Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crown 3 stars

Stoke By Nayland, Stoke by Nayland, CO6 4SE, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 hotels in Stoke by Nayland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Generally very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy. Very disappointed with the bread.. It was like supermarket bread.

    Generally very nice. Beds were comfortable. Hotel is lovely. Staff are friendly. Area is lovely, we followed the walks in the maps provided by hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing break in the Essex countryside - worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take time to slow down in this village and enjoy this lovely pub, with it's amazing food and great service. The rooms are well appointed and nothing is too much trouble for the lovely team who work here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Country Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The Crown is a lovely hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was tastefully furnished, and the facilities were first rate. We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal, where there is a good choice of well cooked meals and a great atmosphere. The all inclusive breakfast is superb, with a huge choice of food prepared to order. The gardens in particular were beautiful, and the gardener should be congratulated for his obvious hard work and passion. Car parking is free and simple to access. Unusually for a country hotel, care has been taken to ensure easy access for disabled guests, and they should be applauded for this important consideration.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place and well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was OK but nothing exceptional and could be better for the (London-level) prices. Rooms could benefit from bathrobes being provided.

    Staff both lovely and efficient. Spacious and well-appointed room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Staff at hotel were impeccable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front of house staff in restaurant however could learn a thing or two from their collegues in hotel, I've never had a member of staff arguing and questioning our discontentment regarding a bottle of wine! Food however, FABULOUS!

    Staff at hotel were impeccable! Nothing was too much to make us feel at home. Rooms extremely clean, fresh milk for coffee/tea, in short , fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Superb little hotel with the added benefit of having an...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb little hotel with the added benefit of having an excellent pub/restaurant on the same site. I would certainly stay there again when I next visit Colchester.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Superb! Really looking forward to another visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fabulous cannot wait to go again ! Exceptionally comfortable beautifully appointed accommodation Loved the farewell bag of water and home made raspberry jam:-) Food in the restaurant was good too The wine list extensive with Loads of staff ensured everyone served in timely fashion and felt well looked after Well done

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Stylish, relaxed, comfortable in a beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I love this hotel and have stayed many times. everything is done with love, care and attention. Each room is different, cosy, comfortable and stylish. Bathrooms are huge. The restaurant is first class, fabulous food. The large haddock and chips is a delight (and the fish is LARGE). The puddings, if you can manage one, are the stuff of Masterchef.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Idyllic hiking/cycling retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wqas very busy in morning and evening, meant we had to wait for service a little longer than expected and some orders seemed to get lost/forgotten. But the staff were all really friendly

    Great location. Loads of excellent walking and cycling straight from the hotel. Deadham valley vineyard is a delightful 5 mile journey which I would thoroughly recommend. Food was very good, also, they dont consider May to be peak season, so got a bed, breakfast and dinner rate very cheap, on the bank holiday Sunday which was exceptional value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful characterful property in a peaceful rural setting in a sweet village with old houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious with a great variety to choose from on the menu, porridge & fruit salad were great! The bedroom was quiet and a nice big shower in the en-suite. All the staff on reception & restaurant were very friendly. When we checked out we were given a thank you bag with some mineral water (useful for our journey) and a lovely chutney! Thank you to everyone for a lovely stay. I would highly recommend this hotel. Very handy for visiting Flatford Mill, Beth Chatto Gardens & Lavenham.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, appartment like room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matteress, although very good quality and very new was a tad on the firm side.

    The rooms felt very private, almost apartment like. Extremely clean as expected. Wonderful service. Extra heating provided but not requiered with underfloor heating, french doors and private terrace a nice addition. Overhead shower and large bath with showerhead. The restraunt is a must, the selection is contemporary with classic influences a perfectly placed menu for the location, a worthy award winner!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, comfortable, luxurious and spacious room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, comfortable, luxurious and spacious room with a massive bath and roomy shower. The pub/restaurant is always busy due to its well-earned reputation for great food and excellent service. Staff were without exception attentive and cheerful. Good training evident. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    TOP GASTRO-PUB HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No car parking reserved for hotel guests only as main car park usually quite full

    Superbly laid out gastro-pub & hotel. Will definitely come again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    A nice short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good -- as ever! Not the cheapest, but always a high standard. We particularly like the 'no muzak' dining room policy; pity others in the trade don't follow!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bed were excellent, the bathroom was superb. The view from the room was obstructed by a tall hedge however at breakfast we were able to look out over the vale of Dedham.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Excellent - will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight niggle - view from the room was a tiled roof - and very close! Really didn’t matter in the winter. I would have probably asked to be moved had I visited in the summer

    The food was delicious, the staff very friendly, the room very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice modern hotel friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the dining room was excellent but on the first night had to remind waiter to bring our wine and mark the desert menu for gluten free items. Also no one asked if our dinner was ok. However this was done on the second night.

    Nice modern hotel friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very short walk to the pub from the hotel and while it is no problem for most it is more challenging when using walking sticks in the rain

    This was the perfect stop for a weekend with elderly parents. Delightful ground floor rooms and good food from a varied menu. Breakfast was delicious and relaxed as we watched the mist clear from the valley. We'll be back on our own to explore some more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a wonderful position. The hotel has a large number of tables on the lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would quite have liked to vacate the room at 12 o'clock instead of 11 o'clock.

    The breakfast was extremely good . You chipsene from a menu. Service and good highest quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    The pillows were sumptuous but I didn't find the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were sumptuous but I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable and so did not sleep well! And the view from my window was quite simply a roof in front of it, so no view whatsoever and there was a lovely view out there, so was not not impressed with that! Otherwise room/place/food were really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our window was a roof .

    Staff were very welcoming, the room was well appointed with all the extras one would expect. Again the bathroom had both a bath and walk-in shower. Breakfast next morning had a good variety of dishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, immaculate room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overnight room rate for the hotel good, given the high standard of accommodation but the food and drink prices have risen sharply since my last visit and will make me reconsider staying again.

    The views across the fields from the garden area are stunning. Rooms are beautifully styled and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    lovely Saturday night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and very informative about the local area. The room was lovely and clean, tea and coffee facilities available. The shower in the en suite was great. The food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park at certain times was conjested, with no allocated parking for people staying at the hotel.

    The facilities were very good and the food at the restaurant was superb. I would recommend the hotel to friends and family, a lovely weekend break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows extremely soft. Personally I prefer firmer pillows and the bed was a little hard. If there was a choice or mixture of pillows and the bed could be softer it would really enhance the comfort and luxurious feel. A bath would have been wonderful as I was there to relax, but the shower was powerful, warm and spacious and relaxing.

    Staff wonderful, very friendly and keen to help - both in the pub and the hotel. Food excellent. A lovely, peaceful relaxing break. I was staying alone and it was perfect for me as a woman alone I felt comfortable and safe and had everything I needed. A relaxing location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    An absolute treat for tired hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mini bar and the coffee making facilities are tucked away behind a cupboard door. This is an elegant solution, but the fridge warms up the cupboard and the bottle of red wine in it is everything but the right temperature... (ok, I am being picky).

    Enormous, soft and warmed-up bath towels: a perfect treat after the day walking the Essex way... The shower is fantastic, the bed really comfy, the breakfast excellent. The pub/restaurant is very pleasant. This place has a lot going for it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    The Crown deserves its name. Glorious.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I might have liked a treadmill and stationRy bike. I am not too outdoorsy.

    The staff. The views. The food. The cocktails. The quiet in the room but the noise in the dining rooms. The willingness of everyone. And the village was a bo us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice quiet location and a relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was separate from dinning room/pub, which means going outside the get there. Also no lounge area to relax. Reception very close to ground floor room.

    The rooms were very nicely furnished, and the bathroom was spacious with a walk-in shower and nice toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, foodie weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, spacious room. Quiet location meant a fantastic sleep. The hotel is a stone's throw from 2 excellent restaurants and the village shop. Nice views to wake up to. Room 106 had a superbly comfy bed and super-deep bath. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were delicious and great value. Lots of parking - we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff despite a fairly late arrival on a Friday evening.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite expensive but worth it.

    The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful - particularly the reception staff but also the bar and waiting staff. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    Our guests enjoyed their fish and my wife enjoyed her beef burger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal, mackerel rarebit very small, lamb disappointing tough and for me too rare. Traditional roast lamb preferred, sweet toffee apple sponge tasteless. Menu perhaps too clever eg. What about a nice homemade raspberry pie with crisp pastry and a blob of ice cream.

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cramped for breakfast

    Shower excellent, outside areas very attractive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    A very well laid out accommodation area set away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very well laid out accommodation area set away from the attached pub, very friendly staff and very clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable. Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Lovely location and ambiance. Comfortable and well appointed room with excellent facilities. Really good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Returning customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small point, but the view from room 209 could be better!

    Great service and standards..................and NO music!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Everything is amazing at the crown - 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming the rooms were of a very high standard . The towels were soft ! The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very well presented excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay that we would repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly haphazard service in the evening. Felt we were forgotten about at times. It was busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Good..........as ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Returning customer, and it's always good. I particularly like the fact that there is no awful muzak blaring. Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very clean and comfortable room , on suit excellent
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too short a stay

    Very clean and comfortable room , on suit excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We world have preferred þó stayed longer

    The room, excellent service, outstanding food, and helpful and attending staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    One of the best pub with accomadation I’ve ever stayed in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Rooms, service and pub to a very high standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Can’t wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stunning and the staff incredibly helpful. Breakfast was amazingly delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall was exce
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have mentioned the special offer/s when I was making the booking by phone.

    Dinner was good to excellent. Staff was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was hard, which kept my husband awake. The towels were also hard not soft like is usual in hotels

    Lovely menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    The Crown was an excellent choice in an idyllic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Crown was an excellent choice in an idyllic place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great food and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The houle experience

    Absolutely spot on

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Food was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One starter was cold but soon sorted

    Room was brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully comfortable, warm welcome, spotlessly clean and amazing food!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Room, facilities and food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, facilities and food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay! Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was completely delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely brilliant and can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The quality of the furnishings, the customer service, room was perfect. Faultless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    I will stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the evening was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great as you were served with your breakfast and I like that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambience and how helpful the staff were to all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Our room was lovely and everything had been thought about. Breakfast was really tasty and lovely staff throughout our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Easygoing, friendly staff, excellent food and peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power shower a bit too powerful.

    Easygoing, friendly staff, excellent food and peaceful location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only ate on site but it was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Free upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free upgrade

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Most Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and Flaky

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Overall experience great, but spoilt by slow order taking for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening ordering service in the restaurant of each course should have been quicker. Once ordered no problem with service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Superb Country Pub Hotel Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent meal in restaurant followed by overnight stay in a beautifully clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and welcome break; we shall return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were of fantastic quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic little hotel in a beutiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast. Super friendly staff in a beutiful village. Thankyou! We had a great stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Food was excellent, rooms were very clean with everything...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent, rooms were very clean with everything you'd need. Wifi was also great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Private owned pub which care was taken with guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather !!!!

    Food lovely and great breakfast which was served to you by chef

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    room luxurious, nice little touches, fresh milk for coffee,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    i didnt have the opportunity to have dinner

    room luxurious, nice little touches, fresh milk for coffee, bathroom stunning, great bar, nice atmosphere. breakfast was a winner, lose the watercress

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The staff at The Crown were all so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all great!

    The staff at The Crown were all so helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was superb and our room was lovely with a dual aspect onto countryside.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having stayed here in November and made a point of returning because we had enjoyed it so much, we were a little disappointed: the room was smaller; the dinner not quite as good; there was no acknowledgement of the power cut; they still insisted on reserving the worst table in the restaurant for hotel guests (it's the one by the door and gets cold blasts every time anyone goes in and out); the breakfast really wasn't up to standard (cold bacon, black bits on the fried eggs...); the service from some of the staff (not all) could have been a little better. However, the positives would probably win and we would go again and give them another chance. Next time, I'll ask to have a different table at dinner..!

    The bed was very comfy. The shower was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Amazing shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay included us eating in the the pub. Unfortunately the baked egg starter was raw and had to be sent back to the kitchen. A replacement was made however the waiting were not very apologetic considering it was raw egg.

    Amazing shower. Lovely comfortable room. Great accommodation next to the pub which served excellent food. Reception very friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    7.5
    Food excellent, the chef has got it right!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom had absolutely NO view, literally adjoining the bedroom window was a roof top. Unbelievable it was allowed to be built that way, never seen anything like it before and we have travelled all over the world. Bedroom itself was delightful couldn't ask for more but very much spoilt by monstrosity of an adjoining roof. Great shame.

    Food excellent, the chef has got it right!

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: