Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa - Skipton 4 stars

Bolton Abbey, Bolton Abbey, BD23 6AJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Bolton Abbey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very stuffy and hot due to the warm weather. The bed was not very comfortable, in need of upgrading

    Fantastic location. Main lobby and grounds of the hotel are very grand and interesting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    hope to go again - if health (and finances!) allows in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt the Brasserie might have a slightly more plain and more choice menu. However when we asked for no herbs etc meals were cooked as we askedOur second visit; just as good as the first

    extremely friendly and helpful staff. When we felt we had a difficulty we were given the same answer - no porblem/ We appreciated the dog friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    After three days hiking the Yorkshire Dales, the Devonshire...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    After three days hiking the Yorkshire Dales, the Devonshire was a welcome place to relax for the night. We had great service (and cocktails) in the Brasserie, time for a quick visit to the whirlpool at the Spa and a delicious dinner with the same attentive waitress (I believe her name was Kelly). Breakfast was special, served in the Burlington and once finished we were on our way. Definitely would have spent another day or so if our schedule had allowed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious country house experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    The whole country house ambience. The welcome from the porter (Tom) who came out to the car park to meet us, checked us in and took our luggage to our room. Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and service, the food and the catering arrangements need a rethink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was unimaginative and grossly overpriced given it's mediocrity. The quality and presentation was below High Street restaurant standards.

    The service. The staff were efficient, friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating looks tired and outdated in places Spa was not clean in places (sauna floors and changing rooms) Additional service charge for staff added to bill of 5% Food and drinks expensive in brasserie, nothing special in terms of product

    Surroundings Staff were really friendly and accommodating Bed was very comfortable Beautiful location Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities were disappointing and didn't live up to those advertised on the website. The pool & changing area is in need of updating and standard of cleanliness could be improved.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Sunday Lunch in the Brasserie was lovely and the bedroom was cosy, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in bathroom not private . Blind had to be opened to vent room and window looked out into main road and buildings opposite. Privacy issue. Stayed in cartoon room as we paid for upgrade. Had lunch in bistro. Waited at least 10 mins before saw a waiter and had phoned ahead to ask for a footstool as had operation and had to elevate leg. Then had to wait for drinks. Staff efficient but did not have a friendly family attitude. Have dinned in mitchellin star restaurants with a more convivial atmosphere. Enjoyed our stay though as bar staff in cocktail lounge where very pleasant. Would stay again

    Comfortable furnishings. Decor in keeping with building. Staff efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame the Burlington Restaurant only has a degustation menu. The Brasserie and Bar does not match the hotel and doesn't really have a bar as such.

    Hotel accommodation with a feel of real class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    A good experience overall with some excellent features but disappointing in some areas. The stay was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. No cereal bowls out - had to go and ask. Only half an inch of muesli left in jar (don't like the jars). Only one big spoon out and a pathetic bowl of fresh fruit.No cruet on table - had to ask again. Scrambled egg was very wet and looked like a James Martin Saturday show omelette attempt. The large chest of drawers in our room (16) with a TV on it is too big for the space. We did not complain at breakfast because until then everything was good. It was most noticeable though because we had arrived after a stay in Bowness where we were delighted with the hotel and the breakfast was far superior in every way. We had an excellent evening meal in the Brasserie and admired a floral display at a table in a nearby function room. The public rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable.

    The grandness 'country house' feel. The real roaring fires. The flower arrangements. Comfy beds. Charming, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    very relaxed and felt looked. splendid stay x
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really just the fact that there were race horse pictures in the room but that is my own views due to being vegan. x

    I took my sister for her birthday to stay at the Devonshire arms we had our 4 doggies. The Devonshire Arms is very grand and I loved how the dogs were catered for from a pet sitting service to rooms that allowed dogs and a little pooch package. the room was beautiful and we looked out onto the gardens, we also were eligible for access to the spa which made the weekend more special. The Devonshire arms also catered for my vegan needs which I thought was extremely thoughtful. A really relaxing lovely stay xx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    A great (second) experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Tried unsuccessfully for two days to contact the spa ahead of the visit to book treatments. An email to hotel reception team fixed the problem.

    Seamless service, excellent informed and engaged staff. Great room (bijou bathroom). Fantastic tasting menus including, a specifically vegetarian tasting menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely luxurious winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leisure facilities could do with a upgrade the pool was ok but slightly cold and the jacuzzi was cold with cold water jets, not something I have ever experienced before. I was a little disappointed with breakfast the waiter brought coffee instead of tea (this was rectified) our toast never arrived and there was no salt or pepper on the tables.

    The staff were fantastic so friendly and made you feel very welcome. The hotel room was really nice it felt very luxurious and was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.2
    Expensive and poor value for money - expected much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs refurb. Dining rooms cold Bedroom cold and draughty Bed uncomfortable and pillows lumpy Poor choice at dinner in Burlington and food poorly cooked.duck was tough. Some Odd eccentric staff - manager in brasserie, female server in brasserie very abrupt, waiters a bit odd.

    Gluten free beer. Specially made cake on arrival Location and walks Girl on reception tried her best and was good. Food in brasserie was well cooked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Dirty windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty windows Extractor fan on all night just outside window Too few and overworked staff at breakfast, every morning fruit salad, juice etc had run out. There seemed to be one black pepper mill in the whole restaurant.you couldn’t see out of windows in conservatory they are filthy. In the bistro we ordered a bottle of wine they returned to say it was too cold and they would put it on a hot plate in the kitchen. No alternative was offered or suggested that would have been at a suitable temp. Beef wellington overdone We have stayed here before and had s great time, but it is a different place now.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing night away, fantastic food, comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One shower in changing rooms in spa, some mildew, jacuzzi not working at time of visit,

    Amazing breakfast menu! Comfy beds! Fresh milk in the room, free use of the spa area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Yorkshire with everything just as it should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - will be going back again as soon as possible!!

    The staff were friendly, helpful and always there to offer assistance. The room was immaculate - warm, comfortable and spacious. The food was excellent but could have done with a few more 'ordinary' choices although for fine dining it was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    We had the most wonderful 4 day trip & have told all our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were amazingly helpful & gave us great advice for seeing the best of the surrounding area. Also, the food in both the Burlington Restaurant & the Brasserie was outstanding, as too were the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful short break. No pressure outside check in and check out times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals a little pricey but very good.

    Log fires, easy parking, friendly and helpful staff. Reception rooms spacious but offered privacy in nooks and crannies. Coffee machine in room and fresh milk in fridge. Every comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Devonshire hotel is a real treat for the family,even my dogs felt very spoilt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could not fault the stay.May have liked to have booked in before 3pm. We had lunch on the way but would have used your facility if booked in before 3pm

    Bed was great.Location for dogs just so good.Loved the open fires.Breakfast superb. Hotel was relaxing, warm and friendly.Staff very professional.Will return because we have dogs and it is perfect to be able to take your dogs on holiday with you. The best hotel we have stayed in because so very comfortable and homely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were excellent and very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and very professional. When we arrived we were not asked immediately for a credit card to cover extras, instead we were given a tour of the hotel facilities which was a welcome change.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    The bed was really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfy. Only one cup of tea given which we had to ask for at the spa day when it's advertised as refreshments throughout the day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    Like being in an old peoples home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and cramped. Furniture and bedding stained and marked.Just a premier inn with better curtains.

    Tired and dirty. Spa facilities extremely grotty and have to shower next to a toilet. Spa robes and towels are old and threadbare. Not a high glass spa feels a bit thrown together. Definitely no more than 3 star quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff who will go out of there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t name 1 thing wrong with this place

    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff who will go out of there way to help, room was lovely. Food excellent would definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    A lovely place to spend a night with great accommodations, albeit pricey for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa changing rooms need some renovating and enlarging. The toilet and shower were in the same room so you couldn’t use either if someone else were in there. The lockers were complicated to use and not enough as it was busy on the Saturday. Also the scaffolding outside be bedroom window restricted the view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However I booked a room with a view ( trusting the description) and the view was on the car park. I wouldn’t call a room with a view for a room with a window overlooking the car park.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    This was a super venue to celebrate a special birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The position of the hotel is great, with access to the best of the Yorkshire Dales. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, indulgent short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, drinks were very expensive eg £12 for a large glass of red wine.

    We were upgraded to a superior room, Champaign in our room, for our anniversary. Excellent !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A lovely stay in a stunning location on the Yorkshire Dales. Definitely go back. Very special feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main restaurant is fine dining, next time would use Bistro where food looked very good. Bought a pre-dinner drink in the small & lovely bar but were hurried to the restaurant before we had chance to enjoy it.

    Good quality mattresses. Special feel to all public rooms. The estate this hotel is on is wonderful with walks along the river to the Abbey & small interesting gift shops & tea rooms. Staff friendly and helpful especially on reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    I was a little disappointed that they felt the need to add a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little disappointed that they felt the need to add a service charge to the whole bill, given the cost of the accommodation, food, and drinks wasn't inexpensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in bistro could have been better. Full choice of breakfast menu not available.

    Staff were great looking after dog whilst we ate. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location, lovely warm welcome but outdated guest rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I had needs serious updates. Window frames rotten and very drafty. Single large radiator ok but when you closed the very heavy curtains blocked light and draughts from windows but also blocked all source of heat. Fireplace in room non-working. Bathroom pretty terrible. Mildew, outdated fittings, poor water pressure. No shower cap, cotton wool, cotton buds. Robes but no slippers. Not great for the room price, in fact pretty disappointing.

    Spa treatments very good. Bars & restaurants very comfortable, good food & drinks. Lovely roaring fires. Wellies, dog towels & dog beds provided. Warm friendly atmosphere, real character property. Very good tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very dark in the car park and across the road to the spa, a few lights would be welcome, quite slippy walking on wet cobbles at 7am in the morning. Good job I had a little torch. Also my room's lock was broken so could not secure door.

    Room was lovely, little treats appeared in the evening turn down service, received a slice of Yorkshire parkin on arrival. Staff carried our luggage to room. Very quiet location and fab breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous place in Yorkshire, heaven on earth. Devonshire Arms not up to par with the surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didsappointed in the dinner meal, very expensive and steak was tough.

    It was the surroundings that brought us to Devonshire Arms Bolton Abbey. A privilege to stay in such glorious surroundings!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    we have stayed previously was lovely.this stay staff obviously do not communicate with each other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid for half board was charged again for evening meal reception could not explain bill properly and was very confusing.not acceptable.bathroom very small could not get in and out of shower very well elderly people would not manage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Great for dog lovers who are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dog friendly, dogs everywhere, even in restaurant anteroom where they serve food, really horrible for non-doggy guests. Also Burlington Restaurant was very poor

    Pleasant surroundings, restful, nice clean comfy rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good and comfortable visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and to use the over bath shower very difficult to get into and out of th e bath as bath sides were too high and not easy for elderly people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, very comfortable room and bed, and excellent food. A superb hotel for a treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, helpful, polite staff, very comfortable room and bed, and excellent food. This was a superb hotel for a special treat. Great pool and spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed with breakfast. There was no fresh bread to help ourselves to. My husband ordered a breakfast including fried eggs. When they arrived one egg was hard and one very under cooked. My husband asked for the egg to be cooked a little more .When the eggs came back we expected 2 freshly cooked eggs, but it was the same 2 eggs cooked solid ! Not what we expected in a hotel of such a high rating. The sugar was all cubed with no tongs to serve with.There was a small spoon to serve the sugar which took a bit of juggling to get it in the cup. I wonder how many people gave up and used their fingers? Not at all hygienic.

    The bed was very comfy, but very high, could have done with a step up .I found it very difficult to climb into bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a menu and from that decided not to eat in the dinningroom, we didn't realise that it was only a sample menu of what we could order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This hotel was near a river with wonderful view of village, and parking was very easy. The room was spacious, facing to garden view or lawn, and all the facilities were well maintained. The staffs were very kind and always with smile to answer the question. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing, beautiful surroundings,easy to be there, be comfortable, the experience was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great deal. It was pretty much what we expected. Just have to book early for spa treatments, on the day isn't easily accommodated.

    We had room with a view. It was brilliant. It suited us and we will go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu in the Brasserie is unchanging. OK for one day. But sad for a stay of two or more days. e.g. The soup of the day and the fish of the day were the same for several days. These should be changed every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in very beautiful scenery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast was very very slow and bathroom was cramped.

    Beautiful park at doorstep and dogs are very very welcome. We had some complains about slow breakfast service and the hotel took these very serious and solved them perfect for us, highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects of the service. See above.

    Excellent food; a luxury hotel set in an outstanding landscape. Service in the lounge before dinner needs addressing. Dinner service slow -- we were booked for 8.30 and at 9.10 our starter had not arrived. The cooking in contrast was superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    The decor of the rooms and public areas were very cmfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the Brasserie and the outside terrace not very restful and the service was not as sharp as the rest of thehotel. It was a sunny day so I suppose the terrace would have been busier than normal. The Burlington restaurant does not open on a Monday.

    The decor of the rooms and public areas were very cmfortable and quite arty. The spa was wonderful - there is a rear terrace you can sit in the sun and dry off after the pool. Breakfast was outstanding for choice and quality and served in the Burlington restaurant and the adjoining Conservatory. We were very lucky when we stayed as it was superb weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely setting, would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro menu is limited. Disappointed with dessert menu. Spa bookings for our group were mixed up which was hugely disappointing. Also paying 1/3 deposit up front and not altogether happy about them automatically adding service charge. That's said the service was excellent.

    Fitness centre is small but well equipped. Breakfast was excellent. The room was lovely - only downside is that the bathroom doesn't have an extractor fan.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional stay, wonderful meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly welcoming staff, wonderful views. Our evening meal was delicious, each course was introduced by the waiter and waitress who were exceptionally polite and helpful. Extensive wine menu. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our bathroom did not get really hot

    this hotel offers total luxury in an incredibly beautiful part of Yorkshire. The hotel staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly, our room was out of this world and all in all it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    overall good, but mixed with a bit of 'ok' and 'poor'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in was confusing. we had booked DB+B through booking .com But on arrival were shown menus for the brasserie and the main restaurant , and offered suggestions to eat out which was very admirable. we choose the brasserie, but this then made it confusing on checking out, as apparently we had been allocated the main restaurant price. so overall the booking .com service and theirs was confusing and over complicated. Food in the brasserie was no where near upto expectation . Poor at best, although the mixed fish platter to share was very good. They seemed understaffed. HOWEVER, as mentioned above, it is not always about the problem but about how the problem is dealt with, and i have to say that James the duty manager, could not have done more to put things right. Above and beyond. for that reason we would not hesitate to return.

    overall a lovely place. Lasting memory was how the duty manager dealt with some minor problems. Could not have done more. Very professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.0
    Great views, walks and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom old fashioned and constricted. Room quite noisy as on the building side next to main road, room smallish for all the old furniture but bed on small size.

    Good Yorkshire breakfast and being able to enjoy stunning scenery as soon as you step out of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Very attentive staff and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room near the main entrance with guests standing outside well after midnight making a lot of noise. Very difficult to get any sleep

    Very attentive staff and excellent food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel in a delightful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought £57 was too much for a bottle of Prosecco?

    The building was charming. Our bedroom was delightful. The staff were attentive and very polite and friendly. The food was excellent. The crisps, parkin and biscuits in the room were delicious and very welcome. The Spa was comfortable and the gym well equipped. It was good to be given bottles of water to take with us on our journey home. All together a fantastic stay and we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Yorkshire at its Best
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Freshly baked Parkin (delicious) in room on arrival, turn down service that left little treats on the pillow. Dog bowl in room with a food gift and poop bags :) Some lovely touches. Very dog friendly and welcomed everywhere except the restaurants. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    I would go again but check the position of the room.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our delux room with a view didn't have double glazing and overlooked the busy road next to the hotel, so we found our sleep disturbed by traffic or early starts by the gardeners.

    Beautiful building located in a beautiful walking area. Staff were brilliant and accepted our young dog as one of the family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Lovely Stay in the Yorkshire Countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to find something, I guess it would be bed-quality - just a little mushy.

    We loved this place. It was like being a guest in your rich friend's country estate for the night. Really homey, very English and just beautiful. Lovely patio for drinks before dinner. Lovely dining room. Food was very good, tho I cannot remember what I had. The best part: the ability to walk the grounds of Bolton Abbey Estate. Just astonished beautiful - we had a perfect, sunny, warm day, and the babbling brook fields stuffed with sheep (lambs! so cute!), the gorgeous ruins of the old abbey - I probably could've stayed two days!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful country luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service a little slow and was just ok ( smoked salmon not great )

    Great comfy room, fabulous spa, beautiful setting. Perfect stopover on the way home from honeymoon. Brasserie was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    A perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A perfect country location by the river Wharf and you can walk along the river to Bolton Abbey. The hotel itself is excellent and the food in the restaurant is terrific. David, the maitre d is helpful and friendly and has good knowledge of cheeses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    CELEBRATING IN STYLE UNTIL BREAKFAST!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very disappointing. Service slow. My porridge was forgotten until I reminded waiter. Cooked breakfast was cold and bacon had been kept hot.

    Welcome on our first visit by ALICE was wonderful. She was so caring. Told us all we needed to know before asking. Upgraded room because it was my husband's 80th birthday. Two glasses of Prosecco in Brasserie "on the house."

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Really pleasant 24 hr stay will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little warm

    Felt really welcome. All staff very pleasant and friendly . shown around hotel and to room Used spa twice nice pool cool shower with rain shower thunder lightning and bird sounds. Nice changing area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We really enjoyed our all too brief stay here and found every aspect to our liking. Managed to eat at both onsite restaurants which were superb, the Burlington especially was outstanding with great service from super knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff. Room was small but really comfortable and the breakfast was really special, i would strongly recommend the Devonshire for a luxury break with family or friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful location. The Yorkshire dales are on your doorstep, and it's the perfect location to explore Bolton Abbey. Alice on reception went above and beyond for us and made our stay really special. Couldn't have wished for a better experience; we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    There was tapping throughout the night coming from the roof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was tapping throughout the night coming from the roof above which woke us up intermintently all night. Bath/shower was hard to get in and out of.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Welcoming Hotel with Fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Stay was excellent.

    The room was lovely with a very comfy bed. Staff were welcoming and delightful from the minute we arrived until we left. Food was exquisite, we had the 8 course tasting menu and each course was a fabulous mix of flavours and very good portions. Excellent spa just across the road and the walk down by the river in the morning burnt off a few calories.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel in an area of outstanding beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crossing the road to the spa. But that really isn't relevant - the hotel is up there with the very best. Staff exemplary.

    Excellent excellent excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.4
    Hanging on to past glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a bit tired and if I'd paid full price I would be disappointed.... living on it's past glory..... needs a refurb. Some staff not particularly welcoming

    Location good breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Staff are super engaging and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are super engaging and helpful. Special requests for the Spa and special occasion extras were all done brilliantly with no fuss. Burlington dining is terrific - but a good tip is to choose a good value wine from the Brasserie

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Absolutely superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Availability of spa treatments was limited. Perhaps this should be mentioned on the hotel website so guests can book treatments in advance.

    Breakfast was absolutely superb. The staff could not be more helpful and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The spa facilities were excellent and combined to make the entire experience refreshing and relaxing for body and soul in equal measure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The wonderful balance of comfort and luxury, the stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brasserie is quite expensive and choice is limited for those with dietary requirements but the staff were very helpful with this.

    The wonderful balance of comfort and luxury, the stunning position in the Dales and how, without fences or boundaries you just feel part of the countryside and the orchid filled conservatory in which we had our breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    A truly wonderful and relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the Spa weren't as good as the hotel. I called up to book 2 treatments and the person on the phone wasn't really paying attention and kept messing up the booking. Then I had another person call to confirm but only had knowledge of one treatment and then the same person later left a message on my phone asking if I would like to book in a treatment. When we arrived the receptionist was a little short and too quick with the instructions. Then I was asked the same questions from the first time I called about the type of treatment and it was getting annoying that there wasn't much communication or attention being paid. The treatments and facilities themselves were very good. It's just a shame the staff aren't as on the ball as the hotel staff.

    Staff were so welcoming and always attentive and polite. It made the experience all the more special. Even the small touches of giving us bottles of water for the journey home & bringing Parkin cake to our room plus a little skin care gift each night for your turn down service. The room was wonderfully comfortable and tastefully decorated, with stunning views. The hotel has lots of places to eat and drink and with wonderful lounges to use, with made it feel very homely and relaxed. Lovely to see a few sweet and well behaved dogs around which added to the charm. There's a nice tea shop across the road and lovely walks near by. I can't recommend this hotel enough, it really does feel you're in a most beautiful spot of England.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not familiar with the local public transport service and sent us down the wrong path a couple of times. We had to adjust our plans accordingly. Not value for money in that regard. The service charge was extortionate and Bboking.com didn't inform on booking that evening meals were inclusive (which we had to get removed off our deposit). Wouldn't recommend.

    Nice breakfast with options. Burlington restaurant service very good and flexible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    A most relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very good, but access to the bath was a little restricted, not enough to deter us, however.

    The location was excellent for the steam railway and Abbey. Good walking in the area enhanced by the sunny, warm weather. Breakfast was very good as was evening meal in the brasserie. Very helpful and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble and this was in all areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot say that I was disappointed with anything.

    Staff were friendly & helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Food excellent, breakfast freshly cooked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a good locatiion but not worth over £550 for 2 nights B and B and a dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in Burlington Rest't. Meal took nearly two and a half hrs to serve and finish. Definitely not worth £69 per head! Breakfast bacon overcooked , cereal choice limited to high sugar content. £26 obligatory service charge.

    Log fires, location Porridge at breakfast, comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Very comforting and luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More generous toiletries in bathroom, one bottle of shower/ bath gel for 2 people each having 2 showers not enough, shouldn't have to ask for extra either atvsuchban establishment.

    Smoked haddock and poached egg consistently good year on year

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: