Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Diplomat Hotel 3 stars

2 Chesham Street, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW1X 8DT, United Kingdom

#566 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and very stuffy inside. small extension on hand held shower in bath tub, my partner was very tall and he couldn’t shower.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was brilliant, full English, continental or fresh...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was brilliant, full English, continental or fresh fruit, or all three if you want. Friendly helpful staff and great location. I always stay there when in London and the staircase is a work of art.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The towels and sheets were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need new carpeting and new upholstery - currently tired and a bit worn.

    The towels and sheets were excellent. Our premium room had a beautiful, bright exposure, and was large and quiet. We found the location easily walkable to two Tube stations, and the neighborhood pleasant. The buffet breakfast was good, and the staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly, great location, but would describe as 'faded grandeur'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel tired, bed was not king (as requested and confirmed) but a double, mattress needs to be replaced. Shower pressure needs to be checked, the hotter the water the better the pressure.

    Location great, staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Simple, clean, good location but basic and old-fashioned.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very basic; no airconditioning and with old wallpaper that was looking a bit tired:) As our room was downstairs it was very warm and we had to use the provided fan on full blast to keep it bearable, which was noisy. A handle from the drawer came off when I tried to open it, and although a TV was provided it seemed smaller than my laptop screen. The hotel is in a great spot but the decor could do with a bit of a refurb.

    Friendly staff, breakfast fairly decent, good location close to many amenities, tube stations etc. Also easily found and reachable by taxis and Uber. Room and bathroom were clean, beds fairly comfortable and tea-set in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    location, price for London, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    narrow and difficult for luggage staircase to the last floor (mansarda really) from the lift two very narrow beds for a sinle stay

    location, price for London, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfied with stay and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notice that the water in my bedroom was not drinking water yet no drinking water was offered in the room.' A soap dish in the shower would have been handy.

    Very pleasant and obliging staff. Delicious breakfast although bacon was rather dry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was ideal for our purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress in the dining room ignored us most days. She seemed to prefer the gentlemen and foreign guests. Our room was in the basement but it was a good size and well equipped and spotlessly clean.

    The location was excellent for the Chelsea Flower Show

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is great, not so far from victoria and sloane...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little dirty (carpet) but overall we liked our room.

    Location is great, not so far from victoria and sloane stations. Big room, cozy. Full english breakfast, great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Good comfortable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from Reception could be clearly heard in the room.

    Ground floor room, with a bath, lots of choice at breakfast, only a stones throw from Sloane Square and Knightsbridge tubes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Quiet pricy for what you get but it was a cosy hotel in my favorite part of London
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room and shower was a bit worn out - Some of the hotel staff had really bad English - The elevator doesn't reach the top floors - The stair cases were really quirky and I sprang my foot while carrying the luggage downstairs - I expected a higher standard for the price (but for London standard I assume it's quite good though)

    - Great location and very close to Victoria station in the middle of Chelsea area - Hotel reminded me of Fawlty Towers :-) - Great breakfast with both a continental and English buffet to choose from - Cosy room - Helpful staff that carried the luggage up the stairs after check-in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent staff, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have a restaurant or lounge, but there are bars and restaurants within a short walking distance so there are other options available. The staff were great. I asked if there was anywhere I could hold a meeting with two colleagues and they gave me the use of the breakfast room for two hours with complimentary tea, coffee and pastries. They really went the extra mile to accommodate what I needed. My bedroom was comfortable and the location of the hotel is right in the heart of Belgravia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Location location location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite small rooms, bit of a funny smell all over the hotel (probably due to the age it), very small shower, small single bed in single room.

    Location amazing, super central. Really old building with amazing staircase and vintage elevator.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    All you need for London vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cozy hotel with excellent location (a quiet, beautiful area, but near enough to many tourist attractions for a nice walk), comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff (they were generous to let us check-in two hours earlier), tasty English breakfast, competitive price in that neighborhood. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Little secret in Belgravia..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have to make it up...

    Location is very convenient. Atmosphere of a family home, which it actually used to be; authentic, so don't expect a clinical chain hotel room. Breakfast is outstanding and punching way above 3stars. The double rooms are spacy and clean. Tea, cookies ready every day! Balance price quality is really good as the hotel is in walking distance of hyde park, harrods etc..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Everything was ok, main thing going for this hotel is the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were friendly but not particularly proactive - had to really push to get my safe opened in the room, something which should have been checked when the previous guest departed and which I told reception was time sensitive as I needed to leave for work but still had to call 4 times and speak to 2 different people before someone came up with a key an hour after I first requested assistance. Rooms are a nice size but drafty (due to the age of the building), you can see where the renovation wasn't particularly well thought out, toilet in a tiny cupboard that I could barely squeeze into at 5'6'' so no idea how someone taller would cope!

    Everything was ok, main thing going for this hotel is the location which was perfect for the purpose of my trip. Good enough if you just need a bed for the night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only moan would be shower curtain really needs shower screen but that's really nit picking

    Excellent accommodation good location attentive staff good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Overnight trip to see band at Cadogan Hall, hotel location ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to drink water in room, had to get water from water cooler. No air conditioning, window opened onto street.

    Location excellent for visit to Cadogan Hall. Comfortable. Nice breakfast room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They order a taxi transfer for you and add 20 GBP as a commission. If course they do not tell you about this but i lived in London and know how how much this type of cars costs:). It is absolutely their right to do this but in this case i believe they would better disclose this commission and better not to call it 'hotel transfer'. So client knows the quality of transfer they are getting. Another thing I did not like was the smell in the wardrobe and it looked like they collected the hangers from the waste baskets of the nearby department stores:)

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Adequate for a quick stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the water was undrinkable I would have thought that some bottles of water would be provided instead of a shabby water fountain and plastic cups in the passage way. Most of the hotels I have stayed at do this.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff very welcoming and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was the disappointment. Bath tub with hand held shower head only. Bad smell emanating from drain or vent.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Room comfortable. Excellent location, breakfast pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good apart from not getting the room that I had reserved .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room but was given a family room with one double bed and a cot bed by the side whose mattress was terrible. I had to put that mattress on the floor and sleep there . I wish I had known that that was the room they were going to give us because I would've tried to book at another hotel .

    Clean and central and staff could not have been more helpful .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Magnificent property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. Very pleasant experience

    The building was lovely. In a safe and picturesque location. Handy to Victoria train and coach stations. Breakfast was superb. Ursula particularly lively

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Great for Hyde Park events
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. Single room shower a little tight.

    Great location for Hyde Park. Beautiful neighbourhood. Fantastic breakfast. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Friendly but wouldn't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a single room but it was a lot smaller than I expected. The shower wasn't a great size squeeze, felt quite claustrophobic in there. The hotel smelt quite damp.

    Bed was comfy. Also the guy who checked me into the hotel was really friendly. Gave me a great recommendation for food when the canteen in the restaurant was closed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    A good budget option at the right price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture and decor is showing its age. Deliveries in the morning provided an unwelcome wake up call.

    The building is unique and appealing. The location is walking distance (15mins) to sights and some amenities. Situated in an upscale neighborhood it is quiet at night which is ideal if you want a low key evening. The staff were accommodating and pleasant to deal with. The room was large and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    3.8
    AVOID!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable at all.. They tried to charge me 55 ponds for 2 telephone calls without invoice and when I questioned it they say ok pay 10 pounds!!! People be carefull The majority of the staff unhelpful, I needed to take my luggage by myself without any assistance. The lift is a JOKE The room is so HOT that I couldn't sleep at the night with a silly fan! The room has no minibar!! There is no safety box, and you can't trust them. I WOULD PAY DOUBLE FOR ANOTHER HOTEL TO GET COMFORT I DID NOT GET BECAUSE THIS HOTEL

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with an update but it wasn't a problem as it was in keeping with the style of the hotel... nice not to be in a super modern box room.

    The staff were really helpful. The room was large and spacious. The bed was really comfy. The cooked breakfast was buffet style so early was better. The tiny courtyard was a lovely bonus for central London and the weather was a bonus too. Lovely for a coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    Clean, functional, nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had skylights with no blinds so I was awake at dawn, wallpaper was peeling off, wifi too slow to get any work done

    Proximity to the conference I was going to

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ran out of loo paper!

    I loved being able to open the window and walk out onto a balcony. The street was very quiet in a lovely neighbourhood. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was spacious and our stay was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Gammaldags hotell i fint område
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Allt på hotellet var lite gammaldags, inget hade nog ändrats sedan hotellet öppnades. Hade behövt renoveras, sprickor i tak och väggar som behövdes göras vid.

    Gammal, charmig byggnad. En gammaldags, trång, smal hiss som fortfarande var i bruk. God engelsk frukost. Rent och prydligt. Väldigt fint område, lyxiga fina hus och bilar runt omkring.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, nice location, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some maintenance works going on next door and that woke me up early. Not the hotel's fault but I could have done with a couple of more hours sleep.

    Breakfast was a good hearty full english buffet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    Very polite and supportive staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such mousehole for such an amount of money is ridicoulos

    Very polite and supportive staff! Nice breakfast (though no fresh fruit apart from some apples).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.1
    Friendly hotel, good sized room, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like many places in England the have a kind of plastic cover on the madrass. T

    Friendly staff. Good location in a quiet residential area - but very close to busy shopping streets and cultural activites. Nice sized room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and old elevator Carries only two people hugging, old building, very small TV, loud sound of rain in the fourth floor the room was number 42.

    Good Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was hand held rather than fixed to the wall - was somewhat difficult!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location for my business purposes and comfy room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bathtub pictured on the webpage for my room but in actuality there was none. The wifi signal was not strong enough to have a FaceTime conversation without it freezing and dropping out.

    The room was very clean and the staff were friendly. Oh, and the spiral staircase with the domed roof (it felt it was ready for some loving attention but still impressive)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was tasty and sufficient, but it could include other staples of English cuisine: cheese and pastry.

    Placed between Kensington and Belgravia, the location is almost unbeatable, with several underground stations within walking distance, including Victoria, which also serves as a train and coach station. You could just as easily walk to Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace and other London landmarks. The place itself is quite picturesque; the building, common areas, staircase and rooms, they all provide for an experience of their own. As for the room (single), it was little but not too much so, judging by what you usually get in London for such price. Staff members (I interacted with George and Peter) are polite, helpful and clear in the information they present.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Hidden gem in central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some more hooks to hang clothes etc.

    Lovely staff, room very small but acceptable, breakfast lots of choice. Quiet location but central. Would use again and have recommended it to some friends as excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    6.7
    friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room small no residents' lounge no evening meal

    friendly and helpful staff good breakfast good shower terrific position for getting about London on foot

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Hotel in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no soap/ shower gel in my room, but the receptionist quickly sorted things out. My room was on the ground floor and the window could not be locked (the mechanism was broken).

    The hotel is nicely located in the heart of Belgravia, on a quiet area and is relatively close to Victoria, Knightsbridge and Hyde Park Corner in a historic building. There was an excellent, self-service English breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    3.8
    Very Poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water in the shower. Heating not working so the portable heater was there in the room. In brief, no hot water no heating which are basic amenities which were not there

    There was a room and a bed to sleep

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.2
    Good value for a fab location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Good value for a fab location. Decor dated but clean and comfortable.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was small but adequate and clean. Breakfast was good. Location was great. Felt comfortable walking in this area at night. Easy to find from tube station and walkable into Westminster area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful, inexpensive hotel in a great location and with great amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great price for the location! A 10 min walk to Knightbridge/Harrods/Shopping/Hyde Park/Victoria Station . The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    4.6
    Stay here only if absolutely necessary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else. This is a drab, 2 star (on a good day) run-down, tired, seemingly disinterested excuse of a central London hotel. Good sized room, but with a finish which emulates that which one might expect in an impoverished motorway motel far from central London. Opportunities abound, but nobody seems to have the vision or motivation to turn an otherwise impressive structure into a joint worthy of its location, nor its ridiculously inflated prices.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    A charming Hotel, slept really well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in room

    This Hotel is classic Old world charm, comfortable, cozy and a little gem in the middle of swanky Belgravia. May it keep doing what it does so well. Especially like the apple basket! Great breakfast and the best night sleep I have had in weeks (I travel with work a lot)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.0
    Get a taste of early 1900
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is very dated; if you go then do it for the experience / atmosphere. Too expensive for what it offers though.

    Atmosphere of a very old (previously very) luxurious hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.4
    Pay attention management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the fourth floor and the tiny elevator only goes to the third. I wish I had been told this ahead of time. I asked for another room and they could not accommodate. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever used. There was a noise coming out of the service room next to ours most of the night. Kept me awake part of the night. I didn't feel it was worth the price.

    The location was great. It was near Chelsea which had several good restaurants and a few other things to see and do.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location with nice room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very small (it's an old-fashioned one with sliding doors) but it is not very good for disabled people or prams. We needed to collapse it and then squash it in. Our bag needed to be taken separately.

    The room was spacious and we travelled with baby and there was plenty of space for a travel cot. The staff were pleasant and arranged for the travel cot to be in the room for arrival and a high chair at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    A quiet gem
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very clean and functional but needs updating. Breakfast needs to offer more on way of yoghurt, fruit, nuts etc

    Great location. Quiet and very comfortable room. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Classy wee gem near Sloane Square but not ostentatious, very homely and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee in the breakfast room had been sitting for a while and was too strong even for my taste

    I liked the location and it was in a lovely street surrounded by buildings of a similar stature. There was a huge balcony overlooking the entire street(we were 1st floor). The bathroom was large with both shower(overhead) and bath. Big white towels and ample toiletries. There was loads of storage space in both the room and bathroom and a kettle with tea/coffee and milk. There was a mini bar. I was very pleased with this hotel and our room. I thought perhaps this was just my taste but my daughter who is 27 also loved it and her friend of the same age came with us at check in. The hotel also let me check in early which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.0
    Avoid Diplomat hotel if you are a sole traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the single bed room was aweful. It was like a bed had been laid out in a small store room. Horrible.

    Nothing except the location and cooperative staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    1970's flashback...but that is not all bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bearing in mind the price and location I wouldnt want to be churlish...it was fine

    Great location, friendly staff and good prices for Belgravia. Sure, The Diplomat feels like a 1970s flashback but it isnt aspiring to be anything else and I like the honesty. It isnt the Raffles or Four Seasons but it i was then I wouldnt want to stay there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    a beautiful hotel at good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were great allowed us to leave our bags before check in as we arrived early so we didnt have to lug anything around. Great value in comparison to hotels in the centre but was only about a 20min walk from the main areas of london.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was a buffet and the food was nice but all the spoons and forks etc to serve the various food items were on the same tray so guests were mixing them up so tomatoes were in with the eggs etc which put me off

    Perfect after a long cycle ride and close to the finish at the Mall. Very friendly and helpful staff and very good overall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    A very pleasant experience. I have never stayed in a larger suite. Not in Canada, the US or Mexico.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A classy property should be able to provide larger napkins than at present. Those provided a definetly low class. Not sugesting linen, merely larger softer and larger ones.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Convenient and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was very old-fashioned, so I only used it on arrival, to save carrying luggage upstairs. The single bed was quite wide, but the mattress was a little too firm for my liking.

    The hotel is a short walk from Sloane Square tube station. The reception was manned for 24 hours and the staff were very helpful. The room was well-equipped and the en-suite was very clean. The room, on the first floor, was warm and comfortable, and there was a lovely winding staircase from the ground floor, as well as a lift. The breakfast was delicious, with a choice of cooked and continental, or a combination of the two. There as waitress service for toast and coffee and the food was plentiful. There was no TV in the dining room, just quiet background music, which gave it a lovely ambience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Great location in London with the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - in the heart of fashionable Belgravia. All the best shops, boutiques, restaurants, tourist sites within walking distance. Very helpful staff and warm hospitality. Clean and comfortable rooms, decorated in the style of the Victorian classics (late 19th century), which corresponds to the style of the building itself and its location. Powerful shower that recoups the small size of the bathrooms. Really great English Breakfast with the best fried bacon in London. Best value for money - especially in comparison with any other hotels located in this area. I was particularly touched by the fact that the staff prepared for us the bags with the breakfast, because we left the hotel very early in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.8
    A London treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was standard double. Adequate but not great. Quality of bed is good; just standard double

    Loved the location and a lovely traditional style townhouse like hotel. Nice to have breakfast outside with the beautiful weather

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    4.6
    Welcome to my bad list hotels or guest house....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness? ????Apparently cleaned. Dust everywhere....terrible smell of pee. I think that in the hotels don't use detergent. Staff completely unprofessional. I had a room in the ground floor. It seems as I worked with them. I heard every single word of the reception. During the night I also heard people who knocked to ask for door opening. You can imagine how bad you could sleep. I paid more than 100 pounds per night. I will suggest to you to find any other hotel at a lower price more but more comfortable for your stay. Temperature in the room so warm and no air conditioning. I opened the window but just a little bit because it was locked. Never but never I will stay here again.

    Breakfast not too bad.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Says what it does on the tin.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been friendlier, more knowledgable about local amenities. Room was in need of updating

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything met my hopes
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Everything met my hopes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired. Nice size..just needs updating and some tlc

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, very nice staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no safe in the room

    Perfect location, very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable room, excellent breakfast and very good staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location-easy to access London city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    First visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar

    Lovely big room and lovely big bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Quiet and good location for staying two days in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed length was too short for me and the lighting in bathroom was poor.

    Location was good and quiet, staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    convenient location, small room for a single
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bed size were small

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom could be updated but nothing major

    Great location and friendly staff. Really lovely breakfast included in price .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Very simple and basic hotel given the price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very simple and basic hotel given the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but room noisy and needs a bit of attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was noisy.

    Staff friendly, breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.9
    1-The price over for this place
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-The price over for this place 2-Old style hotel 3-the left horrible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very fast WIFI. Excellent breakfast and very helpful staff Very good central location. Only 7 min walk from Hyde Park Corner metro station

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Diplomat Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: