Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crown Hotel 3 stars

Drummond Road, Skegness, PE25 3AB, United Kingdom

#16 of 23 hotels in Skegness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1079 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed so warmly as soon as we got there. They dealt with all our needs and couldn't do more to help with our 10 week old daughter on our first trip as a family. The food and service was excellent in their bar area. We will definitely return again for a trip to Skegness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Canny !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love a dark beer on the bar , all too light for me , but that’s personal choice , nothing against hotel. Darcy the barmaid is great front of house

    I’ve been here a couple of times before and liked it . This time I got room 109 and loved it .... amazing value for money , huge room , huge bath , and you can see they are spending money on the place. I’ll be back again as I’m based in skeg for work on a weekly basis

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Could be a good hotel if the decorations were better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were in the middle of relaying carpets on the first and second floors so we were walking on bare boards, the bathroom needed the shower replacing and the decorations needed redoing. The ceiling wallpaper needed attention it was becoming loose at the joins.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location, small room, cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for carvery being served in reception area as we arrived Bar area set aside for Sunday carvery eaters not really for those wanting a quiet drink. Bedroom 103 very small

    Welcoming staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is very rickety and takes forever to go up 2 flights.

    It’s a massive hotel, being decorated Currently however no smelly paints used😀 great little bar, brilliant meals good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside table. No chair in room. No blind at bathroom windows though there was a net. Hospitality tray was a bit sparse as was the loo roll.

    Bed really comfy. Bathroom really clean. Receptionist was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.3
    The breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were outdated, dirty, we had paid for a family room, the family room was disgraceful, no toilet roll, wallpaper hanging off the wall, old mattresses, it smelt of damp, stains on the carpet and it hadn’t been cleaned, we requested to change to another room, it wasn’t a family room, they put a camp bed in there for my daughter, slight improvement on the other room, breakfast (when it was available) was nice but nothing special

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    comfy bed nice bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given was up 2 flights of stairs which we did not expect, this room was a very large suite but was in need of modernisation. We asked for another room and this was as expected.

    comfy bed nice bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    AN ENJOYABLE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the top floor exec. suite - lift only so far up then lots of stairs to climb.

    A COMFORTABLE SPACIOUS ROOM ALTHOUGH NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE THE CHOICE AND QUALITY OF THE FOOD AVAILABLE IN THE EVENING PLENTY OF CAR PARKING SPACE

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Our Family overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed wasn't very big, both my wife and I are both 6ft. Bed just too small. Room plenty big enough for a king sized bed. Hall way was un-lite when we returned to our room just b4 midnight. Had 2 use torch on our phone in order to get key in the lock. Shower was useless.

    The welcome was nice and tidyness/cleanliness of the room was excellent. The breakfast was also very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Stay was ok, but, hotel in need of help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start Hotel is very tired WC in the room looked clean but was not, lots of dust and generally was not to our standards I have stayed here before was over 10 years ago and the decor and rooms have not changed

    Breakfast was nice and plentiful Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice large and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels weren’t clean and smelt awful 🤮 Bath was also not as clean as I would expect.

    A nice big clean tidy room with comfortable beds and light and airy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Fine for price, breakfast basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No yoghurt or fruit and breakfast food kept under heater to self serve. Next door room got up at 6 a.m. everyday and did not consider others, t.v. on, shower on, talking loudly.

    Good size room and bathroom - clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Sept 8th 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly, right down to the night porter. Food looked amazing although didn't get to try any as had a night planned elsewhere. Highly recommended!. Comfortable, Clean, great value for money <3

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    The bed was so so comfy, staff were excellent, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so so comfy, staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful. The lounge bar was ideal and had a good selection on offer. We didn’t try the food but the menu sounded lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Great family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and dated, but didn’t spoil anything, but future investment is needed in the decor and carpets.

    The staff were really friendly, food was amazing and the location was close enough to be convenient, yet far enough away from the maddening crowds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise how far away it was to walk into the main town and we had a little one with us the was a bus stop not far away from the hotel but was usually too busy focus to get on with the pram, the hotel was very very dated and we were in two different rooms and each one the bath was really dirty not been cleaned properly at all, whilst there we had a travel cot no mistress had been but in so it was rock solid at the bottom we had to use a quilt off of one of the beds to make it more comfortable. On the 2nd night we had been put next to a bunch of what sounded like people on a stag do or something and they we do loud they came up at 2pm and woke our little girl. The room price was VERY overpriced.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming and the food in the bar was very nice also and reasonable priced. It was really good how we can use the car park before check in and after check out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi not great, but its free.

    Staying at the Crown was great! Wi fi was temperamental, lovely and quiet, lovely staff, I recommend the breakfast, lovely full English, no yougart, fruit or croissants though, would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing as we were really looking forward to it after our stay last year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was drab. The curtains were covered in what looked like tea stains. The puffe was covered in stains. The furniture was tatty including missing handles. The WC was disgusting. Woodwork scratched terrible including white painted doors. Bathroom floor mopped but all the dust etc left in a pile. In each bedroom there were bulbs out on the main lights. Corridor carpets very worn and tattered so quite hazardous. Reported issues after our first night. Had to report that WC issues had not been dealt with again the same evening. We're told curtains couldn't be changed as they'd have to be dry cleaned. Bulbs not changed prior to departure. Some effort was made to wipe the door down. Stayed here last year and they were starting to renovate but it looks like it has ground to a halt. On a bill of £340 we were given a rebate of £40 which was disappointing considering all the issues with the room. The other family room was occupied so no alternative offered. Hotel is in need of a coat of paint and new flooring.

    The breakfast was very good and the chef accommodated a request for scrambled eggs for two of our party on the final morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Quiet was good for what we needed it for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first floor landing carpet was a hazard the carpet wasn’t secure under the runner and was bubbled

    The bathroom had a bath as well as shower the beds were comfy the area was quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The welcome we received when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem we had was noisy lads above us, waking us up at 3am one morning but hotel must have sorted it cause we never heard anything any other night/morning. Couldn’t fault anything else

    The welcome we received when we arrived. The friendly staff and excellent food and facilities ,loads of car parking is an advantage also

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    allthough we enjoyed our stay, we felt it could have been better if the hotel had entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    room was a little tatty and needed updating. carpets stained and marked. not enough cleaning staff, some days only 1 to clean rooms resulting in not able to get to clean room till late afternoon. cleaning staff severely overworked. too many short stay customers resulting in excessive noise and disturbance during change overs.

    excellent bar area and food. wide choice of menu. staff very good and helpful. hotel location very good in a quiet relaxing area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    The crown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all. Only criticism is I'd have liked it to be slightly closer to centre

    Friendly helpful staff. Very informative and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    friendly helpful staff in pleasant surroundings food was good in the bar and the ice cream was good.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fresh friut and some yogurt for breakfast would be nice.

    the bed was comfy,the tea was very strong served in the bar there were 5 tea bags in a small pot. no yeogurt for breakfast or fresh fruit,otherwise the breakfast was nice. thank you for a pleasant stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this wasn't the hotel experience we had hoped for. The room was very small, the bathroom was very old fashioned and dirty. Only had 1 plug socket by the television. The walls were very thin and you could hear everything going on in the rooms next to us. The location is a half an hour walk from the centre of skegness wouldn't recommend walking in the dark. I personally wouldn't stay here again.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Memorable and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond to make sure that my ill dad had a comfortable stay. Nothing was to much trouble. The food was excellent...i will be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.6
    Needs Decorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire hotel needs redecorating inside and our. We paid just under £100 just for one night and one would expect a better standard of decor. No hair dryer in room.

    Big off street parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    what i had expected but a little over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the decoration in the rooms was tired and the furniture was very dated no decent mirror avalible for drying of hair. carpets on stairs and in hall ways very worn and in some places coming away from grippers

    the hotel staff were helpful and friendly. room and bathroom were clean plenty of clean fluffy towels. good breakfast plenty of hot fresh food on offer. tea and coffee facilities in room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Polite staff who just couldn’t do enough for you, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need replacing in some areas, but if I’m honest I’m struggling to give negative comments

    Polite staff who just couldn’t do enough for you, beautiful food, clean room, bar and a good car park! What more do you need?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, lovely breakfast and good all round value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could possibly benefit from coat of paint & new carpets especially on the stairs/landing, but the comfortable rooms more than made up for this.

    Lovely comfortable beds, extremely clean bedding & towels. Great breakfast. Staff couldn't do any more for us and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again, and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic value for money and good to see such improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used to be regular visitors to the Crown but previous owners let standards slide. New owners has revitalised the place and spent money on the rooms and they were great. Very nice staff again and although the hotel may not get back to its pomp when the restaurant was open in the evenings and they had an indoor pool the improvement from our last stay 3 years ago was clear to see. Great breakfast and bar meals, very well priced as well. Fantastic value for money and we will be back and I hope other people who used to stay do come back. We will definitely return if the rates stay the same.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay on the whole, away from the busy town centre, and the staff were very obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only 2 bathsheets in the bathroom. We asked for 2 hand towels and a bath mat, but we got 2 more bath sheets! There was some noise from downstairs all night - like a door banging. We would have liked a sheet on the bed. It was quite warm at night so we were having to throw off the duvet, thus leaving nothing covering us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    OK for a few nights but sad that it is so run down as place needs updating ASAP!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets worn throughout so need replacing. Lift very very old and small. Room was a family room but very small so all three beds were set up next to one another. Windows old and full of condensation. Can hear noise from next rooms and above too. Shower was not strong.

    Very large bathroom with a bath which filled up so quick. A separate space between the room and bathroom for luggage or storage although the room was one unit. Close walking distance to beach and town. Heater in bathroom useful for drying clothes and/or towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    very pleasant stay could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs sound proofing was on top floor could hear people in room below very clear and loud could do with a make over how ever will not stay again as did not sleep well through other guests being disrespectfull to others staying

    very basic was nice n comfy staff amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Decent Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but there was no fruit. Typical English hotel, all clean but looking quite tired in places.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly - made us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a quiet location, not too far from the town centre. The room (twin) was spacious and the beds were comfortable The WiFi worked well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    I love Crown Hotel, Skegness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure of the shower at the bath was not coming properly. A bit of pressure up will be excellent. I love the hotel and enjoyed it mostly. I am definitely coming back soon. Thanks. Ackah

    Everything. Services, staff, the rooms, neatness and etc

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff ok bathroom electrics need serious upgrade in my opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in room 102, on the first day i reported to reception the cold tap was constantly running, and i suspect had been for some time as it was still running freely 24/7 when we left 5 days later. The bathroom requires a total refit,the extractor fan cannot be tuned off even when the switch says it`s off. The heated towel rail can only be turned off by pulling the the fuse out, temperature outside was 30 degrees!

    Meals in the bar were very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    The food was lovely, we all enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen was dirty, there was hair in bed and the other bedding was soiled. It was disgusting to see that.

    The food was lovely, we all enjoyed it. I give it a thumbs up.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    We all had a great time and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing our granddaugthers thought it was great having a room of there owners

    Very good everything meet our approval We has a family had a great time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    1 night stay for family of 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice and big. It did need the carpet cleaning and the bath needed some work to get rid of the very mould seal. The mirror above the dressing table was in the wrong place I had to kneel on the floor to see in it. No plugs next to the bed was also annoying as had to use the one across the room tp charge phone during the night. It wouldn't take a lot to improve the room and it would make all the difference to the overall experience. Food in the attached lounge bar was really good -Sunday carvery at its best.

    Size of room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Recent getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little to far from the town centre on foot, to far for m grandson, taking the car incured car parking charges which are not cheap, only other issue, mattresses are far to hard and uncomfortable,, we were in able to sleep due to this

    Staff very friendly, always happy to help, meals were excellent including breakfast, varied choice, hotel very spacious,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, just a genrally a nice hotel, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs near side of bed or close to a mirror, carpet was too worn, and no 'do not disturb' sign to hang on door

    Comfy beds, just a genrally a nice hotel, good value for money, just felt relaxed and quite a long but nice walk to the centre of town, would defiantly visit again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Good night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairs and landing needs replacing as it lets the hotel down. Also the outside needs a spruce up to make it more inviting.

    The room was lovely,bed was very comfortable..the hotel is in a good location from centre of Skegness. We only stayed for one night before going to Butlins for 4 nights. Breakfast was good,would have liked some fruit and yogurt.Good choice of full breakfast usual bacon,egg,beans,tomato,hash browns,mushrooms,toast,tea,coffee, fruit juice.Hotel is in a quiet location too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Really comfy bed and modern room with lovely bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn’t great, being down the far end of Drummond road it would have been a long walk into the town/seafront so we just drove. My only other complaint was being told we hadn’t booked for breakfast which we had and had paid in advance when we booked the property

    Really comfy bed and modern room with lovely bathroom and bath, the rest of the hotel could do with an update on decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    The property was located near to Skegness town allowing good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were constantly covered in condensation which meant we had the window open the entire time we stayed. There was dirt (looked to be a sauce or food substance) on the bottom of the wall as well as on the bed sheets. There was dirt on the floor as if it hadn’t been hovered between guests. The bathroom door didn’t shut.

    The property was located near to Skegness town allowing good travel time to get into the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    It was just a place to sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the year we came for the first time we had pizza boxes and take away boxes with food rotting away inside. Smelt this aweful smell all week and didn't find out untill the end of the week when packing the bags and checking the room if we had got everything. This year we felt like the staff didn't want talk to us. Never asked what brought us here (which in fact was because we got engaged). We had two single beds pushed together rather then a double bed, the line in the middle where they pushdown the beds together wasn't comfy. Not going again anymore, we gave it a second chance

    The bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as i am a house keeper the first thing i did when i waked into the room was run my fingers across the tops of doors, wall railings, and above mirrors and pictures, there was a lot of thick dust, the rest of the room was lovely

    room was a nice size, as was the bathroom, lovely staff, a nice place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Not what the photos suggested
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Couldn’t have curtains open as we faced another room and there were no blinds. No phone in room. Walls very thin, could hear room next door using bathroom. Overall decor was tatty and carpets were filthy

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Will be staying again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t great, didn’t connect a lot of the time and certainly not strong enough for streaming, however we were on holiday so wasn’t that much of a miss.

    Staff were lovely, plenty of parking, 15 minute walk into town, Spar not far from hotel for snacks. Food was lovely, although a little pricey so only ate in hotel one evening. Good for families but only if your kids are happy to walk. We’ll be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    The food was excellent and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a good relaxing break the was a few small niggles. One was the constant humming at night kept me awake. It Could do with being updated the carpets were tatty and ill fitting and the decor was old. We did notice the down stairs had been done then they stopped. But overall we still had a nice break.

    The food was excellent and good value. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.8
    so poor left after a short time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception nice but got upstairs, carpets frayed and rippled causing trip hazard. Room basic and cheap. have a need for a plug socket at side of the bed. None. Went downstairs and asked for an upgrade, which I would pay for. All rooms the same with no plug sockets near bedside. Could I get an extension lead please? No Had enough. left. I was informed as I booked through Booking .com I had to apply to them to get a refund

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff very helpful and food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. Except the bed wasn't the best and not very comfortable, but that was all.

    Food was excellent and good value for money. Staff really went out of there way to accommodate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The staff were pleasant, room was nice and tidy, good off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot during the night, could of done with having a fan.

    The staff were pleasant, room was nice and tidy, good off street parking, good breakfast service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    It was a no frills over night stay for a quick seaside getaway. Wasn't expecting the ritz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom didn't feel very clean. Black scum round bath & very dated. Paint peeling on ceiling and heavily cracked. Large black stains on carpet in sleeping area.

    Comfy beds. Plenty hot water. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    The bed was very comfortable and the new bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and very tired carpets. Needed a good clean. Extremely noisy above us and could hear everything.

    The bed was very comfortable and the new bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    The Crown might just need a little TLC but overall not a bad place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the fans (I think that’s what it was) starting up for breakfast every morning woke me up but that because our room was over the kitchens.

    I knew the hotel anyway. I chose this hotel as it was closest to the function I was attending. Staff were very nice and helpful. Room was fine, beds were clean, bathroom was fine. We had the family room so lots of space for the kids and plenty on beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    We should of stayed 2 nights but were called away early can't wait to go again
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel

    The staff especially Abby was so friendly the receptionist was so helpful the bar lady extremely knowledge of the area nothing was to much trouble and the food was first class and the breakfast was superb all five star

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Cannot fault the hotel or staff would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the area it was in very much you couldn’t walk around in the dark the area was rough

    We had twin beds and they were very clean and comfortable,the room was nice with plenty of room and we could open the windows to let fresh air in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    a very comfortable stay and a lovely bathroom with ample fluffy towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we asked if a continental breakfast was available but the reception staff didnt know so we ate out instead .Some bits on the bedroom carpet but over all a nice and quiet room.We would stay again .

    the staff were polite and helpful.The car park was spacious and it was easy to park .lt was very quiet in the room .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely comfy room with a comfy bed, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not help to get a fan even though had stayed before and had one they said they did not have any.

    Lovely comfy room with a comfy bed, value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy old Avocado bathroom wouldn't have been so bad if it was clean. Wall tiles not been cleaned for a long time. Very old furniture in bedroom. No fruit or yogurt for breakfast. No continental option. Threadbare carpets on stairs.

    Friendly staff. Helpful chef. Made me porridge as not on menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Overnight Skegness Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint but Gammon steak (ordered at the bar) was a little too thick for the youngest daughter so possibly undercooked in the middle. Meal presented very well though.

    Family room having a separate bedroom for the girls. The cleanliness and size of the room and bathroom very good. Great having tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely help yourself breakfast. Cooked breakfast items all very fresh and hot. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    The cooked breakfast was really nice but we did have to wait...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was dated and there were cracks in our walls. We could hear what the people in the next room were saying aswell as them snoring which kept us awake. The double bed was too singles pushed together with a sheet ontop and they kept moving so we had to push them back together which for the money is annoying. The bathroom had a funny smell too but as only there 2 nights we didn't complain.

    The cooked breakfast was really nice but we did have to wait ages for the lady to serve us. The recpetionist was very helpful and allowed us to still use the car park after our checkout time. Would possibly stay again for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose a hotel off the main strip but didnt realise how far out it was at least 20 minutes walk so not that convenient to pop to the shops or beach and back. The shower has now power to it at all very slow running water

    The room was very clean and tidy, comfortable bed. There was ample free parking at the hotel. Very good buffet style breakfast choice of cooked or toast and cereals

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there 14years ago and it looks like nothing has changed everything is tired bathroom was in need of a new one Carpets on the stairs were thread bare Breakfast was poor. I waited 10 minutes for them to put more food out by which time everyone else had finished so I didn’t bother But not surprising from the owners of north shore

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the whole experience. Would like to see more variety of vegetables with the carvery.

    Enjoyed that the staff were able to cater for my 2 year old with heating up bottles of milk (even late at night) and provided us with an exceptional breakfast aswell as an enjoyable carvery. Very comfortable beds and very spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Shabby but not chique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communial areas very shabby and dirty. Carpets coming up and thread bare making them dangerous.

    Our room was large with a double window aspect. The bathroom was large and very modern. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Apart from the above, not too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dreadful, no power and to get more power you had to turn the temperature up to scalding. Couldn't shower the children. Did offer us a spare room for a shower but who wants to move in the hotel just for a shower.

    Easy to get to, ample parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    nice place, would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I appreciate there being a lift, it was quite old and I wasn't sure it would make it to the ground floor!

    Friendly helpful receptionist when we arrived. Room was clean and tidy. Bar was nice, staff again very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Good price & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit tired with grubby carpets

    The staff were very friendly & helpful. Ideal base to explore areas around Skegness. Within walking distance of the town & seafront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    My stay was good just too far from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought it was to far to walk with a 5 year old there was no bus running, I asked at reception, so I used the car it was very busy in Skegness being bank holiday and parking was expensive .

    The room was lovely clean and bright the bath and shower room was refreshing and of a good size I like the breakfast the bacon was the best I have had yummy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were thin so the illuminated lights outside constantly shone in. Plus the bathroom door was stiff to shut

    There room was lovely and modern yummy food in the morning and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Heating on
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot, we tried to turn down the radiators with no luck. It was muggy outside but having the heating on really did make it worse. The beds are pure spring so was very uncomfortable. In the morning the breakfast wasn’t great, no fruit, yoghurt or help yourself coffee and tea, The children’s high chair was a little dated and had no strap in between his legs for the over straps to click into meaning he was sliding out, we was greeted with good customer service however I would have licked a better breakfast. When we did leave in the morning we forgot all our toothbrushes, I called 10 min after leaving and left a message to which they should have called me back. 6 hours later I called again and they said they had saved them and left them for us to collect later that evening. I would have appreciated a call back however All in all it was an okay hotel to stay in just needs a few things tweaking.

    The staff where friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    the room we had was lovely very spacious the hotel was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    the room we had was lovely very spacious the hotel was clean the only thing wrong for me was one of the bar staff was rude when I asked about how long the food would take she didn't explain when I was ordering that there was a delay and was very annoyed when I kept asking most people usually like an explanation or an apology

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall if you just want somewhere as a place to sleep, eat and drink it was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom although clean, need upgrading. The Hotel was adequate as a "Base" or for Golfers, but not somewhere to spend an evening, other than for eating and drinking. A bit dull for anyone with children I would think. No where to sit comfortable in the room, only the bed or one stool.

    The Sunday carvery was excellent and the bar meals good. The staff were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: