Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crown Hotel 3 stars

All Saint's Place, Stamford, PE9 2AG, United Kingdom

#5 of 14 hotels in Stamford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1170 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be churlish to single out things the Crown has no control over. eg early morning refuse collection.

    Beds were extremely comfortable Bottled water in a glass bottles rather than plastic Refridgerated fresh milk for drinks in the room Preferred croissants that came from the local baker they were superior to the frozen variety

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little smaller than expected Room was really hot - fan was needed all the time

    Beautifully decorated room, comfortable bed and friendly staff Ideal location for walking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Superior rooms are ones to book. Some street traffic noise till late meant windows closed and ceiling fan on.

    Service at breakfast. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room not that big and a lot of street noise post 12pm from the customers leaving a club up the road. Only right- wing newspapers in the dining room.

    Comfy bed and excellent shower plus fresh milk in the communal fridge. Early check in and secure car park. Great location for going to Tolethorpe Hall and open air theatre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs downot to our room.

    Lovely food, good location. The only criticism is, we were in a basement room in the Town House which had very steep and narrow stairs going down to it, ok if your young not so good if your getting on in years.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It isn't maybe that we didn't "like" it, but it was different for us not to have a standing shower. So, not really a bad thing, but something to be aware of if you are someone who LOVES a long soaking shower. Also, the carpet in room 3 could use a refresh, but that is getting pretty nit-picky about things. It wasn't dirty, just pretty worn.

    We only stayed here one night, and both of us wish we'd been able to spend more time. Stamford itself is incredibly charming, and the Crown fits right in! The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the room itself was very large and comfortable. We got in very late at night and the staff was still very helpful and accommodating. It isn't your typical cookie cutter hotel, so I expected it to have quirks, and it did have some small ones but nothing that impeded comfort. Breakfast was included in our stay and was quite tasty. Would definitely go back and stay at The Crown in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they had had drapes in the Restaurant, it would have been more easy to hear what those at your table were saying. The acoustics were bad.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells ringing early in the morning

    Great location for town centre. Beautiful rooms, comfy bed, awesome shower and superb breakfast. The staff are super friendly too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was let disappointing. Eggs Benedictine so smothered in hollandaise that it was verging on inedible. Scraped it off and salvaged an enjoyable breakfast

    Very comfortable room with excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon the room was hot and stuffy. We had to have the windows open and for a Sunday night it was very noisy.

    Room was quaint. Shower awesome. Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite pricey for not having the wow factor when you opened the door! Stayed before and paid a lot less and the room we had was amazing, which is why we booked again, so slightly disappointed.

    Location great, atmosphere great, quite hot but staff very accommodating of this. Complimentary Prosecco in our room to help us celebrate our wedding Anniversary, This was a lovely gesture. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watched others at breakfast being asked what they would like, even though we were seated way before, and having to go to staff to ask for orders to be taken. After that, the waiter gave one word answers. Waited a long time for breakfast (as a group) and my breakfast personally was 5 mins later than everyone else's. 5 mins is a lot of time to watch others eat. in the many times we have stayed at the crown, and it won't be the last, it's not the normal service we receive. Normally spot on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two steps up from bedroom door to bed and en suite

    I was tired on drive from Scotland to south England so booked online one hour arrival not knowing Stamford is a very pretty town. My room was in little house across the courtyard and was comfortable, quiet, light and bright and had a pleasant garden outlook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bland and characterless. It was also very small. There was no natural light in the bathroom to let in fresh air and the window in the bedroom was stiff and couldn’t be opened hence the room was very stuffy. The bed however was quite comfy but the duvet which poked out of the corner of the cover was stained. On the morning of our departure the cleaning lady just walked in at 9am without knocking or calling out. Surely cleaning should have been left until we checked out at 11am. Service in the courtyard was terrible! We ordered drinks twice from two different waiters but both times these failed to materialise. So eventually we went elsewhere. On checking in we waited ten minutes before staff arrived to check us in. Whilst waiting we asked a waiter where we could park he looked at us but didn’t respond and hastily disappeared! We appreciate it was a busy bank holiday but there really was not enough staff to cope with the customers I. The bar and courtyard.

    Staff in the restaurant were excellent, attentive, pleasant and professional. The food was very tasty and well presented. We ate in the restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Breakfast was also a hit, lots of variety all well cooked and hot. Pleasant waitresses especially the more mature lady at breakfast! She was very sweet and made the best coffee. We liked the tiny flapjacks in the bedroom but the coffee was cheap and tasteless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom really smelt like cooking from the kitchen and it was incredibly hot in the room. A fan was provided. There was also a CD player but no CD's - we felt that was a bit outdated and it was shame we couldn't listen to music. I would also say it was slightly overpriced but it was a bank holiday weekend so this is understandable.

    The staff were lovely and welcoming and met our request for a bath in the room. The room was a lovely size and you couldn't fault the location. I also thought I'd lost my phone which I later found but the hotel were really helpful and called me back the next day which I thought was great service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t really find an issue with anything, but if there had to be something the room was a little stuffy (it was a hot day) however there was a fan provided so no complaints from us!

    Very comfy bed and the bathroom was incredible. An enjoyable experience with a very ideal location for a meal/night out close to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was not easily used in the annexe (Town House) but I didn't pursue it. I'm sure the staff would have sorted it if I'd asked. Steep steps to my room - fine for me but others might struggle.

    Bedroom was very comfortable. Shower excellent. Tea-tray has lovely flapjack snack!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Madam would have preferred conventional shower, had difficulty getting in and out of bath.

    Location and atmosphere makes this a popular venue. Which we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband's scrambled eggs were a bit sloppy!

    A good choice on the breakfast menu and everything was cooked fresh to order. A lovely pot of tea and a reasonable selection on the buffet table, although most things had run out by the time we got to breakfast twenty minutes before the cut-off time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming, historical building. Great modernization of bathroom. Loved the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast was generous and full of options. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    possibly a tad bigger room but at the end of the day you only sleep in it

    Nice clean and comfy rooms with spacious bath. breakfast to die for. nothing too much trouble and lovely friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too soft if you call that a problem.

    The quality of decor in the room was superb, the bed and bedding were excellent and the bathroom was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensure you represent the rooms accurately ( and truthfully) on website. Also drawers, hooks and a proper wardrobe helpful! Warn people it is centrally located so most rooms are very noisy at some point late night, very early morning. Include some lighter, more interesting dishes in the menu ( most dishes very much ' pub' food' )

    Close to shops. Helpful, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in Room 6 and found it very very warm,they had put a fan in the room but it was very noisy so not much sleep.

    Location is the best and also breakfast is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm and the windows were painted shut.

    We had a superior room and it was beautiful. The bed was amazingly comfortable. It was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the music coming through the floor when staff started at 6 in the morning. Almost like a hole in the corner of the room will sound from speaker coming through.

    Large bed which was very comfortable. Bath in the room was nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing to be aware of is that the parking in the car park can exceed capacity on a Saturday night, however there is free street parking overnight if that does happen.

    The room was spotless, the toiletries were lovely. Ideal location in the middle of Stanford. Breakfast was great, lovely choice and hot food all cooked to order - delicious. Beware the teacakes - they are huge!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated, especially bathroom. We felt B&B was expensive for the type and standard of room though location quite good of course. Car parking was a bit worrying and ill organised though it worked out fine as it happens.

    Staff were lovely, really lovely and despite being a very noisy hostellery downstairs, our room (no 1) was quiet (apparently those by road are noisier). Food was good and stafff knowledgeable about gluten free. Room was clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Struggled with and consequently did not use the separate hand/shower attachment - could not seem to get it to work (instructions to use might help) but it would not stop us staying again.

    All of it. Location great with a vg breakfast and superb evening meal, would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel on the strength of it having a car park, spent 10 minutes ringing the intercom and finally gave up and found a space about 500 yards away......was told by a very unhelpful receptionist she didn't answer because car park was full!! I think at least an offer of reimbursement for car parking fees would have been appropriate .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy outside until the early hours. Unfortunately the original windows didn’t provide any soundproofing. There are speakers in the bedroom that linked to a stereo but the one in the bathroom didn’t work.

    The roll top bath was lovely. The hotel was located right in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath towel for me . We informed the lady in the restaurant and when we arrived back at midnight 4 extra small towels had been delivered which wasn't ideal It was far too hot and the fan was too noisyto leave on all night . It was impossible to leave the windows open due to the noise in the street . All in all this is the worst experience we have had of this hotel having been 4 times now . Would consider not returning as had hardly any sleep .

    Location and stayed previously . Lonely choice for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and efficient staff, attractive decor, central location. Excellent shower Only downside was our particular room was very noisy as situated on the side of hotel facing the Pub on the opposite side of the road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was a lovely stay.

    The accommodation was wonderful, I had a great nights sleep and the breakfast was perfect. Was extra nice that we were allowed a full English breakfast as well as cereals and fruit. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed too busy at breakfast to make it enjoyable. Food was very poor. Think they wanted to get rid of us!

    Bed and pillows uncomfortable. Food not very well cooked. Waitress anxious to clear away breakfast before we had finished. No fresh bread

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of late night/early morning street noise so we did not sleep well. Unfortunately there was a power cut in the morning which meant that we could not even have a shower. Arrangements had been made so that breakfast could be cooked elsewhere but my husband's poached eggs were over-cooked. The power cut was not the Crown's fault but we ended up feeling slightly short changed for a relatively expensive one night stay.

    Really comfortable room and a good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little soft and lumpy for my preference

    Beautifully done throughout the hotel food was lovely in restaurant and breakfast excellent we were extremely lucky to be in the new townhouse

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this Hotel, Location was fantastic, if you are going to stay the rooms facing the church have a great view. Bar was buzzing, breakfast was suburb. If i was to be super critical the room was a tad noisy but it was the sound of people enjoying themselves outside, all quietened down just after bed time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit stuffy in the room but quite noisy with open window.

    Bed super comfy and lots of choice at breakfast. Yummy toasted teacakes. Fresh milk to go with tea in the room. Cosy bar and v. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lack of seating for residents to relax as the bar and restaurant was very busy. Too many stairs for us to climb to reach our room no.15 Maybe our next visit will be to a lower room.

    lovely comfy seating in the lounge. Nice and warm. staff very attentive and always a welcome smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the botton floor, and the toilet and shower would not clear away first thing in the morning, don't think it was blocked just poor plumbing , it couldn't drain away, may be a problem in the future,

    room was lovely just been done out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of street noise on Saturday night but that’s to be expected

    Location is great. Breakfast choices amazing. Staff are lovely Great drinks options in the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked the little fridge with fresh milk in the corridor. I liked the atmosphere of the hotel and the lovely waitress that served our breakfast on our second day (3rd April).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really the fault of hotel however Stamford gets rowdy on saturday nights and there was outside noise until 3am

    Excellent breakfast amongst other things

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little noisy - perhaps due to being a very old building! On returning to the hotel at c. 11:30pm, it took a very long time to raise the night porter to let us in. Constantly ringing the bell and then ringing the telephone.

    Very clean with quality fitting throughout. Secure car parking. Location right in the centre with walking distance to all amenities. Good service. Excellent breakfast and food throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room was upgraded on arrival, couldn't ask for better. The staff were fantastic, food great. Could not ask for a better location right in the middle of Stamford with a good secure car park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one gripe, barman could have asked if I was a resident before bluntly and pointedly telling me I couldn’t have a pint just before he called time.

    Very charming place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, I have no complaints

    The room was lovely and comfortable and I thought the hotel was gorgeous, it was in a great location, very close to the theatre which is where I wanted to go and very close to the shops and the bus station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No quibbles with a well-run hotel. A lot of thought has gone into making a stay there a pleasant experience

    Stamford people are fine and friendly, and the whole town is a delight. In particular, the dinners we had at the Crown were excellent (and very large). If you're having the roast sirloin on a Sunday, fast for a bit beforehand!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit noisy downstairs in the bar until closing but we were there on a Saturday night and Stamford seemed a very lively little town in general.

    lovely relaxing little courtyard. Lunch and breakfast both good. Water provided in the room and fresh milk from a fridge outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like a shower, my wife prefers a bath, our room had a bath, so a minor point really !

    Really good stay, nothing to complain about ! We had a walk around Stamford, and called into another hotel, more well known....not as nice as the Crown...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable. We brought our two dogs and they were made very welcome by both staff and customers in the bar. Stamford is probably the friendliest town we have visited.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not really worth the £155 price tarriff. The walls were very thin so we could hear both sets of guests on either side.

    Great food and lovely staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like our first room - huge bath in bedroom and washbasin too - Room No. 2 if it’s not your thing either. Not our idea of a luxury double room, but to some it’s “modern”?!?! Second room suited us better. All bathroom pieces behind the door in the bathroom!

    Friendly staff, attractive place. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small but ok for what we needed. We were woken up by a commotion at 4.30 am in the room opposite but this was the fault of the other guests not the hotel!

    Lovely comfy bed, staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very difficult getting into the car park wh the lorries parked in the street outside - would have loved a heads up before we arrived. Slightly odd having the fridge outside of the bedroom - would have liked slightly better quality of coffee in the bedrooms, but none of the above was a big problem for us. Just little improvements!

    The room was brilliant, the freestanding bah was such a luxury. The breakfast was delicious and nice to have cooked options that come fresh! All the staff were confident and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little too soft for our liking but did not deter from the whole experience

    The hotel was well placed for accessibility to all the shops, cafes, bars & restaurants in Stamford. The staff without exception were excellent & very friendly. The room was well appointed & very clean. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast presented us with a fabulous choice of both hot & cold selection. Michael was particularly kind & generous - thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom we were in (room 18 I think), was great except for the extractor fan, it kept me awake as it did not switch off and was on constantly.

    The Crown is always lovely, staff are helpful, meals are great and location is a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi not so good in room but not a big deal.

    Excellent customer service, friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. They made us feel very welcome. Hotel was buzzing but always managed to get served.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay there was a funfair in and around the streets of the town whose vehicles were parked very close to the hotel car park which made it extremely difficult to access.

    Our room was quite different from what we expected in that it was split over two levels, a downstairs room with flat screen tv and two comfy chairs and the bedroom upstairs with separate shower room & toilet, all immaculately clean with a great view of the church right across the road, and it seems that the room had recently undergone an extensive overhaul. The included Breakfast was excellent as well, so all in all a lovely stay and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was Not entirely suitable if you wanted an early night with noise from below , but not a game changer !

    Was shown to room which was a nice touch when checking in . Rooms fixtures and fitting were of a high order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent, very friendly staff, breakfast was delicious, bed was comfy and the sun shone what more could you want for a night away. And there was a carpark, very easy trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was excellent, and we really mean that.

    We thought the Hotel was spot on in what was provided for our stay. Food great, service great with a smile, our room was excellent, nothing to complain about at all. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi was poor, didn't work very well. Bed not very comfortable and room really hot. Breakfast nice but a little small.

    Good location, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with the size of the room - it was not big enough to accommodate a king-size bed. Also it would have been nice to have had a residents lounge to relax in.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel was well situated - we used to live near Stamford so it was lovely to visit there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred that an upgrade had not meant climbing up two flights of stairs!

    Besides the traditional breakfast dishes there were other original ones. Very good standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely & the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing & the staff friendly & welcoming. We would definitely stay again during our travels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'residents' car park suffers from other customers/users regularly blocking cars in with their vehicles. Wasn't an issue for me this time, but last time I stayed, I had to wait 60 mins to get a vehicle moved that was blocking me in.

    The location can't be beaten. The staff are always very friendly and courteous in the multiple times I've stayed at the Crown. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The dinner portions are very large and the food very tasty, but the breakfast is just perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The crown is a first class hotel , Room was very clean Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble . Food was very good .We will visit again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the stay I wasn't well. The staff could not have been more caring or helpful. They were outstanding. and we will go back soon to finish the holiday we had planned and which had to be curtailed because of my illness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where our room was situated it was fairly noisy at night from the road below with people going out or onto other places. Also the refuse collection was noisy in the morning, but maybe this is to be expected from being in such a good location.

    Fast, friendly & efficient check-in. Lovely clean room, good shower. Good location in Stamford. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff who could not do enough for us over the Christmas period. We stayed in the Town House with our lab and my parents were in the room next door. Wonderful stay Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, great food, comfortable accommodation and fantastic staff. Thanks for making our Christmas really special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Townhouse Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While ordering a bottle of prosecco at the bar, we asked for some water with it, so the young man behind the bar gave us pint glasses of water...I asked nicely if we could have a smaller glass/tumbler and he wasn't happy to help. All other staff were fantastic though and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Loved the big bathroom!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male hostess wasn’t very friendly towards us on two occasions

    One of the hostesses was exceptional, maybes Naomi ( heard people calling her nomes?)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing to dislike!

    Well appointed rooms, characterful breakfast room, top quality cooked breakfast, very comfortable bed, fresh milk for hot drinks, quality radio (in addition to the television), high class furnishings. All very well thought out and executed. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crown Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: