Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Derby Conference Centre 4 stars

London Road, Derby, DE24 8UX, United Kingdom

#5 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Derby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1026 B&B reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Much more charm and character than the National chains but at a similar price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the Bar in the evening due to a private function.

    Nice breakfast. Good value. Lovely bathroom. The hotel is comparatively priced to 2 national chains, but the conference centre had much more character and charm. We visit Derby often, so this will be our first choice as long as prices stay reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    great value with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    private function

    the hotel was clean and the staff helpful. the down side was that there was a separate function which meant we could use the bar or restaurant. but we where there for a reunion and was heading into the city centre to meet up with others anyway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Derby - hand for ring roads but bit souless
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit down at heels. Moveable breakfast room souless and would have been nice to have had earl grey etc on offer. Rooms are v small so could do without frills of extra bed cushions etc. Not enough plugs. Tad souless.

    Easy to park. Efficient. Handy for ring roads.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    If Railways and Engineering are of interest there is plenty here with this building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Conference Centre met all of my expectations. From arrival to departure the whole experience was perfect for me. Staff, reception, Catering, meeting facilities, parking and accessibility. Just a few minutes from the M1 and within easy reach of the the town centre. Staying in a building that forms a part of the history of Derby! Where can you do that. Thank you. Phil.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Room was good although it looked over the rear of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved a bath.

    Room was good although it looked over the rear of the property which was not a nice set up. There was also prolonged humming throughout the night from units. However I did sleep well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location for a visit to Derby and Nottingham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room for a double was small. I thought they were using as a single as there was only one bedside table and one set of towels. Shower was low on pressure and unfortunately no air conditioning (wasn't advertised) but these days even in older properties have become to expect

    Front desk to maintenance staff were very friendly and willing to give local knowledge on where to go and how to get there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    The old building with a lot of potential
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needs modernising and a cosmetic makeover, shame it’s a grade 2 listed building and that can’t really happen

    The property was in a great location, 10-15 minutes walk from Pride Park or the Velodrome. Free parking, always a bonus especially because it’s impossible to find in Derby. The breakfast staff were always very lovely on a morning and deserve more credit. Great price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Satisfactory for one night, if staying for more than one night a bigger room should be requested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the windows were open, so were the curtains, and the sun was streaming straight into the room, which made it extremely warm. It would have been better if the curtains had been closed to mitigate the sun and the heat.

    I liked the fact that the room had a fan, especially with it being so warm at the moment. The room was quite small but I was there for one night and only needed to get ready to go out and then to sleep there. All the facilities were excellent, and the breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Make sure you get the East Wing...away from the car park and loading areas.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small for twin beds. It was It was a very warm balmy night (which cannot be the responsibility of the hotel) and so the window was open all night as was the window in the adjacent bathroom. The fan had to be on all night.. However...having a window open means that when a lorry came on site at 4.30am!!!! it woke us up. Workmen and leaving guests having conversations regardless of time and potential to disturb other guests was also nothing the hotel can be held responsible for. I was tired and looking forward to a good nights sleep. Grrr.

    The breakfast was excellent. Good selection and nice and hot. The service in the dining room was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not only this hotel but all hotels that have those rotating toasters that aren’t set up properly so you need to have the toast put in twice to get it brown. Yes - that’s the only thing, the ONLY thing that I could think of as anything resembling a criticism!

    The style of the building. The location just around three bus stops from the main station. The good value breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The bar and restaurant were closed on a Friday there was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant were closed on a Friday there was no mention of this and Saturday they had a function on and Restuarant closed again although they did email to say about that one. I find in this day and age a bar and restaurant to be closed on a Friday night ludicrous. No outside seating so had to sit on a landing good job we had our drinks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great experience and would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although had been advised that there was a Charity Ball on that night, it did in fact go on until 1.15am! As my room overlooked the windows of the function room this did keep me awake a little. I then had guests on my corridor banging around loudly until about 2.30-3am so not much sleep sadly due to this. Reception were very apologetic though and I got the impression the event went on longer than expected.

    Having read reviews on other sites was a bit wary but the room was amazing, just been refurbished, very helpful staff, great location and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast, burnt sausages, members of staff talking to each...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, burnt sausages, members of staff talking to each other laughing that one of them burnt tge sausages( veg sausages available at request). Baked beans & tomatoes must have been out for at least 12 hours, tasted funny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Such a friendly place, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is amazing. You can have as little or as much as you like. Cereals, fruit, yoghurts, full English breakfast, toast. Everything...…...Lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower in a long thin tired bathroom

    Really good value for money at £60 but you get what you pay for. Tired bathroom and small room but ideal for one nights bed which is all we needed. Good breakfast too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Booked the conference centre for my daughter on her wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the conference centre for my daughter on her wedding night. They were given a upgraded room and staff were very helpful. I came and paid for the room in advance and asked them to put champagne and chocolates in the room. Everything was perfect Thank you My daughter and her husband also said the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the money at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dated in the room, there was constant noise and I just felt ripped off for the money I spent it should of been half of the money I paid.

    The WiFi was the only good thing that springs to mind

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We will be booking for the same time next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We made a very last minute booking for myself and my husband who has to use an electric wheelchair, staff where very accommodating and room was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Efficient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was pretty poor on the third floor, took me a while to fully wet my locks. If you like to sleep late and have a quick shower, maybe set the alarm 15 min earlier :p

    Efficient place to stay. Clean and functional. Breakfast was nice. Building has an interesting history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Quality accomodation in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is included but it is very dated and boring! I really think they could do more to make it special - no variety of bread, cheap sausage, only fried eggs and no mushrooms.

    I have stayed several times and I would recommend it. There are good parking facilities. The WIFI is strong and there room has a desk to work from

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    More bad than good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with inadequate hanging space. Shower room was good but not enough pressure in shower head and bottom of doors dirty. No food on friday nights and when we ate saturday night it was basic and limited menu, took a long time to be served and was poor quality so was sent back to kitchen.

    Not much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed when I went into the wardrobe only to find a very dirty bath towel which had had been there along time due to the condition of it . Not very nice.

    Location of the hotel and the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good overnight business stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Good breakfast. Decent bar although beer range limited Room was adequate though a bit dated. OK for stopovers Very friendly receptionist and other staff Location was good for my needs Plenty of parking Value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Member of staff supervising breakfast. I walked out without eating both days because of her antics. I hung back the 2nd day to see if she was difficult with others. No she was just waiting for me!!!!!!!

    Lovely staff on reception. Could have done more to be helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable beds, quality bedded and great pillows!
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at the conference centre on the same evening of an event. We were informed by email in advance and given a room on the second floor. There were a number of groups staying on the same night and sadly we were placed on the same floor as a group of young boys who were unsupervised (their supervisors choosing to take rooms on the ground floor). Young boys being young and immature spent most of the evening running up and down the corridors knocking on doors, shouting in the corridors and banging the doors shut. After 2 hours of tolerating their high spirits (and having already spoken to the boys to calm them down) I finally went down to the reception. This was quiet late, around 11:30pm, the gentleman on the desk was absolutely superb. He apologised for the inconvenience and immediately gave us the keys to another room on another floor. I know the hotel was very busy that evening but that small gesture was greatly appreciated. Even when there were so many things happening I wasn't made to feel like I was being a pain and the issue was rectified immediately. Needless to say, once I had changed rooms I did go and knock on the supervisors door and reminded him his duty of care also extended to the other guests in the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Good but evening meal could be better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bisto meal was average. Also it said it came with mushy peas but came with curry sauce and peas instead. I wasn’t told this when I ordered. No salt on the table. No tartare sauce either. Nobody was serving in the bistro initially when I first arrived and had to double check with reception if it was the bistro.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome from reception and this was the same with all the staff members I bumped into. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent in terms of the offering / taste and again all served up a warm smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great place - friendly efficient staff, super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff on our arrival were friendly and efficient - a very nice welcome. They helpfully gave us details of a taxi service for travel into town, and advised us there might be some disturbance during our stay from a noisy party. There was no such disturbance but it was good to be given a caution. Breakfast was, as usual, very good, with plenty of choice. All in all, the DCC is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient room at Derby conference centre
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but good bathroom. Limited food offering but cheap. Good option if you are attending a conference there

    Good price and location for our needs, free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Good stop over place with plenty of parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift - luckily I had read this in the reviews and do not mind walking up stairs.

    Good stop over place for one night. Room was small but comfortable. Plenty of parking. Wifi was fast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient for where I wanted to go, but town centre c30mins walk , but on bus route
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy on both evenings due to functions; to be fair was warned on booking about the Friday night at least. I did find that Saturday night went on with loud music longer than I might have wished

    The luxury historic ambiance of the place; also because I knew the place as a British Rail training school so it brings back memories of 30 years ago. Range of the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Hotel beautiful .. lovely food ..but the noise was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bedroom was extremely small .. very hot in the bedroom .. the smallest fan that I could blow faster than.... the noise of the disco till 1 am all I could hear was boom boom till gone 1am .. not a happy customer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was much smaller than expected but nevertheless very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some hairs in the shower, apart from that there were no issues.

    Room was much smaller than expected but nevertheless very comfortable, staff were helpful but usually off doing other things you had to press bells in the reception and bar. Excellent WiFi and suited my need for an over night for work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Recent stay in Derby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. I was allocated room down a long corridor on second floor. I found absence of a lift very taxing due to my arthritis ( I did not remember to tell hotel about this when booking).

    Very pleasant reception staff. Room had nice selection of complimentary drinks and biscuits. Lovely breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in furthest away room in west wing Noisy from road traffic Poor lighting No phone for reception Old fashioned room with old fashioned facilities

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Dinner couldn’t be delivered to the room, so was happy to go...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner couldn’t be delivered to the room, so was happy to go and fetch myself and bring it back to my room just to find - food less on salt and no salt sachets. Agreed to pick up food at certain time so expected food to be kept warm until then which wasn’t the case. 90% of main course was left as it was and went without use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the restaurant was not available on the Friday night, which was a little disappointing.

    Everything was fine, no problems with anything, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was quite small, the double bed wasn't a double bed, the carpet looked dirty, old fashioned interior, walls were paper thin

    Breakfast was included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    execellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really was very good for us with good free parking facilities and should anyone need them excellent transport into city centre

    excellent value for money especially including breakfast staff very pleasant the bedroom although not large was comfortable with all necessary amenities and very clean. location very convenient for our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    I expected a very basic experience but was very pleasantly surprised. Great stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in staff initially was rather disinterested in my arrival!

    When I found that there was no lift and I had been booked on the second floor, I was moved straight away to ground floor. The food from the bar menu was excellent. Breakfast was great choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift in the hotel! And there was no phone in the rooms. So if you wanted to speak to reception you had to walk all the way down with no lift! Luckily work paid for the stay otherwise I would have been fuming

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money good location loved my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows being thin and hearing traffic and outdoor noise

    It was beautiful staff were friendly very clean bathroom was huge loved it bed was comfy no noise from neighbours breakfast was great and good choices for it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad about venue. Central, easy to get around good facilities. Excellent staff and very good breakfast.

    Everything. Very pleasant stay. I will be back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room and breakfast. Ideal for my requirements. Quiet, clean, well made up room with all facilities needed. Breakfast well laid out and plenty of choice. Great value for the money and nice to support the older building & local business. I was at the Derby Areana for cycling/training- what a splendid facility also. Pleasurable experiance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value. Maintenance lacking in places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a curtain rail fall on my head. Very rude staff at breakfast. Spoke to us harshly and in an unprofessional manner. We complained.

    Good breakfast Great location Good management

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location and very kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast had limited choices and low quality food as well.

    Good location and very kind staff. The room was clean and comfortable. The free wifi was working very well. The hotel is not far from the city center, even if a taxi might be necessary. The big bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Ideal place for the buisness traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually nothing!!

    Clean spacious single room - its a conference centre so great for business travellers, a proper desk good, good WiFI. Interesting historical building. Bistro supper was very good and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    The bed was comfy and the room was very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very strange atmosphere in the evenings and was really empty. Barman was no where to be found

    The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Breakfast and lunch were very good but dinner in the bistro was terrible. The hotel felt very empty in the evenings so |I went out for the duration of my stay. The night porter was very nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed extremely uncomfortable had better sleep in a blow up bed. Also didn't appreciate a staff member/cleaner letting their self in our room whilst we was in the bathroom.not sure why they was coming in as we hadnt checked out n we had plenty of time left in the room??? Easy location to access town but won't stay here again.

    Very clean room n bedding also lovely full English breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Bed was comfy, room was warm enough and full buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public lounge / delegates seating room could have been warmer to sit in after breakfast.

    Bed was comfy, room was warm enough and full buffet selection breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    An art deco hotel thats kept its features and staff that love the building and share their love .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The first hotel to provide a wet room for disabled guest. Handrail for toilet excellent room for wheelchair access wide door.only thing misding a grab rail in the shower area. Staff extremely helpful and attentive to needs. Also able to inform us about the history of the hotel. Professional receptionist but made the visitors feel at ease and nothing too much problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Was comfortable in the room felt let down in the bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food served from the bar was limited and when one meal arrived it was under cooked, felt very rushed and there is limited seating for a hotel of that size in the bar area. eat out for the last two nights of my stay for a better selection of food

    The place was clean and warm ( stay was over the coldest days of the year) and staff were helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Exceeded my expectations - would stay again without hesitation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and compact with very dated furniture and decor. The tea making facilities could have included a better choice of teas, coffees and hot chocolate but all in all excellent value.

    Friendly receptionist made me very welcome and even offered to look for local restaurants since the centre restaurant had just stopped taking orders. The breakfast in the morning was fresh and had a very extensive menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.6
    it was to much to pay for what you got,would not reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small,the view was overlooking what looked like a back yard,only a table top ironing board&no table to put it on,breakfast was not very good,the mushrooms were awful all yellow,no deafe tea,had to wait ages for toast to cook,

    the breakfast was ok although there was no decafe tea,the tea making facilities in room were good,plenty of plugs to use,fresh towels,also there was an iron but unfortunatley there was no ironing board!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    A good weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very weak. There was not really enough pressure. I was on the second floor with no lift - I know it was because of the functions, but it was a long way up!

    The breakfast was excellent on each day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Good parking and near enough to East Midlands Airport to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little basic but fair price. Bit of a industrial area around it so no good for taking a stroll.

    Good parking and near enough to East Midlands Airport to make the stay useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was great location nice and quiet 5 minute bus ride to town centre bus stops right outside hotel , very clean great staff very friendly would definatly return

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Welcoming and comfy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were smaller than we expected, hot water in hot tap was too hot (notice might be an idea if you cannot alter it)

    Comfy bed, bathroom good (super shower), good to be able to control heating ourselves, breakfast was very well cooked with plenty of variety, nice area for sitting, regular buses into town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    The great range and choice of fruit for breakfast as an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meals are very good, they just lack "colour" on the plate

    The great range and choice of fruit for breakfast as an alternative to the cooked breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    peacful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was all great! If I had to find a fault the entrance is a little narrow, there's no lines to say give way as you leave and I found if your not careful you end up on the road as it looks a bit like a slip way into the hotel. Just a word of warning.

    Lovely character to the building. spacious comfortable rooms, huge bathroom. Friendly staff. Nice warm rooms. A great breakfast, lots of choice and you could help yourself. Staff were there to help if you required it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    This will be my go to hotel when ever I stay in Derby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a grade two listed building conversion, if you're into the modern this may not be the place for you, but if you appreciate a sense of history the sweeping staircase is a joy and the avant-garde lounge is wonderful.

    Super friendly staff. first class no nonsense breakfast, ample car parking, a bathroom you can swing a fully grown lion in. The bedroom might be too small for some, but the value for money will be hard to beat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable nite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got given a very small, asked to move a larger one which they did, only one downside no baths

    Stayed a few times, very central, staff very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Great for everything, not just a conference!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very busy upon arrival, couldn’t use the bathroom in the nude without closing the blind (and natural light) as the room was facing the carpark and therefore everyone could see in, the window could do with being frosted for a bit of privacy but it wasn’t a huge issue

    It’s a conference centre yes, but it felt so much more than that, we had a basic double room and it felt extremely comfortable and cosy. We had a lovely meal in the resteraunt and a great chill out in front of the telly. Good shower, comfy bed and good pillows, nice size TV and huge bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    I booked a room for 1, and usually get a double room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room for 1, and usually get a double room elsewhere, but got a single room at the Conference Centre - however it was cosy and comfortable, so no complaints to be honest. Good value overall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    Disaster
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came of plane at 0530 ex KL and drove to Derby. Arrived 1130 in aeroplane clothes-popped into hotel and asked if any rooms ready so we could shower and change. Receptionist told us checkin 2pm and Full house last night and go away- not prepared to help at all! 4 of us had to go to 4 hour meeting unshaven,jeans and shorts and smelling.not impressed , especially as hotel is conference center. Next morning numerous rooms ready at 1000!!!!

    Breakfast staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable & clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable & clean. Wifi, hot breakfast, friendly staff. Only slight issue, room was super warm, but that aside, great value for money 10 minutes from station by taxi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money and would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room was a little small, but comfortable and a big bathroom. Shower cubicle was small and difficult to get into, but the shower itself worked fine.

    The value for money was outstanding. £58 for two people including cooked breakfast is brilliant. Could have been even cheaper if I had not wanted to be flexible. The location has an interesting history which is worth reading up on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent very good for the amount we paid on the Su day night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condioning on kitchen roof near our window could have been quieter. The only grumble we had

    Overall the property was very good Bedroom though a little small but very clean . The staff were excellent . The breakfast also excellent .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    As Douglas MacArther [...and Arnold Schwartzeneger] said - I shall return...!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Invoice checking ...but that's being over-picky.

    As a retired Management & Training Consultant I have used such places on a very regular basis ...all over the country. In the case of Derby Conference Centre I have to say that it is EXCELLENT ...in all aspects ...with staff levels of Emotional Intelligence and client awareness to be notes as good practice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, convenient location for the Velodrome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have done with a USB charging point for gadgets - had to use the ones in the bar (which wasn't really a problem :))

    Friendly staff, clean, unfussy, practical accomodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Loved the decent sized bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked yogurts WITH FAT for breakfast. Also, the bread for toasting was very basic ordinary white or brown sliced loaf - even some granary would cheer things up a bit.

    Loved the decent sized bathroom. The decor is amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took a long time for me to check in as receptionist seemed to be hiding away.

    Breakfast on the first day was excellent - everything was there, and it was nicely cooked etc, but the room was very quiet - I was the only person. On the second day there was no yoghurt, and no fried bread. Not a big thing, but it had been there before. More people around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    not as good as first visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower very small and large step to get in only one bedside cabinet for two people (we both wear glasses) went for breakfast on sat had to ask for orange juice as jug was empty 7.35 am sunday morning only had one coffee as notice on coffee machine brewing coffee this took ages just gave up small thing I know but add up

    the staff are very friendly.. clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice place shame about the noise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of tea bags and milk in room so big positove

    Noisy due to a ball however we recieved an email saying we would be in a room away from the party noise we werent we couldnt of got any closer to the party so that was disappointing and annoying as the music had alot of bass so thudded through the floor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Superb from checking to check out, highly commended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, I’d like to see earlyier checkin an option, but if requested on booking they will try to accommodate

    Reasonably close to derby town center (£5 taxi ride or bus) Spotless clean rooms, comfy bed, free Wi-fi, superb breakfast, nice helpful pleasent staff, would definitely recommend to friends and will be staying again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: