Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Dorchester Guest House 4 stars

59 St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe, EX34 8EQ, United Kingdom

#4 of 28 B&Bs and Inns in Ilfracombe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    What’s not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like! Great host very polite and lovely to show us to our room! The room was very clean and equipped with everything we needed ( even had a little bottle of milk to start us of ) Highly recommend the Dorchester hopefully we will be back soon

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Comfort at The Dorchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and breakfast was great and there were some additional extras, not required but appreciated eg. Cotton wool balls, facecloth etc. that just added that little bit more comfort. Everything seemed geared to customer satisfaction. If you are looking for something in the area, this is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    A pity we were not able to stay longer but have kept a note for another trip to Devon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very pleasant. Impecably spotlessly clean and good friendly reception. Beautiful house well maintained and not far to walk into the town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; strongly recommend

    Very welcoming; dedicated car park so you know there will be a park for you. Hostess very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and room large and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    The cooked breakfasts were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfasts were excellent!! The owners couldn't do enough for You. The room we stayed in was excellent we also had a little fridge which was great. It was very clean and lovely. We would definately stay again. 😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, well looked after and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toiletries for the shower could have been replaced as they were used up, but a minor hing!

    Julienne was charming, ever so helpful, particularly with local information.The room was excellent, large and comfortable with full facilities. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of options and the ingredients were top quality and well presented. The property is reasonably close to the centre of Ilfracombe, so easily walkable for the seafront and town centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    En-suite large room well presented and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    En-suite large room well presented and very clean. Proprietors extremely helpful and a pleasure to meet. Breakfast was very good and perfectly cooked with an excellent selection of items.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    My room was lovely and roomy, my bed was comfortable and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room faced the busy road but I soon got used to it.

    My room was lovely and roomy, my bed was comfortable and I loved the little touches like the settee and the mini bar and the radio. You can also borrow DVD’s if you wished.My room was very clean and the bathroom was too. Julianne was very friendly and arranged a packed lunch for my very early journey home. Peter even gave me a lift to the coach stop which was very thoughtful. I would love to return on my next return to Ilfracombe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    A must stay!!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dorchester Guest House is a warm and welcoming property which was extremely clean and well equipped. The facilities and comfort are the same as any good quality four star hotel and we will definitely stay there again if we return to this area. Julienne was very welcoming and a pleasure to meet and the breakfast is one of the nicest that we have had in any hotel. This is highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic hospitality and excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving to go home! Back to boring porridge for breakfast! Lol

    The bed was so so comfy and shower was great! Breakfast was a perfect poached egg every morning and fresh homemade fruit compot with thick yogurt was amazing also not forgetting beautiful homemade marmalade! Julienne and Peter were so friendly and accommodating! Amazing hospitality! An utter bargain for location so we will be coming back here again for sure! Thank you so much Dorchester guest house! TIL next time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Delightful and comfortable guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi struggled to get to our top floor room, despite boosters, but not a problem for us to step outside the room

    Delightful guest house, really comfortable and thoughtfully equipped room. Delicious breakfast, home-made marmalade etc. Location a 20 min walk into Ilfracombe, or get the bus outside the door. Would definitely stay again, and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Home from home, close to town and sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick something, the shower cubicle was a little small for me, but was adequate for the stay.

    Hosts Julianne and Peter were friendly and helpful, rooms and facilities very high for a guest house. Breakfast room and lounge area overlook town. Very relaxed atmosphere. Great location to walk into town and for the Tunnels or beaches. Designated parking in front of guest house. Breakfast excellent as freshly cooked for you along with usual cereals etc. As small number of rooms, very homely feel! Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleased with the Dorchester hotel our room was huge as well as the bed with big bay windows the hotel was immaculate and the owners couldn’t do enough for you. The breakfast was delicious we had a full English we would highly recommend staying here if staying in lfacombe it’s literally a 10min walk to the town and harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Julienne was so welcoming & it was spotless, felt so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent..Room big and beautiful. Loved it .Bed and Pillows comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities mini fridge, fresh milk such a bonus. Loved the little finishing touches..the biscuits, chocolates Breakfast was really good. Would definetly stay again...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    An excellent, clean and well presented guest house with excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a number of steps to the property so if you have mobility problems this might be an issue, it wasn’t for us.

    The Dorchester was an excellent choice. The location was a ten minute walk to the centre and The Tunnels beacheswhere we attended a wedding. The guest house was spotlessly clean and well presented. The room was large with a king size bed,a bay window and a sofa. We liked that we were provided with fresh milk daily in our little fridge in our room. The hostess Julienne was most helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice to suit everyone. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    a lovely clean and comfortable guest house with excellent breakfast and host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large bedroom very clean.large shower cubicle. Good hospitality and attention to detail, offered the use of iron and board which Was then set up for me to use. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    We had an amazing time. Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Julianne was excellent, breakfast amazing. It was close to town centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. Mini bar was available in rooms which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was large, and light and the whole place is very homely! The breakfast was amazing, and Julienne and Peter are the perfect hosts. If we visit Ilfracombe again the Dorchester will be our first choice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    First Class friendly, spotless accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!

    Everything from booking to arriving, food, hospitality and location exceeded my expectations. Everything was perfect even the weather. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Top draw establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really couldn't find fault at all

    Everything was well thought out, room very comfy and spacious, breakfast delicious with good choice, lots of attention to detail, reception welcoming, I really can't praise this place enough, and a part of me doesn't want to say how great this place is because I want it to always be available for me but that would be unfair on the effort that the owners have made to make the guests stay so good. This really is a top draw establishment and I've stayed in a fair few now, just wish more places were like it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    good value for money, nice spacious room, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    good value for money, nice spacious room, good breakfast with a lot of variety, would stay again and will definately recommend it to family and friends that are travelling to Ilfracombe for a wedding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional property in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole property including our room was pristine. Everything you need in your room plus more. Mini bar, hairdryer, milk for tea and coffee, water. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dorchester Guest House is an ideal place to explore not only Ilfracombe, but also the beautiful coast, Exmoor etc. Excellent hospitality at a perfect location - who could asked for more?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Really, really lovely- would definatly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to find, walking distance to the harbour or there is a bus stop right outside and taxis close. Breakfast was delicious, the room was clean and comfortable and it was a great touch to have the option of bar snacks and DVDs to borrow. I would rate it higher than other 4 stars that we have stayed in and would highly recommend to anyone looking to visit the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    An excellent place to stay, very nice room and lovely breakfast. Thoroughly recommend to thers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to leave after 2 nights to continue holiday!!!

    Great location, short walk to the town centre and sea front. Buses stop outside B&B and good parking for guests outside location. Host was brilliant and very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good weekend was spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking can be a problem as there are not enough spaces for full occupancy. Checking the request for a parking space is not worthwhile.

    Superb breakfast with plenty of choice. Very comfortable bed with very hospitable hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Best guest house in the south west
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking

    The host was great very polite and attentive. Rooms were clean spacious and modern. The breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked and quality ingredients and the plates were pre heated. These people know how to run a guest house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    A perfect B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. Very clean , good choice of breakfast and all lovely. Julienne the owner is very welcoming and a lovely host. It's about a 20 minute walk into ilfracombe but there is a bus stop right outside that run every 20mins. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    nice place to stay, would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the car parking, not enough spaces, although booked a space, sometimes quite difficult to find a space.

    The bedroom was nice, quite place for sleeping, breakfast good and the owner very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This accommodation is very clean comfortable and the landlady friendly.our room was perfect for our stay.tea/coffee/biscuits etc,even small fridge with wine etc at a charge.fresh milk every day.breakfast was very nice lst day I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg 2nd day I had the full English all was cooked to perfection.you could help yourself to cereal fruit and yogurts plus fresh orange/ apple juice.the property is spotless I would most definitely return and highly recommend this bnb. Thankyou for a lovely stay .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little guest house that feels like a nice boutique hotel. Definite return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't visit Ilfracombe if you don't like hills, that includes what feels like a couple of flights of steps to the front door, from the complimentary carpark.

    Really attentive owner, but not in your face. Interested in you, and interesting to talk to, she made us feel welcome and genuinely cared about our comfort. Nice touches in the bathroom, like cotton buds & cotton wool as well as shampoo, shower gel, caps and towels. Tea and coffee facilities with complimentary biscuit and chocolate, nice little minibar in the room, with complimentary fresh milk, and leaving enough room in the fridge for a bottle of wine and a pack of cans (which we'd brought not realising the minibar would be so reasonably priced).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Best breakfast we had on our entire trip !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best breakfast we had on our entire trip ! The location is very close to the center of ilfracombe which is easily reachable on foot The owner (?) helped us to carry our luggage upstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Amazing guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    Beautiful clean guest house. Ideal location, only 10 minute walk into town and seafront. Great hospitality. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    No words to explain, excellent place, thoughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    What a place, just truly an excellent place to stay, could not fault it in any way. Hosts were lovely and really made you feel at home, Breakfasts where truly value for money and such a variety as well. Well done to the hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We had a lovely time here for a whole week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    We had a lovely time here for a whole week. The owners were very friendly with lots of info for places to visit and eat at. The Full English cooked breakfast was exceptional. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Bijou appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa felt a little old but we did nit use it often so it didn't casue any issue.

    Its a lovely appartment and the owners were very polite and happy to help. Very good for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time plenty to see and do, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was made especially for us ie for diabetic"s and the homemade marmalade was delicious. Bus stop right outside a great help. Everything clean and tidy. Our host was just lovely nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant and the weather was gorgeous too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A truly welcoming feel to the property nothing was too much trouble for Julienne you just had to ask. The fresh fruit homemade compote was out of this world at breakfast as was all the special little touches, very eco friendly lovely to see which just compliments the Dorchester Hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the B&B met my expectations.

    Lovely staff, very clean room and wonderful breakfast. If I’m in town again for a short break would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Honeymoon stay x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location a very well presented clean and spacious guest house of an excellent standard.The hosts are very homely and welcoming, Julienne and Peter provide an excellent breakfast of your choice,the Salmon and other produce all local and fresh. Our room (no5) very comfortable and kept to a high standard with refreshments on offer if you fancy a night in. Recommended ..Will visit again. X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    an amazing little homley place with owners who give so much love and effort to ensure a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House was warm & inviting. Cute little shared lounger room with endless DVDs for your room. Breakfast was amazing and Peter and Julienne were so lovely. Always there to help and had good knowledge with food options to eat out at. Was very nice and we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Steve and Shona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accomodation, clean and spacious with a great breakfast. Very friendly and warm welcome from the owners. Would most definately recommend to anyone staying in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Great B&B in a good location. Friendly owners and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Nice friendly atmosphere demonstrated by the owners willingness to be polite and friendly. 15 minutes walk down a gentle hill to the town and harbour, so good location. Ample parking, nice clean and comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    We were travelling with bikes - a secure space was provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were travelling with bikes - a secure space was provided within the house for these to be placed so we didn't have to worry about them being on the car. Loved that the room had a DVD player, along with a great selection of DVDs to choose from. On-site bar was also a great idea and breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Ilfracombe!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Superb breakfast with real marmalade and honey too + lovely...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly sloping bed, or it seemed as if I were being tipped out. Still slept well so not too bad.

    Superb breakfast with real marmalade and honey too + lovely yogurt. Hosts were happy to give me more milk for the room, and explained things in town to see, where to eat, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    lovely relaxed stay in a comfortable and clean property with a great host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    My partner and I were attending a friend's wedding at the tunnels and this was the perfect place to stay. We received great hospitality throughout our stay and there was a nice relaxing atmosphere at the guest house. Our bus from the train station stopped right outside the property and we liked the location being within walking distance of the restaurants and shops. The room was lovely and clean and comfortable and we couldn't fault it. The breakfast was 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, immaculate, spacious, bedroom and one of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, immaculate, spacious, bedroom and one of the best English breakfasts I ´ve ever had: crispy bacon, scrambled eggs cooked to perfection, delicious beans, juicy mushrooms and tasty tomatoe. I haven´t ordered the sausages but I am sure they met their standards. They have reserved one parking space for my car as they had stated. A joy to have spent a night at the property. Thumbs up!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely Brilliant!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    House was amazing, owner was helpful and very welcoming and there was so much they offered that other hotels don't. Excellent breakfast every morning, huge rooms, lush bathroom. Very good value for money!! I will definitely recommend staying here. In a great location and in walking distance of local high street shops, the harbour etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A very pleasant, relaxing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Our room was very comfortable and clean and the owners made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend the Dorchester guest house and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely loved it - highly recommended to anyone visiting Ilfracombe
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was that the floors were rather creaky, which meant that, as a light sleeper, I was woken every time the people above me moved about. But anyone who isn't an insomniac probably won't notice!

    What a lovely place! I only glimpsed Peter (although examples of his wonderful handiwork were everywhere) but Julienne really made me feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The house is gorgeous, with a mixture of modern and period features throughout, the latter either carefully preserved or added with modern fittings in period style. My room was extremely comfortable, with a desk, sofa and bed, so working, relaxing and sleeping all had their own areas - and plenty of space in between (so for fellow yoga enthusiasts there's ample room to unroll your mat). There's also a very comfortable looking lounge with huge leather sofas, which I never got to use as I was too busy during my stay. The breakfast is fabulous, with loads of choices, and I've only not given it top marks because I know a place that does an even better breakfast. But it's not in Ilfracombe!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    We will definitely be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am tall so a bigger bed would be great.fridge coming on and off was noisy and woke me up first night several times

    Lovely breakfasts.very friendly welcome and helpful.comfortable and very clean .great location attractions close.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Positive. Well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great experience. Appreciated the attention to detail . Cath Kidston mugs ,complimentary chocolates and biscuits. Bottle of milk in room fridge. Great breakfasts. Beautiful Victorian house with lots of original features which were apppreciated. Will be returning next August.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Room lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Room lovely .breakfast very nice.nothing was to much trouble .owners very nice and answered all the questions about surrounding areas wanted to know.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Warm, welcoming Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a trickle

    The landlady was lovely and friendly. The room was well stocked, comfortable and quiet. My only criticism is that the shower was more a dribble than a shower... but this didn't affect anything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable house, terrific professional couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything, was perfect. 😊

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful owners, Julienne and Peter. Nothing was too much trouble, extra caring because I was on my own. Very comfy room, good en suite, lovely breakfast, presented with a newspaper to read every morning. Ideas on where to go. Fresh milk in my own fridge! Bliss. Fabulous home made fruit compote and yoghurt at breakfast.😋

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Everything you could ask for without having to ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Everything. Best B & B we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, very spacious and well appointed rooms, lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Everything you could ask for is provided. We hope to visit the Dorchester again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a lively seaside resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the price not much to improve.

    Very large room decorated to a high standard and very well maintained. Breakfast was ample with good options for things other than the standard full English. It was freshly prepared to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful guest house with warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted with a very warm welcome. Shown to our room . Well stocked fridge with wines and beers and a bottle of milk for your tea and coffees, which I thought was a nice idea instead of those little plastic cartons. We had a large room with king size bed which was very comfortable, there was a twin room joining and a large shower. The cooked breakfast you ordered the evening before. You helped yourself to cereals with a choice of yogurts and a homemade compote that was very nice. We would definitely use the Dorchester again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Superb B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise was a slight problem but bearable.

    Large room,massive bed,loads of drawer space,lots of attention to detail,beautiful old Victorian property which still maintained lots of original features. Superb breakfast,probably one of the best I have ever had with great choices and produce. This is an example of how a B&B should be run,well done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were friendly and helpful when it came to knowledge of the area, organising us a taxi and even dropped us to the station when we checked out. The rooms are clean, beautifully furnished and comfortable. And the breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Loved the fact that there was a mini fridge in the room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    Loved the fact that there was a mini fridge in the room with wine lager beer and soft drink also bottled water pringles nuts in the room on a honesty basis also the fact that you could ask for a packed lunch at a small charge with drink you could ask for a toastie before 7pm with a sml charge also they would do your breakfast if you needed it before stated time They also gave me a text to say our room was ready before time as we asked when we arrived if it would be possible to leave the car and book in later as it was a long journey they are amazing 😁

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    The room was perfect for what we needed and exactly as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect for what we needed and exactly as described. Clean and comfortable, with all necessary facilities. The was was friendly and welcoming, and the breakfast included was brilliant. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Best Guest house in Ilfracombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel is limited with steps only. However this was ok for us

    Excellent guest house, beautiful decorated. The bedroom we had was like being in a 4 star hotel. Fridge with beers and soft drinks. Honesty bar in guests lounge was a real treat. The breakfast was 1st class.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Superb value for money, very welcoming and accommodating hosts who happily go the extra mile for guests. Would definitely use again without a doubt!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    First class accomodation at a very reasonable rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can honestly not think of anything negative.

    Very friendly and attentive host, beautiful home, beautiful room, super breakfast, will definitely return if we are in the area and would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Very friendly owner , very clean , well equipped room . Breakfast was superb . The best place we've ever stayed in in the area and we will definetly stay there every time from now on . Perfect guest house as a base for the entire area .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Large comfortable room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room and good breakfast. Only 10 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Very pkeasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a double bed w

    Friendly hosts, clean and tidy, really nice breakfast, nice quiet room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic host Great breakfast Nice room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    A fantastic room spacious room and great breakfast- they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic room spacious room and great breakfast- they even came to the rescue to help with a last minute issue before the wedding we attended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic Accommodation. Couldn’t recommend more highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, immaculate rooms, wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Awesome can’t even sum up this place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    F. A. B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So friendly, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast 10 out of 10 Room very comfortable and very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    We only stayed for one night, but it was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night, but it was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only stretch to halfway into the room. Front door a little tricky to unlock.

    Comfy bed. Pleasant atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: