Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Dial House 3 stars

High Street,, Bourton on the Water, GL54 2AN, United Kingdom

#10 of 17 hotels in Bourton on the Water

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 757 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of thought. Bedside lampshade too heavy to man. e reading in bed comfortable. Coffee maker and kettle shared the same socket under the dressing table. I am 81 and do not scrabble around on the floor. Instructions for coffee maker hilarious. A shelf in the shower would have been an improvement. Coach House door usually left unlocked by staff, making the rooms vulnerable to theft. Breakfast amounts haphazard - sometimes one egg, sometimes two. The same with sausages and you don't always get a hash brown. A little more thought and care would have made this a better experience.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have a cot for the our two year old but they did give us a room with a twin bed for her to sleep in that worked out just as well.

    We were blown away by the Dial Hotel. Everything was wonderful. Free parking in the back, complimentary choco, bottled water, & tea in the rooms, great facilities, staff was so nice, and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real bar area, no lounge area, lots of stains on the carpet in room and hall way, dark dingy room in need of updating, cobwebs and dust in the room, have to sit in bath to have a shower

    Great location, free car park, lovely outside area, breakfast was delicious well and well presented, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had expected the Dinner menu for the evening to be a little more extensive and adventurous. But that's a personal view.

    Great location, lovely room and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing negative about "The Dial". Initial hiccups were quickly fixed.

    We were most impressed when we were offered complimentary drinks and a free choice of breakfasts to compensate for the lack of the TV set when it had apparently fallen off the wall plus the 'phone not working. The Staff were very good but their product knowledge could be improved.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tried to book table for dinner buy calling the day before arrival. Had to leave message, but no return call, and on arrival was told there was no dining that night.

    Coffee very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had a hand held shower over the bath, would've liked a walk in or stand in shower over the bath.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's in the heart of the village with a big car park, which is a great advantage, as parking in the village is very limited. Very good breakfast & friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Room was comfortable and good sized bathroom. Right in the middle of town so easy access to everything. Nice garden front and back to relax and have a drink in. Parking on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more varied evening menu.

    Friendly staff, the bed was very comfortable. The room was newly refurbished with a new en-suite. It was the best full English breakfast I have ever had cooked to perfection. Pretty gardens and central village location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be updated room was Brown dark, food wasn't up to much, waitress seemed to cross paths I.e asked twice if ready to order and we already had.bar and reception together. Staff needed to be a bit more presentable

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked in as a group of 8. 6 had booked Breakfast ( but it was not included in the price) it was an add on. Of the 6 we all had to cancel the second day's breakfast. WHY, well it was not worth £15 and it was discusting. hard baked Black pudding, burnt'ed sausage, 1/2 a tomota, 1/2 a Burnt'ed mushroom, Everything was on order not help your self. All in all horrible. And to add all that £23 for 8 tea's.

    the Hotel and room great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, very well located in Bourton, lovely housing. The room was small but comfortable and clean. I also liked it that there was parking space available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom (3) a little tired wrt decor. Broken window pane, loose drawer handles, wrong bulb in chandelier, stained carpet.

    Location, breakfast, bathroom. Friendly staff, car parking comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great stay at the Dial House. Our room in the coach house was lovely and cosy with all the necessities. We arrived quite late and the manager was kind enough to stay up and wait for us. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Bourton on the Water is a beautiful village and a great base to explore the Cotswolds. All in all great value for money and we would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not even a restaurant, just four wooden tables, no bar, no draft beer or cocktails. Felt overdressed. Breakfast too expensive so ate out in mornings.

    Room nice with great view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities within hotel. Breakfast had to ask for toast and no salt and pepper on the table.

    Location was very central. Ample parking. Room was good and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location, own car park at the back which is a great bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A very old building with no lift and some rooms up 2 flights of stairs, but the building had great character and a lovely quiet, cosy intimate feel. Lovely breakfast, cold buffet but hot things cooked to order. All in all highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area and reception was a little surprising, would benefit from a separate bar and check in facility.

    The Coach house room was newly refurbished to an great standard. Breakfast was really nice and duty Manager was very charming and chatty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath was not the best we've had as a bit difficult to gauge temperature. Stairs not good for anyone with mobility difficulties especially on the top floor.

    Beautiful old property with character features and tasteful interior design. Excellent location and helpful friendly staff. Food and service was of very high standard. We stayed in the splendid rooms on top floor. Be prepared for creaky doors and windows as you would expect in a period property. Just part of the whole experience. We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No photos of the “cosy” rooms as therefore expected the same standard just smaller. Very disappointed with room, dated, damp on walls, cleanliness below standard and amenities weren’t replenished.

    The location was great and a beautiful building from the outside!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not extremely clean dust around the window and shower screen not cleaned cooked breakfast was minimal although it tasted very good

    Very nice looking property with very friendly staff with good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great. Cosey, friendly and not at all pretentious. This is a hotel where you can really relax and feel at home. Fabulous food. Ideal location, everything you need and super friendly staff. As we were a quick, late overnight stay we opted for the small cosy room. It had everything we needed. We shall definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, if somewhat small, (described as a cosy room) but for a one night stay it was fine and was very good value for money. Bed was very comfortable and the ensuite had lovely fluffy towels. Breakfast was excellent, especially the Full English. Staff friendly and professional. Free parking at the rear of the hotel was useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location, good size room with place for my daughter in a separate one bedded room off the main room. Service good and friendly. We had a hair dryer in both the rooms, it certainly shows that they act on the reviews.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service for what you paid. No hairdryer in room and when I asked for one the reaction was one of surprise as if I had asked for free champagne. No apology or attempt to solve my problem. Asked for newspaper 2x and they still didn’t get it right. Rooms ok but not that clean. Spots of toothpaste from previous guests in bathroom. Hadn’t been cleaned properly

    Location ideal. Good restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dial House is in the centre of Bourton on the Water and has a large easy to access car park. The hotel is beautiful and the staff really helpful. Breakfast is amazing with choice and variety and really sets you up for the day. Would definitely come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No where to sit comfortably, all dining type chairs.in all the ground floor rooms. Needs a lounge area with comfy chairs as hotels usually have. We had a garden room, which we knew would be small, but with a little reorganisation would have been fine. The wardrobe was by the bed so the bedside table was by the bathroom door ( only one of us therefore, had a usable bedside table) Ladder effect that housed the kettle tea, coffee could be better. There should be a chair in the room, even if only a small dining type chair. I understand it was a 'small' room but there was room to reorganise better.

    Lovely and warm, Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful old building. lovely garden, with seating areas both front and back. Car parking. Comfy bed, excellent bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaotic at breakfast time. It took a long time to get served. The seating in the bar area could have been more comfortable and the open fire needed a bit more feeding to keep it going.

    We were in the annexe to the hotel which was modern, very well equipped and super comfy. We had the added bonus of patio doors out onto a private garden. Fortunately we could turn our heating down and open the windows as it was rather warm. High standard of finish. Excellent tea and coffe facilities in the room. Elemis toiletries were a nice touch. Beautiful old building and open fires. A really good breakfast with high quality ingredients

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing major but just one or two minor issues that left me a little disappointed in the room. I made the reception aware of these issues and I'm sure they will be rectified.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for a mini hen get away, the staff were brilliant and let us put up hen balloons - even accommodated to a little area in the dining room to ourselves! Dinner was brilliant and delicious and breakfast was also fantastic. Great room and brilliant location. Will definitely attend this hotel again! We all had a lovely time, thank you dial house!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online the menus is different to the one they give you when you arrive should advise that menus can change

    I loved the bathroom and spa bath was really lovely .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bedroom, no chair! Arrived mid evening on a very chilly night, pre booked room very cold, heating off! Items on breakfast menu unavailable, slow and inefficient service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please don't get rid of the character four poster bedrooms as planned.

    Amazing bathroom - the bath was luxurious. Lovely, helpful staff. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Excellent location as can leave car in hotel's own car park and walk to local pubs/restaurants etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both ordered breakfast but mine was forgotten my husband had finished his breakfast by time mine arrived the girl did apologise and offer another pot of coffee as I had finished drinking waiting for my breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is lovely. We had paid to upgrade to a Superior room, even though the room itself was nice there was not enough toilet roll in the bathroom and we ran out in the middle of the night (only half a roll was provided!). The bathroom itself was nothing special for a superior room. At breakfast we ordered a full fry up and they informed us they had ran out of beans, 2 mins from the hotel is a shop! You can't have a fry up without beans!

    Fab location. It was the little things that let it down. The hotel itself and the staff were nice however.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains could be updated and netting behind replaced. A room with a better view of the garden would have made the experience better.

    It's location is wonderful for the area. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful building with matching period but modern interior in keeping with the style of the village.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed with our dinner but it didn’t spoil our overall view of the hotel

    The room staff breakfast and central position were all excellent .... definitely recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Hotel was very welcoming with lots of character and a perfect position in the middle of Bourton on the water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like most things about this hotel other than the location and the manager on the day who was helpful.

    Bedrooms were extremely basic and did NOT meet expectations as seen on website. £95 a night for a small standard room. Awful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Being right next to the reception & bar, it was quite noisy especially first thing. Both nights we had to ask people right outside our window at 1am & 2.30am to be quiet. We had no kettle or tv remote but the staff were great at getting these.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait about 10 minutes at the desk to check out as there was no one about.

    Really cute little hotel right in the heart of Bourton- on- the - water. The place was decorated beautifully and the breakfast was really yummy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was having a lovely soak in a fab bath but it didn't last long because the Water drained away quite quickly because the plug doesn't fit into the plug hole properly.

    Everything!! It was our 3rd visit. Perfect location, excellent food, friendly staff, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!! 👍

    The character in the hotel is wonderful. Its very cosy and warm. We had dinner which was exceptional and the staff were lovely. The location is perfect....smack bang in the heart of the shops. Simply beautiful! We will definately return if in the area. 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny. The sausages weren’t my favourite. The room was amazing. If people were more fussy maybe paint the ceiling? Those people are idiots but just in case

    The staff were fabulous. The room was lovely. Food amazing. Such a fabulous weekend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the disappointment with our room on arrival, but that was quickly fixed. The burger we had at dinner was a little overcooked but all other food was delicious.

    I had written a note when booking, asking for a special room if possible as I was travelling with my Mum who is very ill. When we arrived we were shown to a less than ideal room. It was modern and clean but small and had a view of a brick wall and some bins! However, when I mentioned this to the lady at reception, she personally made us up a really amazing room (as her housekeeping staff had gone home for the day). It was beautiful and made our weekend really special as I'd hoped. The staff could not have been more helpful and were all really friendly. The breakfast was fantastic, the bar and restaurant areas were charming with lots of old features and an open fire. Bourton on the Water was a great place to spend a couple of nights, plenty of activities and places to eat within a five minute walk which was perfect for my Mum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, a very basic room with a plhefty price tag. Website photos are nothing like the reality, so disappointed and wouldn’t recommend to anyone.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a disappointment! We spent one night at the Dial House on the recommendation of friends and sadly it did not live up to expectations. There was snow on the ground but the hotel was freezing. Poor management, lack of staff and location in a tourist area meant that the Dial House did not seem to bother.

    Dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just really our full English breakfast which we ordered was just to fancy for us both, having greenery on our plates didn’t really look good, the fried bread/ toast was also very greasy, the tea/coffee toast etc was really nice though, style over substance is a word I hear frequently in my line of work, thank you

    Wonderful hotel and even better location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decore not traditional enough. Drab colors in lobby and restaurant. No indoor Christmas tree. No fire in fireplace. No Kleenex. Required payment in full two days ahead!

    Quaint! Staff great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful!! Breakfast was included but only really had one option of full english breakfast which was terrible and obviously microwaved or kept under a heat lamp for a long time. They had just renovated the dining area- i woyld love to know whow bad it was before because it was still not very functional. Also dinner wasnt available Sunday- Tuesday.

    Room was lovely, no complaints. Very comfortable and relaxing. Great location in Bourton

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a perfect location, however the room we had were basic. We didn't get off to a good start because we weren't advised that work was being carried out so when we arrived at the hotel expecting to sit around a cosy fire and use the facilities, such as the bar, we were told we couldn't access our room and should go for a coffee outside somewhere. Most places were closing as it was about 4.30pm. We had a fairly long journey and hoping to relax. When we did finally get into the room it was cold as all the heating had been off and fire doors opened whilst the work was being carried out. We then found the heating in the bathroom didn't work and when we flushed the toile the pipes rattled. We had to be persistent to have this addressed but it was finally resolved and we were moved. I would use this hotel again as perhaps we were just unlucky on this occasion and it really is a perfect position but I would like to see the rooms renovated not just the reception. O

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely love it here. The position of the hotel is second to none, right in the centre of Bourton on the Water, just perfect for a late night stroll along the river. Our room was spotlessly clean and warm (despite it being well below freezing outside). I had smoked salmon for breakfast which is my favourite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast!!! SO slow, we gave up in the end and had a refund! It was an unacceptable wait. Waitresses lovely, not their fault. We were given lots of tea and eventually had some fruit. However this needs to be looked at pretty urgently I would think. Hotel has many good points but in order to get a good reputation, there are things to be tightened up. I wish management had come to apologise, they were aware that there was only one person in the kitchen. Hopefully we will return one day as Hotel is so lovely and in fab location.

    We were in The Coach House which is newly refurbished and we were very pleased with our room. En suite spacious, bed comfortable, room warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge was being redecorate while we were there but otherwise everything was really good.

    Fantastic location, set back from the road, right in the centre of the village. Very comfortable rooms, clean, spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was closed for a refurbishment,which we was looking forward to sitting in and having a drink ,otherwise hotel would have been excellent

    The hotel was lovely and the surrounding area was beautiful,especially in the snow we had

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have tryed the restaurant but it was closed for refurbishment

    Very recently refurbed room felt like we was the 1st to stay in it as it was so well presented and the staff are so friendly and always welcomed us with a smile

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say that the main problem was that the customer care was poor, but that would imply it was actually present. For £200 a night, I expected the hotel to be as advertised, to receive at least a basic level of customer service, to have been informed of the extensive building works and lack of hotel facilities. We drove 3.5 hours for this stay in The Dial House and received none of these. We were not told that the hotel was under reconstruction, it wasn't until we arrived we discovered most of the facilities weren't available (the bar and the restaurant). Our arrival consisted of being taken to a ground floor room in a separate coach house building with a builders skip directly in front of the window and beyond that the wall of a car park. Both myself and my partner asked separately if it was possible for us to change room as it wasn't what had been advertised (and of course, the skip). We were initially told that it wasn't possible at all, the second time one of us asked, an alternative room was offered that wasn't suitable due to the very low ceiling height (I'm 6'4). At no point (including these two conversations) was any information given.. welcome pack, info about the hotel, wifi, security, breakfast information etc. We arrived for breakfast (we had already paid for) the next day at 10.05am and were told we couldn't have breakfast as it finished at 10 (obviously hadn't been told this!). After waiting in the hall listening to the staff debate it in the kitchen, we were allowed to sit. The room we were sat in was cold-yet had a giant fireplace with an unlit fire. Most of what was on the menu wasn't available (including the coffee-the table next to us were told they couldn't have it because we had just ordered some). Other guests who were having breakfast seemed equally unhappy with their stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That work was being carried out by builders and it was noisy if a morning

    I like the bathroom ensuite the place was dusty as work was being carried out and we wernt aware when booking the hotel facilities were not on hand

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When requested coffee /milk- was provided with a cafetiere and jug of milk with ice cubes - however, was on way out for the day so could not use on return. Service poor, no milk in room for 3 days and only decaf coffee- had to purchase own uht. Room recently renovated but no curtains / blinds until day 3. Builders started work on adjacent room at 7.00 AM each morning but was awake anyway as room had no blinds. I have stayed before on a number of occasions and the service was excellent - so assume teething problems with new management/staff.

    the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t recommend this cosy hotel any more - it was fantastic! Really lovely room (they upgraded us when we arrived into a room with a 4 poster bed as it was available), super friendly staff, great breakfast! Would love to return one day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not as promised when booking - although the staff did offer a refund to 'compensate' for error. Access to room tricky as room was in loft - it was quite quaint though :).

    Lovely location, helpful staff and comfy rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 16 which was quite quirky, very comfortable bed, enjoyed a bottle of red wine in front of the fire downstairs, rib-eye steak was delicious and the staff were great. Bourton is a nice place to go to anyway to escape the rat race of society, and myself and my wife had a nice relaxing time. Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was excellent, the breakfast was also excellent. The staff were really helpful - Bourton and the North Cotswolds don't have much taxi service off season and they helped us hugely with taxis and were so pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Premier room on top floor is not really what I would call premium, ceiling is very low as in roof rafters, door access is poor, no bath, shower had mould around it. On the whole standard of cleaning is not up to scratch.

    A great location, good restaurant staff, nice location by the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining was very limited, I had thought that there was a different "dining" menu to that on the website. If you don't eat beef, you were a bit scuppered and we resorted to salad and pizza which wasn't really what we were coming for.

    Great staff, very friendly. View from the room was beautiful, looking out over the water and with the windows open could hear a lovely hubbub of people mooching around. The room very comfy with a lovely roll top bath, lovely and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 has a small double bed with a lumpy mattress that clearly needs replacing with a new one. Very thick (too warm) duvet. Noise in the corridors from very early in the morning (no sound proofing). £15 each for breakfast (went elsewhere for half price)! £185 for the room where we didn't get a good nights sleep 😩

    The roaring fire in the sitting room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flush not working all night.. Water kettle too not working.. Water kettle was replaced in the morning but flush was not repaired

    Location was good and rooms were spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little tired and very dark, bed a little small. I understand they are going through refurbishing. Couldn't get a drink after 9pm .

    The location was stunning. The hotel staff were friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We never had breakfast, but at £15 a head it was steep,dinners were advertised on the board outside,but they didn't do any & wine at £21 was dear compared to other places in the area that cost £13

    Location was good,room was exellent & staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location cannot be better, it's in the center of the town, and have free parking area, the breakfest is the best, room is big and comfortabkle. everything is so good. it's a pity dinner is close, hope can tatse it if i can be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area at the back of the building wasn’t welcoming or big enough for arriving guests We had booked a table for dinner and weren’t informed that the kitchen was closed until we tried to change our eating time. The pictures of the rooms on the website were a decent size but the room we booked was disappointing in size. The shower door wasn’t particularly clean.

    We were impressed when we arrived by the ‘look’ of the property, it’s very nice. Staff were very welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the ambiance and being in the middle of the town

    unfortunately the kitchen was closed diner due to a faulty extractor fan but the breakfasts were excellent. plenty of other good restaurants around

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Splendid Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom right by access road and right by front door- in the annex- we didn't know that when we booked. And thin ceiling, distrurbed by people above us. Windows single glazed. And shower drain blocked.

    Ecellant breakfast, friendly staff, good bedroom but only inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Awesome Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment. It does not appear to have been decorated since I was there 11 years ago. Our room, although described as premium, was small, scruffy and smelled of damp. The carpet was stained and the whole room needed decorating. There was very little soundproofing so conversations in other rooms were clearly audible. The shower head in the bathroom appeared to be dirty and the shower did not drain away properly so was prone to over flow. There was a general lack of facilities in the hotel and there was no evening dining. We paid just under £ 200 for the room for one night plus £15 each for breakfast at which the fruit was passed its best and my poached egg was undercooked. I expected better for the price we paid.

    Our room had the exclusive use of a small garden, which was ideal for us travelling with a dog but is otherwise of limited use unless the weather is fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst we appreciate we were upgraded to a 'Premium Room, the sound of the water tank (directly above our bed) running early in the morning wasn't ideal.

    Ideally situated in the middle of Bourton on the Water, being able to get to shops, pubs and restaurants within a minute. Plus, the great power shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Dial House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: