Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Devon Hotel 3 stars

Matford, Exeter, EX2 8XU, United Kingdom

#8 of 19 hotels in Exeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 972 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel was in a very quiet location it would have been nicer to be closer to the centre

    Liked SKY tv in the bedroom the comfortable beds and the choice at breakfast. Also liked the friendly staff in reception and at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Went for our daughter's graduation and had an enjoyable two days.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think for what we paid breakfast should have been included in the price.

    Excellent location the hotel staff were very helpful and the rooms were a good size. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    good stay away from the carvery
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carvery roast the beef was dry and the turkey also having good joints over many years I know where I am coming from

    breakfast was good quality and plentiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    nice BUT NOISY hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is extremely noisy since is on a main traffic artery and the hotel is actually adjacent to a round-about. This results in loud traffic noise from 6.00 am to 10.00 am and evening rush hour.

    very friendly staff ; restaurant food was good quality. Room was small but well equipped (apart from a large self-standing aircon unit which took up a lot of space and was noisy).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    A good location easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit that had a mind of its own. After enjoying a lovely evg in Carriages with our family. It would not turn off even with taking the batteries out of the remote!! The room was freezing. Eventually when we put the batteries back in the remote and pushed off yet again it went off. Waiting to hear from the manager about this. It certainly took the edge off out stay

    A good location easy to find

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly on the hottest day of the year the air con was not fit for purpose and had a very uncomfortable night

    It was clean and comfortable with really helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    perfect stop-over
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Travelling from Ireland through England to catch the Plymouth to Santander ferry this is the perfect roadside stop. Safe parking, comfortable sleep and lovely bar/restaurant on site. We couldn't ask for more. Will visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Our hotel of choice in Exeter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rain!!

    Good room with excellent facilities, ie tea/coffee making, plug points by mirror, adequate lighting and comfortable bed. Good shower room, clean and bright and lovely fluffy white towels. Excellent parking, very congenial bar and restaurant and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Little surprised at the motel style room but was able to park my car outside the front door!.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Made welcome on arrival, on leaving I left my suit at the hotel, they called me later that day before I even realised the problem and customer and suit were reunited.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is a bit out of the way if your traveling by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the hotel, staff very nice and accommodating,resturant was best so far in england,food was fantastic

    The location is a bit out of the way if your traveling by train and bus, but bus was close by, just no other shops you can walk to

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi horrible, unable to even connect most of the time - even celllular reception was bad in the area Rooms small and stuffy, with windows opening just a tiny bit Rooms look dated Unable to charge devices in room, as no room around electrical sockets to fit the plug/cable (e.g. Apple charger)! Breakfast mediocre at best

    Good location Easy parking Staff very helpful Room very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    There is sky on the tv, staff are really friendly, food from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Hairs in bathroom, cobwebs and flies. Thick dust on remotes. Cups provided in room filthy!

    There is sky on the tv, staff are really friendly, food from the restaurant/pub next door is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    The room was very clean and tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful upon arrival and checking out. The food at Carriages next door was of very good quality indeed. I will definitely be staying there on my next business trip to the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely fine for a one night stay but would have wanted a more spacious room if staying longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst bedroom was clean and comfortable it seemed small for a double and would probably be more suited to single occupancy.

    Good standard of cleanliness throughout the premises. Excellent carvery available as part of the evening meal menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    We came down to visit the Exeter university open day.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price we paid I would have expected breakfast to be included.

    We came down to visit the Exeter university open day. Reception staff were very efficient, booked a taxi and did not worry when the visa card was declined due to Europe wide issues with visa. Restaurant staff were equilly accommodating when my daughter requested some unusual choices with regards to food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice few days stay in a lovely part of the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like to sleep with a window open but it was a little noisy from the traffic, maybe it would have been better at the back of the hotel.

    The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    OK for an en-route overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were rather small, on the ground floor, facing the very busy road. The air-conditioning unit was noisy so we turned it off and opened our windows as our rooms were hot which meant we were kept awake by traffic (sounded like the vehicles were using the road as a race track]. I feel the hotel should actually be called a 'Motel'.

    The accommodation (best described as functional) was easy to find, close to Exeter, the coast and Dartmoor. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.5
    Ample parking and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was totally unsuitable for two adults for a six night stay and should be described as a large single room. The bathroom was cramped with a very small shower which was unsuitable. Very little clothing storage space with a single wardrobe blocked by a easy chair.

    Ample parking and friendly staff.The cleanliness was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    The property was situated on the main roundabout, in an...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was situated on the main roundabout, in an industrial area, and on a main road. On Booking.com it was portrayed as a nice older style hotel .with first photos of the brasserie being most prominently displayed. in fact it was a modern motel very like any other chain, very modern, clean and comfortable but no real character to it at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Successful last minute trip. Convenient, comfortable and didn’t break the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is close to a busy and noisy road but with the window shut it didn’t bother us too much. Floor boards in room upstairs a little creaky too.

    Room was compact but had everything we needed for a comfortable overnight stay. Convenient location for Topsham and Exeter. We didn’t experience the restaurant or the additional facilities but it was good to know we could. Price was good value for money. Tesla charging was a real bonus for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Considering the location being on a busy road, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the location being on a busy road, the room was very quiet and had a nice view of the lawn behind the hotel. The hotel facilities looked excellent but we didn’t have time to enjoy them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    country get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It s a bit remote from town. Could have more attraction, like an indoor pool and sun laying chairs. Also games like pool.

    It s organized, peaceful, great staff, great restauran

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.5
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast // dinner plates were far to hot. You could take the skin off your fingers. Needs to be turned down a little, and have some cold plates on the counter

    Everything was great. Having stayed at a Brend Hotel before, I was pleased the standard was as good as elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent venue with very helpful and customer focus staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had not realised the water in my room was complementary otherwise a great stay and would highly recommend it,

    The staff were very helpful and customer service focused. They catered for early room access and provision of an iron.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Although one night only, a very nice place to start our holiday-would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although not the hotels responsibility, Friday night traffic around Exeter was difficult, especially when unfamiliar with the area.

    excellent dinner; the lamb was perfectly cooked and had a wonderful flavour. breakfast was buffet style but poached eggs etc also available to order-all hot and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    On the whole ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room did not work properly, shower absolutely pathetic Continental breakfast very sparse , ran out of pastries was told it would take half an hour to replenish

    Staff excellent, evening meal superb , breakfast ok, Continental breakfast sparse

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    The food was great, especially the server.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a dislike as such, but call it H&S. The plates for the server nearly took my skin off ! They were dangerously hot. Amazed someone has not dropped the plate or hurt there hand. Needs turning down a little, or have some cold plates available on the counter. Not every body likes very hot plates. Many people prefer cold plates.

    The food was great, especially the server. Comfortable bed, plus a bath. Great. The staff were all very happy and very helpful. Note. I have ben at the Imperial at Barnstaple many times so was not disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Requested a ground floor executive room which we've had several times in the past, but was given a first floor one instead.ihave mobility problems.

    Very welcoming staff, & also very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    very welcoming, we often stay here and we will return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to my room was left open after it was cleaned. The breakfast was very expensive for fruit and yogurt.

    very welcoming, we often stay here and we will return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Caretaking and design of building needs attention. Clean and good breakfast. Hot room on arrival!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was 33°C on arrival - maybe put airconditioning on before guests arrive? View outside room included building debris, exposed pipework and a rodent trap - not very relaxing! Bath panel loose and fell off. Kettle lead not long enough to plug in and keep kettle flat surface on surface.

    Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    It's functional, but it's more a motel than a hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast was cremated - sitting far too hot, so everything was dried out Coffee poor quality and charged extra! Booking.com's headline photos are misleading - they don't show the main hotel wing, which is completely different in an architectural sense to the old "Carriages" wing

    Nice croissants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location for heading out on to the moor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little uncomfortable for me, but that's all I can think of!

    Good location for heading out on to the moor. Close to Exeter. Staff very helpful and quick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little on the snug side a/c unit looked like it was installed as an after thought

    Good location for getting in and around Exeter Food fantastic and good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Expensive for what it is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception not welcoming at all. Cleanliness of bathroom not good ... some hair everywhere !!! Such as in the bed.

    Breakfast very good such as dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    The bed was too high for a disable person to get in and out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too high for a disable person to get in and out and dangerous as the person could fell on the floor I hav to secure my wife with the bedroom chair

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the traffic ftom the main road, but we live in the countryside with no neighbours, so it may not be a problem for most.

    Excellent food, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Great experience, always clean and well presented rooms, a pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast was good but trays were overheated which dries out the food. The serving utensils were so hot they burnt your hands.

    Staff friendly and helpful, I arrived really late but it was no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    It’s modern with a luxurious feel. very convenient being so close to the city.
    • Group
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room’s heating wasn’t working, something that we felt should be checked regularly between customer visits. We had heavy snow at the time and the temperature in our room was horribly cold. They didn’t have any emergency portable heaters so after a couple hours of the staff trying to fix the problem and telling us to wait for the heating to kick in, they gave in and moved us into another room. Not one of the same as I had to sleep on a sofa-bed and that was a particularly uncomfortable night for me. I’ve never slept on a sofa-bed before but that’s definitely put me off trying it again.

    Very clean and modern. We stayed in the new wing and the layout of the room was spacious and relaxing. Plenty of room to put our belongings away with the added security of a small safe. There is great selection of refreshments and snacks in each room along with a small fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Good food noisy location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on a noisy roundabout and all the boy racers and bikers roar away from it. The noise is intrusive, not the hotels fault but if you are a light sleeper be aware.

    Clean room, a little on the small side but ok for one night. Dinner and breakfast good. Gym small but clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    We booked this hotel for one night and decided to stay for two! Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was good but did drop out occasionally but nothing to worry about. The restaurant serves good food but does get very busy. No other problems.

    The reasons we liked this hotel were because: It was spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. It is being maintained to a high standard. The white towels were large and soft. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. Good value for money. Excellent situation with Park and Ride to the City and a short distance by car to Westpoint for exhibitions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very ordinary and not very special. Felt we were being charged for absolutely everything, even 2 slices of toast. Was over charged for breakfast which we did not have. Very important to check the bill.

    Room very clean. Good to have sky TV

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfy the whole room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a hairdryer in room also the shower was damaged so bit slow but for one night only didn't complain,but did report to staff on checkout.

    The beds were comfy the whole room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom very cramped, anybody who is bigger than average will struggle. Bathroom door had to open outward as it wouldn't have room to open inwards.

    Comfortable beds with room to move about. Breakfast good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Had a fab time staff was very helpful, food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been Moore types of milk in room for tea and coffee the wife didn't like full fat😛 but I didn't mind 😋 other than that we had a great time😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great food, average staff and a tiny room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, the Receptionist who checked me in was "sour" to say the least. When I went to the bar, staff there seemed bored and disinterested, preferring to lounge around behind the bar chatting to each other rather than serve customers. My standard guest room was tiny, with barely a metre of clearance all around the bed, and the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel.

    A very clean hotel with excellent food - both dinner and breakfast were fantastic (hot, fresh, well cooked food using quality ingredients). Restaurant staff at breakfast were very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great stay at the devon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have stayed a number of times at the Devon when working at marsh Barton and will always stay there the rooms are top class the food is first rate at the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    The room was nice enough but a few niggles.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a patio door to carpark, as well as the corridor door, but you only get the keycard for the corridor door, not the key to the patio door, so can't nip in and out from the carpark. Only enough supplies in room for 2 cups of coffee. Noise, traffic noise and noise from room upstairs, not bad, but loud enough that by midnight I had to get up and find my earplugs or I wouldn't have got to sleep.

    The room was clean, modern and comfortable, good size HD TV, everything worked, nice bathroom, good hot shower. A choice of proper drinking glasses, much nicer than the disposable plastic that many hotels supply. Convenient for where I was working. I've stayed here twice before so knew what to expect, it's ok, but not somewhere to get excited about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    I stay away for work frequently and this is the worst...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay away for work frequently and this is the worst experience of staff I have experienced. I was actually ignored by the reception staff when I greeted them entering the building after dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Our stay overall was good and we would definitely stay again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only thing was the bar staff made my partner feel uncomfortable when he went to get a drink for our room as the mini bar was empty.

    The hotel room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Check in was easy and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not as good as advertised. Blackpudding was not available. Tea was of inferior quality. Busy dual carriageway was not mentioned in description.

    Comfortable room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value in a handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was standard with relatively poor quality products for the price. Quality at dinner was variable. Given the location we thought closing the bar promptly at 11 was inconsiderate.

    Convenient location and rooms as expected, good for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work properly, which is poor for the price. We had dinner which was disappointing, my potatoe dauphinois was swimming in a lake (probably an oil/butter mix?). Not nice.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable hotel, happy to stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exiting the car park at peak times is tricky as its right on the roundabout. Desk could have been a little bigger, not ideal for working on.

    Close location to where I needed to be, good access to major road ways.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Great staff, pity about the lay out of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was travelling with elderly, disabled parents. I had rather imagined from the website a hotel with a lounge that they could sit in and watch the world go by. In fact, because the facilities were separate from the hotel my parents were rather stuck in their room. Also, while the staff helped by getting them a twin room with walk in shower, the room was not accessible. It is a real pity that the only accessible rooms are double bedded. Elderly people, where one is very disabled, typically prefer twin beds.

    good choice at breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff fantastic very comfy beds, hotel needs to be brought into present year,feels like 1990’s
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms and restaurant. I felt I was going back to the 90’s with the decor in rooms and restaurant. Hated being called madam. Restaurant dark and very old fashioned really needs a good makeover and brightening up into the present year. My room sink had a huge crack in it.

    Very comfy bed, lovely staff and breakfast and good that rooms have Sky.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only negatives were that we stayed in one of the smaller rooms but that wasn't really an issue at all and we didn't have the nicest view from our room

    very nice, clean and modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Good overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at first given a room in the adjoining building to the hotel. As next to the road, I asked to swop rooms . This was done instantly, obviously plenty of rooms, so wonder why I was initially give one away from main hotel ???

    Veggie sausage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and comfortable room with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This had more the feel of a motel rather than hotel - no problem to us, but not obvious when booking. Had to use taxis to get back as buses stopped running about 7.30pm. No local shops nearby.

    Very quiet stay, despite there being a busy main road nearby - left the car on-site and took the park and ride bus into Exeter. Good service from all staff on reception and in the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    very comforatble stay and helpful staff with a smile
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was good

    The bed was comfy , the staff from reception to the restaurant was very friendly and helpful and accommodated my needs so thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room heater made it difficult to get to sleep. Ensuite is very compact, could do with a bit more elbow room.

    Dinner in the restaurant was v.good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Was very clean an comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said it was wheelchair friendly. Although they did try their best, my dad had to use a busy road to get into the restaurant as there wasn’t any drop down curbs on pavement. The room was ok but the bathroom floor wasn’t non slip making it difficult and the handrails were very far apart.

    Was very clean an comfortable. Had sky tv and the water was hot. Was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Room very well equipped and decorated, staff very pleasant and overall good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little on the small side. Had to request coffee and Earl Grey sachets for the morning but that was rectified promptly. The large water/fuel storage tank did spoil the view out of our window, could to with being relocated or buried. A very pleasant stay none the less!

    Polite and friendly staff, good food and wine selection reasonably priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    I now know where to stay when Exeter way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff excellent-the room really clean and comfy. Best was the Continental breakfast delivered to the room at 06:00 as requested fresh, tasty, hot and plenty of it. Restuarant attached to hotel was again excellent with really good tasty food and staff that smile!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.4
    Well placed and quiet but not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was miniscule and the area round the wardrobe too tight. The piped music at breakfast was irritating. There was no muesli.

    Bed was very comfortable. It was quiet. The fruit salad was excellent. The decorations were attractive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed the stay and the room was great. Sky TV in the room is a real bonus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast needs a bit of an overhaul. It would have been nice to have been served a bespoke cooked English Breakfast as there didn't appear to be the numbers to warrant a buffet style. Not sure Fried Bread should be on the hotplate these days? Happy to help my self to Cereal and Juice though. The toaster was running too slow and burnt the toast (waitress said she couldn't alter the settings). We were all penned in a small area despite having a large dining area. The Waiting Staff were very boisterous and noisy in the lounge area whilst planning what they were going to have for breakfast. Room Service adds an additional 20% to the price of the Restaurant Menu...

    A nice cosy Motel feel to the Hotel. Relatively quiet location despite busy road near by. I love the idea of Sky TV in each room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things, breakfast was good and when we asked for something different than the room service menu, there was no problem even though it was a Saturday night before Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Okay for short stay but may not stay here again
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Super small room 2. Inconvenient for people with no cars (far from city centre) 3. Pillows not my liking 4. Too expensive regarding the room size and location 5. Expensive breakfast

    1. Car Park(Free Parking) 2. Clean room and toilet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stopover!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor! my preference would be to have a choice of low alcohol beers instead of Becks Blue all of the time. I'm not sure why there is an additional charge for certain breakfast items as other Brend Hotels include them?

    This is my 10th stay at the Devon Hotel. Highly recommended! Very close to my destination. Great food. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location for a work event that I was attending. Rooms had everything you needed and food great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV didn't work initially...took a bit of messing to get it working.

    Lovely friendly & helpful staff...especially the front of house guy in the bar/restaurant! Food lovely and a good choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.3
    The food in the restaurant both at breakfast and the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small hardly any room to move around. Adjoining walls were thin and furniture was a bit knocked about. Having stayed in other Brend Hotels I was disappointed with the overall state of the room and would not stay there again.

    The food in the restaurant both at breakfast and the evening was very good. The hotel was ideally situated, not far from the motorway and near a park and ride which took you into the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel on all levels for a short business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOC upgrade was very welcome. Bed very comfy and huge. Breakfast was lovely, best mushrooms ever tasted. Carvery was a nice change from the "Usual" menu offered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Spotlessly clean and stylish rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find an iron in the room but not a huge issue because I didn't have time to ask or even iron my clothes!

    Spotlessly clean and the rooms are quite nice overall! There is ample parking and the staff were helpful whenever we needed to ask something.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was amazing,best steak of ever had. I let it been known the restaurant manager how impressed I was with everything.hotel was very clean,defo would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay. Went shopping and then nice meal and drinks back at the hotel. Very nice weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was quite small and very hot. Heating set at 25° when we arrived! Had to adjust but could not get it to go below 16°. Bed very soft and squashy, would have liked a much firmer mattress.

    Nice hotel within walking distance of park and ride for journey into centre of town. Good parking, friendly staff and excellent restaurant/bar next door at Carriages. Lovely food nicely prepared. Room, although on the small side, had everything you needed and lovely hot shower. Would use again without hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a bath.

    The room had everything you needed and was stylishly decorated. We particularly liked the access through our doors at the back where we were able to park the car. The restaurant was second to none - had a wonderful meal here to be highly recommended !

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: