Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Derbyshire Hotel 4 stars

Carter Lane East, South Normanton, DE55 2EH, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in South Normanton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1748 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tell you to shower before a swim & sauna but the shower by the swimming pool was like a trickle ......otherwise perfect

    Breakfast first class ...room family great size shower perfect ...nice big towels ..location easy to find ...staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor although it is due a refit and changed to a Holiday Inn. Bed was very soft and uncomfortable Breakfast was very average and after the first day we went to Starbucks.

    Gym and Pool was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service for food and drink took too long - not enough staff helping out

    stayed because of the pool and sauna facilities. Service at bar very slow. One coach party seemed to overwhelm the whole place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could do with being freshend up but at the time of my stay it looked like that would be happening soon.

    The breakfast was very good, it was a self service with plenty of choice, all the staff I met, including the room cleaning ladies, were very polite and made me feel welcome. The location was good being just off the M1 so access to many places in the area was good, my stay was for an archery completion being held at Woodend Farm Complex at Huthwaite, so that was only 10 minutes away and was ideal. The Picture I've added was one of the fishing lakes at the Woodend Farm Complex.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm, the small fan was insufficient to keep the room cool. The TV was old, with only a few channels working, I like to listen to the radio in the evening via the TV in my hotel, could not tune into any radio channels at the Derbyshire. Please upgrade to smart TVs!!

    Location was excellent for my meeting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were taking part in an Archery competition which required us to leave before breakfast was served. We asked for continental breakfasts to we could take with us. One gluten free and one ordinary. Saturday we were given 2 gluten free packs which were very good, however on Sunday we were given just fruit, a couple of biscuit packs and a bottle of water. We were disappointed as breakfast came with our room booking and could have been greatly improved by the addition of pastries, pots of yogurts etc. The bed and the pillows were too soft. The bathroom was very tired and dirty in places. Limited viewing on the television - control didn't work very well.

    All the staff were friendly and willing to assist us. The room was very good. Service also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant is poor. Bar is not very welcoming or appealing. Hotel is dated and needs a refurbishment.

    Breakfast was fine. Good car park. Near M1 but no noise in rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They accepted our dog and then we couldn't take her anywhere except the bedroom...what was the point!! Would have stayed elsewhere. Saw others with dogs in restaurant eating ate a and nothing said.. you can't make the rules up once you have guests there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great, we felt this hotel didn't reflect a four star standard, but would have been good value if it was a three star.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a blast furnace and didn't sleep of heat the whole night. The little fan inside is too small for the room. The windows are a bad old style not allowing proper ventilation when open. In fact only one side of the windows open. It was ludicrous.

    The bed was comfortable and the room pleasingly spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress lacked a bit of support for my taste.

    Very helpful staff. Hotel feels welcoming and is accessible to key destinations. All queries dealt with in a prompt manner. Breakfast very nice with a selection you would expect from a hotel of this size. And if you are a coffee snob, you will not be disappointed. Thumbs up! Well stocked bathroom, decent TV with selection of channels and easy wi-fi in the room (free). Sadly, didn't get to use the pool or spa but spa looks great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cooked well but of a poor quality. Coffee is not the best.

    Facilities are wonderful for the price. And it is wonderful to know that they are getting a long overdue facelift!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotels was nice but the rooms are like saunas and there was no air-conditioning just a small fan. And the weather was not even that hot.

    Staff very friendly easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    problem with booking way. Bill paid as soon we arrived!!!! Before the checking out an extra bill of £60 was required. in our booking with booking.com all was included (B+Room). Upsetting way to do.

    good services even if the staff is not very smaly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area tiles could do with a thorough pressure wash.

    It's so quiet and peaceful. Staff are so friendly and polite. Large beds for a great sleep. Child friendly. Zero noise from other guests. Food was great standard. The pool is a great bonus as it's the main reason we booked here. Little one loved the swimming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated. Lots of noise from the road, walls must be thin because i was kept awake by someone snoring in an adjacent room. Didn't sleep well at all. Drinks and food expensive so we ate at pub over the road

    Good gym and pool with jacuzzi although the pool is a bit small so it gets crowded quickly. Friendly staff, within walking distance of East Midlands outlet park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in desperate need of an update. Staff were friendly and helpful but not enough of them! Waited for ages at reception to check in with 5 other people and there was just one member of staff at the desk, phone ringing constantly in the back office, this happened again when I checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel looks very tired, probably because it is being changed to become a Holiday Inn. House keeping was atrocious. Food was very expensive, do the same as lots of other people, walk across the road to the Premier Inn, the food is much better and half the price.

    Location good, staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wouldn’t stay if we didn’t like it

    Didn’t have meal,but had breakfast We have stayed with you before and find it really good My brother lives near, so it is lovely to know we are looked after at the hotel when we come over and stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very fractious journey on the way up and we’re looking forward to just booking in and bed . I’d booked 2 rooms , one for my daughter and her husband and one for my husband and myself. Imagine my surprise to find that we weren’t on my booking, only my daughter and her husband had a room 😡😡😡 so in my view the whole trip had got worse . We showed the receptionist the booking confirmation with my name etc 1st on the booking. Then there was the wait to be found a room. Not a good first impression!!!

    The Quietness of the rooms location, the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start my room was dirty! I paid more through bookings.com then the hotel charged! My breakfast wasn’t supplied even tho it was for all other slimming world consultants

    The WiFi was good and Hayley (staff) was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't access our room directly due to up grading on the corridor. On entering the room it stank of damp, we were tired from a busy day and it was dry weather so we could leave the window open and tolerate the room. The room was very tired......I wish I'd book the Premier Lodge next door! The restaurant looked quite costly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a looooong walk even though on ground floor- what is it with hotels then they see a child- stick it far from other humans-- & standards dropped as we walked! Room was like a sauna with no a/c but a fan on a cupboard. Weren’t told that at reception from officious staff member. Poor.

    Value. Lovely dinner staff Sunday 6/5/18. Pool staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of friendliness, bar area cold and not inviting, very crowded and small pool in need of overhaul. Drink and food over priced. Mattress very uncomfortable and dented.

    Good location, clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA - We didn’t have a bad experience

    Check in was quick and smooth! Went with friends for hen party, as soon as we checked in we dropped things off and ended up spending 2 hours at the pool/jaccuzzi. We went across to Brewers Fayre for food which is only across the road. Staff are really polite. Marioriry of the ones we walked past said good morning. Rooms are clean, highly Recommend.The breakfast was lovely 😊 Check out were also smooth - super quick and easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they allow dogs to stay at this hotel but do not allow you to take them into the bar area is ridiculous they expected us to eat breakfast or evening meal in the reception..

    Over all really good hotel comfortable bed staff friendly and allowed dogs to stay in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old furniture, 3 star hotel not 4. Turning on the heather you get an all night noise from it. Cold in the room. Bar expensive with bad coffee. Avarege.

    Not worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival steam-rollered into accepting breakfast (£10/day) and dog charges (£30 per visit) for the 3 days and paying on the spot. It turned out that I could have done without the (greasey) breakfasts, and the place was DEFINITELY NOT DOG FRIENDLY. Nowhere to have the dog with you for a meal or drink. Car park too hot, too burglarised, to leave dog in car with windows open. Can't leave dog in room. Meal or drink in room = £5 surcharge. Had to drive 8 or so miles to find a decent pub. Place stank of cigarette smoke.

    VERY LITTLE

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The staff were extremely friendly, polite, professional and helpful. We enquired about local taxi services to get us to an event and for the return journey. Without having to request assistance, the staff simply arranged the taxi on our behalf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was next to chimney/boiler and very hot - wouldn't choose this room 319 next time.

    Nice meal in restaurant in the evening and well cooked breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal is not friendly, no adapter for eu devices, no possibity to charge iPhone - all options were declined by reception, pretty old facility with licking marks on the ceiling, poor breakfast choice: no fresh fruits as stated on the menu, the waiter needed up the order. The most horrible experience with hotels in my life

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked 2 x full body massage booked as it was for our 1st anniversary and my husband 60th. Stuart had not booked it properly.

    The staff really went above and beyond to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and difficult to access due to renovation works. Nice to have a window to open but was right next to M1 so noisy and smelly with window open. Couldn't work out how to turn the TV on as there was a special button to press but no instructions in the room.

    Room clean, big and comfy. Nice bathroom and accessories. Breakfast fabulous and all staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds on windows for the sun when swimming. Given a bill as we were about to leave for our breakfast that was included in the price.. Put a bit of a low point but was sorted by the staff with apologies

    Clean.. Friendly and hard working staff great location for visiting our friends and family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room. The heating was on full blast when we arrived so the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed was very uncomfortable, they could do with a mattress. Old décor.

    Spa facilities included in room rate, pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. Good location for my needs and close to the designer outlet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not four star luxury just basic motorway motel. Missing minibar, paper and pen by telephone, no shaving mirror, minimum toiletries and tea making facilities. No air conditioning room very hot or very noisy if window open. Same menu every day whether in room,in bar or in restaurant.

    The bed was excellent and the spa good. The location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot and airless, though the window would open but only by about 6". It was very noisy as it's close to the M1 motorway but it would be impossible to sleep without some air coming in. I didn't get much sleep. The bed was fairly untidily made and I had to straighten and retuck the undersheet. Breakfast was really busy and the queue for hot options got very long - timing was critical. My husband gave up when seeing queue length, and didn't have of the cooked breakfast items. It seemed to take ages for staff to check people in to the breakfast room.

    The bed was comfortable, and there were two reasonably comfortable chairs and sufficient easily accessible power sockets to charge phones and tablets etc. overnight. There was a reasonably good breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the fact that we had to walk along distance to our room, then had to bring our bags up and down the stairs. Had to wait nearly 30 mins to use the leisure facility.

    The staff in the restaurant was excellent. Staff member Debbie was excellent and ensured she got all the customers seated for breakfast in a quick and timely manner. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast we asked for poached eggs and a hot chocolate and we got the poach eggs 15 mins later and no hot chocolate

    The facilities sauna steam room pool etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds far to lumpy heating was not easy to control and a noisy fan to try and cool the room. Definitely not a great relaxing experience. Have had a lot better comfort from a hostel. This hotel is no we’re near the stars that they advertise don’t waste your money breakfast so poor you get more value at McDonald’s

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are quite thin just a word of warning if families with Kids are right next door when your trying to sleep.

    nice please to stay its in a fab location just off the M1 i stay there as often as i need. food is great but on the pricey side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More staff. Long walk.

    Both dinner and breakfast were excellent But service was very slow. Only one person on reception so checking in took longer than it should. Our room was about 150 yds from reception and the restaurant so a great deal of walking involved.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel didnt have my booking and they didn't have my invoice ready when i asked. it took me 20 minutes to check out. I have stayed here over 7 times but will be thinking again before i go back. The service wasnt very good and there is always a problem everytime i stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to have some adult only times in the leisure facilities.

    The staff were all so friendly,welcoming and helpful. They were exceptional.A great breakfast. The leisure facilities were good but small for the amount of guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa closing so early. Breakfast opening at 8 on Sunday. A bit late for us attending a 9am start event in Nottingham. Was full on the dot of 8, so a bit earlier would have suited many.

    Spa was wonderful. Extra pillow. Adjustable heating and ventilation. Great mini pastries and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was weak. Room smelled damp. Food and wine was very overpriced and poor.

    Nice and helpful staff and a good location. Nice pool and sauna but nothing outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed seemed to slope towards the middle but not a major issue. The TV was in a huge cabinet and was the old stye but I had read a previous review on this...however it worked and i'm really not that fussed as only watched TV for about 1hr the whole stay.

    The pool & Spa facilities were very nice also being presented with a towel was a nice touch. The breakfast service was very good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A SEATING AREA OUTSIDE WOULD BE A NICE IDEA ESPECIALLY WITH THE BETTER WEATHER EXPECTED.

    THE KIND STAFF GOING THE EXTRA MILE IN THE RESTAURANT AT BREAKFAST. MY DAUGHTER AND GRANDDAUGHTER LOVED THE LEISURE FACILITIES ESPECIALLY THE SWIMMING POOL. THE CLEANING STAFF FRIENDLY AND DID A GREAT JOB IN OUR ROOM. A LOVELY TOUCH WITH THE FRUIT WATER IN RECEPTION.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t cool the room even with aircon on lowest. No plugs near the bed and very public parking. Had to wait to checkout as only one staff member on the desk and they were taking a phone booking for eight.

    Big room, lots of free parking, free WiFi. Quiet overnight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot. Relied on central heating. Clean but old fashioned appearance. No lift.

    Pleasant slightly old fashioned hotel in the process of being refurbished a liked the lounge/bar area and fire. Newspapers available. Bedroom clean and bath as well as shower. Breakfast good and loved being served good tea and coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very busy and undergoing a refurb. The vibe in the restaurant was a bit stale.

    Nothing stood out for the price I paid (£85 for single room)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have know that there was renovation working going on and we had a bit of a trek to get to our room. The rooms are exceptionally hot, even with the window open....

    The staff are brilliant. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the reception staff was not very well educated when it came to Gluten Free and compared it to a lifestyle choice! If only that were true then I could eat everything and have no worry of the adverse health problems it would cause me! Please educate your staff.

    A massive thank you to the chef and his staff who catered very well for my Gluten Free diet. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were refurbishments taking place so we had to carry two cases up and down two flights of stairs to reach our room with no offer of help and do this journey each time we left our room. Room was quite small however very comfortable. Gym equipment was quite dated.

    Staff were all lovely. Breakfast was good. Everywhere was clean. Pool facilities were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a really bad noise first night coming from the roof where my friend's daughter was so scared off and it kept waking them up all night... Even they've said they will send somebody to check it the noise continued the following night. When they've reported to the receptionist there weren't very apologetic.

    Spa was very nice, breakfast excellent, beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are tired and in need of a revamp.

    Breakfast was ok, it was busy but I seemed to have picked the rush hour and the staff were struggling to keep up with demand

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and onsite pool

    Really good location and good breakfast. Issue on checking in as I'd booked 2 adults and 1 child on booking.com and they gave us a twin. Amother bed was instantly added into our room. There is a Brewers Fayre straight over the road which has a soft play for children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu I wasn’t crazy about the food on the menu. We went elsewhere for dinner.

    Staff were really friendly and polite especially the cleaning staff. Breakfast was great as there was lots to choose from and was very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit dated decoration wise, but this being sorted. Pool, not able to swim properly as a strange shape.

    Lovely evening meal and breakfast. Comfortable room with everything you needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a little tired. Room service woke me up at 8am!!! Pretty irritating to pay for a hotel and to woken at 8am.

    Functional. Just off the M1. Good stop over.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed a bit bouncy. Place looked a little tired but clearly undergoing an upgrade. Some confusion over booking - tried to charge for breakfast even though it was booked B&B though no problem resolving this

    Friendly staff. Plenty of choice at breakfast and flexible times (especially on a Sunday after a late night and the clocks going forward). Nice leisure facilities. Quiet. Extra pillows handy if needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I HAD MUSHROOMS AS A STARTER WITH MY EVENING MEAL AND THERE WAS A PIECE OF MEAT MIXED IN WITH THEM!!! GOOD JOB I AM NOT VEGETARIAN, BUT DO MAKE YOU THINK HOW THE VEGETAIRAN DISHES ARE PREPARED!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic. There were wires and air conditioning units exposed from the ceiling and partition boards up due to refurbishment we were not told about.the leisure facilities were nothing like the pics on website. No towels or lockers available when we used it Saturday afternoon so had to take our clothes out to the poolside. Staff unhelpful due to lack of knowledge of anything. Would not stay there again and was not worth the money.

    The lounge area was warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went to allocated room, someone was already in there. Reception immediately put us in another room.Tap in bathroom loose. Wanted to use spa area but couldn't get in as too many people in there. Biscuits in room were those silly sugary coffee biscuit. Did ask at reception if they had any decent biscuits, said she would try and find out but were not forthcoming.

    Clean, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Postcode took us about 2 miles away from Hotel. Check in was very slow Pool check in gave our room card to someone else

    Staff in the restaurant were great, food service was quick and food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing menu pricing eg starter price 3 1/2 whatever that means! Standard English better. Ate over the road at Premiere inn in protest!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt Musty , Bar area was nice with fire but lack of staff only 1 behind the bar and big queue to get served, Had bar meal that was terrible fish finger sandwich, overdone and tasteless

    Cannot comment on Leisure facilities , Breakfast and staff were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk of gloss paint but couldn’t work out what had been painted, as the wood work appeared shabby , both had headaches & then the next day i shut the bathroom door only to get covered in gloss !!

    The spa was lovely and do were the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait a while to check in as there was only one person on reception and the person in front’s booking was not there. Other staff were walking by but no one jumped in to help. Just an acknowledgement of the wait would have been great.

    The bedroom was a warm, cosy haven after a very cold journey. The evening meal in the restaurant was good and the breakfast was standard choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt they was charging 4 star prices for two star facilities!!!! Four sugars in the room , cheap tissues, no orange juice at breakfast, no butter only spread little things that you pay the extra money for !!!

    The staff was more than helpful, they couldn’t fit my children into the hotel as they was full no problem so as I got family local they stopped there the hotel was wonderful in letting them use the pool etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People using mobile phones in restaurant and being loud and swearing. Ban mobile phones in these areas.

    Good location and swimming pool in hotel which we did not use but will on future visits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool/spa looked a lot bigger in the advertised picture. Jacuzzi tiny and not comfortable unless only 2 People inside. Shouldn’t really be classed as a hotel/spa from previous experience.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities in room. No power points next to the bed. Broken ironing board. Bed not comfortable. Undercooked sausage at breakfast.

    Room was quiet. Good choice of breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgrade due in places Tv and tv services could be better Grout ground pool n spa areas could do with being redone if any grips But all on all they not bad as are

    Nice relaxed atmosphere Very clean rooms Lovely staff Breakfast and the breakfast staff were fab nothing to much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in room with no possibility of cooling as some sort of fan unit (not aircon for the room!) sited immediately outside window. I also noticed a satellite dish next to this but could only get half a dozen or so channels on the television! Almost impossible to use shower over bath as it had virtually no pressure.

    Good evening meal & breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: