Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Devonshire Park Hotel 3 stars

Carlisle Road, Eastbourne, BN21 4JR, United Kingdom

#2 of 36 hotels in Eastbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 270 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth £140
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the bathroom left a lot to be desired. There were stains left in the toilet and public hair all over the floor

    The bed was Comfortable and it’s in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    VERY COMFORTABLE AND LOTS OF PLACES TO SIT IF THE WEATHER WAS BAD OUTSIDE. STAFF WERE EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NEEDED A FRIDGE AND FAN OR AIR CON ALSO COULD HAVE HAD A SAFE

    BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD ALTHOUGH THE FRIED EGG WAS A BIT HARD GOOD ASSORTMENT OF FRUIT RESTAURANT WAS GOOD. WE HAD A SUITE CALLED THE CHATSWORTH WHICH WAS GOOD ALTHOUGH THERE SHOULD BE A FRIDGE IN IT AS IT WAS SO HOT THE MILK WENT OFF ALSO SHOULD HAVE A FAN AS ALTHOUGH WE HAD THE WINDOWS WIDE OPEN IT WAS MUCH TOO HOT FOR SLEEPING BUT OVERALL WAS VERY GOOD HAD TO ASK FOR MORE TEA BAGS AND MOTE MILK WHICH WAS GIVEN WITH NO PROBLEM. WAS THE MOST EXPENSIVE PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT. WOULD BE NICE IF HAD ENTERTAINMENT OF SOME KIND.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous. will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    Friendly face on reception, helped me with everything I needed, room bigger than I expected, loads of space, good views, lovely bathroom, fabulous breakfast - best I've had for years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Over all we liked the hotel and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really.

    The superior room was a good size and the bathroom was big with a bath and a walk in shower. Breakfast was excellent and varied. We ate in most evenings and mostly enjoyed our dinners....just one night when my husband found the duck a bit chewy. They did not charge us for this . Staff were very friendly. The public rooms were really lovely. We would definitely stay is this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    What an absolute treat it was to stay here out of 10 i would give it no less than a 25+
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is absolutely nothing i could put here

    Everything about the hotel exceeded my expectations, Room, Staff, Food, Service and the scrambled egg and salmon with toast was the best i have had in many years and i told the staff so at the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed, solid breakfast and a great location near a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed, solid breakfast and a great location near a really lovely strip of cafes and restaurants leading straight to the beach. Staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location , close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired . No fixed shower just an attachment.

    Great location , close to everything. Staff pleasant and helpful . Parking great one of few locations with a car park .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No peroni

    The staff where extremely welcoming and very helpful. Ted and Harry on reception very friendly. The bed was very comfortable, we had a good nights sleep. The room was very large, with a sofa. The bathroom had a bath and separate shower. The service in the restaurant was good. Food good as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Relaxed break, staff all very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed sta

    Breakfast excellent, everything available whatever your taste. Room very good,with comfy settee but lacked small table for putting cup on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 21 bathroom smelt very badly of drains?, had to deep with bathroom window open and door shut and sprayed body spray to mask the smell.

    Location. ..near theatre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    wonderfully relaxing theater weekend thanks to excellent room, food and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the staff were really friendly and professional and made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. our rooms were exceptionally clean and airy and the bathrooms were spotless. The food was well presented and freshly cooked and wonderful. this was our second time at the hotel and everything was as we expected and more. thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel! Will defo be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    The location is brilliant, just a 10 minute walk to town or 2 minutes to the beach! Staff were so helpful and friendly, even drew us up a map to get to town! Room was great size with all the bits and pieces you need, bed was huge and so comfortable, me and my partner really liked the fact they have a unit full of dvds of every type in the lobby and tv/DVD player on our room, never had this before at a hotel and is defo a nice little touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Very good Eastbourne hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location opposite art gallery, tennis and theatres, and a few seconds from the seafront. Very spacious, comfortable room with excellent bathroom. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    An excellent stay in an excellent hotel run by lovely, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we would suggest is to turn the heating down a tad in the room apart from that keep doing what you're doing!

    We spent one night at the hotel and felt the hotel exceeded expectations on all fronts. We were welcomed on arrival by a very friendly man at reception and then informed they would be upgrading us to a suite. The upgraded suite was excellent and one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in. It's location is perfect and within 5 minutes walk of everything. Breakfast was also a delicious affair which included a full English with a pot of coffee. I would highly recommend staying at the Devonshire and we will be heading back at some point when we're guaranteed some sunshine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly service and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave us a suite for the cost of a double room which was huge! Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and give that little bit extra. Ideally located for bracing walks and town centre and local theatres and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend break for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom door next to ours slamming. I think the return spring is too strong?

    Lovely large bedroom. Extra large bed. Extremely comfy bed. Very friendly staff. Beautiful breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel in a great location with friendly and helpful staff and a small car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is a bit tight and took a bit of manoeuvring to get the car out!

    The room was very good - large, clean and comfortable with an excellent en-suite with bath and separate shower. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. The hotel is well located close to Devonshire Park tennis, theatres etc. and also just back from the seafront near the Wish tower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Spotless gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 3 on ground floor which was very large with a big bed but television on wall was hard to see from bed - needed a couple of chairs to pull up to telly. The bathroom/shower room was spotless - it actually shined! Stayed here once before and enjoyed it then - will be back hoefully.

    Convenient for sea front - comfortable accommodation - great breakfast if you wish to partake. Love the ginger marmalade and the full English was huge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    A home away from home in Eastbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Being able to listen to LBC radio. The hotel is well presented with a good lift. Knowledgeable reception staff. Nice breakfast ,good service. Having somewhere to park was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Guard your wallet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, which was in the attic, was laughingly described as a suite. It was grossly overpriced. As a comparison a room at the local 5 star hotel was just £10 more. The hotel was clean but is in great need of some refurbishment. Whoever is responsible for pricing policy is clearly in a south coast bubble.

    The staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is very convenient for the Towner gallery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Discovering Eastbourne - first visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't really fault anything except perhaps that one or two of the dishes on the evening menu were not to our taste!

    We had a suite and found it good value with extra space and a patio! The location was excellent and a bonus that across the road was the Tennis stadium a great day enjoyed there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A great get-away to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not an accessible entrance to the building there, so we had to carry the buggy up a short but rather steep stairway. The entrance stairs down to the restaurant is also not protected by any door or railings, so small children probably should not be allowed to run around on the ground floor. If you require a cot/crib or even a high chair at the restaurant for the kid, it is best to request those at the booking stage.

    It's a 2-3 min walk to the seafront and the nearest Sightseeing Tour stop. Breakfast was excellent and included in the room price, making it even greater value given that we had already grabbed a good deal. The staff both at the reception and in the restaurant were very welcoming, quick and polite. The hotel apparently has very limited parking space, because one of the first things the receptionist asked, looking concerned, was if we arrived by car (we came by train)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Very good for our one-nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a old building but typical for UK anyway and the parking area at night time is overfilled, so if I had to drive in the night it would be nearly impossible, but luckily there wasn't the need to drive this night.

    Everything was fine and the bed was huge. We've been just for one night which was perfect. By the way breakfast was super!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Happy stay at the Devonshire Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that hooks on the backs of the bedroom and bathroom doors would have been helpful - plus a shelf in the shower cubicle. Fed this back to lady on reception

    Really comfortable bed and nice room. Staff friendly and helpful, good welcoming atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel short walk from the promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which went on for ages. Not good in the middle of the night

    Lovely room, very comfortable bed and clean throughout. Polite, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location. A little pricey for a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was far too soft so not a good night sleep and stains on some of the pillow cases. Bathroom could do with a refresh/refurb. Was not offered tea or coffee at breakfast like the other people so had to ask for it.

    Breakfast was good if a bit pricey at £12.50 per person. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    . A friendly hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do like this hotel.I've stayed before but never had dinner. Not impressed with the restaurant. For the price it's not great quality

    . A friendly hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent position for visiting the Winter Garden Theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and too warm for comfort even with the radiator off, the window open and a fan on. In fairness the weather was warm and the room faced south.

    The kindness shown by the lady servicing my room. The excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being placed next to the bar at breakfast when staff are constantly walking behind you and obviously making noise as they are collecting plates/glasses/utensils did not give us a very relaxing breakfast! I do think the pricing is a little high for the rooms.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and slept so well. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything !

    Excellent hotel with friendly staff, nice food and large comfortable room and only a 8 minute walk from the main shopping area. Handy car park on site.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Very helpful friendly staff, lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was bad in the rooms due to an issue that we were made aware of upon arrival. Bed was comfy but for myself could had been firmer.

    Very helpful friendly staff, lovely rooms. Really nice full English breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Remains my first choice when going to Eastbourne.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet might have reached its retirement age, but considering all the good things, The Devonshire remains my first choice when going to Eastbourne.

    Friendly staff, clean and refurbished bathroom, very comfortable bed and pillows, nice bed linen and towels, excellent Wifi, free parking, heating was superb (considering it's an old building with high ceiling and possibly draughts on windows).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    A pleasant stay in Eastbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were a little slow off the mark with organising sleeping arrangements for our baby. We had informed them in advance. I'm guessing they don't get a lot of small children staying!

    The breakfast staff were very accommodating with regards to staggering out breakfasts because we had a baby with us, so we could take turns to hold the baby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    We thought £150 a night was steep for the room and there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought £150 a night was steep for the room and there was a bad crack in the ceiling in our room. Breakfast was very good and we had a friendly welcome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    check price of breakfast carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On previous occasions breakfast was inclusive'. This time we thought from the website that bfast was included and it was not and in our view very expensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable bed and a nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communal areas are a little dated. Sound insulation in the bedroom not great. Shower was either very hot or very cold.

    Comfortable bed and a nice room. All very clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location near the front.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    No1 on Trip Advisor???? Really?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived 8pm, no spaces in the smallish car park, but managed to get parked along the wall of the hotel. Kicthen closed at 8pm, so I was unable to eat at the hotel on the first night. Definitely aimed at the senior market, not ideal for business travellers. Breakfast was expensive for what was available. The hotel was baking hot all the time. my bathroom smelled terribly of drains and was worse after using the shower, which was not very powerful.

    The night manager was really helpful and couldn't be nicer when I arrived later than expected, and could not get parked etc. It was a pleasant hotel, but not what I expected. Close to a few lovely restaurants for dinner.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    Good but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Forgot our breakfast and waited 40 minutes before staff realised, no apology. Other people served before us who had arrived after us. Had to ask for our tea and ran out of croissants. Room not very clean, cobwebs in corner and blinds dusty. A bit mean on Tea/coffee facilities especially sugar and biscuits.

    Very friendly and welcome from Reception staff. Room cosy and warm. Good, freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    I will book again
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked the bedroom carpet to have a vacuum whilst I was there. Also I noticed that there was some trodden in biscuit on the stairs which was there for the last 3 days of my stay. So a little more vacuuming, otherwise the hotel I felt was clean.

    I stayed for 4 days and booked a single room. I was surprised at the good size of the bed. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a high standard and lots of choice. I had dinner there twice and both times the food was very good indeed. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Friendly welcome which continued during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room features, wifi performance, and room DVD player were all good. We had a garden terrace which was an added unexpected feature. Restaurant was good value, service was attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    A well located, friendly place to stay, with a very decent restaurant too. We would return.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One small complaint - the filament in the kettle in our room was rusting and leaving rust deposits at the bottom of the kettle every time we used it. Since kettles cost peanuts, a little disappointing.

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, very good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Not that impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel also has permanent elderly residents, which gives the place the feel of an old folks home. If you don't care about that, you may find this hotel a good choice, but for us it was a put off. The bed and pillows were also not comfortable, making it our worst sleeping night of a three week trip.

    Staff was great, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One waiter covering the restaurant at night put him under massive pressure... not nice to see. Also advised only one Chef, so when asked for only cheddar on cheese and biscuits, it could not be done, as hadn't got time to stop and slice more cheese. Steak was very nice, too much sauce though all over the steak, so had to scrape off and not cooked medium rare as requested. Breakfast - asked for poached egg, got fried, so did table next to me despite asking for scrambled. Mushrooms deep fried, no need!

    Check in seamless. Comfortable bed. Nice room, although a littlle tired the bathroom was very new, clean etc. Great staff, Harry in particular, nothing too much to ask for. Location very nice, 5 mins to quiet area of the beach, I didn't venture into town, as on my own. So pleased to have a car park, single female travelling alone doesn't want to have to walk miles to get parked. Breakfast plentiful, good choice, both continental and cooked. Good quality bacon and sausage. Other menu options other than full English too. Check out great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff always on mobile phones couldn't look up I had to cough to get attention one gentleman who was senior age ,not the polite night porter, was on his phone everyone I went passed... also lights could be brighter in bedroom.

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Delightful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any.

    Spacious and tastefully decorated room, very restful. Lots of daylight too which added to the ambience of the room. Very clean and so nice to have cotton sheets and pillow covers. Nice location, walking distance to the seafront and shops. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely return for another stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel By the Sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the market and the opening of many new lower priced hotels in the area - I would suggest they keep their pricing scale under review. £140 for a double without a breakfast can seem a little expensive and we paid £160 as we wanted a breakfast.

    Friendly staff and very welcoming. Good location near the sea and a very nice breakfast. Our second time there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    These people know how to run a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    The nicest hotel we have stayed in recently, very efficient and helpful staff, room was palatial and very clean, beautifully kept gardens. The standards at breakfast are nothing short of 5 star, staff,restaurant, food selection. A really well run hotel who do not cut corners in any way.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent short break in a very comfortable hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find anything negative.

    Very friendly staff. Really good location for theatres, seafront and shops. Lovely breakfast. I had 1 evening meal which was a delicious roast dinner. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Recommended, would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very good, but mussels for starters were slightly over cooked. Couldn't find any other fault.

    Service very friendly, every where very clean. Our room was very comfortable. Full English breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable and will return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only fault was the lack of light on the dressing table to apply make up.

    Only 10 mins from main town,and away from the hustle and bustle.Very good local restaurants only 2 mins walk from the hotel. Very clean hotel,attentive staff and in a quite location so able to get good nights sleep. Excellent Food and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    pleasant location close to theatres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Whilst there is car parking on site there are not many spaces. The staff will manoeuvre cars around but not ideal

    The breakfast was very good and excellent menu all cooked to order

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    A good hotel with a friendly reception and good facilities. Very conveniently placed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking was as good as impossible in the hotel park and I had to rely on the road having spaces for my overnight stay. BUT this was not that difficult

    The fact that my sleeping quarters were on the ground floor. The hotel was quiet even when guests were moving around in the evening. All the staff were friendly. Getting a drink from the bar was easy to arrange.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk staff - Harry, Hugh and Joanne were above and beyond friendly and helpful. The food - both breakfast and dinner - was delicious and of high quality. Our 3rd floor suite was spacious, clean and bright and the bed very comfortable. I feel the location was perfect because it's very close to waterfront but just far enough away that we didn't get the noise or commotion of the boardwalk and street. I hope we're fortunate enough to go back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Fine for what I needed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single rooms really small and some don't have a bath

    Great breakfast and very good steak for evening meal in the restaurant (I didn't try anything else). Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    No hesitation in recommending this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    In this price-range, nothing.

    Free room upgrade on arrival. Quiet environment with double glazing. Really great food; no problem providing good gluten-free bread. Staff well-trained and obliging.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Good location but catered for older guests perhaps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfy and the hotel decoration is soooo dated. On top of that we found a hair in our breakfast.

    Location is good for the beach front and not too far from the pier. I also liked that they offer a selection of DVDs for us to borrow (although sadly I didn't find any new films - they were all at least 5 years old).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    Lovely spacious room and very large, comfortable bed. The choice of several very nice lounges on the ground floor, and nice little garden areas front and back. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Devonshire Park Hotel made our stay in Eastbourne a very enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot honestly think of anything that I didn't like about your hotel. My wife and I intend to return in the future.

    The bed was really very comfortable and the breakfast (full English in my case) was excellent, non-greasy. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of drinks at the bar.

    Very friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble for them. 4 rooms in oyr party all excellent. Lovely range of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    great hotel Would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,every thing we wanted on our visit.

    Excellant hotel good position for easy walk into town centre. Great room lots of space . good car parking. Very helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Excellent staff - Clean rooms - comfy beds - good food -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff - Clean rooms - comfy beds - good food - free wifi - central location - what more could you ask for - fantastic two night stay would definitely recommend and will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price could be a bit cheaper though (tend to go up as the hotel gets high rate by booking sites). The breakfast should start earlier on Sunday. Had to leave early to get to Dover but I had to do it with an empty stomach. Shame.

    Everything, really. Not my 1st time and I always come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food in the evening could have been better...

    Everything. Very comfortable bed, good location, friendly staff, free parking, wifi, breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant experience but rather pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower head was in need of cleaning as the water flow was poor. It would have been perfect if breakfast was included in the price.

    Comfy beds and clean bathroom. The location was perfect for our requirements

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Traditional hotel with friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did get a space in the hotel but it is a small car park so it's by no means guaranteed. Some of the fittings are a little worn and the bedding seemed to be cotton mix rather than cotton. Overall though, these are small points, the positives far outweigh the negatives.

    The staff were professional and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a view over the park. Ironing board, hair dryer, tea & coffee and bottle of water - everything you need and nothing you don't. The bar and two comfortable lounges make a nice place to meet up. Very good location halfway between the shops and the seafront.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    A very attractive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot evening when we stayed there and we were unable to open the windows very wide.

    The hotel catered for my gluten-free requirements at breakfast. The cooked breakfast was hot and exactly as ordered. It was also a great pleasure to be able to walk to the promenade from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very limited did not move my car for the two nights i stayed as in disabled I needed to be close to hotel there was a entrance from carpark downstairs to my suite which was very helpful,,

    Comfy bed very clean no complaints

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.1
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have slept in more luxurious places for this price. No air con. We had to open the Windows for fresh air and as a result the seagulls kept us awake most of the night.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Suite was spacious and clean. Very close to the sea front and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The atmosphere in the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    The atmosphere in the Hotel The professionalism of all the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome free onsite parking clean room excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to seaside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture.

    Close to seaside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small.

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent through out value for money and more

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent love Eastbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been a little more powerful

    Good quality breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    More water pressure in the shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More water pressure in the shower

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: