Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of No 45 This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

45 Braemar Road, Ballater, AB35 5RQ, United Kingdom

#3 of 10 hotels in Ballater

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.2
    Suited all our needs would happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Great breakfast and nice conservatory for relaxing. Good location - near enough to town but not on top of it. Good engaging staff & Teddy the dog was great !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfortable, superb place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, we had a great stay.

    Great location, easy walking distance to town. Lovely big room, very quiet even with the windows open as set well back from the road. Comfy bed, good shower. Excellent breakfast, loads of choice. Great hospitality and enjoyed being greeted by handsome Teddy the cockapoo. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. A warm welcome, spacious and well-appointed room and sumptuous Scottish breakfast in the morning. Set in a lovely garden setting and in a perfect location for walks in the area as well as access to the village centre and local eateries. One could not ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    Lovely hostess/owner, very friendly and knowledgeable and assisted us with needed information . Breakfast room beautiful, light and airy, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Lovely large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely large comfortable room....very friendly, helpful hosts and very generous tasty breakfast....a lovely spot to relax and just enjoy the surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Great location and a wonderful breakfast in the observatory...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location and a wonderful breakfast in the observatory that overlooked a beautiful garden. Teddy the dog was a fun bonus and the owners could not have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best breakfast we had in Scotland and that is a big call! The shower had excellent pressure and flow. The views were typically Scottish highland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.6
    Room was great: good bed and nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great: good bed and nice bathroom. Everything was nice and clean! Breakfast was really lovely and everyone was super friendly. Would definitely stay again if I need to be in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Perfection and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative.

    The property is exceptionally clean exudes quality. Nothing is too.much trouble for the owner and staff. Worth every penny. If you are lucky you will meet Teddy who is also a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Welcoming guesthouse in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely welcome on arrival and a beautiful spacious room. Very comfortable stay with great home cooking for breakfast! Only a few minutes walk from town centre and an ideally location for touring round Aberdeenshire.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a king double room. Room was a reasonable size with a four poster bed. But the bathroom was small indeed the basin was in the room. This was pointed out and we could have changed but didn’t seem worth making a fuss. In the quiet of night there was an irritating buzzing noise (from the kitchen maybe) the source of which was outside the room. Meant to point it out but forgot. Breakfast was Ok but there was a bit too much self service. In trying to offer ‘fancy’ coffee, the hot drinks machine struggled to cope. And the toaster seemed a bit temperamental too. Overall just slightly less than good. Would probably try elsewhere if we passed that way again.

    Easily found with plenty of parking. Friendly people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely guest house for a fabulous short-break in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ran out of hot water in the morning, which made for a very short shower. Not something you really expect from a high-end guest house. However this was the only issue we had.

    Lovely guest house in the lovely village of Ballater. Owners made us feel very welcome. Room was lovely and the bed was super-comfortable. Great breakfast as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Honeymoon Stay at No. 45
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved staying at No. 45. My husband and I were touring Scotland on our honeymoon. Allison was so nice and welcoming. We loved how peaceful and relaxing our stay there was. It's decorated beautifully too! I would highly recommend No. 45 to any fellow travelers. They do really try to make you feel comfortable. We even walked into town for dinner which was nice! Breakfast was hearty and delicious too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure very low in shower and dining room was cold when wenot down for breakfast. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

    Helpful and friendly staff. I didn't see written instructions for coffee machine in front of the machine - and she still patiently showed me how to use it! Walking distance to town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this lodge. The proprietors were most welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend it to one and all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    We loved Teddy😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about our stay was wonderful!

    We loved Teddy😍 Our room was superb as was our tasty brekkie. We also enjoyed the homemade banana bread and the best fruit scones ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint would be that the pillows weren't the most comfortable, but to be fair, it is a bug bear for me in most places. I would definitely revisit.

    The host was lovely. The breakfast was amazing. The place was lovely and clean and there were no noise disturbances.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect location for short break away
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Loved how friendly staff were, always looking to exceed guests expectations. Hotel great. Loved how pet friendly hotel was. Cannot fault No.45 at all. Well done!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First class hostess and accommodation. The breakfast was first class and all produce was either local or home made by Alison. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Very much enjoyed it. We would certainly recommend to a friend.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small. It was a room that was pet-friendly but with a Labrador puppy we could have done with a little more room. The shower was not very powerful.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Wonderful breakfast, definitely above and beyond and worthy of a 5-star dining establishment!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great little B&B for our night away would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    House was quite cold on on arrival including our room and the bathrooms was even colder, it was a cold day outside but would expect towel rail to be switched on in bathroom plus radiator in the room switched on higher for our arrival

    Friendly service from the owner, clean room, comfy bed and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    We would highly recommend No.45, a great place to stay in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a fantastic stay at No.45. Alison is a fantastic host and was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The room was very comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfast was wonderful - the best we've ever had! Having the lounge with the open fire on hand was also a real bonus as was meeting Teddy the red Cockapoo, an adorable and friendly wee guy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    very cosy, friendly and lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owners and very willing to help us out with our trip. Rooms were astonishing and fire places were very nice and warm as it was getting colder during our visit. Breakfast was superb! 👏

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Great hosts, wonderful property and a proper Highland welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our stay

    A beautiful property maintained to a very high standard. Very welcoming with wonderful bed and delicious breakfast. Breakfast room was great with a fire roaring as it was a frosty morning. A must!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Great location within walking distance of Ballater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location within walking distance of Ballater. A very clean and quaint property. Our hosts were wonderful especially Ted the cockerpoo and breakfast was generous, well presented and delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a four-poster bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to serve breakfast half an hour earlier than usual so that we could head early to the mountains. Breakfast was all homemade..jams, granola, croissants :o)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    The perfect location combined with outstanding home made breakfasts
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfasts with all the home made products, beautiful location, comfortable room & genuinely nice hosts who were willing to go that extra mile to make your stay perfect. Thank you so much Alison & Les.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing could have been improved upon.

    Very friendly and pleasant host and hostess.room very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful location. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable and in a really beautiful part of Cairngorm National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like good shower products and would have liked nicer smelling hand soap/gel etc.Scottish Fine Soaps or similar would have been preferable to me, but it's very subjective.A small point.

    Lovely traditional house set well back from the road, so very quiet. Superb breakfast - muesli,granola, good yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses and homemade jams.Excellent home made scones.Full fry up too as well as smoked salmon and eggs options.Owner and her husband were so welcoming and interested.5 mins walk to Ballater village,a beautiful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    The Best. Period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the most welcoming and pleasant places we ever had the pleasure of staying at, run by a wonderful and most helpful couple. The breakfast is definitely one of the best as well. Plenty of parking spaces and great walks to be made in the area, one of them actually starting at the back entrance of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.2
    Great location and first class breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stepping over bath into shower. Hot water was scolding should be adjusted.

    Breakfast was excellent. Great sitting rooms. Conservatory was light and beautiful outlook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    I want the owners to adopt me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Our trip was very spontaneous & booked the night prior. I searched in great detail all of what was available from 25 miles outside of Ballater. The pictures do not do this place justice. It was cleaner than most 5 star hotels. The bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was beautiful. The floors are heated in both the bed & bathroom. Our hosts were so friendly & accommodated a hearty breakfast that was suitable for our vegan diet, which even included fresh fruit grown from their own garden. It was everything I hoped for & more. The fire in the sitting room was cozy to read by. It was everything you could want in a getaway to the highlands of Scotland. Beautiful does not do it justice. I cannot recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    lovely place to stay in a cute village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a fan of sinks in bedrooms, but that's just my thing.

    The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. we both found the breakfast very tasty, my husband particularly liked the local Balmoral bread. we were given local recommendations for places to eat in the evening and both turned out to be little gems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Our hosts raised the bar for congeniality and accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wished we could have stayed longer.

    Our hosts raised the bar for congeniality and accommodation. So much that that we truly regretted having to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    What a lovely place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a lovely place to be. Alison and her husband are so nice and lovely to their guests. Very charming rooms, excellent breakfast in a beautiful wintergarden. Thumbs up!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    10
    This is a lovely old house run by a reall welcoming helpful couple.Large room,comfy bed,great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything that detracted from our stay

    Lovely home made granola with all the trimmings; Home made scones; wide range, selection and variety for breakfast; freshly squeezed orange juice; great coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.2
    Nice B&B in a good location in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor wifi - this could easily be fixed. Terrible shower - very low water pressure. Late check-in time of 4pm.

    Nice property. Good location. Good size room with plenty of drawers and hanging space. Quiet at night. Short walk into the centre of Ballater. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was really nice.

    The couple who run this Hotel have just taken over,were lovely,very friendly.It is a lovely place to stay,not too far from the Town Centre.They made us feel very welcome indeed and the breakfast was outstanding,by far the best one for us over the course of the week,as we were doing the NC500 route trip.I would certainly recommend this place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    9.2
    Great location for Ballater and Balmoral. Charming owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early and there was no one available to even talk about the possibility of an early check in until 4 pm precisely. The bathroom shelving was insufficient for a woman's normal range of toiletries.

    Breakfast was really good and the lady owner was helpful and charming. The town center of Ballater is easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Great, friendly hosts and excellent, high quality breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, friendly hosts and excellent, high quality breakfast served in the beautiful conservatory. The room was large and comfortable with a really big bathroom, nice towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    An Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing needed improving...just wish we could have stayed for a few nights instead of just the one.

    Very comfy bed and large room. Bathroom had fluffy towels and a hot shower. Also our suitcase was carried up the staircase to our room which was appreciated. Breakfast in the conservatory was wonderful. A coffee machine and milk frother with wonderful bread made by a local baker for Balmoral Castle were just a few of the little extras No 45 offered. We had a comfortable stay and enjoyed ourselves. We were also given a printed list of places to eat with details including average price of meals. Also our host suggested we book which was good advice as when we phoned the particular restaurant was booked out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Guest House in Ballater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing to dislike about No. 45.

    No 45 is a beautiful property, very well located in Ballater. Our room ( 2 ) was extremely comfortable and quiet, with everything we wanted in the room. Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts were extremely helpful and pleasant. We had 3 nights at No. 45 and loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    We were made to feel very welcome. The location is great and the accommodation matches it. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need. The bed was really comfy and the breakfast fabulous with a great choice, (I can heartily recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and the Balmoral bread) We were able to have a gentle, level walk into Ballater in the evening quite easily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    10
    Our favorite B&B in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We, unfortunately could stay only one night. We wish we had more time to enjoy the hospitality.

    Service, breakfast, super clean, modern, functional bathrooms and well designed bathrooms, spacious rooms, great comfortable beds. Wonderful hostess, very accommodating, cheery and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Penella and Gordon were excellent hosts and had clearly thought about everything to ensure our stay was comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and having tea making facilities (+ delicious biscuits!) in our rooms was very welcome. We enjoyed having access to two large guest lounges where we could relax together. The only problem was that we had no wifi signal in our rooms, so we went to the lounges to access the internet, which was fine. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    A great choice in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the upstairs superior room and couldn't fault anything. The bed was huge and really comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden. Everything was clean and tidy, and the property is wonderful, with a grand staircase and lovely old wooden furniture that really suited the Victorian property. We also liked the choices available for breakfast, not just with fruit, cereal and hot food, but also that you could have different types of coffee and make your own toast. The local ingredients were lovely and everything was cooked to order. I'd recommend No 45 to anyone visiting Ballater.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    Heaven in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was friendly and accomodating as we phoned to tell that we will arrive late. Room and facilities were perfect. Breakfast was divine. Location is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    A dream B&B!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that could have made our stay any better!

    No.45 was our first accommodation in Scotland after leaving Edinburgh. The peace and quiet, the hospitality, the friendliness of Penella and Gordon, the clean, spacious rooms and the wonderful breakfast were all so welcome after the hustle and bustle of the city. There were six in our party and all agreed we would have liked to have stayed at least another night!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    trip to balmoral castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing we enjoyed our stay.

    the owners are really nice people who looked after us,accommodation was very clean and comfy ,lovely breakfast nothing was to much trouble would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.6
    And the weather was beautiful too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was problematic during our stay, but not greatly impacting our trip.

    Beautiful location and village with welcoming hostess. Excellent to have the extra space of 2 lounge areas. Recommended dinner venue was good for us. The room including bathroom were very good and clean, with fluffy towels and quality bathroom products. Lovely breakfast. Parking in the front courtyard is a welcome inclusion. Thank you Penella.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Ballater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had one chair in our room and a stool at the dressing table......Would have preferred another chair in room. There were two lovely lounges for use by residents which were lovely and well equipped.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bedding of good quality. Lovely large fluffy towels and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was made to order and very very good. Lots of choices in cold buffet and hot breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    8.8
    No.45 is in a beautiful location with a short walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No.45 is in a beautiful location with a short walk into Ballater and good parking. Room fresh and modern. Would have liked to listen to radio on Sunday morning but didn't seem to have facility........this is the only minus! Breakfast brilliant. Hosts welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    10
    Great location for Balmoral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little more expensive than the average B&B but worth it I think.

    Nice folks, beautiful facility, excellent breakfast! Don't see rhubarb very often. The proprietress made it. Tasty. Wifi was very strong. Location perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    Wonderful B&B, in delightful garden setting, close to Ballater, host delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The host made you very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Standard of cleanliness absolutely excellent. Breakfast excellent too. Fabulous place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    10
    Great Ballater hospitality for the Etape Royale!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broadband could be stronger. Pretty minor fly in a fabulous ointment

    Great breakfast, Penella & Gordon were exceptional. I had a 5am start for the Etape Royale cycle race. Fab breakfast & kind encouragement helped me complete 100miles in less than 6&a half hours🚴

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the heart of the Queen's Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small bar, or perhaps an honesty bar, as the hotel was little way out of town.

    Marvellous Breakfast and lovely hosts. I wish it was a little cooler as the open fire places in the lounges looked extremely inviting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    10
    The best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of a thing.

    Most lovely host and the breakfast was wonderful. Beds were the best. Beautiful garden and home. It was a top favorite on our trip!.,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything was good about this place. Large clean rooms and ensuite bathroom. Comfortable bed and lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Great attention to detail!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    Perfect B&B. We enjoyed every minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Lovely welcome, the place was a fantastic house very well located with amazing room, and the breakfast probably the best we had this summer in Scotland. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely b&b, with great room and host. Almost perfect 9.5/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extractor fan in the bathroom was very loud and could not be turned off when the light was on. Potato scone was undercooked a bit.

    Very clean, rooms were very nice and most of the food was great. Host was very pleasant too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    10
    Friendly & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing we didn't like.

    Comfortable bed, very good en suite. Linen/towelling all excellent standard. Heart Chocolates on towels lovely touch. Breakfasts delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent B & B in one of Scotland's most Beautiful villages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A fabulous breakfast with locally sourced produce served in a lovely conservatory overlooking a beautiful garden - large quiet comfortable room and bed - river walk from the back gate - a beautiful place altogether with Cairngorms and abundant castles to visit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Price was reasonable for the area and time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extractor fans running during the night, Kept waking up with the noise (vibration transmitted through the walls).

    We were pleased that the oldy worldy look was not replaced with modern decoration. Lady of the house was pleasant and informative.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    8.3
    the bed which was a 'queen size' was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed which was a 'queen size' was extremely comfortable and therefore had a good nights sle.ep. Also the b&b was very convenient to the small town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.2
    You won't regret choosing this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little - but if asked to nitpick - some gentle music in the conservatory over breakfast would have eased the self-conscious whispering at the tables!!

    Wonderfully cared for in all ways - the food especially was exceptional, particularly the potato,apple and onion 'cakes' and the porridge with cream and whisky liqueur! The room was spacious and well furnished, the bed vey comfortable, the linen of excellent quality and the hostess welcoming and helpful. Two guest lounges provided games, books, maps of local walks etc - and a peaceful retreat. Lovely in all ways - would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful highland setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Short walk to the centre.

    Set in a beautiful part of the Highlands this guest house was lovely. Quiet and peaceful got a great nights sleep in a four poster bed. Breakfast was delicious and good value. Host was very pleasant. Book dinner in Ballater as the restaurants get full quickly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal base for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing springs to mind

    Helpful and friendly hosts. Good advice on restaurants and booked a table for us!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Pleasant older style property run by a couple. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    This was a great place to stay , staff excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a great place to stay , staff excellent, accommodation excellent and only a shame we stayed one night . We will be back . Well done

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Staff were very helpful with a problem we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very helpful with a problem we had. Room and house beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.5
    It’s a lovely place to stay friendly, clean the breakfast was good, and the bed was so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The welcome, the dog, the breakfast, the bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast and the house if beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast and the house if beautiful. Even the dog is very welcoming :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast, our hoist made us feel very welcome and a great base to explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The owner made us very welcome and was very attentitive to ensure we had everything we needed to ensure our stay met our expectations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pleasant and cosy

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: