Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Devonshire Fell Hotel 4 stars

Burnsall, Burnsall, BD23 6BT, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Burnsall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic Dale setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in relatively small 16 room traditional stone building overlooking a picturesque Dale and river. Wide breakfast choice of good quality buffet and cooked to order food. Inclusive access to off-site swimming pool/spa 15 minutes drive at sister large hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Evening meal was lovely especially my Apple desert!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was lovely especially my Apple desert! We were made to feel very welcome by the team, a very dog friendly hotel. Would define stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff and breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THERE IS NO SWIMMING POOL AT THIS HOTEL!!! Booking.com need to change their description. There is use of the Devonshire Arms spa but it is 6 miles away

    Location, staff and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was soft it is not clear from the website that the spa is 15 mins drive away expensive for the level of comfort provided

    The staff were really lovely The king size room was under the roof and the headspace for two 6 feet tall women was at time tricky The bed was a bit soft for our taste Felt it was expensive for the rooms that we had The dinner was really lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing place to spend a couple of nights or longer. Plenty of areas to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superbly locate hotel with amazing views of the fells and local village with excellent parking and facilities. Would definitely revisited when in the area again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a very minor thing, not enough vegetarian meal options in evening menu.

    Staff were really very friendly and helpful. The conservatory has amazing views of Burnsall. Breakfast was great and the garden room was lovely with sheep outside. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    The location of the property is lovely and the view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast was rather disappointing given the price of the room. There was not a lot of choice and what was there was lower quality than we expected.

    The location of the property is lovely and the view from the hotel is amazing. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    good stay upset when we left
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like the outside appearance of the hotel. blue railings look institutional mix up with the bill took ages to sort out when we were leaving and I got very upset

    bed comfortable location amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overheated rooms. Additional service charge on check out. Slow service in restaurant. Food overpriced for what it was.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, with good staff and good dining, with an annoyance in my room due to noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room (10) was over the kitchen and the extractor fan was an ongoing nuisance. It switches on at 7.30 am and goes off at 9.30 pm, causing an oscillating humming noise like a generator. This was a real disappointment when I'd booked a hotel in a quiet location. I think that other room(s) on this corridor could be affected.

    Good location (if you want to be in a quiet location in the Dales). Good for an escape, for walkers or for cyclists. Good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Well presented room with excellent bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant overnight stay on our way to Scotland, providing us the opportunity to visit Bolton Abbey
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hot overnight (the weather was warm and we were on the top floor).

    Really dog-friendly hotel. Interesting décor - recently redecorated. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Good to get a pass to park at Bolton Abbey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We had the smallest room (last one available).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had the smallest room (last one available). It was very comfy. Staff were all lovely. Food excellent.excellent for country walks and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely luxurious break with the happenstance of exceptional weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh orange juice rather than UHT at breakfast would have been nice. Didn’t like the ‘optional’ service charge of 5% difficult to refuse st the desk when it’s already added on ... and there’s a queue .

    Spacious rooms , lots of privacy , wonderful location . Space around you at breakfast and evening meal . Lovely views , quirky arty decor .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A perfect three days break...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The Hotel was excellent and so was the food .....Staff so friendly and happy....fantastic views and we were lucky with the weather. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Stay at this hotel: location is great, food is great, service is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to go home.

    The whole experience was wonderful from the moment we arrived to the time we depart. The hotel manager was brilliant from the way he communicated to the way he attended to the little details like telling me which car park to use at Bolton Abbey. Also the food was excellent............... Nothing was to much trouble. If you stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed.........

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly and certainly care for you .will be back again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather warm even though the windows were open . Did pick a lovely day though .

    Comfy bed ,very clean good menu to choose from and the food well presented .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Good, but it should have been very good. It didn’t quite do it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu, not enough staff in key areas. Not enough attention to detail. Room was ok but not to a high standard of preparedness

    Location, view, overall pretty good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    A top quality hotel situated in the tranquility of Whafedale. Perfect for foodies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woken up by the bin men fairly early in the morning. No remote for the TV in our room and the radiator leaked slightly when we turned it on. Minor irritations compared to the many other excellent elements.

    The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has an excellent restaurant serving very good food - one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The location is great - lovely views over Whafedale from the restaurant. We also liked that the hotel has a partnership with the spa close to Bolton Abbey, plus we received complimentary parking at the car park in the village.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Amazing views, amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting and general ambiance in the bar area needs cosying up a little bit. it's all very 'funky' but to be a place you want to spend a few hours hanging out after dinner it needs a little thinking about in terms of it's layout and ambience. With this being said apparently the new manger had ordered some new dimmers to help with this. All the mains on the dinner menu were all very rich and filling - would be nicer to have some more delicate options available.

    Amazing views, amazing location. Got to use Spa at sister hotel 5 miles away which was a treat. It was clean, friendly, and modern. Added touches like fresh milk and coffee in the room was a delight. Food in the restaurant was pretty special too - especially the starters!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful peaceful stay, would definitely love to return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room but a little too hot.

    Lovely friendly staff made us both and our dog very welcome. Good location, easy walks along the river. Great food served to us in the conservatory with our dog

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for a one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the carpet was worn in places and the throw on the bed had seen better days. There was not enough shelving in the bathroom. However there were plenty of plug sockets for hairdryers etc and the bed was very comfortable.

    The restaurant was extremely good, the food excellent and the staff friendly and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Good but weak service marred the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was not up to standard with mixed service at breakfast - the order was forgotten by our waitress and not enough bread was readily available throughout the meal. In spite of being told that I was including £150 in vouchers this had not been recognised and it took sometime to sort out. There seemed to be a shortage of staff during our stay which obviously affected the desirable standards

    The meals were very good and it was a very comfortable short visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Have stayed there many times but this visit was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely slow service at dinner. I specifically booked a table in the conservatory so the dogs could be with us and we weren't seated in the conservatory. Outrageous mark up on a bottle of Prosecco - average price for the brand of £6.99 and they charge £40! Charged for an extra bottle of wine we didn't have and almost seemed reluctant to remedy the mistake - no apology. Have stayed there many times but this visit was disappointing.

    Rooms are very comfortable. Location is superb. Genuinely dog friendly. Most staff are very warm and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable break with great room and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room with its own gun safe (ideal for both gun and valuables). Super views across the dale. Great being able to use the spa at the sister hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillows were very thin and room was very hot (although no heating on)also no lift or side entrance (avoiding steps)for luggage. Door did not fit properly meaning that light shone underneath at all times.

    Bathroom excellent and bed comfy. Staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay - would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were very helpful. Even though we booked one of the small bedrooms the room was surprisingly big and in the bathroom there was plenty of space to put our toiletries and included a bath and separate shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Views and accommodation were excellent and would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having to pay extra for veg for our evening meal and the cheese board you would have expected to be yorkshire cheeses however only 1 out 5 were from Yorkshire. No beans with breakfast

    The location and views are excellent. The restaurant was good and the staff couldn't do enough for you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay in a beautiful location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not appreciate the appearance of a £10 per night (total £30) charge for my small dog, and was not aware that this would apply. However, the management deducted this following my objection. Good quality management, showing goodwill to the customer.

    Beautifully located hotel. Very nice dinners and breakfasts. Comfortable bedroom, although I found the dark red walls rather dark and oppressive over my three night stay. The room was extremely hot despite cool outside temperatures. This made sleeping difficult. A fan was provided but made little difference. The window did not open to sufficient angle to allow air to enter the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall an excellent stay in a comfortable country style hotel with welcoming staff and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and a little uncomfortable as a result.A problem with the pipes under the bath meant we had to change rooms on the final night but we were given a suite which fully compensated for any inconvenience.Service generally good apart from a couple of occasions.

    Comfortable room and a good size, as was the bathroom.Food was imaginative and of a good quality and standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel will be booking again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some plane coffee sachets in rooms has well has the perculated.

    The rooms was very clean excellent accommodation all staff including cleaner's was polite and friendly a bonus was dog friendly so are little dog could enjoy her break too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    An outstanding weekend break in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel in a great location. All the staff were very helpful and the food was good. Probably the best weekend break we've ever had. We'll certainly be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and bountiful...!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, super picturesque, lovely staff and excellent food and drink on offer. Short walk to the village centre, bridge and river - also picture postcard pretty. Bonus included (not that I had chance to use it) free use of other estate car parks and the spa down the road. Loved it, will come again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    a wonderful time in my home county
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't anything I didn't like.

    The evening meal was delicious and the view!! it was 50 years since I had been to the hotel and whilst it has moved on it hasn't been spoiled by being overdeveloped. My brother and his partner had come from the USA and Burnsall and the FellHotel followed by Bolton Abbey were magical, Thank you to everyone. Cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.5
    Relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was a little mean. One hash brown, half a tomato and one mushroom! The menu stated these items in the plural, so that should have meant at least two of each! Shame to be stingy on inexpensive ingredients.

    The staff were very friendly and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place, people and position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfy bed and mix of traditional and contemporary decor. Something a little different. We certainly didn't have one of the best rooms but it exceeded expectations, oh and the bath was huge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Visiting for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite was very pretty and spacious with a fabulous view. The bed was so comfortable! Would definitely stay again. Thanks also to the staff who were lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff, spacious room, good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rate for the double superior room 'with view' is too expensive. Although room was spacious, it did not provide the level of comfort and high spec. furnishings one would expect for the price. Menu prices also rather high.

    Friendly staff, spacious room, good views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The downside to having really hot weather was the room was extremely hot. There was a small fan which we had on constantly but it did not make much difference. Air conditioning should be installed. I would have liked a comfortable couch or two comfortable chairs to relax in to look at the view, the room is big enough for them. My only other complaint is relating to the dogs being allowed into the conservatory where people are eating. Animals should not be allowed in rooms where food is being served. I know it is a dog friendly hotel, but other arrangements should be made for owners who insist on bringing their dogs with them, to eat elsewhere. We would have enjoyed having a meal in the conservatory looking at the beautiful view, but did not want to share our meals with dogs!

    We had booked a river view room which was Cracoe. The view from this room was wonderful looking over the river Wharfe and hills beyond. We were lucky, the weather was really hot with clear blue skies on both days. The staff were excellent as they could not do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay, very welcoming and friendly. Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little meagre. Scrambled egg appeared to be made from powdered egg, sloppy and funny colour with an insipid taste. Wine a tad expensive. Evening meals v good

    Friendly staff. Superb location, central to many other places. Very very clean. Rooms cleaned daily lovely fresh towels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place and food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had received email to say meal was booked for 7.30 pm but on arrival at 7 pm informed it was not it was 7.15pm , no apology, made to feel I was in the wrong even though I had the email sayaing 7.30pm Did fit us in for 8 pm to accommodate us. Attention to detail regarding cleaning could be improved, stain on wall. Plug in sink broken. No batteries in remote.

    Stunning views. Very pleasant stay and food was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful experience in luxury living in Burnsall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful welcome process! Friendly informative staff. Super terrycloth robes waiting for us on bed upon arrival. Excellent food in dining room and a great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    The room had 2 bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had 2 bathrooms. Views from room were superb. The staff were very attentive and the food fully met our expectations. Additionally the location offered lovely open views of the river Wharfedale.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location and food. Shame no hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for a bath/shower in the evening. Reception failed to rectify - No apology given.

    The location was great for country walks to the pub. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a top-rated hotel not to have air conditioning was a disappointment. The weather was extremely warm and the rooms (we tried three) stifling Also, on our first evening the restaurant was in chaos, with long waits and problems with different menus.

    Food was excellent. The view was outstanding. Linens etc were outstanding and hotel generally very find

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    The most gorgeous location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was pricey and was not really great it was very mediocre sadly.

    Kelly is fantastic, in fact most staff are lovely, but Kelly makes your stay extra special. It is a little pricey so be ready for this. The food was okay not exceptional though which is a shame. Beds and rooms are great but we were a little disappointed we seemed to pay a lot for the room (£360 for 2 nights for 2 adults incl breakfast) but on the 2nd floor room 11 where we stayed, the windows are small and we had a side view. The view out of the front of the hotel is stunning. Overall the location, the views, some staff and the beds make this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in pretty Yorkshire Dales village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful location in a pretty Dales village. Lovely views and scenery. The staff were excellent and really went out of their way to see that I enjoyed my stay. My room (a standard) was fantastic and very clean. Definitely first class in every respect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom and shower needed a good clean grouting in shower not very clean, lots of dust, and the refreshment table and cups not very clean

    the food was wonderfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    A great place for a relaxing break with excellent food but didnt quite meet our expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally: Cost aside this is a great place to stay, if you want value for money it didn't quite justify the pricing. Hotel: Regarding the hotel itself, no specific issues but there were a number of minor things that certainly don't warrant a complaint but you notice when you have high expectations. Food: Stayed 3 nights and the menu was the same every night with limited main course options. There is a bar menu but this was never offered. Opted for a set price 3 course meal in advance for night 1. It wasn't clear, but this has a value cap which means your options are actually limited if you want to stay in budget so no real benefit.

    Overall a great place for a relaxing break with excellent food. Nothing was rushed but everything was efficient. Access to Bolton Abbey and the Spa were real bonuses.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Amazing views and stunning walks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed here on many occasions as the staff are always lovely and the hotel is quite quirky with amazing views and superb walks. The spa is an added bonus which we always take advantage of when staying here. The menu has been changed now and we felt that the food was superb, back on track now for a hotel of this calibre! Fabulous stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the shower was not quite up to scratch. Needed the corners cleaning properly.

    Staff were very friendly and also very good at their jobs.Location is wonderful and stunning views from our room and the conservatory. Food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Superb short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband suffers with a very bad back mattress for him could have been a firmer one. This isn't a complaint just a fact of life.

    Staff attentive and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic views from dining room and conservatory. Food excellent good choice of menu.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room overlooking the river. Lovely meal in the package. Food excellent well presented. Freshly cooked breakfast. Staff very welcoming. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful location view wise but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive .Breakfast was ok but one day my eggs weren't cooked properly and bacon was over cooked . Evening meal wasn't good . Only ate there once on the first night was ment to have it the second night but cancelled.Should have had a free pass for car parks on arrival but didn't get it ,asked the next day and got one but when we tried to use it they wouldn't accept it .

    The view

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous views, comfy bed and great artwork!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit drafty on a freezing cold night

    The bed was brilliantly comfy and the staff friendly. Very interesting artwork everywhere which was a superb touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.8
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    overpriced. saggy beds. poor breakfast. duvet cover had a hole in it. blind hanging off window. light not working in bathroom. jar with shortbread in was dirty.

    location good for our purpose.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful - this is what the Dales is all about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been a little friendlier, but that's really very minor (- they weren't unfriendly)

    Breakfast, especially - the view out was fantastic and the quality of the breakfast itself matched. Additionally, the room was very well-appointed and to a high quality also.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is elegant and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were a bit snooty. We accidentally came away with our room key and phoned to arrange to post it back and had quite a frosty response. Evening staff tended to rush us to the table when we had come down to the bar early for an aperitif and didn't yet want to be seated at our table.

    Hotel is elegant and comfortable. Great decor, good food, gorgeous surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    food quality and presentation very good, drinks expensive.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    feathers in the duvet poked through and were scratchy. didn't seem to be many staff at times, some confusion at check in and waiting around. not keen on the added service charge, should be optional to keep service up.

    food quality and presentation very good, drinks expensive. friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    A delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a room with a view but the room we were given had a poor outlook. We raised this with your staff who agreed to move us. The room they then gave us had glorious views

    The food was fabulous as was the service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    Perfect setting to enjoy the Yorkshire Dales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is 6 miles away in the next village but worth the trip. Difficult to get to without a car. The Caesar salad was the worst I have ever had!

    Lovely location with sweeping views of the dales. Staff were lovely and gave me a lift to the spa and picked me up again. Comfy room with TV, books and DVDs. Good walking country.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing-staff trying hard to make it feel special -it is nowhere near that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decorators in hotel-smell of paint-also scaffold outside bedroom window spoiled view -limited menu and very ordinary breakfast .Not worth th emoney

    Very nice bedroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Nearly very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were slightly undermanned. The rooms could do with a comfortable chair. The vegetables arrived about 4 minutes after the main course. The desert tat we had( strawberry shortcake) was very poor.

    The location was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Would rrcommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poached eggs at breakfast undercooked

    Staff were excellent, service spot on. We were upgraded to a larger room with lovely views over the river. Rooms decorated to a very high standard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A bit of relaxation heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Devonshire Fell delivers what it sets out , we couldn't find any faults with our room, the service or the hotel facilities.

    The bed was really comfortable, room decorated in a contemporary style and made for a very relaxing stay. Great views towards Burnsall and the River Wharfe. You can relax in front of a real fire and the dining room and terrace have great views. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Relaxing and Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location....Dog friendly....warm and welcoming. Staff can't do enough for you. Was our Mini Moon...and organised flowers with ease. Also a doggy welcome pack

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening meal expensive and poorly cooked. Staff were miserable and did not make you feel welcome. Bedroom small and stuffy. Disappointed and would not stay there again. They had the check to add a service charge to the bill !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    DISSAPOINTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been to this hotel a few times and was very DISSAPOINTED with the food both at the evening meal and especially breakfast was not good bacon like shoe leather and scrambled egg was well over cooked and very little seeing I only had bacon&scrambled egg need to up their game as far as food

    The hotel is very comfortable and I personally like the decor bedrooms excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.0
    Diabolical. Very poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we ordered a Classic double and were given a petit double. The hotel blamed a communication breakdown with you. It all went wrong after that. I complained to the CEO Simon Rhatigan.

    The scenery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    NOT QUITE WHAT WE EXPECTED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO LIFT, OUR BEDROOM WAS ON THE TOP FLOOR UP A NARROW STAIRCASE.tHE ROOM WAS IN THE EVES AND WAS HOT.

    FOOD WAS OK

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    View
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in toilet restaurant of family

    View

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not hot enough

    Great location, staff and food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Staff were excellent very helpful and welcoming. Definitely go again and will recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Made to feel very welcome, lovely food, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome, lovely food, great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The view was stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t realise the spa and pool were at the other hotel 6 miles away

    The view was stunning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Good place to recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small but adequate for sleeping.

    Beautiful location, dry quiet apart from sheep in evening. Very comfy beds and pillows. Great bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: