Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of No 45 4 stars

45 Braemar Road, Ballater, AB35 5RQ, United Kingdom

#1 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Ballater

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 367 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Excellent accomodation in a beautiful part of the country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely bright and clean room with a spacious comfortable four poster bed. Breakfast was excellent. Really friendly hosts, will definitely be back for more than one night next time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great stay in No.45. The room (and especially the bed) was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was very well equipped (got to love floor heating), and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk to center - fine in good weather, not so good in wind & rain.

    Everything about the place- friendly welcome, helpful staff, comfortable accommodations, outstanding breakfast; a special touch - locally sourced & fair trade products.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Charming period shabby chic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some updating, but that’s minor when compared to the gentle ambience.

    Great location and comfy rooms. Excellent Scottish breakfast and lovely staff & host. I did think it was expensive compared to where we stayed in a thoroughly modern place the night before. However, the setting was beautiful & peaceful and helped relieve the stress of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Recommended without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floorboards and low water pressure - quite typical for such an old building, and certainly didn't detract from the experience. TV could have been bigger.

    Wonderful friendly atmosphere - staff who genuinely care and are interested in your visit. Bedroom was perfect, bed comfy, very clean etc. Breakfast was excellent - definitely try the locally made bread. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    It was a very nice stay and I would recommend No 45 to anyone looking to stay in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am used to a bed that is a bit softer, but that wasn't a big deal. I'm glad that we didn't need the heat because we had no idea how to adjust it.

    The owners are lovely people who care about creating a nice stay for their guests. The breakfast was very good and the room where you have breakfast is very nice. They are in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, Great breakfast, friendly service, Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Hotel - Excellent clean rooms. Breakfast was delicious and included home grown and home made plum compote! Whiskey/honey porridge too! And to top it off, Teddy the puppy was friendly and fuzzy! Alison was friendly and accommodating (we arrived quite late).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Well located within Ballater as easy to walk to restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located within Ballater as easy to walk to restaurants, bars and shops. We were a little later checking in due to car trouble but were greeted warmly by the owner and shown around. Lovely room which had been tastefully refurbished. Breakfast buffet was good with an array of local produce including some excellent homemade granola.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Really beautiful accommodation - without doubts the best during our Scotland holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No45 is really beautiful accommodation - without doubts the best during our Scotland holiday. We were absolutely satisfied, owners were perfect, accommodation beautiful and breakfast excellent. We hope to come again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was lovely everything about it was very relaxing, we had a huge bed and everything was really clean and fresh. The host was very friendly and the breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The location was great, the staff very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, the staff very helpful and nice. The bed (king size) was the best bed we have slept in in the UK! So comfortable! Wonderful breakfast too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very good location in Ballater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location in Ballater. Nice hospitality and very comfortable room. Our family of three stayed in the Garden Room and it was really lovely. A great plus was the large bathtub in addition to a shower. The breakfast was delicious. Really a gem of a place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Good B&B with excellent breakfast but rather pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the property satisfactory . The room was comfortable but not exceptional. The bathroom good. The breakfast was really exceptionally good . But I did think £135 was pretty expensive - the place was full so clearly they can command that. I had booked at about 2/3 weeks notice . Supply and demand.

    Comfortable traditionally decorated room. Good modern bathroom with plenty hot water. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The place is wonderful to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is wonderful to stay in. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are comfortable. Alison our host was so hospitable and helpful. Our delicious breakfast was prepared by Ali. Very highly recommended for families and/or individual travelers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Suited all our needs would happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Great breakfast and nice conservatory for relaxing. Good location - near enough to town but not on top of it. Good engaging staff & Teddy the dog was great !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, superb place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had a great stay.

    Great location, easy walking distance to town. Lovely big room, very quiet even with the windows open as set well back from the road. Comfy bed, good shower. Excellent breakfast, loads of choice. Great hospitality and enjoyed being greeted by handsome Teddy the cockapoo. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. A warm welcome, spacious and well-appointed room and sumptuous Scottish breakfast in the morning. Set in a lovely garden setting and in a perfect location for walks in the area as well as access to the village centre and local eateries. One could not ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Lovely hostess/owner, very friendly and knowledgeable and assisted us with needed information . Breakfast room beautiful, light and airy, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Lovely large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large comfortable room....very friendly, helpful hosts and very generous tasty breakfast....a lovely spot to relax and just enjoy the surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location and a wonderful breakfast in the observatory...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location and a wonderful breakfast in the observatory that overlooked a beautiful garden. Teddy the dog was a fun bonus and the owners could not have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best breakfast we had in Scotland and that is a big call! The shower had excellent pressure and flow. The views were typically Scottish highland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Room was great: good bed and nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great: good bed and nice bathroom. Everything was nice and clean! Breakfast was really lovely and everyone was super friendly. Would definitely stay again if I need to be in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Perfection and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative.

    The property is exceptionally clean exudes quality. Nothing is too.much trouble for the owner and staff. Worth every penny. If you are lucky you will meet Teddy who is also a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming guesthouse in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome on arrival and a beautiful spacious room. Very comfortable stay with great home cooking for breakfast! Only a few minutes walk from town centre and an ideally location for touring round Aberdeenshire.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a king double room. Room was a reasonable size with a four poster bed. But the bathroom was small indeed the basin was in the room. This was pointed out and we could have changed but didn’t seem worth making a fuss. In the quiet of night there was an irritating buzzing noise (from the kitchen maybe) the source of which was outside the room. Meant to point it out but forgot. Breakfast was Ok but there was a bit too much self service. In trying to offer ‘fancy’ coffee, the hot drinks machine struggled to cope. And the toaster seemed a bit temperamental too. Overall just slightly less than good. Would probably try elsewhere if we passed that way again.

    Easily found with plenty of parking. Friendly people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely guest house for a fabulous short-break in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ran out of hot water in the morning, which made for a very short shower. Not something you really expect from a high-end guest house. However this was the only issue we had.

    Lovely guest house in the lovely village of Ballater. Owners made us feel very welcome. Room was lovely and the bed was super-comfortable. Great breakfast as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Honeymoon Stay at No. 45
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved staying at No. 45. My husband and I were touring Scotland on our honeymoon. Allison was so nice and welcoming. We loved how peaceful and relaxing our stay there was. It's decorated beautifully too! I would highly recommend No. 45 to any fellow travelers. They do really try to make you feel comfortable. We even walked into town for dinner which was nice! Breakfast was hearty and delicious too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure very low in shower and dining room was cold when wenot down for breakfast. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

    Helpful and friendly staff. I didn't see written instructions for coffee machine in front of the machine - and she still patiently showed me how to use it! Walking distance to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this lodge. The proprietors were most welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend it to one and all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    We loved Teddy😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was wonderful!

    We loved Teddy😍 Our room was superb as was our tasty brekkie. We also enjoyed the homemade banana bread and the best fruit scones ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Very homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint would be that the pillows weren't the most comfortable, but to be fair, it is a bug bear for me in most places. I would definitely revisit.

    The host was lovely. The breakfast was amazing. The place was lovely and clean and there were no noise disturbances.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location for short break away
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Loved how friendly staff were, always looking to exceed guests expectations. Hotel great. Loved how pet friendly hotel was. Cannot fault No.45 at all. Well done!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class hostess and accommodation. The breakfast was first class and all produce was either local or home made by Alison. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Very much enjoyed it. We would certainly recommend to a friend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small. It was a room that was pet-friendly but with a Labrador puppy we could have done with a little more room. The shower was not very powerful.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Wonderful breakfast, definitely above and beyond and worthy of a 5-star dining establishment!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Great little B&B for our night away would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House was quite cold on on arrival including our room and the bathrooms was even colder, it was a cold day outside but would expect towel rail to be switched on in bathroom plus radiator in the room switched on higher for our arrival

    Friendly service from the owner, clean room, comfy bed and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    We would highly recommend No.45, a great place to stay in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a fantastic stay at No.45. Alison is a fantastic host and was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The room was very comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfast was wonderful - the best we've ever had! Having the lounge with the open fire on hand was also a real bonus as was meeting Teddy the red Cockapoo, an adorable and friendly wee guy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    very cosy, friendly and lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owners and very willing to help us out with our trip. Rooms were astonishing and fire places were very nice and warm as it was getting colder during our visit. Breakfast was superb! 👏

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great hosts, wonderful property and a proper Highland welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our stay

    A beautiful property maintained to a very high standard. Very welcoming with wonderful bed and delicious breakfast. Breakfast room was great with a fire roaring as it was a frosty morning. A must!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location within walking distance of Ballater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within walking distance of Ballater. A very clean and quaint property. Our hosts were wonderful especially Ted the cockerpoo and breakfast was generous, well presented and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a four-poster bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to serve breakfast half an hour earlier than usual so that we could head early to the mountains. Breakfast was all homemade..jams, granola, croissants :o)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    The perfect location combined with outstanding home made breakfasts
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfasts with all the home made products, beautiful location, comfortable room & genuinely nice hosts who were willing to go that extra mile to make your stay perfect. Thank you so much Alison & Les.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been improved upon.

    Very friendly and pleasant host and hostess.room very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful location. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable and in a really beautiful part of Cairngorm National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like good shower products and would have liked nicer smelling hand soap/gel etc.Scottish Fine Soaps or similar would have been preferable to me, but it's very subjective.A small point.

    Lovely traditional house set well back from the road, so very quiet. Superb breakfast - muesli,granola, good yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses and homemade jams.Excellent home made scones.Full fry up too as well as smoked salmon and eggs options.Owner and her husband were so welcoming and interested.5 mins walk to Ballater village,a beautiful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The Best. Period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the most welcoming and pleasant places we ever had the pleasure of staying at, run by a wonderful and most helpful couple. The breakfast is definitely one of the best as well. Plenty of parking spaces and great walks to be made in the area, one of them actually starting at the back entrance of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location and first class breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stepping over bath into shower. Hot water was scolding should be adjusted.

    Breakfast was excellent. Great sitting rooms. Conservatory was light and beautiful outlook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    I want the owners to adopt me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Our trip was very spontaneous & booked the night prior. I searched in great detail all of what was available from 25 miles outside of Ballater. The pictures do not do this place justice. It was cleaner than most 5 star hotels. The bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was beautiful. The floors are heated in both the bed & bathroom. Our hosts were so friendly & accommodated a hearty breakfast that was suitable for our vegan diet, which even included fresh fruit grown from their own garden. It was everything I hoped for & more. The fire in the sitting room was cozy to read by. It was everything you could want in a getaway to the highlands of Scotland. Beautiful does not do it justice. I cannot recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    lovely place to stay in a cute village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a fan of sinks in bedrooms, but that's just my thing.

    The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. we both found the breakfast very tasty, my husband particularly liked the local Balmoral bread. we were given local recommendations for places to eat in the evening and both turned out to be little gems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Our hosts raised the bar for congeniality and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wished we could have stayed longer.

    Our hosts raised the bar for congeniality and accommodation. So much that that we truly regretted having to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    What a lovely place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a lovely place to be. Alison and her husband are so nice and lovely to their guests. Very charming rooms, excellent breakfast in a beautiful wintergarden. Thumbs up!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    This is a lovely old house run by a reall welcoming helpful couple.Large room,comfy bed,great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that detracted from our stay

    Lovely home made granola with all the trimmings; Home made scones; wide range, selection and variety for breakfast; freshly squeezed orange juice; great coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice B&B in a good location in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor wifi - this could easily be fixed. Terrible shower - very low water pressure. Late check-in time of 4pm.

    Nice property. Good location. Good size room with plenty of drawers and hanging space. Quiet at night. Short walk into the centre of Ballater. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really nice.

    The couple who run this Hotel have just taken over,were lovely,very friendly.It is a lovely place to stay,not too far from the Town Centre.They made us feel very welcome indeed and the breakfast was outstanding,by far the best one for us over the course of the week,as we were doing the NC500 route trip.I would certainly recommend this place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location for Ballater and Balmoral. Charming owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early and there was no one available to even talk about the possibility of an early check in until 4 pm precisely. The bathroom shelving was insufficient for a woman's normal range of toiletries.

    Breakfast was really good and the lady owner was helpful and charming. The town center of Ballater is easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great, friendly hosts and excellent, high quality breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, friendly hosts and excellent, high quality breakfast served in the beautiful conservatory. The room was large and comfortable with a really big bathroom, nice towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    An Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing needed improving...just wish we could have stayed for a few nights instead of just the one.

    Very comfy bed and large room. Bathroom had fluffy towels and a hot shower. Also our suitcase was carried up the staircase to our room which was appreciated. Breakfast in the conservatory was wonderful. A coffee machine and milk frother with wonderful bread made by a local baker for Balmoral Castle were just a few of the little extras No 45 offered. We had a comfortable stay and enjoyed ourselves. We were also given a printed list of places to eat with details including average price of meals. Also our host suggested we book which was good advice as when we phoned the particular restaurant was booked out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Guest House in Ballater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about No. 45.

    No 45 is a beautiful property, very well located in Ballater. Our room ( 2 ) was extremely comfortable and quiet, with everything we wanted in the room. Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts were extremely helpful and pleasant. We had 3 nights at No. 45 and loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    We were made to feel very welcome. The location is great and the accommodation matches it. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need. The bed was really comfy and the breakfast fabulous with a great choice, (I can heartily recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and the Balmoral bread) We were able to have a gentle, level walk into Ballater in the evening quite easily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Our favorite B&B in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We, unfortunately could stay only one night. We wish we had more time to enjoy the hospitality.

    Service, breakfast, super clean, modern, functional bathrooms and well designed bathrooms, spacious rooms, great comfortable beds. Wonderful hostess, very accommodating, cheery and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Penella and Gordon were excellent hosts and had clearly thought about everything to ensure our stay was comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and having tea making facilities (+ delicious biscuits!) in our rooms was very welcome. We enjoyed having access to two large guest lounges where we could relax together. The only problem was that we had no wifi signal in our rooms, so we went to the lounges to access the internet, which was fine. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A great choice in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the upstairs superior room and couldn't fault anything. The bed was huge and really comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden. Everything was clean and tidy, and the property is wonderful, with a grand staircase and lovely old wooden furniture that really suited the Victorian property. We also liked the choices available for breakfast, not just with fruit, cereal and hot food, but also that you could have different types of coffee and make your own toast. The local ingredients were lovely and everything was cooked to order. I'd recommend No 45 to anyone visiting Ballater.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Heaven in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and accomodating as we phoned to tell that we will arrive late. Room and facilities were perfect. Breakfast was divine. Location is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A dream B&B!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that could have made our stay any better!

    No.45 was our first accommodation in Scotland after leaving Edinburgh. The peace and quiet, the hospitality, the friendliness of Penella and Gordon, the clean, spacious rooms and the wonderful breakfast were all so welcome after the hustle and bustle of the city. There were six in our party and all agreed we would have liked to have stayed at least another night!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    trip to balmoral castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing we enjoyed our stay.

    the owners are really nice people who looked after us,accommodation was very clean and comfy ,lovely breakfast nothing was to much trouble would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    And the weather was beautiful too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was problematic during our stay, but not greatly impacting our trip.

    Beautiful location and village with welcoming hostess. Excellent to have the extra space of 2 lounge areas. Recommended dinner venue was good for us. The room including bathroom were very good and clean, with fluffy towels and quality bathroom products. Lovely breakfast. Parking in the front courtyard is a welcome inclusion. Thank you Penella.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one chair in our room and a stool at the dressing table......Would have preferred another chair in room. There were two lovely lounges for use by residents which were lovely and well equipped.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bedding of good quality. Lovely large fluffy towels and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was made to order and very very good. Lots of choices in cold buffet and hot breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    No.45 is in a beautiful location with a short walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.45 is in a beautiful location with a short walk into Ballater and good parking. Room fresh and modern. Would have liked to listen to radio on Sunday morning but didn't seem to have facility........this is the only minus! Breakfast brilliant. Hosts welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable B and B friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast tasty lovely homemade fruit purée and jam Fresh local produce

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable stay with the best ever breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional breakfast and the informality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The B&B and its hosts was absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B&B and its hosts was absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Great place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast was very delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very delicious. The owners were very friendly. Beautiful establishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Wish I was there longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ballater is the perfect location for any reason. No 45 compliments this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great Place to stay in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!

    Very nice rooms. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Very nice and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very nice and cozy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Thank you Alison for providing such a comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you Alison for providing such a comfortable and relaxing stay. Really just terrific!

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: