furniture. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was perfect for what we required.

    Never tried the coffee but everything else was spot on, including breakfast. Friendly staff. Happy to go the extra mile when needed. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    As an overnight stay on a short birdwatching trip it suited our purpose very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bathmat would have been nice and only one towel per head seemed a bit mean but did not detract from enjoyment of our overnight stay..

    Very quiet location, friendly staff and log fires. An old inn with modern amenities yet full of character. Lots of candles in bar gave it lots of atmosphere.No noise to disturb sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Good facilities, relaxed environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable bed, very clean room. Staff helpful and friendly, especially the young man who worked there. They all work very hard. Breakfast was fresh and tasy. Restaurant meals were very good, just s bit of a delay as very busy. So approx 45 minute wait for food. Worth waiting for though, and we were told when we ordered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely stunning, cosy little cottage in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers have not enough water pressure. Unfortunately the tenants can't do anything about it, but there are ways to arrange yourself with that.

    Beautiful, cosy location with super friendly staff. Awesome old pub with local ales. The food is a bit pricey but tastes pretty good. Would we go there again? Definitely yes!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant room, set in a pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast did take quite a long time to arrive shower pressure was poor morning and evening

    Pleasant room, set in a pretty location. Good real ales, reasonable prices in the bar, real fire. Room comfortable and clean. Excellent full English breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff were outstanding, accommodating, friendly and went over and above expectation to help us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated and the springs in my bed really squeaked, particular when I got I. Or out of bed

    All the staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Everything - specially loved the breakfast menu which...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly an update on the shower but the rest made up for this.

    Everything - specially loved the breakfast menu which included "hot buttered toast with poached eggs (also fried and scrambled I think). Best toast I have enjoyed in years. Bread from local bakery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a good location, lovely for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean and warm but dated and in a rather unnattractive building. That said, there was a good hospitality tray and everything we needed for a short stay. The ensuite, like the room, would benefit from an update.

    The friendly staff and the good breakfast ( plentiful top-ups of delicious coffee ), the staff seated a group of us together at our request and were attentive but unobtrusive. The Crown pub is excellent, old and very attractive and the food is lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    We always enjoy The Crown and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mirror in the bathroom needs to be a little higher and additional shelf and hook would be good to put things on. The bedroom could do with a few pictures.(room 2)

    The Crown is one of our favorite pubs especially in the winter with the open fires.Staff always very friendly and helpful.Good food.Nice and quiet at night in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good food, clean ,dog friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 3 nights after Christmas and was a perfect way to relax and unwind. The room was plenty big enough and extremely clean for a dog friendly hotel. We ate in the pub each night and the food was excellent every time and good value for money. The pub was quite busy but we had a table reserved for us each night as hotel guests but without booking which was a nice touch. Great selection of tea/coffee in the room along with biscuits and plenty of milk pods ( there's never enough usually supplied in most hotels!). Good cooked breakfast each morning along with selection of cereal/yoghurt/fruit etc. Ideally situated for exploring the Cotswolds. We will definitely consider again if we visit the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    The 16th century pub was amazing and we had carol singers in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One bed was fine, the others too soft. Breakfast was average and no baked beans on the menu was a let down for the kids. Disappointing the train line runs so close through this area...

    The 16th century pub was amazing and we had carol singers in on the first night so that was brill. The village church and views were lovely too...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Great room, great food in a idyllic little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not the easiest place to get to if you don’t have a car, but all it needs is a little bit of planning. You can take taxis from the Stroud station where the Great Western Railway is available.

    The dinner available at the connected restaurant was incredibly delicious at a fair price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Most accommodation is 'average', but this was how it should be - a very welcoming delight!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Redundant question - I liked it all!

    Very welcoming, friendly, helpful and accommodating. Very clean and everything worked! Good food and all with a smile! Very, very helpful - a great service which needs to be congratulated!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    quite ideallic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lovely pub exceeded expectations excellent food and very good selection of real ales . Good for walking in the Golden Valley plenty of pubs to walk to will certainly come again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a charming centuries old pub - a true Cotswolds experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dated, but everything was clean and tidy

    Quaint location, spacious and comfortable rooms, quiet and peaceful at night, good restaurant, great staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Good staff & rooms, poor dinner and very hard to find the place in the dark.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satnav postcode takes you half a mile away, down very dark, twisty, narrow lanes, rather stressful getting lost in the dark, with very limited turning spaces, passing places, some advice in confirmation would be appreciated. Dinner was poor, Thai noodles were ok, but lacked any spice or Thai flavours, and a very small portion, went to bed still hungry. £20 extra for a single occupancy double over a twin seemed a bit much. The room was clean except for a very obvious layer of dust along the top of the headboards.

    Friendly, attentive staff. Comfortable room, very quiet location. Good value. The bar / restaurant building is a lovely, traditional olde country inn.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Cosy traditional country pub, with modern annex.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, just the sort of accommodation I like.

    Cosy traditional country pub, with modern annex. Great comms, rang me to let me know food stopped being served earlier on Sunday - very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    I would stay again, just improve that breakfast, soy and almond options for milks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However two points, the shower/bath ( both of which I used) were very slow to heat up, perhaps 10 minutes, and the strength of water flow extremely poor, meaning a bath was not really possible, the shower was hard to have due to slow and insufficient water flow. Only other issue was breakfast, a lack of fruit and soy milk options made breakfast less value for money. Veggie sausages were fantastic however the meat options too greasy and portions very small.

    I was truly impressed with the area and the fantastic view, the ambiance and the welcoming and friendly clientele, locals and staff. The prices of drinks and food was very reasonable and the pub bar area and eating in the evening was just as cosy and snug as I had hoped for. We both enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    We discovered a gem of an inn that exceeded our expectations in just about every aspect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about our visit to The Crown Inn we didn't like. Look forward to visiting again before too long.

    Great beers, superb food, friendly, personable staff, comfortable and clean bedroom, traditional, cosy bar and dining room (with log fire), spacious garden, beautifully located in the heart of the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock of the door was poor.

    The Old Cider House was amazing and so was their food!! The starter was amazing! It was a really cosy stay love to come a again. It was really quit and we slept very well! The room was large. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    The food in the restaurant was excellent as were the staff...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room wasn't great (as I'm used to a power shower) and personally I didn't find the bed very comfortable but that could just be down to personal taste as I found it very soft. Certainly wouldn't put me off staying again though.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent as were the staff and the choice of local ales. We took our dog and he was made to feel very welcome by all the staff and the locals. The location is tremendous and was a perfect weekend retreat with our dog to explore The Cotswolds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Ideal country hideaway yet near Cotswold attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to criticize.

    Lovely old building with character. Cosy bar & restaurant with open fires. Friendly staff, well cooked homely food. Comfortable modern en-suite bedrooms in adjoining block.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Recommended for staff, location and food/drink - a couple of tweeks would make it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in the shower. Carpets looked a little tired. no designated smoking area - people stood by door to annex and smoke would enter any open windows.

    Staff extremely helpful and polite. Good menu with quality food ( we had breakfast twice and evening meals); good selection of beers, spirits and wines. Bar area was favourite part - good vibe and very atmospheric. Kids loved wifi worked throughout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service and the quality of the food. The fact that you could have a smaller portion of food in the restaurant. Breakfast included and very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely country inn and well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure on the shower was very poor. This is however the only thing in an otherwise lovely stay. If we were in the area in the future, we would certainly stay again.

    All the staff were very friendly. The room, in a modern annex adjacent to the main building, was a good size, well furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was top quality with plenty of choice. Our evening meal in the restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.0
    Lovely character pub with a warm welcome, great food and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little, a larger screen television perhaps.

    Lovely welcome, very efficient. Kindly shown to the room, always appreciated. Room was spacious and pleasantly appointed with a good size bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities are always welcome. Enjoyed an excellent meal in the bar/restaurant, lots of choice and well beyond standard pub fare.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    nice, friendly, traditional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was late on the last day which made myself and a colleague late for our course

    Very friendly, welcoming staff, happy to help, nice clean and tidy rooms,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and big rooms, with friendly staff that made us and our pets feel welcome. Food was really good, and will definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed with room - but friendly staff and great breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks very tired, mattress lumpy and uncomfortable, struggled to get hot water in bath/shower, not enough plug sockets (for phone chargers, hair straighteners etc) and could hear everyone in the other rooms.

    Good staff, great food at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Hospitality was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise through from other rooms (eg bathroom fans at night) and not the comfiest of beds.

    Hospitality was second to none. Staff were great and very helpful. Food was lovely (evening board specials). Very relaxed atmosphere and scenic walking route on doorstep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Lovely place to get away and submerge in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would’ve liked to have stayed longer!

    Good value for money. The staff, especially Jess, were very lovely and friendly. Accomadated to dietary requirements which was brilliant! Local beer was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Very well located Inn, with character, openess and good people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unfortunate that there was a party at the restaurant in the evening and our room was at the ground floor, so there was a bit of noise until late. The presentation of the ice-cream (two scoops in a small glass where you usually use for home made wine) did not work at all.

    The design and atmosphere of the restaurant was very good. The people at the reception smiley and helpful, responding to any question we might have with genious interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    A thoroughly pleasant experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very attractive location, character property, friendly and helpful staff, atmospheric dining within bar area, delicious food, comfortable and peaceful accommodation. And dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Food and accommodation both excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only fault was that there was no electric socket outlet within the room to allow for charging etc Also the shower temperature unit was very difficult to attain the correct temperature

    Food and accommodation both excelent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely book this hotel again, food great and accommodation comfy, staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat nav decided that i should take single track roads in the pitch black, nothing to do with hotel but there is a better way to get to this hotel.. ignore sat nav and check a map..

    Staff were welcoming and answered my questions with a smile. Great breakfast selection both buffet and menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Very satisfactory accommodation as it was booked at short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasn't very powerful, difficult to get the right temperature.

    General atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Was a last minute booking, wanted somewhere near an event, phoned on the way to book a table for a meal when we arrived (just over an hour later) and the staff were very helpful. And delicious Gloucester Old Spot sausage with the full English breakfast (which I thoroughly recommend).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise at night from other people pulling toilet chain/Showering.

    Lovely pub in a great location. Definitely eat there as the food is great and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft could be better, but no real concerns would stay again.

    Lovely bar, location with great staff and food. Good with dogs..Food okay for kids too.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: