Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Crown Hotel Stone 3 stars

38 High Street, Stone, ST15 8AS, United Kingdom

#5 of 5 hotels in Stone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 953 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    I’ll never book website states 3* but no where near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, website is misleading better than premier in

    Need refurbishment very badly to modiste to standard of premier in also expensive than premier in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Despite Booking.com screwing up the reservation, the hotel were very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for the shower but the staff explained beforehand and gave me a discount on the room.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating especially since Booking.com messed up the reservation for me and several other guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Cracked window / window wouldn’t shut as the catch was...
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked window / window wouldn’t shut as the catch was broke. No hot water coming through the shower and it was like the water was struggling to come thru no bathroom items also when arrived the door was broke and wouldn’t lock so had to move rooms really disappointed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Tired and weary
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness, paintwork sills & skirting, dust on furniture & fabrics, carpets marked. No hot water at sink No bulb in vanity light Toilet seat not secure Window faulty, didn't close Generally tired surroundings We paid extra £10 to enter the room early + extra £15 for supposedly large portion breakfast

    Bed linen was clean, crisp & white however we decided not to look beyond this.... Staff friendly and polite Recommended good taxi firm

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    None of the showers in all 3 of our rooms worked and were dirty 1 of the sinks had hair clippings in it All rooms smelt stale The beds were uncomfortable with springs sticking up from the mattress The entrance to the Lodges was dirty and smelly

    Staff were friendly Great location for eating out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Good customer service but a very basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the rooms, the initial room was very very basic (small tv, no Wi-Fi, no bath etc). The pictures and description online was very misleading. Not much menu option, and if you're a vegan or vegetarian not really anything at all.

    Really nice manager; upgraded us for a very reasonable price, pleasant to deal with, helpful when we had requests etc. Hotel was on a high street and accessible to lots of other places, including nice restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    Don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was horrid. The rooms in the annex were terrible and had a smell that permitted our clothes the next day. I don't know where the photos were taken but not in the room we were allocated. Would never return and would not advise anyone else to use this hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating, stains on walls, the showers weren't great (more dripping then running water.)

    - The staff were brilliant 10/10 for service. - Pretty decor in the dinning area - Great location (city centre)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    3.3
    Nothing, really dirty bedsheets dirty pillows, broken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, location main in high street by the pubs, noisy dirty rooms. Really bad

    Nothing, really dirty bedsheets dirty pillows, broken mattresses, dirty carpet. Stayed for 3 nights but got the bedsheet changed. Very poor, please avoid

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Okay for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were in an annex separate from the pub itself.rooms were clean but very basic and tired.

    The location was excellent and the public house was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    It's alright but needs to be cleaner and better organised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cleanliness was not good, booked breakfast night before and they had no idea in the morning, asked for a big breakfast and got the small one and was charged for the big one

    The lady working there was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    The TV worked and the staff were friendly on arrival
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a funny smell and the shower didn't work. The sink tap also sputtered when turned on.

    The TV worked and the staff were friendly on arrival

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Shocking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was there to like? We paid for a deluxe room to then be told on check in the hotel had a leak so we have put you in a room on the car park which I can also say was not a deluxe room which didn't have enough toilet paper and was filthy to then complain at reception for them to say they can only offer me a courtesy breakfast which my reply was do you think I could eat in a place like this???

    The location was the only thing it had going for it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Stayed in The Lodge which was, to be honest, looking a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in The Lodge which was, to be honest, looking a little tired. No hairdryer available in our room, had to ask several times for one that was eventually acquired from the main hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Great for being central for Stone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived there was no hot water which was very annoying as we were getting ready to go to a party (the reason for our stay) then the toilet seat had stains on it, the taps in the bathroom leaked and the sink wasn’t clean. The hotel just looked very un kept and old fashioned. The staff didn’t really know what they doing but were pleasant. Would not be staying again.

    Great for being central for Stone. Right in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    Abysmal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouser press in room broken. Room tired . Water stains on walls in corridors. Advertised as a deluxe room but was told the executive doubles are the luxury rooms !! A big and very annoying con. Strong smell of chip fat at reception. Cheapest food ingredients at breakfast asked for soft poached eggs and they were served rock hard!!!!!

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were in bad condition in need of a refurb stains on the carpet wallpaper coming off , no bible in the room, bed was uncomfortable and hard . They didn't have any bacon or sausage for breakfast slow service at the bar .

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Not as described on hotel voucher. Very poor. Rust in bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in main hotel not in the annex as ststed. TV did not work. No telephone. 2 cups but only 1 saucer. I tea spoon not two. Room noisy as looked out onto main shopping street. Wedding evening do going on when we returned at 10.15 pm very noisy. Would not have been able to get to sleep as too noisy with wedding going on so did not stay the night but went home instead. Would not recommend it.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Large room and very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room and very comfortable bed. A very old, worn hotel with a creaky wooden staircase but very atmospheric and right in the centre of town. The tv in our room did not work, but staff very quickly moved us to another room, so no problem there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    The ladies on reception went above and beyond - they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies on reception went above and beyond - they arranged a room move just because I didn’t have a tv remote . They also moved me to a really lovely room in the main hotel . I would certainly stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing, poor communication, room was unclean, unprepared, poor standards generally.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 5 rooms over 2 nights, bedrooms very scruffy, unprepared and dirty. The second night was cancelled, as other colleagues refused to stay as a result, but still charged full rate for all rooms. We booked in somewhere else so in affect paid double. No argument or any crossed words about it just a very very disappointing experience. Hotel does not respond to or acknowledge email communication, and have not received invoices for payment , now 3 weeks ago which is the last straw as to why I have written any kind of a review for the first time ever!. If your preference and request is for a comfortable night is for a clean bed, fresh linen and towels, and hot water then chose another hotel. Budget is one thing, basic standards are another. Lesson learned, I should have heeded the poor reviews previously posted, rather than trying to read between the lines

    The receptionist lady was as helpful as possible under difficult circumstances.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    It was cheap!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in the 'Crown Lodge' which were the cheap seats at back of hotel, so I am sure the main hotel rooms are better. Reminded me of university student accomodation in the 80's. But for only £47.00 what did I expect!

    It was cheap! Breakfast was huge!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Stone Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old run down hotel with limited, but friendly, staff. Room was in the annex and was not too clean. No hot water. Bulbs blown in bathroom and bedside lights. No contact with reception ( phone). No water glasses. Sink plug had chain missing. TV had little reception. Net curtains and window sills were very dirty

    Location was perfect. Breakfast was cheap and good. Price was about right after paying for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room we had was bigger than i expexted and as a christian family we loved that there was a bible in the room. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were amazing. Breakfast 10/10

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Central location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very hot even with window open and two fans going. It was also quite noisy. We could have also done with one double bed and two singles.

    Central location was great. Wifi was brilliant. Also room was large and spacious. Bathroom clean, with a very good shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly we were being told overbooked in the main hotel and told us the sub hotel was 3mile away (actually 7miles by car). Secondly we were being told we would get breakfast as complementary in the sub hotel, this had being told to the sub hotel manager, but they told us the kitchen was closed, actually there were no breakfast at all.

    The staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    If my experience was related only to Room 2 .. I will consider another stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very uncomfortable. The outflow of the kitchen extractor fan was positioned outside our bedroom window (Room 2) and it made the temperature in the room at night extremely uncomfortable

    The hotels location to where I needed to be was excellent. Plus it had onsight parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    not worth the money and would not stay their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds were uncomfortable , no toilet roll holder ,shower was cold and useless , tap in bathroom would not switch off the rooms and property was like going back into the 70s needs to be updated and I would not recommend at all

    nothing apart from beds were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Sad. This used to be a pretigious hotel. I think it is being run into the ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lemons behind the bar for the third year running. Three of the beer taps empty. the whole place just has a feeling of don't care.

    The convenience of it being on the High Street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfy...warm welcome...at a great price....!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from lack of TV channels in room...

    The attitude from the housekeeping staff especially the young lady with the dark hair.....nothing was to much trouble....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    trying hard not to be negative about this place but i will be honest the hotel seriously needs a lot of work to bring it up to standard it is an old building and appears that renovations are underway it looks old and tired but room linen was clean i hope this is taken in the light it is meant to be it was an old building and it looks it

    the staff could not be more helpful the breakfast was very good check in and out was a simple process

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    A potentially very fine hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not available, kitchen closed, but local cafes available after 8am.

    The staff were extra helpful and moved me to a better room when there was a problem with the original one. Sumptuous comfort, extra long bath, so spacious. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very clean and comfortable,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel online pictures do not match the actual hotel decor, it very run down and the carpets are badly stained. The room was excessively hot and being on the ground floor, it was not exactly safe to have the window fully open.

    The bed was very clean and comfortable,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we wasn't shown to our room which was back out through the car park and hard to find! On entering the room at around 1030 it was like a sauna, hairs on the bed, cobwebs everywhere and tiles missing in the bathroom and a horrible drip from the shower head! There was no customer service and we had to then pay double the price to get into a suite room as there was no chance or sleep in the original room!

    Not much, the receptionist as we was leaving is the only reason we weren't so angry as we felt sorry for her having to apologies on behalf of other staff members the hotel owner and how the hotel is portrayed on booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a booking for 2 rooms. 1st room: Given wrong room on arrival, then second room had been slept in and was not ready, the 3rd room was dirty, double not twin, NO APOLOGY for mix up, no hot water, odd bathroom light setup....had to use phone to go to toilet in the night. No fan in very hot room, windows wouldn’t open. 2nd room: Main bed was very uncomfortable, room very dirty, stains on chairs, tv not working, sign on shower saying to run for at least 10mins before use, the creakiest floor ever, woken twice in the night by noisy deliveries outside to local shops. Average breakfast On a positive note....the towels were nice!

    Towels Free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic nothing like the pictures, the shower door didn’t close, one towel provided to two people, the tv didn’t work, the light also did not work and the was no toiletries provided as you would expect. Also the lock was broken on the main door and there is no WiFi in the actual rooms.

    Good location and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and run down. There was a cig but in the bathroom and mould everywhere. The sink also had not been cleaned out. Very noisy too. The bed was dated too, curtains was absolutely mucky. And shower was luke warm.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Clean room, bedding cleanliness excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation. Was extra hot period, could not cool room, fan was provided. Corridor even hotter. Stair area curtains filthy. Entrance door lock repair alarming. Room doors slamming shut, horrible banging, unavoidable.. Shower head fixed too high, water pressure/amount dismal.

    Clean room, bedding cleanliness excellent. Cleaner very pleasant. Even though my heart sank as I got on the bed and felt the bed springs, it was a comfortable supportive bed and I slept well. Not pestered with rules/signs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Ariel for the tv, the door to the room was not secure, there was no air con etc and they decided to do their bins at half 5 in the morning incredibly loud. The bar has no drinks to serve lucky there was more pubs and restaurants around

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Uncomfortable and very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were awful- so uncomfortable I felt bruised all over and hardly slept The hotel had run out of everything as waiting for a delivery- no crisps, gin and only 2 cereals choices at breakfast There was also a group of drunk people staying who were so loud until 9p.m and again from 2-3 a.m

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A Brilliant Hotel with everything you need to hand, great staff hands down remarkable value!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing I found at fault after getting everything correct was during the morning my room was above the kitchen and the clashing of glasses and loud talking of staff was very irritating and in my opinion very ignorant of a paying customer sleeping as clearly they know where the rooms are. But apart from breakfast time it was very peaceful and not such a big deal but that is the only fault I can voice. Be more aware of where customers may be sleeping especially if you have a loud carrying voice and talk more than listen.

    It was centrally located in a great hotel location in the centre of Stone lots of places to eat and my personal favourite an Indian restaurant on the corner of the hotel. A fully licensed bar with great staff a very clean and comfortable room, with soft bathroom towels always replaced each day and clean bedding when requested. Literally cannot fault this place I stayed for 5 nights for a total of £185 which was the cheapest accommodation any of us found. I will be staying again for sure in the new year booking in advance for a better deal. Staff were very nice and very helpful. Breakfast was great and worth the additional £5.95 a day. I literally can’t fault this hotel it really was spot on in my opinion. Morrison’s also across the road and free car parking to rear very handy place to stay additionally very close to the motorway. I initially chose it as it was the cheapest price I could find as a working Engineer I’ve stayed in some bad places for double the price in various parts of he world, but what a pleasant surprise when I realised everything was available to me even a barber shop to get my hair cut. I will definitely be staying again, after literally having no word of a lie a perfect stay. Some pathetic plonkers in my opinion gave this hotel a bad review for some reason my room was perfect clean and quite. TV channels were sufficient, iron and board in cupboard as well as hair drier. It had everything except the big price tag such as the Marriott and Hilton’s of the world putting the Holiday Inn and Holiday Express for example to Shame. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very dated. A sign greeted us saying run the water for at least 10 minutes but in fact the hot water trned out to be good although noisy. TV didn't work whole of our stay. We stayed 3 nights and the room was not serviced once although clean towels were left outside the door each day. We have been promised one nights refund but still awaiting it.

    Bed quite comfortable and bath ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    After the Stones...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no pressure. Rooms a bit tired but comfy enough.

    Used Crown only as a stopover on our way back to Scotland after Rolling Stones gig in Cardiff. £32 for a double room for the night and a full English breakfast for extra £5. Room was comfortable and clean. Dining room was nice with large fireplace and staff were polite and helpful. Location was good and easy to find. Would use again if in area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and acceptable for rates charged, but outdated in interior fittings. pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of a serious make -over and update. Also include breakfast in the rates. Trouble is Wetherspoons is five minutes walk away with everything available.

    Locality of hotel to town centre with free parking, close to all amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very run down and damp. There were springs sticking out of the beds, the bathroom was very small and I don’t think it had been clean, and the windows hardly opened for some fresh air

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    A hotel which has obviously seen better days and is in desperate need of a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the fact that the hotel advertised meals, there were none available (no chef). The bar was a "pub with no beer" - no proper beer available on hand pump, the person behind the bar admitted that he knew nothing about beer. Cooked breakfast adequate, but the alternative for anyone not wanting a cooked breakfast very poor. The waiter, who was very friendly and cheerful, seemed surprised that I might want jam on my toast. Hotel clean enough but everywhere looked as if it needed a lick of paint.

    Bedroom very spacious. Despite the notice telling me to run the shower for ten minutes before using it, it worked immediately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is absolutely gorgeous it has all its original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is absolutely gorgeous it has all its original features gorgeous staircase and big spacious rooms. When we checked in we was greeted by a lovely friendly lady who couldn’t help us enough and also throughout our stay. The beds are a little hard but was able to have a lovely nights sleep. I’d recommend to everyone to stay at this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Yes it was value for money with the exception of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Room 11. The facilities matched the price with the exception of the bed. The mattress was like a trampoline and slopped from both sides into the middle. A new mattress is required

    Good location with free car parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing - cannot recommend this accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    T.V. Channels were confusing and totally different from the normal. i.e. BBC 1 was channel 50 ITV Channel 51 - First room offered to us did not have a remote control. Hotel did not have restaurant facilities in the evening. Breakfast, compared to other hotels, was poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.8
    A formal complaint has been raised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, not as any photos shown on the website, tv didn’t work, whole refurbishment needed

    A formal complaint has been raised. We were booked in to ‘flat 2’ it was awful on every level

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.9
    If you stay in Stone, stay somewhere else in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had an unclean smell, the carpets were stained and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. There was no hot water in the first two rooms we were given so we ended up moving our stuff to three different rooms with no help offered from the staff. The facilities were poor and this was not value for money.

    The hotel was close to the local shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, not so great bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was incomfortable, we were constantly rolling towards the edge of the bed. Not a good night's sleep!

    Great central location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Old and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic acomodation. Old furniture and tired decor. The taps in the bathroom didn't work properly and only two Howells and two cups for three people

    The location in the centre of town was great. Lots of shops, cafes and bars in walking distance. The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Lovely staff but appalling facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was completely knackered - just a pile of springs. No door closers on the corridors in the 'Lodge', so every door banged shut throughout the night when people went through. Thin walls meant you could hear taps running etc from other rooms.I cancelled my second night's stay as I couldn't bear to have TWO sleepless nights.

    The two staff that I met were lovely and couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room hadn’t been cleaned properly. Dirty towels in bathroom and rubbish in the bin. Steak and ale pie for evening meal. Tasty at one end. Freezing cold at the other - not fully heated through. Breakfast I asked for two poached eggs. They were rock hard.

    Size of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    asked for a groundfloor room or as close to lift as possible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    asked for a groundfloor room or as close to lift as possible,as wife has a breathing problem.offered a top floor room ended up in a room with two short flights of stairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    A nice comfortable room, breakfast was good and a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and stuffy but it was a particularly hot , humid few days.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Better than a Travelodge and would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious, bed was really comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The price was a lot better than other accommodation in the area and I believe it was great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and spacious room. building needs TLC. Plumbing totattly unsatisfactry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing was atrocious in both the rooms we occupied. We had no hot water and only a few minutes of warm water despite fiddling with the taps for many minutes in both rooms. If this could be resolved we would use again, or for a 1 night stay having showered before we arrived.

    Very traditional if a little tired. The location was perfect! Staff very helpful and friendly. dis not use the restaurant. The room was great very large and comfortable, with a seating area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice if you don’t want a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in the room didn’t work. Was told someone would come and fix it by no one ever arrived. The shower in the room didn’t work. When we complain was told they were fully booked and there was nothing they could do. The next morning we complained again as it had been a very hot night. We were given a key to another room to shower in but the water was freezing. The hotel also smells of greasy food

    Stone is beautiful, the hotel is central and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Mixed review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have done with some work. The shower did not fit in the bracket on the wall so you had to hold it and there were no toiletries. The room was ridiculously hot. When the room was cleaned after our first nights stay my used mug was not cleaned away and the drinks tray replenished. The TV aerial did not work. It was like staying in a budget hotel with a larger price tag, it’s a shame that a few points let the hotel down as it did seem like a nice place to stay!

    The staff in the hotel were great and very helpful especially the night man. The hotel was a great location to be able to walk to the bars. The downstairs of the hotel was lovely in the reception area. I had requested before I arrived that some balloons were put in the room and this had been done really well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Actual hotel building is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside building our room was in was outdated and not very attractive at all.

    Actual hotel building is beautiful. The village is gorgeous with plenty of restaurants and bars. Close to Alton Towers too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Ok but feeling all the springs in mattress gave poor nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not immediately easy to find. Entry to hotel not attractive / obvious. Room was in a different building to the hotel. Only enough coffee / milk for 1 cup of coffee - if I'd wanted 2 on day of arrival or in morning had to go and find someone to ask for more. Bed was very uncomfy - mattress needs replacing. Room noisy from traffic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Staying in a period property like the eighteenth century Crown Inn is an experience not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being refurbished and with a period property many details to be attended to. The ceiling lights in our room did not work and, unfortunately, the shower leaked so could not be used. We are sure these defects will be resolved though, once a full maintenance check has been completed.

    The whole historic character of the hotel is a big plus. The dining room with its glass domed ceiling, the lounge with its side-pillared fireplace and authentic period staircase are features that put you in touch with the elegance and good taste of the past.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    somewhere to sleep, thats about it. oooh plus a good local pubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a waste of time

    The hotel itself is old has a lot of character, however, the room are contained in separate building that is old and sad. My room had TV remote. The worse bit was the shower, or should I say the lack of a shower. Very very little water flow through he shower and the shower head holder was broken so could not fit it to the wall. Would have rinsed off better stood in the car park when its raining. The rooms need updating BADLY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Bed, Bath and Beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom (Room 10) door has no handle on the inside. Having to grasp the Yale lock to open the door seems a bit awkward, and I can imagine someone with limited dexterity struggling a bit. The curtains could do with lining (or add a blind behind).

    Speedy filling bath, wide soft bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Not a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the annex which is in dire need of refurbishment. Everything is run down. Carpet was stained; no mattress protector; mattress torn with springs showing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Not 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated room and bathroom. Uncomfortable mattress with only a single thin pillow each. Two additional dirty pillows without cases in the wardrobe. Dirty coffee mugs. Stains on carpet. Poorly shutting outside door. Wasn't expecting luxury for the price at all but definitely not worth a 3* rating.

    Quiet area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    situated in the centre of town but with parking. Stay adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is shabby with peeling wall paper, cracked woodwork & peeling paintwork, dirty 'white' net curtains, stained carpets and smelt of cooking. Shower was difficult to turn on & off and bedside lights didn't work although they did change them for working ones and gave us extra towels when asked.

    water was hot & the tea was good, bed & towels were clean although not sufficient for 2 people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Do no stay here sleep in your car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the place is a dump , found a previous guests t shirt in the bed we slept in absolutely disgusting ! Expect a full refund , will upload pics of the bathroom vile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Convenient at the time.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'modern annexe' is definitely not modern, and the rooms were basic at best - the photos on the website do not reflect reality. The rooms were fairly clean, although the heating could not be turned off and the window opened on to a brick wall. There were also no bulbs in the lamps. Not only was there no wifi, there was no decent phone signal in the annexe.

    The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Stone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Quality does not worth the high price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 26 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dirty with dusts everywhere. I found two small worms in the bathing towel. Room was not cleaned everyday. Even when it was, they just made the bed but did not change the bed sheet or pillow case as I noticed that the stain on the sheet remained there for at least a week. The toilet did not flush very well and the water tap made weird annoying noises. Generally, it is bad and I would not recommend.

    The location is very accessible, close to train and bus stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Deluxe it certainly is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room, given a double. Staying with my daughter so needed the twin I had booked. Could only give me a twin in the lodge opposite. The room redefines the word "deluxe" as per the booking description and a shower needs to spread water not come out in 1 dribble. Sat on the bed and the other end rose up by itself........not the experience I had hoped.......oooh and it was 22 degrees outside yet the heating was on all night with no thermostat or ability to turn off radiator!!! That just about summed it up.

    Staff at least had a smile on their face.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower was terrible. Room heating was on , it was a hot day and took ages to cool down. Only one towel provided and spare pillows didn’t have pillow cases. Tv remote was difficult to use, couldn’t remove sub titles

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely people and lovely room was huge and the bathroom was big aswell and was really really clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior needed a little work on the actual hotel like stains on the walls as you go up the stairs but the rooms were immaculate

    The room was huge and it was around a lot of things

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: